Back to Skitch page
Skitch free download for Mac

Skitch Reviews

2.8.1
20 April 2018

Take screenshots, annotate them, and share them online.

Mextex
06 December 2013

Most helpful

Seriously, don't even try Skitch 2.x. Download and use Skitch 1.x instead. This is a perfect example of how a big company takes over a small developer with a great app and destroys everything. I think that the Evernote people don't even have an idea what Skitch 1.x was about. And after all this time they have taken over Skitch an got negative Feedback about their new Skitch 2.x, they changed exactly nothing. I am an Evernote premium user and I like it. But with Skitch 2.x they made every imaginable mistake one could think of.
Like (14)
Version 2.7

Read 131 Skitch User Reviews

Rate this app:

hmfwic47
10 May 2019
2.8.2 is out.
Like
Version 2.8.1
Graphic-Mac
30 January 2019
This was a magnificent app... right up until Evernote acquired it. Crazy as it sounds, it turned into pure, useless garbage within a month. Nothing has changed since then—it's still buggy and limited by Evernote, who hasn't done anything to improve the app, or even update the UI to look like a modern app, since the day they got their hands on it. Like many others, I switched to Monosnap, which doesn't require an account (unless you want to use the "library/manager" feature, and allows you to upload to your own server if you choose.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.1
Foulger
20 December 2017
Sure its simple but its great for doing hat it is designed to do. I'm happily running version 2.8 on macOS 10.13.3 beta 2 with no problems. Most of all its FREE. It does lack some sophistication but if one just wants an app to make a ring round an item in a photo and point an arrow at it and write a short text then its 100% good to go in my opinion. If the author updates, he should charge a fee or at least ask for a donation.
Like
Version 2.8
ylluminate
07 March 2016
After a long and hopeful wait, I have finally given up on Skitch. Monosnap has filled the void and has very nearly combined the best of Skitch 1 and Skitch 2. The last thing for them to add is a handy library a la Skitch 1, but otherwise it's gone the mile and they seem to listen to feedback which is far more than what we've gotten from the new Skitch owners.
Like
Version 2.7.8
3 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
25 July 2016
I tried Monosnap. It required an account on their servers to use it. It went straight into the trash. I'm sticking with V1 of Skitch. V2 is useless.
Like
sjk
sjk
11 November 2016
It's not necessary to create a Monosnap account to use the app.
Like
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
20 April 2018
yep not necessary at all it's my Skitch replacement for over a year after trying a few other solutions like Capto
Like
Hagar06
26 October 2015
practical app, but the GUI would benefit from an overhaul. Starts to look a bit outdated.
Like
Version 2.7.8
ylluminate
15 July 2015
Super bad news folks, most recent build of 10.11 will not allow Skitch 1.x to run any longer. Please submit bug reports to Apple in order to fix this issue as it is a problem simply URL handling (com.apple.NSURLConnectionLoader specifically) it appears.
Like
Version 2.7.8
3 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
24 July 2015
This has now been resolved! Rejoice in Skitch 1.x glory once again!
Like (1)
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
23 August 2015
work on OS X El Capitan PB5.
Like
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
02 May 2017
1.0.12 work on macOS Sierra.4
http://www.oldversion.jp/mac/skitch/
Like
Frodo-life
30 June 2015
