Back to Papers page
Papers free download for Mac

Papers Reviews

3.4.21 (581)
08 October 2019

Your personal library of scientific resources.

Jeremyan
27 November 2013

Most helpful

I agree with everybody that had been disappointed by all the bugs of Papers 2. Because of that I wouldn't recommend people from upgrading to 3. For the following reasons: - They never fix things properly. - They still try all they can to lock you into their software: - PDF annotation not viewable outside the software. - Now PDFs are stored with MP3 on iPod type of cryptic names and folders, making it impossible for you to manually navigate your PDF library any more. - Also the library is a single package file, like iPhoto library. Say goodbye for using other apps to access the folder structure! The Papers 3 trial made me realize they are trying even more lock-in, and still haven't implemented PDF annotation that is universal to other apps. To sync with iPad, you have BUY again Papers 3 on iPad/iPhone. This totally sucks because the old version cannot do the sync properly at all. So they burned us, and want us to pay again for sync that only works with Dropbox. I would recommend everybody finding an alternative.
Like (19)
Version 3.0.9

Read 120 Papers User Reviews

Rate this app:

kenneth-r
10 February 2019
Anyone tried the new version? Seems like it is a version "4".
Like
Version 3.4.20
lewisalun101
23 January 2019
Awful software. Papers 1 and 2 were great. Papers 3 leave well alone. Go elsewhere, save your money and time. Too many software glitches and poorly constructed compared to papers 1 and 2.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.19
fahrenfort
12 March 2018
I took the trouble of creating a MacUpdate account just to leave a bad review for this app. Paper2 used to be great, but Papers3 is a useless piece of crap that behaves as though it is in full beta stage. Expect regular sudden crashes (software exits) and other bugs. DO NOT BUY, LOOK ELSEWHERE!
Like (2)
Version 3.4.16
Mindplay
01 December 2017
I used it since inception and it was a great product. Unfortunately since v2 developers kind of lost direction and now it's just a really buggy piece of cranky software that doesn't do any real good. Now even subscription based ?

You really have to inflict it on yourself...
Like (1)
Version 3.4.12
HappyPig
26 October 2017
According to the Papers team on Twitter, the new version of Papers/Readcube will be subscription only, and not use Dropbox anymore. I'm done with this program.
Like
Version 3.4.10
aramis-1
11 September 2017
Used to be so good, papers1 loved it, papers2 added some useful functions, like "copy settings", awesome!, abandoned some others, like simply hit space bar for full few... timesaver. I want quick look as full screen!! Now: Papers 3… looks less colorful, less fun, - red flags turned black, purple folders turned grey... where are my buttons: mail, print … have to go through too many steps to just send a pdf, or print some. Where is the awesome "sound" when sending pdf by mail?? I have the feeling this turned into windows grey world... no fun! I want papers back!!!! Most important : why is it so much slower than papers 2 ???
Like (1)
Version 3.4.10
1 answer(s)
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
01 December 2017
… and after all the negatives you mention, you give the program 5 stars? What's wrong with you, mate?
Like
HappyPig
12 April 2017
So many visual bugs - large chunks of pdfs are seemingly overlaid with white squares that disappear when you click on them. The developers know about it apparently, but as their bug ticket system is private, no one else can know that they know until they are asked. Uggggh. And I don't have much hope for this being fixed anytime soon, as I think the programmers are a skeleton crew after the ReadCube merger. Every time I write a bug in (the ticket for which is forever marked private) the response I get includes some text pimping ReadCube as an alternative. No! Just fix Papers - to heck with ReadCube!
Like (3)
Version 3.4.10
john-1234
29 December 2016
Hopeless now, almost unusable! ReadCube has drained the resources supposed to be used to fix bugs in current version.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.7
xcoxco
11 May 2016
Papers was recently acquired by Labtiva, Inc., based in Cambridge, MA and London. More importantly, the company is backed by Digital Science, a division of Macmillan Publishers Ltd, and is the developer of the app ReadCube. What this all means for Papers' users is unclear.

However, what is clear is that the bibliographic database/research software market is a mess. Good products, like Sente and Bookends, started out well but were never properly financed. Consequently researchers like myself have been in a difficult situation (left with incomplete and buggy software).

A big problem is that software designers do not understand the needs of power-researchers in terms of organizing (and reorganizing) their reference based data for multiple projects. Sente was excellent (but no longer supported) and Bookmarks powerful (but not fully modernized; needs a basic rebuild). That left Papers, which had lot's of promise not yet realized.

So now we are largely left with Labtiva and Mendeley - backed by good financing. Let's hope they are not obsessively focused on the Internet and do deliver the sort of functionality required by power researches. Connecting with other researchers is great ... but let's first make sure the software's core data management capabilities address the power data management needs of the individual researcher first alongside the usual basic bibliographic database management and reference generation functions.

