Back to Yahoo! Messenger page
Yahoo! Messenger free download for Mac

Yahoo! Messenger Reviews

0.8.288
10 February 2017

Popular Internet chat client.

Clauclau
10 February 2009

Most helpful

It would have been easier and quicker for Yahoo to co operate with Apple way before than Google, as Yahoo has valuable designers and services are intuitive and unified all over what they acquire. But when it comes to Mac, here comes the problems: -slow application, -Cpu hungry -when disconnected/connected HUD appears all the time, -no file transfer on msn users, -nor avatars, -sometimes I write to yahoo users and they also don't get the messages as well. -Big MSN incompatibility warning shows up ahead every time message session begins. -No Multilanguage support: I even proposed to translate it, can't care less. World is flat and starts from NYC and ends to LA as usual. -No video Multi chat support like iChat. -no screensharing -no avatar drag and drop (must go to preferences) -no multi avatar window pops up That's all for now folks.
Like (8)
Version 3.0b4.156957

Read 249 Yahoo! Messenger User Reviews

Rate this app:

Albabe
19 December 2017
Junk and fully useless
Like
Version 0.8.288
-rick-v-
10 February 2017
How is this "popular"?! I wouldn't have guessed it was even still a thing!
Like
Version 0.8.288
Fra
10 February 2017
"Popular..." ??? :DD
Like
Version 0.8.288
shabandokka
21 October 2016
aix land so god
Like
Version 0.8.231
1 answer(s)
shabandokka
shabandokka
21 October 2016
so god
Like
Albabe
09 September 2016
I'm never sure if it's that Yahoo doesn't give a crap about Mac Users... or if they just hire idiots to do their Tech stuff.

This app is awful. No Real Preferences, Can't Close a single Conversation without closing the entire App, Badly Designed, No Features, Counterintuitive... just plain garbage in every way I can think of.

The old Version was fine, except that it hadn't been Updated in a few Millennia. In fact, it was much better than Skype in a lot of ways.

