Back to Mailplane page
Mailplane free download for Mac

Mailplane Reviews

4.2.2
03 April 2020

The best way to use Gmail on your Mac.

Dgerzeeboy
17 April 2019

Most helpful

The gold standard for Gmail on your desktop. It's a bargain at $30 bucks.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.3

Read 68 Mailplane User Reviews

Rate this app:

Swo
04 December 2019
$30 for what is essentially a Gmail client!? Could someone please help me to understand why this application is so expensive?
Like (1)
Version 4.2
Dgerzeeboy
17 April 2019
The gold standard for Gmail on your desktop. It's a bargain at $30 bucks.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.3
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
29 December 2019
Google and all their products include tracking, spying and all kind who knows what else disgusting crap. That include Gmail of course. G. is a world spy cartel.
Like
Version 4.2.1
Tomeg
16 October 2018
Best Gmail-specific email app I have ever encountered (with the possible exception of Newton, which sports a great GUI but is overpriced and now I understand discontinued).
Like
Version 4.0.5
Noeleiffe
26 September 2018
Use this app everyday and have nothing but praise. If you use Gmail, it's worth having a look.
Like
Version 4.0.5
larrymcj
19 April 2017
The Gmail web interface is not for everyone, but for those who appreciate it, I recommend giving Mailplane a try. I've been using it for many years and have come to rely heavily on the many feature benefits Mailplane offers over the actual Gmail web interface. Even though Mailplane is basically the Safari webkit integrated into the app itself, it adds things like menu bar notification of new email, add-ons, integration into the OS, ad removal in the Gmail right column, and more than anything, SUPERB customer support. Of all the apps I've ever requested support on in my life, this developer and his team are one of the best I've ever experienced. Simply an excellent product backed by solid development and support.
Like
Version 3.6.10
Mykl.biz
23 August 2016
Mailplane has been my default email app for 7 years, always running in the background or foreground on my Macs. I appreciate how it integrates with the Mac experience and Contacts, and depend on it for instant access to multiple Gmail accounts.
Like
Version 3.6.5
ylluminate
19 June 2015
Really appreciate the rapid response from the developers and resolution of problems. This last issue on multiple account stability was a real headache for me and they quickly implemented the change to allow a feature that I've always wanted, which was to handle the logins separate from Google's (faulty) mechanism. I look forward to some upcoming changes that seem to be in the works as well!
Like
Version 3.5.2
Curmudgeon51
30 January 2015
I had an issue with updating to 10.10.2 and the customer support to fix it was exceptional: it was timely, reliable and most important the problem was fixed. Outstanding product and service. I've been using MP for years and will continue to do so.
Like
Version 3.3.4
Graphic-Mac
26 May 2014
One thing so many people miss about this app vs. other 3rd party apps. The Google Chat feature works in the app! You get notifications when someone sends you a message, etc. just as if you were in your web browser. I've not found any other apps that do this
Like
Version 3.2.2
larrymcj
21 January 2014
I really want to like this app...but I see very little difference between it and other similar apps that simply open their own inherent browser windows to a Gmail account. It's the same as apps like MailTab Pro, with the exception of having a tab for the Google Calendar. Am I missing something? I'm a Gmail addict and after losing the Gmail Notifier a few days ago, I'm trying to find something else.
Like
Version 3.1.2
5 answer(s)
JessicaM6295
JessicaM6295
21 January 2014
Hi there, I am Jessica-Customer Support for Mailplane. I haven't actually used MailTab Pro myself, so I can't say too much on their features vs ours. Mailplane is a completely stand alone app. You see the badge and notifier (with detailed unread message list) right on your desk top. We work with the notification center. A huge plus is using Gmail OUTSIDE of the browser prevents your web surfing from being tracked, period. You don't have to log out of your accounts to be protected. (I'm not sure what it's like on their end...) We have a bunch of plugins (Rapportive, Boomerang, Awayfind, Right Inbox and newly added Streak). You can use both Gmail and Apple shortcuts as well as define your own within our Preference menu. We have a nice 'do not disturb' feature. I don't know about MTPro, but with Mailplane, you can sign into an unlimited amount of accounts (and Calendars) and switch quickly and easily between them. Not to mention our customer support is top notch! ;) We pride ourselves on quick, personal responses from myself and the developer. We truly appreciate our customers! If you have anymore questions, don't hesitate to contact me directly. Again, I'm Jessica. My email is support@Mailplaneapp.com. Cheers!
