Back to LiveCode Indy page
LiveCode Indy free download for Mac

LiveCode Indy Reviews

9.6.0.15511
20 January 2020

Create iOS applications quickly and easily.

Voxx
04 April 2018

Most helpful

LiveCode 9 has been released.
Like (1)
Version 8.1.5.14028

Read 16 LiveCode Indy User Reviews

Rate this app:

Voxx
04 April 2018
LiveCode 9 has been released.
Like (1)
Version 8.1.5.14028
Teksestro
20 August 2016
@MacUpdate: current version is 8.0.2, and pricing is *free*.
Like
Version 7.0.2.10025
LuxLogica
19 March 2016
@MacUpdate Admins: current version is 7.1.3, and pricing is *free*.
Like
Version 7.0.2.10025
LuxLogica
11 June 2013
LiveCode is Open Source, and therefore, FREE for most uses - you can buy a Commercial license for it, if you need to release your software through the Mac App Store, or if you are not allowed to develop under the GPL. LiveCode is extremely flexible, powerful, and easy to learn. It is being used both by kids learning to program, and scientists working in NASA projects. But one of the best features of LiveCode is its amazingly friendly and supportive COMMUNITY: lively mailing lists and forums, filled with people wanting to provide you help and support, and making the entire learning process a pleasure. As has been mentioned before, the KickStarter campaign has guaranteed that LiveCode will be evolving quite rapidly in the near future, adding many, many amazing features that will make it even more compelling - see their KickStarter campaign page for details. Last of all, the much under-promoted 'Server' is an absolutely gem, and an amazing alternative to languages such as PHP or Ruby - the English-like LiveCode language makes your complex web code easier to understand and maintain, even on complex projects (Google some amazing web libraries written by Andre Garzia for real-world examples). PROS: fun to use, easy to learn, extremely powerful, compile to Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, and write scripts for the web, all with one language, the future of the platform looks promising, the price (=FREE) cannot be beaten. CONS: we still have a few months to wait until we get to see all of the amazing features promised during the KickStarter campaign, but at least we know they're coming!
Like (3)
Version 6.0.0.1511
Teksestro
11 June 2013
LiveCode has been released as OPEN SOURCE, so you can download it and produce full-blown apps for Mac, Win and Linux, without paying a single cent. You can also download the Open Source version of the 'LiveCode Server', which allows you to use LiveCode as a server-side scripting language (like PHP or Ruby). LiveCode has succeeded in their KickStarter campaign, gathering about $750,000 of funds and becoming the highest-grossing open-source software project in the site. The KickStarter campaign goals include full Cocoa support, an even better database layer, and an open language interface (so programmers can enhance the language as they see pleased). The program code is already available on GitHub, and several programmers have already made additions and enhancements to the code. The LiveCode community is abuzz with activity, and the future of this platform looks *really* bright. Oh, and it's still just as easy to learn and use. It's a winner.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.0.1511
2 answer(s)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
19 October 2013
Not quite getting it. Last year you gave it one star, this year five? Just because now it is Open Source? Nothing much has changed in the app, you Cons from last year are all still there so why the change in heart? Also a lot of people assumed that with the kickstarter campaign and the promise of making it free it would be truly free, that you could use it however you wanted for free - however you still have to pay if you want to develop software for sale. Basically not much has changed except that now you have to make your source code available for others unless you pay for a license.
Like (2)
Teksestro
Teksestro
05 May 2014
Since the KickStarter campaign: * full unicode support has been implemented (in developer preview) * native controls are being implemented (in beta testing) * the old IDE is being thrown out and a new one is coming * going OpenSource means that the community has already contributed dozens of bug fixes and optimisations This has been sufficient to substantially change my previous views. In regards to pricing: you *can* develop full, commercial software, even with the 'Community' version of LiveCode. You just cannot release it through the Apple Store, because Apple does not allow GPL-ed software through their channels. For that - and that alone - you will have to buy a Commercial license.
Like (1)
Old-Peter
06 April 2013
The lack of native controls is making coding with LC useless. Not worth one cent
Like (4)
Version 5.5.3
2 answer(s)
Robert-Macupdate
Robert-Macupdate
08 June 2013
Hi, I'm surprised :: using that platform since its rebirth, i just do not understand how the lack of native controls is making coding with LC useless?? Could you develop? Thanks; (On a personal point of view : frankly i do not particularly appreciate the "not worth one cent" just thrown in unsupported, but I guess, we as readers all appreciate the quality of this comment!) But maybe lack of time, so please, precisions welcomed! thanks.
Like (4)
Scotty-Beam-Me-Up-Again
Scotty-Beam-Me-Up-Again
22 October 2013
I too find the absent of native controls a huge problem. For example if you want your app to look like an iOS app you have to do all the graphics yourself (buttons, tabs, ...). Now with iOS 7 you have to do this twice because all the native buttons etc are different. That said, Livecode is a good language for simple non-native apps. But for me it just doesn't fits the bill.
Like (1)
Jamesehale
15 February 2013
