Back to VOX page
VOX free download for Mac

VOX Reviews

19 August 2021

Music player that supports many filetypes.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
halmccabe
halmccabe
Sep 3 2021
3.4.2
0.0
Sep 3 2021
0.0
Version: 3.4.2
AVOID AT ALL COST. Was a premium subscriber, but all it did was crash both my phone and my Macbook Pro. Their customer service response was to essentially try and make me a beta-tester, having me try this, try that.... I don't have time to beta-test your software that I just paid over $50 for. I set it to cancel auto-renew, and it charged me anyway a year later. Emailed them within 2 minutes of the charge for a refund, and they refused, again trying to get me to beta-test this garbage software. I asked 5 times politely to just get a refund, they refused, and kept my money. Do not support these people, they are dishonest and quite obviously don't care that their product does not work. So now they got $100+ out of me but at least paypal finally canceled their autorenew which apparently I was not able to do, so they have their last dime out of me.
lbherring3
lbherring3
May 30 2021
3.4
0.0
May 30 2021
0.0
Version: 3.4
Garbage. No library - no way to control and enjoy even a small collection. I think people that build this stuff do not collect and enjoy music. They develop and sell technology.
Aargl
Aargl
Mar 4 2021
3.3.19
4.0
Mar 4 2021
4.0
Version: 3.3.19
For everyone regretting the simplicity of the old Vox, I've found https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/60399/tiny-player to be a great replacement!
Skooks57
Skooks57
Feb 7 2021
3.3.19
1.0
Feb 7 2021
1.0
Version: 3.3.19
Beware folks before jumping on board with VOX Premium... these people are unscrupulous, to say the least!! I don't remember ever signing up for the Premium and haven't been using it. I haven't even been using the "regular" free VOX. But, I found out about this when I saw that Paddle had taken $49.99 on February 5, 2021 from me thru PayPal. So, I started an investigation, but found out nothing to substantiate this. Then I told Paddle to cancel the subscription and to refund my money, especially the payment that was taken from me by PayPal... but they refused. Then I even tried to cancel this subscription with a link on their email... but, it said "page is unavailable"! BEWARE!!
till-1
till-1
Oct 25 2020
3.3.17
1.0
Oct 25 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3.17
With a heavy heart I just cancelled my VOX Premium subscription with about 400GB of my best Hi-Res music in my account. After being told the same empty promises of providing a method to actually maintain that much music and doing virtually nothing to come through on their promises, I've had it. Since all music just goes into an online storage that has no way of being looked at outside of their VOX Media Player software, you don't know what's actually been uploaded, so far. I never knew whether by uploading one of my folders of music, I might be sending CD-quality versions of music I already uploaded as Hi-Res versions, always leaving me reluctant to do anything with my music. It just deterred me from grooming my online collection of Hi_res music. Well, their loss...hope they actually allow their users the control which someone who pays good money to listen to their lossless and hi-res would surely demand...otherwise, I'd just be using my infinite and free mp3 storage providers. Get it together, team VOX...don't muck up the good thing you almost have!!
nedrdon2
nedrdon2
Oct 4 2020
3.3.17
0.0
Oct 4 2020
0.0
Version: 3.3.17
Awful workflow and if you have a PC, you're out of luck- even though their website sucks you in with a Beta windows version - that you find out doesn't work after you've paid for a non-refundable subscription. Bad business!!
antonyjscott
antonyjscott
Sep 15 2020
3.3.17
5.0
Sep 15 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.17
Great product, I have all my music files uploaded in a lossless format and can now thanks to huge amounts of A data allowance monthly listen to them whenever, wherever.
DCTL
DCTL
Jul 26 2020
3.3.17
1.0
Jul 26 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3.17
Boooo! Awful workflow and if you have a PC, you're out of luck- even though their website sucks you in with a Beta windows version - that you find out doesn't work after you've paid for a non-refundable subscription. Bad business!!
fotoroberto
fotoroberto
Jun 6 2020
3.3.17
1.0
Jun 6 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3.17
it became garbage long time ago, not worth a penny!
paulmoon1216
paulmoon1216
Mar 30 2020
3.3.17
1.0
Mar 30 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3.17
Subscription-based companies will one day join the 21st century and TURN OFF the auto-renew feature. Just got billed $90 for a renewal I didn't keep up with, 2-years going. They refused to refund, under no circumstances. I liked the product I had for years, but this kind of customer service is just an indication of "sneaky" policies IMO.