tried the latest version again hoping the main issues would been fixed however back to old skitch after 3 days here is why: 1. No history if you don't use Evernote (I actually do use evernote but don't want all my screenshots on there. 2. No way to easy change image name before drag and drop 3. Upload to FTP now takes 2 steps click, scroll to bottom release pity how this perfect software has been butchered
Like
Version 2.7.8
ylluminate
11 May 2015
Still happy with 1.x. Sadly the devs don't listen to us on the lists of features that we miss from 1.x. Stay far way from this until they get their UX heads out of their proverbial butts. Devs, go back through our emails and the compilations here for all the help you need to make this app useful and desired again.
Like (2)
Version 2.7.7
Derekcurrie
09 May 2015
The current version, as of May 6, is v2.7.8.
Like
Version 2.7.7
Ward
11 November 2014
When I upgraded my MacBook Pro from OS X 10.8.5 to 10.10, I decided to give the latest release of Skitch 2 another try. It took me only a couple of screen snaps to see Evernote is persisting with the mess they made of Skitch. Fortunately, Skitch 1.0.12 is still working well on 10.10. The only shortcoming is having to click "Always Allow" on startup when "Skitch wants to use your confidential information stored in 'skitch' in your keychain." If I could eliminate that minor annoyance, Skitch 1.0.12 would be perfect.
Like (3)
Version 2.7.6
RogerKatz
05 November 2014
Skitch's current version is 2.7.5
Like
Version 2.7.3
ylluminate
23 May 2014
Guys, please get your UI / UX team on the previous remarks. The new Skitch is still abysmal after all this time when compared to the previous user experience. Look through the history here and get the items noted fixed. I *ROUTINELY* still find people randomly complaining about what you've done to Skitch. It is a real shame because I think some of us want to like some of the newer features, but the regressions that you have as noted in abundance and enumerated clearly below from the past MUST be addressed for the majority of us to even begin to use the Evernote iteration.
Like (7)
Version 2.7.2
7 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
25 October 2014
I have Skitch 1.0.12 For a while the Evernote company offered 1.0.12 that works on Yosemite well. Is this the same as the first release that you referred to? If it is different please tell me how it is different.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
25 October 2014
Unfortunately that version is not available from the Evernote company.I immediately reverted to that version when it was offered because of all the critics that lambasted the version 2.0. Apparently Evernote is playing
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
25 October 2014
Apparenly I got that version from the MAS store.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
25 October 2014
Have you used the Skitch forum? I don't see your user name in that forum.,unless you are using another user name.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
25 October 2014
It would be a good idea if you joined the forum and put your suggestions to improve Skitch there rather than MU as I don't think the Developers ignore MU. That is quite evident as they don't read your suggestions.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
25 October 2014
I'm sorry that should read The Developers Ignore your remarks on MU. I got carried away by the moment.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
26 October 2014
This is a post on Skitch Forum: This is aimed at the Skitch Team after 6 years being acquired by Evernote please please tell me what extra functionality you have brought to the product inside the Windows environment?