Like (1)
larrymcj
larrymcj
21 January 2014
Thanks for the reply, Jessica. I am definitely aware of your good support, but in all honesty, MailTab Pro has good support as well...I have a couple of their apps. Please understand I am simply doing due diligence before spending $35 (family license for me and my wife). I only use my one Google Apps gmail account, so having multiple accounts is not a benefit, but since losing the Google Notifier, having a Google Calendar tab is a plus. Not sure it's worth the extra $33 though when I can simply add the Google Calendar to my Safari Bookmarks Bar. Both apps work outside the browser, and with all of Gmail recent changes, such as options when right-clicking a message while still in the inbox, most of Mailplanes extra GUI buttons at the top are no longer needed. In fact, I'm still trying to figure out why "New, Reply, Forward, and Trash" (at the top of the Mailplane GUI) are even needed? These actions are very readily accessible in the existing Gmail interface. Sincerely, if I'm missing something that could make Mailplane more beneficial than MailTab Pro or just using Gmail in Safari, please let me know. Again, I'm just trying to justify spending $35 in an ecosystem where the average price of an app is less than $5. Thanks again for replying.
Like
JessicaM6295
JessicaM6295
21 January 2014
I completely understand. I think you're taking advantage of the free trial by the sounds of your initial post. If not, please feel free to do so, as we offer 15 days. It'll give you a feel for our app. If you love it, fantastic, but if not, we do completely understand! Cheers; Jessica
Like (1)
larrymcj
larrymcj
26 July 2014
Jessica, I'm trying Mailplane again and I'm quite sure I'll purchase it this time by the end of the trial period. I still stand by my comments regarding MailTab Pro, but Mailplane has many other features that I'm now discovering that make it stand out even more.

One of the biggest things for me is being able to drag and drop files into a message, just like the Gmail web app. Also, on my new 27-inch iMac the Gmail web app fonts were just too small, and unchangeable in the user interface for anything other than outgoing messages. Mailplane allows me to zoom in to view the entire Gmail interface at the font size "I want" and it stays that way unless I close Mailplane, which I only do if I reboot.

So in summary, I've changed my mind and Mailplane is now my favorite Gmail app. It's definitely a 5-star app.
Like (1)
larrymcj
larrymcj
19 November 2014
In all fairness to this app, I want to say that I did end up purchasing it back in August, and I couldn't be happier. Not only is the app superb, so is the customer support. If you live with Gmail and want all the extra features MailPlane provides over the basic Gmail web interface, then MailPlane is for you.
Like (1)
Imaginere
28 November 2013
I've been using this app from Version 1 beta, it was free for the longest time before I was ever charged, there have been so many update for free and now ver 3 is a master piece of ease of use. The rapottative and other selective plugins are so well thought through before being added in. Get it ! love it! Share it!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.0
KylaR3827
11 November 2013
I've used Mailplane since 2011 and when I got the notice about the updated version, I couldn't wait to upgrade! The app is excellent, does everything that it says it will, and their support team never fails to reply quickly and with helpful solutions. I've never had an app on any device that I'm more happy with - and that's because this is the unique combination of a great service with customer service that cares. In a small company that's tough to deliver, and Mailplane does on all fronts.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
siamlotus
siamlotus
19 November 2013
Agreed !! This is the only app. that I will use for Gmail and their support is great if you have a query.
