Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to MacCleanse page
MacCleanse free download for Mac

MacCleanse Reviews9.0.7

25 February 2021

Selectively erase logs, caches, activity, and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Feb 28 2021
9.0.7
1.0
Feb 28 2021
1.0
Version: 9.0.7
Nothing much to add to my previous note on 9/26/20 except that there are now 75 (that's SEVENTY-FIVE) "cleaner" apps on MacUpdate. I won't clog up the review space by naming them all -- I've done so in other reviews. The market was beyond saturated years ago. And now: Deluge. -SB
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Sep 26 2020
9.0.1
1.0
Sep 26 2020
1.0
Version: 9.0.1
This is not a review per se, it is a discussion of the class of software to which this program belongs. As a public service to the MacUpdate community, I've found as many of these "cleaner" apps on this website as I could and listed them them below. (I did a search for 'cleaner'.) If MacUpdate will let me, I intend to post this every time a new or updated version of one of these things shows up on this site. There are 42 in the list, and it seems like new entries in the 'Mac cleaner' market space pop up every day, metastasizing like a cancer. Unfortunately, more is not better. They are all of dubious value. Many have no reviews at all. Many have what look to be essentially fake 5-star reviews with no useful commentary. Many -- probably the most accurate and honest -- have negative reviews, by users who have been burned by them. Most of the developers' descriptions boast about what a great job they do, but the truth is, there are no good, comprehensive, head-to-head reviews of these programs by impartial 3rd parties. True experts in macOS maintenance advise against using any of them, because in general they serve little useful purpose and they can easily do more harm than good. Macs simply do not need "cleaning." (See for example: https://www.thesafemac.com/the-myth-of-the-dirty-mac/) Some of these programs are notorious for being little more than malware. The user is well-advised to read any program documentation and make a RELIABLE BACKUP before attempting any changes. If I have missed any programs that should be on the list, please leave a comment and let me know. I will rate all these programs with one star, probably one more than they deserve. And I would appreciate comments. If you disagree, please speak up. But if all you can come up with is 5 stars and a sentence or two saying that program X is great and I don't know what I'm talking about, please save your breath. No one here will take you seriously. And I apologize for the almost unreadable formatting, a severe limitation of MacUpdate itself, which compresses maximum text into minimum space, leaving no whitespace for readability. :: BEGIN LIST: : Aooro : AppCleaner & Uninstaller : AutoTrash : AweCleaner : CCleaner : CleanGeeker : Clean Me : Cleaner One Pro : CleanMyMac X : Cocktail : Combo Cleaner : Disk Aid : Disk Cleaner : Disk Cleaner Pro : Disk Expert : Disk Health : DiskKeeper Advanced Cleaner : DiskKeeper Cleaner - Modern : DiskKeeper Pro : Disk Xray : Doctor Disk Cleaner : HD Cleaner : iMac Cleaner : MacBooster : Mac Cleaner : MacClean : MacClean360 : MacCleaner Pro : MacCleanse : MacEnizer : MacMaintenance : MacMaster : Mojave Cleaner : PowerMyMac : Pro Disk Cleaner : Quick Cleaner : Sensei : Stellar SpeedUpMac : TrashMe 3 : Washing Machine : WeCleanse : Wise Mac Care :: END LIST : :: The only system maintenance tools I recommend are 1) TinkerTool System, a true bargain priced at only $14 for a single license. TinkerTool System is a an exceptional piece of quality engineering, safe when used properly, and superbly documented, with in-depth tutorials for every option. 