Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Get iPlayer Automator page
Get iPlayer Automator free download for Mac

Get iPlayer Automator Reviews1.21.11

08 May 2021

iPlayer downloader.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
muffyronay
muffyronay
Oct 14 2020
1.19.1
5.0
Oct 14 2020
5.0
Version: 1.19.1
I tried to update this app and Apple will not allow me to on my Mac.
Macmuser
Macmuser
Aug 15 2020
1.19.0
5.0
Aug 15 2020
5.0
Version: 1.19.0
Been using it for years as I listen to my iPod all night and get BBC Radio 4 shows every day. The app is updated regularly when, usually, the BBC makes a change to iPlayer. My wish has always been for the main window to be resizable. I don't understand why it isn't when the other windows are, but this is a very old app that was released into the wild by it's originator and now lives on GitHub, the home of all good software <https://github.com/Ascoware/get-iplayer-automator/releases>
juekboxpete
juekboxpete
Oct 8 2019
1.16
0.0
Oct 8 2019
0.0
Version: 1.16
I think it's great. Hope there will be an update soon so that shows go into the TV app on Mac OS Catalina. Still works but just doesn't automatically out the shows in.
mitchpreston
mitchpreston
Jun 7 2019
1.15.2
0.0
Jun 7 2019
0.0
Version: 1.15.2
Using v 1.15.2 and trying to download fleabag. Searching fro the program returns "no shows found" Trying with "use current webpage" the status shows as available which changes to "waiting" once I click start, but then quickly changes back to available without downloading the show. Does anyone have any helpful suggestions?
CarrieF
CarrieF
Mar 12 2019
1.15.0
3.0
Mar 12 2019
3.0
Version: 1.15.0
BBC downloads not working with Version1.15.0, but ITV are...anybody got a solution, please?
Gogledd
Gogledd
Feb 11 2019
1.14.3
3.5
Feb 11 2019
3.5
Version: 1.14.3
I’m using V 1.14.3. Had a few issues with it over the past few days, seemed to sort itself out and started downloading ok again - but, the file sizes for 30min BBC episode have suddenly gone wild - downloading at 3GB! Any advice on where I should be looking to reduce file sizes please?
Inpower
Inpower
Jan 2 2019
1.14
0.5
Jan 2 2019
0.5
Version: 1.14
Received news of an update, installed it and the site crashed. It tells me, that the site terminated suddenly, report to Apple and now nothing`1 I have removed all links to your site as a result. Alan Power
Macmuser
Macmuser
Jan 2 2019
1.14
5.0
Jan 2 2019
5.0
Version: 1.14
If version 1.14 is crashing, remove or delete the file history.gia from ~user/Library/Application Support/Get iPlayer Automator
Hermie
Hermie
Jan 2 2019
1.14
0.0
Jan 2 2019
0.0
Version: 1.14
Watch out, version 1.14 crashes on launch each and every time on 10.13.6.
CameronP
CameronP
Dec 26 2018
1.13.18
0.0
Dec 26 2018
0.0
Version: 1.13.18
Hello - the current version (1.13.19) doesn't appear to support BBC Radio: is that correct?
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 3 2018
1.13.14
0.0
Sep 3 2018
0.0
Version: 1.13.14
Link is erroring out. Use this one: https://github.com/Ascoware/get-iplayer-automator/releases/download/v1.13.14/Get.iPlayer.Automator.v1.13.14.b20180831001.zip
doomups
doomups
Jun 30 2018
1.13.10
5.0
Jun 30 2018
5.0
Version: 1.13.10
You can use allavsoft to Download BBC iPlayer Videos to MP4, MOV, AVI, FLV, MKV, WMV, etc.
fredd9320
fredd9320
Mar 26 2018
1.10.0
1.0
Mar 26 2018
1.0
Version: 1.10.0
iplayer automator crashes when trying to load, updated to the latest and still crashes, `i am on 10.13.3 os but the same problem on 10.12 os. this is very upsetting as I used it all the time, I hope this problem is fixed very soon. if it worked it would get 5 stars but at the moment 0-1. I see I am not the only person with this problem.
