Back to Wunderlist page
Wunderlist free download for Mac

Wunderlist Reviews

3.4.21
14 January 2020

Task management tool inspired by the Getting Things Done philosophy.

neartheredrocks
16 November 2019

Most helpful

Apparently Wunderlist is being replaced by "Microsoft To Do." There is nothing in this new application that I like better than Wunderlist - and I seriously don't like the name. I will continue to use Wunderlist for as long as its possible and one day hopefully find a replacement with a better name (I'm open to suggestions).
Like (1)
Version 3.4.20

Read 50 Wunderlist User Reviews

Rate this app:

neartheredrocks
16 November 2019
Apparently Wunderlist is being replaced by "Microsoft To Do." There is nothing in this new application that I like better than Wunderlist - and I seriously don't like the name. I will continue to use Wunderlist for as long as its possible and one day hopefully find a replacement with a better name (I'm open to suggestions).
Like (1)
Version 3.4.20
Volcanus
31 October 2019
Needs an online account or login with facebook. Very bad.
Like
Version 3.4.19
Derekcurrie
06 September 2019
For those concerned: Microsoft bought Wunderlist in 2015. See: https://www.wunderlist.com/blog/our-future-wunderlist-joins-microsoft/
Like (2)
Version 3.4.14
Tim27
12 December 2015
Interface in 3.4 is not as nice as the previous version. Every company and website on the planet is trying to "simplify" their apps and websites. In doing so, they have lost ux functionality and made their apps/sites boring to use. However, the syncing in Wunderlist still works better than Apple's Reminders app. I was using Reminders since it was released, but got fed up with it not syncing between my iPhone, iPad and Mac. It usually worked on my iPhone, but when I did something on my Mac it would not sync up to iCloud. I got tired of signing out of iCloud and signing back in every few weeks just to make it work. At least Wunderlist does that.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.0
Gprovan
06 June 2015
Simple and effective to do list. However, very unstable. I have it on three Macs and it 'unexpectedly quits' on all of them just about every day. Syncing seems to be a bit hit and miss. Although it seems to be syncing, the lists don't always match up between Mac and iOS. If the stability was sorted, I'd give this 4 stars.
Like
Version 3.2.2
George6
28 September 2014
3.0.3 crashes very often when reordering items in the list (10.8.5) easy to reproduce: try move the 2nd item in front of the first a few times….
Like
Version 3.0.3
cjred
01 August 2014
Wunderlist 3 is out guys!
Like
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
George6
George6
01 August 2014
but not downloadable, appstore only until now.
please change that winderlist guys!
Like (2)
kikoku
15 March 2013
Actually nothing to complain about this app, but it really doesn't add anything considerable compared to Apple Calendars+Reminders. So why should I use Wunderlist in place of the native Mac/iPhone/iPad applications? As always with Apple, they are simple but effective; and with Mountain Lion and iOS 6 you have complete notification and synchronization between devices. Perhaps Wunderlist is useful only for cross-platform users.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.6
2 answer(s)
D9
D9
26 July 2013
I have issues with Apple's Reminders and dependable syncs across all devices; it will often override my due dates with default times it establishes at the start of a new task. This is the main reason I started using Wunderlist.
Like (2)
Gazman
Gazman
07 December 2013
@kikoku: Are you giving this app 2½ stars based on the fact that it's not made by Apple? If you had given Wunderlist a go (not clear from your review whether or not you have) you would find it has a lot of extra functionality not present in the Apple apps you mentioned.
Like (4)
Jynto
02 March 2013
Wunderlist has been my favourite to-do list for ages. The user interface is clean and intuitive. It's free. It's on every major operating system. And it syncs via the internet. Now there are a lot of task management apps out there, but try finding another one that meets all those criteria. Wunderlist is not perfect of course. Sometimes you just have to be patient with the syncing. Most of my problems with it were fixed by the 2.0 update, but there's still a few features I wish it had, like colour-coded lists, and subtasks of subtasks.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Lutb
28 December 2012
Is, overall, a nice application. But there are some minor points where you can see some flaws (by now, the most annoying fact for me is the design's inability to adapt the height of the items' boxes to fit the content when I use line breaks).
