Back to Deeper page
Deeper free download for Mac

Deeper Reviews

2.5.0
16 November 2019

Enable hidden features in macOS.

hmfwic47
10 May 2019

Most helpful

This apps items are contained in Onyx. So, no sense using Deeper.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.3

Read 44 Deeper User Reviews

Rate this app:

hmfwic47
10 May 2019
This apps items are contained in Onyx. So, no sense using Deeper.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.3
2 answer(s)
Titanium Software
Titanium Software
03 June 2019
It was a request of many users in 2004. They wanted an application only to turn on/turn off the hidden functions, without all the other functions of OnyX. ;-)
Like (2)
Mcr
Mcr
06 June 2019
@hmfwic47 - There is absolutely a reason for having Deeper and Onyx both. I have folks (family, friends, workers, employees) that I am comfortable with showing them how to turn off/on functions. BUT would NOT be comfortable with them using other functions of Onyx, some of which in the hands of anyone not knowing what they are doing, can be harmful. Sometimes you have to protect people from themselves. You/we should be all grateful that the developer has been willing to take the time to maintain both and give users the option.
Like (1)
hmfwic47
23 January 2019
I d/l what I thought was 2.40 from MacUpdate. Doing get info showed 2.3.3. Also, when trying to open it, it said "I needed High Sierra 10.13."
Like
Version 2.4.0
1 answer(s)
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
23 January 2019
I did a Full Disk Access as the developer's web page said and the app worked.

I also added "Maintenance" and "Onyx" as the developer page said.
Like
hmfwic47
24 September 2018
It does not run under Mojave 10.14. It asks for High Sierra.
Like
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
tx517
tx517
16 October 2018
The app is macOS version specific. For Mojave, you should use the appropriate version.
Like
staceylmosaons
14 May 2018
The app is good.
Like
Version 2.2.9
Jess-MacUpdate
02 February 2018
If you have installed-and-run Deeper since 1 February 2018, please note that we have investigated a suspicious link to a Deeper update posted and found it to be malicious - we have removed the link. You may need to follow these steps to remove a bitcoin miner which hacked version of Deeper. • Delete any copies of the above titles you might have installed. • Download and install fresh copies of the titles. • In Finder, open a window for your home directory (Cmd-Shift-H). • If the Library folder is not displayed, hold down the Option/Alt key, click on the "Go" menu, and select "Library (Cmd-Shift-L)". • Scroll down to find the "mdworker" folder (~/Library/mdworker/). • Delete the entire folder. • Scroll down to find the "LaunchAgents" folder (~/Library/LaunchAgents/). • From that folder, delete "MacOS.plist" and "MacOSupdate.plist" (~/Library/LaunchAgents/MacOS.plist and ~/Library/LaunchAgents/MacOSupdate.plist). • Empty the Trash. • Restart your system.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.7
1 answer(s)
Trail-Walker
Trail-Walker
05 February 2018
Do an online search for "New Mac cryptominer distributed via a MacUpdate hack"
Like (1)
Robert D.
31 March 2017
I don't find this app very useful.
Like
Version 2.1.8
Steinar-Helgesen
22 September 2016
Beware this update is for El Capitan NOT MacOS Sierra.
Like
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
22 September 2016
http://www.titanium.free.fr/deeper.html
Like
Sanjinko
05 June 2016
Deeper 2.1.2 is out today: http://www.titanium.free.fr/release_deeper.html
Like
Version 2.1.1
hmfwic47
22 October 2015
I have Deeper 2.0.2 installed. I just installed OS X 10.11.1. When I went to run Deeper today it told me I must have OS X 10.10. I imagine a new Deeper version will be coming out.