2) OnyX, from Titanium Software, another excellent developer. 3) I have used Northern Softworks' "Cache Cleaners" in the past (the latest being "Catalina Cache Cleaner," which I have not used) and their products are first rate. As for the rest, listed above, it is safe to say that nobody who really knows what they're doing with Macs and macOS will touch them. Don't get sucked in by a pretty interface. You may very well regret it. -SB
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 23 2020
9.0
4.0
Sep 23 2020
4.0
Version: 9.0
Koingo is going to subscriptions. - -> "USD$1.33 PER MONTH (BILLED ANNUALLY)" for MacCleanse 9.x. - -> Also: v9.x is ONLY for macOS 10.15. (Use v8 etc for older macOS).
Vitalii@macupdate.com
Vitalii@macupdate.com
Apr 21 2020
8.1.3
0.0
Apr 21 2020
0.0
Version: 8.1.3
The previously listed price was incorrect. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Tom32547
Tom32547
Mar 8 2020
8.1.2
0.0
Mar 8 2020
0.0
Version: 8.1.2
The greed of some is so underwhelming! The price for this is nothing short of trumpian.
Gazman
Gazman
Mar 8 2020
8.1.2
1.0
Mar 8 2020
1.0
Version: 8.1.2
All the five star reviews below are fake, click on their profiles and you can see that they've visited MacUpdate a grand total of 1 time - to make these fake reviews. Also, the fact that this costs a hundred bucks when there are numerous alternatives that do the same or similar jobs for under $20 also should tell you to be very wary.
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Feb 25 2020
8.1.1
1.0
Feb 25 2020
1.0
Version: 8.1.1
As many others have noted below, the probably useless (if not harmful) MacCleanse gets the most FAKE 5-star, one-sentence "reviews" of any product on MacUpdate. This shows great initiative on the part of the developer, creating all those FAKE reviewers with creative, fingers-dancing-on-the-keyboard, names. (gaedwebmunha? helengonzaleszx34szrfgbv?) Therefore I award MacCleanse 5-stars (*****) for garnering the most FAKE 5-star reviews. Quite an accomplishment. Also, 5 more stars for price inflation. A few short years ago, MacCleanse was $30, but now it's $99. Nice job, Koingo! Keep up the good work! GENTLE READERS, if you really want to "clean" your Mac, buy TinkerTool System, and READ THE MANUAL before you go HACKING AROUND macOS with some overpriced piece of crapware. -SB
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Feb 10 2020
8.1.1
1.0
Feb 10 2020
1.0
Version: 8.1.1
This should be sold on late night infomercials. Do you have more money than you know what to do with? uh huh. Do you want to waste it on a ridiculously overpriced product meant for the simple minded too gullible to know better? uh huh. Then install this useless logic-turd and accomplish NOTHING!
zlazkow
zlazkow
Feb 10 2020
8.1.1
0.0
Feb 10 2020
0.0
Version: 8.1.1
$100 ??? don't think so...
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Jan 29 2020
8.0.7
1.0
Jan 29 2020
1.0
Version: 8.0.7
I originally gave this app 5 stars. But after using it now for over a month I have real concerns about it. It has the nasty habit of deleting activation from various apps. Nothing more frustrating than starting up an app that you use regularly only to have it tell you that you are in Trial Mode and that you need to purchase or activate the app. After this happened a couple of dozen times I was finally able to conclude that this app can be deadly. Even run in its Safe Mode you are in possible jeopardy. My advise...stay away. I have tried to address the developer regarding this and never get a response. The site only says that the developer works by himself and will get back to you when he can...to my experience that means never.
