Back to UltraEdit page
UltraEdit free download for Mac

UltraEdit Reviews

18.00.0.40
05 October 2018

Mac version of the Windows text editor.

Iliketrash
17 December 2010

Most helpful

WARNING. This is a cross-platform program (using wxWidgets), and you know what that means—lots of interface problems. If you value the Macintosh experience, you will find this editor awkward and sometimes ugly. I have been a beta tester for it and after reporting a few problems (which were answered in detail within a few days) I pretty much gave up—there were just too many things to report. The developers just don't grok the Macintosh world. I added the word description file for a language that is not supported out of the box, following in detail the steps required, and it had no effect. I was hoping for at least syntax highlighting and possibly code folding but neither of these happened; the text is still all in glorious black.
Like (9)
Version 2.0

Read 16 UltraEdit User Reviews

Rate this app:

UserUV
15 January 2018
What does this app from Windoze bing to Mac? hm. It brings
a) nice dark themed UI (available in CudaText, Sublime, not many others),
b) nice Ribbon toolbars UI (available in ???? on mac)
c) lot lot of menu items (Sublime has much less of menuitems, but has much more plugins, IMO plugins are better than built-in menuitems)

CudaText also has several dark themes, and lot of plugins (less than Sublime of coz). One downside of CudaText is not stable UI (only on mac it's not stable).

So other editors, CudaText + Sublime Text, are my choice.
Like (2)
Version 18.00.0.17
Prince-Isaac
14 January 2018
The blurb at the top says "...the world's best text editor, now available for Mac..." As if it's a brand new Mac app that was just bestowed on us yesterday. Hey, it's at least 6 years old on MU so it isn't "now" (finally) available on the Mac. So what does this port of a Windoze app bring to the table that Coda, BBEdit, or Sublimetext don't? It seems that Windoze devs think that they can come barging into the Mac market and charge Windoze prices for their warez.
Like
Version 18.00.0.17
bobembry
13 January 2018
Another case of → "Business people are always establishing beach-heads where there are no beaches." #PeterDrucker
Like (1)
Version 18.00.0.17
2 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
16 January 2018
I like that. No beaches. Ha! Nevertheless, this app is a backhanded compliment to the Mac. Apparently the developers think there are enough switchers to justify a Mac version for their erstwhile Windows customers. They are still supporting it after at least five years so somebody must be buying it. As for issues with the blurb, those are rarely updated with their apps. So this one should be discounted, at least to some extent.

Let them compete. Competition keeps everybody honest, as it were. In the meantime, though TextWrangler is no longer supported (the last version still works however), you can use BBEdit for free if you don't need the paid features. And even that is half the price of UltraEdit—and Coda. Even Sublime is more expensive. Price aside, though, I suspect only a hard core coder could tell the difference between these apps. And none of these reviews are helpful in that regard—interface niceties notwithstanding.

If I were thinking of laying out $90 for this program I think I'd look elsewhere for a decent review. Unfortunately, for some reason, text editors don't get a lot of love, except for BBEdit, of course, which I've been using on and off for twenty years.
Like
Veryvito
Veryvito
19 June 2018
I feel like I have to defend IDM on this one. I used UltraEdit for YEARS on Windows, and it truly was my favorite text editor of all time. After I switched to the Mac in '03 (during the "switcher" phase), UltraEdit was the one app I missed dearly -- and there were for years NO comparable text editors (BBEdit was the king of the Mac editors in those days).

For years, I (and many others) begged Ian to create a Mac version of UltraEdit, and at long last, his company finally did.

Unfortunately, its launch was timed well after that of TextMate and Sublime Text, which in the mean time had become great editors on their own.