Thank you.

PS: I work with about 11,000 references in a database built up over the past 10-years or more, a critical research tool. I have used End Note, Sente, Bookends at one time or another. I was about to consider a migration to Papers when I found out about the sale. Sente was a favorite, but it’s progress slowed and then stopped in recent years. Bookends has a lot of power, but needs a basic re-write and modernization to stamp out (nasty) bugs and make it easier to use. End Note I used in the 1990’s, and eventually dumped when it’s development seemed to freeze up.
Like (3)
Version 3.4.4
1 answer(s)
xcoxco
xcoxco
11 May 2016
Hmmm. Just looked at ReadCube. It's cloud based and meant to tie one into the service. Further, it's data organizational capabilities seem very limited. One problem is that reference data from online services, such as PubMed and Google Scholar can be incredibly inconsistent. Thus I have had to spend an awful lot of time in cleaning up the inconsistencies in my data set. Bookends has a lot of nice features to do so, in my experience. I can't see that ReadCube offers nearly the same power to address the inconsistencies. Clean, consistent data is absolutely critical for meaningful research enquires of a large data set such as mine.
Like (1)
J-O-R
29 March 2016
Papers 3.4.4 (485) Beta: Yes, it still has a lot of issues. BUT: it's getting better again and my suffering (although still there) gets diminished on a monthly basis. I don't regard the competition as superior and feel slowly entitled to recommend it again (instead of Zotero). I hope that Springer Press – the acquirer – increases its investment in this app's development and helps Papers to live up to its true potential.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.3 (458)
1 answer(s)
J-O-R
J-O-R
30 March 2016
I almost missed it: Papers was recently sold to Read Cube, a Digital Science Company. See: https://www.digital-science.com/blog/news/readcube-acquires-papers-springer-nature/ and https://www.readcube.com/press/readcube-papers

Interesting times – I can only hope the future and maybe fusion of both apps – Papers & Read Cube – comes without the hassle of Papers' past rewritings
Like (2)
AnnL7456
25 January 2016
v 3.4.2 No written manual, only a so-called Papers Help Center, which consists of several, disparate online help topics, interspersed with Windows-only related topics. The program is still unable to create automatically bibliographies in Nisus and Mellel, the two preferred Mac word processors for academic writing.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.2
jg64
23 January 2016
I have been a Papers user since v. 1. It is my research inbox, because it remains best of class for: 1. automatically (more or less) matching stray PDFs to their metadata--i.e., giving me a full cite without typing. 2. renaming the PDF according to my favored convention and putting it in a folder with the right name--this way I can find it easily: across platforms, using Alfred etc. Plus it has good library search. But personally, I think Papers has always been bad at most other reference-manager functions, so I use Endnote when I write. The Papers 1-->2 transition was a disaster. The feedback was so bad that the developers took their support forum private to stop the negative word-of-mouth--and it's still private, btw. So I wasn't surprised when the 2-->3 transition was also a fail. Maybe even worse, since meanwhile the developers had sold out to one of the big publishing conglomerates, and were focused more on a PC version than on making the Mac app work. Now (1/16), more than a year after Papers 3 release, bugs in Papers 2 have finally forced me to switch. On the plus side, match still works. The minus side outweighs this gain, however: 1. The grey-on-grey interface with limited customizability is not readable by my middle aged eyes. That's the main problem with the interface, although as the top review also commented, there are numerous annoying lapses. For example: The match button is sometimes there, sometimes not. Tabs are not tabs. There are even more clicks than before to do basic tasks--e.g., you can't just enter an author's name--you have to enter it as a search term, then move the mouse to select it from the list. The uncustomizable top bar gives quick access to some functions I use all the time (e.g., go to Library), but is cluttered with other functions I never use (e.g., author list). I could go on, but you get the idea: the Papers 3 interface adds like 10% to the frustration of whatever you're trying to do. 2. If I stick with the file-renaming function, Papers will not sync across platforms. When sync is enabled, Papers 3 gives all PDFs unintelligible names. Thus I can either have sync or file renaming, not both. So now my research is stuck on one machine. There is a new "reading list" function which allegedly allows a limited number of papers to sync across platforms. That would be a minimally adequate substitute for sync. Alas, it doesn't work--only about 25% of attached PDFs get uploaded. 3. Large numbers of minor additional annoyances: "Citations"--a Papers add-on--is like whackamole: no matter how many ways I turn it off, it keeps on re-appearing. There doesn't seem to be an automatic warning about duplicate copies any more. I'm getting random hangs. Occasionally, a imported PDF is disappearing. Occasionally an archive of an article's webpage is getting imported--wtf? Database "checkpoints" are constantly being created, for what reason I know not; I have 250 MB of them just from today. Software is usually just a product. I guess I feel close enough to my research to feel personally aggrieved by the thoughtless, lazy, shoddy design of Papers 3. Increasing the amount of frustration and wasted time in the world is unethical. Eventually I'll carve out some time, do some research, and move my 6K item library to software that respects the user.
Like (5)
Version 3.4.2
1 answer(s)
J-O-R
J-O-R
29 March 2016
"I guess I feel close enough to my research to feel personally aggrieved by the thoughtless, lazy, shoddy design of Papers 3. Increasing the amount of frustration and wasted time in the world is unethical." So true. It gets better though and the recent transparency push by the support team might be interpreted as a silver lining on the horizon. Best regards from a colleague sufferer. I think it's still (or again) the best all around reference tool on the Mac.
Like (1)
fukurokujo
09 November 2015
100 times better than bookends etc. oh my god I don't know what some people are smoking that they recommend featureless java like looking/working software over this. Yes it has some issues but certainly not that bad.
Like
Version 3.4.1
1 answer(s)
xcoxco
xcoxco
08 March 2016
Hi. Sente seems out of business.