Radus
Radus
Oct 28 2019
8.0.7
0.5
Oct 28 2019
0.5
Version: 8.0.7
Long time I bought this, not the best, piece of software with macupdte, koingo helpfully deactivated it. Koingo never again!
Flavum
Flavum
Oct 2 2019
8.0.3
0.0
Oct 2 2019
0.0
Version: 8.0.3
I think this product may hold the record for shills and fake reviews from brand new MacUpdate members. Impressive, Koingo. Avoid like the plague.
Benezz
Benezz
Jul 22 2019
8.0.1
5.0
Jul 22 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0.1
MacCleanse helps me make sure that all my deleted files stay deleted.
bevrlymcsm23
bevrlymcsm23
Jul 4 2019
8.0.1
5.0
Jul 4 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0.1
Took care of more duplicate files than I even knew I had.
shirleytaylor
shirleytaylor
Jun 26 2019
8.0.1
5.0
Jun 26 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0.1
Does a better job of eliminating web histories than a lot of browsers themselves.
helengonzaleszx34szrfgbv
helengonzaleszx34szrfgbv
Jun 24 2019
8.0.1
5.0
Jun 24 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0.1
A better cleaner and uninstaller than what I was used to before.
Marie222
Marie222
Jun 20 2019
8.0.1
5.0
Jun 20 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0.1
Found and dealt with gigabytes of old caches.
heather A B
heather A B
Jun 12 2019
8.0.1
5.0
Jun 12 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0.1
So many essential tools in one package.
husgelecse
husgelecse
Jun 3 2019
8.0
5.0
Jun 3 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0
The snappiest system cleaner on the market!
gaedwebmunha
gaedwebmunha
Jun 1 2019
8.0
5.0
Jun 1 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0
MacCleanse erased a bunch of forgotten old archives left behind from app installs.
steelesliopu
steelesliopu
May 30 2019
8.0
5.0
May 30 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0
A wealth of very powerful features all tucked neatly into a clean and easy interface.
turlyroughmant
turlyroughmant
May 29 2019
8.0
5.0
May 29 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0
Easy to use and understand. I didn't need a manual, and everything just made sense. I wasn't scared to accidentally wipe my documents and photos.
seploodonlifs
seploodonlifs
May 28 2019
8.0
5.0
May 28 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0
Caught a ton of extra junk that other cleaners missed.
tranraropgo
tranraropgo
May 26 2019
8.0
5.0
May 26 2019
5.0
Version: 8.0
Saved my butt when my tech tried to sell me a pricey hard drive upgrade to get more space. As it turned out, I just needed to run MacCleanse and clean out all the junk that had been piling up!
mounkelomen
mounkelomen
Oct 17 2018
7.0.2
5.0
Oct 17 2018
5.0
Version: 7.0.2
New updates have been fantastic. Best cleaner app out there.
sinpaychiking
sinpaychiking
Oct 15 2018
7.0.2
5.0
Oct 15 2018
5.0
Version: 7.0.2
love the new update!
teforcoja
teforcoja
Oct 14 2018
7.0.2
5.0
Oct 14 2018
5.0
Version: 7.0.2
Long-lived one of the best system cleaners for Mac. Not bloatware. Does what it says without all the extra crap.
Radus
Radus
Oct 13 2018
7.0.1
0.5
Oct 13 2018
0.5
Version: 7.0.1
I do not know who is happy with this. There are much better alternatives like Onyx or TinkerTool System.
jack2001
jack2001
May 16 2018
7.0
0.5
May 16 2018
0.5
Version: 7.0
pericolosissima. sono stato costretto a ripristinare backup da time machine
franctastic
franctastic
May 16 2018
6.0.8
1.0
May 16 2018
1.0
Version: 6.0.8
the worst cleaning APP I've ever tried.

