Back to Sublime Text page
Sublime Text free download for Mac

Sublime Text Reviews

3207
22 May 2019

Sophisticated text editor for code, markup, and prose.

Teksestro
17 March 2012

Most helpful

Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. PROS: * Unlimited demo - use all features for as long as you like, pay when you decide to keep it. * Extremely customisable and extensible, to a fault - interface and syntax colour schemes, snippets, macros, customisable commands, build and command-line integration, plug-ins, you name it. * Amazingly large and friendly community - forums, wikis and irc, lots of community-driven development (themes, syntaxes and and plug-ins), and a wonderfully responsive developer. CONS: * poor and incomplete documentation - for such a feature-full programme, charging 'pro' editor prices, I expected a complete set of searchable docs. The half-completed online wiki is a poor excuse of a user guide. * plug-ins will be required - you will want to search through the web to find and install several of the many (wonderful) plug-ins available from the user community, which give the programme features for your particular programming needs and workflow. CONCLUSION Currently, more impressive than TextMate, BBEdit and - dare I say it - a contender for vim. It truly is Sublime.
Like (7)
Version 2181

Read 43 Sublime Text User Reviews

Rate this app:

Scott-C-H-
03 April 2019
Sublime Text is no longer my primary code editor (I use Visual Studio Code), but it is still the best editor in terms of overall performance and capability. I keep around for some things even though I use VSC for day-to-day coding work. I hope the developer keep it up in case VSC goes south.
Like (1)
Version 3200
Helmo-Hass
19 March 2019
MU friends be aware that Down-link lead to Version 3176 actual updated is : https://download.sublimetext.com/Sublime%20Text%20Build%203200.dmg
Like
Version 3200
1 answer(s)
iurii
iurii
20 March 2019
Sorry for this mess. Corrected
Like
LuxLogica
18 March 2019
Fast, stable, extremely customisable, huge online community, friendly & responsive developer - cannot ask for anything else.
Like
Version 3176
Radus
14 May 2018
By far the most useful 64bit multiplatform editor.
Like
Version 3176
Aargl
02 March 2018
Well, comments like "best editor" full stop are not really helping... :-p Yes the interface is nice and it really seems to have optimum functions for easy coding, but I can't seem to find things I find incredibly powerful in BBEdit such as Find/Replace in multiple documents (open or not) or even in a folder, comparison between two versions to find the differences, etc. May be it's there but I can't find it in the menus. It's when you look at the prefs that you understand it's really dedicated to coders: when you want to modify a setting you have to copy it in a new pref document and change its value... Not for the average user, of course. Despite its nice interface, I always come back to BBEdit to do the things I don't know how to do in Sublime. :-/
Like (1)
Version 3143
1 answer(s)
r-owen
r-owen
11 May 2018
Sublime Text can indeed search all files in a project (open or not). Project support in ST is excellent. I used BBEdit for many years, but a few years ago I spent about a month using BBEdit and Sublime Text at the same time and eventually settled on Sublime Text.

A few important ST features that BBEdit lacks:
- Live linting, e.g. run flake8 as you edit. It is very dismaying that BBEdit still doesn't offer this as it is a crucial tool.
- Lookup symbols, e.g. to to see where a function or constant is defined.
- A robust set of plugins, including excellent git integration and clang-format.

I have found two things I prefer in BBEdit:
- Side-by-side diff is built in and very well implemented in BBEdit. ST has some good plugins for this, but I prefer BBEdit for this task.
- Splitting a view is simpler in BBEdit than in Sublime Text.
Like (1)
mac-hannes
19 September 2017
hands down the best editor in town, my everyday workhorse
Like (1)
Version 3143
1 answer(s)
Radus
Radus
23 October 2017
You are right, there is no better editor.
Like
patrickmoore85
19 September 2017
I highly recommend Sublime Text 3 - it's especially good for programming. In addition to marking up the text, you can set key bindings, menus, macros, etc. Once you learn to use it properly it can really cut down on some repetitive tasks.

