Back to Skim page
Skim free download for Mac

Skim Reviews

1.5.6
14 January 2020

PDF reader and note-taker for scientific papers.

Aargl
09 June 2019

Most helpful

v1.5+ crashes when closing a document's window.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1

Read 106 Skim User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
09 June 2019
v1.5+ crashes when closing a document's window.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
19 June 2019
Fixed in 1.5.2. :-)
Like
Aljuk
04 June 2019
As of version 1.5 it appears that Skim can no longer print documents.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.41
ami.go
15 November 2018
Version 1.4.37 crashes on start. No Problem with Version 1.4.36.
Like
Version 1.4.37
Trance
11 February 2018
The last couple of versions set off the "distnoted" process to use all my cpu when I open a pdf file.
Like
Version 1.4.32
Aargl
10 February 2018
I've been using Skim as my default pdf viewer for years but I'm finding a few lacks and bugs now: - it doesn't support 256 bits password protection (Acrobat X and up) - some pdf have some parts of them not displayed at all! (this bug is common with my 10.9.5 Apple Preview, while Acrobat X reads them correctly — they might be malformed pdfs, but here's a superiority of Acrobat, anyway, because you never can be sure what you've been sent is malformed or not...)
Like
Version 1.4.32
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
25 November 2018
I add that for really complex PDFs, Acrobat Reader 11 handles them a lot more easily, although being 32 bits: I've got a few heavy city maps (one of 50 mb!) that Skim sweats a lot on, with so much rolling beach ball, while Reader is ok...
But these are extreme cases. I still rely on Skim for all my daily pdf readings! :-)
Like (1)
Iliketrash
09 November 2017
This app contains bugs which never get fixed. For example, there is apparently an error where the size of the display part of the main window is miscalculated so that on long documents a white band appears at the top and grows shorter as you scroll through the document. The size of the white band is proportional to the length of the document. On very long documents (1000 or more pages, I suppose), the entire display area of the window is blank. When I complained on the users' list, the developer suggested that I upgrade my operating system. I did, but the problem remains. Another example of a long-standing bug is that the PDF -> Use Current View Settings as Default has never worked. For example, it makes the left-hand thumbnail pane whatever size it wants. A recent bug is that that attempts to update result in an error. The developer is actually pretty hostile when faced with bug reports and has responded to me personally with an arrogant attitude that basically denies there is a problem Other than that, great piece of software
Like (1)
Version 1.4.30
1 answer(s)
Billearl
Billearl
25 February 2019
"The developer is actually pretty hostile when faced with bug reports and has responded to me personally with an arrogant attitude that basically denies there is a problem"

Same experience here a few years ago, which prompted me to delete Skim, since there was no intention to acknowledge, let alone fix the bug.
Like
Orlando-a
16 January 2017
Excellent free app to manage PDF files on a Mac. Skim offers a range of nice tools for making annotations with different colors and various types. Never used PDF files with such pleasure.
Like (9)
Version 1.4.25
Jpwgibson
16 November 2016
Not sure if the current version is responsible, but freehand and line in Note Tools are broken again. These functions seem to come and go, and I find myself crossing my fingers whenever a new version appears. In short, freehand lines disappear once one lifts one's finger off the trackpad/mouse, and the line function gives one a resize or grab cursor - and doesn't actually draw a line.
Like
Version 1.4.24
3 answer(s)
lawrencejacobs
lawrencejacobs
28 November 2016
I have had the same problem for maybe 3 weeks.. do you have any idea how to make this work again.. it was a valuable tool for me
Like
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
28 November 2016
lawrencejacobs: I've noticed that the freehand and line tools do in fact work - but with a catch. After setting your mark or line, you have to scroll up or down to the page above or below, then back to the page that you have marked. After doing this, whatever you've drawn should be visible.
Like
lawrencejacobs
lawrencejacobs
28 November 2016
Hey thanks for the reply...and the kind of fix... Skim use to be a great tool for me... I use it to draw corrections on storyboards ... and moving the page up and down is just not a good way for me to draw.. I need to see what I'm drawing!... I just downloaded "Iskysoft PDF Editor"... and it works like SKIM use to work.. I think it was that last MAC update that screwed up SKIM... the beginning of November. Hahaha... guess what .. the Iskysoft PDG Editor puts a big watermark all over each page unless you pay for an upgrade.. BAH!!!