I installed 2.1.0 from HIPPEMAN's URL below. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Hippeman
14 October 2015
v2.1.0 is out: http://joel.barriere.pagesperso-orange.fr/download/1011/Deeper.dmg
Like
Version 2.0.2
Seedy
16 September 2015
Great app, thanks to Titanium.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Neal
06 April 2015
When I last looked at Deeper it seemed to offer no more in the way of revealing hidden functions as ONYX itself. Has this changed? Is this required if one has ONYX?
Like
Version 1.9.8
3 answer(s)
Dlawhon
Dlawhon
17 May 2015
No. Deeper only contains the features found in the Parameters toolbar item in OnyX. So, if you're using OnyX, then you won't find any additional benefit to using Deeper.
Like (1)
BobMcKenzie7543
BobMcKenzie7543
13 July 2015
Why does this say 2.0.0 but 1.9.9 when installed?
Like
Dlawhon
Dlawhon
13 July 2015
The version I downloaded through MacUpdate shows Version 2.0.0 in the Finder, in the Info box, and in the About box. I'd suggest downloading it again to see if that resolves the issue for you.
Like
Caiyne
26 March 2015
I downloaded this app based on its reviews and the date of its last release, which compared to the other apps in the same category, seemed like one of the best ones. Although from this site, there aren't too many others that it compares to, being that it was free made it the top choice to try out. Shortly after to my surprise, I saw how much it looked nearly exactly like Onyx - my fault for not paying attention to the developer of the app. Already being a user of the Onyx app for a few years, I was also surprised simply for not being aware of this app. After checking the tabs and the various features it showed, I quickly uninstalled it, since it pretty much seemed like Onyx but lighter maybe, or rather the same thing but not as many features that Onyx does. To be fair, however, I didn't give it much attention and time to check it out further than I did, so I might be wrong in my opinion of this app. That being said, if it is really just a light version of Onyx, I cannot honestly know where to begin what to question about it. Just to name a few things, why is it given high ratings, why does it even exist (it would make sense if it was called something like Onyx Lite for example), why are both apps free. Who doesn't love free apps especially when theyre solid and good at what they do, so please don't get me wrong on that point. I am just feeling confused on this app on many levels. In my opinion, Onyx is more of a maintenance app, however it does several other nice things as well. But for my own use, it's always been for maintenance purposes and when it comes to using an app that does "reveals hidden features of the OS", I totally think of different types of apps as that is something different all together. I know other similar apps like to do both things as well, but they do a better job at separating maintenance stuff and hidden features stuff. I just think that both purposes should not be included in the same app which is going beyond the scope of my comment. I love Onyx and it's always been free. I've never had any issues with it as a maintenance tool, but as for Deeper, if they are equally good it's not enough for me to feel right giving high ratings for both. So I recommend going with Onyx and staying away from Deeper.
Like
Version 1.9.7
3 answer(s)
Titanium1
Titanium1
01 June 2015
One star for that?? Thanks! :-/
There are not maintenance and cleaning operations in Deeper!
You can read on the official web site:

OnyX is the main application. The Maintenance and Deeper applications are parts of OnyX. Maintenance is similar to the OnyX Automation pane, and Deeper is similar to the OnyX Parameters pane.

Then if you use OnyX, the Maintenance and the Deeper applications are redundant!
Like (9)
Chas-m
Chas-m
15 September 2015
Giving one star to an app when you simply don't understand what it does or why someone would want it is REALLY poor form, and shows a distinct lack of respect for the developer. The simple answer to why Deeper (and Maintenance) exist is because not everyone needs every feature of OnyX, or wants to plow through its detailed interface to do one or two simple maintenance jobs. Think of them as "lighter" versions.

