Back to Spanning Sync page
Spanning Sync free download for Mac

Spanning Sync Reviews

3.3
04 July 2012

Sync iCal and Google Calendar.

Nigel-Smith
29 July 2008

Most helpful

Google Calendar CalDAV support ical now syncs with google calendar. check it out: http://www.google.com/support/calendar/bin/answer.py?answer=99355 No longer any need for this and the ridiculous yearly subscription costs I am a current subscriber and am not sad to say bye bye.
Like (6)
Version 2.0b349

Read 38 Spanning Sync User Reviews

Rate this app:

Stilgar
25 July 2012
I was using this successfully to sync my Microsoft Exchange account at work into Google Calendar so I could add events to either and have them stay in sync properly. It was working great until 10.7.4 shipped. Apple made changes which broke this software. Apple told the developers they should be using a different library and the developers said it's too much work to migrate their code. As a result, this product is no longer being supported. Here's their blog post: http://blog.spanningsync.com/2012/07/end-of-the-line-for-spanning-sync.html Because I was hoping Microsoft Office, Apple or Google would come up with a solution that did not involve 3rd party software, I only bought a yearly subscription to Spanning Sync. Due to the issues I mentioned, I only got about six months worth of use out of the software. I was not offered any sort of refund or credit toward another product which was disappointing.
Like
Version 3.2
alexbrown
05 March 2012
- No contacts to sync - I'm using iCloud - $65 for nothing
Like (2)
Version 3.2
curlygirl
05 March 2012
Are you joking? Do you really think people will pay $65 for functinality other apps offer for FREE?!
Like (2)
Version 3.2
Goldyman
15 February 2011
Yes, it's a little pricey, but get this: IT WORKS. It works beautifully, in fact, where others have failed. Seamless integration into the workflow. Now my Google contacts and calendar, my Apple address book and iCal and my Palm Pre are totally in sync.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Shane-Smith
18 November 2010
$65! Are you mad!
Like (5)
Version 3.1.2
John-in-cincy
10 April 2010
I ran into some problems using the ap yesterday (4/09/10) and overnight to this morning (when I switched it to Manual sync only). The syncs would begin again within seconds of the last sync. I changed all my Mac cals (iMac, iPod Touch and iPad) to ignore events older than 30 days), turned off MobileMe, and even used the Start Over feature, then Replace Data on Google (which deletes Google data and replaces with data from my computer) -- all to no avail. All events on my Mac calendars appear to be OK, but Google is missing an event from yesterday. I would be cautious about this product. I also note others are having problems in the forum at the developer site. Great idea *and* I'd be cautious.
Like
Version 3.0.4
Ryan-Chaney
26 February 2010
I've been using spanning sync on Snow Leopard to sync iCal with Google Calendar. It works really well and allows me to organise my life at home and at work. To save $5 on the price of spanning sync use this discount code: E9P3TM Cheers
Like
Version 3.0.4
Simonszu
06 December 2009
This Tool is also with Leopard 10.5 totally obsolete. The 10.5-iCal is able to talk with Google through CalDAV. Just search for "Google CalDAV" and you get a tutorial how to set it up. No need for spanning sync.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.4
Lito-d
19 September 2009
Snow Leopard does have google contact syncing but it still doesn't work for me. My last name and many people in my address book have spaces in their last name and google mangles these names. Google sees a name such as de la cruz as cruz and dumps the de la into the middle name spot. I've run into a couple problems, sometimes google contacts such as this will sync back to my snow leopard address book as a new contact or it will just reformat the name. So...Spanning Sync is still a needed app for those people who have issues such as these. Somehow Spanning Sync works around these issues.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.2b
Wuddel
27 August 2009
Snow Leopard's iCal can now talk directly to Google Calendar ... just to let you know.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1
Pickless
11 November 2008
sorry for the double post, I 'replied' instead of 'reviewed' :( I used v1 and hated it but I've just upgraded to v2 and have to say it is pretty sweet!! I love the gmail contact sync, very slick. price is still a little bit up there but you can get it for less with a discount code. I used GTMFRU and got $5 off so I only paid 20 bucks which seems about right to me for this tool.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Aspartamemsgsuck
31 August 2008
No question that this is nicely implemented, but the price is not warranted. Have been testing BusySync http://busymac.com/index.html and I have to say I am more than happy with it AND the price!
Like (2)
Version 2.0b352
Nigel-Smith
29 July 2008
Google Calendar CalDAV support ical now syncs with google calendar. check it out: http://www.google.com/support/calendar/bin/answer.py?answer=99355 No longer any need for this and the ridiculous yearly subscription costs I am a current subscriber and am not sad to say bye bye.
Like (6)
Version 2.0b349
1 answer(s)
Joshp
Joshp
18 October 2008
Awesome solution. Does exactly what I need. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Chadcn
12 March 2008