Like
Mykl.biz
05 November 2013
I've relied on Mailplane 2 as my primary interface to multiple Gmail accounts for the past 4 years, on my workhorse MacBook Pro (which is still running OS X 10.6). In recent times, it does crash more than it used to. I use Mailplane 3 only sporadically on another MacBook Pro (running OS X 10.8). So my ratings are really about Mailplane 2. I'm pleased by Uncomplex's tech support via email.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Rampancy
27 October 2013
Count me among the many 2.x users who have been left cold by the 3.x update. I've defended Mailplane and it's pricing in the past on places such as this, but now my own experience with 3.0 also seems to be that it doesn't offer much in the way of anything significantly new. Today, my existing 2.5.x install of Mailplane is locked out of Gmail due to an endless login loop, and I don't think I can expect a fix anytime soon. I sadly don't have much inclination to upgrade, especially with them discontinuing 2.x development.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.3
2 answer(s)
Mykl.biz
Mykl.biz
05 November 2013
Uncomplex says "we’re working on an update for Mailplane 2", meanwhile offers these workarounds: http://mailplaneapp.com/faq/entry/google_account_chooser_and_mp2/
Like (1)
momijigari
momijigari
18 January 2014
A temporary fix is to click "Load basic HTML (for slow connections" in the bottom right corner of every login page. There are still many of us using Mailplane on computers running an OS below 10.7, so hopefully the developer will figure out a better solution.
Like
ThomasB9131
11 October 2013
I find Mailplane to be a great desktop app. It allows me to quickly see my unread mail and switch accounts easily, which is great for productivity. The updates have really tackled the initial issues and the app runs flawlessly for me now. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 3.0.3
ylluminate
13 June 2013
Really disappointed with this release. In many regards, such as with the drawer, 2.x was superior. Not going to be going for this version.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
09 September 2013
Looking like Mailplane isn't going to take constructive criticism this round. Well I'm glad to see some good competition coming now for them that looks like it will be eliminating this issue.
Like
Sofakinbd
10 June 2013
I have been a long time user of MailPlane. With 3.0 the developers have done an outstanding job of accommodating all the changes Google has made to GMail. They have added the ability to remove the password from the app without storing it in Keychain. For those that use 1Password this is a tremendous benefit. They made jumping to the top and bottom of the compose window brain-dead easy (cmd-up arrow/cmd-down arrow). Finally, the developers are very responsive to ideas and feature requests. I have been very pleased with all aspects of MailPlane 3.0. The app is far more than simply Fluid-like standalone browser window with numerous small attention to details Safari can't match.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
siamlotus
09 June 2013
Version 3.0 crashes if I don't re-dimension a jpeg before adding it to a mail even if it is less than 10m. When I send a mail using my web browser the cursor jumps to the mail part of the mail before I get a chance to add the recipients name. Other than these two small annoyances a great piece of software for Gmail.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
macpayne
03 June 2013
Great app for gmail user. My only complaint is it consumes too much memory. I use 6 gmail account and it eats 850 MB of my RAM :\
Like (1)
Version 3.0
NorfolkGirl
10 May 2013
I have loved using Mailplane for the past year or so but it has become increasingly unstable on my computer running Lion. I keep getting 'kicked out' whilst composing emails - saying the internet link has gone or something similar. I have recently been using a Chrome window for my emails and have had not a single problem with composing or sending emails. What a pity as it is easier to see how many emails you have and a snippet etc. with Mailplane. I am not going to spend £13 on an upgrade when it does not work.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
rramito
17 April 2013
For a long-time user, I also don't find a need to upgrade, that is not reason to pay anything more than a very modest fee. Too bad; I bet a lot of 2x users will pass - not a good way to grow the user base. I HIGHLY recommend the app to any NEW user, however! 4 **** overall and 4 **** features! {for some reason I can't change the rollover stars}
Like (1)
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
Dgerzeeboy
Dgerzeeboy
18 April 2013
Completely agree. I've been a Mailplane user for years. It's a great app for browser-free access to your gmail account, but $20 for an upgrade that offers essentially the same program is a pass for me. I'll stick with v2.5.11, which is the final v2 upgrade.