Now attempting to go open source under GPL for all non commercial use. Quite large stretch goals set if the kickstarter completes. I have been using LC for personal utilities since before it was Revolution. It only gets better and if made open source the skies the limit. Ok, so I really like the program and what they are trying to do. Check it out... http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1755283828/open-source-edition-of-livecode
Like (5)
Version 5.5.3
2 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
21 April 2013
The free community edition is now available: http://runrev.com/products/Open-Source/
Like (1)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
30 November 2013
The free community edition is available at: http://livecode.com/download/ Negritude's link takes you to the Livecode.com store.
Like (1)
Markus-Winter
29 October 2012
I did a LOT in HyperCard, and I bought LiveCode about three years ago to get reacquainted with my "first love" (I had switched to REALbasic when HyperCard was no longer an option). I found the language to be incredibly verbose - basically the equivalent of saying "Would you terrible mind if I had the audacity to suggest a very tiny nip of quite a good cherry?" instead of a simple "Can I get you something?". Especially the grid control was unusable. So I didn't do much with it until LiveCode was brought back to my attention about a year ago. Unfortunately I had lost my download (external drive died which had the only copy). I wasn't able to download it again from their website (which peeved me off). I check MacUpdate a few times a week, so when I saw LiveCode today with a high rating I thought I have a look. A year or so ago I had heard rumors about fake ratings by the company (RunRev) so I decided to have a closer look at all those similar sounding "high praise reviews". They have been given by four people who all "joined" within a day of each other, have not downloaded anything from MacUpdate in five months (except the first), and basically sound like the same guy. I have no proof but that sounds a LOT like someone pushing their own agenda. As for LiveCode: feel free to check it out (I will, and when I have done it might live a review), but take the reviews with a grain of salt.
Like (3)
Version 5.5.3
1 answer(s)
Robert-Macupdate
Robert-Macupdate
08 June 2013
Hi Markus, first I have no ties with Runrev in Scotland, just a regular user of live code since 8 years. I have my load of angriness as I found limitations in the language, regarding audio functions in particular. And I geared the long transition from run rev Revolution to the present live code. Not always a happy path.. but NOW, BOY :: I think we (you are) all so LUCKY to have such an environment which is so mature by now and pushing forward, that I would try and see the goodies before spitting hard on the thingy! On the goodies side : this is to my knowledge the only language which runs nicely on the server, and on desktop and mobiles. This server stuff is HANDSOME and replaces very nicely PHP. Regarding the verbosity :: you can choose to concentrate your scripts and render them unreadable!! if that is your fun cake.. go man! But if you appreciate to be able to just open up a function written 5 years ago and just "read" it naturally... than live code is gold for you. In fact the trend within the community is to over-document each function and even use dummy parameters to BOOST READABILITY. And for datagrid :: the documentation is alas a separate beast you have to download. But there are many simple examples, and some clear "LESSONS" on run rev's site, and it now works pretty well, being.. very adaptable.. which for coding has some sense! otherwise, get BENTO! Finally i' have always found the service at runrev top grade, they have been very helpful and are not the kind of people that will not find a solution for you to re-download something you paid for. They have been 100% straight in their promises since 8 years with me. So do get in touch with contact to download your live code again instead of complaining here, please. So yeah, I took time to write that on a saturday afternoon because I just do not think it is right to spit so heavily on that beast :: boy we're lucky to get back that power of coding for a much larger number of people, in the spirit of hypercard. The french livcode community recently joined in and gathered mostly hypercard guys reconverted in revolution and liveCode that all have used the language regularly since decades, to produce some clever practical applications by themselves as experts in their domains. No other language would have allowed that. Hugh!
Like
slylabs13
04 June 2012
This is what Hypercard could have been had it survived. Database API, cli access, native controls for each OS you compile an app for, including Mobile OSes, a web server that accepts embedded Livecode scripting, highly extensible, I could go on and on.
Like
Version 5.5.0.1477
rg4w
04 June 2012
I've been using LiveCode since v1.0, and it's only gotten better and better with each release. Having developed apps professionally for 20 years, I've never found another tool that provides as high a return on investment as LiveCode. Being able to deploy to Mac, Windows, and Linux from a single code base has been a godsend for my clients, and now that we can leverage much of that code to also deploy to iOS and Android the ROI has only gotten higher. LiveCode is indeed an unusual way of working, with dynamic typing and completely absent of time-wasting compile-runtime cycles. This unusual workflow will often require some unlearning to get used to, but it pays off handsomely in offering equally unusual productivity in development.
Like
Version 5.5.0.1477
dunbarx
03 June 2012
