Back to nvALT page
nvALT free download for Mac

nvALT Reviews

2.2.8
19 September 2017

Fork of Notational Velocity.

centzon
07 January 2016

Most helpful

I've been using this app for quite some time, and, simply put, it is the Dog's bollocks.... the single search bar, no need to save a file, choice of external editor, markdwn., speed of execution, small memory footprint... the list is almost too long for such a simple app. Not sure what has happened since my upgrade to El Capitan, but things are a little screwy WRT spell and grammer (heheh!) checking in US English. Can't quite put my finger on it, but it seems that the underlying changes made in El Cap. have degraded this apps otherwise excellent performance. Here's hoping that the developer offers an update to the app in the near future.
Like (3)
Version 2.2b

Read 27 nvALT User Reviews

Rate this app:

gcoghill
11 September 2018
It took me a while to "get" the nvALT approach, but now that I've assimilated it, I'm a fan. The software is pretty bare bones — by design. The idea here is to find and capture quickly, and it does that job exceedingly well. I'd love to see some additional text manipulation features; I was able to implement what I wanted globally in macOS using a tip from the nvALT developer's website. But with just a few power-user text manipulation tools, this could be even better. Check out my plain-text journaling system, in which nvALT plays a big role: https://georgecoghill.wordpress.com/plain-text/
Like
Version 2.2.8
Zx81
18 October 2017
Does not launch since I updated to High Sierra. Notational Velocity still runs fine!
Like
Version 2.2.8
lazk
05 May 2017
I've noticed that the last version 1.2.7. takes about 5 second to close.
From the moment I click on 'x' until it closes, a delay of 5 seconds.
Have anybody noticed that ?
Like
Version 2.2.7
Dana_Nau
04 November 2016
I'm happy to see that Brett has resumed development of my favorite note-taking app!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.6
Zx81
02 November 2016
I am so glad this app has been updated and development is active. Incredibly fast to launch, no chance to lose data, uses tags, sync over Dropbox. Used alongside IOS apps (nvNotes) it is, for me, the perfect note taking setup.
I wish notes could be organized by date created, it would then be a perfect journaling app as well.
I stopped syncing with Simplenote because all my tags would be lost (I think it is a matter of tag format, but not sure)
Like (1)
Version 2.2.6
Nontroppo
24 October 2016
I've used nvAlt (and NV) for many years. This is such a simple and elegant Markdown friendly solution, really gets out of your way but offers everything I need. SimpleNote support makes this totally rock! BTW, the successor to nvAlt, BitWriter is soon to be released (I assume as a beta first). Can't wait!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
adsetter
27 September 2016
There's an Update for Sierra: http://brettterpstra.com/2016/09/22/nvalt-2-dot-2-bugfixes-sierra-compatibility/ Great Software! Thanks Brett!
Like (2)
Version 2.2b
centzon
07 January 2016
I've been using this app for quite some time, and, simply put, it is the Dog's bollocks.... the single search bar, no need to save a file, choice of external editor, markdwn., speed of execution, small memory footprint... the list is almost too long for such a simple app. Not sure what has happened since my upgrade to El Capitan, but things are a little screwy WRT spell and grammer (heheh!) checking in US English. Can't quite put my finger on it, but it seems that the underlying changes made in El Cap. have degraded this apps otherwise excellent performance. Here's hoping that the developer offers an update to the app in the near future.
Like (3)
Version 2.2b
Zx81
16 September 2015
Be careful : I synchronized my notes with simplenote and it works great, but it just deleted all my tags ; there was a warning about this on GitHub (https://github.com/scrod/nv/wiki/FAQ%3A-Synchronization)
Like
Version 2.2b
petert89
09 September 2014
The peak of pure quick note taking (IMO). It just works, finds any note I need almost instantly. I don't even need to remember exactly what I called the note(s), keying one word will find everything with that word, now! Storing my notes in markdown format means they render and edit fast as plain text and print formatted well enough to keep the boss happy. The Markdown preview makes this so easy. Editing nvAlt notes in TextWrangler means I know exactly what is in each down to the invisible characters, and gives me as much text processing power as I need. Keeping my notes in my DropBox means they are available within minutes on all my devices, OS X and iOS (view / edit with Nocs on iOS, my preferred app). pete
Like (2)
Version 2.2b
Niku1000
17 March 2014
Regarding nvALT: 1. Does it place an icon in the menu bar? 2. Can I type notes in it? 3. Can I paste items that I have copied? I'm only THINKING of installing nvALT, so my star-ratings mean nothing. They're just the price of admission (mine).
Like (2)
Version 2.2b
6 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
25 April 2014
Seriously? It's a free download, you gave the app 2.5 stars AND YOU DIDN'T EVEN TRY IT? You just brought down the app's score for no reason whatsoever. Leave a COMMENT next time.
Like (14)
Niku1000
Niku1000
25 April 2014
I guess that this is not the place to ask questions, because no one, except Mudflapper, has any comments and his are not helpful Well, all is not lost, because I finally found an app that does what I wanted.
Like
JackB7393
JackB7393
07 August 2014
i joined this site just so i could log in to tell you what you're doing is azz backwards. what's wrong with you?
Like (2)
Niku1000
Niku1000
07 August 2014
I forgot to mention that the app I finally found is Apple's Notes. It's just what I wanted. It does everything I asked about. Unfortunately, I didn't find anyone here whose opinion is worth anything. I doubt that I'll ask any questions here again.
Like (1)
Lev
Lev
28 August 2014
You probably found nobody here whose "opinion is worth anything" because your questions would have been easily answered by your trying nvALT for yourself. It's free and there's a download. Or are you living in the Brave New World of the App Store, where you can't try before you buy?