Bookends is buggy.

How is Papers 3 in reality?
Like
25thnan
31 August 2015
I want to give the developer credit for upgrading the Ver 2 to 2.8. The interface is optimized and some tagging problems with certain sites were solved.
Like
Version 3.3.2
2 answer(s)
Xenophon
Xenophon
22 September 2015
Dumb question: where exactly can this "2.8" be downloaded from?

I loved Papers2, but hesitate with 3.
Like
Manu-Chao
Manu-Chao
09 November 2015
You can download Papers 2.8 by using the Check for Update menu item from within Papers 2.x.
Like
HappyPig
13 July 2015
Papers 3.3.0 is completely broken on the 10.11 beta (15A215h). It loads the splash screen but then quits. This isn't unexpected due to running a beta, so I can't officially complain, but it is the only program I have that doesn't work with the El Capitan beta, so there's that.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.10
1 answer(s)
HappyPig
HappyPig
17 July 2015
10.11 beta compatible update is at
http://downloads.mekentosj.com/papers_330_344.dmg
Like
liliana-rincon
02 June 2015
I have been using papers since the beginning and I tried papers 3 last week. I have never been so frustrated. The program quit on me every 5 minutes!. The interface changed completely in a bad way. If I search for an author it will say in the bottom that it found x papers but the screen remains white!. When trying to import references into word it will not find some of them. I can keep listing all the things that are not working correctly but I will get mad again. Going back to papers 2! or endnote....
Like (5)
Version 3.2.9
john-1234
20 May 2015
Slow painfully slow when my lib gets bigger and bigger....
Like (4)
Version 3.2.9
3 answer(s)
huschpuscheli
huschpuscheli
02 June 2015
yes, it literally took hours to analyze and convert a rather short 60 pages word document. very frustrating.
Like (2)
Cortig
Cortig
08 June 2015
Ctrl-click your library to reveal its content. In my case at least, the app saves multiple checkpoints without ever deleting the old ones.
Deleting the old ones allowed me to dramatically shrink the library (keep the last two checkpoints for good measures).
The issue has been reported a while ago, but not yet fixed… The Papers folks are the ones who told me I could get rid of the old checkpoints.
Like (3)
john-1234
john-1234
18 June 2015
Thanks, I tried these already. If you are lucky they may work.
Like
AnnL7456
24 April 2015
I wanted to rate Papers, but that is only possible if I create a "review". Don't know why the link does not appear in my previous comment. OK then, I will try again: Use this link to see which applications are supported by citations http://shrtm.nu/U6R3
Like (2)
Version 3.2.8
AnnL7456
24 April 2015
This program is supposed to be for scholars and professionals. Rather strange is the fact then, that it doesn't support Nisus Writer Pro which, according to my opinion, is the best word processor for academics and professional writers on the Mac platform. Mellel is not supported either. Only TextEdit, Pages 2008 and 2009, and MS Word can be used to insert citations and format manuscripts. Pages v5 is not supported. Use this link to see which applications are supported by citations <http://shrtm.nu/U6R3> The user interface in Papers 2 was nice, and the program had beautiful icons. In Papers 3 they are all gone, and now everything is gray in gray.
Like (3)
Version 3.2.8
john-1234
04 April 2015
Ok, it is getting better. But it still lacks one basic function which should appear ON DAY ONE! The WIFI SYNC!!!!!!
Like
Version 3.2.7
ConfusedGuy
26 March 2015
I like Papers 2. I reluctantly upgraded to Papers 3 and now - after 2 weeks of frustration - I'm returning to Papers 2. The experience was akin to Microsoft's Office upgrades: Change for the Sake of Change. There are so many new, confusing interfaces, intuitive options for editing, etc. are totally missing (it took forever to do the simplest task (this is unforgivable in my opinion) and I see no advantage on the new look. If there are significant (and necessary) improvements to be made then why not do them incrementally so your customers won't be overwhelmed. Oh well, keep your money Papers3. I should have known better: If somethings not broken, don't fix it. Why don't I learn?
Like (1)
Version 3.2.7
Hankxu
23 February 2015
I wrote a response to a post earlier but would like to give a rating for Papers myself. I am not associated with Mekentosj in any way.
Like
Version 3.2.7
dtsimon
13 February 2015
I really enjoy Papers 3 (yes, 3). I've been a Papers user since version 1, and before that a mix of BibTeX GUI's and EndNote. Compared to all others, Papers 3 is the winner. Specifically, (1) it has a much more fluid interface (in my opinion) than others Papers versions, and other software; (2) formatting documents with refs – I use MS Word – is a breeze and now quite fast; (3) the search features are fast and useful; (4) the developers are clearly active. I must say that I don't understand why so many people seem to prefer Papers 2. My wife was still using it a few weeks ago and I can say – doing a side-by-side comparison – Papers 3 is much better at matching metadata on new articles/refs. No software is perfect, and no version of Papers has been fully bug-free. But what software is ever bug-free? Great work, Mekentosj! Keep it coming!
Like
Version 3.2.7
2 answer(s)
Hankxu
Hankxu
23 February 2015
I agree with the comments above. I have been a user since version 1. No software is bug-free and there are really some great, unique features that Papers has. Yes, the bugs need to be fixed but we could be more supportive and encouraging in asking for that.