Like
Pfackelmann
01 October 2016
1.4.21 is out. I can't select areas anymore (Sierra?) Any hints? Peter
Like
Version 1.4.21
ronn-2
22 September 2016
This is still my replacement for Adobe's product and works with only a few minor bugs.
Like
Version 1.4.21
cubanpete
24 June 2016
Great app! The best. Love it. Thank you very much.
Gatekeeper will block this as unidentified developer so first select "Allow apps downloaded from anywhere" in the Mac's "Security & Privacy" tab of the System Preferences.
And by the way - no MacUpdate installer present in the download. Checked by Sophos.
Like
Version 1.4.20
OhEssex
22 November 2015
Beware everybody - clicking on MacUpdate download link yields a dmg for the MacUpdate Installer. They're doing this awful, sleazy thing more and more lately.
Like (8)
Version 1.4.15
4 answer(s)
Retrobuff
Retrobuff
12 December 2015
Get your downloads here > http://skim-app.sourceforge.net
Like (1)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
08 January 2016
I think you are overblowing it and are just plain wrong.

MacUpdate is doing nothing awful or sleazy. Instead they are making it convenient to update your software.

Look closely.
There are TWO buttons for downloading:
1) INSTALL NOW W/MACUPDATE DESKTOP.
2) DOWNLOAD - which directly downloads the app from the source.

MacUpdate Desktop is MacUpdate's own app for keeping track of and mass updating your software. It is FANTASTIC for easily updating user apps all at one time. You don't have to tediously search for updates for each app. And you have the option of updating or NOT updating each app.

I have over 800 apps. MacUpdate Desktop allows me to easily know which apps have updates available. And it can update many of them for you ALL AT ONCE. So it is well worth it and convenient to use.


Like (3)
OhEssex
OhEssex
08 January 2016
What everybody is complaining about is that for very many apps MacUpdate is now using BOTH of the buttons you're referring to for providing their MacUpdate Desktop. That being said, I just tried the download button and it does indeed download the app only. This is a change from when the original post was created. Maybe MacUpdate are finally doing something about all the complaints and reverting to how things used to be (which is a good thing).
Like (2)
Scrivens
Scrivens
08 January 2016
Just downloaded it and it is back to the installer version. It's the same with most of the recent updates for common applications and looks like that's the end of Macupdate for me after all these years. I'll go direct to the company sites for the updates as I am not interested in having software wrapped in 3rd party installers. I don't care why Macupdate does it, and it's their site and their choice, but it's not for me.
Like (1)
Jpwgibson
03 November 2015
Since version 1.4.14 freehand notes no longer work (on El Capitan): they appear while being drawn, but disappear once the mouse or trackpad is released.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.15
1 answer(s)
mnott
mnott
28 October 2016
Did you ever resolve that problem? Appears now also with simple highlight.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
18 August 2015
New version great as ever. Would like a trackpad signature feature like in Apple's Preview though. Or did I miss it?
Like
Version 1.4.12
Pwenzel
17 June 2015
Skim is presently hosted on Sourceforge, which has recently seen many applications compromised by malware. Proceed with caution if downloading this application from sourceforge.net. Hopefully Skim's developers can move it to a safe hosting provider soon. Malware on Sourceforge is NOT the fault of Skim's developers, so please consider this an advisory and not a negative comment about the application.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.12
Hkim
17 June 2015
This is still one of the most indespensible tools for working with PDF files that is free. This software has almost never let me down. The only improvement I could mention would be to have choices for font selection, for notes that are placed inside PDF files.
Like
Version 1.4.12
timmerk
26 May 2015
One of my favorite Mac apps! Favorite feature is that you can add highlights and notes without permanently disfiguring the PDF, as Preview.app would do.
Like
Version 1.4.11
MichaelHaeusler
16 May 2015
Hands-down the best PDF reader for Macintosh. Fast search, handles large scanned PDFs well, customizable, notational functions etc.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.11
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
15 June 2015
I’ve not found any that are better,
but frankly nobody has a fabulous pdf editor for the desktop.