I got to be honest i feel like i have been in Cryonic suspension it seems no different just as basic when you were bought out.

I cannot blur in pdf to obscure sensitive account numbers (told by support i have to convert my 6 page credit card statement into separate jpg's!!!!!!

I cannot rotate a pdf but i can find several free apps that do it. The functionality is weak and looks childish. There are extensions / apps in the Chrome store written by kids that have 300% more functionality.

I know i will get stoned to death for daring to have a anti Evernote mantra from the EN can do no wrong brigade. But i am really interested in what you have achieved in those 6 years for its customers to me it looks no different besides your 5 stamps (thats not even 1 stamp a year)

Cheers
A disappointed Windows Skitch Non User




dan7000 likes this Like This
Quote
MultiQuote
Report
#2 Skitch Team What Have You Done: post #2 selfishy


Pip
Title: Member +
Group: Member +
19 posts
Posted 19 October 2014 - 06:26 PM
Wow, I thought they only ruined it on the Mac. Why would you ruin software on multiple platforms like this? Insanity.

Like This
Quote
MultiQuote
Like
Cyann
28 February 2014
To those, like me, who consider Skitch 2 is a mess, and don't want to stay with Skitch 1 (which is the best ever) you should try Glui.
Like
Version 2.7.2
1 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
23 May 2014
Thanks very much for the recommendation! I think so many of us are upset and sad about this because it has been the case of just another org or company thinking that they know better than their users. We all just want the old Skitch that we love with simply the new features added. Glui lacks a bit as far as I can see + no trial landing in at $7, it's definitely a no go.
Like
ylluminate
24 January 2014
What a joke, you know I thought I'd just give it a try again here to see if they'd addressed our previous notes. Not only have they chosen to ignore us, but now there's a stupid bug that will not copy the correct filename to the pasteboard. For example, it puts underscore marks ('_') at the end of filenames separating the filename from the file type. So it might, for example, give "my_image__png" instead of "my_image_.png" (seems to love those underscores!!! Calm down there guys!).
Like (1)
Version 2.7.1
Mextex
06 December 2013
Seriously, don't even try Skitch 2.x. Download and use Skitch 1.x instead. This is a perfect example of how a big company takes over a small developer with a great app and destroys everything. I think that the Evernote people don't even have an idea what Skitch 1.x was about. And after all this time they have taken over Skitch an got negative Feedback about their new Skitch 2.x, they changed exactly nothing. I am an Evernote premium user and I like it. But with Skitch 2.x they made every imaginable mistake one could think of.
Like (14)
Version 2.7
2 answer(s)
Lisa Lockworth
Lisa Lockworth
13 December 2013
"This is a perfect example of how a big company takes over a small developer with a great app and destroys everything." SO TRUE.
Like (6)
cmgaud
cmgaud
04 June 2015
Totally lost functionality of Skitch 1 as the colour pallet wandered around the iMac screen and eventually left hanging half over the edge so no choice of colour in text or more seriously in rectangles, arrows and squares. Going back to previous preferences file using Time Machine was likely to help but unfortunately I think because skitch.com no longer exists Skitch required me to log into Evernote and then kept offering ad nauseum QUIT or RETRY. So I can't open the old files and the new EVERNOTE SKITCH has no filing system on the computer - wants to put as a jpg or png on Evernote Cloud.. The beauty of old Skitch was progressive editing as Skitch was great at explaining things and updates improved explanations - now its start from stage 1 all the time. I am so disappointed that the brilliant Skitch 1 can no longer be used. Feel cheated...
Like
Lisa Lockworth
19 November 2013
I LOVE Skitch but if you guys are like me, let me suggest you download the old version...The new version is NO GOOD (very limited features).
Like (5)
Version 2.7
ylluminate
25 October 2013
Man you guys don't get it. You are trying to remake Skitch 1.x right now vs adding useful new features TO Skitch 1.x. You are still not at Skitch 1.0; probably at about 0.7 to be frank. Just some simple examples: • You can't define opacity quickly and easily. I was, for example, excited when I saw a very transparent highlighter, but quickly realized that when it faded into full color you missed the mark. There should indeed be a highlighter AND a freeform draw tool. • Shapes are harder to reach, let us click and put up a drawer vs changing context. It's a UX foobar. • Don't postfix numerals on the end of filenames when they are dragged out unless they need to be incremented. • Give use the old resize and crop functionality, not this new crap that is less intuitive and slower to use. • Give us our freaking Skitch 1.0 library back! Don't just open Skitch 1 docs, give us a robust library that we had before and leave the contents intact! It has 3 years of images in there for me! • Lose the stupid new icon; give us back our stylized heart, we're used to it and it is more attractive than this arrow tail. • I could go on quite a bit... You guys are just still really off base.