I really do think sometimes that too many advanced users have no idea that they are a tiny minority compared to casual users, and that non-power users dislike/won't use something they perceive as complex.
Like (5)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
23 September 2015
I feel sorry for you for wasting all that time to write the 1/2 star review, when the only line that make sense in your review is "my fault for not paying attention to the developer of the app".
Like (3)
Fking
18 October 2014
today's version (18 october) apparently DOES work with mavericks, but def not yosemite. hopefully we'll see that soon...
Like
Version 1.9
Wade-Smith
02 January 2014
This version not only works with 10.9, it is also the first utility I am aware of (and this includes the very recent update of MacPilot) that allows login window background changes. Now, if only someone could hack the Dock and bring back total transparency....
Like (3)
Version 1.8.1
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
28 March 2014
Onyx can do that. In the Parameters→Login tab there are options to change and restore the login background AND the logo (apple). You can also create a message to be displayed during login.
Like (1)
Mike-Ryan
23 October 2013
This version DOES NOT WORK with Mavericks. Will someone please release a dock utility that will remove the ridiculous dock shelf so the app icons float freely and we can easily see the small lights of those apps running? As it stands now you can't figure out what is running and what isn't because the shelf gets in the way.
Like (6)
Version 1.7.0
6 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
27 October 2013
How I agree with you. Especially on Mavericks the dock is so light and the icons are pretty light and the "running" white LED is darn near invisible.
Like (1)
Arkham6
Arkham6
02 January 2014
OK, but it's that a reason to give a one star rating?
Like (15)
MichaelM3902
MichaelM3902
16 February 2014
If you ut the dock on the right side, there is no shelf and the lights are more visible. Besides the screen real estate is very valuable at the bottom but the side is less used.
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
18 May 2014
Totally agree - Titanium Software did a terrible job designing the Dock in Mavericks.
Like
MickD1869
MickD1869
08 June 2014
Get cDock, it's free and works with Mavericks.
Like
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
20 July 2014
Tjhe fact that Deeper does not precisely fit your expectations is NOT a reason to mark by a star. Those stars refer to functionality of a given app, they do NOT reflect things you expect that app to do, but it does not. If none has found what you wish means that either they are incompetent (i.e. the rest of software developers) or that that function is not useful for a sufficient number of people; or, at last, that this is very difficult to achieve. In any of these cases, one star is not the correct reaction, if I am allowed.
Like (2)
MaxWilders
10 March 2013
I am confused. What is the difference between this and Onyx?
Like (3)
Version 1.6.5
2 answer(s)
Titanium1
Titanium1
19 May 2013
Hi, Please, just read the home page... Deeper: enable/disable hidden functions Maintenance: maintenance and cleaning OnyX: Deeper + Maintenance + more functions =)
Like (7)
Titanium1
Titanium1
19 May 2013
If you use OnyX, Deeper is useless. Deeper is similar to the Parameters panel of OnyX.
Like (7)
Titanium1
02 March 2013
I would like to reproduce this bug ... but it works with me. :-/ A volunteer to help me fix this (check modified version of Deeper)?
Like
Version 1.6.3
5 answer(s)
Iiivan
Iiivan
03 March 2013
Both release of v 163 going totally nuts and create folder : /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/CoreUI.framework/Versions/A/Resources/sartfiles and this folder contain hundreds and hundreds of files .pdf and png., and longer you let program to hang more of those files. Rest is same as everybody reporting, And I did clean all files created by Deeper. OS 1082 MacPro
Like
Sanchai
Sanchai
03 March 2013
Count me in. Rdey to help you ram out the bug
Like
Titanium1
Titanium1
03 March 2013
The sartfiles folder is the SArtFile.bin file decoded. This folder contents the images of the background in the login window. =) Deeper (and OnyX) deletes this folder when quitting. Thanks Sanchai, please contact me by email... =)
Like
Younkint
Younkint
04 March 2013
So, can this folder " /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/CoreUI.framework/Versions/A/Resources/sartfiles " be safely deleted?
Like
Titanium1
Titanium1
04 March 2013
Yes younkint, you can delete the /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/CoreUI.framework/Versions/A/Resources/sartfiles folder... but Deeper (and OnyX) automatically delete it when quitting the application. =)
Like (1)
Gazman
01 March 2013
I have just downloaded the new version. It keeps telling me that I have entered my name or password incorrectly (even though I've triple-checked and tried both my short name and long name) and then gets stuck on reading parameters. The program never opens properly and has to be force quit.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.3
9 answer(s)
Titanium1
Titanium1
01 March 2013
Thanks for the info... Changes in this version when running Deeper... Try to delete the preferences file (com.titanium.Deeper.plist) and retry...
Like
Sixbillships
Sixbillships
01 March 2013
Same problem happening for me, too. Deleted the .plist and other remnants using an app uninstaller but the issue remains.