The best thing: no appstore to get it!
Like (1)
cubanpete
29 April 2015
Great software. Beautifully designed and a joy to use. I'm so glad I found it. Thank you so much!
Like
Version 1.4.11
Funjoy
18 December 2014
I've been using this app for years. Mostly bulletproof, handles gigantic files easily.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.10
SMS1
20 November 2014
The release notes for 1.4.10 notwithstanding, the functionality of the Page-down and Page-up keys in Yosemite remains decidedly flaky -— sometimes they work, sometimes they work backwards and sometimes they don’t work at all. The only work-around I’ve found is to use Keyboard Maestro macros to redfine these keys in Skim -— calling the “Go Previous” or “Go Next” menu items.
Like
Version 1.4.10
1 answer(s)
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
31 May 2015
You can re-define the keys using OS X's built-in features. Go to System Preferences, then Keyboard, then Shortcuts. Select "App Shortcuts" at the bottom on the left. Click the + button and select "Skim". Then enter the EXACT title of the menu item, in this case "Next" and "Previous" (without quotes, of course) and use the shortcut of your choosing. I believe this will always require using a modifier key (CTRL, OPT. CMD, SHIFT). This works great on all native Mac apps.
Like
Mt3
19 May 2014
Greatest pdf annotation software in the world.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.8
Schmye-Bubbula
17 May 2014
A couple of years ago I begged the Skim developer to add a menu item & command key to toggle between fit-page-height-to-window & fit-page-width-to-window, something this presbyope need umpteen times a day. But of course, like most programmers, he put his convenience ahead of usability, functionality & user-friendliness and insisted that he "didn't want to add too many command keys that make an app confusing to the user." So that left us with the user-hostile machinations of having to make sure PDF > Automatically Resize was enabled, then switch between PDF > PDF Display > Single Page & Single Page Continuous. Grrrr!! So I wrote this AppleScript to do it, which can be assigned a command key to execute it in Keyboard Maestro, QuicKeys, FastScripts, etc. (The version of Keyboard Maestro that will run on Snow Leopard doesn't have the ability to check for menus with checkmarks.) For this AppleScript to work, you have to check the checkbox for "Enable access for assistive devices in System Preference > Universal Access. tell application "System Events" tell process "Skim" tell menu bar 1 tell menu 1 of menu bar item "PDF" tell menu item "Automatically Resize" set menuChecked to value of attribute "AXMenuItemMarkChar" try if menuChecked = "✓" then set menuChecked to true end if on error set menuChecked to false end try end tell if menuChecked = false then pick menu item "Automatically Resize" tell menu 1 of menu item "PDF Display" tell menu item "Single Page" set menuChecked to value of attribute "AXMenuItemMarkChar" try if menuChecked = "✓" then set menuChecked to true end if on error set menuChecked to false end try end tell if menuChecked = true then pick menu item "Single Page Continuous" else pick menu item "Single Page" end if end tell end tell end tell end tell end tell
Like (1)
Version 1.4.8
2 answer(s)
Schmye-Bubbula
Schmye-Bubbula
17 May 2014
Oh drat, it won't let me edit! Grammar edit: "...something this presbyope needs umpteen..." And I forgot to mention that QuicKeys seems to have major problems selecting menus in Snow Leopard, at least in mine (even with Unsanity APE disabled).
Like
Schmye-Bubbula
Schmye-Bubbula
17 May 2014
Another grammar edit — unmatched quotation marks: "...you have to check the checkbox for 'Enable access for assistive devices' in System Preference > Universal Access."
Like
ososX
09 March 2014
Is there a way to "add a page" to a pdf document, or to "move pages" between two pdf documents with Skim ? Tnx
Like
Version 1.4.8
Surfspirit
14 November 2013
Biggest advantage, it doesn't destroy OCR data from Clear Scan PDF Documents, biggest disadvantage it does not save comments and annotation to the PDF file making it very limited. On the other hand OS X Preview saves the annotations to the PDF but destroys the Clear Scan OCR Data, so the only good choice is the heavy bloated Adobe Acrobat Pro, that to be fair is getting lighter.
Like
Version 1.4.6
2 answer(s)
Teoric
Teoric
03 December 2013
Do you mean that embedding notes is not the default? Otherwise for me, saving with notes embedded works well (File → Export → check with embedded notes). http://skim-app.sourceforge.net/manual/SkimHelp_47.html
Like
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
03 December 2013
Yes, but still is not compatible with Adobe PDF ClearScan, saving any comment on a ClearScan pdf file makes the OCR corrupted.
