Back to What's Keeping Me page
What's Keeping Me free download for Mac

What's Keeping Me Reviews

2.4
03 August 2014

Identify what is keeping you from emptying Trash.

jocatra
02 February 2009

Most helpful

Working fine. Thank you.
Like (3)
Version 1.4

Read 13 What's Keeping Me User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lee B.
03 January 2019
Works perfectly for me in High Sierra 10.13.6. It DID display the App that was launched from the volume which refused to be ejected. Killed the app, Volume could be ejected! Without "What's Keeping Me" I would never have found out that an app was starting from my backup volume on my secondary HDD, rather than from the main SSD. THANK YOU !!!
Like
Version 2.4
Big Johnson
02 October 2016
Don't bother downloading this until an update is released because it doesn't work.

The dev. didn't say if the bug was specific to OS X 10.11, but it used to work. He has confirmed the issue and says he'll fix it if he can find the cause, and when he has time.

Right now it earns a half star because it's useless. But I don't want to rate it now because it has been helpful in the past.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
sushi3
19 April 2014
Helps me out quite a bit -- I don't have to remember or look up command line solutions. Mac OS sucks when it comes to giving out technical information. This app fills the gap nicely with a pretty simple and effective UI. Now I'm only wondering why random apps are in use by SystemUIServer!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Alobi
18 June 2009
I use it offen. What else to say: It works!
Like (3)
Version 2.0
jocatra
02 February 2009
Working fine. Thank you.
Like (3)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Hank-At-Hamsoft-Engineering
Hank-At-Hamsoft-Engineering
03 February 2009
Thanks! I'm glad to hear it. As a developer your never sure no matter how much testing you do ahead of time.
Like (6)
Version 1.4
Twilightscapes
02 February 2009
Who cares about what is keeping you... you just want to empty the trash and move on with your life. A good tip to do just that, is to use the "Secure Empty Trash" option in the finder File menu options. This will do just that, empty the trash - without having to do anything like command line stuff, open a 3rd party app like this one, etc... Keep in mind, this won't work for stuff that is truly still running as a root process, and it will take awhile for larger files trying to be trashed since it is writing 1s and 0s over that data... But for a quick tip, it works nicely and you won't have to worry about whats keeping me or anyone else for that matter. Cheers!
Like (1)
Version 1.4
qwerasdf
20 August 2008
I don't know what the previous commenter did wrong, but for me, this thing worked flawlessly. Thanks a lot for making great freeware/donationware.
Like
Version 1.3
Macnerd1984
02 August 2008
Didn't work for me whenever I tried it (3 times). After trashing it, it got stuck in the trash despite the image being ejected etc. and I had to use Onyx to get rid of it. Oh the irony...
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Hank-At-Hamsoft-Engineering
Hank-At-Hamsoft-Engineering
02 August 2008
I'm sorry the program didn't work for you. What's Keeping Me only works when the problem is because of an open file being held by an application... which is usually the reason you can't trash a file or eject a disk. So if it didn't work then you must have had a different problem. You can always contact me and I would help if you have a problem. You can do that from my website hamsoftengineering.com.
Like (4)
Version 1.3
resuna
01 August 2008
I normally just use "sudo lsof | grep Trash"... but I gotta agree that's a great icon. :)
Like
Version 1.3
Spungee
04 July 2008
that app icon is in the top 10 best app icons, ever. yes, really!
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Jrox
20 June 2008
This is actually quite a handy app to have around. Many times ive been unable to find what's keeping me from emptying the trash. Kudos to the developer!
Like
Version 1.1
Larsen2k4
20 June 2008
Great!!! This app just saves me a ton of time - I'm working with files a lot, and there's nothing more frustrating, than being unable to clean the trash, because of busy files. Thanks a lot!
Like
Version 1.1
Cflash
19 June 2008
Thank you!!! just what we've neaded for years
Like
Version 1.0.5