Like (2)
ostrichtom
ostrichtom
02 March 2013
I had the same problem. I deleted the .plist as well as other ancilary Deeper files and restarted the MacBook Pro (10.8.2). Still keeps telling me my password is incorrect. Something is evidently wrong with this version.
Like (2)
umaromc
umaromc
02 March 2013
Same problem here.
Like
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
02 March 2013
No problem here. I'm running 10.8.2.
Like
pnn314
pnn314
02 March 2013
Same problem!!!
Like (1)
Bschappel
Bschappel
02 March 2013
I have the same problem. I deleted the Prefs and get the error. I then put on 1.6.2 and did the Uninstall from the Deeper menu and 1.6.3 still won't run.
Like (1)
umaromc
umaromc
02 March 2013
Is it possible the only people not having problems are running as root?
Like (1)
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
02 March 2013
Sorry. My bad. I was still running 1.6.2. I get the exact same problem Gazman described when I run 1.6.3.
Like (1)
Sanchai
01 March 2013
Deeper 1.6.3 is not working on my Macbook Pro with Retina display running OSX 10.8.2. When I enter my admin password, Deeper 1.6.3 do not accept to, and a dialog [p[ u[ stated that the password or username is not correct. ANd it just stop working. Deeper 1,6.2 has no problem, and the log in is fine. So I have to revert to 1.6.2. Fix please this is a bug!!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.3
2 answer(s)
Titanium1
Titanium1
01 March 2013
Thanks for the report... Please, try to delete the old preferences file (com.titanium.Deeper.plist in your Library/Preferences folder) and retry...
Like
Sanchai
Sanchai
03 March 2013
Done so, both delete plist and remove version 1.6.2, the bug is still there. It stated my password or username incorrect and stop working. I have to force quit Deeper, and revert to 1.6.2 Fix please
Like
Jeff-H-
04 February 2013
Bravo GianMarco-Tavazzani.
Like
Version 1.6.2
GianMarco-Tavazzani
15 January 2013
Beside the annoying need to use a password (my choice, not their business!!!!!), I must admit that it's more complete than TinkerTool.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.1
8 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
02 February 2013
wow. Just, wow. You're rigorously diligent lack of comprehension of security is simply stunning. Accolades. And I bet when you use a password it's probably 'password'.
Like (2)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
02 February 2013
I'm a nuclear engineer and don't confuse the words 'security' with 'secrecy'. And I'm a democrat and scientist, which means that I try to have as few secrets as I can. My doorstep is ever open, as I'd like that any friend knows he's welcome, either I'm in or not; bolting the door can keep out only friends, thieves will ever be clever enough to come in, if there is a good reason to do it, which is my case because: I ALSO TRY TO OWN THE... "BARE NECESSITY". One thing more: I'm not a paranoid, which would make my life a hell. It's more than a choice, a lifestyle; it's a vision of a society 'without a gun in any pocket', which seems to be unthinkable by people who are still back in the times before the Metric System, have the death penalty, make their president swore with empty words like 'god' and allow creationists to corrupt the mind of their own next generation.
Like (5)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
04 February 2013
Bravo GianMarco-Tavazzani! Clouded minds seem to have the loudest voices on the net.
Like (3)
Cgc
Cgc
10 February 2013
Wow, GianMarco-Tavazzani. Sorry to hear you're a Democrat but being a "nuclear engineer" means nothing regarding your wisdom or intelligence. It simply means you passed some courses in college. Anyone of average intelligence could have done this so please get off your high horse and listen to the "normal people" who may be abler to help or clear things up for you. BTW, a little humility will search you well in life.
Like (3)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
11 February 2013
Dear... Cgc (bah... an explosion of courage, seems). I hope by heart that you are the only one here around who couldn't understand my sentence: "I'm a nuclear engineer and don't confuse the words 'security' with 'secrecy'.", which needed an average intelligence, I believed and still believe. In any case, for who, like you, is under this average level (it happens to the not democrats (why did you capitalize the adjective?) I would like to underline that we nuclear engineer must understand the difference between security and secrecy for the safety of the people. Just to add something less banal to this boring repeating of something obvious for anyone with an average intelligence, I'd like to attract your attention to the fact that 'secrecy' is in most of the case a huge problem for the safety. Why? Ask people with an average intelligence and democrats, they nows it very well!
Like (2)
Cgc
Cgc
11 February 2013
"Democrat" is not an adjective, it is a noun, and I capitalized it out of respect for the Democratic party, even though I dislike their beliefs. I think that in public forums, there is no need to throw around occupations to validate yourself. It gives off the appearance of arrogance or presents an "I'm better than you" attitude. Generally, people here try to be helpful so I disliked your arrogant attack, but if that was not your intent, I apologize. I believe I am of above average intelligence but that's not saying much nowadays is it? In any case, this has nothing to do with intelligence but rather it has everything to do with how people present themselves on the Internet. I understand the difference between "secrecy' and "security" so not sure where you going. I prefer to not continue this discussion but hope there is no ill will as my intentions were to provide support to the two folks (e.g. Virtualruffy and Jeff H.) who I felt were being bullied. Hope you have a nice day...