Like
Alex8602
31 October 2013
Neat freeware with important features that Preview lacks – e.g. support for embedded fonts. This feature is essential for handling your Adobe ClearScan documents properly, which Skim perfectly does (Preview on the other hand ruins your documents by silently deleting these embedded fonts!)
Like (1)
Version 1.4.6
Mrtomato
27 October 2013
I am still working out how to best use pdf annotation software, so I readily admit that some problems that I have with all of the applications I've tried may not be problems at all. Problems such as writing notes - the equivalent of writing in the margins on a hard copy. Skim, PDFpenPro etc. all have these anchored notes that are nothing short of inconvenient. They're more like Post-its/stickies and just like those big yellow eyesores, they get in the way of the text. You can sort of hide them, but the little anchor is still in the way. The ideal for me would be something like the reviewing function in Word, but as a separate layer so I don't accidentally edit, delete, or simply select a note when I'm working from the document. Also, a nice looking font and layout preset for notes would be welcome. But Skim specifically. Overall, it's a great little program. I learned about it on an academic blog in a post about the writer's workflow. On the whole, I'd agree that it fits an academic workflow quite well. My only major gripe is that it does not yet, years after Lion, have fullscreen mode. This was actually not too bad on 10.7 and 10.8, but now Apple has finally fixed the multi-monitor bug, it's time Skim has fullscreen mode. Why is fullscreen mode so important? Partly because of the slightly illogical way Apple has set up Spaces. If, say, you have several documents open in Skim in its current full screen setting (with each document open on a different Space), and then open another application, that application may open on top of an open skim document. Not the end of the world, but rather annoying. My other little gripe is that Skim will not restore windows when it is reopened. There is an option to "Reopen last open files at startup" but this seems to do absolutely nothing. Still, this is free software and it is, in my opinion, much better than PDFpenPro. Hats off to the developer for the work put into this application. A lot of free software is kind of like a generic drug - almost as good as the real thing. Skim, however, is better than the paid applications available.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.6
Sampler
17 April 2013
OS X 10.7.5 Major issues with last few updates. Creating a selection just creates a dark overlay, making the text beneath nearly unreadable. Clicking on URL, Mail, or page links doesn't work any more. I've uninstalled Skim reverted to Adobe Reader and PDFPen Pro; both have decent annotation capabilities. I've had to rely on AR in any case for very large, complicated documents that choke Skim (e.g. Stata documentation, 100's or 1,000's of linked documents in a single TOC. Writing here because the bug reporting system for SourceForge is Byzantine. I've had to rely on AR in any case for very large, complicated documents, e.g. Stata documentation, > 100 linked documents in a single TOC.
Like
Version 1.4.2
3 answer(s)
taja
taja
19 April 2013
Would be interested to hear if you're still having problems with the latest build.
Like
Sampler
Sampler
19 April 2013
Working fine now. Thanks!
Like (4)
Dryeburn
Dryeburn
20 April 2013
Now that it's working for you, does the Help menu work? If I try to use it I get an error message "The operation couldn't be completed. (HVURLHandlerErrorDomain error 1002.)" For 1.4.2, inside Skim.app/Contents/Resources/Skim.help/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/ there are 61 items, at least 56 of which are involved in Skim Help. For 1.4.3, only the other 5 are there. I transplanted the 56 missing items from 1.4.2 to 1.4.3 and now Skim Help works without that error message, but I fear that there ought to be differences in Skim Help for 1.4.3 from 1.4.2.
Like
Aargl
20 March 2013
I've just found a nice little trick! Years ago, on Tiger I found that when you renamed Skim as Preview (after renaming the original Preview.app into something else), you could use the "preview" button in the pdf menu (when you print a document) and it was sent to Skim. Unfortunately, this nice trick wasn't working anymore in 10.5. By chance, today, I discovered that you can modifiy that menu with the + sign (which I knew) and add directly an app! (I thought you needed a service or something...) I haven't found a way to change the name and order of those items, so "Skim" appears at the bottom, but it works fine ! ;-)
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
