Back to Easy Translator page
Easy Translator free download for Mac

Easy Translator Reviews

12.3.0
15 April 2016

Quickly and easily translate text.

Dhgabriel
29 February 2012

Most helpful

Extremely poor value for money, sadly. Appears to offer nothing that Google itself cannot provide. What's more, I'm reluctant to give money to a company that declines to display any physical address on its website. A "whois" search on the domain provides only apparently misleading information: the address is simply "Atlanta" and the listed fax-number is "5555555555", for instance. Let the buyer beware.
Like (15)
Version 6.3.0

Read 26 Easy Translator User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dejmac
06 January 2016
Is something going on with developer - Ace Tools - of Easy Translator? They don't reply to emails ever! Are they out of bussiness? This is very odd!
Like (1)
Version 11.0.0
Dejmac
25 December 2015
Most recently and very often, Easy Translator by AceTools doesn’t translate at all!, especially ET 11?! When I hit “Translate”, in the bottom window doesn’t show any translation!? This is not the first time it happened to me! It happened with previous version of Easy Translator very often as well!!! My Easy Translator is paid version (I am long time your faithful customer). Version is 11 and I use Mac OS X El Capitan (Mac OS X 10.11.2). Suddenly, it stoped working at all! I have tried several times to alert developers via "support" email, but nothing happened! I asked to be reimbursed because their product is not working - no answer at all!? Now, my Easy Translator 11 app rests in my applications folder and I have no intention to use it until it will be fixed or I will be reimbursed.
Like (1)
Version 11.0.0
BobUN
13 October 2015
Le développeur n'est pas correct !! même si son programme est excellent et qu'il n'y a pas de limitation dans le nombre de caractère. Il y a trop souvent de nouvelles versions, plus de 5 à 6 fois par année. Lorsque la version passe de 10 à 11, il faut à nouveau payer presque 60 dollars pour la mise à jour, passage obligé car l'ancienne version ne fonctionne plus !! c'est pas correct du tout.
Like
Version 10.8.0
Bdkennedy1
02 January 2013
Or you can just use the Translate widget in OS X which is FREE or the iGoogle widget which is FREE or go here which is FREE. http://translate.google.com
Like (8)
Version 7.0.5
1 answer(s)
MisterE
MisterE
11 June 2014
LOL, right! $90 for a translation app in this day and age is crazy. I don't doubt a few guppies will pay it though. The business model must be like spam... even if only 0.5% gets a hit the payoff is enough to keep people sending it. Think of endless infomercials for crap, all night long. Someone is staying up late and buying that sh*t. xD -E
Like (3)
Almar
14 December 2012
I can't believe, $118.00!
Like (6)
Version 7.0.3
neartheredrocks
03 December 2012
I'm kind of shocked that Macupdate gives such a piece of software - which actually should be considered malware - a stage. This software is nothing but a "mini browser", using Google's and Bing's translation engines. One needs to be online in order to use it which makes it idiotic to use it because one could also use the respective pages of Google and Bing directly. Moreover, Macupdate lists Lmhsoft as the "develeoper" which is simply wrong. The "developer" of this crap is an anonymous entity by the name acetools.net.
Like (8)
Version 7.0.2
Fishscale
26 November 2012
Over $100 for an app that simply uses bing/microsoft's online translator. This app is only a frontend to: http://www.bing.com/translator/ As for the comment below that warns the app only works when connected to the net… this is why.
Like (8)
Version 7.0.0
Dejmac
16 July 2012
Pros: Easy Translator is perfectly OK for what it offers. I consider it as a good start for translation. just as starting information of what has been written in some other language. Instead of going each time to internet for Google translator, this one you have all the time with you (laptop, desktop). Cons: After that anyone can use more serious translation engines (like NeuroTran and such) but they are way expensive for just one combination of two languages. And, by the way, ET doesn't work if you are not connected to internet!
Like (1)
Version 6.3.9
Dhgabriel
29 February 2012
Extremely poor value for money, sadly. Appears to offer nothing that Google itself cannot provide. What's more, I'm reluctant to give money to a company that declines to display any physical address on its website. A "whois" search on the domain provides only apparently misleading information: the address is simply "Atlanta" and the listed fax-number is "5555555555", for instance. Let the buyer beware.