UNlimn
UNlimn
Feb 5 2020
3.3.17
5.0
Feb 5 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.17
All my favorite stations are working fine after the last update. I got all my iTunes issues sorted out by the Support staff. The app is great!
sneal1968
sneal1968
Oct 31 2019
3.3.13
2.0
Oct 31 2019
2.0
Version: 3.3.13
Uses iTunes library. Does not (yet) support OS Catalina. Radio function does not play on iphone/pad/MacBook. Support staff responses show no understanding of issue. It does import iTunes playlists. It does play music. Do not recommend premium vox.
zaza2
zaza2
Sep 15 2019
3.3.12
1.0
Sep 15 2019
1.0
Version: 3.3.12
An absolute garbage. And I thought I was the only person suffering with this. The lagging, the crashes resulting from tasks as simple as Drag and Drop, the torpid, indolent and sluggish response, accompanied by a HUGE consumption of RAM. This app went from my absolute favorite to a complete rubbish. What a shame.
Aargl
Aargl
Sep 13 2019
3.3.12
4.0
Sep 13 2019
4.0
Version: 3.3.12
I think many people wanting a very simple player will be happy with TINY PLAYER. ;-) — old COG is still working too and 64 bits — which is not the case of old VOX (0.2.8 and variants). I still have VOX 2.8.26 (cleaned up from useless background stuff ;-) ) occasionally running. It has one advantage over many others: it plays the Opus format.
Akrobat
Akrobat
Aug 12 2019
3.3.10
0.5
Aug 12 2019
0.5
Version: 3.3.10
A damned shame. I remember when it appeared years ago. Such a good, simple player unlike the bloated but necessary iTunes. Now you have to SIGN IN to play music? I deleted from my system....next.
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
Jul 13 2019
3.3.10
0.5
Jul 13 2019
0.5
Version: 3.3.10
Sorry -- big, bloated, subscription -- no way.
sqeeezy
sqeeezy
Jun 3 2019
3.3.9
1.0
Jun 3 2019
1.0
Version: 3.3.9
still May 2019 using Vox 0.2.8 beta 2, although Mojave 10.14.6 Beta (18G29g) doesn't like it. News is iTunes.app is to be chopped up: about time, give me a competent music player based on Audion3 or good ol' Vox,please.
ben-marko
ben-marko
May 30 2019
3.3.9
0.5
May 30 2019
0.5
Version: 3.3.9
Same here. Uninstalled. Won't link to my iTunes music library. And it's (yet another) subscription-based app? Bye.
ronald-1**
ronald-1**
Apr 9 2019
3.3.8
1.0
Apr 9 2019
1.0
Version: 3.3.8
Pay pay pay app subscription. No thanks.
jtnycny
jtnycny
Jan 16 2019
3.3.7
1.0
Jan 16 2019
1.0
Version: 3.3.7
Scamware does not work as promised. Doesn't work with Sonos or music stored in different locations. AVOID like the plaque, impossible to get refund, greedy developers won't help with tech support.
Ozai
Ozai
Jun 25 2018
3.2.1
1.0
Jun 25 2018
1.0
Version: 3.2.1
A subscription based music player? Is that a joke? I just wanted to change my equalizer settings! Apparently only PREMIUM users can. To unlock this most basic feature you need to pay them $4.99 monthly. Uninstalled.
Mercyguy
Mercyguy
Jun 8 2018
3.2.1
0.5
Jun 8 2018
0.5
Version: 3.2.1
Gonna give credit for what early version made it great, now that it force user to make account to unlock feature. At this point why not just go to paid once model? I would have shelf out a couple of dollar since I've been supporting this App for so long. Now it's just a bloated, ad ridden player. I rather stay at version 2 like everybody else until OS breaks it.
tx517
tx517
May 3 2018
3.2.1
1.5
May 3 2018
1.5
Version: 3.2.1
The app was great until version 3, where a great deal of settings and features now force the user to log-in / pay... A perfect proof that it is highly valuable to keep prior versions of an app...
Spudboy
Spudboy
Feb 22 2018
3.2.1
0.0
Feb 22 2018
0.0
Version: 3.2.1
I use Vox all the time and don't pay anything for it. What is this monthly subscription people talk about?
anonymous-gerbil-5319
anonymous-gerbil-5319
Feb 18 2018
3.2.1
0.5
Feb 18 2018
0.5
Version: 3.2.1
Vox and Coppertino are an insult to any intelligent person, if you want to have a good FLAC player and don't mind paying a reasonable amount for it, try Swinsian. A subsubscription based music player .. ? What a disrespect to your user. I One year tops then Vox has vanished ..