Like
Version 2.0
Marcossi
20 December 2012
After updating to 2.0 synchronising between computer, cloud and iPhone is almost never working. Sad on such a great app.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Aeschylus
19 December 2012
Doesn't work on my Mac OS X 10.7.5. Refuses to open. Not a very good upgrade. I got this from the MAS, wonder if the downloadable version works.
Like
Version 2.0
tuneslover
19 December 2012
Great OSX app. Just loving it. Also it's the best "Reminder" replacement for OSX & Android phone user.
Like
Version 2.0
Monkeyjunkey
18 December 2012
2.0 is out and their servers gone. Well, let's give the Wunderkinder a day or two to treat the servers nice and have everything working again, so we can have a look at the mac client.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Mikoi
18 December 2012
I used it a lot. But after the last 2-3 updates it fails syncing and hangs on logging in. I hope this nice piece of software will be improved in stability.
Like
Version 2.0
Frankns
18 December 2012
First day of new service and software ... Not able to connect. Seems like they are not prepared for the roll-out. Is Wunderlist ready for prime-time?
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Frankns
Frankns
19 December 2012
Later in the day ... Wunderlist released an update saying that due to heavy server load they decided to make error reporting less verbose, Apparently, the desktop app will not open - at least initially - without a network connection. Literally a non-starter. ;-)
Like
Lumac52
18 December 2012
Hmmm. I tried creating a task. Then a subtask. Then I tried searching for one of the words in the subtask. No dice. I guess search works for tasks but not subtasks? Seems to be a deal-breaker.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Lumac52
Lumac52
24 November 2014
(Fixed in version 3+)
Like
Monkeyjunkey
11 December 2012
So Wunderlist 2 is coming in the next 13 days. Wonder, if it is finally usable. Wunderlist 1 didn't convince me. http://www.6wunderkinder.com/blog/wunderlist-2-is-coming-soon
Like (1)
Version 1.2.5
Monkeyjunkey
14 October 2012
Just started using Wunderlist. Wonder what their business model is, since currently all their services are free. On OS X I'm experiencing CPU spikes to 100% which makes a restart of the software necessary. I'm disappointed to find out that this has been going on since January 2012 (so this has been an open bug for 10 months and counting). And it's also a bug affecting many mac users. Here's the according discussion: http://support.wunderlist.com/customer/portal/questions/121557-using-a-lot-of-cpu-power Otherwise fine software with lots of room for improvement. E.g. shared lists should have a feature, allowing to set responsibilities of group member for single tasks.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.5
1 answer(s)
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
19 December 2012
nothing is free ;-)
Like
Laine
12 October 2012
As of a few seconds ago, using the MacUpdate download link got me version 1.2.4.
Like
Version 1.2.5
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
12 October 2012
Laine - While the download link oddly has "1.2.4" in the file name, the version does seem to be 1.2.5.
Like
Laine
Laine
12 October 2012
That does seem odd! Thanks!
Like
Monkeyjunkey
12 October 2012
MU Download-Link is broken as of 2012-10-12.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.4
1 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
12 October 2012
And fixed, thx MU for adding a non MAS option. Version 1.2.5, which is oddly named 1.2.4 but after install shows up as 1.2.5. Streamlining deployment. :P
Like (3)
Acwolf
02 August 2012
Wunderlist is nice and attractive, but it is only for basic todo stuff. For the complete opposite, I recommend Task Coach, a not-so-beautiful Free/Open-Source program that has all the features Wunderlist is lacking: flexible priorities, hierarchies, tags, planned vs due options, prerequisites etc. Since this is all Open Source, someone ought to go and apply the visual beauty of these simple apps to Task Coach. Maybe I can try to get involved in doing that… I wanted to like Wunderlist, but it is too simple for actually handling my complex life and projects.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.4
Diego-BR
02 June 2012
No "Priority Field" yet? With this addition, the app will be very consistent for sure.
Like
Version 1.2.4
cheewee
27 March 2012
The probably best ToDo-Tool ever - just recuring tasks are not yet possible.
Like
Version 1.2.4
2 answer(s)
Tschigg
Tschigg
21 May 2012
Read that again - very funny comment. How can a software without recuring taks be the "best To-Do-Tool ever".?
Like (1)
Acwolf
Acwolf