4 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
20 March 2013
Well, I've just checked in 10.6.8, and my old trick is working again! (it was probably an oversight of mine: you have to do the renames in the Root user!!!) So rename Preview in OldPreview then Skim in Preview, and now when you press the Preview button in the Print window, your document's printing is sent to Skim, yeah! :-D
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
20 March 2013
I wasn't crazy! Just checked in my old PPC 10.5 and that trick was not working: you must re-select Skim as you default pdf viewer. ;-)
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
20 March 2013
.. I have to correct myself again: under 10.5 the trick doesn't work if you use the localized name ('Aperçu' in french ;-) — or even something close to it — while no pb with 10.6!
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
30 September 2013
Thanks for your advice, but it's been months now that I use my little trick without any problem. ;-) I'll change my habits if it doesn't work when I switch to a more recent version of the OS. (i.e. if 10.9 will be faster than 10.6.8 on my machine ;-)
Like
outer
07 February 2013
Anyone else see Little Snitch getting upset from time-2-time after running the Help system in Skim 1.4.2?
Like
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Sun Rocket
Sun Rocket
11 April 2013
Yes, helpd tries to connect what seems like every 30 minutes to sourceforge. I don't know how to disable this. I did not even launch Skim after updating to 1.4.2, so this appears to have started on its own. For the moment, I've enabled "always allow" in Little Snitch, which isn't an elegant solution to say the least, but at least it is less annoying.
Like
Aargl
04 February 2013
Way beyond the ridiculous OSX Preview! :-) Indispensable!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
Peter-Van-Den-Einde
14 January 2013
Fantastic and essential free PDF annotator app!!
Like (1)
Version 1.4
THEE:LEE
10 September 2012
Great PDF annotator and it's free, I can't help but feel the interface is too busy for my liking. But that only knocks off half a star as it's still brilliant.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.22
1 answer(s)
taja
taja
18 November 2012
you could remove most of the toolbar icons and use icons without text. Use keyboard shortcuts or, if you use a trackpad, gestures (mapped via Bettertouchtool) to access the annotation functions. Makes it a lot less cluttered.
Like (5)
Cgc
14 April 2012
Great pdf reader but doesn't save filled pdf forms. Preview does but not Skim. Other than that omission, Skim is perfect.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.20
2 answer(s)
Luba
Luba
17 April 2012
Sorry to disagree with you here. I believe you are wrong. If you choose "export" instead of "save", and select "include notes" (or however that option is named / I'm using a different language) then skim should save filled in forms (and you can open them in any pdf viewer). However, I would agree with you that it's quite complicated within the application to decide wheter you want / need to "save", "save as" or "export".
Like (9)
Cgc
Cgc
29 July 2012
@Luba: We're not disagreeing, I was wrong. Didn't know I had to export to save the notes. Thanks for the tip.
Like (7)
Antoniez
01 April 2012
Great!!! Much better than Preview as a PDF viewer, specially in searching. Thanks!!!
Like (3)
Version 1.3.20
mugsuk
07 March 2012
Great app. 1 MAJOR problem - the annotations that are made are not viewable in other PDF viewers. This is a disaster really, as files you have marked cannot be shared, and of bigger concern is that if you leave the mac platform, or end up using another pdf viewer, all your work is wasted. The application "preview" (version 5.5) shipped with OS does not have this problem, and has pretty much all the functionality of Skim. This is a lovely app to use, but for me the above mentioned problem makes it crazy to use when we have preview 5.5 available.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.19
3 answer(s)
Luba
Luba
12 March 2012
After having added annotations do not "save" the file but choose "save as" and then select "packet". This should include your annotations for other PDF viewers.
Like (6)
anonymous-hummingbird-1667
anonymous-hummingbird-1667
07 May 2012
This is actually a feature of Skim. It does not store comments directly in the PDF, but rather in the file system metadata (which HFS+ supports). This is good when you want to make notes but also want a copy of the original document (I prefer this with scientific papers in my reference library). If you want to export a PDF with notes, then go File -> Export -> and select "PDF with embedded notes".
Like (3)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
31 August 2012