Also, Sublime Text 3 is technically shareware. However, you get the full app and can use it as long as you'd like without a license.
Like (2)
Version 3143
forwardleaps
17 September 2017
Fantastic Text Editor.
Like
Version 3143
Teksestro
13 April 2017
Incredibly flexible and fast, with a multitude of available plugins and add-ons that allow you to configure it to just about any use imaginable.
Like (2)
Version 3126
annyhill88
12 April 2017
Good! I use sublime for notes.
Like (1)
Version 3126
andzedde
02 August 2016
good
Like
Version 3114
marius-suse
29 July 2016
best editor
Like
Version 3114
jessegilbride
14 April 2016
Arguably the best IDE and code editor out there today. Super fast searching (files, folders, projects, etc.), scriptable & open source, themeable. A very healthy support community, useful documentation (both official and unofficial), and TONS of plugins (most found at https://packagecontrol.io). There are several competitors that very good, but Sublime Text takes the cake, IMHO.
Like (1)
Version 3103
GForce
29 January 2016
To be clear version 3098 and 3099 are developer builds and should not be considered a stable beta.
Like
Version 3098
Gordon142
11 September 2015
Sublime Text has 3 versions: Version 2 - stable release build. Version 3 Beta build - technically beta but quite stable build of version 3 suitable for everyday use. Version 3 Dev build - Latest, least stable builds. Not recommended for everyday use. MacUpdate makes no mention of the difference between these versions. The one linked to here (build 3095) is from the dev channel, and probably the build you're least likely to want to use. The latest beta build of version 3 is build 3083.
Like (7)
Version 3095
2 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
11 September 2015
... and this has been out since July
Like
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
06 February 2016
....and it's now February.
Like
Leon-Belmont
21 September 2014
Tried, it's OK, Vim is great.
Like
Version 2.0.2
MichaelR3935
14 July 2014
Best text editor, very fast and it can do what you want.
Like
Version 2.0.2
OhEssex
22 March 2014
This is a great editor to be sure, and right around the time I paid for it (December 2013) the developer went dark and hasn't been heard from since. The forums on his website are buzzing with people asking what's going on and quite a few people are now openly saying he's abandoned the product (although that's conjecture). Bummer.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
3 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
09 April 2014
Recently from the developer, as found in the forums: karisublime wrote: "From the Sublime office: We are not selling to Github, we are not stopping development of Sublime. As noted by another poster, this is effectively a one man band (I'm here to answer sales questions, process your refunds and get the mail so Jon doesn't have to). The past few months of silence on the development front have been a combination of boring back end work (taxes, new payment platform) as well as a break for the man driving this whole operation. No, we don't currently have a loud internet presence, which is can be an understandable cause for concern-something we intend to address once we move into the production version of 3. There is a vision for continued growth and development, there is momentum behind Sublime Text; it is not dead, just slow."
Like (3)
crystalidea
crystalidea
28 July 2014
Development Status - July 2014: http://www.sublimetext.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=16517
Like (2)
OhEssex
OhEssex
28 July 2014
I just woke up, checked email and noticed dufreyne's thread response for MacUpdate regarding Sublime Text. I already know this is going to be the best news I'll hear all day :-).
Like
Shodan
04 March 2014
I've been using jEdit for years and have been wondering whether trying another editor was worth the time investment. Has anyone used/compared Sublime Text (or any other editor) with jEdit? If so, would you mind sharing your thoughts/opinions? Thanks, I appreciate any insight anyone might offer. Cheers.
Like
Version 2.0.2
rtheone
05 February 2014
No nested folding + Can't handle files correctly Blah, this editor doesn't even have nested folding. Dozens of users have requested it for years now, but the Sublime team is known for NOT listening to its customers. Also, it doesn't handle files correctly and sometimes even ERASES FILES for you. Big warning: Sublime does NOT honor the Mac file system fully, and refers to files by directory path. This sometimes leads to unintentional overwriting of original files(!!!) This is such a serious problem I can't believe the developers aren't fixing it. Instead they have chosen to patch this with annoying dialog boxes asking confusing and totally unnecessary questions.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
29 September 2014