C'mon Yahoo, hire someone out of Grammar School to Design this!
Like (3)
Version 0.8.231
1 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
09 September 2016
How about a nice Command>W to close a Single Chat. That can't be that hard.
Like (1)
Virtualruffy
09 September 2016
THIS THING STILL EXISTS?!?! I haven't seen it updated in ages and last time I saw it used was with OSX 10.3 and 10.4. Timmy, Timmmmmyy, Timah Timeee...Timeee...TIMMY!! Timmy!
Like (1)
Version 0.8.231
Cattus-Thraex
09 September 2016
It is pretty: it requires a PPC machine, and also 10.9 or later. Yahoo, this is impossible. :)
Like (1)
Version 0.8.231
2 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
09 September 2016
It works on my Intell.
Like (1)
Leesa
Leesa
10 September 2016
As we all know, Yahoo's not too bright.
Like
GianMarco-Tavazzani
27 August 2016
The 'new' YM makes another step backwards: you can not see anymore if your mates are online! WOWW, 'blind chat', NEWWW, TRENDY like'blind dates'!!!! Profiles were already deleted, file transers impossible, photo sharing only on windoz, audi/video were hilarous and now this BIG NEWS: we will send messages like e-mails! WOWWW!!!!
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
Albabe
18 August 2016
Brand New yahoo Messenger for Mac. 0.8.155 100% dreck. Badly Designed. Unintuitive. Hard to Navigate... and virtually NO Preferences.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
CyberSkull
19 March 2015
Yahoo has officially dropped support for anything using 10.9 and above. They give a weird corporate doublespeak answer at https://help.yahoo.com/kb/messenger/SLN24720.html that of course, doesn't really tell us anything. If Yahoo! can't keep an important product like Messenger up-to-date, it does not bode well for the future of the once mighty Internet giant.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
Derision
07 February 2015
Ah, Yahoo Messenger, how I'll miss ye. I remember back in the early 2000s, when I was still using a G3 under OS 8.6, and Yahoo Messenger was my go-to messenger. Sure, I had AIM -- everyone used AIM -- but my girlfriend had Windows and a webcam. In 2001, NO chat software for the Mac had any webcam support. Except Yahoo. Yahoo had my back. So I used the application, and over time I became fond of it. I liked how light it felt in OS9, how little memory it took up and even how poorly its buttons were animated. It felt like a rubber band airplane that I'd built out of balsa wood in my basement, and which fell apart violently every second time I'd try to make it fly. The very shortcomings of the application were part of what endeared it. Then OSX came along, and iChat gave us all AIM-based videoconferencing. Yahoo stayed the same (it was a Carbon application at that point, so the OS9 version WAS the OSX version), and I kept using it. In the unfamiliar new world of OSX, Yahoo was a friendly face across a crowd, smiling while it introduced me to all the new people on the block. When PowerPC gave way to Intel, and full 30fps videoconferencing was offered by everyone -- iChat, Skype, Gizmo, and even eventually MSN Messenger -- I still hung onto the newly relaunched beta of Yahoo! Messenger. It still clung to its 3 frame-per-second webcam roots and sometimes-working-audio, but -- like an old girlfriend who's lap you pass out drunk and crying on -- it was familiar. I could have a voice conversation with my mom -- who had Y!M logged in all the time for her work -- or talk to some old friends that would pop into their rarely used Yahoo accounts every so often. It was one of the last holdouts from the era where you could just turn your webcam on, and friends might actually ask to watch it, rather than just trying to creep on your Stickam stream. Creepy. Those days are over, though, because... er... well, I'm not really sure why. Was this Apple or was it Yahoo? I mean, everything worked fine until I updated to Yosemite, and then suddenly the application has a "NO" through it, like it's a 68K application or something. I wonder why Yahoo seems to have just given up on this. I mean, how hard would it be to wrap the web interface into a shell? AIM does that with their videoconferencing -- it's a Flash application. So I'll miss you, Yahoo Messenger. I'll miss all your shortcomings, your badly masked button graphics, your occasionally successful file transfers, and, yes, your awful frame rate video. But most of all, Yahoo Messenger, I'll miss the familiar smell of your perfume, as you hold me through the darkest... Wait. What am I saying? Screw this. Good riddance.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
CyberSkull
CyberSkull
19 March 2015
Yahoo! has inexplicably dropped support for 10.9 and up. See https://help.yahoo.com/kb/messenger/SLN24720.html for the lack of details.
Like
Barryaus
27 December 2014
Since Yosemite I cannot use it. Too many have told me that what happened to me is what happened to them too. So I tried to set up my Yahoo! account in Messages. I put in what I certainly think is my Yahoo! credentials, and it simply does not take them. No error message. Just gives me the same window in which to fill it in over and over and over. I realize that Apple is headquartered at 1 Infinite Loop, but that should not mean I have to have to suffer and infinite loop. By the way, when I put in what are obviously NOT proper credentials (such as my usual Email address, not my @yahoo.com address) I do get an error message.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Makosuke
02 November 2014
If you're on Yosemite, forget this, use Messenger.app. Prior to Yosemite, Messenger was already problematic--avatars were completely broken when used on a Retina display unless you hacked the app, so it either looked awful or you were running it in low-rez mode. Past that, though, it did use system notifications to inoffensively let you know you know when someone you know logged on or off, and ran relatively smoothly. File transfers were flakey, though--it would often error out randomly partway through a transfer. It won't even launch with Yosemite, however, so now it's useless. The good news is, Apple's built-in Messenger.app works just fine with Yahoo accounts. In fact, file transfers work *better* than with this--it doesn't repeatedly bug you with "where do you want to save?" dialogues like the Yahoo app, and if you get an image, it puts it inline in the conversation where it's easily visible.
Like
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
Makosuke
Makosuke
02 November 2014
Sorry, I meant "Messages.app" not "Messenger.app" above--the built-in IM app, that is.

