Back to Subs Factory page
Subs Factory free download for Mac

Subs Factory Reviews

2.1.5
25 January 2019

Subtitles editor.

Greedyfranky
20 August 2013

Most helpful

No try. No buy. Jubler is free and does the same (and better).
Like (2)
Version 2.0

Read 14 Subs Factory User Reviews

Rate this app:

makeingcool
22 October 2016
You can use Avdshare Video Converter to format Factory Alternative for Mac and Windows.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Manuel-Fernandez-Vazquez
17 December 2014
Used to love this app... But now I find it buggy and more complicated UI. Opened a .srt file and SF give me ghost text at the beginning of the subtitle. Opened the same file with Jubler, Subfix and the sub was normal...
Like
Version 2.0.3
31 December 2013
Used the previous free version. But the GUI is a mess. Bought the news version. Better GUI. Now, here's the WTF situation - Create a new project file (.sfp); Open Video and Subtitle to add; Do some editing; Save the project and to return in a few hours to continue. Guess what?! Open the saved project file and nothing! Yup, nada. No video, no subtitle, no nothing. Damn pissed off now. Wasted a few hours of editing and all gone. Wish can just shift the blue text block in the timeline instead of keying with the time codes. It would be faster. Can this be a feature? Right now, not recommended. Wasted 8 bucks on this. And hours I can get back!
Like
Version 2.0.3
Greedyfranky
20 August 2013
No try. No buy. Jubler is free and does the same (and better).
Like (2)
Version 2.0
4 answer(s)
Traintrain Software
Traintrain Software
20 August 2013
Hello. You can get an idea about how SF works by taking a look at the manual : http://www.subsfactory.fr/v2/manuel/manuelen . I will think about creating a demo version.
Like (1)
Neil-M
Neil-M
14 October 2013
Let's face it, subtitling is not rocket science. There are a few options available, I'm surprised anyone could get partisan about any. Subs Factory does what it says it will and it's only €7. (1) Jubler has an unidentified unsigned developer - so I need to change security settings. (2) It will not run, because of "Unable to load Java Runtime Environment" (3) Jubler needs Java, which is not ideal, (although I do use other Java apps - successfully. So I know the runtime is installed). Open Source is great. Free can also be good. A fan on both counts. I also don't have a problem recognising and paying for apps that I use and need. When Jubler worked for me before, it was fine. It doesn't now => not fine. The no try, no buy is another issue.
Like (2)
Neil-M
Neil-M
14 October 2013
I see you can still download version 1.3.2 for free - http://www.subsfactory.fr/v1/
Like
Robertcoogan
Robertcoogan
09 December 2013
Neil, you must have bad luck. I've been using Jubler ever since OpenShiiva went away, and I have never had an issue. And for the record, Java is not bad - and it works fine...in other words: "ideal." For me, anyway. I recommend Jubler to anyone who wants free versus paid. Pretty simple.
Like
dmu
17 December 2011
I just want to convert a sub file to srt. but opening the sub file takes about a half an hour or crashes the app. If I do manage to get one open after a half hour, the encoding is wrong. But when I choose another encoding to see if that's the right one, it's another half hour wait or crash. I think life is too short for this app.
Like
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
Dinky2
Dinky2
03 January 2012
Completely agree. Absolutely useless. Cann't even open a video file in the first place. There are more funny things about it, such as not showing up in the overview of running apps. It is hiding its windows for some reason.
Like
Douglas-Harrison
05 August 2011
"Available in English, French, Italian and Portuguese" Can I install Chinese traditional characters somehow?
Like
Version 1.3.2
qutaiba
01 May 2011
Hi, Great software. But I can't seem to see the subtitles I've created in the subtitle window. The subtitles are there, the Subtitles pallet is open, but nothing displays in it. I have version 1.3.2. I basically need to see the result of my work.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Tsehov
21 January 2010
This could be very good application if the 'Concatenate' worked. When I try to concatenate I cannot select any subtitle file: every one one of them is greyed? I have 10.6.2 in my use.
Like
Version 1.2
Lucky-strike
04 September 2009
Really useful application. However I can't get the concatenate feature to work in version 1.2. It works well in version 1.1.1 but in 1.2 when I try to load the second set of subtitles all files in the open dialogue are grayed-out. I'm running OS X 10.5.8 and this bug happens on two different Macs.
Like
Version 1.2
Uncle-zed
20 July 2009
Hello, I can't open .mkv files in h.264 codec. Would be great if You fix that.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Phylica
Phylica
26 August 2009
Subs Factory can normally open the same formats as QuickTime Player. Be sure that QT Player can open your .mkv file. If it does not, try to install the suitable codec, for example through Perian. On top of that, if your video is HD, Subs Factory may have trouble to read it (too big). Get a lower quality version to create subtitles.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
14 June 2009
Excellent app. Can treat an incredibly large numbr of alphabets, in particular ISO-8859-1 (French). It can rescue defective .txt files (declared unreadable by other apps like Subfix) and make tham usable .srt, to be corrected in Subs Factory or in other apps.
Like
Version 1.2
Spinne
10 February 2009
Yyyyyes! Two in One! I had two srt files. With the "Concatenate subtiles" button i realised to connect them in one. It works good!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Riqay
06 January 2009
Downloaded Subs Factory when I found myself trying to sync a movie with an srt file from a different version of the movie. In 3 minutes, Subs Factory had everything working perfectly. The UI isn't perfect -- for instance, pressing the space bar doesn't start and stop the video as it does in so many other video applications, and some features of the interface use modal windows, making the process a little bit less convenient than it could be. Still, this is definitely worth a look if you're futzing around with srt files.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Akrobat
12 June 2008
I tried Sears first but the app constantly crashes on launch. Next checked MacUpdate for something else and came across this. Excellent app. Good documentation and works as advertised. A quick look through the manual, tried some stuff out and 15 minutes later my subtitles were synced. Well done.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Dtsrppp
Dtsrppp
21 November 2008
Your reviewer of Subs Factory talks about good documentation - I can not find any! Where is it please.
Like
Version 1.1.1