Like
Tomeg
Tomeg
11 May 2013
Ditto Dgerzeeboy, I've enthusiastically used MPlane since 2007. It was a fantastic product then and I also received timely updates whenever Gmail implemented a new feature, or a useful plug-in or app when prime-time ready. The developer, Reuben, was almost like a friend to me, and I wish him well, but the "new" (pretty much same as old) Mailplane 3 upgrade costing $19.95 is a dubious investment at best. I'll keep an eye on MP still - it was so good customer/user experience and it may be again! Tom G
Like
Tomeg
Tomeg
11 May 2013
Agree also I would consider paying a modest upgrade fee, e.g. $10 - $15, but $19.95 was what I paid when I first bought MP over 5 1/2 years ago, and that was with a 20% discount for beta version testers as myself. At that time I thought MP was a huge value for such a well-developed, well-customer supported app which allowed me to integrate all my gmail accounts!
Like
Desker
17 April 2013
I've used Mailplane for a long time now, although I recently switched because I found a newer program, still in beta, that fit my needs better overall. I'd hoped this new Mailplane version would be so innovative that it would make me want to switch back and that there would be changes that would make it irresistible, even if, as a current user, I was only being offered 20 per cent off the list price. So I eagerly downloaded it. I'm not one of those people who think that developers don't deserve a fair return when they create an upgrade. Sometimes I think I upgrade too much. However, after putting 3.0 through it's paces today, I can't see any reason to send any further money in the developer's direction. There's nothing about 3.0 that would make me upgrade even if I hadn't already switched. I would just have stayed with the old version. I recognize that others will likely have a different opinion, and may even be able to explain what is to them the irresistible element of 3.0, but at the moment I'm disappointed.
Like
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
akmedia
akmedia
17 April 2013
I have used Mailplane for quite some time and like it. There are some minor kinks in version 3, but I'm hoping those will get worked out. What newer application are you using?
Like
Desker
Desker
17 April 2013
To Akmedia, who asked. I'm using Airplane. I like the way it works, but your mileage may vary. I also use Postbox for non-Gmail accounts, at least until Airplane handles these in a way I'd prefer.
Like
Tomeg
Tomeg
11 May 2013
What Desker said, but Airmail is still in bugs-out beta stage, and I still encounter serious glitches, e.g. altogether losing entire emails when I go to send - despite my having saved them, they're just gone! But I imagine these will be dealt with. Developers seem to be on a fast track given the frequent beta updates + each update I'm notified by email comes with full release info. and a button link to their download page. Impressive.
Like
Higherterrain
17 April 2013
Not worth the $24.00 upgrade. I’ll stick with Version 2.5.11.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Andy-Hewitt
22 February 2013
I'm not too sure what the benefits of this are over a normal mail client. OK if you're using just Gmail I guess, but multiple accounts in Mailplane aren't as neat as using Unified mailboxes in something like Mail or Thunderbird using IMAP, which can show all your Inbox (and others) messages across all accounts at once. The Gmail web interface also allows for easy multiple account switching too now. I use MobileMe mail too, so this has only had a short trial by myself, although I am switching myself over to mainly Gmail.
Like
Version 2.5.11
Jodieth
24 January 2013
Mailplane does not work on my computer. I have iMac mountain lion.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.10
1 answer(s)
Higherterrain
Higherterrain
17 April 2013
Works on mine and I’m running M.L. What version of MailPlane are you using?
Like (1)
Neuro7
14 September 2012
Using version 2.5.8 of Mailplane on Snow Leopard, the unread mail count on the Mailplane dock icon is showing up super small; in fact, it's so tiny that I almost couldn't see it and though it wasn't showing up at all. As a temporary workaround, I've set the unread mail status to appear in the menu bar, but I would prefer the count to appear as large as it used to on the dock icon.
Like
Version 2.5.8
2 answer(s)
Uncomplex Gmbh
Uncomplex Gmbh
16 September 2012
Thanks for the problem report. It would be great if you could send me a screenshot showing the problem. My email is support AT mailplaneapp.com. Thanks! Ruben
Like
Neuro7
Neuro7
17 September 2012
Thanks for the quick reply Ruben. Here's a screen shot of the dock icon showing a very tiny 1 at the bottom left (above the wing): https://www.dropbox.com/s/cgs6kusjdv18cfp/Mailplane_2.5.8_dock_icon_on_SnowLeopard.png
Like
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
11 September 2012
It doesn't appear to work on OS X 10.8.