Anyway, glad you 'finally' found Notes. Which came free with your computer. <facepalm>
Like (8)
Uncoy
Uncoy
20 May 2016
Wow, what perpiscuity. Leaving low reviews for the wrong software (and software he hasn't tried). MacUpdate moderator drop this rating please, turn it into a comment please.
Like (2)
jmrx
26 August 2013
Simple, fast, beautifully executed with shortcuts for everything.
Like
Version 2.2b
cka3o4h1k
21 August 2013
It would be great to add the ability to open different folders like in Nottingem (and accept from command line)
Like
Version 2.2b
DPoncy
28 July 2013
When I click on "hide the icon" I lose all ability to access the application menu / preferences. There is no button to reverse this. The only way I can figure out how to get back to the preferences is to delete the preferences file in my user Library. But I can't find the preferences file either. Mountain Lion - Latest stable version of nvAlt.
Like
Version 2.2b
IloveBurma
25 July 2013
Thanks for this app! I use it almost everyday.
Like (1)
Version 2.2b
hced
21 November 2012
Super useful. I'm using it for just about any kind of notes, including code snippets. To keep normal notes separate from code snippets, I prepend snippet filenames withing brackets, e.g. "[unix] Find out what shell I'm using". Its searching feature is pretty competent as well, searching both the names of your text files -and- their text content.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Stormchild
11 July 2012
Notational Velocity is a brilliantly simple note-taking app, and this version takes it to the next level with a bunch of great enhancements. With a single hotkey you can hide and show the app, and it's so lightweight you'll never have to wait for it (this is critical when trying to jot down ideas before you forget them). What really makes this a killer app is the ability to sync with various iOS note-taking apps via Dropbox. I'm currently using it with Elements for iPhone/iPad; it's a great fit, because this app and Elements both support Markdown preview, which means you can actually format text on iOS instead of being stuck with plain text. It's awesome and it's free.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
S/ash
07 January 2012
I am using this awesome app for about a month. And this is simply amazing! I use it solely to create plain text notes (no Markdown/HTML). I store almost everything in it, and yet it is so blazing fast! I love the low contrast theme of nvALT and it's beautiful interface. There is one thing I can't figure out. As I don't use any HTML/Markdown tags in my notes, I have to basic text formatting, i.e., Bold and Italics. My notes look sort of like UNIX man pages. I use a monospaced font for all my notes. But I am not able to print to PDF properly because, the alignment is not proper at line breaks. I have set max width as 80 chars, but the app doesn't put hard line returns after the line overflows. Is there any fix around this? Also, I would like to have Underline font style, although it won't make any sense for HTML. Thanks to the developers of nvALT and Notational Velocity.
Like
Version 2.1
Max-Roach
11 October 2011
This NV fork adds missing features to the original one. Mardown support is welcome and if you choose to stock as plaintext in a folder it's possible to synchronize with some text editors on iOS like PlainText or WriteRoom. Love it but I miss an opportunity to sort strictly by tag name.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Norz
Norz
22 November 2011