So while there are no beaches today, there was once a huge opportunity for UltraEdit on the mac. Alas, that day passed long before its arrival.
Like
Lumac52
15 November 2017
Now at version 16.1, released 2016-06-17
Like
Version 15.1.0.1
bumper314
13 October 2014
Looks like the price is $79.99.
Like
Version 4.1.0.5
Prince-Isaac
07 August 2013
So how exactly is a $60 app with roots in the Windows world going to make life easier in the Mac world? Especially given the great choices listed above under "Similar Software." My own very personal opinion is that unless you're a recent switcher, you could do better with Coda or TextWrangler or any number of Mac-specific apps.
Like (5)
Version 4.1.0.5
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
07 August 2013
Just seeing that they used Grab to take a screen shot worries me! As you said, lots of mature Mac apps available.
Like (3)
hwgray
06 August 2013
MU DL link broken. Now at v4.1.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0.7
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
07 August 2013
Thanks for letting us know. The listing's now up-to-date.
Like
gatorjim
22 May 2013
Used this way back in my Windows days and it was pretty good. But why would I fork over $60 when TextWrangler offers many of the same features and is free.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0.7
bbw7
21 May 2013
This bad boy is actually at 4.0.0.7, and available at the developer's site. Whereas the MU dl link ist kaput
Like (1)
Version 3.1.0.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
22 May 2013
Thanks for the heads up! We've updated the listing.
Like
Lumac52
28 November 2012
Now at version 3.3. Download link has changed.
Like
Version 3.1.0.1
dedybear
22 February 2012
I really like that it is smart enough to autotab , color my code, and allow regex searches, allow macros & utilities, custom word files, but doesn't do so much I cannot load a large file. I have found that no matter what IDE I try, I continue turning back to UltraEdit. Also, I never have issues loading or saving projects.
Like
Version 2.3.0.0
Iliketrash
07 June 2011
Here is a copy of a recent bug report that I sent to the developers. OS X 10.6.7 UltraEdit 2.2.0.1 On OS X, Command-W always closes the front window as does clicking on the red "stop-light" button at the upper right of the window. It's bizarre that it doesn't work on some non-native widget sets. You might have to find a work-around or appeal the the widget-maker group for a fix. It is maddening to first hit Command-W out out of decades of habit then try closing by clicking on the red button and then having to search the window for the non-standard Close button--or is it the Cancel or OK or Save buttons? I'm not being picky about these things--Mac users expect a correct interface and a consistent interface. Just maddening. The Edit Macro... window doesn't respond to most mouse clicks. As a feature request, make the first 10 tabs quickly accessible by hitting Command-Number where Number is 0..9. This is common but not universal among editors and is really efficient. Oh--I see that UE instead uses those key combinations to access a bunch of clipboards. Oh well (sigh). On OS X, Command-E is a standard combination that enters the selected text into the Find buffer. The Find buffer is also shared system-wide with other applications with a Find function. E.g., enter a string in one application, switch to another application, and the same string is already in that application's find buffer. On OS X, preference changes are saved when the preference window is closed. There is no "Apply" stage. Clicking once on files in the Open list should reveal that file in its tab. UE requires clicking twice, an action for which Mac users would expect some kind of "opening" action, in this case, to open in a separate window. Which leads me to... I can't figure out how to open a file's content into a separate editor window. This should be made obvious in a contextual menu from a file tab or the file icon in the Open list or from the displayed file content in its tab window. Unless this is not possible by design, which is a real deal-killer--all-in-one editors are extremely wasteful of precious screen space, and editing code by viewing only one window at a time is just wrong, and screen-splitters (if UE has them) are not a solution because it does nothing to increase the efficiency of screen usage. I personally need Ada functionality. Once earlier I followed the instructions on how to do that but it had absolutely no effect. I won't try again until I know I'll have success. In at leat the Places window, there is a horizontal scroll bar to allow viewing long file names. However, when I use the standard two-finger horizontal drag in the content region on a trackpad in the content region, the list contents scroll _vertically_. When I do the same on the actual scroll bar, nothing happens. I don't know if this occurs in other places. On OS X, Shift-Command-[ and Shift-Command-] are standard keystrokes for navigating to the previous and next tabs in programs that have a tabbed window. All of these problems are evident in only few (5-10) minutes of use. It's possible that I missed some features by not using the program longer before reporting, but I've already donated more of my time to this bug report than the program is worth.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.0.9
Yesterday in was WinZip. Today it's the less well known UltraEdit. While I think it's nice to see Windows developers coming to the Mac, I can't help wondering if they bothered to survey the competition before making the effort. The least they could do is explain what sets them apart, if anything. No doubt UltraEdit has its virtues, but apparently the developers take their cues from Microsoft - just blow smoke and people will take you at your word. Not.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.0.7
Themik
22 January 2011
Purchased it. Tried it. VERY slow scrolling. Won't obtain the function list for a single opened file. In short - NT (Nice try - next time. Maybe). I've payed for it, so I hope that will fund some interest in its development. It's a pity really - the editor is very feature rich. But it is neither Mac application (toolbar customization is OLD windows style), nor is it fast and nimble. I'll keep an eye on it. Maybe they are able to do it right (I say - drop wxVidgets or whatever else they are using and wright it in Cocoa)
Like (5)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Big77
Big77
26 February 2011
Looks like the slow scrolling has been completely resolved.
Like (2)
@timi
@timi
28 October 2011
You did it in the reverse order. Try it before you purchase. Always.
Like (1)
Iliketrash
17 December 2010
WARNING. This is a cross-platform program (using wxWidgets), and you know what that means—lots of interface problems. If you value the Macintosh experience, you will find this editor awkward and sometimes ugly. I have been a beta tester for it and after reporting a few problems (which were answered in detail within a few days) I pretty much gave up—there were just too many things to report. The developers just don't grok the Macintosh world. I added the word description file for a language that is not supported out of the box, following in detail the steps required, and it had no effect. I was hoping for at least syntax highlighting and possibly code folding but neither of these happened; the text is still all in glorious black.
Like (9)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Mlbkxbx
Mlbkxbx
01 January 2011
Thanks for the warning. Even though i think both Qt and WxWidgets are awesome in their own way, every developer that want to take mac users seriously should really consider using cocoa IMHO. But, i suppose that if you're a ultraedit/windows kind of guy, and have to use a mac at work, this is better than nothing...
Like (1)
Nontroppo
17 December 2010
I used to use Ultraedit before my switch over to OS X. It was (and probably still is) the best text editor, especially if one needed FTP support built-in. Since finding Textmate on OS X (much more minimalistic, but with the power of bundles performing magic), I never missed Ultraedit again. Having downloaded this and played around, this is still very powerful software, and while I wouldn't move back to it, this is very welcome on OS X, I imagine many switchers would want to be able to use this. Great to see this as an option, and if you like to have lots of functionality, and extensibility this may very well appeal to you.
Like
Version 2.0