Wunderhorn
Wunderhorn
Feb 18 2018
3.2.1
0.5
Feb 18 2018
0.5
Version: 3.2.1
I think a subscription model like this is a slap in the user's face. Happy to pay for good software, of course, but not like this. One time and perhaps for larger future updates as well. But when I decide to do it, not when a developer thinks I should.
VanRijn63
VanRijn63
Dec 27 2017
3.1
3.0
Dec 27 2017
3.0
Version: 3.1
Close, but no cigar. All I want is a lightweight, easy to use itunes replacement, but can't fine one for love nor money.
xgman
xgman
Dec 26 2017
3.1
0.5
Dec 26 2017
0.5
Version: 3.1
used to be good. no longer.
Intrepidsilence
Intrepidsilence
Nov 27 2017
3.0.1
1.0
Nov 27 2017
1.0
Version: 3.0.1
While VOX is a good app with many unique and wonderful features the change in 3.x to a subscription model was disappointing. However, I fully understand that developers need to support their families as well so I would be totally fine with it if the pricing model were anywhere near reasonable. However, $15/mo, or if you pay for a year almost $190 (with the discount), is flat out absurd.

Coppertino, get a grip. Charging $2/mo would net you thousands upon thousands more subscribers than your current pricing model. Somehow you think you are providing more value per month than my Adobe Creative license or perhaps Netflix including 4 simultaneous streams and UHD content.

The only way this pricing model would make sense would be if Coppertino wants to kill the app and no longer have to support it. And that is just where VOX is heading as it stands today.

Shame on you Coppertino.
unGraphic
unGraphic
Nov 23 2017
3.0.1
2.0
Nov 23 2017
2.0
Version: 3.0.1
I rarely log in to leave reviews, but this one was necessary; In short, Vox has become terribly disappointing. In full, Vox has slowly turned into a bloated mess and cash grab by greedy developers once it was bought out by Coppertino from Alessio Nonni. Version 0.2.8 beta 2 was amazing because it was fast, light on memory and system resources. Coppertino did bring a very pleasing visual aesthetic (credit is given where it's due) but how they managed to make it use so much more resources is questionable. Granted, it was fixed eventually but still is about double of what original Vox used. But now with this (disgusting) tactic to get us to pay to get EQ settings and force us to LOG IN? Why in christ was this implemented? I'd rather make a donation for the app than be bogged with drivel. How have the devs forgotten that the target audience of this app are those of us looking for a SIMPLE music app? I am NOT upgrading past version 2.8.26. My 2 star rating could be much lower however the rest of the application is still amazing, but the major blunder Coppertino has pulled is holding it back from a much better score and user experience for us all. Give me a place where I can make donation to keep Vox the way it should be instead of gouging everyone.
Evgin
Evgin
Nov 16 2017
3.0
2.5
Nov 16 2017
2.5
Version: 3.0
3.0 = Exaggerated.
MHerndz
MHerndz
Nov 16 2017
3.0
0.0
Nov 16 2017
0.0
Version: 3.0
Now whyyyyy in the world would I pay $$ JUST to have an equalizer with only ONE setting I would ever use????? as far as tunes online I could care less, just the player and equalizer is all I ever use… Ain't buyin'…
Pwenzel
Pwenzel
Nov 16 2017
3.0
2.0
Nov 16 2017
2.0
Version: 3.0
Really bumming on the extreme push for subscription services in Vox 3.0. Reverting back to version 2.8.26, which I love and would honestly pay money for as an alternative to iTunes... just not the $100-200 per year requirement for Vox Premium Cloud. The pricing is hidden behind layers of upselling pages, so it's not even clear what you are buying, or how much it costs. Seriously Coppertino, you had really nice player going here. It's the closest thing to Winamp, which people used to pay for back in the good old days! Why push everyone away from using it?
