Back to Jing page
Jing free download for Mac

Jing Reviews

2.8.1
01 March 2019

Capture/share your screen as images and video, Pro version available.

schmittyred
17 November 2009

Most helpful

Jing would be great if it didn't sit in the background and eat CPU cycles. Take a look at Activity Monitor and look at the total CPU Time used up by Jing. I was trying to figure out why my MBP battery usage was higher than usual. Sure enough, Jing increases average battery usage by 1.0W... when completely idle. That's not okay.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.17074

Read 30 Jing User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sleek
01 March 2019
Jing is not free, it is Scam, to lure you to Download, GET MONOSNAP or Browsershot or Screenshot psd that is completely free and is excellent Screen Capture tool..
Like
Version 2.8.1
wjsahawneh
30 October 2015
I love Jing. I use it mostly for snipping screen shots, which is very easy and can be saved as a separate image document or copied directly into another type of document, such as Word or Excel. One of my great disappointments with my MacAirbook was the lack of the snipping tool I found so handy in the Windows system used in previous computers. Jing solved that problem. I have had no problem using Jing for a 5 min. video. Why are others complaining it isn't fast enough? Jing is FREE, so don't expect it to be the absolute topnotch app possible to find, of course there are better systems for those who want to pay. I'm delighted to able to use Jing for free. Thanks to those who make free use possible. Question: how do I download the latest update for Mac users that came out Oct. 2015? Missed the window that popped up and have not been able to find how to access that update since.
Like
Version 2.6.73868
Funjoy
28 December 2012
Perfect little app for screenshots you can auto-upload then link to in emails or forum posts. Annotation is simple and useful. Only niggle is a 3-click process to quit the app.
Like
Version 2.5.47113
1 answer(s)
Funjoy
Funjoy
14 March 2013
Update: if you choose to have Jig run as a menubar app (as opposed to a floating icon in the corner of the screen) quitting is a simple one-click option, so my main complaint is gone! That said, I use this app solely for screenshots and I don't do video-capture, so I can't comment on that part of the app.
Like (1)
Vinkri
04 November 2011
free but limited: 5 minutes screencasts max. swf files only "clumsy" mouse movements during screencast... For the same price and a better quality, you can use Quicktime 10 (on Snow Leopard and more) which allows you to record your screen...
Like
Version 2.5.47113
1 answer(s)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
18 February 2012
I can't get QuickTime 10 to work. I click on record and nothing happens even if I could get all the screen junk out of the way.
Like
Hkim
03 April 2011
This only allows one to save their movie as a .swf file. To save a movie into a .mp4 movie format, one must *spend* for the PRO version, thus the use of this free application is limited. Insisting on signing up for sharing is not a plus either since this should be optional.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.30037
1 answer(s)
Craig42a
Craig42a
06 April 2011
Try Quicktime X with Snow Leopard. Works great!
Like
jpl373
11 February 2011
Free and works great. Pretty simple.
Like
Version 2.4.30037
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
20 December 2010
Screw this. All I wanted was a free screen recorder. This was advertised as "free," but to use it you have to sign up for an account. Wthout signing an endless EULA, it is uselss. Does everything have to be a scam and a gip?
Like (1)
Version 2.4.30037
1 answer(s)
Lookin2it
Lookin2it
19 March 2011
With all due respect, the description clearly states that one of the primary features of this program is the ablity to easily share your screencasts with others via a server. It seems reasonable, that to do so would require some manner of signing on to the system. This does not sound like scam. The fact that a "useless EULA" is required is a result of our litigeous society that deems itt appropiate to sue when unreasonable expectations remain unfulfilled. Unfortunately for us, because it is a real pain in the butt, companies have to protect themselves with such things as EULA's. With today's technology you have the option of using a variety endless free email addresses, disposable email addresses, and temporary mail boxes; in addition to the ability of using a proxy to hide behind. Yeah, I know it's a pain,but it doesn't mean it's a scam. It's a sad state of affairs when we can freely benefit from someones else's initiative, hard work and talent, but for the cost of a name & email address (which can be false and temporary), and yet feel gypped and entitled to complain..
Like (2)
dajonel
15 April 2010
Basically worthless now that Snow Leopard and Quicktime X have been released.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.23989
3 answer(s)
Rpsx
Rpsx
04 June 2010
quicktime x captured my screen at 1 frame per second, where jing did it at 10fps, and allowed cropped recording. quicktime x hardly obsoletes this app.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.23989
dajonel
dajonel
04 June 2010
Funny, considering QuickTime X records at 13 FPS on my laptop.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.23989
Lookin2it
Lookin2it
18 November 2010
Newsflash - not everyone has the two apps you reference; thereby not relegating this to the worthless heap. It looks like you've been around long enough to know that even when software falls into the "legacy" category, it still has value.