before you pay $30 for this app, you better buy CleanMyMac.
ONYX does the same, much better, and for FREE!

I downloaded the version 7, tested and uninstalled before doing any cleaning.

I do not recommend this APP

salut!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 15 2018
6.0.8
4.0
May 15 2018
4.0
Version: 6.0.8
MacCleanse 7.0 is now available. "Requirements: This version requires at least Mac OS X 10.10. "Upgrade Notes: Version 7 is a paid upgrade from version 6 and lower. Order an upgrade visiting our Upgrades Store. Users owing an active subscription to this product will get it automatically without additional cost. This upgrade is also free if ordering a non-subscription version within the last year. Visit your account and click the Upgrade link, if this applies to you, to obtain a free copy. "New Feature: Fully tested and ready for Mac OS X 10.14 when it comes out. "Coming Soon: Much more efficient way to recognize duplicate files."
Unblocktheplanet
Unblocktheplanet
Dec 8 2017
6.0.5
5.0
Dec 8 2017
5.0
Version: 6.0.5
I'm writing this review because for the first time in my long history using McCleanse, it stopped working on 10.13.1. Hope they'll remedy this soon!

It mat come down to, go with what you know. I suffered through the painful years before OS X since 1984. MacCleanse offered seamless, intuitive cleanup and never makes mistakes leaving some items inoperable. The same simply cannot be said for the free utilities which require too much user input. $30 is a fair price.
Scion777
Scion777
Oct 18 2017
6.0.5
0.0
Oct 18 2017
0.0
Version: 6.0.5
And why am I supposed to shell out $30 for something OnyX does for free?
Scion777
Scion777
Oct 14 2017
6.0.4
0.0
Oct 14 2017
0.0
Version: 6.0.4
OnyX is free and 64-bit and does much more than this app does.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Jun 30 2017
6.0.1
0.0
Jun 30 2017
0.0
Version: 6.0.1
STILL not 64-bit! Rolls eyes.
dannyboone69
dannyboone69
Apr 11 2017
6.0
5.0
Apr 11 2017
5.0
Version: 6.0
MacCleanse has erased so much clutter so far that I'm not sure how I ever lived without it.
josephjsam111
josephjsam111
Mar 21 2017
5.1.7
5.0
Mar 21 2017
5.0
Version: 5.1.7
Does a better job of eliminating web histories than a lot of browsers themselves.
graydereikson
graydereikson
Mar 11 2017
5.1.7
4.0
Mar 11 2017
4.0
Version: 5.1.7
Definitely one of the better system cleaners, but it could use an overhaul for macOS Sierra to bring its interface up to spec with modern times.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Feb 24 2017
5.1.7
1.0
Feb 24 2017
1.0
Version: 5.1.7
I received the following email from Koingo on 2/15/17: Koingo confirmed its authenticity. Critical Bug Fix: Immediate Action Required Due to recent system software updates, the internal automatic updaters inside our products are broken. This bug has been fixed in the latest version of our apps. Please ensure you download the most recent version of the apps that you own from us to ensure you are not missing any critical security fixes. Follow the steps below. For App Store buyers must follow the steps in our FAQ to move to the retail version (for free) first.
jan_de_smet
jan_de_smet
Feb 11 2017
5.1.7
0.0
Feb 11 2017
0.0
Version: 5.1.7
Why would anyone pay for this? Onyx is free and does a lot more.