No way to edit a just-posted review here, apparently.
Like
RikWallin
10 September 2014
Will not run on Mavericks or Yosemite.. Total POS
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
Justanthrguyhere
04 September 2014
Looks like Mavericks is the end of the road for this?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Dp-G4-450guy
03 April 2014
It appears that Yahoo Messenger servers for this application are now dead. Has not worked for any alternate accounts I created for weeks now. Oh, well.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
xBlack
05 August 2012
Looks like not a lot of people with Retina display uses Yahoo! Messenger, so maybe I'm the only one with this problem. In the chat window, the avatars are double the size and you only see half of it with bad quality. This is of course because Retina displays have 4 times more pixels. Yahoo didn't fix this and I don't know if they have any plans to do so. In the mean time I looked through the files and I was able to fix part of it. I'll put here the instructions in case anybody else needs this temporary fix: First browse to Yahoo! Messenger >[Show Package Contents] > Contents > Resources > Default.ymStyle > [Show Package Contents]. Once there, edit the file main.css with TextEdit and change the following: Search for .conversation #participantsContainer { and change the width from 100px to 200px. Search for .conversation.displayUserImages #messagesContainer { and change margin-right from 108px to 208px. Quit Yahoo! Messenger and launch it again. Now avatars show complete. I hope Yahoo! is working on a new Yahoo! Messenger of Mac... Made in 64 bits, with HD Webcam and new features.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
06 August 2012
@ xBlack: Not likely. Apple is definitely the retarded step-cousin as far as Yahoo is concerned. As I said a few times below... I think we Mac Users should be busting their humps every day till they do something decent for us Apple folks. Use the Yahoo Messenger PullDown for: "Send Feedback" and... "Report A Problem..." And message them every friggin' day until they do something.
Like (1)
xBlack
04 August 2012
One of the things that stopped working on Yahoo! Messenger long time ago is Growl. This is mainly because Growl was updated but Yahoo! team never bothered to keep up with the updates. It seems that I found a simple way to hack this. What I did was, I downloaded Coccinellida (or any other free small application that is updated and uses Growl), right click on it, Show Package Contents > Contents > Frameworks and copy the folder Growl.framework. Do the same for Yahoo! Messenger, rename or remove the Growl.framework you find there and paste the new one. Do this while Yahoo! Messenger is not open. Now you should start getting Growl notifications.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
augdrama
augdrama
04 August 2012
xBlack. This is Augdrama. Could not respond to you on my post. If you look to the left of your YM avitar, you will see your screen name and below that is your status. Click your screen name. It will either be your edited screen name or your actual YM ID. Mine no longer has the capability to change from edited name to screen name. Also...all of my contact below are the actual screen names. I had edited all my contacts YM screen names to personal ID names. None of the personal ID names are showing now. Only the screen names. I have researched this online and there are others having this problem. I think it was due to the upgrade to 3.0.2 or might have been the upgrade to OS Mountain Lion? This is only happening to my laptop. My iMac works fine with the Mountain Lion upgrade. Only thing is, I DID NOT upgrade the YM. Still running 3.0 on this. YM works fine on iMac.
Like
augdrama
01 August 2012
Anyone with the OS Mountain Lion having problems with the upgrade to YM 3.0.2? My contact screen names on my list no longer show as the names I assigned them with. They all show up as the actual YM ID names. Also, I am unable to switch back and forth from my screen name and my YM ID name at the top. Don't know how and why my avitar switched? Can anyone help?
Like
Version 3.0.2
5 answer(s)
xBlack
xBlack
04 August 2012
Not sure what you mean switch back and forth from your screen name and YM ID, but for the first problem try removing the settings files. I didn't had that problem when I switched. You can use AppCleaner (free) and completely remove Yahoo! Messenger, then copy it from the DMG.
Like (1)
augdrama
augdrama
04 August 2012
