Back to Swinsian page
Swinsian free download for Mac

Swinsian Reviews2.2.4

22 August 2020

Music manager and player.

5
brian-voce
27 July 2019
Version: 2.1.14

Most helpful

Absolutely the best music player for Mac. Cheap as chips ( compare the price with Audirvana). I’ve been using this since OSX Lion on a core 2 duo iMac (now using High Sierra on a music dedicated Mac Mini for AIFF playback from a NAS or USB hard drive) with zero issues from day one. Fast, reliable and sounds great. What more could you ask for? Very happy ?
(1)

How would you rate Swinsian app?

Read 54 Swinsian User Reviews

5
scottdavismsu
31 August 2020
Version: 2.2.4
I've been using Swinsian for years. It's a well built app that has everything you would need to take control of your music library. I love all the file formats Swinsian supports. It makes fixing your ID3 tags much easier. It has a look and feel like the classic iTunes without all the extra stuff that ruined it (like other reviews mention). Great price, great developer, and great product.
(1)
paulhoffmanoz6
16 July 2020
Version: 2.2.3
What I'm looking for is an audio player that displays the album art in hires grid fashion like iTunes but won't change it when you place your own art in there. Unfortunately Swinsian doesn't have this. Surely I'm not alone here? Paulus
(0)
5
jaesm21
16 June 2020
Version: 2.2.3
The only music library manager worth using on the Mac. Can't stand Apple's built-in Music app. I love the columns and being able to customize those for my giant library!
(0)
npoorkarimi
12 May 2020
Version: 2.2.3
Updated to 2.2.4 on 11 May 2020
(0)
5
Grantski
10 May 2020
Version: 2.2.3
A month in and I love it, has got me reorganising my library properly. Plays everything, highly configurable. A darker theme is all I need now.
(0)
5
476429
24 April 2020
Version: 2.2.3
The iTunes developers slowly destroyed it. Then, when there was a chance to save it, it becomes a front-end for Apple Music. No thank you. Swinsian brings back the feel of classic iTunes, and it's primary focus is simply managing you music library. In the current climate of streaming services, Swinsian is targeting a niche audience. I'm in that niche, and I love it. I've tried about ever music player and library management app for macOS and Swinsian is the one that handles all of my needs.
(1)
1
luis-rosety
13 December 2019
Version: 2.2.2
It's frustrating seeing that each new version works even worse with Airtunes. At least with old versions I managed "convincing" Swinsian to play through my Airtunes by some swapping several times the output devices. But now it even ignores my default system settings having Airtunes as default output audio device at system level. And even more frustrating, no way to track the issue with some error log or any other feedback helping getting fixed this issue for once.
(1)
4
arisuatlast
02 December 2019
Version: 2.2.2
Definitely the best music player around for big libraries. I'm at over 250gb of lossy audio (about 30k files) myself and experience little to no lag when navigating the browsers and art grid. The customizability has allowed me to arrange the interface exactly to my liking. The overall lack of fluff while still having a fantastic interface is a godsend. It's minimalist, but not in a lazy way. Aside from a couple issues I've had, Swinsian makes other Mac OS music players look like a joke. Changing the grid's icon size is an exception to the lag-free experience and is especially frustrating because it's extremely easy to mess everything up with an accidental zoom gesture and go through the laggy, frustrating process of getting it to the right size again and again. A simple "lock" button next to the size slider would completely fix the issue. More importantly, if the developers are reading this, please PLEASE implement a dark mode soon. Among the many different applications I have running on a regular basis, this has been only one that has yet to give my eyes a rest even among a bunch of other third-party developers. I paid full price for this software and am disappointed that such a simple yet important feature is still nowhere to be seen.
(1)
4
daveyarddave
22 October 2019
Version: 2.2.1
I purchased Swinsian a week ago and I'm really liking it. I get the Column Browser back which the Music App took away, I no longer have to convert FLAC files to an iTunes readable format (a big time saver for me), and it's much zippier...iTunes (and the Music App) always had a 2 or 3 second lag when switching songs which never bothered me, but I think after using Swinsian that lag would bug me if I had to switch back to the Music App. It's not perfect. There's no Dark Mode. And while Swinsian did import all my playlists, album art and star ratings, it didn't import my lyrics. Even if it did, the lyrics window is way too small and can't be resized. Also, editing track info is awkward compared to iTunes...you have to select a track, mouse to the edit window and edit your info, mouse back to track listing and select the next track, then mouse back to the edit window - there should be a "next" button like in iTunes. Despite these small issues (and a few others), for me Swinsian is a step up from iTunes and/or the Music App and was well worth the $25.
(1)
5
brian-voce
27 July 2019
Version: 2.1.14
Absolutely the best music player for Mac. Cheap as chips ( compare the price with Audirvana). I’ve been using this since OSX Lion on a core 2 duo iMac (now using High Sierra on a music dedicated Mac Mini for AIFF playback from a NAS or USB hard drive) with zero issues from day one. Fast, reliable and sounds great. What more could you ask for? Very happy ?
(1)
4
mark-379
01 April 2019
Version: 2.1.11
Has worked very well until I wanted to change music library locations to an external drive for traveling. The developer is helpful and responsive so I anticipate this issue will eventually be resolved in time.
(0)
3.5
Evgin
17 December 2018
Version: 2.1.11
Dark mode is for when?
(1)
Show comment (1)
Lvdoc
27 November 2018
Version: 2.1.9
Dark mode. Please!
(0)
2.5
luis-rosety
16 May 2018
Version: 2.1.4
I payed for the Swinsian licence after short testing. The design and the possibility to get rid of iTunes rendered it really attractive. But unfortunately it keeps crashing and loosing connection with my Air Tunes device which is where I use to play music through. I would not pay for it again due to the described problems. These issues make it quite irritating.