Like (3)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
12 February 2013
@Cgc: I appreciate highly your good intentions, dear, here and in general to collaborate as I do, trough my ignorance and average intelligence. (to become democrat - adjective noun referring to a vision started in Athen - and to become an Italian nuclear engineer, more than a special intelligence, what is needed are good teachers, books, time and patience. IF, despite this, someone stays 'believer' (just to make a clear example of someone who didn't understand nothing of what he could understand applying meditation on data) and don't understands evolution and that his brain is just a biochemical computer, then something went wrong in his education or, may be, their are some brain structural limits, a genetical difference or an early 'castration' done by the childhood abuse inducted by conservative environments). Where I'm going pointing the difference between security and secrecy... is a very deep topic which deserves a better place than this one to be discussed, I'm sure we're agreeing on this. Thanks for your kindness and have my appreciation for your sincere efforts.
Like (2)
Pirx
Pirx
02 March 2013
Yeah, it can be annoying if you have an excessively long password..... The password requirement, IMHO, is (a) for users who are not admins, to prevent them from messing with mission critical files and/or to prevent them from installing software unauthorised and (b) for admins to remind them that they are making substantial changes to the system, possibly including changes to mission-critical parts of the system that were originally not meant to be messed with. I had a case with a theme years ago, that after installation rendered the system completely unusable, including in safe mode. I had to ssh into the computer from another machine and do a manual clean-up through the command line. Hours of work, but successful. Every time I make changes to my system the password prompt reminds me of that, my Pearl Harbour. So, IMHO, there is a solid case and a good purpose behind the password prompt. This has nothing to do with substandard IQ, general incompetence, democracy, open-door policy, self-righteousness or arrogance.
Like (2)
Foulger
01 January 2013
Very well written and thought out application using the minimum size. Suitable for use by even a rank amateur.
Like (4)
Version 1.6.1
Full Score
01 January 2013
I have never understood why it requires you to enter an admin password. I leave mine blank for general use, but opening OnyX, Maintenance and Deeper is impossible without logging out and re-booting the Mac as the Administrator with an assigned password. I should be able to use these apps without all this hassle. If I've designated myself to be "Admin" in the Users & Groups preferences, this should be sufficient "security". A poor oversight which mitigates against using these three apps.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.1
7 answer(s)
Kenm22
Kenm22
01 January 2013
No need to reboot.
Like
Titanium1
Titanium1
01 January 2013
Same comment (OnyX), same response... An administrator have not all the rights!! Only root! =) You speak "sufficient security" but don't set a password is not a very good idea...
Like (4)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
14 January 2013
I agree fully! I still remember like in a recurring nightmare the day when MY MAC started to pretend that I was a pretender with 'privileges'! THAT'S NOT WHAT WE WERE when we started the riot against IBM in 1984!!! 'Privileges' and passwords belongs to a spoiled and corrupted fascist mentality, good for the C.I.A. (where 'I' stays for 'intelligence', but fortunately 'intelligence' lost its meaning once grabbed out from Latin to English, as the C.I.A. itself shows so evidently by many decades!), good for micro and soft brains, not for us beside some really rare cases and limited times, just the needed one to let understand that 'destroy is easy and quick, rebuild is long and hard'! (Ok, explaining it to some g.w.bush may need some more time, I give it!).
Like
Dualie
Dualie
02 February 2013
@GianMarco-Tavazzani - What? I agree that being forced to use a password on a closed, private network is the work of the devil (or more specifically, Apple). However, I do agree that a Mac that is connected directly to the internet, not behind a firewall, should require an admin password. I further do NOT agree that it is the developer's place to lecture users about what is a good or not good idea.
Like
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
02 February 2013