Drieper: The problem with this is that the saved notes are not editable—they are just fixed graphics like the rest of the PDF. Preview.app and Adobe Reader both save the document with editable notes and do not require saving in another format or Save As... or Export... . This is one of my main gripes about Skim.
Like (1)
Djq
19 February 2012
I'm finishing up my dissertation and Skim has been essential!!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.19
Aargl
10 February 2012
HUUUUUGE problem with version 1.3.19 here on PPC 10.5.8! Some of my pdfs are not printing! (while it's ok with version 1.3.18!) I've only tested some, it appears that they have skim notes or tables or have been edited somehow, I'm not sure of the reason — while one that contains only a scan of an image prints ok.
Like
Version 1.3.19
THEE:LEE
03 February 2012
Awesome app especially for free, you should charge for it on the MAS as other people have ripped it and put it on.. How is it fair that people are making money from the work you have done, when your not!
Like (2)
Version 1.3.19
Garlicbreath
20 January 2012
In the app store there's something called "PDF Reader" with the exact same icon as Skim, and nearly identical description. Did someone rip off this open source project?
Like (2)
Version 1.3.19
3 answer(s)
Hofman
Hofman
21 January 2012
Yes, that is a direct rip off of Skim, just with the name changed and the copyright notices removed. It's also based on an older version of Skim. So don't pay money for an app that does less.
Like (6)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
01 April 2012
I wish I had looked carefully here first before plunking down money to a shyster. In fact, the application in the app store has its OWN copyrighting mark. Is that legal?
Like
Hofman
Hofman
03 June 2012
Nope, that's not legal. Unfortunately, copyright laws are for big companies to harass others, they have nothing to do with protecting author rights.
Like
taja
16 January 2012
Best PDF reader and annotator for students and academics in all fields, no competition. Fast, lean, flexible and applescriptable. If you use its annotation features with keyboard shortcuts and multi-touch gestures (BetterTouchTool), this becomes an incredible aid to productivity. The main limitations on it are mainly imposed by Apple's PDFKit, which causes problems for page numbering and saving Adobe Clearscanned OCR documents (which are much smaller and sharper than ordinary OCR, but PDFkit destroys that layer when it saves a PDF using it). It would be great if it could perform some table of contents editing and page manipulation functions as well (like Preview, PDF Clerk Pro and the new PDF Nomad). But its also understandable that the devs want to keep Skim focused and avoid feature-bloat.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.19
sea-hare
22 November 2011
Great!!! Especially for AUCTeX/LaTeX with Aquamacs! I was getting really jealous of sumatra pdf on windows, and skim is exactly the light non-locking viewer that does SyncTex right! I hope the name gets out there, because it was not the google obvious choice it should have been. PS whats up with preview in lion? I can only imagine the developers have never actually used the application, it's infuriating! PPS See http://mactex-wiki.tug.org/wiki/index.php/SyncTeX for minor needed configuration for Aquamacs to play with Skim
Like (3)
Version 1.3.18
Uniquepito
10 October 2011
Great APP! Perfect and effective replacement for acrobat reader and preview with many improvements to preview.
Like
Version 1.3.18
Anon-Bud
10 October 2011
Great. Has become my replacement for Acrobat/Acrobat Reader. My only complaint [and the reason for the 4.5 stars rather than 5 stars] is that it does not copy text as well as the Adobe products do: it does not save formatting. Otherwise, as I first stated: Great!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.18
Kees-De-W
07 October 2011
It would be wonderful if the developer could add image support, so Skim could be a true replacement for Preview in Lion. I find the new autosaving of scans and photos etc. in Lion's Preview incredibly annoying and time consuming. If you are considering support for these features, please make them optional!
Like
Version 1.3.17
Unique-Ish
25 September 2011