Sandro-Bilbeisi
Sandro-Bilbeisi
Nov 16 2017
3.0
0.5
Nov 16 2017
0.5
Version: 3.0
Sorry Coppertino, but this looks like a downgrade to me ! AudioUnits are no longer available in the free tier ?
dima-parfyonov
dima-parfyonov
Nov 16 2017
3.0
0.0
Nov 16 2017
0.0
Version: 3.0
Old Versions VOX: https://vox.rocks/mac-music-player/old-versions
distreszed
distreszed
Oct 9 2017
2.8.30
1.0
Oct 9 2017
1.0
Version: 2.8.30
any news on High Sierra version? current version constantly crashes on startup after upgrade to 10.13.
mky-1
mky-1
Jul 29 2017
2.8.28
0.5
Jul 29 2017
0.5
Version: 2.8.28
https://vox.rocks/privacy "Information in a log file may include IP address, browser type, Internet service provider, date/time stamps, MAC address, file requested, and other usage information and statistics." Why would I want to share my MAC address with the developers of a music player?
pooyakamel
pooyakamel
May 31 2017
2.8.24
4.5
May 31 2017
4.5
Version: 2.8.24
This is by far the best "mini" music player for macOS. it opens fast and you can use it just for playing music and iTunes for organizing and managing your music. ??
Aargl
Aargl
Mar 16 2017
2.8.22
4.0
Mar 16 2017
4.0
Version: 2.8.22
Funny to see that my **** review explaining how to get rid of those background apps has been deleted: Now the "Most Helpful Review" is a bad one, instead... :-D
They seem to prefer having bad reviews instead of happy users...
I'm still a happy user but I won't explain again how easy it is to prevent Loop and VOX Agent to run in the background, as it probably would be deleted again. ;-)
anonymous-gerbil-5319
anonymous-gerbil-5319
Feb 11 2017
2.8.20
0.5
Feb 11 2017
0.5
Version: 2.8.20
You might want to read this before installing: https://vox.rocks/privacy. And if you still decide to use Vox, use Little Snitch AND Little Flocker to prevent Vox from stealing your privacy, like bookmarks, IP-address, songs you listen to. You don't get nothing for free, the price is usually your privacy. I would love to pay for a program like Vox without my privacy being violated.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Feb 1 2017
2.8.16
1.0
Feb 1 2017
1.0
Version: 2.8.16
Ridiculous application nowadays.
Macmaria
Macmaria
Jan 7 2017
2.8.12
2.5
Jan 7 2017
2.5
Version: 2.8.12
Could be better—alas, it behaves like adware. Feed up I removed it from my Mac.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Oct 9 2016
2.8.8
0.5
Oct 9 2016
0.5
Version: 2.8.8
Does this app still constantly run in the background? That was a moronic decision by the developers — who wants such a single-use app running all the time?
@mitic@
@mitic@
Oct 6 2016
2.8.6
4.0
Oct 6 2016
4.0
Version: 2.8.6
The app is not bad. It allows to organize music inside the player, so you can create some playlists putting the songs in the order you prefer. You know, I don't like the interface, the colors are kind of depressive. But good news is that VOX plays different types of files, sometimes those the other players don't support. That's a plus!
Maxmerlin
Maxmerlin
Jun 28 2016
2.8.1
5.0
Jun 28 2016
5.0
Version: 2.8.1
Great app!! I'm playing all kind of audio files even DSF high resolution one's in a MacBook Pro built in late 2009 with latest OSX and all I can say is that I'm getting perfect sound. Other apps out there that play DSF files are usually a bit expensive. This one is free. Keep up the good work and thank you!!
Cybercat-Hk
Cybercat-Hk
Jun 23 2016
2.8.1
4.5
Jun 23 2016
4.5
Version: 2.8.1
Download here is for 2.7.7, not the "Version 2.8.1: "Huge update..." as listed. (Doesn't MacUpdate check their links before publishing a listing?)
Penguirl
Penguirl
Jun 12 2016
2.7.7
5.0
Jun 12 2016
5.0
Version: 2.7.7
I am quite happy with v 0.2.8 b2.
distreszed
distreszed
Jun 6 2016
2.7.7
1.0
Jun 6 2016
1.0
Version: 2.7.7
it seems developers doesn't have on their minds implementing simple normalize/sound check option. too bad :/
TeddyUrsadorable
TeddyUrsadorable
Apr 14 2016
2.7.7
0.0
Apr 14 2016
0.0
Version: 2.7.7
Odd that the App Store doesn't update Vox.. still no updates with 2.6.5 installed.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Apr 7 2016
2.7.6
0.5
Apr 7 2016
0.5
Version: 2.7.6
I feel like I've been screwed. I paid the $50 bucks for storing my FLAC files on theirs server and I am still constantly getting server errors. The software is updated pretty consistently but I don't see anything changing, nor is it helping my situation. I waited long enough for this company to fix the problems but gave up and now I would like my money back.