Not once have Sublime done anything else but keep my data, also in files I haven't saved. Sublime Text 2 is so much better than all the other text editors out there in that department. So I have no idea what you were on about back in february.
unintentional overwriting of original files is as old as the Mac platform.
Like
r-owen
17 January 2014
I recently switched from BBEdit to Sublime Text (ST), after using BBEdit for years and trying Sublime Text 2 and 3 beta for many months. The main reasons I am switching to Sublime Text: - ST shows code errors as you type (with the SublimeLinter package). This is invaluable, especially for interpreted languages. (The C/C++ linter does not work for me because it cannot find my header files: ST cannot see changing environment variables, and my projects use a package management system that manipulates environment variables). - ST has outstanding type-to-open-a-file. Unlike BBEdit, the dialog comes up quickly and the search algorithm is excellent (it favors the first letters of camelCase and underscore-separated words and filters out useless files). - ST also has outstanding search for symbols in a project. (BBEdit also has support for this, but it's not fully automatic and I've never used it.) My main worries about switching from BBEdit: - Poor support. There is a forum, and questions are sometimes answered by users, but I see few signs that bugs are acknowledged or addressed. ST doesn't even have a formal bug tracker, at least one that is public (though the community has set one up). - The built-in diff is lame compared to BBEdit, and packages cannot fully compensate because they cannot support running diff from the command line (e.g. to support 3rd party tools such as SourceTree) nor offer useful GUI controls. Common features include: - Both have very good project management, with minor advantages both ways. - Both have very good multi-file search, with minor advantages both ways. - Both can be enhanced with scripts or macros. - Both support columnar selection. Overall, I think both are excellent and both are a bargain if you do a lot of coding.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Egami
28 September 2013
Hands down the best code editor there is. Wicked fast, super extensible and customizable with a super simple user interface that gets out of the way, letting you focus on your code, and it also packs a plethora of powerful time saving features that make it a pleasure to work with. It is also backed by a very large and passionate user/developer community having plugins available for practically anything you'll ever want or need. Really, as far as code editors goes, it simply does not gets better than Sublime Text.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
John873M6646
23 August 2013
The best editor. A bit on the expensive side though!
Like
Version 2.0.2
svoop
02 July 2013
Sublime Text really lives up to it's name. And since it runs on OS X as well as Linux and even Windoze, it's a good choice for long standing Mac dudes like me who are increasingly irritated by the way Apple behaves and who might switch to Linux in the future. By the way: Sublime Text 3 is now in public beta. http://www.sublimetext.com/3
Like (5)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Mdognrdog
Mdognrdog
08 July 2013
Yeah, it's a great editor even if you're only ever going to use it on a Mac. But if you like keeping your options open -- especially with Apple acting like it's just itching to ditch Teh Unix one of these days -- nothing can touch it.
Like
Tamriel
03 December 2012
Really a joy to use. Highly functional, very intuitive, not bloated. It has a beautiful GUI and a handy sidebar. I used Textmate and BBEdit, and this one is a whole lot faster! Thanks :)
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Mdognrdog
03 October 2012
I tried Sublime Text a few months ago, but shelved it in favor of the old standby Textmate. Yesterday, I installed Sublime again when I was reading a really good programming tutorial and the author recommended it. I guess the first time I had tried it, I really didn't know where to look for the cool stuff. Now I know, though: all the cool stuff is in there. Although it's not as lightweight as Textmate, it's lighter than BBEdit, and it's faster than either of those by a lot. It's not much slower to load than a console editor like nano. Seriously, I have no idea how the developer does it. The speed alone is such a huge deal, I would put up with some missing features. But there really aren't any missing features. Sublime doesn't break my Cocoa emacs-style bindings. Furthermore, it provides keystrokes that let me do Emacs-style text selection, AND a "vintage" mode that provides modal style selection/editing a la vim. (I can't evaluate that mode, though; I came out of the Emacs camp of the Great Unix Editor Wars.) It supports textmate bundles and themes. It supports highly complex preferences and keybindings, because the configuration is all done with JSON files. (If you like a nice GUI for your settings, you are admittedly out of luck. But this is, of course, a programmer's editor.) And