Back to VOX page
VOX free download for Mac

VOX Reviews

3.3.13
11 October 2019

Music player that supports many filetypes.

unGraphic
06 August 2013

Most helpful

What a tragedy that has happened to this application. It went from being the absolute BEST quick and light weight audio player to downright unusable. It frequently crashes, dragging and dropping audio files into the playlist stalls the application for about 30 seconds, its VERY laggy, simply skipping tracks causes the application to stall... and worst of all, the absolute worst fact about this app is that its INSANELY high on RAM usage. So high its even worse than iTunes itself. A lot of users of Vox welcomed in the application on OS X 10.6.8 Snow Leopard. Why? Because 10.6.8 was and still is Apple's most RAM friendly operating system and Vox was the perfect companion. Dropping Snow Leopard support was another major mistake. While the app looks great, its monumental failure lies within its execution. Terribly outcome for what once was a great application. I'd easily recommend the older beta 0.28 version over this.
Like (23)
Version 1.0

Read 354 VOX User Reviews

Rate this app:

sneal1968
31 October 2019
Uses iTunes library. Does not (yet) support OS Catalina. Radio function does not play on iphone/pad/MacBook. Support staff responses show no understanding of issue. It does import iTunes playlists. It does play music. Do not recommend premium vox.
Like
Version 3.3.13
zaza2
15 September 2019
An absolute garbage. And I thought I was the only person suffering with this. The lagging, the crashes resulting from tasks as simple as Drag and Drop, the torpid, indolent and sluggish response, accompanied by a HUGE consumption of RAM. This app went from my absolute favorite to a complete rubbish. What a shame.
Like
Version 3.3.12
Aargl
13 September 2019
I think many people wanting a very simple player will be happy with TINY PLAYER. ;-) — old COG is still working too and 64 bits — which is not the case of old VOX (0.2.8 and variants). I still have VOX 2.8.26 (cleaned up from useless background stuff ;-) ) occasionally running. It has one advantage over many others: it plays the Opus format.
Like
Version 3.3.12
Akrobat
12 August 2019
A damned shame. I remember when it appeared years ago. Such a good, simple player unlike the bloated but necessary iTunes. Now you have to SIGN IN to play music? I deleted from my system....next.
Like
Version 3.3.10
Aeschylus
13 July 2019
Sorry -- big, bloated, subscription -- no way.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.10
sqeeezy
03 June 2019
still May 2019 using Vox 0.2.8 beta 2, although Mojave 10.14.6 Beta (18G29g) doesn't like it. News is iTunes.app is to be chopped up: about time, give me a competent music player based on Audion3 or good ol' Vox,please.
Like
Version 3.3.9
ben-marko
30 May 2019
Same here. Uninstalled. Won't link to my iTunes music library. And it's (yet another) subscription-based app? Bye.
Like
Version 3.3.9
ronald-1**
09 April 2019
Pay pay pay app subscription. No thanks.
Like
Version 3.3.8
jtnycny
16 January 2019
Scamware does not work as promised. Doesn't work with Sonos or music stored in different locations. AVOID like the plaque, impossible to get refund, greedy developers won't help with tech support.
Like
Version 3.3.7
Ozai
25 June 2018
A subscription based music player? Is that a joke? I just wanted to change my equalizer settings! Apparently only PREMIUM users can. To unlock this most basic feature you need to pay them $4.99 monthly. Uninstalled.
Like (12)
Version 3.2.1
1 answer(s)
Jeffrey-Harris
Jeffrey-Harris
29 June 2019
Yeah, ridiculous.

HOWEVER, it IS a really nice music player.
Nicer than Apple Music Very clean interface (unlike Boom).
Easy to navigate.

There's a view where the album art fills the upper part of the screen and the lower has a graphic bar showing the dynamics of a piece of music. You can scrub across to fast forward. Very cool. I spend time scanning CD album art (yep still have and buy them), so this is important to me.

