Back to MsgFiler page
MsgFiler free download for Mac

MsgFiler Reviews

3.1.4
24 February 2014

Quickly file emails into existing mailbox folders.

Sherman-Wilcox
28 February 2011

Most helpful

Excellent utility. New version 3 adds many useful features.
Like (3)
Version 3.0

Read 20 MsgFiler User Reviews

Rate this app:

RogerKatz
04 November 2016
I just installed it on Sierra 10.12.1 - After I used MsgFiler for only a few minutes I decided that I don't know how I ever got along without it! Now, having used it for many hours, I praise the developer every time I use it. I'm sure that the time it will save me, within just a week, will be countless hours.
Like
Version 3.1.4
Msealey
09 September 2012
I've used the other systems that file (or attempt/claim to file) messages in Mail. None works as well as MsgFiler. It's clearly a winner. Add to its features, stability and very reasonable price the helpful, quick and friendly responsive service from MsgFiler's developer and it has to be considered the default, best and most useful solution. Recommended!
Like (1)
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
28 October 2012
I don't know what you guys are smoking. As a user of MsgFiler, Mail Act-On, and MailHub, I greatly prefer MailHub to the other two and rank MsgFiler third.
Like (2)
The-Big-K
18 July 2012
I'm generally not sympathetic to people who complain when apps are only at the Mac Store and they can't try them out first. However, after having been stung (or saved, depending on how you look at it) twice today with apps that when downloaded proved to be worthless, I must share that skepticism. I think this is short-sighted behavior by developers. A note to MU: When you demand that I complete the star rating before my comment is posted, you do a disservice to me, readers, and the dev. How can I rate something I haven't tried for the reasons just explained? I'm using one star, but there should be a way of NOT rating it.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
25 July 2012
To post comments without a rating simply select the Comment (or Troubleshooting) menu item instead of Review.
Like (1)
poetaignota
14 February 2012
Simply brilliant! I have several hundreds of messages in many layers of nested folders and MsgFiler beautifuly streamlines the work of putting individual messages in precisely the correct folder. A godsend.
Like
Version 3.0.4
FTBZ
12 October 2011
This software has changed my life and so much easier! The new app engine (compared to the old plug-in) need some amelioration (like cancel, but it's very nice.
Like
Version 3.0.4
CynicalMike
02 October 2011
I get 100-200 emails a day and keeping track of them is a chore. Not infrequently despite best efforts I have 200-300 in my inbox. I don't like shelling out for applications without being able to try them out, which you can't if you buy from Apple's App Store. However, after reading a review in MacWorld I took the plunge and already loving it. Manually moving emails was always a problem as I could never remember which folder/subfolder I had created or stored similar messages in. With MsgFiler as along as I can remember a word or few letters in the mailbox title I get a short list of options. It seems to learn as I go, so that the appropriate mailbox is more often than not at the top of the list. Simply press 'return' and it gets moved into the appropriate mailbox - quickly. I haven't even looked at some of the other features but already loving it - and I don't write too many favourable reviews.
Like
Version 3.0.4
howard-socal
02 March 2011
I'm not going to give it a rating now, because if I did it would be very low. I've been a user of MsgFiler for quite a few years. V3.00 is SLLOOWWWWWW, so slow that I consider it to be somewhat useless. And yes I put in the "engine." I'm using it mostly on POP accounts so it's not an IMAP issue. I'm hoping the old plug in will keep working in Lion, or the developer makes some serious upgrades to V3.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
TomEck
TomEck
08 March 2011
Agreed, V3.00 was slow. However, Adam has fixed this issue and V.3.01 (already submitted to the MAS as far as I know) is as fast as the old plugin and even more comfortable. I believe you will love it.
Like (2)
Sherman-Wilcox
28 February 2011
Excellent utility. New version 3 adds many useful features.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
11 March 2011
But why would someone use this when Mail Act-On offers even more?
Like
sjk
28 February 2011
3.0 is no longer a plug-in, like the description here says, and is only available from the App Store. More info here: http://www.tow.com/2011/02/15/msgfiler3-coming-soon/
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Dmw
13 November 2010
Just needed to reinstall it for 10.6.5. It's working now.
Like
Version 2.0.8
Dmw
12 November 2010
I still love this plug-in, but it seems to be broken again with 10.6.5 and mail 4.4
Like
Version 2.0.8
Piman
08 February 2010
I'm glad I finally found this application. I've been needing something like this for a long time, and it has simplified my message organization considerably. I'm very very happy.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Dmw