then, there's the sui generis features that Sublime brings to the table. There's a little "minimap" over on the right that shows the user where s/he is within the file, which is nifty, but not really a game-changer. And there's the Control Palette, which allows users to manipulate settings and open files (even locations WITHIN files) all from a preposterously speedy fuzzy search. That one IS a game-changer. This program is just sick. It's got so many features, it's just GOT to be bloated and slow, right? No, somehow it's the fastest GUI editor I've ever used. I haven't checked out Textmate 2 yet; I'm waiting for the dust to settle. Certainly, that long-awaited update will have to be a big, big improvement over Textmate 1.5 for me to switch back from Sublime Text 2.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.1
Lodestone
04 September 2012
There's too many good things to say about ST2. Here's a summary: * Modern, slick UI * Fast * Extensible * Includes support for Vi mode (Very useful if you know vi) * Configurable (Settings are just JSON files) I've switched to ST2 as my main editor and I have not looked back.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
Tekl
10 August 2012
The missing webkit live preview is a real show stopper for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Rubaiyat
07 August 2012
Is "command p" a good shortcut for anything other than what it was intended for?
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
24 September 2012
Wow, just wow … I'd love to love it, but it'll take some tweaking.
Like
geraldine-ms
01 August 2012
One of the best editor I've used! Completely customizable, with a lot of plugin that makes our dev's life better!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Stefano-Cecere
16 July 2012
i just logged in MacUpdate to write this review of Sublime Text.. because it really deserves!! two words: bye bye BBEdit (after 10 years) and TextMate (1 and 2) SublimeText is really polished. does a lot (and what it doesn't.. there are plugins).. more than ever: it's crossplatform! the day i'll quit OS X for Ubuntu.. my preferred text/code editor will be there! ps: the multiple visions for the same doc and the fullscreen / distraction free mode are really really nice ps2: i wrote this after 30 days of full time coding (JS, C#, HTML, XML, PHP) ps3: the price is right thank you, Jon
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
Kristan
17 June 2012
Great product. Fast, versatile (with many extension options), and super stabile. Love the Sublime SFTP extension! (Spending *a lot* less time in Forklift now.) I am only a "mid-level" coder .. no super advanced stuff here. But between Textmate and Sublime Text, ST2 just felt "better". Maybe it was the Minimap feature (..very useful for those who think visually..) or the sheer customize-abilty of ST2 that won me over. Either way, I cant imagine growing out of ST2 any time soon.
Like (2)
Version 2181
CanaryEGP
06 May 2012
Awesome!! O_O
Like (1)
Version 2181
Age
26 March 2012
As a programming tool this is excellent. I have tried textmate, textwrangler, vico, BBEdit, Sumultron, tincta, and every other tool possible programmer's tool that I could find as lightweight code editor. This one for me wins out. There are lots of features that are easy to install. The only issue is that customizing some features requires a bit of research at the start.
Like (2)
Version 2181
Teksestro
17 March 2012
Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. PROS: * Unlimited demo - use all features for as long as you like, pay when you decide to keep it. * Extremely customisable and extensible, to a fault - interface and syntax colour schemes, snippets, macros, customisable commands, build and command-line integration, plug-ins, you name it. * Amazingly large and friendly community - forums, wikis and irc, lots of community-driven development (themes, syntaxes and and plug-ins), and a wonderfully responsive developer. CONS: * poor and incomplete documentation - for such a feature-full programme, charging 'pro' editor prices, I expected a complete set of searchable docs. The half-completed online wiki is a poor excuse of a user guide. * plug-ins will be required - you will want to search through the web to find and install several of the many (wonderful) plug-ins available from the user community, which give the programme features for your particular programming needs and workflow. CONCLUSION Currently, more impressive than TextMate, BBEdit and - dare I say it - a contender for vim. It truly is Sublime.
Like (7)
Version 2181
Orefalo
03 November 2011
Probably one of the best coder editors available. The price is kind of a stretch ! much better than text mate
Like (4)
Version 2139
hced
24 September 2011
This app is very likable. The only gripe I have is the reference to its top-version in the executable's name.
Like (2)
Version 2111
Drfrank
31 August 2011