I have NO interest in storing or accessing my music online. But, I would pay ONE TIME for full-res recording support, equalizer and a few other other non-cloud features.
Like (1)
Mercyguy
08 June 2018
Gonna give credit for what early version made it great, now that it force user to make account to unlock feature. At this point why not just go to paid once model? I would have shelf out a couple of dollar since I've been supporting this App for so long. Now it's just a bloated, ad ridden player. I rather stay at version 2 like everybody else until OS breaks it.
Like (5)
Version 3.2.1
tx517
03 May 2018
The app was great until version 3, where a great deal of settings and features now force the user to log-in / pay... A perfect proof that it is highly valuable to keep prior versions of an app...
Like (6)
Version 3.2.1
Spudboy
22 February 2018
I use Vox all the time and don't pay anything for it. What is this monthly subscription people talk about?
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
Detlevski
18 February 2018
Vox and Coppertino are an insult to any intelligent person, if you want to have a good FLAC player and don't mind paying a reasonable amount for it, try Swinsian. A subsubscription based music player .. ? What a disrespect to your user. I One year tops then Vox has vanished ..
Like (5)
Version 3.2.1
Wunderhorn
18 February 2018
I think a subscription model like this is a slap in the user's face. Happy to pay for good software, of course, but not like this. One time and perhaps for larger future updates as well. But when I decide to do it, not when a developer thinks I should.
Like (6)
Version 3.2.1
VanRijn63
27 December 2017
Close, but no cigar. All I want is a lightweight, easy to use itunes replacement, but can't fine one for love nor money.
Like (3)
Version 3.1
4 answer(s)
Bigdave56
Bigdave56
27 December 2017
VLC maybe?

My beef is that they took features that used to be free- Audio Units, hog mode, maybe others- and made Vox rentware.
Like (2)
sqeeezy
sqeeezy
27 December 2017
I'm still happy with the old version Vox 0.2.8 beta 2. high Sierra MBP 13" late 2013
Like (1)
VanRijn63
VanRijn63
08 January 2018
@Bigdave56 l like VLC and use it all the time for movies but hadn't even considered using it as a music player. Thanks for the suggestion, I'll give it a try,
Like
Wunderhorn
Wunderhorn
18 February 2018
IMO the best iTunes replacement is Swinsian.
Like (1)
xgman
26 December 2017
used to be good. no longer.
Like (3)
Version 3.1
Intrepidsilence
27 November 2017
While VOX is a good app with many unique and wonderful features the change in 3.x to a subscription model was disappointing. However, I fully understand that developers need to support their families as well so I would be totally fine with it if the pricing model were anywhere near reasonable. However, $15/mo, or if you pay for a year almost $190 (with the discount), is flat out absurd.

Coppertino, get a grip. Charging $2/mo would net you thousands upon thousands more subscribers than your current pricing model. Somehow you think you are providing more value per month than my Adobe Creative license or perhaps Netflix including 4 simultaneous streams and UHD content.

The only way this pricing model would make sense would be if Coppertino wants to kill the app and no longer have to support it. And that is just where VOX is heading as it stands today.

Shame on you Coppertino.
Like (8)
Version 3.0.1
unGraphic
23 November 2017
I rarely log in to leave reviews, but this one was necessary; In short, Vox has become terribly disappointing. In full, Vox has slowly turned into a bloated mess and cash grab by greedy developers once it was bought out by Coppertino from Alessio Nonni. Version 0.2.8 beta 2 was amazing because it was fast, light on memory and system resources. Coppertino did bring a very pleasing visual aesthetic (credit is given where it's due) but how they managed to make it use so much more resources is questionable. Granted, it was fixed eventually but still is about double of what original Vox used. But now with this (disgusting) tactic to get us to pay to get EQ settings and force us to LOG IN? Why in christ was this implemented? I'd rather make a donation for the app than be bogged with drivel. How have the devs forgotten that the target audience of this app are those of us looking for a SIMPLE music app? I am NOT upgrading past version 2.8.26. My 2 star rating could be much lower however the rest of the application is still amazing, but the major blunder Coppertino has pulled is holding it back from a much better score and user experience for us all. Give me a place where I can make donation to keep Vox the way it should be instead of gouging everyone.
Like (14)
Version 3.0.1
Evgin
16 November 2017
3.0 = Exaggerated.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
MHerndz
16 November 2017
Now whyyyyy in the world would I pay $$ JUST to have an equalizer with only ONE setting I would ever use????? as far as tunes online I could care less, just the player and equalizer is all I ever use… Ain't buyin'…
Like (4)
Version 3.0
Pwenzel
16 November 2017
Really bumming on the extreme push for subscription services in Vox 3.0. Reverting back to version 2.8.26, which I love and would honestly pay money for as an alternative to iTunes... just not the $100-200 per year requirement for Vox Premium Cloud. The pricing is hidden behind layers of upselling pages, so it's not even clear what you are buying, or how much it costs. Seriously Coppertino, you had really nice player going here. It's the closest thing to Winamp, which people used to pay for back in the good old days! Why push everyone away from using it?
Like (7)
Version 3.0
Sandro-Bilbeisi
16 November 2017
Sorry Coppertino, but this looks like a downgrade to me ! AudioUnits are no longer available in the free tier ?
Like (7)
Version 3.0
dima-parfyonov
16 November 2017
Old Versions VOX: https://vox.rocks/mac-music-player/old-versions
Like (5)
Version 3.0
distreszed
09 October 2017
any news on High Sierra version? current version constantly crashes on startup after upgrade to 10.13.
Like
Version 2.8.30
1 answer(s)
Bigdave56
Bigdave56
27 December 2017
No probs here on High Sierra.... fortunately.
Like
mky-1
29 July 2017
https://vox.rocks/privacy "Information in a log file may include IP address, browser type, Internet service provider, date/time stamps, MAC address, file requested, and other usage information and statistics." Why would I want to share my MAC address with the developers of a music player?
Like (4)
Version 2.8.28
3 answer(s)
Balanchine
Balanchine
18 August 2017
Vox Preferences -> General -> untick "Send anonymous statistic information"
Like (1)
chancer1
chancer1
19 August 2017
@Balanchine: You do realize the conflicting statement between sending *anonymous* statistics and uploading a unique identifier like a MAC address.