Edit - this app is written in some sort of basic languages. Never trust an app that is written on a high level slow code language and most certainly not for system tools.
Unblocktheplanet
Unblocktheplanet
Feb 11 2017
5.1.7
5.0
Feb 11 2017
5.0
Version: 5.1.7
I LOVE MacCleanse! Been using it for years when my Mac seems slower or the beachball is spinning. Esp good for cleaning Safari. MacC v3.2.2 was faster but I 'upgraded' to the new v. Still an extremely reliable workhorse. Despite the reason the developer stated for this upgrade, I NEVER had my McCleanse scan stall (2012 MBP running Sierra). All the problems I've seen here are because the user bulled ahead and didn't RTFM! Which, incidentally, is NOT rocket science. Make sure MacCleanse is running in Safe Mode (which means it won't delete your Download folder. Once you scan, untick the boxes you don't want deleted. I save Safari Last Session and Transmission downloads. Yes, Safe Boot is a trustworthy option. But...well, I HATE restarting!
Hendricx
Hendricx
Feb 10 2017
5.1.7
0.0
Feb 10 2017
0.0
Version: 5.1.7
Still a 32bit app? as far as I know Apple does not allow 32bit apps anymore in the AppStore. That indicates everyone needs to avoid 32bit.
jezzzzazz
jezzzzazz
Oct 10 2016
5.1.4
0.5
Oct 10 2016
0.5
Version: 5.1.4
Mac Cleanse is utter junk, and the company behind it is even worse. I have had enough of being treated like a dog by these software companies, always tricking people into cheap first time buys and expensive upgrades which are always PORTRAYED as being essential. As their (ONE) support staff member replied earlier on this thread "you had a choice to upgrade", yeah thats fine, because YOU KNOW where the small print is, don't you! What that basically translates to is "we will bend you over in every way possible, and it's up to you to stand up for yourself and avoid us doing so". Ha Ha, great, so we are giving money to people like that, NOT ANY MORE on my part. I like the way they say they have no support tickets outstanding to that guy earlier on the thread. I have had the same, ignored support tickets one after another. I just went to create one today after MacCleanse deleted ALL my personal messages from friends and family, and half (for some reason only half) of my skype contact histories. Anyway, I didn't bother raising the ticket after I read their message alerts above the form, which are exactly copied here, from THEIR website: " Due to the high volume of support we receive daily, tickets that have answers inside our Frequently Asked Questions will not be replied to. Please read our FAQ before submitting a ticket!" "It is a one man show over here, so please be patient waiting for a reply. There is a VERY large volume of support every day, and sometimes replies may take weeks. Submitting a reply to your original inquiry will knock you back down to last place in the queue." To me, that basically says "F OFF". So I have. Shove your software where the sun don't shine, I hope your business rots to death.
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
Sep 12 2015
5.0.5
0.0
Sep 12 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.5
Most if not all of these apps are tapping into system caches and so on. The very best way to fix an ailing Mac is to
1. Shut down. Do not use Restart for any of these steps.
2. Start up with your finger on the 'S' key until the little Apple emblem and the scrubber bar appear - to put the Mac onto 'SAFE BOOT' mode.
3. Sit and watch the Horizontal bar lines travelling up your screen as the OS is cleaned of crap, caches and junk.
4. When all is settled then 'Shut Down' again.
5. Boot up into your normal mode of operating again.
Most problems will now be gone.
6. Use 'Disk Utility' (in Utilities) to repair the Permissions.
There will be very few lingering problems after this procedure.
If you decide to use Disk Warrior, Onyx, Cocktail, Tinker Tool, or Tinker Tool System, you do need to set up the choices carefully. The 'Safe Boot' approach is completely safe no matter which Mac you are using, because it runs from within that Mac to fix that Mac's problems.
BobUN
BobUN
Jun 29 2015
5.0.4
3.5
Jun 29 2015
3.5
Version: 5.0.4
Rapide, c'est son atout principal. Par contre, application vieillot avec un design ancien et pas agréable. Je l'ai testée, puis supprimée car je préfère CleanMyMac
Neutra
Neutra
Jan 20 2015
5.0.2
1.0
Jan 20 2015
1.0
Version: 5.0.2
Beware! I will take responsibility for not inspecting every line of the default "cleaning list" but I ran MacCleanse 5 on my MBP Retina and it erased all the photos (attachments) from my Messages; many that I had not saved otherwise! Seems wrong for a default setting. Thank God for Time Machine.
Drscott
Drscott
Jan 15 2015
5.0.1
0.0
Jan 15 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.1
The upgrade fees would be more tolerable if Koingo's programs were licensed so they could be used on all of the computers owned by a single user rather than requiring a separate license (and upgrade fees) for each individual computer.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Jan 15 2015
5.0.1
0.0
Jan 15 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.1
Seriously folks, forget about paying for system utilities - there are a bunch of excellent free apps out there that do what various paid apps do. Top of the list is Onyx - it's free and very robust, well reviewed - check out its page here on Macupdate. There is absolutely no reason to pay for an app when better FREE apps are out there. Five to 10 minutes of reading reviews of Onyx, Tinker Tool etc is worth it to decide which FREE app is best for you! If you should decide you don't like the concept of FREE apps, Cocktail or Tinker Tool System are paid options for you to consider.
Unblocktheplanet
Unblocktheplanet
Jan 9 2015
5.0
5.0
Jan 9 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0
Frankly, we like MacCleanse. But when Koingo introduced the subscription model, we stuck with v3.3.2. It's fast and easy on Yosemite. We realise it costs money to heat a house in Kelowna BC but we reserve our subscriptions for magazines and charities. Back to basics, please, Koingo...
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
Jan 9 2015
5.0
2.5
Jan 9 2015
2.5
Version: 5.0
Just paid $15.00 for this pretty well designed app last year only to be shaken down for another $15.00 by Koingo today In order to upgrade to version 5 and that Is an outrage. Considering how much money I've spent renewing products from this unscrupulous company they should have the decency to leave me alone and stop loansharking. Deeper and OnyX are two free apps (donation-ware), that I find perform just as well or better without all the bloat and unnecessary eye candy of MacCleanse. Two-three stars for MacCleanse app minus 2.5 stars for the corporate thieves at Koingow. I'm not your monkey anymore find another sucker to treat like dirt!
Just flushed MacCleanse down the toilet where it belongs.