Like
Version 2.5.6
1 answer(s)
Uncomplex Gmbh
Uncomplex Gmbh
14 September 2012
Mailplane supports 10.8.1. Just make sure you have the latest version, you can downloaded here: http://mailplaneapp.com/download
Like (2)
Dejmac
14 November 2011
Fantastic! Fantastic! Fantastic!
Like (2)
Version 2.5.3
TheMooseIsLoose
04 November 2011
If you're a user of Gmail, and particularly if you have multiple accounts, Mailplane will be a welcome addition. It's easy to use. If you access Gmail through a browser then you already know how to use Mailplane. Set up is a snap. Switching between Gmail accounts is as easy as clicking your mouse. Though Mailplane may be considered a "one trick pony", it has indeed mastered that trick.
Like (3)
Version 2.5.3
Ramito
11 February 2011
Discounted for educators, so I could not pass it up. Great support. Love the snapshot feature - that & account switching made it for me. And this - I like to keep my email opne & use my browser for other things - this makes it easy. Glad to see upgrades - this app deserves a good future
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Buligwyf
07 February 2011
Very good just became excellent. Having multiple accounts, I have found nothing that beats this. If you like Gmail, this is Gmail deLuxe.
Like (2)
Version 2.3
siamlotus
06 February 2011
The best Gmail app. just got better. Thank you for the "Hide Ads" preference.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Mischivo
15 January 2011
Something is wrong here. Here's the situation: I click on an email from my inbox and open the message. After reading it, I either want to reply, forward, or delete it. However, neither of the toolbar buttons for these actions works. They're clickable but the click results in absolutely no action. Funny enough, the "New" button works well and according to the parameters I've outlined in the preferences. Help?
Like
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Uncomplex Gmbh
Uncomplex Gmbh
06 February 2011
Sorry for the late reply. Please try "Mailplane > Reset Gmail Session". Does the latest 2.3 version improve the situation? Thanks. Ruben
Like
iminlalaland
13 January 2011
It's pretty much the same as using Gmail in a browser. The only feature that made it stands out is the ability to switch accounts easily, but unfortunately, not quicker. If Mailplane can make switching accounts faster, that would be great. It takes a little time for it to detect new email. Sometimes, the notification pops up with a new mail but I have to click on Inbox(refresh) to view it.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
5 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
19 January 2011
Why then 4 *? For little more money you'll get a full-fledged email app. Or try Thunderbird for free.
Like (1)
iminlalaland
iminlalaland
20 January 2011
What do you mean by 4 *? Is it an app name? If there's a better app than Mailplane, I am willing to switch.
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
06 February 2011
. > What do you mean by 4 *? Thyx asked why you gave it a four star rating.
Like
Jimblue
Jimblue
06 February 2011
when you go here in your browser: https://www.google.com/accounts/ManageAccount under "Personal Settings" do you have "Multiple sign-in” turned on or off? you probably have it on, or you may not want to turn this option on, but it’s the first question that comes to mind — the only one really for making signing into multiple accounts quicker. and is it checked for all your google accounts if you choose to enable this option? hope this helps.
Like (1)
Kate31
Kate31
08 July 2011
Thank you for your helpful review.
