Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to ExactScan Pro page
ExactScan Pro free download for Mac

ExactScan Pro Reviews20.5.28

03 June 2020

Powerful, fast document scanning.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
tropictrading
tropictrading
Dec 11 2020
20.5.28
1.0
Dec 11 2020
1.0
Version: 20.5.28
Constantly crashes on IMac Catalina and has to be restarted. Over 2 pages scanned and the program freezes and has to be restarted. Not worth 90 dollars. Not worth 20 dollars. Dont waste your money.
stevenhershey
stevenhershey
Sep 21 2020
20.5.28
1.0
Sep 21 2020
1.0
Version: 20.5.28
Doesnt work for my Macbook Pro. Scans a page or two then stops. Occasionally works if I restart Mac and the Scansnap scanner, but then reverts to not working
knattlhuber
knattlhuber
May 16 2020
20.1.30
1.0
May 16 2020
1.0
Version: 20.1.30
Fraudsters. They left the AppStore and the latest version on there does not work with Catalina. No response when I asked them to convert AppStore license to a direct license.
axmax
axmax
Apr 25 2020
20.1.30
1.0
Apr 25 2020
1.0
Version: 20.1.30
Bought it for $100 in the AppStore, they left, does not work with Catalina, lousy support.
yhwt
yhwt
Jan 11 2020
19.12.28
0.0
Jan 11 2020
0.0
Version: 19.12.28
No way to disable update checks. Wouldn't it be nice to just offer choice to users and respect their preferred default?
David-Losada-Soler
David-Losada-Soler
Dec 17 2019
19.12.1
0.0
Dec 17 2019
0.0
Version: 19.12.1
Still does not allow automatic double sided scanning from the document feeder in a Xerox Worcentre 6515DN. the options are. Normal, ADF manual duplex, Automatic and ADF one side.
stevenhershey
stevenhershey
Oct 31 2019
19.8
1.0
Oct 31 2019
1.0
Version: 19.8
Worked great for a year, now: "Unexpected scanner error. An unexpected error condition occurred." Totally unusable. Made sure to delete ScanSnap driver, but still only errors.
sdbarnes-1
sdbarnes-1
Sep 1 2019
19.8
0.0
Sep 1 2019
0.0
Version: 19.8
Used all mac and Fujitsu scanners, 1300i, s1500m, now ix1500. The later because mac is going all 64 bit SOON. Fujitsu in the meantime is dropping support for newer operating systems in the 64 bit world, i.e. ALL older fujitsu scanners sans ix1500 will be useless in a 64 bit world, plus fujitsu barely supports the older scanners. What to do,? the ix1500comes with scansnap software to use generally for all types of scanning. Nonetheless, I'm using the ix1500 with scansnap Home. I needs to be noted I also use Hazel, it reads, ocr'd docs then imposes rules on them making changes and putting them where they belong As time moves on I'm without software for a perfectly good s1500m and a new ix1500 that NOW comes in second place for ocring documents that hazel doesn't like to read for some reason, and they don't care. In comes Exactscan Pro. OCR three times faster, easy to run, operate, i.e. infallible AND it runs the on 64 bit and works with my old s1500m. Yes, the ix1500 was a waste of money, all I needed was Exactscan Pro to run my s1500m and I would be very happy. Yes, with price conversion (to Euro) it's a little over $100. But what a piece of engineering, simple, and like a Mac, Just Works. The ix1500 works the same as before, but the presets are in Exactscan Pro. This software has saved me so many hassles I would have paid more. When Mac Fujitsu Scanner users find out how well this software works with the ix1500 and works in the 64 bit world to reenergize the Fujitsu unsupported Fujitsu Mac scanners, they'll drop the Fujitsu software and buy the Exactscan Pro company.
Christian-Bauer
Christian-Bauer
Aug 10 2018
18.8.5
5.0
Aug 10 2018
5.0
Version: 18.8.5
Having bought this over MacAppStore with a used DR-2580C (€99) this is a marvellous bundle. I scan about 5000 pages a month, super fast super reliable, not needing windows in a virtual machine. Pages are straight, right contrast, pdfs are OCRed, no waiting time. 20 double pages a minute are not a problem. Special buttons on the scanner are supported so I can control the settings of the software directly on the scanner. Wished the online software would acknowledge the AppStore License like other manufacturers do, so when software is released on their website before the appstore version is updated, can be used immediately.
Macupjk
Macupjk
Mar 28 2016
15.12.14
5.0
Mar 28 2016
5.0
Version: 15.12.14
This is a fantastic scanning app. It does all the things that fujitsu scansnap software does. Auto rotate, descew. It OCRs way faster. But the big deal is it can use super fast mega scanners. I've been looking for something liek this for a long time.