The platform is indeed evoolving for mobile devices. This is already nearly fully implemented. But for desktop and web applications, there is not, almost cannot be, a more accessable, powerful and satisfying tool to use. It has its roots in Apple's Hypercard. How many young developers have even heard of this, the father of all xTalk languages? I hesitate to mention that the language and IDE are fun to use, and there is little penalty to pay for this privilege, since this has always made xTalk seem less than "professional". Nonsense. This ought to be the wave of the future. Nobody will be disappointed if they spend just a little time "getting" this program. It takes very little time, and only a little effort. The liveCode community is filled with evangelists eager to help at all levels. Try it.
Like
Version 5.5.0.1477
PBH427
02 June 2012
While I'm not a 'True Programmer' as such (I'm self taught & only use LiveCode, AppleScript, HTML, PHP and a little JavaScript), I did find LiveCode fairly easy to learn well enough to launch my own desktop app. It seems some other reviews focus on the negatives, but I found LiveCode to be a great platform for achieving good results very fast. I know I'm not the only one, I've bought some other excellent software from the Apple Store produced mainly in LiveCode. Focus on the positives and you can achieve a great deal, sure there's room for improvement, but that's true of all software. I don't understand the comment about not having native controls for desktop apps, I develop on Mac OS Lion and when I test the app it looks native to me, on Snow Leopard it looks native, on Windows it looks like a Windows app, but maybe I'm missing something! Mobile apps can be made to look native by using a plug-in extension AFAIK, but I don't develop for mobile just yet. Don't miss out just because some people knock LiveCode, they may have some valid points, but you really should decide for yourself, I did and I certainly don't regret it now, download the demo & take it for a spin. CONCLUSION: My copy has paid for itself several times over, I would recommend LiveCode to anybody interested in developing their own apps, concentrate on the positives and you could be in profit too.
Like (1)
Version 5.5.0.1477
Teksestro
24 March 2012
PROS: * easy-to-learn, English-like programming language * specially easy for beginners to learn procedural programming * active user base CONS: * interface of IDE is awkward, dated and ugly. * desktop apps made with the framework do not use native controls, and use instead the same, outdated GUI of the IDE by default. GUI customisation of your apps is possible to a good degree, but very time-consuming and tricky. * the framework struggles with international characters and text, and support for unicode is terrible. * no built-in support for vector graphic formats like SVG or PDF * basic framework features - like 'User Preferences', 'Document' or even proper 'Undo' management, are left for the user to develop on their own * development of client-based "web apps" requires the client to instal a browser plug-in, which is currently unusably buggy, and whose development seems to have stopped * server-based (web) apps run into numerous problems due to poor support for unicode and international text * Pricing is ridiculously expensive - about $800 if you want the complete development package for all platforms - when compared to other, much more polished tools. CONCLUSION: A sadly outdated tool, which needs some urgent updating and enhancing in order to justify its price bracket. Until this update comes, it may be wiser to invest your programming money and time in other more modern, feature-full, and cheaper, alternatives.
Like (1)
Version 5.5.0.1477
Jason-Milles-76
21 March 2012
It is still not possible to use native controls. A hugh disappointment because Livecode has some great features and makes coding for iOS a lot easier compared to Xcode. The compiled code is not on par speedwise compared to Xcode compiled code. But it is workable if you only make simple menu driven apps. But it desperately needs native iOS controls!
Like
Version 5.5.0.1477
Teksestro
12 October 2011
Version 5 is a great improvement to the graphics layer of the framework - apps do perform a lot faster. The interface and the ease of use remains. It's still super easy to make a functional prototype in no time. However, it is disappointing to see that the promises of international text support - ie. UNICODE - by version 5.0 did not materialise. LiveCode is still hopeless at dealing with languages other than English. In the days of internet and global communications, really, there is no excuse. Other shortcomings - like ability to import and export vector graphics - are still missing. Overall, a good upgrade, proving that the product is still evolving, however the question now is whether these features will help expand the user base, or whether basic issues which are never addressed, release after release, will keep potential users in the global market at bay.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.0
Teksestro
10 December 2010
It is wonderful to see Revolution/LiveCode evolving and improving as a platform. Although I don't understand the reasoning behind the name change of the product - I thought 'Revolution' was quite a good name - it does seem like the new pricing structure is more flexible, and fairer: you pay according to the number of platforms you wish to develop in and for. Nevertheless, pricing seems to be going up, rather than down. Unfortunately, it is disappointing to see that many basic features that have been lacking for many, many, many years are still missing in the new version - such as proper support for unicode and international text in general, import/export of vector graphics, and many more. The developers have promised that many of these issues will be addressed by version '5.0' - so, depending on which features your app requires, it may still be prudent to wait for that version.
Like (3)
Version 4.5.2.1150