Like (5)
Version 2.7
RustyIron
25 October 2013
When Version 2 came around and started "sharing" all my activity with Evernote, I managed to downgrade to Skitch 1.x. Still being irritated by Evernote's relentless pursuit of my private data, I finally stumped across Monosnap, which does everything that Skitch 1.0 did, and nothing more. Yay, Monosnap!
Like (2)
Version 2.7
Maclover1-1
31 August 2013
Well, after using mostly LittleSnapper and then Voilà over the past few years (and before that Ambrosia Snapz.. way back...).. I've tried Skitch again (never understood who it was meant to early on.. seemed like a toy to send cutesy" postcards"-type annotated images for teen-boppers at the time of Plasq.. in line with their cartoony Comic Life approach.. at least that is how I saw it. Then lately have been annoyed at Voilà for not being 64-bi7 have decided to ditch all non 64-bit apps inasmuch as possible) and had given up on LittleSnapper before that (and am sure not interested in ember whatsoever). To make a long story long.. I love Evernote and like it when I can sort of streamline certain things.. So.. got Skitch a Twirl again since I got it on on Android.. and though fairly basic it is just fine for my usage which is basically quickly annotating screen grabs for customers mostly (I do not like its icon.. but I can pretend I don't see it..). So the price between Evernote and Skitch is right for me ;0) And the fact that I got those tools on my Android Tablet as well makes it all peachy for me.
Like
Version 2.6.2
ylluminate
22 June 2013
Developers, apparently you do not know now to perform UX testing, so let me try to help a little bit. Your goal absolutely must be to make Skitch feel precisely like 1.x of the app. 1.x, as you can see, is something that EVERYONE loved. The only good reviews I've seen (save a couple) are from folks who never used 1.x. So, here you go: • Allow us to rename Skitch 1.0 to "Skitch 1.app" and run it along side of Skitch 2 (that way we don't feel forced and can compare). Right now we have to start Skitch 2 first and then start Skitch 1 in order for this to work as ignorant Skitch 2 thinks Skitch 1 isn't supposed to be running. • Put a tool resizer ON the interface so that we can shrink and enlarge our arrows and fonts like we used to be able to do (http://cl.ly/image/0u3X3V242n1z). • Give us the ability to define transparent backgrounds for our creations. Frequently we want to have transparent alpha pngs (http://cl.ly/image/1P111v143w3p). • Make scaling and cropping work like before (even if you have a crop button, give us the ability to do it like we USED to as it is MORE INTUITIVE) (http://cl.ly/image/1S2O1w3I0X30). • Allow us to name like we used to (http://cl.ly/image/2S2S2S2T2M0M) - it does not appear that now we can rename files properly as you just have a silly title that doesn't stick as the filename when dragging it out to other apps and you just have an ugly "Drag Me (size x size)" area; at least make it like the old Skitch where you can insert a filename there. That makes intuitive logical sense. • Make your bordering narrower; compare old to new: http://cl.ly/image/200w1L422H1p • Give us the old paint bucket back and make it work like it did before so we can fill spaces: http://cl.ly/image/1F0Z1d3M153F • Your selection mechanism is not as good as before. For example, having a selection arrow and being able to draw rectangles or arrows upon arrows (ie, other shapes) was a better way with more fine grained control (http://cl.ly/image/2f0a0J3h0M2S). • Capture Safari pages and USE Safari cookies so that if you are logged in on Safari, it will actually be logged in on Skitch (thus allowing the capture of admin pages, etc.) I could probably provide several more points, however this is a good start. The idea here, as you can see, is to emulate the old version as closely as possible as you have a lot of users who want this. Listening to users is never a bad thing when they know your product better than you do. We have been a very passionate and dedicated userbase for Skitch and fell in love with the app and it's cool little heart icon. We want back what we loved; that's not too much to ask for and it is not too hard to accomplish if you just listen and study.
Like (15)
Version 2.5.2
4 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
26 June 2013