stephen-54
stephen-54
Mar 15 2018
1.10.0
4.0
Mar 15 2018
4.0
Version: 1.10.0
Since upgrade to OS 10.13.3 Get iPlayer Automator launches then immediately crashes. The crash message is *** Terminating app due to uncaught exception NSInvalidArgumentException', reason: '-[__NSCFString appendString:]: nil argument' terminating with uncaught exception of type NSException abort() called I am using GIA version 1.10.0
Elveram
Elveram
Mar 14 2018
1.10.0
4.5
Mar 14 2018
4.5
Version: 1.10.0
Since recent upgrade to OS 10.13.3 GIA launches but crashes almost immediately on my two Macs. Message is: *** Terminating app due to uncaught exception NSInvalidArgumentException', reason: '-[__NSCFString appendString:]: nil argument' terminating with uncaught exception of type NSException abort() called
the-duke44
the-duke44
Mar 12 2018
1.10.0
0.0
Mar 12 2018
0.0
Version: 1.10.0
Version 1.10.0 will not start a download, get this message every time and have added the download formats.
"None of the specified formats were available. Please go to Preferences-Other Formats and add at least one download format to the list"
blktube
blktube
Nov 28 2017
1.9.13
3.0
Nov 28 2017
3.0
Version: 1.9.13
I've used this app for years with great success downloading my favorite BBC shows from the US. But for the last few months I have not been able to download any shows from the BBC using this app. I always get some error message. I'm guessing that is caused by the BBC clamping down on people outside the UK using VPNs and proxies to download their shows. A huge bummer.....
dlink
dlink
Nov 16 2017
1.9.10
0.0
Nov 16 2017
0.0
Version: 1.9.10
Link to version 1.9.10 fails with the following error codes (only the first few lines shown): <Error><Code>AccessDenied</Code><Message>Request has expired</Message>
MnogoMnogo
MnogoMnogo
May 29 2017
1.8.7
0.0
May 29 2017
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
Another developer seems to have taken over, and their latest beta version is working perfectly as I write this: https://github.com/Ascoware/get-iplayer-automator/releases -- good news!
Hilbo60
Hilbo60
May 1 2017
1.8.7
5.0
May 1 2017
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
Going to Dev's site reveals the following message: 'tom-tech.com expired on 04/03/2017 and is pending renewal or deletion'. Looks like it's the end of the road!
djh-2
djh-2
Apr 29 2017
1.8.7
0.0
Apr 29 2017
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
You can't even donwload itv shows now either with 'use current web page' what the hell is going on ?!
djh-2
djh-2
Apr 29 2017
1.8.7
0.0
Apr 29 2017
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
Anyone know why I now can't downnload anything from BBC radio, all I get is an error message saying "this show could not be located..."
rayj
rayj
Apr 26 2017
1.8.7
5.0
Apr 26 2017
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
The GitHub workround seemed a great solution and I was able to download several iPlayer programmes. But the next day it failed again. It could select the programme from the web page, which it hadn't been able to do before, but when it tried to download it told me "The show could not be found".. If I just entered the PID it said "PID could not be found".. Any suggestions?
fredd9320
fredd9320
Apr 24 2017
1.8.7
1.0
Apr 24 2017
1.0
Version: 1.8.7
Nice program but now checking for update fails and now get errors when trying to download from itv and bbc. also the send feedback gives error. I am using macos sierra, but also the same problems on el-capitan. when it works its ace.
Hilbo60
Hilbo60
Apr 20 2017
1.8.7
5.0
Apr 20 2017
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
Moogan Brilliant, this worked well. Thank you for sharing!
mattb112
mattb112
Apr 9 2017
1.8.7
3.5
Apr 9 2017
3.5
Version: 1.8.7
Can someone please help, I have used this app lots and love it but last few days when I search for a TV Show I get the message: 0 shows were found for your search terms. Please check your spelling! What is happening?
matt-fallon
matt-fallon
Feb 27 2017
1.8.7
5.0
Feb 27 2017
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
Hi, Does this download from the BBC iPlayer with the DRM removed??