The tags you set in nvALT are based on openmeta, so you can also search them in Spotlight or Leap. And Leap allows to sort documents by tags. http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/26019/leap
Like (2)
Max-Roach
Max-Roach
22 November 2011
@ Norz Thank you for the info. I had no success searching by tags in Spotlight. It doesn't work despite I use this kind of query “tag:some-tag” but I found a little utility that works: TagLists. http://hasseg.org/tagLists/ Anyway I'd like to perform this kind of query in nvALT search field and if possible on multiple tags.
Like
Nontroppo
01 August 2011
I normally use the main NV build, but the addition of the Simplenote tag sync here is too much to resist. Thanks to all those who work on NV and its derivatives, an amazing tool!
Like (2)
Version 2.1
SickTeddyBear
09 April 2011
FYI, but this still appears to be a universal Intel/PPC binary, despite what the requirements and platform indicate.
Like
Version 2.0
Nanobite
06 April 2011
Excellent little app. While NV itself is already great as-is, NVALT's tweaks and features makes it perfect for my needs. I especially love the Markdown preview feature, and the ability to write notes in an external editor. Immensely useful. I would like to note, however, that there appears to be a bug in this latest release, where attempting to select a menu item in a completely new and empty database (i.e. no notes selected) can cause the app to crash, at least on my machine. Seems to be just a minor issue that doesn't occur with normal use. Other than that, the app works flawlessly.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Szeoli
Szeoli
03 June 2011
FYI, you can edit notes in an external editor with Notational Velocity.
Like
Hkim
05 April 2011
The update from within the application seems to be bombing, thus I need to directly download this again.
Like
Version 2.0
ehd
13 February 2011
I've failed to compile the latest beta of NVALT (2.x) despite installing XCode. Does some know of a beta for NvAlt 2?
Like
Version 1.0.7
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
27 February 2011
Unless you're talking about some other NV, it might help to check Brett's article: http://brettterpstra.com/nvalt-1-0-8-progress-and-status/#comment-14303
Like
Tbrizitsky
06 January 2011
The best NV fork so far. Development speed is surprisingly good and extra features are very useful.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.6
Fishscale
01 January 2011
Thanks for this nice version of NV, I appreciate you including your own check for updates option so I don't have to keep up with this MU listing. I like the additions and I like that you credited everyone including elasticthreads for the multimarkdown preview implementation and taking it further with the preview and a whole sleuth of other additions. Thanks for ALL of your work and making them free from your scripts and tips to extensions and apps. They are all much appreciated! Cheers on the nice job and thanks again!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.6
1 answer(s)
Brett-t
Brett-t
15 January 2011
Thanks for the kind words! (sorry, I've been on vacation)
Like (1)
Aeschylus
28 December 2010
The wide view is nice, and it otherwise seems to work as well as the original. Is there any chance that you could make this sync Tags with Simplenote? That's one feature a lot of us have been waiting for. Nice job.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Brett-t
Brett-t
29 December 2010
I'm looking into it, but can't make any promises yet.
Like