Like (15)
Version 6.3.0
Jimblue
17 January 2012
this makes the little widget,Translation, apple throws in for free seem all the more valuable. apple’s Translation does a pretty good job at translating ~10 of the most common languages. google translate translates ~70 languages -- http://translate.google.com/. there is also a toolbar button for safari called Translate (it's excellent) from side tree software which uses google translate to translate web pages on the fly which can be found at the safari extensions page. similar extensions/add-ons can be found for any browser that does extentions/add-ons. also, there's quite a few translation apps for under $10.00 US at the app store -- many under $2.00 US. i haven't tried Easy Translator but it must be the best of its kind for the asking price -- maybe for professional use. just wanted to list some free/inexpensive alternatives if your life doesn’t depend on getting it exactly right. you know — if your “chatting” with your Thai “girlfriend.”
Like (6)
Version 6.2.8
Anon-Bud
26 September 2011
So yesterday I needed to translate something into Russian for a friend of mine. I went to Google Translate, entering the english text and got immediate translation into perfect Russian. That cost me nothing. Why would I [or anyone else, for that matter] spend $80 instead? Translate me "confused"
Like (4)
Version 6.2.0
Wakayama
14 February 2011
here, if you're online anyways, try this. http://translate.google.com/#auto|en| you can upload a full document and it will translate it. For free. How do I give this app -5 stars? I'm giving it 1, just so I can post this, and save people money from buying crud
Like (3)
Version 5.4.3
Maulrat
19 September 2010
oddly enough I just read about this POS program this morning in MacLife mag, they said basically the same thing as everyone else here, why would you pay for this when theres so many free alternatives ... obviously they didnt know about the unscrupulous nature and history about this developer ... I was more or less surprised that this wasnt a product from the infamous rip-off kings, AlphaOmega
Like (7)
Version 5.0.1
1 answer(s)
alas!
alas!
26 September 2011
AlphaOmega! Ha ha ha ha ha! AlphaOmega and AceTools....blood brothers, no?
Like (1)
Shooters
12 August 2010
Why paying when you can get translation for free online? Not worth any penny.
Like (9)
Version 4.6.3
Haliomaster
15 February 2010
Why paying so much when you can do this online for free on several sites?
Like (8)
Version 4.2.8
Nernmac
20 January 2010
I have used easy translator from early version 2 up to the last version 3 it has worked well but will not work under snow leopard ??? cost of up grade mm sorry to expensive so now use google great for reading spanish and other newspapers
Like (3)
Version 4.2.5
GPL VIOLATION? Yesterday I used Easy Translator for my first time. After using it I saw in my system.log following message: "com.AceTools.easytrans[18313]: QCoreApplication::applicationDirPath: Please instantiate the QApplication object first" I was very surprised, because there is no hint of using Qt from Nokia. So I desided to make a short look up inside the application, where I found the following lines: "This program uses Qt Open Source Edition version %1.Qt Open Source Edition is intended for the development of Open Source applications. You need a commercial Qt license for development of proprietary (closed source) applications." The open source edition of Qt, especially the used version 4.4.3, is licensed under the GPL! But the developer doesn't comply to the terms and conditions of the GPL.
Like (13)
Version 3.3.6
Gregorgy
12 December 2008
I work with Arabic, French and English all the time. I am constantly referring to Google Translate (especially with the Arabic) via Safari. The convenience of using an already-open web browser to get a quick idea of the meaning of tricky words cannot be beat. However, if you were to try and convince me that it could be beat, an app that costs $60 had better do grammar-perfect translations and not just link to an already-convenient online tool...
Like (4)
Version 3.0.3
Almar
05 December 2008
DO NOT BUY IT. This "program" has an incredible story! By the first is a complete RIP-OFF and as reported by as JIMBO95, it is a desktop interface to Google's FREE translation service. DO NOT use this program. It has NO benefits whatsoever over just going to Google's translation website at: http://translate.google.com which also works great on the iPhone/iPod touch (for free). To charge €60 for this is daylight robbery. Moreover I bought for 59 the previous version 2.9 and now they ask me again money for a new licence for version 3!! I feel very bad for haveing paid for this, in particular for paying something that is supposed to be free.