Like
Andrewm8
12 September 2010
I use Mailplane since it's inception and there is simply no competition to this app anywhere. Stable and easy to use. The author, Ruben, responding promptly to any emails thrown at him. Nothing to complain about. My main reason to starting and keep using Mailplane for years was the full support for multiple Gmail accounts. I think this was also the main reason for a lot of users. But with Gmail already offering multiple login (up to 3 accounts though) from within the same browser window the question is - what would be now the reason to use Mailplane if one has no more than 3 Gmail accounts? I don't try to make Mailplane look less stellar than it is and this is why I gave it 5 starts in all categories and I will continue to use it with my 6 accounts - but I want to stir up some discussion and read other's reasons to keep using Mailplane.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.11
No-One
16 August 2010
Mailplane is my favorite email app I have on my mac. Super easy to use, and brings the interface of gmail to my desktop. The one thing I have a question about this app is about links. Is there A way drag and drop links (from an email browser) into the mailplane icon and have it start a new email with the link embedded? The native mail app for the mac has this feature, and I was wondering if you can do a similar thing with this app? All around fantastic app, keep up the great work.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.10
Killer-Klown-Kar
25 June 2010
Used this since Beta and have had very few issues with it. One thing people have to understand is gMail is still "beta" in Googles definition. Which means Google can change things around and mess with it at their will. So any third party app that is trying to access all the features, and on a constantly changing basis will in fact find themselves at times behind the eight ball. Mailplane is quick to isolate what Google is up to and fix it. Point of that is to illustrate that the author is on it, and works hard to make sure is product is always up to date. Lazy he is not.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.9
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
04 September 2010
. > One thing people have to understand is gMail is still "beta" in Googles definition. And do you understand Gmail's beta status was dropped nearly a year before your remark? :) http://gmailblog.blogspot.com/2009/07/gmail-leaves-beta-launches-back-to-beta.html
Like (5)
Version 2.1.11
Jade-Clark
17 February 2010
I was using this software for the past couple of years. It has served me well at the beginning, but lately it has many problems that remain thoughout the upgrades. Some google accounts fail to load. When I open them in the browser they work well. Attachments are very easy to add - by drag and drop. If the reliability issues will be fixed - it will be a great app to recommend.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.4
Just-A-User
03 February 2010
simple but great.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.4
Espiridion
31 January 2010
It took me less than 5 minutes of using Mailplane to make my purchase over a month ago. I still use Entourage to handle 2 of my GMail accounts since I want that information stored locally in my hard drive. Others may use different email programs such as Apple's Mail. My previous choices for an email program have been Mailsmith and PowerMail, but I've used Entourage for many years now. Apple's Mail has finally gotten better, so that may be the current choice of many Mac users. It should be obvious that if all a person needs is to receive GMail's email, Mailplane may not be worth it. For people with a single GMail account, Mailplane may not be worth it. On the other hand, here are some of the advantages I've found for my use: -Speed. When checking mail and switching among multiple addresses, and while working with email on a daily basis. Also, I like to report the spam I receive. Using a filter does NOTHING to fight spam. It merely helps my Inbox stay clean. Using Mailplane I can quickly check 4 accounts, and report the spam I receive. As I mentioned I use Entourage, and I set it up so that it NEVER receives any of my GMail spam. -Labels. I have a variety of Folders set up in Entourage for my GMail accounts. This works fine, but Mailplane's approach is also efficient and faster. My rules don't always work automatically in Entourage, but so far they always work in Mailplane. -Search. Mailplane's searches are superior to those of Entourage -although Entourage is great in this regard and very flexible-, and I guess this also applies to Apple's Mail. I can find anything on Entourage, but with Mailplane for example I can view a whole thread in a single window. In Entourage I would have to select and view each email individually. Speed and a more efficient workflow again play a role. -Screenshots, attachments, integration with other applications, chat, etc. I don't use these features that much, but for some users these are important. Mailplane is not something that everyone will want or need. For some it will be expensive. I actually bought it when it had a nice discount. Still, for many users it is definitely worth the $25 or $40 for up to five family members living in the same household. After using it for over a month I would hate to be without it.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.4
Veggiedude
30 January 2010
I downloaded it and tried it out, but after 10 minutes I knew its not for me. Basically, it is a cross between Safari and Apple Mail. I do not need a hybrid. Apple Mail does everything I need it to do, I don't see the point of this app.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.4