Let alone that such uploading of personal information should be opt-in and not opt-out.

Also I am not sure, if disabling the option you mention indeed disables all information upload.
Like (2)
Pwenzel
Pwenzel
16 November 2017
I have "Send anonymous statistic information" unchecked but Little Snitch still reports Vox calling out to Hockey App (crash reporting), Google Analytics, One Signal, and Mixpanel.
Like (1)
pooyakamel
31 May 2017
This is by far the best "mini" music player for macOS. it opens fast and you can use it just for playing music and iTunes for organizing and managing your music. ??
Like
Version 2.8.24
Aargl
16 March 2017
Funny to see that my **** review explaining how to get rid of those background apps has been deleted: Now the "Most Helpful Review" is a bad one, instead... :-D
They seem to prefer having bad reviews instead of happy users...
I'm still a happy user but I won't explain again how easy it is to prevent Loop and VOX Agent to run in the background, as it probably would be deleted again. ;-)
Like (3)
Version 2.8.22
3 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
23 November 2017
You seem confused, so let me explain.

It’s really pretty simple and someone with a score as high as yours should have understood it about...oh...450 points ago.

This site is MacUpdate.com.
And MacUpdate controls most of the content you see here.
Only MacUpdate can modify/remove the reviews/comments posted here.

Developers may upload software, along with details and screenshots. They do not have the ability to modify/remove ratings/comments posted here.

So the "they" you referred to (the developer) was NOT the one who removed your "**** review."

Next time, swallow a chill pill and then try posting a calm, thoughtful review instead of a **** review.
Maybe then it won’t be removed by MacUpdate.

Hope that helps.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
23 November 2017
I wonder what makes you think my review was not "calm and, thoughtful" but thanks anyway for bringing your precious enlightenment, Your Most Serene Highness! ;-)
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
23 November 2017
Perhaps the phrase "**** review?"

You didn’t say "thoughtful review."

And if someone posts a **** review, then MU might just
**** remove it.

Now, about this evening’s festivities:
When Mrs. Serene Highness and I have finished our bountiful Thanksgiving feast, the jester will deliver the turkey carcass and other leavings to the stable so that you and your brood may also partake of our abundance and good fortune.