I agree with your disdain for the direction Evernote has taken with Skitch 2, or rather the lack of direction it has suffered due to Evernote's purchasing of Skitch v1. Skitch was so close to being an invaluable tool for years to come but when the developer chooses to cut development there is nothing you can do. For some reason it seems as if Sketch was bought so that development would cease under it's previous owners. I did not use Skitch much under v1 but have compared the two and it's truly appears to be app suicide/sabotage under Evernote... I do not know for what reason or if Evernote has simply lost all common sense but from their advancements with the flagship app and service it seems to be the former. I only write this because Skitch v1 could have been great for my workflow with a few tweaks to "capture Safari pages" and the saving process. How does that option diminish from any other part of Skitch if left as is functionality wise in v2 as it was in v1... so do not do anything to it but how do you justify simply removing an extremely useful feature that doesn't interfere with any other functioning or "hurt" the app or it's user base but rather retains or attracts new users? You are asking these same questions just like so many others, as the reviews blatantly demonstrate like a slap across the developers' face but no interest, one reason or another. I like Evernote, but will not purchase a premium account simply from witnessing the Skitch purchase and neglect/dismantle routine. I do not want to rely on a service that will non-sensically make decisions and ignore their user's pleads not even for new features but at least a version that retains features torn out of v2 for no explainable reason. I know they are doing just fine without my money and clearly do not care what Skitch user's think, even this update is not that profound as they portray it to be, but I hope other Mac users are at least aware of this behavior. It's not hard, try v2 and then try v1 of Skitch... if you come out saying you like v2 better I promise you are in the bottom ten percent (fabricated figure, but ten sounds generous) block of users. I hold no faith in Evernote as a company for removing the capturing of Safari pages, Apple's default platform and a feature that makes it a free or with premium purchase, paid, competitor to about a dozen old and new mac apps which have the basic functionality and not much else. LittleSnapper and Voila have done the best job with capturing web pages as they appear but LS has little development these last couple years and Voila is a great app with a great company driving it but I still prefer to go to the command line for the simple reason that it allows me more flexibility for my workflow of capturing, annotating, and moving out of the app's database and into my own simple logging setup. Skitch fits the bill perfectly but It appears the Snap Safari option in the menu, Apple's native browser, was causing Evernote so many problems that it had to be completely removed and replaced with no feature that can take it's place. The app is great, v1's rating shows that much but between the removal of the two features I need most to be efficient I can get by with the CL and a free graphics editor but potential that Skitch had is scary. Of course it is easy to see what drove the decision to remove the two features I need, Evernote subscriptions. Snap Safari feature threatened Evernote's Save Full Page feature. I am guessing on this reasoning but common sense points in this direction only reaffirmed by the removal of no ability to rename the screencap before dragging to local drive and less drag/export formats when done so. I get they want to sell subscriptions not develop a free app for our community. That's fine, but give me the option to pay you for the features you took out in an effort to "force" or persuade me that a subscription to Evernote would be the best option for my workflow. I would happily pay for Skitch 2 + removed functionality that was available in Skitch v1. Evernote, you don't even have to do any more developing and you will make money. Just add back all of the options that made Skitch attractive to users in the first place and keep the paid version up to date with your subscription geared updates to v2. I don't see how anybody loses in that scenario but that makes way too much sense and everybody wants all of their screengrabs to be public, of course, the default/unchangeable option for uploading snapshots. Hmm, I really don't just take snapshots for others to see and even if I did I'd like an option to not automatically publicly share and then have to remember to change the options later Evernote... well how about that, their driving me back to Evernote. Removing options or forcing workflows on users so they need to run/login to the only service the company cares about makes economical sense but in my case it has made me weary of Evernote's devotion to their user's. It's not Skitch anymore... It's Evernote's Screenshot Annotator. Solution is simple and both parties benefit. (1) Current version should be named "EverSkitch" - Those who want to integrate everything will remain thrilled, all 1/100 users that upgraded from v1. (2) Put back all those basic features that contributed to functionality that made v1 an app worth buying, from your companies perspective, and charge user's. It really is not anything major. Wow, I really wasted a lot of time on this as if I was going to get through to company. I was going to hold out hope and then saw the dedicated thread for this issue, it was much too long to be read as so