1 answer(s)
F451
F451
31 January 2010
With all due respect, it would be courteous to at least have refrained from submitting such a demeaning star rating to the others who find Mailplane quite useful, if not to the developer. Mailplane has evolved wonderfully providing those who wish to have the format of Google in Mac usefulness with so many other beneficial features such as uploading from iPhoto, et al. Those who use it dailyÑlove it. Count me squarely in the "love it" category.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.4
siamlotus
19 November 2009
Brilliant app. Thanks for the "insert images into text" update.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
larrymcj
02 October 2009
I rarely take time to post comments here, though I read a lot of what others have to say and those comments generally have a large influence on my software purchasing decision. But with Mailplane I really feel compelled to say a few things since I think Mailplane is not getting a fair evaluation here, and it's primarily because of its price. I just now looked at Mailplane again for the first time since its early beta days and I'm way impressed! I have been in the computing business, specifically the software business, for over 15 years and I'm also a huge Google Apps fan and couldn't live without Gmail. That said, Mailplane does many things, but first and foremost it cleans up the Gmail interface of Google ads...that alone is worth the price of the software! Next, it just runs faster and also cleans up the user interface with standardized toolbar buttons we're all familiar with and if you have to work with file attachments, being able to drag-drop them into a message is also by itself worth price of Mailplaine. Add to these things all the other nearly 40 improvements it makes on Gmail and you end up with a real live email client on your desktop that looks good, works good, and allows you some customization that Gmail does not. My hat is off to the folks at Mailplane for improving this so much since I first looked at it when it was in beta...you've done a marvelous job. Any developer who has done this much with their product can be expected to do even more, so I'd expect to see Mailplaine evolve into an even better application in the future.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.14
1 answer(s)
larrymcj
larrymcj
02 October 2009
Oops! Mailplane does not eliminate the Google Ads (I just happened to be looking at the inbox where ads are not displayed). It's still a nice app and well worth the price.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.14
Twisted
30 August 2009
Mailplane improved a lot my experience with gmail, but it still needs some new feature or other ideas for doing gmail better on desktop. 25$ are a bit too much anyway.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.12
Jazzyguy
02 July 2009
I tried it and found it to be a totally unnecessary expenditure of $24.95. In addition the uninstall feature failed to remove the app or the folder in ~/library/application support.Why bother when Gmail really is quite a sufficient unit on its own?
Like (9)
Version 2.0.11
6 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
09 July 2009
I guess that's for each person to decide regarding the value they place on Mailplane. I tend to prefer working "outside" of a browser and having native app controls. $25 dollars to "ehance" a free tool like Gmail sounds expensive but for me I'll likely purchase the family pack for $15 more that gives me Mailplane on up to 5 Macs for $40. That's 8 bucks a computer and a different value prop. Plus I think that the developer is going to be able to link Mailplane up with more apps like he's done with Omnifocus.
Like (4)
Version 2.1b
Sherman-Wilcox
Sherman-Wilcox
09 July 2009
I tried it and found it to be a tremendous boost to my productivity. $25 well spent in my evaluation.
Like (6)
Version 2.1b
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
10 July 2009
Gmail Browser is free and is a stand alone Browser for Gmail. It may not have all the features of MailPlane but does the job and is free.
Like (8)
Version 2.1b
hmurchison
hmurchison
10 July 2009
So basically you're saying price is your primary concern? That's fine but to others $24.95 probably doesn't really "break the bank". I know there's a contingent of computer users that love free stuff but there are also many that love simplicity. That's why we compute with Macs even though they come with a pricing premium for given specs. If Gmail keeps a person very happy then the standard web version is going to be fine but some people want ehancements with their OS and the ability to switch between multiple accounts and the $24.95 is a pittance to some for the benefits of desktop integration. The value is perceived differently by different folks. Some free is most key and others productivity/ease is most key.
Like (5)
Version 2.1b
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
10 July 2009
It isn't a question of money.Gmail Browser is extremely functional.The fact that the price is right (free) makes it all the more attractive.
Like (7)
Version 2.1b
hmurchison
hmurchison
10 July 2009
Gmail isn't all that efficient if you want to switch multiple accounts or attach files with any kind of speed. I attach files all day at work and would really be hampered by the slow file attachment process for gmail. Anyone with more than one gmail account instantly sees the benefit of being able to switch accounts with ease. When you say "it does the job" you really mean "it does the job for me" Those people who want more functionality and integration from their email client may not find that Gmail does the job.