You may thank us by working twice as hard tomorrow, peasant.
Like
Detlevski
11 February 2017
You might want to read this before installing: https://vox.rocks/privacy. And if you still decide to use Vox, use Little Snitch AND Little Flocker to prevent Vox from stealing your privacy, like bookmarks, IP-address, songs you listen to. You don't get nothing for free, the price is usually your privacy. I would love to pay for a program like Vox without my privacy being violated.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.20
wickedsp1d3r
01 February 2017
Ridiculous application nowadays.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.16
1 answer(s)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
02 February 2017
Do you remember when it used to be a fast and light audio player that was so much easier to use than iTunes? Now it's so bloated and there's that persistent app that can't even be force quit.
Like (2)
Macmaria
07 January 2017
Could be better—alas, it behaves like adware. Feed up I removed it from my Mac.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.12
1 answer(s)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
01 February 2017
I was also able to see that Vox Agent runs continuously in the background. It could not be quit even by force quitting in Activity Monitor. That is dangerous, so I had to delete this app. Sad.
Like
GeogProf
09 October 2016
Does this app still constantly run in the background? That was a moronic decision by the developers — who wants such a single-use app running all the time?
Like (7)
Version 2.8.8
3 answer(s)
pooyakamel
pooyakamel
31 May 2017
no not anymore
Like
rick-58
rick-58
04 June 2017
Looks like it's still there to me... I checked the Activity Monitor after doing Quit VOX and I still see the VOX Agent running. Version 2.8.24
Like
pooyakamel
pooyakamel
08 June 2017
Ok, turned out CleanMyMac.app had been disabled the services for me and I wasn't aware. so there is still VOX agents running in background but the good news is you can stop them by CleanMyMac.
Like
@mitic@
06 October 2016
The app is not bad. It allows to organize music inside the player, so you can create some playlists putting the songs in the order you prefer. You know, I don't like the interface, the colors are kind of depressive. But good news is that VOX plays different types of files, sometimes those the other players don't support. That's a plus!
Like
Version 2.8.6
Maxmerlin
28 June 2016
Great app!! I'm playing all kind of audio files even DSF high resolution one's in a MacBook Pro built in late 2009 with latest OSX and all I can say is that I'm getting perfect sound. Other apps out there that play DSF files are usually a bit expensive. This one is free. Keep up the good work and thank you!!
Like (1)
Version 2.8.1
1 answer(s)
alzoub
alzoub
17 September 2016
For me it is not that great, though I would love to find a decent replacement for the gigantesque multifunctions universal iTunes. Beside playing exotic extensions, VOX has a very VERY retro style of managing files/ playlists/ libraries - which is true for so many other iTunes replacement apps out there - and it has a very VERY petty interface - event pettier compared with the empty surplus of screen around it. So... I gave it a try, but you know life`s to short to spent it squinting to an interesting app.
Like (1)
Cybercat-Hk
23 June 2016
Download here is for 2.7.7, not the "Version 2.8.1: "Huge update..." as listed. (Doesn't MacUpdate check their links before publishing a listing?)
Like
Version 2.8.1
Penguirl
12 June 2016
I am quite happy with v 0.2.8 b2.
Like (2)
Version 2.7.7
1 answer(s)
sqeeezy
sqeeezy
10 April 2017
me too, (death to iTunes): still love Audion on the ol' tiBook too
Like (2)
distreszed
06 June 2016
it seems developers doesn't have on their minds implementing simple normalize/sound check option. too bad :/
Like
Version 2.7.7
TeddyUrsadorable
14 April 2016
Odd that the App Store doesn't update Vox.. still no updates with 2.6.5 installed.
Like
Version 2.7.7
dwp-1
07 April 2016
I feel like I've been screwed. I paid the $50 bucks for storing my FLAC files on theirs server and I am still constantly getting server errors. The software is updated pretty consistently but I don't see anything changing, nor is it helping my situation. I waited long enough for this company to fix the problems but gave up and now I would like my money back.
Like
Version 2.7.6
Lvdoc
14 March 2016
Several times, I've been unable to delete certain files because I get a message saying that "VOX Agent" is using it. I found VOX Agent in Activity Monitor, yet I can't even force quit it. I don't trust this program.
Like (4)
Version 2.7.4
1 answer(s)
zo219
zo219
16 January 2017
Look in your User library in Launch Agents, or main Library in same or Launch Demons.
Like
dwp-1
15 February 2016
I tried Vox for the ability to play HQ FLAC files on Mac & iPhone. I jumped right into and regret my decision. I wish i took some time to learn how it works, I find it very cumbersome and difficult to figure out what is being stored on the Loop server. I get constant connection errors from the loop server. The instructions suck, the latest update put Little Snitch into a loop that finally caused forced reboot. I wanted to like this but I am having difficulties. I purchased radio on iPhone but apparently that doesn't carry over the Mac version because it claims I need to purchase it again. I don't mind paying but I've had such a headache with this app that I don't want to give them another dollar and then find they closed down 3 months from now. I did not leave a review as not to reflect it's ratings. Maybe other people are having better luck than me. Disappointed!