30 July 2012
Task Coach has all this and more already. If you support Open Source, consider Task Coach instead. But I agree Wunderlist seems promising.
Like
Jynto
11 March 2012
Wunderlist makes it truly possible to manage your to-do list from anywhere. It syncs to almost every device with their apps for Windows, Linux, iOS, Android and BlackBerry. Syncing works painlessly in the background, and unlike some applications (I'm looking at you, Evernote) it doesn't put up a fuss if your internet is temporarily down. There are a few more features it needs, such as sub-dividing tasks and calender alerts, both of which they are working on. It would also be nice to color code tasks. The app is lightweight (uses about 50MB of RAM) and easy to use. Ticking off tasks feels so satisfying. And it's free!
Like
Version 1.2.4
curlygirl
05 March 2012
The best app for task management, really. The only question - how can I add repeating task?
Like
Version 1.2.4
Stig77
28 October 2011
I agree that Wunderlist needs reminders, scheduled tasks, etc. Seems like they are adding these things and calling the new package Wunderkit. The claims are pretty over the top, but it looks like it could be a good app: www.wunderkit.com/9aF0hx
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
Twisted
22 September 2011
i agree with many of the commenters here. Alarms, reminder, and a better UI would do this App my choice.
Like
Version 1.2.4
moog5
19 September 2011
Looks nice on the iPhone and iPad, however I've just discovered there are no reminders in the desktop app. No use for me, deleted.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Rondfranks
18 September 2011
I really want to like this app, but without alarms and time reminders (not just date) I really can't use this for daily tasks. Otherwise great app.
Like
Version 1.2.4
1 answer(s)
Acwolf
Acwolf
10 August 2012
Task Coach has those things, reminders and such and time-specific behavior! And it's free and open-source.
Like
Aeschylus
13 September 2011
Unfortunately, even the new update today does not allow for setting repeating tasks. This is a major problem for those of us who need this functionality. I know that others have asked for this feature, but the developer must have other priorities now.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Mark-Lee
10 August 2011
When the app is running, it cancels the system logout/reboot/shutdown — very annoying. Also, keyboard shortcuts for editing and saving notes would be very convenient. If not for those 2 issues, it would be 5 stars for everything.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Tim27
26 July 2011
Really, REALLY, needs to be able to show 2 lines of text for todos in the main window. Other than that, beautiful app. It could be an easy option to have show 1, 2 or 3 lines of text and let the user choose.
Like
Version 1.2.2
danrcf
25 July 2011
Not working on windows 7 x64
Like
Version 1.2.2
mahatmanto
23 June 2011
i just installed it on my macbook and iphone 3Gs. sync between these two devices is always in trouble... maybe i need more time to be familiar with this...
Like
Version 1.2.1
Gummibearlab
21 June 2011
Version 1.0 vas buggy, but now, 1.2 is stable and with iOs support, it's a must have. In plus, it's free.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anosachenko
23 February 2011
Nice app. But could you add a badge to show active tasks. And Russian localization is not quite correct. I'd make a few corrections.
Like
Version 1.1.1
JStanley
04 February 2011
All, While I do understand the doubts about downloading Titanium, it really does fit in with the developers' aim of targeting as many platforms as they can. Were I a strictly Mac/iPhone user, I would probably go for Things, as that's far more "Mac-like". As it stands, I can now seamlessly sync between work, home, and laptop, with the Android phone still to come. For this type of user, Wunderlist is ideal, even though it does lack advanced features.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
Px9-855
04 February 2011
Eh... Version 1.1.1... Then why does the screenshot say 1.8.0? That is sure some fast development between typing out the info and taking the screenshot... Good job! ;)
Like
Version 1.1.1
Penguirl
04 February 2011
When the Appcelerator developers compared their product to Adobe AIR I lost all interest. I don't need a task manager that automagically connects to the cloud, if I want that I will use Dropbox and symbolic links.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Graham-Berks
12 December 2010
Looks a good start but with no times for tasks, no repeating tasks it's a bit of a non starter sadly.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.0
Aeschylus
12 December 2010