Unattractive website with Windows screen shots, crappy icon and editable preference files rather than the usual Mac GUI, BUT it's FAST and very impressive. I've deleted BBEdit and TextMate. First, I added my favourite TextMate theme and then I started playing with Sublime Text in conjunction with both TextSoap and the Marked app. Huge potential, if Mac developers get behind it. Developer is very responsive. Unlimited demo. Don't be dissuaded by initial appearances.
Like (5)
Version 2111
1 answer(s)
Mrgando
Mrgando
28 September 2011
I will try it again because when I tried it I felt it wasn't actually fast.
Like
joshbenner
19 August 2011
Look for help here: http://sublimetext.userecho.com/
Like
Version 2095
joshbenner
19 August 2011
Look for help here: http://sublimetext.userecho.com/
Like
Version 2095
joshbenner
19 August 2011
Better than TextMate in nearly every way. Scriptable, powerful. I have yet to find a customization or behavior I could not implement with this editor. Beware the other reviews -- there's a lot of misinformation going around about this program's capabilities. Version 2 is notably in beta and adds features/functionality with every update. Sublime does some things (like settings) differently (IMO: better) than a lot of other programs. I've found it best to ask questions on the developer's feedback site -- I've gotten answers very quickly.
Like (1)
Version 2095
Nontroppo
02 August 2011
This has to be one of the most innovative and elegant text editor of the last few years. The real highlights: * Goto anything (⌘P) -- WOW!!! How about this "tp@rf" -- this will fuzzy search for a file called text_parser.py in your project, then navigate to the read_file function, all instantly from the keyboard! * Command Mode (⌘⇧P) -- fuzzy search for any command, again this stops one having to move away from the keyboard -- it (and the Goto anything) is like quicksilver with laser targets on text editing built-in. * Flexible UI -- open files in coulmns, rows or a grid, as well as standards tabs and a fast project browser pane. * Textmate bundle support -- it supports some textmate bundle functionality, and a very comprehensive Python API means one can script this in just about any way possible. I'm sure powerful bundles ala textmate will be developed over time. It is very customisable (via text files mostly, no GUI prefs which is fine by me). And unlike Textmate, it has an very active and communicable developer! Personally, I'm sticking with Textmate, but that is more out of familiarity. If you want a powerful and elegant text editor which is actually being developed; this has to be close to the top. And being cross-platform (but not a clunky port like UltraEdit), will be beneficial for anyone who needs to work across OSes.
Like (1)
Version 2095
Iliketrash
19 July 2011
Multi-Platform Warning. Good start. Wants to be TextMate 2. Limited project support (no virtual folders). Limited project Find. Missing some important syntax/smarts (Pascal, Ada). Can't edit syntax colors, no bold, no italics. Some poor color choices (e.g. selected tab is almost impossible to distinguish). As far as I can tell, it's an everything-in-one-window deal; no way to open files in separate editing wondows; console, Find/Replace, etc. all live in one window. Surely a deal-killer for many. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Like (2)
Version 2076
4 answer(s)
Blacksmith-tb
Blacksmith-tb
29 July 2011
It uses editable themes, so colors could be tweaked by duping an existing theme (it more or less uses CSS to control how text appears). The all-in-one-window approach feels very intentional. It has lots of power and promise, but a bit less polish than TM. Then again, it is cross-platform, and your license is valid across platforms, too. Not free, $59, though the demo is not limited.
Like (2)
Marc-Antoine-Parent
Marc-Antoine-Parent
02 August 2011
You can drag a tab from the main window, à la chrome, and have a multiple-window setup. But navigation is not ideal. Much better, you can define panes within a single window. For me, python scripting was a deal-maker. Cheers
Like (1)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
02 August 2011
"You can drag a tab from the main window, à la chrome, and have a multiple-window setup." Ah. Thanks. But two other gripes. (I can't find a feedback form in the program, so this will have to do.) [Sorry--commenting on Sublime 2 here.] Single-clicking on a file name in the sidebar opens that file into the current tab but does not change the name displayed on the tab. Very weird. Double-clicking opens the file in a new tab. Again, extremely poor choice of colors: The thumb bar is almost indistinguishable from the elevator background so it is nearly impossible to tell where it is. Of a piece with the same-color-tab issue I complained about earlier. Come on--this is basi UI stuff. I should have to tell you this.
Like
joshbenner
joshbenner
19 August 2011
@Iliketrash -- Single-clicking on a file in the sidebar "previews" it rather than opening it. If you start editing the file or double-click on the file name, it opens in a tab.
Like