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
Nov 2 2015
2.60
5.0
Nov 2 2015
5.0
Version: 2.60
This scanner driver is simply the best available for scanning office documents. This scanner driver is simply faster than even native Mac scanner drivers provided by the scanner manufacturers. For example, it is TWICE AS FAST AS THE NATIVE the Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500M's driver when scanning at 300 DPI in greyscale WITH OCR! Without OCR it is faster. The Brother ImageCenter ADS-2000 scanner does 7 pages per minute at 300 DPI. It is a dog of a scanner. But the ExactScan Pro squeezes 10 pages per minute at 300 DPI for this scanner. It allows you to run numerous previously incompatible PC-only scanners. For example, it allows you to use the Canon DR 2850c scanner at full speed of 300 DPI Grayscale at 20 single-sided pages per minute with OCR. . In fact, since the Canon DR-2850c is available for $90 on eBay, you can have huge savings on the hardware cost of scanners by simply using the ExactScan Pro driver. Why buy a new $500 scanner when a $90 will be nearly as fast? Or use the driver on a $500 used scanner (that formerly sold for $2000) that blows away what you can get new for $500. This scanner driver makes many used scanners fantastic performers. What I like is that the developer continues to improve compatibility with more and more scanners. For Office Documents (not art scans), this scanner driver easily pays for itself and is faster than any other existing scanner driver on the same hardware. it blows away VueScan, SilverFast, ABBY FineReader, and drivers from the manufacturers themselves. It is particularly a bargain when you buy it in the Apple Store since you can use it on all of your Macs. Very Highly recommended.
jack2001
jack2001
Jan 27 2015
2.57
0.5
Jan 27 2015
0.5
Version: 2.57
vale molto poco. meglio vuescan ad un prezzo decisamente più contenuto.
strangel00p
strangel00p
Dec 20 2013
2.26.2
0.0
Dec 20 2013
0.0
Version: 2.26.2
I purchased the license through MacUpdate, but the license code is being rejected when I try and register. I'm using the name and email address that MacUpdate has for me.
ylluminate
ylluminate
Nov 27 2013
2.26.2
0.0
Nov 27 2013
0.0
Version: 2.26.2
Does it support the Xerox DocuMate 152? Having a terrible time with VueScan on it.
iPoopStore
iPoopStore
May 10 2013
2.25
0.5
May 10 2013
0.5
Version: 2.25
That's a bad marketing strategy. Give us a outdated buggy demo to try out or make us pay Mac App Store to find out our hardware is not totally supported. And when we demand a refund Apple stalls until we die from old age.
tad-taylor
tad-taylor
Jan 14 2013
2.23.4
3.0
Jan 14 2013
3.0
Version: 2.23.4
Seems okay, but it doesn't support my Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500M so, there's no point in buying it.
schnassn
schnassn
Jan 12 2013
2.23.4
0.0
Jan 12 2013
0.0
Version: 2.23.4
Hi, I have an Epson Stylus Office BX635FWD. Will that work with your software? Thanx
Steve-Frawley
Steve-Frawley
Jan 12 2013
2.23.4
2.5
Jan 12 2013
2.5
Version: 2.23.4
This application cannot handle mixed orientation pages as many documents are. Auto rotation failed 3 out of 4 pages in a single document. I was doing duplex documents on a Xerox Documate 152, which is listed as compatible. Xerox software does fine under Windows with Parallels.
Francesco-Rollo
Francesco-Rollo
Jan 12 2013
2.23.4
3.5
Jan 12 2013
3.5
Version: 2.23.4
The problem in the previous post occur when I set a resolution higher than 300 dpi. I use the same scanner on PC with 600 dpi.
Francesco-Rollo
Francesco-Rollo
Jan 12 2013
2.23.4
3.5
Jan 12 2013
3.5
Version: 2.23.4
Tried the last version. Now with Canon DR 4010c if I try to scan a page the program start to initialize the scanner but nothing happen. I'm able to do a preview but if, after that, I try to scan the page an error message appear: "errore inatteso dello scanner" (I think is "unexpected scanner error" in english). Now if I try to scan the page again the program start initializing the scanner but nothing happen. I was able to get a scan only once. I tried about 20 times.
Mwtse
Mwtse
Jan 12 2013
2.23.4
3.0
Jan 12 2013
3.0
Version: 2.23.4
Be aware that the OCR language supported is not listed out in the description, the language supported is likely to mean the available localization of the menu etc.
Quixopix
Quixopix
Jan 12 2013
2.23.4
4.5
Jan 12 2013
4.5
Version: 2.23.4
I got an email from MUpromo saying its 39.99 and instead its showing $49 on the website. Any chance your adding old english gothic text OCR? I want to be able to convert an OLD document using OCR View Online: tinyurl.com/KJV1611Scripture
Yohan199
Yohan199
Aug 15 2012
2.20.2
5.0
Aug 15 2012
5.0
Version: 2.20.2
This app is by far the best scanning app out there. I really like the very simple, easy to use interface. It also allows for a lot of improvements to the document without having to be an expert on scanners (Auto crop and de-skew). I also like that the app allows your scanner and printer to work as a copy machine. The OCR is also a great feature. Overall I think it is a great app.