Per comments regarding Plaxo and icalx.com Plaxo only allows one-way syncing and it will only sync one calendar to Google cal. If you have several calendars, like myself, Plaxo is worthless. Getting icalx to actually display calendars is hit and miss, which means getting them to google cal is the same. I would much rather use something that provides direct syncing to google cal and not have to go through the trouble of learning another service to be used as a middle-man, which plaxo and icalx are. Spanning Sync is the best at what it does, has been rock solid and consistent, and for me is well worth the money
Like (2)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Walruscp
Walruscp
21 July 2008
BusySync is a cheaper, better solution. I highly recommend it to everyone.
Like (2)
Version 2.0b349
Ghartness
28 February 2008
Or, sync to icalx.com, then sync that to Google Calendars. It's very easy and very free.
Like
Version 1.2
Chris-Muench
03 December 2007
The software works great. You just set it up and forgot about it. The 2 way syncing works great just as expected. I use gmail apps and have 3 calendars (Personal, Work. School) and it is exactly what I needed.
Like
Version 1.1.3
gryphonent
21 November 2007
I've purchased SpanningSync a while ago. Most of the time it didn't work, crashed, and was slow as molasses. Customer Support is barely existing, coming up with all kind of excuses and rather unwilling to further improve the app before version 2 (address book syncing for example?). I've just purchased a premium membership with Plaxo.com and the service is top-notch, with features that make SpanningSync run for its money. Speaking of which, Plaxo is just $49 per year!
Like
Version 1.1.3
Sonicdeviant
21 November 2007
Great idea but too much money. For those who are a little Terminal savvy, you might try GCALDaemon...which is free.
Like
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
User-Name
User-Name
12 January 2008
I used to use GCALDaemon too and loved it... Unfortunately it doesn't work in Leopard.
Like
Version 1.2b205
Sonicdeviant
Sonicdeviant
12 January 2008
You can apparently use it with Leopard with a little trickery: http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?thread_id=1911719&forum_id=643348 possible way to use it with OSX 10.5 Leopard (New) By: Thomas Niepraschk (niepi) - 2008-01-11 07:52 Hi, i found a way to use it with Leopard, but ist not a very elegant way, but it works. 1. enable ftp sharing for a folder /Users/$user/calendar (only you should have access to this folder) 2. share your calendar to "ftp://127.0.0.1/calendar/" username and password from your account now iCal will deploy a ics-file for this calendar to this directory 3. setup gcaldaemon as usual to sync this ics-file with your google calendar
Like
Version 1.2b205
Ssnickerer
13 November 2007
Most people probably can't afford this. It's almost as expensive as iWork, and doesn't do nearly as much.
Like
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Sonicdeviant
Sonicdeviant
21 November 2007
Try GCALDaemon if you're even a little savvy in the Terminal. It's free and works great! Plus, it does more than sync your calendars!
Like
Version 1.1.3
Karizim
19 October 2007
My employer relies on her calendar VERY heavily. Since this program is registered per user, not per computer, I am able to update her calendar from my computer as necessary, in addition to her automatic sync. She switched from a Palm to the iPhone and somehow her calendar was corrupted in the process. When the Apple store was unable to help, this program saved her calendar! It's very easy to use. The only con I would say is that it takes a long time for the initial sync. The updates don't take as long and we haven't had any trouble as far as the updates interfering with anything.
Like
Version 1.0.5
gryphonent
13 June 2007
Registered... but regret it. Spanning Sync brings my system to a grinding halt when it does its syncing. And you cannot control when it does. The app is also rather buggy... not 100% reliable, which I'd expect at that price. It would be nice to have syncing of addresses to Google too. At the moment I'm using a manual import for that.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Alex-B
22 May 2007
For what this does, it does it well, but paying $65.00 for this one trick pony is completely idiotic (unless you have money to burn or don't care). The fact that it also comes in a subscription based service is even more absurd. To put these types of payment options on a program is greedy at best. I could see myself paying a $20 one time fee, period, with upgrades until the next major release, but I just can't get over these prices. Too bad too.
Like
Version 1.0.5
aussiebuddha
21 May 2007
Haven't tried the app but certainly not worth $65 http://gcaldaemon.sourceforge.net/ does the same, certainly not as user friendly, but it works and it's free. If i was to pay, I'd donate my money to the developers on gcaldaemon. $65 for spanning Sync is offensive
Like
Version 1.0.5
Pootus
10 May 2007
This app has been very handy for me and the only time it has trouble is when Google has trouble--when Google Apps is offline, having trouble, etc.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Orion-Mk-V
09 May 2007
Great idea but WAAYYYYYY too pricey.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Blee
01 April 2007
I was about to buy this thing... than I saw the "rent" our software model and I thought that was insane. Or pay 65 bucks??? This thing is hardly worth $65 I'll wait for someone else to fill the gap. I think the offer for offering a quick and easy uninstall button after the demo expires.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Mactechhelp-com
28 March 2007