Don't give up and keep up the good work, Mekentosj!
Like (1)
bomcabedal
bomcabedal
24 April 2015
No one will crucify an app for containing one or two bugs - if those are harmless. But removing critical features without warning, and introducing lethal bugs - that will earn you a well-deserved spanking.
Like (1)
minimal-blue-sky
03 February 2015
I really like papers! As a researcher I use it almost daily. Much better than Endnote.
Like
Version 3.2.6
2 answer(s)
Dcuwcy
Dcuwcy
13 February 2015
I really like Papers too...I mean 1 and 2.
With V2 it is possible to manage the literature for all co-workers within our Lab without any hassle. Everybody can use all files on the fly - over network, with every third party app etc.
But Mekentosj -or the new owner- decided not to integrate group wide sync or access. IMHO a absolute unprofessional behavior in our days. They couldn’t explain why it is useful for us to make a closed library file (pkg).
They only want us to buy group licenses and use insecure cloud services. So V3 is definitely a no go for us or professional research groups.
Finally, as long as V2 works (under Yosemite with first signs, that the end is near) we will use it. At the moment we start to switch to Devon Think Office.
And one last comment to minimal sky: Did you ever try to write a manuscript in parallel with other authors on different plattforms? Tell me how you do that with Papers 3 instead of using a reference managing system like Endnote or others...
All writing above is my personal comment. I am not affiliated with any of the other used names and companies.
Like (1)
Manu-Chao
Manu-Chao
17 February 2015
@Dcuwcy
In regard to writing a manuscript with multiple people, you need to designate a primary author who handles all references via a local database. You also need a primary author who incorporates all changes or you need a version control system with frequent commits to ensure everybody has very up-to-date versions. Of course version control doesn't really work with binary files (eg, Word) in a multi-user setting.
Like
J-O-R
07 November 2014
Papers 3 has been my worst nightmare of banana ware yet. So many bugs introduced... The vendor lock in makes me cry, since I feel more and more trapped in a solution that has become my worst problem.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.4
2 answer(s)
Manu-Chao
Manu-Chao
18 November 2014
They still seem to be in a mode in which they introduce new bugs faster than they fix existing ones. When I tried 3.2.2 in August, it fixed one of seven bugs I had found after a few hours of using Papers 3.2.1 but then introduced another one instead. Some of them were so daft that one wonders whether anybody is actually using the software on their side (one was the default location when creating a new library: inside the package of the current library, a package inside a package, that sounds like a good idea. Not)