(0)
3.5
Dellu
19 March 2018
Version: 2.1.3
Had it the playback speed control, it would be the best audiobook and music player in the mac.
(1)
3
luis-rosety
07 March 2018
Version: 2.1.2
Could be a great alternative to iTunes but Airplay playing is buggy. It stops playing with error connecting to Airplay continuously. Just playing some tracks make it crash when they are played with no issues with VLC for example. But if they correct this issues the application is great. But it needs fixing them
(0)
5
Pwenzel
27 November 2017
Version: 2.0.0
I bought Swinsian shortly after Vox came out with a bloated and frustrating Fall 2017 release. I can't believe I didn't find this sooner. Kudos to the developer for keeping it simple. It pairs amazingly with my library managed with Beets. I do all of my cleanup and tagging with Beets, and then Swinsian automatically imports it into its own library via the Watched Folders feature. It imported 25,000 tracks in just a few seconds, and even did a nice job of finding missing artwork. It feels like an early 2000s version of iTunes, and I love it.
(3)
Show comments (3)
4.5
peterbreis
10 November 2017
Version: 1.13.3
It may seem strange to pay for an alternative to Apple's built in iTunes, but it really is worth it. 1. It leaves your media where YOU put it. And even finds it if you rearrange it (on the same volume) 2. It is mostly self explanatory unlike iTunes which is a revolving pile of Titanic deckchairs 3. Has neat clean List view 4. It is great for editing your metadata 5. Can Find & Replace to fix Artists names etc 6. Has a Duplicates find with degrees of fuzziness 7. Multiple ways to display itself on screen Things I'd like: 1. Export to alternate formats 2. Batch Process file names e.g. Rename sequence of Audiobook files 3. Be able to merge files
(6)
2
janwillemdevisser
16 April 2017
Version: 1.13.1
Very fine and clean design. Ultrafast application. However no Replay Gain which is a deal breaker for me.
(0)
2
dzmacupdate
19 January 2017
Version: 1.12.7
This app has the features that I was seeking as an alternative to iTunes. I wanted to be able to play FLAC format files, be able to readily edit tags and manage my collection as albums. Swinsian allows me to do all of that. There is one giant problem, however. The app keeps crashing as I’m playing my music. It is so frequent that I’m no longer willing to use it. I’m not sure what causes it as I’ve tried placing my music on different drives including my fast internal SSD. It made no difference. Therefore, until this problem is fixed, I will not recommend this app.
(0)
Show comments (2)
3
ylluminate
14 September 2016
Version: 1.12.1
I think that this may indeed become a solid replacement for iTunes. The biggest problem that is readily visible is that it needs to have a dark theme available. At present the light theme is repulsive for those of us who use it in dimmed studios or at night. The pricing should also be revised. I'm willing to pay for a solid iTunes replacement such as this, but to get real acceptance, it should (at the very least) have a freemium version available. One thing that is bothersome is that a more complete integration with iTunes should be done so that it retains the iTunes library synchronization. That is, if music is added to Swinsian, the songs are also added to iTunes and vice versa. Some of us still need this functionality for various reasons (such as sharing music with others who use iTunes). In my opinion we'll get to 4 stars at least if we can get a dark theme.
(0)
Show comment (1)
2
Geoduck
02 April 2016
Version: 1.11.8
This is a pretty minimal app that is overpriced by 75%. It provides a stripped down interface for managing music files that is very similar to older versions if iTunes before Apple got too focused on selling stuff. Swinsian has zero color, so it is very boring to look at. For the money I would have thought there was a toggle for color functionality. A good thing is that, unlike the totally crappy Wondershare Tunesgo, you can move the columns around to your requirements. Unfortunately, Swinsian did not copy the ability of older iTunes versions to have multiple windows open at the same time. This made it much easier to manage the master music library and see what is on your phone or iPad at the same time. For the money I would have expected this useful function. Another issue is that my iPhone doesn't appear in the device list. That makes the app less valuable. Two stars is being generous.
(0)
Show comment (1)
3
npoorkarimi
13 February 2016
Version: 1.11.7
Overall a good software, but something that bothers me is that you can't make different view settings for different playlists, you can just set one view setting for the whole application. For example I want to set column browser like this Genre-Artist-Album for my main music library but Composer-Artist-Album for my Classical Music smart playlist, but no , it's not possible
(0)
Lounge-Deluxe
31 January 2016
Version: 1.11.7
Unfortunately still no half star ratings and the track currently playing is still not highlighted in the list of tracks like iTunes does. These features look so simple to implement into Swinsian and make Swinsian a better replacement for iTunes.
(1)
Hermie
16 October 2015
Version: 1.11.3
No problem finding release notes under changelog on Swinsian website: Version 1.11.3 16 Oct 2015 Fixes problem importing some FLAC files. Fixes several issues with library folder organising. Fixes lockups when editing large numbers of tracks at once. Stability improvements. Various minor UI improvements and bug fixes.
(0)
Maclover1-1
04 October 2015
Version: 1.11.2
Too bad this is not directly handling the iTunes library in terms of writing to it. This thing is so much faster than iTunes.. but I need to manage the iTunes for DJ purposes so that it can sync with other software. I realized I cannot even really use Swinsian to fix metadata like regrouping compilations as a single release rather than broken into single performers etc.. for this I still need monstrous Beatunes. But this is good for someone who can totally forego iTunes.
(0)
1
Big Johnson
08 August 2015
Version: 1.10.15
I was hoping I'd like this app since I really hate iTunes. I hate it so much that I downgraded from iTunes 12 to iTunes 11.4 on Yosemite. Still hate it!