many people posted their support for a change in approach/wanted features they depended on returned, etc... - I did not bother posting after realizing that even minor feature re-implementation pleas were ignored by developer's and everyone's questions/complaints did not even receive a response from the company. I should have posted this on their forum but felt no point and this tirade came out, after again trying both versions and realizing how much I would love a non-feature deprived independent Skitch v2. So much wasted potential. @yiluminate - I didn't even use Skitch v1 much but the little bit that I did I found it invaluable. I now know why you continue to push the obvious and appreciate your enthusiasm. I gave up hope on Evernote, I have seen crazier things than common sense prevail though... keep the faith but I have a feeling when your Evernote subscription retires your faith in a usable Skitch will also begin to fade. Oh well, they own the app and can and have done as they wish with the needs of Skitch user's receiving not even a fleeting thought. How can we sell more subscriptions was/is the motto for sure.
Like (5)
Odysseus
Odysseus
26 June 2013
Have you sent this to the Skitch team at Evernote? I doubt that they read the feedback here …
Like
ylluminate
ylluminate
26 June 2013
@Odysseus yes, I have tried various times in the past to communicate my frustration. I felt that it was high time to articulate things here so that others can copy and paste my feedback and push them towards the developers.
Like (2)
Bluebird
Bluebird
27 June 2013
I used Skitch 1 for about 6 months, then switched to Skitch 2 and it does exactly what I want it to do (and more) and getting better with each update. Skitch 1 was different, but much to featured for my needs. I'm much happier with Skitch 2 and the Evernote integration. Not EVERYONE loved 1 more than 2. Thanks Evernote for a beautiful simple Skitch as it is today. But, I do understand your frustrations as I was a lifetime user of Freehand before Adobe killed it for Illustrator. Was a very hard transition and one that has take many years to do. Still not up to speed either. Loving Evernote, Skitch and Penultimate.
Like (3)
Lorin-Rivers
07 June 2013
Really disappointed in version 2x. I was a heavy user of version 1 and it did a bunch of stuff that version 2 doesn't. One thing I REALLY miss is the ability to reuse a capture region. It sort of exists in the new version, but is buggy on multiple monitors. Bah.
Like
Version 2.5.2
1 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
18 June 2013
Still using 1.x with Cloud.app (just drag images from Skitch 1.x to Cloud.app in the menubar) and I'm really happy still. I hate Evernote even though I have a subscription) and am really thrilled with this workflow.
Like (2)
Cosjr
19 April 2013
Skitch v2 is great. After using v1 for quite a while, I had a hard time upgrading and complaining. After using v2 now for quite a while, I happy to say I don't miss the stuff in v1 I never used. Absolutely love the Evernote integration, as we rely heavily on Evernote for many things. My Skitch shots (which are at least 20 a day) are always available in the Evernote account. The paperless office is that much closer. Scitch 2 is simple and uncluttered. Stability has been a bit sketchy at times, but other than that this is a great app.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Eric•Woehler
18 April 2013
It's very simple, "upgraded" to v2 and within a brief period was back at v1. Will stay there as long as I can (ie OS compatibility etc) and when the option of using v1 disappears, so will my use of Skitch. Like so many others, if you don't use/need Evernote, stay clear of v2 of Skitch. 5 stars for v1, ZERO stars for v2. Plain and simple.
Like (7)
Version 2.5
Rochade
05 March 2013
As many other commenters said: if you don't have or don't want to use evernote, get V1 or you won't be able to save your screenshots. Even I like the UI better than V1 this missing feature alone makes it unusable for me. Sticking with V1.
Like (7)
Version 2.0.5
vivstar33
01 February 2013
For original users of Skitch, version 2 is heartbreaking. Evernote has destroyed it. They have simultaneously destroyed one of my favourite applications, and guaranteed that I won't pay for a membership for Evernote.
Like (12)
Version 2.0.4
chris-com
17 January 2013
If you're looking for a suitable replacement for Skitch, may I suggest Monosnap? I've been hanging onto my Skitch version 1 because version 2 is such a P.O.S. But since I've been using Monosnap, I haven't needed Skitch at all. I use SFTP to upload my screengrabs. Monosnap does it lickety-split and copies the URL to the clipboard in the process for easy pasting. And it's all very configurable in the prefs. It's been nice knowing you Evernote... (Not) Don't let the door hit you in the a** on the way out. :-)
Like (5)
Version 2.0.4
Canadianpj
17 January 2013
I will preface this by saying I never used version 1.0 so I'm clearly not going to compare, or care what it id before. For the quick and easy screen and sharing of screenshots it works very well. I was already an Evernote user so I did not need to signup. It's easy to use and simply does what I need it to.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.4