Like (1)
Version 2.7.3
Scion777
14 February 2016
Won't run without connecting to the internet? Move to trash - secure delete. No thanks.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.3
Dylan-Mc
08 January 2016
Sometimes I want to play a folder of MP3's without adding them to my iTunes Library. Vox does this like a champ. Plus, it works great for playing high bitrate FLACs - much better and easier to use than, say, MediaCenter. Better yet it's free, so yay!
Like
Version 2.6.6
Aargl
03 December 2015
Note that v 2.6.6 is very sensitive to others apps activity, losing sound from time to time. I've reverted to 2.6.5.
Like
Version 2.6.6
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
04 December 2015
I've just re-tried v 2.6.5, 2.6.4 and even 2.5.4 which I still had around, and it has the same problem if I launch a very demanding app while playing.
v 2.6.6 is very worse on that aspect.
I must confess I haven't noticed this before but I'm not heavily using Vox since a few months ago... :-/
For the sake of science, I've tried old Vox 0.3b2 in the same situation and no problem!
So, one point for the nostalgics out there... ;-)
Like
Aargl
Aargl
15 January 2016
Workaround: in the prefs, Audio/Advanced, set Buffer to 5000ms, check "Try to load, etc."
Until now this setting resisted to 4 heavy apps launched together, with no stuttering. :-)
Like
Guass
28 October 2015
New version crashes on startup... back to version 2.6.1! :-( In general, despite the bad comments, I like very much this application. 3 stars for now due to the crash of the new version, otherwise surely a 4 stars application.
Like
Version 2.6.2
oladavidgomez
27 October 2015
Plays lossless, nothing much else.
Like
Version 2.6.2
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
07 November 2015
I respectfully disagree. How many free players let you use AU plugins and play bit perfect quality? How many provide system-wide hot keys? One usually has to pay for these in a music player.
Like (1)
VRH
15 October 2015
Adding some very nice polish. Solid features.
Like
Version 2.6.1
Lvdoc
27 September 2015
I don't have the history (or bad history, I suppose) that others appear to have with this program, so I can't speak to those complaints. I can say that I've tried pretty much every single audio player or iTunes enhancer out there, and I prefer VOX primarily because I think it has some of the cleanest, clearest sound of any of them. Any of that is highly subjective, I realize. But I did read that the current rendition of VOX is bit perfect, and I think the sound is richer and sharper than other players; at the least, it's competitive. I also like that it has system-wide hotkeys. Of the various bit perfect players out there, only Swinsian appears to offer this feature. (Unless you use Bit Perfect, Amarra, or Audirvana +, which use the iTunes interface. ) Some players, such as Decibel or Fidelia, do not offer this feature. My main complaints are that I don't like the way VOX handles playlists. I can't find a way to get it to show the actual playlists I have created in iTunes. It seems to only show me imported albums; but I have many other playlists with stuff I've created over many years. I can create and save playlists of my own in VOX, but that's annoying; and I don't seem to be able to re-arrange them. If I create "Playlist 1 and 2" and then add "Playlist 3," but decide I want "Playlist 3" in between the other 2, that's not going to happen. What I eventually did was export my individual playlists from iTunes and then set my Mac to use VOX as the primary player for m3u files. I use Butler to reveal a popup menu of these files and select one from the list; VOX then automatically plays it. I'd also like a "mini window" feature. Yes, VOX already does have what one could consider to be that, but I have limited vision and have to have my screen set at 1280 X 800. That doesn't leave me a lot of screen real estate to play with. Even iTunes lets me make a rather tiny mini player if I need it, and I'd like to see VOX have a more adjustable player as well. Overall, though, for free, jeez, this is at least worth checking out.
Like
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
04 December 2015
Hi!
About m3u lists, you surely can build new playlists or arrange existing ones in VLC, then export them.
But I agree with you "Collections" as Vox calls them could be a lot better. :-)
Like
Yoshinatsu
17 September 2015
It's not that bad nowadays. It can do most things the old player could do, except the pitch controls, conversions and such. But it can load AUs instead. The RAM usage is finally OK after many many updates. I'm not using it with an iTunes library though, so I wouldn't know how it performs with that option enabled. And of course, I'm not using the MAS version. These guys definitely do not deserve all that hate, especially for a product which is free. But if you want something even simpler and leaner, go for the Cog fork at https://kode54.net/cog/
Like
Version 2.6
faspillaga
14 September 2015
excellent ¡¡¡¡
Like
Version 2.6