xBlack. If you look to the left of your YM avitar, you will see your screen name and below that is your status. Click your screen name. It will either be your edited screen name or your actual YM ID. Mine no longer has the capability to change from edited name to screen name. Also...all of my contact below are the actual screen names. I had edited all my contacts YM screen names to personal ID names. None of the personal ID names are showing now. Only the screen names. I have researched this online and there are others having this problem. I think it was due to the upgrade to 3.0.2 or might have been the upgrade to OS Mountain Lion? This is only happening to my laptop. My iMac works fine with the Mountain Lion upgrade. Only thing is, I DID NOT upgrade the YM. Still running 3.0 on this. YM works fine on iMac.
Like
xBlack
xBlack
04 August 2012
I just checked and mine does not allow either to change it. It's my id and it can't be changed. Regarding the list, mine shows both ID and screen names. If there's a name assigned it will show, otherwise it shows the ID. I did a format when installed Mountain Lion and then installed YM 3.0.2. Did cleaning the settings not help?
Like
augdrama
augdrama
05 August 2012
@ xBlack. What exactly do you mean, "Clean Settings?". I used the AppCleaner and removed all the files. Reinstalled 3.0.2 and I'm still getting the same results.
Like
xBlack
xBlack
06 August 2012
Yes, that's what I meant to try.
Like
xBlack
28 July 2012
In the last version, the forgot debug enabled and detailed logs are being generated.
Like
Version 3.0.2
mitxixipi
28 July 2012
I'm newer with 10.8 but my yahoo messenger for mac 3.0.2 doesn't show up contact's display name ... Can you tell me how to fix ..
Like
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
augdrama
augdrama
01 August 2012
I'm having the same problem. I thought it was my PC but I believe it's the upgrading to YM 3.0.2 along with upgrading to Mountain Lion. Really irritating. To bad I can't reinstall the 3.0 version. Do you have any ideas?
Like
SteveClark1000
26 July 2012
Chatroom list is gone with OS 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
Like
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
27 July 2012
It's been gone for me since the last version... and on Snow Leopard. I think we Mac Users should be busting their humps every day till they do something decent for us Apple folks. Use the Yahoo Messenger PullDown for: "Send Feedback" and... "Report A Problem..." And message them every friggin' day until they do something.
Like
Albabe
20 July 2012
Maybe it's just another one of my many futile exercises... but I suggest all of us that still use Yahoo Messenger, use the PullDown for: "Send Feedback" and... "Report A Problem..." ...to hammer the one guy at Yahoo who works part-time on the Mac version... You never know...
Like
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
xBlack
xBlack
21 July 2012
I thought I was the only one doing that.
Like
Albabe
17 July 2012
I'm not even sure why Yahoo even bothers. As Mac Users all we get is crappy minor fixes... sorta... and it takes years and years. This Brand New Version still doesn't show Chat Room Users...
Like
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
17 July 2012
... and you can't change your Avatar Picture...
Like
xBlack
17 July 2012
On the last version in Mountain Lion, when I send a file to a Windows PC, it does not work and it shows twice in my window.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Jamess6
15 July 2012
As this is not feature equivalent to the Windows version then for all intent and purposes it should still be classified as a Beta product. If I connect my Mac client with a Windows client and it can't do something theirs does or it causes problems on either end that's Beta. Treat the platform as second and it show's in your work Yahoo. Microsoft Messenger and Skype both work and look better.
Like
Version 3.0.2
xBlack
15 July 2012
Here is a list of broken things in in 3.0.2: - MacBook Pro Retina - Avatars are stretched and can't view them, probably because of Retina display - Webcam is disabled if anything on USB is connected to the Mac - The all known avatar change bug - it doesn't change and user has to delete a certain file - Archive browsing is extremely slow - Webcam has no HD support - Does not support the latest version of Growl or Notifications in ML - Not a 64 bit application (please drop support for 10.4 and make this 64 bits) - Uses the wrong API, such that when browsing for a file it switches to the dedicated video card (and never switches back)
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Leesa