Tasks cannot have times. Tasks cannot have repeats. Tasks cannot have alarms. The Titanium downloading is alarming, and I'm going to search for and remove its components ASAP. If an app needs to have some sort of runtime, why does it download this without making it clear to us? Not right, we don't need this kind of malignancy on Macs.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0
Gary-L-Gray
11 December 2010
I am liking wunderlist. It is free, syncs nicely with my iPhone, and isn't a complete eyesore. Sure, there is room for improvement, but I have been waiting what seems like an eternity for Cultured Code to add cloud syncing to Things and I am still waiting. I have spent some non-trivial cash on things for my Mac, iPhone, and iPad, and I hate having to be on the same local network to sync.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0
Michaelthegeek
14 November 2010
I agree with all and I will pass!
Like
Version 1.0.0
Teaneedz
14 November 2010
Ok, feel a little better after reviewing the Appcelerator Titanium website. Here's a link with some details about the download and what the extra files are for Wunderlist. http://developer.appcelerator.com/doc/desktop/get_started The developers chose this option: "Installer Type - You can either select your application to be network-installed or bundled. With network installs, when a user installs your application on a system without the Titanium runtime, it will be fetched via HTTP to their computer. A bundled application will be much larger, but will include a copy of the Titanium runtime." That's why there's extra files associated with what should have been a minimally sized app. The Titanium runtime ends up downloaded during the Wunderlist install. I'm sure the app is safe but I still don't like unannounced visitors to the system. Maybe this framework is fine for some but Mac users will probably be put off by the extra download. I know I was.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0
Teaneedz
13 November 2010
I too was not happy seeing something like 18 additional downloads as part of the install process. This is not a mac experience. Seemed a bit sluggish during testing. I decided to delete it from my App folder. Out of curiosity I went over to the terminal and searched for recently modified files (last 24 hours) with: sudo find / -type f -ctime 0 | more Found a folder named Titanium in the /Library/Application Support folder. Titanium is apparently what enables all of this to work. I wasn't happy about that download and deleted it too. This app does not provide what typical mac users are accustomed to. I didn't like this install process at all. Sorry to the developers. You may have a good product with potential but the user-experience is not where it should be for the mac. I'm surprised that all the reviews I've seen are not discussing this at all. Oh well c'est la vie.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0
Velgor242
13 November 2010
I agree with the other posters re: downloading of additional files upon launch--VERY disconcerting. All application resources should be within the application bundle or installer from the get go. As far as usability, it too isn't very Mac-like. Modal dialogs appear to be Flash-ish and the features are lacking (no repeating tasks?). And don't get me started on stability--crash city here. In all, this app has a ways to go.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0
Halfhitch
12 November 2010
I had the same thing. I wasn't impressed with all the extra downloads. I need to find where they went and opened up the app and created a new today in a new area and crashed. It keeps crashing. Now I'm not impressed and worried by those extra downloads. Could be because of 10.6.5? Still no excuse for those extra downloads.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0
Big-Mac-XXL
12 November 2010
Beware and be suspicious: This program wants to download more and unexplained software when you double-click it, or it doesn't start up. That's the point where I interrupted and deleted it. Not a Mac-like behavior. May be harmless or not. But that's Windows-style. I don't like open my gates for harmless software, or worms, bots, trojans, spyware, or cloud, social ... installed in such a suspicious way. Developers seem to come from the dark and crude Windows world. But the Mac world is clean, transparent and mostly harmless. Sorry if I overreact. The video on YouTube looked promising. But not at that cost.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.0
Flugzeug
12 November 2010
Perfect task manager: super nice design, Cloud-Sync, desperately waiting for the iOS App. And best of all: 100% free (incl. Cloud-Sync)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0