But after installing Swinsian I immediately ran into problems and then found other things I don't like.

It’s very quick at importing an iTunes library - took about 12 seconds to import 19,798 tracks.

But I noticed that all my podcasts were now in the music section, not listed under Podcasts where they should be. So I sent the developer a message and he replied:
"The xml version of the iTunes library doesn't associate the podcast subscription information with the individual episode tracks, which is why Swinsian only imports the episodes as tracks rather than podcast episodes. The podcasts section in Swinsian displays podcast subscriptions (and the associated episodes) rather than just a list of tracks. So it doesn’t have a way to show ‘orphaned’ podcast episodes where the subscription isn’t know. I guess maybe I could change that and add a section for isolated individual episodes that don’t have an associated subscription. I will check the iTunes xml file to see if anything has changed in the way it writes them in recent updates.”

Then I discovered that Swinsian doesn’t accept half-star ratings and any changes made in Swinsian do not transfer over to iTunes.

There’s also no equalizer! I need some control over the output - I may be listening on headphones or computer speakers, rock, country or podcast, and need to make adjustments. I own Hear, but haven’t installed it yet on my new computer, was hoping I wouldn’t need to.

And last but certainly not least is the fact that every time I close then open Swinsian, it's BLANK! The entire library is gone and must be re-imported.

So I emailed the dev. again and this is his response:
"You shouldn’t need to rescan the iTunes library every time. If it isn’t saving the library then that sounds like a bug. Changes you make to tags in Swinsian will not transfer over to iTunes. If you need to keep iTunes up to date as well then it may not be worth using Swinsian for your use case.”

The vanishing library does sound like a bug and I’ve deleted the pref file but it didn’t help. Surely a bug this obvious would have been reported by many users by now, yet I seem to be the only plagued by this critter.