First of all, Skim is a great application and, as far as I know, the only real workaround for the ClearScan bug in OSX (owing to the native PDFKit only supporting PDF version 1.5) that turns any searchable text in ClearScan PDFs into commas and periods. For that reason, it is invaluable to me, as ClearScan allows me to shrink crappy pdf scans from my professors into a much more manageable size, and improves readability immensely, especially when zoomed in. I love this program. However, its built in auto-restore feature has never really cut it for me. At least for me, it only works when I launch skim directly, and not when I launch it from opening a pdf file. What is the rationale for this behavior? It's a huge pain to try to find every file I had open before, especially when doing research, or in the event of the OCCASIONAL crash. Disabling the Lion auto-restore feature is a step backward because of this. I understand some people prefer the Skim version of this feature, but is there any way future updates can allow us to choose between the 10.7 and the Skim approach? What is the advantage of keeping the built-in function?
Like
Version 1.3.17
1 answer(s)
taja
taja
27 September 2011
Could I ask what the workaround for the ClearScan bug in Skim is? As you say, I've found that making any changes (e.g. annotations) to a ClearScanned PDF in Preview turns the text layer into gibberish. So to avoid that, but still annotate, do you have to save ClearScanned PDFs using Skim's proprietary format rather than embedding the annotations in the PDF?
Like (1)
Mikael-B
16 September 2011
I read a lot of pdf books on programming and this is the app I use 96% of the time. I'm very thankful it's available and free at that. That it is compatible with PowerPC and works on OS X 10.5. It's an invaluable piece of software for me as it's very easy to read and move around, annotate content (I read Mannings MEAP books so I make notes to remember suggestions I give to the authors), to make bookmarks and importantly Skim searches for the whole string on default. The only thing I could wish for with searches is "word A NEAR Word B" or similar. Skim is generally a very stable application, but it has one serious bug, limited to my knowledge and if I remember correctly to PowerPC machines (or if it was OS X 19´0.5 as well). Skim will fail intermittently to display the very content of pages for some titles. This varies with title and other factors but with no clear pattern. The only solution I've found is to try and open the title in a previous version of Skim. I keep all versions since 1.3.8 in my Applications folder, just in case. It's common I have to use one version for every 2 titles. A very small number of titles will not display at all. This includes some pdf's — but not all — that I make myself with OS X. If you are in my situation, would like to use Skim even as you encounter this display bug you can find the previous versions here, http://sourceforge.net/projects/skim-app/files/Skim/
Like (1)
Version 1.3.17
psyperi
15 August 2011
Speaking from a Snow Leopard perspective, I found Skim to be similar to the current Preview in features but with a few quirks that I disliked. I read/annotate dozens of PDFs per day for my research, so I was curious to try this. Sadly, I spend half my day in front of a PC, so the lack of compatibility with other PDF reading programs (without engraving annotations to be essentially uneditable) was frustrating. Furthermore, I found the highlighting feature annoying in that it put a box around highlighted text (making reading/skimming less fluid) and not automatically combining additions to a highlight (e.g., if I highlighted an extra word, the word would be registered as a separate highlight). In all, it's a solid (and free!) program, but didn't quite meet my needs. I'll be on the lookout for something better, but for now will stick to Preview.
Like
Version 1.3.17
1 answer(s)
Hofman
Hofman
15 August 2011
Skim does not put a box around highlighted text, it draws exactly the same as in Preview (it's drawn by PDFKit which is the basis both of Preview and Skim). You must be using the wrong note type. And also Preview makes separate highlights. Quite to the contrary, it is very easy to join highlights to a single annotation in Skim, something that Preview cannot do. As for not saving notes in a way compatible with other (PC) programs, this is true, but also gives some big advantages, for instance you still can get the PDF without the notes. Moreover, you can still put the notes in the PDF in a way compatible with PC by exporting with embedded notes.
Like
Big-Mac-XXL
31 July 2011
Since Preview in Lion becomes a useless piece of nonsense (not anymore possible to save files), Skim is the new Preview. (Please don't implement this Versions nonsense in Skim!)
Like
Version 1.3.16
1 answer(s)
sintraworks-1
sintraworks-1
03 August 2011
You can still save files in Preview, but it is called Export now. It will save a copy of the open PDF document where you want it, with the name you want. Essentially it replaces what used to be Save As.
Like (1)
iTruth
22 April 2011
I think this PDF reader blows Preview & Adobe Reader out the water. It took less than 10 minutes to make this my default PDF app.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.13