14 July 2012
I like Yahoo Messenger... It's just easier (for me) than the rest. But for Yahoo, we Mac Users are quite obviously Second Class Citizens. I guess we should feel grateful that they have anyone at all working in their Mac Department... seeing as it takes years and years to do Updates or Betas or Fixes... sigh.
Like
Version 3.0.2
2 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
14 July 2012
Oh yea... forgot. I haven't tried the Update yet... I like to check the "What's New" first... I wonder if we'll ever get a "What's New?" Unlikely, I guess.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
14 July 2012
Yahoo messenger for iOS has a what's new, and i got an update the same time this one was released. I wonder if fixes/features are similar? It would be interesting to find out, since I use both.
Like
Macinman
14 July 2012
I just downloaded 3.0.2 from MacUpdate. Seems like it's rock solid. As regards to the other comments about automatic update not working,. I usually don't keep Yahoo on the mac, i usually use it via adium, or yahoo mobile on my iphone. For me the interface looks a bit cleaner then 3.0.1 beta2 which was the latest for a long time. I'm running snow leopard, as Lion is too buggy in areas that I need to be stable, and my macbook 2,1 is too old for mountain lion. so i'll stick with stable instead of the latest bleeding edge. In my configuration 3.0.2 seems to be working well.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Libertyforall1776
14 July 2012
Typical Yahoo, no release notes, 3.0.1 does not detect there is an update available, and it looks like no substantive new features. :(
Like
Version 3.0.2
Chaloots
14 July 2012
Have version 3.0 installed which, when "check for updates" is selected, assures me that it is, in fact, the most current. Not that it surprises me, as Yahoo Messenger's Mac offering has been one disappointment after another.
Like
Version 3.0.2
2 answer(s)
Younkint
Younkint
14 July 2012
3.0 is NOT the most recent version. As of 5 July 2012, it is version 3.0.2. This is not a beta version.
Like (1)
Cowicide
Cowicide
14 July 2012
Yeah, there's something screwy with the updater. It tells me that my 3.0.1 beta is the latest version as well.
Like
Tookay
06 May 2012
Eventually hangs and crashes with every launch. Video chat rarely works, and usually requires a re-launch. Chat rooms do not work properly. Yahoo has clearly abandoned OSX users, with this barely functional application being buggy and not updated in two years. The good news is that iChat works very well with Yahoo Messenger, although it does not appear to have chat room functionality.
Like
Version 3.0.1 beta
Macmasters
05 October 2011
For some reason, the user list in chatroom has gone. So I have to give this a low rating since I haven't seen fix or update
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1 beta
Libertyforall1776
27 February 2011
10.7 Lion's iChat 6 now has Yahoo Messenger compatibility, incl. audio/video... http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/11/02/26/mac_os_x_lion_ichat_supports_yahoo_messenger_video_and_voice_chat.html
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1 beta
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
25 July 2011
Hmm, seems like audio/video doesn't work on iChat for Yahoo. :(
Like (1)
trungpt
14 January 2011
Why staying in Beta for so long. Please make this software have the same functionalities as Windows version.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1 beta
Splig
25 May 2010
Not very good. Again. It randomly disconnects (within 20 minutes) and then needs restarting, as it becomes becomes unidirectional after a disconnect. Use Adium, unless you need video. I wish they would add that.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1 beta
Mystical
04 May 2010
I'm having a problem with this, my friends on windows could see me, but i can't get to see any of them. Is it just me or are others experiencing the same thing?
Like
Version 3.0.1 beta
Younkint
28 March 2010
Working as advertised here on two different machines; both PPC, 10.5.8. Of course the usual limitations from the Windows version apply, but then that's probably going to be the way it is. The functionality of Yahoo IM hasn't changed much for many years. The picture sharing, video with sound, etc., features of the Windows version will probably never happen on Mac or 'Nix machines if they haven't happened by now...
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1 beta
Bousozoku
28 March 2010