Francesco-Rollo
Francesco-Rollo
Jul 5 2012
2.20.2
3.5
Jul 5 2012
3.5
Version: 2.20.2
I tried to use my Canon DR-4010c scanner with Exactscan with after installing Sane. Exactscan recognize the scanner.When i set the program to use Duplex to get a front/back scan, the two pages are merged in one: Front page on the top and back page on the bottom, with a large black band in the middle. The program saves two times the same page, Is something I should set to avoid this or is it a problem with Sane? Thank you for your help
ParisP
ParisP
Apr 27 2012
2.19.5
5.0
Apr 27 2012
5.0
Version: 2.19.5
Surprised to find my Canon DR-3010 finally be usable on the Mac, yay! Great features, speed, OCR. Can recommend!
ptremblay
ptremblay
Apr 20 2012
2.19.5
4.0
Apr 20 2012
4.0
Version: 2.19.5
I tried it in a very convoluted way using TWAIN-SANE interface (SANE) to connect the many scanners I have. I also tried it in a straight fashion way too (ExactScan Bridge). Bottom line, it works ok but I think the developers need to improve the way we select the source. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. The menu ExactScan > Select a scanner... does not work all the time. I liked it overall because it is simple, intuitive and it allows you to be very fancy on the options available to you. With Image Capture (which you have few controls over the options) created a color image of 28 MB compared with ExactScan 2 which allowed me to change the color settings, I could create the same file in 891 KB. Big difference and about the same quality (OCR wise).
Fromage-Head
Fromage-Head
Sep 29 2011
2.16
0.0
Sep 29 2011
0.0
Version: 2.16
I'm sorry to say that but the french localization is total garbage. It smells automatic translation. Something unexpected for a hundred bucks app.
Istra
Istra
Aug 11 2011
2.15
0.0
Aug 11 2011
0.0
Version: 2.15
can this app. scan/ocr latin & greek texts? other languages & alphabets?
Teszeract
Teszeract
May 31 2011
2.14.3
0.0
May 31 2011
0.0
Version: 2.14.3
Unfortunately doesn't work with my ageing Canon LIDE N670U. I wish it would because it looks easy to use like Agfa fotoLook from the old days. However Twain Sane does work. Here a pic of that interface within Image Capture: [IMG]http://i51.tinypic.com/2z5lt9c.jpg[/IMG]
Xplicit
Xplicit
Nov 22 2010
2.12
2.0
Nov 22 2010
2.0
Version: 2.12
Would be a good program, but unfortunatly doesn't work with Samsung CLX-3170FN or similar devices. It used to work with such a device, but stopped a few versions ago. ExactCode haven't been able to fix that for several months now.
Leo-Spill
Leo-Spill
May 21 2010
2.9
0.0
May 21 2010
0.0
Version: 2.9
Tried a lot of scanning software and this is the best of the bunch. VueScan ( $40 ) with it's twice weekly updates is OK and a third of the price of ExactScan, not really a bargain but still a lot less than the amazingly exorbitant price of $115 that ExactScan are asking. My question would be why is this software so damn expensive ? If developers want an easy app to throw together, scanner software seems to be at the very bottom of the pile. ExactScan works and works well. If it were $10-15 it would be a killer application that every Mac user with a scanner would own. Yet the developers want it to remain a niche tool, and that is a great pity.
Andu
Andu
Jan 30 2010
2.8.2
3.0
Jan 30 2010
3.0
Version: 2.8.2
works, but for the price: buggy (app needs restart every now and then, e.g. when "scan" button disapears misterious error-windows, that tell nothing what the error is about or what to change (german system) no help-menu
Flowerking
Flowerking
Nov 30 2009
2.8.1
5.0
Nov 30 2009
5.0
Version: 2.8.1
I really appreciate using ExactScan. Even my home office is well sorted by now. As I also tried VueScan I don't understand, why some of you insist that the VueScan would support more scanners - I argue the converse! Funny that nobody says which scanner exactly would not be supported. *confused* In addition I do like the usability (look and feel) and results of ExactScan much more. Try out the optimization tools! Thumps up! Strong buy!
Pony
Pony
Sep 27 2009
2.7.5
4.0
Sep 27 2009
4.0
Version: 2.7.5
I used this for the first time today and like it a lot. I have an old Brother MFC that does little more than answer my fax line and provide the occasional scan. The brother software is awful. Whilst this software makes a great replacement, its $115 price tag is just insane. I'll stick with the clunky interface provided by Brother. Its obviously not aimed at the home market, unless you like throwing $115 to replace software you got for free with your scanner. I bought the Brother mainly as a fax machine and think its price tag was around the price of this app.....