22 November 2009
Fixed now! Thanks. I use this app every day to help me organize my mail.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Dmw
21 November 2009
I really like this plug-in, but unfortunately it is broken again with 10.6.2.
Like
Version 2.0.6
TomEck
11 September 2009
Still my favourite to file emails. For me it is nearly a solution of striking simplicity. Thanks to the developer for keeping this little nice app up-to-date (you may find a OS 10.6.1 compatible version on his website).
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
gcoghill
07 August 2009
Great little utility app. Been demoing with no issues on 10.5.7. See SJK's comment below for features I too would like to see added.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
sjk
31 July 2008
A couple things would make this plug-in even more useful: - Recent Items history - Ability to switch to the last previously selected mailbox The latter might be implemented as a subset of the former.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
7 answer(s)
gcoghill
gcoghill
07 August 2009
Agreed.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
gcoghill
gcoghill
14 August 2009
I dropped an email to the developer about these features and he agreed they are good ideas and put them on the feature to-do list. However, he is currently working to make his app ready for 10.6, seems Apple changed the way Mail plugins work.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
gcoghill
gcoghill
14 August 2009
Oh, and I also requested a feature for "most used" sorting, where the most-accessed mailboxes "float" to the top of the results list. It's on the to-do features as well.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
sjk
sjk
14 August 2009
. > I dropped an email to the developer about these features and he agreed they are good ideas and put them on the feature to-do list. Thanks. I'd posted them on his blog (http://www.tow.com/2008/10/16/msgfiler-versus-mail-act-on-20/#comment-194303) a few months after here. > and I also requested a feature for "most used" sorting, where the most-accessed mailboxes "float" to the top of the results list. Seems like a potentially superior variation of my "recently used" suggestion. Glad to know at least a couple of us still using and interested in MsgFiler. :)
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
TomEck
TomEck
14 August 2009
@SJK Don't worry - there are more than you both who still prefer to use MsgFiler. I have emailed Adam some suggestions some month ago as well. One of my favourite is the ability to create new folders from MsgFiler. Hopefully Adam can implement all of our suggestions and get MsgFiler ready for 10.6 soon. Cheers!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
gcoghill
gcoghill
14 August 2009
This plugin is a must-have for us keyboard jockeys :)
Like
Version 2.0.3
sjk
sjk
15 August 2009
No worries here, tomeck. :) Thanks for the brief chit-chat, guys.
Like
Version 2.0.3
TomEck
11 January 2008
MsgFiler is a handy complement to Mail Act-On. I have a lot of folders (because I have to sort my emails for history reasons) and it isn't convenient to set for all of them a rule or Mail Act-On rule. I use Mail Act-On for my most important and daily used folders, but I love to use MsgFiler for infrequently used folders or for folders with many sub-folders. The search engine works great and really fast. You can use multiple search terms, part of words or navigate trough a list of strikes via the up and down arrow keys. Simple and good. In addition, MsgFiler allows you easy to find and open any of your folders (Apple+O), if you need to have a look of your old emails. Ultimately, Adam (the developer) is very responsive if you have any queries and interested in suggestions. MsgFiler as a full integrated Mail plug-in is for me one of my “must have”…
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
TomEck
28 December 2007
I was interested in MsgFilter a long time, but did not install it because it was an extra application. I use and like Mail Act-On, but I have to much folders, and only define the most important folders with a short-cut. Now MsgFilter is integrated in Mail as a plug-in, and at my first impression it seems to be a good complement to Mail Act-On.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Macnews
Macnews
28 December 2007
Does it work in Leopard?
Like
Version 2.0
Macnews
Macnews
28 December 2007
Sorry -- I meant Mail Act-On
Like
Version 2.0
sjk
sjk
28 December 2007
Mail Act-On for Leopard
Like
Version 2.0
Lewinvt
28 December 2007
Why would I want to use this plug-in when I can setup rules in Mail to do filing automatically? Seem like a step back to me.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
TomEck
TomEck
28 December 2007
I don't think so. If you received a lot of e-mails from different senders it is helpful to sort them manually; to create every time a rule is sometimes more time-consuming and often you never need this rule again.
Like (1)
Version 2.0