Corpsecorps
01 January 2013
Hard for me as a Skitch user from it's beginnings not to compare 2.x with 1.x, and find it wanting. I didn't want to relearn to use it. I didn't want to sign up with Evernote. I miss the Skitch history, the contents of which won't fit into an Evernote account. Much of the functionality and interface elements I most valued are changed or gone.
Like (9)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
01 January 2013
Wow. I was generous. This thing is buggy and can hang or crash. It could take ages to sort out my old 1.x skitch images with this junk!
Like (2)
dperugini
23 December 2012
Although the combination of Evernote and Skitch might eventually make for a more powerful graphics tool, in it's present iteration, Skitch Version 2 offer less powerful than Version 1. Among the many shortcomings of Version 2, these are the most flagrant: - There are less tools and the ability to change the size of tools, arrow and line widths is more limited - text and line widths can't get as small. - Version 1 files are not fully compatible with Version 2. The text is rearranged and much of it is missing. - It's obvious that the real intent of Evernote is to create dependency on subscriptions for additional Cloud storage. I can understand and respect that direction - but to see a valuable and unique tool like Skitch manacled to Evernote's functionality is disappointing. The old Skitch was powerful enough to stand under its own merits. To see it fettered in a subordinated aspect in this version 2 is evidence of greed and short-sightedness. I'm glad I kept my archived my Skitch v1.xx before installing Skitch 2.xxx. For now I continue to use Version 1.xx. - when MacOSX no longer supports it, I'll look for replacement. If Plasq get's their act together, maybe that replacement will be Skitch 3.0?
Like (9)
Version 2.0.3
Yunfat
19 December 2012
It deeply saddens me that I paid for this application 1.0 and there is no way for me to use it fully, now, without signing up for Evernote. Can I get my money back? I don't want to sign up for a service I was already getting for free with 1.0. I don't want to upload to cloud and I don't want to sign up to another website that I know nothing about. I am happy indy developers can get picked up, but as a paid user, this is the worst thing that could have happened to me, as I paid for local saving of my files, and now that is impossible. I will be writing my state attorney general, and the better business bureau, not over the money, but based on the principal that software developers shouldn't be able to take away features currently offered because they have sold out to a cloud hosting company.
Like (9)
Version 2.0.3
anonymous-thrush-1121
19 December 2012
Screenshot is different from the real thing. Ver.1.0.12 is true.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
Tfindlay
18 December 2012
Monosnap is a good replacement. The only thing it's missing is live resizing of screenshots.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Syed-Ali
Syed-Ali
29 December 2012
Thank you for sharing this. I was looking for a replacement app and Monosnap did the trick !! The Skitch app constant crashed on my machine and Monosnap worked like a charm.
Like (1)
Andreas-Kollegger
26 November 2012
I concur with the seemingly universal statement: Evernote has ruined a great application.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.2
Uncoy
18 November 2012
SnapNDrag (no editing though), Acorn (very powerful but pricey) and ImageWell (the 3.7.6 version) are the best replacements. Straightforward simple screen capture, allowing you to save where you like. The other software listed above use weird database setups and lots of memory/processor cycles.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Gl0tzk0wski
06 November 2012
With recent update 2.0.2 (Skitch Helper in Menubar), app is useable again and as an developer its a nice tool together with Evernote.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
Macwitty
29 October 2012
Evernote have made an AppleMap From being a beloved app Skitch 2 is just crap Pleased to be able to download and will now try to fins out best way for sharing without Evernote (Yes I am a Evernote Pro member but I want easy links to my images and not store them.)
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
DarlaAnne
26 October 2012
Like many others here (and on the App Store), I didn't pay attention to the reviews recently left by Skitch users, about this recent upgrade. I guess I didn't feel like I had to. Skitch is a part of my everyday workflow and I didn't think twice about any upgrade being this much of a sharp change, let alone removing features so many of us have come to love. There are many more issues than this, but just to name a few: ** Custom shortcuts. WHY was this option removed? ** Menu icon. Again, why was this removed? Many Mac users like having a slim/clean dock. The list goes on and on but the idea of an upgrade is to improve upon the already rock solid features of an already very popular and loved app. NOT to break things that were not even close to broken, or to change the UI so much that we don't even recognize what used to be a lovely little app. Please bring back the goodness of Skitch! I hate hate hate to leave a 1 star review for an app I have used and loved everyday for years, but there just is no choice.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