Papers 3.0 was released in mid-December 2013, counting the release notes it has now received 18 updates, on average one every three weeks. Normally I say frequent updates are a good thing but with Papers 3.x it feels as if the application is still receiving life-support and in that whenever a handful of bugs are fixed they need be pushed out right away because they are all critical bugs crucial for the survival of the patient.
Like (2)
J-O-R
J-O-R
21 November 2014
@Manu Chao: Yepp, you hit the nail on its head with your 'life support' interpretation. And it feels as if you're waiting in a crowded hospital in a third world country, waiting for a miracle to come...
Like
Menega
07 November 2014
Way better than initial versions; Most bugs were squished - and with interface revamped, it is a joy to use... With synch working fine through dropbox and the ipad client - can happily search, go through/read/classify/match my 20000+ papers library... Finally!
Like (1)
Version 3.2.4
Nitroxer
13 October 2014
Papers v 3.2.3 (released on or about 13 Oct 2014) gives a date of Jan 22, 2014 after copying to /Applications. OSX does not issue a 'replace older file message' when copying v3.2.3 into directory with v.3.2.2 installed. First time I've encountered such version control sloppiness. This is the latest among a litany of disappointing behavior as others have cited.
Like
Version 3.2.3
daniellebdental
08 October 2014
I've found PDF Stacks at www.PDFstacks.com a much better tool than the new Papers 3 version. I made a mistake upgrading. Papers 1 was the best but things are heading in the wrong direction and now do everything with PDF Stacks.
Like
Version 3.2.2
MatthewK1821
05 August 2014
Since Mekentosj conceal the feedback posts on their support forum, I'll put my recent experience with Papers 3.2 here as a review. I’ve used Papers since the very earliest public betas and really hope it continues to develop. There are many good things about v3 but I am concerned that cross-platform design is impairing one of the most critical elements, which is information presentation. Specifically, the list of papers. Papers2 gets this correct, by giving you a standard view which obeys the same information presentation conventions as all other Mac OS X applications like Finder: black text, alternating white and off-white background, compact lines, system highlight colour fills background to indicate highlight. Papers 3 has grey text floating in a white space which is too large and shows no boundaries, so the eye gets lost and the text is less legible. The highlight colour is no longer the system highlight, but an arbitrarily chosen blue, which doesn’t even work normally when the “Classic highlighting” option is chosen - it’s still the wrong colour, and in the folders list the text goes white with no coloured background, making it invisible. But the number 1 problem is the grey text and the featureless white space it floats in. It doesn’t even scale with the list font size. This is a breach of the designer’s responsibility to the user. By not presenting information in an OS-standard way, it’s effectively saying “look at me” instead of getting out of the user’s way. The Mac OS X appearance may not be perfect, but it’s had a heck of a lot more UI testing than the Papers 3 interface, and the non-standard view makes the app UI designers look incompetent rather than clever, like those terrible cross-platform utilities that Western Digital and Logitech force on Mac users. PLEASE give us an option to view lists in the same way that the Finder presents them, instead of forcing your design preferences on the users. It’s enough of a deal breaker that I won’t upgrade without it. Having migrated laboriously and tried using it for a week, once again I have canned Papers 3 and moved back to Papers2, which at least has a usable interface, as well as a browsable file structure without installing MacFUSE (for goodness' sake). I've no idea how they make their decisions but they clearly don't talk to their users when doing so. It seems like change for change's sake, to the detriment of what was once a great product.
Like (10)
Version 3.2.1
Big-Mac-XXL
03 July 2014
With every new major version their app icon gets more and more ugly. I liked version 1 a lot. I still work with it. Version 2 lost some functionality, like SPACE would not open any more the PDF for instant full screen reading. But it was tolerably well working. Only big PDFs of several hundred pages it would not search. I run v1 and v2, but now I tend more and more to Devonthink Personal, which might in the long term the better solution for me. I just need a comfortable PDF library and PDF reader. Devonthink offers some more as it would also manage my DOC's, ODT's, images and videos. So use what you like better, I don't think Papers is too bad. I'm no academical user.
Like
Version 3.0.24
rob-35
28 May 2014
I have downloaded 3.0.27 as a trial and have found it pretty good so far (15 minutes playing with it, thus my rating). Only annoyance was a loss of cursor focus when connecting to Dropbox. Interface looks nice and clean and simple. Addition of keywords is as un-user-friendly as it ever was in v2. And the star rating once clicked cannot be toggled to off again.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.24
HappyPig
22 April 2014
I've not upgraded to Papers 3 from Papers 2 because of the terrible reviews. However, staying with Papers 2 also has its problems. The Citations feature in Papers 2 often crashes when entering references. I submitted a bug report, and after three responses over six weeks, the programmers were unable to solve the problem and reported that it will not be fixed/updated (unsurprising, I guess). I was offered a free copy of Papers 3, which was nice. However, as I wrote above, given the terrible experience people have had with Papers 3, I'm loathe to upgrade to it.
Like
