Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to CodeRunner page
CodeRunner free download for Mac

CodeRunner Reviews4.0.3

27 November 2020

Easy way to write and run code.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Madmanuk
Madmanuk
Mar 16 2017
2.3
0.0
Mar 16 2017
0.0
Version: 2.3
The software is quite nice, but the constant battle to avoid installing macupdate desktop makes me question whether its worth bothering.
Tim27
Tim27
Jul 12 2016
2.2.1
0.0
Jul 12 2016
0.0
Version: 2.2.1
I was so hoping that there would be a little stick figure guy running around the screen replacing code elements as you type them ;)
Mokgum
Mokgum
Jul 9 2016
2.2
5.0
Jul 9 2016
5.0
Version: 2.2
My favourite code editor, it's simple. lets you run code and see the result in the editor and it syntax and code completion is very good. It is my go to editor for short python, BASH, scripts
Mokgum
Mokgum
Nov 23 2015
2.1.1
5.0
Nov 23 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
A simple editor for all the programming languages I use .... which provides syntax highlighting and the ability to run the code and see the result in the editor all for a very low price. .. just buy it, well worth it.
pietz
pietz
Nov 19 2015
2.1.1
5.0
Nov 19 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
First and foremost: Can an Admin please clean up the reviews here? There are 1 star reviews with just the content of "...", double posts as well as a reviewer who would like to take his 1 star rating back. this app is currently rated at 3 stars and it would be higher than 4 stars if somebody would remove fake, spam and wrong reviews. Thanks

CodeRunner is fantastic and just what i need. Im a computer science student that is in touch with many different programming languages. i dont want to download an IDE for every single one of them. Those programs are often larger than 4GB alone! Plus they do and manage a lot under the hood. this might be something you want when working exclusively with one language, but for someone who wants to learn how these languages work its very shady what IDEs do in the background.

CodeRunner is the best of both worlds by giving me not only syntax highlighting, but also code completion and also integrated compiling, while not creating any intransparent project files or tasks in the background. it feels very clean to use.

If that werent good enough it supports pretty much every major programming language you can think of, making it the only tool you need. You get all of this for a crazy cheap price of $15! Holy Crap! I mean the developer could sell this for $100 and it would still be worth the money!

Absolute recommendation!
rcrooks1969
rcrooks1969
Nov 11 2015
2.1.1
5.0
Nov 11 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
For what it does, this is an amazing editor for the price, both in features and performance. I do wish it had Emmet, or a plugin model so that someone could add things like that.
Nvukovlj
Nvukovlj
Nov 1 2015
2.0.3
5.0
Nov 1 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
I've only recently started using CodeRunner (v2.0.3) and I am very, very impressed. It is an excellent tool to help you quickly test out some code snippets - really and excellent scratchpad with added bonus of providing nice support for the languages I use (Python, Java, Perl). A steal for the price.
Thehobbo
Thehobbo
Oct 10 2015
2.0.3
5.0
Oct 10 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
The current rating (1.5 stars) does by no way, in my opinion, represent this app correctly. The low reviews here talk about installation issues which are not necessarily faults of the app - and one review is repeated twice with 1/2 star (how MacUpdate?). I've been using since v1, v2 brings lots of new features like better code completion and better syntax hi-lighting - generally a thorough polish all-round. For me it's my go-to app to quickly create, test or debug chunks of code. For front-end web development it's got your back with HTML, Javascript, jQuery, Node,js, PHP and Bash support (as well as many others). It has a tabbed interface so you can compare files quickly. Console view for debug output. You can use TextMate themes for code colouring as you prefer as well as many view options for font preferences etc. Loads more options. All-in-all, a great tool for any developer.
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
Oct 2 2015
2.0.3
0.0
Oct 2 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0.3
I've purchased CodeRunner 1 from Mac App Store years ago, and the developer promised that I can purchase CodeRunner 2 with discount.

When I launch CodeRunner 2, it insists that my copy of CodeRunner 1 is invalid (how can it be ?) and suggests that I should re-download CodeRunner 1 from MAS. So I delete the original app only to find that I can't re-download CodeRunner 1 anymore! It had been completely removed from the store thus it can't be searched. I also tried to re-download from 'Purchased' tab but MAS keeps complaining there is an error. In the end, I've now lost CodeRunner 1, and still can't get discount price for upgrading CodeRunner 2! I know that $14.99 is not much, but it doesn't feel right!

Have submitted support request on developer's website and waiting for response. I will revert star ratings to 5 after this incident resolves. For anyone who is going to upgrade, DON'T DELETE CodeRunner 1.
Brian-ellith
Brian-ellith
Sep 10 2015
2.0.3
0.0
Sep 10 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0.3
Tried to use version 1.3.1 from the App Store, will not install on my computer no matter how many time I try it. Not sure what is wrong
Akanico
Akanico
Dec 25 2014
1.3.1
0.0
Dec 25 2014
0.0
Version: 1.3.1
A new and improved version is out, 2.0.1 currently.
jsonbirduk
jsonbirduk
Nov 7 2014
1.3.1
0.0
Nov 7 2014
0.0
Version: 1.3.1
Tried on Yosemite. I don't what's wrong, but it keeps crashing all the time!
drkameleon
drkameleon
Nov 7 2014
1.3.1
0.5
Nov 7 2014
0.5
Version: 1.3.1
...
KyleThmpsn
KyleThmpsn
Nov 19 2012
1.3.1
4.5
Nov 19 2012
4.5
Version: 1.3.1
I bought CodeRunner when I started getting into Java programming classes. In class, we used jGRASP to code & compile, and I wanted something to use at home for assignments. While jGRASP is also available for Mac, I wanted something a little easier to use and a lot cleaner, and after a quick Mac App Store search, I found what I was looking for -- CodeRunner. For $10, this app can't be beat. While I haven't tried out any other languages other than Java, CodeRunner neatly lays out my code and also suggests different things as I type. It does everything I need it to, in a very clean manner. Bottom line, if you're getting into programming, this is the app you need to have. Best part, it's only $10! One more thing. The site listed for the developer seems to be outdated on MacUpdate. Here's the current link to check out more features before you buy. http://www.krillapps.com/coderunner/
Cgntoonartist
Cgntoonartist
Jun 10 2012
1.3
5.0
Jun 10 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3
CodeRunner is a brilliant app. The only thing is missing is support for CSS3 and HTML5.
Cgc
Cgc
Feb 6 2012
1.3
5.0
Feb 6 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3
After using TextWrangler to learn Python in I wanted something a little more seamless/integrated so I bought CodeRunner. Couldn't be happier with CodeRunner.
Cgc
Cgc
Feb 3 2012
1.3
5.0
Feb 3 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3
Looks like a great program but without a demo there's no way I'd drop $10 when there's so many good alternatives out there. Need to be able to see why it's worth $10.
J-w-
J-w-
Jul 21 2011
1.0.1
0.0
Jul 21 2011
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
Looks interesting. It's too bad the App Store doesn't allow demos, because I'd prefer to try it before buying. Maybe the developer could release a free version that supports only one language?
hced
hced
May 11 2011
1.0
5.0
May 11 2011
5.0
Version: 1.0
I like this tool. Sure, there are a zillion other methods you can run and debug your code, but it's very simple to pop up Code Runner and jot away. It's very convenient and also has some formating niceties built in, such as code templates for new documents (per language), auto-closing of brackets, auto-indentation, code completions, syntax coloring, etc. For anyone learning to program (like me), this is just awesome. I'm sure advanced programmers fins this usable from time to time as well.