Hilbo60
Hilbo60
Jan 30 2017
1.8.7
5.0
Jan 30 2017
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
It's been some time since I used this, but today I tried downloading a few shows and each one came up as 'Failed', I guess the BBC have changed something again! Hopefully the dev will be uploading a new version very soon, this app has been brilliant!
macupdate-379
macupdate-379
Jan 4 2017
1.8.7
5.0
Jan 4 2017
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
Version 1.8.7-pre.3 (1756) is currently working fine for both BBC and ITV (no need to open web page) with MacOS 10.11.6. However, I don't see anywhere to download it! (I have my own copy of the installer.)
chris-marshall666
chris-marshall666
Dec 4 2016
1.8.7
5.0
Dec 4 2016
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
Absolutely love this. However, just upgraded from OS X to Sierra and I see that Sierra is not supported. Any options for me? So sad that I can no longer use! thanks in advance.
richandaddie
richandaddie
Jul 12 2016
1.8.6
0.0
Jul 12 2016
0.0
Version: 1.8.6
I have been using the latest pre-build versions (1.87 pre-3 and now pre-4) to overcome the issue that arose with ITV programs. Now I notice in pre-4 that ITV has disappeared, so I would be interested to know if this likely to be permanent or if the developers are hoping to find a solution. Also and more of an issue for me right now is that since last week whichever version I am trying to use nothing will initialize at all. The log shows it attempts all the formats in turn but then says failed to stream. I uninstalled pre3 and pre-4 and went back to 1.8.6 but still the same result. If anybody can help or assist I can send copies of the logs.
janesneddon58
janesneddon58
Mar 23 2016
1.8.6
0.0
Mar 23 2016
0.0
Version: 1.8.6
Please can anyone help, I have tried 6 times now to download Get Iplayer Automator but I can't open the download, the error message says it can't be opened because the identity of the developer can't be confirmed What have I done wrong? Any help appreciated.
thomasframes
thomasframes
Dec 5 2015
1.8.6
4.0
Dec 5 2015
4.0
Version: 1.8.6
Has been fantastic, and for BBC still is. For ITV I get this error message: Please ensure the frontmost browser tab is open to an iPlayer episode page or ITV Player free catch-up episode page. 4oD is no longer supported. Any suggestions?? I've tried using "use curent webpage" and the iplayer search box. Same result each time.
zerodeluxe
zerodeluxe
Nov 27 2015
1.8.6
0.0
Nov 27 2015
0.0
Version: 1.8.6
Love this app, but it seems to have stopped working for me recently. Downloads failing, and proxy errors. Anyone else finding it doesn't work now? No response from Support. Had though maybe my update to El Capitan was to blame, but doesn't work on my other Mac still on 10.9. Would love it working again! Any suggestions?!
Hilbo60
Hilbo60
Sep 22 2015
1.8.6
5.0
Sep 22 2015
5.0
Version: 1.8.6
It Just Works!... Brilliantly!.... Nice price as well!
fredd9320
fredd9320
Aug 3 2015
1.8.6
1.0
Aug 3 2015
1.0
Version: 1.8.6
The check for update now gives a error and certain programs give errors when downloading. this has always been a fantastic little program, think it needs updating, I would even pay a small fee if it was updated. it was 5 stars now its only 2.
Neil-M
Neil-M
May 20 2015
1.8.5
0.0
May 20 2015
0.0
Version: 1.8.5
Seems to fail now. I'm thinking the BBC format change has impacted get_iplayer Error #1 Provided proxy could not be retrieved. Downloads may fail. Do you wish to continue? Error: The request timed out Error #2 Format not supported. flashaaclow - seems to be the only functioning format available. - reported problem on https://github.com/GetiPlayerAutomator/get-iplayer-automator
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Nov 4 2014
1.8.2
0.0
Nov 4 2014
0.0
Version: 1.8.2
An alternative (oddly not listed here at MU) is the Hola add-on for Firefox and Chrome. Hola works great, 5 star. It's terrific to some see some forced sanity going on around the world regarding the listening and watching of international media. Now if only the marketing morons who messed this all up in the first place would go away and let world citizens rule.
ian02054
ian02054
Aug 25 2014
1.7.2
5.0
Aug 25 2014
5.0
Version: 1.7.2
I've been using the program for about 8 months now.. it works great.. I use my own vpn back to the uk, but the supplied one works fine most of the time I have had to resort to it.. Glad to see it continues to be updated.. i hope Channel 4 can come back at some point.. but I use it daily for bbd and ITV and very happy with it !