Version 3.0.20
Panthera
26 March 2014
Just garbage. Trashware.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.20
2 answer(s)
Xenophon
Xenophon
26 March 2014
Please be specific. Keep in mind that most v2 users are still trying to figure out whether to upgrade (most have invested quite a lot of work in Papers' previous incarnation). Like you, I haven't been able to justify the "upgrade" (or is it?). I would be very interested in seasoned users and their comments.
Like (3)
Jeremyan
Jeremyan
30 April 2014
@Xenophon, it wasn't hard for me to migrate my library to Sente.
Like
greenery
17 December 2013
Papers 3 is a mess, I'm sad to say. I downloaded it and imported my Papers 2 database in order to see how it worked. In the process of importing, all the work I have done on editing and merging authors was gone -- for one person in Papers 2 I have five iterations of the same name in Papers 3. Going back through the authors to take care of this would require days. In addition it's now far harder to list, compare and merge authors. Everything is more complicated, period. Also, there's nowhere on the website to talk to other users about such issues, even though it's called a 'public discussion' -- everything is viewable to staff only. There might be an easy fix for these problems but there's no way to know. I'm perfectly capable of learning new software, but the documentation has to be there.
Like (12)
Version 3.0.9
Jeremyan
27 November 2013
I agree with everybody that had been disappointed by all the bugs of Papers 2. Because of that I wouldn't recommend people from upgrading to 3. For the following reasons: - They never fix things properly. - They still try all they can to lock you into their software: - PDF annotation not viewable outside the software. - Now PDFs are stored with MP3 on iPod type of cryptic names and folders, making it impossible for you to manually navigate your PDF library any more. - Also the library is a single package file, like iPhoto library. Say goodbye for using other apps to access the folder structure! The Papers 3 trial made me realize they are trying even more lock-in, and still haven't implemented PDF annotation that is universal to other apps. To sync with iPad, you have BUY again Papers 3 on iPad/iPhone. This totally sucks because the old version cannot do the sync properly at all. So they burned us, and want us to pay again for sync that only works with Dropbox. I would recommend everybody finding an alternative.
Like (19)
Version 3.0.9
1 answer(s)
Cortig
Cortig
25 March 2014
FYI, the library being a package doesn't prevent other apps (or you) to use the data directly. You can Ctrl-clic the library to display the content in the Finder and see all the structure. You can also let the app install Fuse and mount the library on the desktop as if it were an external drive.
Like
Simonm
25 November 2013
I regret buying Papers 2. The app was poorly designed with too many broken or poorly functioning features such as proxy management and the utterly useless Livfe collaboration site. These and many others problems weren't addressed or fixed for paying Papers 2 customers. I also bought Papers 2 only three months before the new version and unlike nicer developers (there are plenty out there) the company gave no forewarning of their Papers 3 development and release schedule so I ended up with software that in all likelihood had already ceased development and vital maintenance support. The €29 upgrade price is too steep to tempt me to do so considering my frustrations with the previous version, which despite promises didn't enhance or simplify my workflow at all. Another thing they don't seem to want you to know (based on their website) is that they were bought out by Springer, hence the Windows version and the strangely sleep-inducing demonstration video posted on their site.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.9
1 answer(s)
Simonm
Simonm
28 November 2013
I should also point out that I did contact the developer about the fundamentally flawed proxy management, but they neither recognised nor fixed this and other issues, so I think that qualifies as very poor support. They lost my trust and as such I won't continue supporting this software by upgrading and I've even uninstalled Papers 2.
Like
Kvarnelis
19 November 2013
Papers is an indispensible application for academics like myself. It has revolutionized my workflow and my scholarship, which makes it ever more frustrating that they can't get this right. Mekentosj botched the upgrade from 1.0 to 2.0 so badly that they had to close down their support forums. Eventually the bugs were ironed out and the application worked excellently, apart from the somewhat damaged iOS sync. In moving from 2.0 to 3.0 they insist that we use Dropbox, which is just terrible. I have a 35gb library so now I need to pay an extra $10 a month for a service that I don't like, don't trust and don't want. How terrible. Please support better services like the Synology Cloud Station, WebDAV, or even the old iOS sync. I can't rate this higher since such crucial functionality was broken.
Like (6)
Version 3.0.9
mugsuk
19 November 2013
Bibdesk is the gold standard for serious academic authors in my opinion. Has all the functionality you need (much of the extra functionality in other apps is gimmick), it is rock solid, and is free. The workflow with Tex/Lyx/Word, and preview / skim, (plus the internet) is perfect. For some Mendeley may be an individual preference, but I have run both extensively, and for me Bibdesk is clearly superior. Why you would rather pay for Papers, a dysfunctional and costly software, is beyond me.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.9
MatthewK1821
18 November 2013