Like
Version 2.4.30037
schmittyred
17 November 2009
Jing would be great if it didn't sit in the background and eat CPU cycles. Take a look at Activity Monitor and look at the total CPU Time used up by Jing. I was trying to figure out why my MBP battery usage was higher than usual. Sure enough, Jing increases average battery usage by 1.0W... when completely idle. That's not okay.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.17074
Ej1
13 April 2009
Jing! appears to work when recording, but when previewed or played back all I get is a black screen with white arrow cursors bouncing around. Sounds ok... no video. iMac 17" 800 mhz PPC, Flash 9 and 10, OS X 10.4.11
Like
Version 2.0.14405
2 answer(s)
Ej1
Ej1
13 April 2009
I also have Quicktime 7.6
Like
Version 2.0.14405
Ej1
Ej1
16 April 2009
I found that I had the screen colors set to thousands instead of millions. I got it to work, sort of...Captured video looked good in preview but I could never get a email linked video to play back properly. I finally gave up on it.
Like
Version 2.0.14405
Imho
31 January 2009
Downloaded the fore last version of Jing (freeware), that worked on my iMac G5 with Leopard. After two days the program invited me to download an updated version. Downloaded it, but immediately after installing and touching the sun the first time it vanishes. Downloaded the last version since then several times, but nothing helps.
Like
Version 2.0.13462
Hotchick
10 November 2008
I tried it some time ago and gave it another chance. Much improved.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.10389m
Haloce-002
07 November 2008
Awesome. Really fast. Except, the sun is a little annoying to look at and may cause a burn-in. Otherwise, pretty awesome.
Like
Version 1.6.8006M
Thecap
06 November 2008
Doesn't even start up without [trying to force] a subscription to something that I neither want nor need... Moved to trash.
Like
Version 1.6.8006M
Deepwater
22 July 2008
Ive installed this application on many different setups. MacPro's, powerbooks, imac... there is always an issue no matter the version. It has hung my MacPro to the point where i had to login with another account just to rip it out! if there is something out there that i can pay for that works, id buy it.
Like
Version 1.6.8006M
1 answer(s)
Ceiling-Cat
Ceiling-Cat
23 July 2008
ScreenFlow is a payware alternative, don't think it's on MacUpdate though.
Like
Version 1.6.8006M
mac-34
03 June 2008
i can't seem to capture full-screen quicktime movies... freezes
Like
Version 1.6.6249
Xero976
28 May 2008
I could not get it to work on my mac.
Like
Version 1.6.6249
Ayub
24 May 2008
Excellent program. Shortest method of capturing movie session of your desktop. Great work. Thanks for giving it Free.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.6249
M-A-V-I-C
31 January 2008
Downloader beware. Software is listed as "free" but requires you to sign up for an account on a web site. They have a long TOS which includes: "you grant to TechSmith a non-exclusive, royalty-free license to use, copy, distribute, and display that content."
Like
Version 1.4.4200
1 answer(s)
Neonblue2
Neonblue2
09 May 2008
Unless you host your recordings on their website, they have no access to them. Since you don't have to host them on their server, I don't see a problem.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.6151
mac-34
09 December 2007
how am i supposed to save a file? all i see is share, embed and cancel? where has the save button gone?
Like
Version 1.4.3445
1 answer(s)
G7
G7
12 January 2008
You have to select "File" (not "FTP") above the buttons and click "Share". Then you need to specify the folder for shared files, where Jing saves the captured movies from now on. As the movies are saved in SWF format, you will propably want to download Flash Player Projector to open them. Just google for "Flash Player Standalone".
Like
Version 1.4.3900
Jslmg
17 November 2007
This app is not working for me. It saves files as .swf by default. However, my RealPlayer freezes when trying to load the video, and I have to force quit it.
Like
Version 1.3.2913
9 answer(s)
Jslmg
Jslmg
17 November 2007
I was able to open it with Quicktime but right-clicking on the file. However, I find the video too jerky, not smooth enough to use to demonstrate the application that I wanted to demonstrate. I see no way to change the video settings in the preferences. It just isn't usable for my needs.
Like
Version 1.3.2913
Dalahast
Dalahast
28 November 2007
Get rid of RealPlayer, for one. Second, don't open it with QT- open it with Safari. If you can't figure out how, hold Command and Option, then drag it to the Safari icon in your Dock or wherever.
Like
Version 1.4.3445
Jslmg
Jslmg
29 November 2007
Too many workarounds for me. I'd expect any app I download and try for the first time to work immediately on a mac. This is not Linux, folks. Anyway, why would I open a video using Safari??? It should work with a commonly used video player. Also, I'm not going to get rid of my real player--too useful for too many other things. Never tell someone to discard one app that in order to use another one. That is just plain and simple, poor design. Sorry, folks, I uninstalled Jing the same day I got it, and I have no plans to try it again. It's just not ready yet.
Like
Version 1.4.3445
Neonblue2
Neonblue2
29 November 2007