I try to rate each song I listen to and often need to edit the info for tracks or albums, and I definitely want those ratings reflected in iTunes - I don’t want two apps with different metadata for the same library. If I’ll have to keep both open and keep switching to iTunes to rate tracks (including half-stars), AND there’s no EQ, I see no benefit for using this instead of iTunes.
(0)
Show comments (4)
5
Léonux
13 July 2015
Version: 1.10.14
Exactement ce que je cherchais pour remplacer avantageusement iTunes...
(0)
Lounge-Deluxe
03 July 2015
Version: 1.10.14
Swinish looks very promising to me as a permanent replacement for iTunes, and I've just bought a license. It's the first alternative music player to me that handles music libraries over the home network, enabling me to select the iTunes Server music library as the music library for local machines. Excellent! Some work needs to be done however, e.g. adding the ability of half star ratings and the status window doesn't show album art during playback (it does show an empty square).
(0)
5
npoorkarimi
28 May 2015
Version: 1.10.12
Fastest and most functional music management software for sure.
(0)
5
Lvdoc
28 March 2015
Version: 1.10.11
I have to chime in here. This program is literally a joy. Fast, smooth, and with excellent sound quality. (I didn't even realize it played bit perfect until after I purchased it.) And it has system-wide hot keys. I spent a small fortune on Audirvana, Fidelia, and Decibel. Whereas those have nice sound quality as well, their functionality doesn't come close to Swinsian. For this price, you really should check it out.
(0)
5
anonymous-trout-1840
16 March 2015
Version: 1.10.10
Simply superb music manager, great for huge libraries!
(0)
5
danieldimichel
18 January 2015
Version: 1.10.8
Literally the best Mac application i've ever purchased. I've been looking for a Mac app that played lossless music for a while. Alternatives such as Vox just can't handle my huge library. Swinsian is incredibly fast and responsive and has the features I need.
(1)
4
jason-m-klemm
06 January 2015
Version: 1.10.8
This is a great alternative to iTunes, and being opened up to the world of lossless music on an iMac is truly a wonderful thing. I've been stress testing Swinsian for the last couple of weeks, and the only fault I came across was the absence of automatic folder renaming within the Swinsian Library. I contacted the creator and developer, and he indicated this was a feature he hoped to implement in a future upgrade. If you're a bit OCD about keeping your library completely organized, the lack of folder renaming might irk you. It's been a bit irritating for me, as I have about 4,000 FLAC albums I would like to try and keep organized. I was able to create the following process however: 1. Tag your album/song names in Swinsian as needed 2. Drag and drop re-tagged items from Swinsian Library to Desktop 3. Delete folder from Swinsian Library 4. Reimport folder Into Swinsian 5. Folder name is now updated in Swinsian Library to match correlating songs, album in Swinsian interface As you can see, an update to add an auto folder rename would be greatly appreciated. I have a lot of Japanese SHM-CD files, and it was becoming maddening to differentiate them from other catalog numbers (e.g. 5 different catalog numbers of 1 album, all being stored in the same folder). If this folder renaming issue is addressed, this would easily be a 5-star program, and I would not hesitate telling everyone I know to buy it and use it.
(0)
5
Enkaytee
01 December 2014
Version: 1.10.6
Was introduced to Swinsian as an alternative to the increasingly bloated and frustrating Vox. Although it's shareware, it's worth the registration - loads fast, scans folder structures for new additions and handles massive iTunes libraries with ease. Plays all my sound files without complaint and has a simple but customisble interface. At last I think I've found the music manager and player for me...
(1)
Mikael-B
01 November 2014
Version: 1.10.3
Swinsian 1.10.4 beta reads Smart Playlists created in iTunes. Exactly what I needed! Hopefully it works out for the release. I love this music app that just takes me directly to my music collection so I can interact with it.
(0)
5
Chris-896eb290
03 October 2014
Version: 1.10.3
I decided to buy Swinsian less than half way through the trial period, as it does just what I want in organising my collection of around 1500 Cds. Tag editing is very powerful, and the app is rock solid. I'm using XLD to rip at lossless quality before importing to Swinsian and all is working perfectly. The developer is very responsive to queries. Highly recommended!
(0)
4.5
Mikael-B
12 August 2014
Version: 1.9.5
Simple and effective and useful! I think nonpresent files (on offline drives) could be marked up better ( I use 2 iTunes libraries with Swinsian), but that's about the only gripe I have. It doesn't sync well with modern IOS-devices, but as I can keep iTunes for that and share main library, that's acceptable
(0)
Lounge-Deluxe
08 August 2014
Version: 1.9.5