Like (3)
Version 2.1b
Grizzler
19 May 2009
I hesitated to buy Mailplane. It seemed that the web browser and Mail could do the job managing gmail. But I took the plunge, plopped down $25, and I think it was a good decision. Mailplane definitely improves efficiency for me, with my two gmail accounts. Switching between one account and the other is easier than using Firefox or Safari. Mailplane handles attachments and photos better. Bottom line: It's a good interface for the gmail app, money well spent.
Like (4)
Version 2.1b
O5220803
11 May 2009
The developer has been responsive and now MailPlane is working as advertised. It turns out that this very well designed and complete. MailPlane makes all the features of GMail readily accessible and easy to use. A really handy application for the heavy GMail user who wants to use this excellent Google service in an true mail-client setting on the desktop. Kudos to MailPlane's authoring team for a developing this a really useful GMail client! An excellent value for the serious GMail user.
Like (1)
Version 2.1b
O5220803
08 May 2009
The Mac version of Mailplane 2.1b contains some icon buttons which are dysfunctional. Their recommended solution "Open your Gmail settings and enable keyboard shortcuts." Does not work in the Mac version of Gmail. I cannot recommend this app. to other users at this time. Save your money and use your browser for Gmail!
Like (1)
Version 2.1b
1 answer(s)
Croupier49
Croupier49
09 May 2009
Version 2.1b is a beta version. The developer's website clearly states the version is beta and notes there may be some bugs since it's still being tested. The site suggests you use the most stable released version (instead of the beta version) if you don't want to be part of testing or experience bugs. I use the most current released version (not this beta version) and have had ZERO problems. It's very handy and well-maintained. Yes, you can use a lot of free apps and browser add-ons to get similar (though not all) features as Mailplane, but they don't look or work as nicely.
Like
Version 2.1b
Irradiated-Software
12 March 2009
I simply don't see why $25 is considered too much for a tool like this. It saves time (if you gave multiple accounts or do a lot attachments regularly), the developer is prompt to respond to issues, the app is pretty and well done (even though I know it's just a wrapper around Fluid). Bottom line, if you need it, you'll know it, and gladly pay the $25. If you don't need it, you'll know it, but don't make this an issue on price. Developers have to eat too you know...
Like (8)
Version 2.1b
3 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
16 March 2009
I completely agree. Finally a review that doesn't take cheap potshots at those who simply didn't like it. Every app under the sun has its supporters and detractors. I was an original beta tester, and unfortunately it wasn't for me. For what it did, I thought it was too expensive, but for others, I can see it be an invaluable app. The only reason I got involved with this discussion was because of the childish behavior of another reviewer and his insults just because some of us didn't like the app, or didn't agree with him. Kudos to the developer for his continued updates, and maybe someday, when it has the features I need, I'll take another look. It was never because I couldn't afford it.
Like (3)
Version 2.1b
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 March 2009
Thanks for your review! One thing: Mailplane isn't based on Fluid or related to Fluid. Mailplane's executable file name needed to be renamed because of a Gmail video chat incompatibly.
Like
Version 2.0.7
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
02 April 2009
But $25 for software that makes use of a web mail service? Plus Apple mail can use that storage space via POP3 or even IMAP for $0.
Like (3)
Version 2.1b
Sherman-Wilcox
10 March 2009
I have to add my two cents to the reviews of this application. True, you can get much (certainly not all) of the functionality without purchasing Mailplane. But I used it for several weeks in demo mode and find that the extra efficiency it gives me (doing attachments, the easy access to my AddressBook data, good integration with iPhoto, and yes, just the extra menus and menu shortcuts) made it an easy decision for me to spend $25 on this (well, actually a little less, because the developer offers an educational discount). Add to that the fact that the developer is quite responsive, and it's a winner application for me. Definitely happy with my purchase.
Like (5)
Version 2.1b