Everyone of you whining about having to use a password -and not understanding why you have to- represent why one is needed. And if you don't understand that -and I expect you don't- you really don't belong in the digital age. Are you really so ignorant and inept that you cannot understand even the concept of security? I deal with people like you all the time. Everyone of you incredulous at how someone got all of your financial data, accounts and email off of your computer (that has no password and automatically logs your account in) and now your identity is stolen, your credit cars are overcharged -boo fricking hoo!. Your childish and downright stupid behaviour does nothing but create problems for yourselves and everyone else. You further add to the stereotype that mac users are stupid and don't know anything about security. "wah we didnt need a password for OS 9! Bring back the good old days!" And you attack the developer for responsibly enforcing security with their program!!?! JESUS F(&^%^ing CHRIST! Look around you at the cyber crime going on and GROW UP! I'm infuriated by your belief in some ivory tower fairytale land fantasy world like some luddite unable to come to terms with the changing world around you. I have no patience or tolerance for your kind of foolishness and blatant idiocy.
Like (3)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
02 February 2013
I'm a nuclear engineer and don't confuse the words 'security' with 'secrecy'. And I'm a democrat and scientist, which means that I try to have as few secrets as I can. My doorstep is ever open, as I'd like that any friend knows he's welcome, either I'm in or not; bolting the door can keep out only friends, thieves will ever be clever enough to come in, if there is a good reason to do it, which is my case because: I ALSO TRY TO OWN THE... "BARE NECESSITY". One thing more: I'm not a paranoid, which would make my life a hell. It's more than a choice, a lifestyle; it's a vision of a society 'without a gun in any pocket', which seems to be unthinkable by people who are still back in the times before the Metric System, have the death penalty, make their president swore with empty words like 'god' and allow creationists to corrupt the mind of their own next generation.
Like
bbw7
bbw7
02 March 2013
Yeah, we get it that you're a nuclear engineer and believe in open/back-door free-love and whatever, but do you understand that the password protection is for your own benefit? It keeps you from haphazardly making a mistake to your system files that will cause you a world of grief, and it protects you from cyber evil doers who might sneak into your system and filch your private information and possibly reconfigure your system for their own nefarious ends. No paranoia or gun-toting macho mania here. Nothing pro-Bush or pro-Cheney about it either. And you're making way too much about the words "privileges" and "password" too. Holy semantic deconstructionism, Bat Man! What about that term "boot"? Clearly a thin-veiled reference to fascist jackbooted thugs.
Like (1)
Chachafance
21 November 2012
Works great for me. Easy to use and has some cool customization features. Couldn't ask for anything more.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.1b2
GeogProf
04 November 2012
I’m a longtime Onyx user and love this developer. But I’m lazy (and overworked), so I wonder if anyone is willing to inform me whether Deeper 1.6.1b1 does anything that Onyx 2.6.3 doesn’t do in Mountain Lion? Thanks to whoever is.
Like
Version 1.6.1b1
1 answer(s)
Titanium1
Titanium1
11 November 2012
Hi, No. If you use OnyX, Deeper is useless. =)
Like (2)
Acuraice
11 September 2012
why everyday is there some new version of these exact same utilities some for free some having the balls to charge for them?????? onyx and cocktail have been doing these tasks and much much more for years!! onyx is completely free and gets updated regularly and cocktail costs like $15. I mean cmon copycats...give it up!!!
Like
Version 1.6.0
5 answer(s)
Titanium1
Titanium1
29 October 2012
Deeper is a part of OnyX (same developer)!! Claimed by some users, a utility just to turn On/turn Off the hidden functions of OS X. =)
Like (5)
Penguirl
Penguirl
30 October 2012
Deeper is made by the same developer as Onyx: Deeper is a personalization utility for Mac OS X which allows you to enable and disable the hidden functions of the Finder, Dock, QuickTime, Safari, iTunes, login window, Spotlight, and many of Apple’s applications, and more. FYI, Maintenance is also by the Onyx developer: Maintenance is a System Maintenance and Cleaning utility for Mac OS X which allows you to run misc. tasks of system maintenance: repair permissions, run periodic scripts, reset Spotlight’s Index, rebuild the LaunchServices database, delete Application, Font and System cache, check the status of the hard disk, and more. It's Onyx split in half, don't have a cow man.
Like (4)
Acuraice
Acuraice
01 January 2013
of course -9 smilies!! screw you people on here!! anytime somebody says what you dont agree with you click the frown button!! total jerks!! my point was valid at the time since now they apparently listened and charge no fee for this useless app. and if it is made by the folks at onyx which is also free,why the hell make this useless app that onyx already does better????
Like
Penguirl
Penguirl
01 January 2013
To my knowledge, Deeper, Maintenance, and Onyx have always been free. I know for sure Onyx has been free since I started using it back in… Tiger? And since Onyx is Deeper + Maintenance and Onyx is free I can't imagine how they would charge for either Deeper or Maintenance which is just half of Onyx. BTW, they make Deeper and Maintenance for people who only want to customize OR maintain their Mac, not both. Since when is choice a bad thing?
Like (1)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
02 February 2013
Everytime you say something stupid you get more frowns. Hey, look! You're up to -275. You obviously say a lot of stupid things. I'm sure you'll hit a thousand by, oh, probably, the weeks end.