2000trench
25 October 2012
I unwittingly updated to 2.02 from version 1 and the new Evernote/Skitch is on the way to the trash. A terrible update to a well regarded app I've used almost daily for years.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.2
GoodOldNeon
25 October 2012
R.I.P. Skitch.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
Thomas-Svendsen
24 October 2012
Evernope killed Skitch !!! I did not pay Skitch for this !!! Skitch 2.0 has removed a bunch of important features: FTP Upload, skitch.com upload(Hell I paid for that!). Now that skitch just looks so lame, but so happy on their web site, touting something like "best Sktich Ever."
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Kukuiski
24 October 2012
Get back old Skitch!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
ylluminate
24 October 2012
Don't forget guys, the 2.x release is still junk. Get the good one at: http://get.skitch.com/Skitch-1.0.12.zip Hope you get your act together Skitch-aquisition-team-at-Evernote!
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
4 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
24 October 2012
What's worse is that they appear to have stopped allowing uploads to the old Skitch accounts now as of today! I'm really disgusted with their throwing a solid and reliable product into the garbage without sufficient testing and user feedback first.
Like
Thomas-Svendsen
Thomas-Svendsen
24 October 2012
It stopped working either. :(
Like
DarlaAnne
DarlaAnne
26 October 2012
Thank you a million times over for the link to the old version. It worked fine on my end.
Like (1)
ylluminate
ylluminate
26 October 2012
I started using SFTP transfers instead of the old skitch service and it's working out satisfactorily.
Like
Courbafond
21 October 2012
this is the first time I see an editor transform a good small software infamous sh.t. I go back to version 1. a French disappointed.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
Jazzyguy
20 October 2012
Outstanding App in every way! I use it and enjoy it!
Like
Version 2.0.2
Mac-Mail
20 October 2012
It would be nice if 'tool tips' is added when tools are selected.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Orefalo
19 October 2012
Revert to v1.0 ; it's so much better
Like (8)
Version 2.0.2
hced
09 October 2012
After the Evernote move, Little Snitch just isn't the same. There's a lot of things that went worse (most of which has already been mentioned). I hope someone takes a lesson out of this: after acquiring an app in this popularity, you should never (re)release the app in a broken state – with missing functionality that were once there. For instance, right now, you're no longer able to remove the hideous outline from text. Why isn't that possible? I also don't like being nagged about joining Evernote all the time I launch this app. I may be willing to rate this up once again, but then the mischievous Evernote ads need to go and the app needs to be restored back to previous functionality to begin with.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.1
Giorgio-swiss
09 October 2012
Schade, war früher mein alltäglich benutztes Screenshotprogramm...
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
VRH
08 October 2012
Unbelievable leap backwards from previous feature set and functionality. I've downgraded to the last available previous version (with thanks to the kind folks who posted the link!). Now, I'll grant that the app is still free and it still has some good features, but it has lost almost everything that made Skitch stand out in the crowd. Please bring back all the old features and functionality. Seriously -- what were they thinking??
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
Ward
05 October 2012
I've used Skitch almost every day since the 1.0 beta testing period in 2008. When I upgraded to Mountain Lion (10.8.2), I thought it would be a good idea to also upgrade to the latest Skitch. What a mistake! I should have taken a moment to read the reviews. When I added an arrow to my first screenshot, the default line width was way too fat. I deleted that arrow so I could change the line width. But Skitch 2.0.1 has no line width tool! What was Evernote thinking when they "improved" the Skitch interface??? I can't comment on any other aspect of Skitch 2.0.1 because I immediately reverted to Skitch 1.0.12, which fortunately still seems to working on 10.8.2. There's a download link for 1.0.12 on this MacUpdate page on Evernote's Skitch page. Be sure to grab it now because it may disappear.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.1