I've been a huge fan of Papers since early 0.x betas. Papers 2 started poorly but matured into a good workable tool. I've tried the Papers 3 beta and won't be returning to it until the information presentation is up to scratch. A vast screen full of pale grey type floating in white space is not an effective way to deal with large lists of information. To couple it with eccentric highlighting practices effectively distracts the user instead of supporting a clutter-free, efficient and standard interface. When I am hunting my library for the paper which said the thing I need to back up my idea, I don't want to be straining to read it. Black type, Mekentosj, every other application uses it for a reason. Although the iOS synchronisation was a dog, to put it kindly, the requirement for a paid DropBox account to sync libraries larger than 2GB (mine is 12GB) is venial and lazy. If I pay for two of your products, don't make me pay for an ongoing file synch service because you can't transfer data between them cleanly. Really disappointing. Hope we see a rapid improvement, at which time I will update to a positive rating.
Like (8)
Version 3.0.8
1 answer(s)
MatthewK1821
MatthewK1821
19 November 2013
Sorry - that should be "venal", not "venial"
Like (2)
Mikegem
17 November 2013
I bought the Papers 3 for Mac beta, v 3.0.9, and I cannot recommend it. I do recommend, and will continue using, Papers 2. I've used Papers since v1. I have a fairly large library with over 14,000 references, each with an attached pdf. Issues I've had with Papers 3: 1. The process of importing my Papers2 library to Papers3 broke some of the links between my references and their attached pdfs. After the import, I noticed that some of my references didn't have their pdfs anymore, and other references had the wrong pdfs attached. It appeared that Papers3 lost track of attachment data during the import process. I was able to confirm this by opening the same references in Papers2. References that indicated no pdf, or the wrong pdf, in Papers3 were undamaged in Papers2. So far, I have no fix for this issue. I've tried doing a Papers Library rebuild in Papers2 before importing to Papers3, have checked and repaired permissions on the Papers2 library files before import, Papers3 still breaks and changes reference/pdf links during import, seemingly at random. 2. The import process also generated duplicate references. Again, I confirmed this by checking the reference in Papers2 - no duplicate then. 3. Papers 3 is *very* slow compared to Papers2. Running on my MacBook ProR with an SSD, Papers2 is ready to go 8 seconds after launch. Papers3 takes over 3 minutes (!) to open the same library. Slow launch persists after several days (so it's certain that Papers3 wasn't indexing its new library). 4. The UI has been prettied up at the expense of functionality. The library view shows fewer references at a glance due to display formatting changes. It takes more clicks now to accomplish some common operations than in Papers2. 5. Some behavior is odd. Drag & drop of a reference with its linked pdf creates a file with an alias attribute, but a couple of megabytes size. Exporting the same reference as "pdf files and media" creates the pdf file it should, about 200KB size. There's more, but that's enough to give you the idea. I don't have enough confidence in Papers3 to use the product to manage information that's critical to my work. Presumably, the product will get more reliable as it goes through its beta development. More problematic is what I see as the developer's turn towards a pretty UI at the expense of user friction using the app. Reliability and speed do me more good than esthetic similarity to iOS7.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.8
Pedroj
01 October 2013
This is still a beta version with *lots* of room for improvement, especially in the syncing area. I have a huge library (22500 references with ca. 2700 pdf attachments). The scroll in the Library window does not refresh adequately, lefting overlapping lines. The sync with iOS version is done *exclusively* via DropBox. So, for large libraries you'll want a paid DB subscription. There is no way to use alternative cloud repositories. Moreover, you must sync the whole thing: no way to select specific references or collections to sync. The way a reference is edited is clumsy, i.e., in the addition of authors etc, which uses a preemptive filling from a list, or just adding the year of publication (I don't need day and month). I noted a better implementation of the proxy access (e.g., to Web of Science) through institutional gateways. The interface is iOS 7 and is nicely done. I had problems with the importing of the my old Papers2 library, and had to restart the process twice. My advice: don't use this as a primary tool for now, especially if you need syncing with an iPad or iPhone. It can co-exist with the previous Papers2, so you'll be getting back to use your old version quite often. I've been a user of Papers since version 1. But frankly, it's getting harder to keep using it. It is NOT a smooth application to use and manage your references, and this is a must (smooth use) for people handling lots of bibliographic material.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Mhoutman
25 September 2013
Don't buy this for the moment. I did and it is disaster to sync with Papers 3 for iOS. I just doesn't work ! Yes, I know this is beta software for Mac, but at least they shouldn't have released the iOS app.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.2
2 answer(s)
dabcca
dabcca
26 September 2013