In 2005 at the second beta release for version 3.0, I joked with other users that Yahoo! Messenger 3.0 would be released some time in 2011. There have been 2 releases per year until 2009 when there were, I believe, four. Unfortunately, my joke seems to be a sad reality. While the Windows version has had something like 3 major versions, very little seems to have happened with the Mac OS X version. Only the Linux/*BSD users are more forgotten.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1 beta
3 answer(s)
Jeremyan
Jeremyan
28 March 2010
Because this is just a hobby for Yahoo. Although Yahoo seem to be quite serious about iPhone and iPad apps.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1 beta
Younkint
Younkint
28 March 2010
...and since Microsoft seems to be slowly, but surely, getting into bed with Yahoo, it isn't going to be getting any better.
Like
Version 3.0.1 beta
Bousozoku
Bousozoku
14 July 2012
Am I seeing this correctly? Did they release 3.0.2 without the "beta" tag? Is this really a production version after 7 years of beta releases?
Like
Buzzard
27 March 2010
This latest beta version (how long will this be in beta???) crashes every time upon signing out. I haven't seen any other benefits, and Yahoo hasn't provided any release notes, so my advice would be to stay away from this one. Unfortunately, I replaced the previous version with this latest one, so it's gone and I can't find a link to get the previous version so that I can downgrade. Other features seem to work ok from the limited amount of time that I have spent using it. But anything that repeatedly crashes with every signout is not what I would consider to be a useful update. Back to Adium for me.....
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1 beta
1 answer(s)
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
28 March 2010
Here is a link to Yahoo! Messenger 3.0b192773 (released on Sept 29th 2009) for those of you experiencing problems with the latest release: http://download.yimg.com/ycs/msg/dl/mac/yahoomessenger_3.0build192773.dmg
Like
Version 3.0.1 beta
Alexiusca
29 September 2009
An updated version of Yahoo! Messenger for Mac 3.0 is now available. This latest version includes a fix for a sign-in issue that some users have been experiencing. When we tested this latest version with some of those users, they found that it did correct their problem.
Like (2)
Version 3.0b192773
1 answer(s)
Macdriver
Macdriver
27 March 2010
Still a no go on for sign on ... spin spin spin. 3.0 beta 4 was the last version that worked for me. MacPro 2x3ghz
Like
Version 3.0.1 beta
Arya
11 September 2009
the webcam is not working on my mac (MB404, early 2008). just pitch black. So i keep using the previous version though it is also buggy (the webcam will be off after a certain period automatically....) anybody knows why Yahoo is (so) slow on YM for mac?
Like
Version 3.0b191946
Albabe
05 September 2009
I'm having trouble staying connected for even a few minutes tonight... It might be a coincidence and maybe Yahoo is having trouble with their servers.
Like (2)
Version 3.0b191946
bpg131313
04 September 2009
I'm using this version on 10.6 and have had no problems with it at all. No delays, no spinning beach balls, nothing. Sorry to hear other people are having problems, but it's working fine for me on my Mac Pro.
Like (1)
Version 3.0b191946
Ray16
04 September 2009
I'm still using 10.3.9 last build....none of the versions work, what gives???
Like
Version 3.0b191946
2 answer(s)
tim-dehring
tim-dehring
04 September 2009
REQUIREMENTS Mac OS X 10.4 or later. That could be why.
Like (1)
Version 3.0b191946
Ray16
Ray16
09 December 2009
NO ^&^%$#$$#% which version still works on 10.3.9 !!
Like
Version 3.0b192773
Robertcoogan
04 September 2009
Current version won't launch - always crashes.
Like (2)
Version 3.0b191946
Macdriver
04 September 2009
dont install with 10.6 all you get is the spinning beach ball
Like (2)
Version 3.0b191946
Albabe
05 June 2009
New version 3.0 beta 4 (178870) is available as of 6-5-09
Like (5)
Version 3.0b4.156957
BrentB
29 May 2009
New version out that fixes the crashing after updating to 10.5.7.
Like (1)
Version 3.0b4.156957
Bousozoku
10 February 2009
Beta 4 = year 4 of the version 3 beta. I realise that it's only 2009 but could you please finish it before this computer is no longer functional? I was given a Windows machine and Yahoo! Messenger has had 3 versions (7, 8, and 9) since I got the machine in 2006. Sad to say, but I've tried the Linux version and it's worse off than the Mac OS X version. Any hopes for a finished release in 2009?
Like (5)
Version 3.0b4.156957