Like (11)
Version 3.0.2
Jimbo95
31 October 2008
This "program" is a complete and utter RIP-OFF! All it is, is a desktop interface to Google's FREE translation service. DO NOT use this program. It has NO benefits whatsoever over just going to Google's translation website at: http://translate.google.com which also works great on the iPhone/iPod touch (for free). To charge €60 for this is daylight robbery. I feel very sorry for the people who have paid for this, not realising that they're paying for something that is supposed to be free. I am also quite sure that this program violates Google's Terms of Service, which categorically state that: "Unless you have been specifically permitted to do so in a separate agreement with Google, you agree that you will not reproduce, duplicate, copy, sell, trade or resell the Services for any purpose." "You may not modify, rent, lease, loan, sell, distribute or create derivative works based on this Content (either in whole or in part) unless you have been specifically told that you may do so by Google or by the owners of that Content, in a separate agreement." I have notified Google of this violation.
Like (13)
Version 3.0
Almar
28 August 2008
I payed. I am paying. very often does not work, even with few words. I made a mistake. Really unsatisfactory. OSX 10.4.11 Macbook Pro
Like (5)
Version 2.9.13
Picon
10 April 2008
KuluKulu is correct. There is hardly any info on this developers web site. And $40 does seem expensive. I have been using KavaServices from Kavasoft. It allows you to translate from the service menu, which I find convenient, plus some other functionality. It is $20. Granted, translation through online sources is never perfect, but it definitely helps one to get the gist of whatever you are translating. It helps me to see what all that Chinese spam is trying to sell me :-)
Like (4)
Version 2.9.3
Aikousha
29 January 2008
Since there is nothing specified about this product other than, pretty much, what is here on MacUpdate, I have to ask... Why would I pay such a steep price for something which by it's own, rather meager, description uses internet based translators? Mac users not only have a built-in widget to do this (poorly I must say), but there are at least 8 services including Babelfish, Google and others that do this for free, just by going to their well-known webpages. Does it have a multiple-engine compilation of the software ported to G3/G4/G5 or DualCore processors, so it can be done anywhere your Mac is, connection or not? Otherwise I'd find the very steep price darn laughable. Now, if it's a whole new translation technology that's staggeringly accurate, that would be worth paying for... and I'd buy it in an instant (but that's not in the description).
Like (4)
Version 2.7
RogerKatz
28 January 2008
Wow - Quick fix to my previously noted poblem! 1. MacUpdate eMailed me a link to the developer. 2. I eMailed the developer. 3. The developer immediately responded by giving me a new download address which provided me with a copy of Easy Translator 2.7 which does indeed work in Leopard 10.5.1 on my MacBook Pro. Many, many thanks for the prompt help from both MacUpdate, and the from the developer.
Like
Version 2.7
RogerKatz
28 January 2008
Easy Translator 2.7 does NOT open in Leopard (10.5.1) on my MacBook Pro.
Like (1)
Version 2.7
Nernmac
17 December 2007
I HAVE 2.1 NOW 2.3 ON A MACBOOK 2 GHZ AND 2GRAM EVERY THING WORKS FINE ONCE YOU FIGURE HOW TO WORKIT IS.. A BRILLIANT LITTLE PROGRAM WELL WORTH THE SMALL FEE TO PAY FOR IT SUPPORT WELL COULD NOT ASK FOR BETTER WHEN A PROBLEM APPEARED THE REPLY WAS EPERT TO THE POINT NERNMAC
Like
Version 2.3
4 answer(s)
Mahojas
Mahojas
13 March 2008
Well worth the small fee??? SMALL FEE ???????? For such a small program ???? Get real, 39 Bucks is a lot of money. I would pay $10 at most.
Like
Version 2.8.2
Xenophile
Xenophile
20 December 2008
Shouting doesn't make $60 a "small fee". Fix your caps lock and try http://translate.google.com/ then come back and tell us again how small a fee $60 is.
Like
Version 3.0.3
Maulrat
Maulrat
19 September 2010
why bother ... this is most likely just a faux review from the dev ... nothing new
Like
Version 5.0.1
Mahojas
Mahojas
20 September 2010
I guess so. This developer is not worth commenting anymore. It's best just too ignore him.
Like
Version 5.0.1