Indeed – stay away from this bug ridden Beta. The release of v3 is reminiscent of the bumpy rollout of v2, a couple years ago. It is not ready for primetime and it is a sham that they are asking for $$ for the upgrade before it is ready. Problems that I have encountered thus far: - Crashes ... a lot. - Crashes on importing Papers2 library; repeatedly.... - High CPU (100%+) and RAM (6 GIG +) consumption bringing my MacPro to a standstill, when doing simple tasks (i.e., Export as Endnote XML) - New iOS 7 inspired UI lacks the functionality of v2 and requires a rethink of ones workflow (see Dcuwcy review below) For example: (1) the edit button has been removed, (2) there is no article preview, (3) the menu items (where they exist) have been replaced with relatively nondescript icons making it difficult to transition from Papers2. - Sync requires dropbox service; however, if your library contains thousand of pdfs you will need to upgrade to a premium account @ $10 a month. There is no option for Unfortunately, v3 doesn’t address some of the long standing deficiencies such as providing a preview of a reference nor does it allow for viewing more than one article at a time.
Like (4)
dabcca
dabcca
26 September 2013
I meant to say there are no other options for syncing with other services or tools. Previously, you could keep your libraries in sync manually by using file sync software such are Chronosync. In v3, the entire library (including all your pdf's) is maintained in a single file package thus rending any other means of keeping your libraries synchronized across computers as impractical.
Like
Dcuwcy
25 September 2013
OK, Papers 3 is still beta, so my review doesn’t reflect the final version. Switching from version 2 is not working properly. No pdf or supplemental file will be attached to the paper 3 library. When the update works. My crash log is full of Papers entries. The new GUI looks fine, but if you know version 2, you can forget about that. You need to rethink your workflow and - more worse - the designer of the new "modern design" forget to implement the usability. No intuitive way to use the application. It is more a try and error game. Finally, one of my favorite feature missing, a "save search and use it later again" seems to be missing even in v3. Sorry folks, no money from me for this update. Maybe next version.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.0
X3i
22 September 2013
what about the upgrade pricing?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
2 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
22 September 2013
There was no information about upgrade pricing on the developer's Web site, so try sending an e-mail to their customer service department at support [at] papersapp [dot] com with the subject line as Question about Papers Upgrade
Like
Cortig
Cortig
25 September 2013
$39.95
Like
Menega
20 September 2013
A must for knowledge workers - academics and/or industry... Some very nice advances in version 3... Using for years, since 2007, version 1... Showing for colleagues, used to be a strong reason to change for mac (but now they also make a windows version...) Ipad/iphone version is very nice / complementary... To be able to always carry your library of 18000 papers and locate/read any of them any time you need on that nice retina display... Simply great
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
lemon-kun
11 May 2013
This is just a comment, because I had to give up on Papers too early to do it justice in a review. As far as I've seen, there is no way to customise the document type fields or define a new custom document type. That makes Papers pretty useless for any sort of non-mainstream research. For example, I do research in musicology (not too "exotic", isn't it?), and I don't need document types for a patent or a recipe (WTF?!), but for certain categories like a lutebook, a method, score, iconography, etc. (Papers does offer a "musical score" document type, but that is useless to me, since I'd need certain fields that are not there). Now, I don't mean that Papers should cover every document type each scientist will ever need – that is impossible, of course. But why then not make it customisable? This would reduce clutter (delete the document types and fields you'll never need) and make the app much more flexible for any field of research. Oh yes and then: certain file types are not supported – that is a huge show stopper for me. For example, as a musicologist you have very often file formats of music software, Finale, Sibelius, etc. Of course I don't expect more than the Finder-Preview – but Papers doesn't even import these files. How should I then organise my research? Anyway, I'd really like Papers, but the lack of flexibility makes it impossible for me to work with. Instead I use and recommend BibDesk: here you can customise everything, and it will attach any file type (and multiple files) to an entry.
Like (3)
Version 2.5.5
1 answer(s)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
13 May 2013
…and not to forget as other alternatives that are customisable: Sente and Bookends. Both of these have an iPad/iPhone app to read and make annotations…
Like (1)
dabcca
19 April 2013
Downlink is to older version not recent one (2.5.5); http://downloads.mekentosj.com/papers_255.dmg
Like
Version 2.5.3
Pzs
01 September 2012
I have been using Papers2 for the last two months. In addition to working extremely well, it is based on modern technologies which I appreciate very much. It takes courage to rewrite from scratch to take advantage of newer technologies, so at the beginning it may not be feature rich. But with time, the developers have added some very clever and intuitive new ways of doing things. I view this as truly innovative and like supporting such endeavors.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.3
Apocryphx
19 June 2012
Papers is getting worse. It tries to be document manager and reference manager in one. It fails at both. Convoluted user interface and stability issues. Draconian license manager. No reference syncing (like Mendeley and other reference managers). Overall underwhelming performance, buggy, and steep price.
Like (6)
Version 2.2
Lodestone
27 May 2012
I love Papers and Magic Manuscripts. Great stuff and it keeps getting better with each update.
Like (1)
Version 2.2