Some people really need to get a grip and look at what this software really does. It may not be right for simple consumer use, but it is great for business use. I have a client who just switched from PC to Mac, was using Exchange Server before. In order to keep the "head honcho's" calendar in order they all add events to the Google Calendar. In turn, SpanningSync syncs with his iCal and then his PDA. $25 is nothing for this software because it serves a wonderful purpose and seamlessly integrates with the Mac and iCal. We have had no problems with the software and it works 10,000 times better than .Mac syncing (which costs $99 a year). The price is justified.
Like
Version 1.0.2
2 answer(s)
fahlman
fahlman
29 March 2007
If only .mac were just a calendar service your comparison would be valid. . . but it's not.
Like
Version 1.0.2
hmurchison
hmurchison
30 March 2007
I just deleted Spanning Sync from my Mac. I agree that for some people the ability to sync between GCalendar and iCal is worth it to them but I found that I wasn't happy with the pricing as well as memory usage (SS can take 50MB of RAM while idling) I'll wait and see if Apple and Googles newfound partnership evolves into better linking between GCal and iCal. I have a hunch it will.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Biturbo27t
20 March 2007
I agree with the other posts regarding pricing. I was excited to see this when it was in beta, but $65 for a full license? What are they smoking? That's half the price of a full OS!!! IMHO this thing is worth $15...maybe. Good luck guys. Someone else is going to come along and provide this functionality for a reasonable price and eat your lunch.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Jagooah
19 March 2007
Let's get one thing out of the way: the software works, and works well. HOWEVER, these guys are out of their mind when it comes to pricing... My recommendation: buy it for one year only, because you can bet anything that Apple and/or Google and/or third-parties will come out with a cheaper way to sync iCal with Gcal before your subscription runs out. And Spanning Sync will be out of business. Serves them well for pricing this software out of the roof.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Macd
19 March 2007
Wow! wow! wow! Hey hey hey hold on a sec! $25 subscription a year? OR $65 one-time payment. Some inflation happened while I was sleeping or something? I would pay $15 without, you know, thinking if I really have a need to such an utility (I was using it while it was in beta), but at $25/year and $65 full price I'll just run the uninstaller. Bad, bad, bad move. Greed won't get you anywhere.
Like
Version 1.0.1
JamesHarrisPhoto
17 March 2007
And for us mere mortals, here's a viable solution, although not as elegant as Spanning Sync, but it's free: http://www.googletutor.com/2007/01/24/syncing-google-calendar-with-ical/
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
gryphonent
16 March 2007
With SpanningSync off my drive I looked around for an alternative and found gsync at . It's Beta at the moment... and I hope the developer won't go ballyhoo when it comes to pricing like the guys behind SpanningSync.
Like
Version 1.0.1
M-Rick
14 March 2007
too much expensive, crazy price. For this price I can get complete softwares that do thousand things more !!
Like
Version 1.0
gryphonent
13 March 2007
$65??? Or $25 per year?? What are you guys smoking??? I'd pay this for $20 on a regular license until version 2. But not a penny more.
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
13 March 2007
You're rating it on price alone?
Like
Version 1.0
gryphonent
gryphonent
13 March 2007
If I would it would have received no star at all... $65 is outrageous. Especially for a feature that (most likely) will become part of AddressBook at some stage and a small app that sits in the preference pane. For just a couple of bugs more I get the entire iWork suite or iLife suite. Get real!
Like
Version 1.0
Thirstyrobot
Thirstyrobot
16 March 2007
Rating this on price alone is fair game. Given what's been said here and elsewhere, a lot of users--people who used to use this service--feel that the price of this service is ridiculously out-of-whack. No one likes to feel like they're being fleeced.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Elf
13 March 2007
Product: Getting there. Still slow to load, and the sync frequency needs more options/scalability. Price: You're not serious, surely?
Like
Version 1.0
hmurchison
09 March 2007
This product is a Godsend. I use Google Calendar and I want to use iCal more but I was wary of keeping the two in sync. This application handles that quite nicely and seems to work just fine my relatively meager needs. I'm impressed and happy that I don't have to wait and hope that Apple and Google deliver.
Like
Version 1.0b16
Jagooah
20 February 2007
Works as advertised: syncs your iCal @ Google calendar seamlessly! It's still in beta, but I haven't run into any problems.
Like
Version 1.0b14
Giamba
20 February 2007
This is solution that I'm looking for. I want to sync my iCal to Google Calendar. For the first time sync took quite long especially when backup my iCal since 2005. But it really work! I'm sure there will be improvement for the future. Nice. Now I can sync also backup both my calendar. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0b14
1 answer(s)
Pickless
Pickless
11 November 2008
I used v1 and hated it but I've just upgraded to v2 and have to say it is pretty sweet!! I love the gmail contact sync, very slick. price is still a little bit up there but you can get it for less with a discount code. I used GTMFRU and got $5 off so I only paid 20 bucks which seems about right to me for this tool.
Like
Version 2.0.2