Like
darrel-2
10 September 2012
Version 1.4.8 is for Lion. Version 1.6.0 is for Mountain Lion.
Like
Version 1.4.8
effla
26 July 2012
Nice App! Wondering if it'll have support on Mountain Lion
Like
Version 1.4.7
Bluepolo
15 March 2012
is it just me, or are Deeper and Onyx super similar? http://www.hutsby.net/2012/03/curiously-similar-onyx-and-deeper.html
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
3 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
21 March 2012
Is there some reason any similarity between those apps, both from the same developer (Joel Barriere), matters to you or are you just mentioning it?
Like (3)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
21 March 2012
Even though their both by the same developer, and have some overlapping functions, Onyx is more of a maintenance utility and Deeper is more of a customization utility.
Like
sjk
sjk
26 March 2012
I agree with your maintenance vs. customization comparison of differences, Harristype. I thought Bluepolo was commenting on the UI, not functionality, similarities because of the link posted showing their screen images.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
29 February 2012
I agree. This is an excellent app, making it easy to customize the Mac and to manage your customizations. Certainly preferable to using the Terminal for the same kinds of tweaks.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
Mookzmom
28 February 2012
Many thanks to the developer for his work on these great tools! I've never had any problems with Deeper, and am pleased to say I've had it for a couple of years now!
Like
Version 1.4.4
Pripyat
12 August 2011
Good application! Just one request: Please don't ask me if I really want to quit Deeper. If I click on "Quit", I want to "Quit" it for real. Thanks!
Like (3)
Version 1.4.1
2 answer(s)
Titanium1
Titanium1
12 August 2011
=) ... Just go to the Deeper Preferences and uncheck the "When quitting Deeper: Display confirmation message" option in the Behavior tab. ;-)
Like (7)
Pripyat
Pripyat
13 August 2011
Thanks Titanium. It's just bugging me from a developer's perspective! :P
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
12 August 2011
Great, the Lion version is out.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Mtcobra
05 April 2011
Downloads from here result in ver. 1.2.9 (not 1.3.0), and the application itself reports that 1.2.9 is the latest version.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.0
1 answer(s)
Titanium1
Titanium1
06 April 2011
It's ok now... Sorry.
Like (2)
iminlalaland
15 January 2011
User-friendly and simply a joy to use. Looking forward to more updates.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.7
anonymous-snipe-117
19 September 2010
Should probably use the official apple method for obtaining sudo privs instead of asking for my password directly. At least that way I can be sure the dev isnt sending my password off to some secret email account (not that I distrust him, but it's the "safer" way to do it).
Like (10)
Version 1.2.4
Jazzyguy
16 September 2010
Quits on launch.Tried to launch it 4 times then gave up! Using MacbookPro,10.5.8 4GBof Ram
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
3 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
16 September 2010
OOPS! I just assumed it was for 10.5 !!! I see it is 10.6
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
16 September 2010
OOPS! I just assumed it was for 10.5 !!! I see it is 10.6
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
16 September 2010
BTW I tried the Leopard version and it is excellent!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
Francola
12 December 2007
Thank you for a great app! When I select to not verify disk images they are still being verified.
Like
Version 1.1
Tuishimi
07 November 2007
Great idea! I like the simplicity of it. I think separating the UI options from the maintenance utilities was a great idea.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.6
Titanium1
10 October 2006
Some users use OnyX just for the hidden functions. Deeper is for these users. ;-) Also, some others users use OnyX only for the maintenance. The application "Maintenance" is for these users. ;-) Sorry for my bad english...
Like (9)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Adinaligiaernest
Adinaligiaernest
19 August 2007
Mais vous écrivez très bien l'anglais, il ne faut pas t'en faire...
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Sissy_Princess
Sissy_Princess
26 December 2011
Okay, dear Doug, but maybe you should not be such a D|CK when the developer, who is not a native English speaker, has been so kind as to give away all of these fine programs at no charge. I managed to figure out how OnyX, Deeper, and Maintenance related to one another, so why were you having such difficulty?
Like (2)
Blackflag-s13
10 October 2006
Fyi, it's the same developer as Onyx... though I'm not sure why they'd make this... lighter app for just tweaks perhaps?
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Calle
09 October 2006
I don't really get why to put this in a package of its own when Onyx already does it nice and clean and for free as well. But I suppose there is a good reason.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Zc456
08 October 2006
O_O Saw the website, I stand corrected.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Heavy-shower
Heavy-shower
08 October 2006
tsk. you don't have wait for onyx's exceedingly slowww login window to open.
Like
Version 1.0