I'm curious if Swinsian can access shared libraries. iTunes does but it screws up playlist view when accessing a shared library playlist.
(0)
5
BodoB2913
27 July 2014
Version: 1.9.5
The best for us remained SnowLeopard User, or may I even say the last and only with still ongoing support. I own a lisence for Decibel, but sadly the developer droped OS X 10.6.8 support. For the Soundquality alone, Decibel is still better than Swinsian. But for all the other features, like Tag-Support and Tagging, Library-Management, watched Folder(s), even support for the Apple-Remote and the Media Keys... I should have switched earlier to Swinsian. H
(0)
5
sambear1965
17 January 2014
Version: 1.9.1
I've now been using Swinsian for a few weeks and found it stable and full featured. Gradually building up my library that can now be of various file types which is a nice experience. Just dumping files into my watched folder and Swinsian does the rest. I am still careful with my tagging but I can do all that inside the [Track Inspector] side bar. Interesting that Flac now supports album art, a nice bonus from when I was last using Flac with SongBird. Great fun to re-rip my favourite albums into lossless and have a dedicated player to enjoy them, still using iTunes as my gross player as I've hundreds of albums on iTunes Match, best of both world though, now! Full screen compatibility on OS X means Swinsian lives in its own space :-) I also like the imaginative name, Proto-Germanic *swinisōną, from Proto-Germanic *swin- ("to sound")... very clever! Now give a full 5 Stars...
(1)
4.5
sambear1965
19 December 2013
Version: 1.9.0
I am trying to find a comprehensive log of Swinsian's installation, as there seems to be a persistent cache somewhere that is remembering the applications state through uninstall and re-install. I'm using AppCleaner to remove the app but obviously this is not finding everything. These are the only paths I can identify that Swinsian uses, any others? /Applications/Swinsian.app ~/Library/Application Support/Swinsian ~/Library/Preferences/com.swinsian.Swinsian.plist Specifically [Track Inspector] seems to remember its edited state between uninstall and reinstall. I would have presumed the .plist is the file used to remember 'state'. This is only due to me learning how to use this programme alongside iTunes library, editing album tags and translating edits back into Swinsian as the [Rescan iTunes library every time Swinsian is opened] option doesn't seem to catch tagging changes. I have a very large Classical Collection and am quite fussy with correct tagging. I'm so far very glad I found this application, I'm very excited!
(0)
Show comments (2)
4.5
wickedsp1d3r
29 November 2013
Version: 1.8.11
Finally I bought this. All the problems I have had with it have faded away. Goodbye iTunes, I don't need you anymore.
(0)
5
Wunderhorn
08 November 2013
Version: 1.8.10
For music aficionados I think this is the best alternative to iTunes. - It handles large music databases with ease, - it still has the cover art display in the lower left corner that Apple removed from iTunes, - It is quite good at finding cover artwork - no irksome ties to the iTunes store, no telling Apple what you are listening to, - it needs less resources than iTunes and has all the great features one can wish for in order to manage and organize music files. I have tried about everything that I could find out there to replace iTunes. Swinsian is the one, I am not looking back.
(3)
5
ErvinsStrauhmanis
31 October 2013
Version: 1.8.9
Swinsian is an excellent player that has a great and responsive developer. Coming off from Windows where I used foobar2000, for myself, I found Swinsian to be the best choice to switch to. This software is worth its price.
(1)
4.5
Mariopue
25 July 2013
Version: 1.8.1
Great little app. Does what it states, and does it well. My preferred choice.
(1)
5
snerone
30 January 2013
Version: 1.7.0
This isn't an app for the masses. It's for music geeks who want to listen to high quality music formats. Beware if you use this app, your music will always be yours and you get to decide how and where to store and manage it. No intrusion from Cupertino here. It doesn't do books, videos, apps, shopping nor smoked sausages. It does music fantastically well.
(2)
wickedsp1d3r
18 January 2012
Version: 1.4.3
I have really enjoyed using this player! However, RAM-usage should be lowered. First it's about 70MB but increases little by little to even 500MB. This is just too much...
(2)
wickedsp1d3r
12 September 2011
Version: 1.3.1
Seems like a promising app! I'll give this a try. There are two things that should be improved imo: 1. CPU usage lower. 2. Jump to the current song that begins playing. Is this a bug: When I click the "Currently playing" -option, the playlist order messes up (if ordered by artist for example).
(3)
Show comment (1)
5
Smedsta
12 September 2011
Version: 1.3.1
Because of the inability to have more than one library of iTunes open at a time, I have been looking for a clean easy program such as this for so long. I've looked at several alternatives but this easily beats them all!
(2)