Packard87240
Packard87240
Jun 7 2014
1.6.2
0.0
Jun 7 2014
0.0
Version: 1.6.2
Is it possible for Get_Iplayer to download Channel 5 programmes?
CoreyT4202
CoreyT4202
Apr 5 2014
1.6.2
4.5
Apr 5 2014
4.5
Version: 1.6.2
I love this program and have become reliable on it since I live as an expat outside the UK. Its reliability is a bit touch and go. Hasn't been working the past 2 days despite recommended fixes.
joe-exp
joe-exp
Mar 14 2014
1.6.2
5.0
Mar 14 2014
5.0
Version: 1.6.2
BBC downloads not working any longer (March 2014) - Had to switch to the official BBC iPlayer Downloads app.
wstevens
wstevens
Feb 18 2014
1.6.2
4.5
Feb 18 2014
4.5
Version: 1.6.2
Works great. Thank you.
Lemming
Lemming
Feb 2 2014
1.6.2
2.0
Feb 2 2014
2.0
Version: 1.6.2
For several versions now (over at year), Get iPlayer Automator has not worked for me. It crashes a couple seconds after launching on Mountain Lion and now Mavericks. The latest version, 1.6.2, is no different. Crashes and creates a crash report that says, " *** Terminating app due to uncaught exception 'NSInvalidArgumentException', reason: '-[NSMachPort attemptDidFail:]: unrecognized selector sent to instance 0x7fd13062e1e0' terminating with uncaught exception of type NSException."
OSX-FTW!
OSX-FTW!
Oct 7 2013
1.5.5
5.0
Oct 7 2013
5.0
Version: 1.5.5
Finally! This is working for me again! It hasn't for about a month, but all is well now. Awesome!
The-Equalizer
The-Equalizer
Oct 6 2013
1.5.4
0.5
Oct 6 2013
0.5
Version: 1.5.4
"... regardless of where in the world you are." NO, it doesn't. This app has absolutely no idea what "British TV" is ... Deleted after 6 attempts to download a programme and prefs altered according to instructions. This app doesn't actually do anything ...
OSX-FTW!
OSX-FTW!
Sep 16 2013
1.5.3
5.0
Sep 16 2013
5.0
Version: 1.5.3
This is not working for me ATM. It was working a couple weeks ago, but now nothing I do gets it going. It fails to connect and start the download. Waiting for another update. There was an update to the pre-release version on July 8th but that doesn't work either. Sadface
cavgirl
cavgirl
Sep 6 2013
1.5.3
3.5
Sep 6 2013
3.5
Version: 1.5.3
When it works, this is amazing. I especially love the ability to grab subtitles as well—as a deaf person this is invaluable. However, I occasionally have issues where the app just fails to cache and the log doesn't seem to give any info. Sometimes reinstalling the app works, sometimes it doesn't. I tried to follow the link to the developer's site, but got an 'Ooops' 404. It might be something on my system so... please help!
JaneF9104
JaneF9104
Aug 27 2013
1.5.3
0.0
Aug 27 2013
0.0
Version: 1.5.3
I've used iplayer in the past without any problems and like others I have now had to use a VPN which is dreadfully slow. Any ideas how I can go back using without the VPN for quick downloads? Thanks in advance.
Dradrienyouell
Dradrienyouell
Jun 9 2013
1.5.3
5.0
Jun 9 2013
5.0
Version: 1.5.3
Jaksta downloads everything on screen (and sound), and is of course independent of BBC iPlayer downloader's time-out at a month. Jaksta is weirdly efficient in detecting monitoring, as seen on Menu Bar, 'Monitoring On' at blue flash icon. Jaksta produces a log often showing the name of the recording, auto-downloading to iTunes after video-format conversion. I have Snapz Pro X but found its controls difficult. Jaksta is like a brain of my brain recording the screen output without settings and hassle. If Jaksta works for me it works well for this dimwit. Adrien