Jing does work, it just saves in a proprietary format that most don't support because there is no need to. Most apps that do support SWF files only have support up to version 5, 6 or 7 as well. What you're saying is that you would also expect a Realplayer file to work in, say, QuickTime because it just should. But you say you need Realplayer. It's the same as using Adobe's player.
Like
Version 1.4.3445
Jslmg
Jslmg
29 November 2007
Sorry, but that is not what I am "saying." I do not expect Jing to open anything with RealPlayer. I would expect Jing to open a video file in its very own player. Go back to my original comment: I said that when I saved a file in Jing, the format was by default .swf. This is a Real Player format. When I double-clicked the file to open it, it automatically opened--or tried to open--in Real Player, not Jing. But then Real Player crashed before the file could open. This led me to conclude that Jing was using Real Player as its file helper. I was able to open that same file successfully--no crashing--in QuickTime, by right-clicking, then choosing QT from the "Open With" menu. That worked. I wanted to set preferences in Jing for such things as (1) default file format, and /or (2) default video player. No such preferences exist. Without such control over how Jing behaves, it's a dead-end app in its current state, as far I'm concerned.
Like
Version 1.4.3445
Jslmg
Jslmg
29 November 2007
A couple of corrections here: First, Jing is not a video player--I recognize that. What it needs is a way for users to select video players. Second, .swf is not RealPlayer's sole format--it is a format that plays in RealPlayer, but it is actually a Flash format. Someone here said "download the stand-alone Flash player." I'm looking at jing's website now, to see what it says about its connection with Flash. The only indication I get of this is waaayyy down at the end of its FAQ, where it lists system requirements. Why not put it on the top page, with a big asterisk, "Requires Adobe Flash Player." Otherwise, if the designers aren't able/willing to do that, redesign it.
Like
Version 1.4.3445
Dalahast
Dalahast
29 November 2007
Adobe Flash Player is already installed… and you can watch your videos in Jing using the history feature. When I said 'get rid of RealPlayer', I meant that because it is a terrible app, not because of compatibility.
Like
Version 1.4.3445
Neonblue2
Neonblue2
19 December 2007
Okay, here's me cleaning this up. 1. SWF means Shockwave File - a Flash format 2. SWF is not a Real format, it belongs to Adobe 3. When I recommended the official standalone player, I meant use Adobe's official standalone player For Intel: http://download.macromedia.com/pub/flashplayer/updaters/9/sa_flashplayer_9.app.zip For PPC: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/17338/adobe-flash-standalone-player
Like
Version 1.4.3892
Dalahast
Dalahast
19 December 2007
Better yet, use iSwiff: MacUpdate listing for iSwiff
Like
Version 1.4.3892
Hedgeland
10 October 2007
Excellent, excellent program. The easiest way I've ever seen to do screencasting, Mac or PC. And the ability to either save locally or upload instantly to their web hosting service is just awesome.
Like
Version 1.3
Horatio
10 October 2007
it's working well now, audio bug on ppc has been fixed. keep on, it would be nice to have other save options than swf for video, who does big files thanks
Like
Version 1.3
Horatio
23 September 2007
Unfortunately there's a bug in video capture with audio. Jing modifies the prefs when you click on video capture (from internal to line entry), so there will be no audio on the resulting video when you want to use internal microphone. A workaround: get open the prefs window and rechange it manually before starting your speech, a little bit painfull :-( Support says that it's affecting only ppc. Unless this hassle it's good stuff.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Stshm1
20 August 2007
I have been a long user of ScreenHunter on Windows platform. Hey, I just found myself a far more superior product on Mac. Now, I can tell my wife my switch to Mac is a wise decision. Keep up the good work. By the way, if only the screen capturing can be done in other shapes such as oval or circle.
Like
Version 1.2.5
1 answer(s)
Odysseuscm
Odysseuscm
10 October 2007
not to endanger your marriage, but jing is also available for windows ;)
Like
Version 1.3
Hendo
19 August 2007
omg, amazing. Thank you so much. I actually like them as swf files, as it makes it nice for uploading to your website.
Like
Version 1.2.5
Nosrac
19 August 2007
Uh oh! There's no 'Praise' Review Type ;-o Thank you. So. Very. Much. I love you.
Like
Version 1.2.5
Smactron
19 August 2007
It works great, but the interface is not very Mac OS X-like and it saves the videos to the Flash .swf format. Change those two shortcomings and this will be one great piece of software.
Like
Version 1.2.5
Dalahast
18 August 2007
FINALLY! A decent movie recorder that doesn't lag and has good flexibility!
Like
Version 1.2.5
µø˜˚´¥
18 August 2007
Finally! A screen capture utility that captures video (what's wrong with command-shift-4 for stills?), actually works (unlike, say, fgrab), and doesn't cost $30 a version (unlike, say, Snapz). The "Sun" interface isn't my thing, but the developers are smart enough to give an option to turn it off. Thank you! Capture frame rate is excellent, but GPU-intensive. In other words, movie files can be captured at full frame rate (at least on my dual G5), but something like a complex Quartz Composer composition causes stutters. The only thing I can say against this app is that it captures to swf format only. Which is no big deal, since Quicktime Pro can convert it to whatever, but there goes that $30 per version (but that's another post).
Like
Version 1.2.5