Back to LightZone page
LightZone free download for Mac

LightZone Reviews

4.1.9
21 November 2019

Photo editing based on traditional darkroom techniques.

cubanpete
29 April 2018

Most helpful

I love Lightzone. It has a nice and easy to use interface, and I use it a lot. Some features others don't have. I can't wait for the new version 5 coming in June. Thanks for this app.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1

Read 37 LightZone User Reviews

Rate this app:

antpijoan
29 December 2019
"The Lightzone application cannot be opened because the developer cannot be verified." Este es el mensaje que me sale al descargar la App.
Like
Version 4.1.9
cubanpete
29 April 2018
I love Lightzone. It has a nice and easy to use interface, and I use it a lot. Some features others don't have. I can't wait for the new version 5 coming in June. Thanks for this app.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1
Visible-Evidence
22 November 2016
This feels clunky and 1995 to me. I guess it does the job if you’re looking for a freebie. A light hand on the tools gets you better results as it’s easy for the image to fall apart if you push the pixels.
Like
Version 4.1.1
RogerKatz
12 May 2016
The latest version of LightZone is 4.1.5 (for Mavericks).
Like
Version 4.1.1
Derekcurrie
15 June 2015
Requires Java. As such, it has a Javaesque interface. But it is somewhat integrated into OS X as well, which is very helpful. Java?! Yes, Oracle ruined Java and made it into a whopping security hole. But Java is usually only dangerous to use over the Internet. So we should be fine using Java with LightZone.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1
Derekcurrie
15 June 2015
Requires Java. As such, it has a Javaesque interface. But it is somewhat integrated into OS X as well, which is very helpful. Java?! Yes, Oracle ruined Java and made it into a whopping security hole. But Java is usually only dangerous to use over the Internet. So we should be fine using Java with LightZone.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Moogan
18 April 2013
Lightzone has been open sourced, see http://lightzoneproject.org . Support for Macs, Linux and Windows. They are looking for Mac developers to help.
Like (1)
Version 3.9
privor
03 December 2011
so lightzone has been discontinued -- i am desperately trying to find an app / program that is similiar to lightzone. i am looking for a program that allows me to create vignettes around objects in the photograph and manipulate just that section of the photo. can someone please refer me to a program.
Like
Version 3.9
Moxiesozo
18 October 2011
Company is out of business. Software completely unavailable. Word on the street is that the founder/developer was hired by Apple. Too bad he killed the web site.
Like
Version 3.9
2 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
18 October 2011
Thanks for pointing that out! I've disabled the listing.
Like
Moogan
Moogan
18 April 2013
Lightzone has been open sourced, see http://lightzoneproject.org . Support for Macs, Linux and Windows. They are looking for Mac developers to help.
Like (1)
Chris-Reed
25 September 2011
Server not found. App no longer works. Buyer beware indeed.
Like (1)
Version 3.9
1 answer(s)
Dewd864
Dewd864
30 September 2011
I've used this infrequently for a few years now, and just discovered that it is no longer working for me either. Luckily I often keep older versions of software around (just for this kind of instance), and was able to get v. 3.8.5 running. But that's in Leopard - don't know about Lion.
Like
EndoLab
20 July 2011
« LightZone understands the technology of photography, so its users don't need to. » Can you explain it please, I don't know any photographers who do not understand the technology of photography. And : how can you make photo without a minimum of knowledges ?
Like
Version 3.9
Levelbest
12 June 2011
CAUTION - Buyer beware. Developers are non-responsive. First, this is a very nice little app. I have used it for a few years now. My registration went south from a computer issue and it said "to many licenses" and stopped working. I wrote cust svcs asked for help. Month later I wrote again. Reply: sorry but you don't have a current license. I replied with the current license that they supplied me with and which was still working on my laptop. No response. Wrote everyone in the company with an email address, CEO to tech. No responses at all from anyone, weeks went by. Stonewalled. I finally dug though my backed up files and found a way around the problem myself. Very bad, non-existent customer support, and worse, they knew there was a problem and chose to deal with it by ignoring the customer. Buyer beware.
Like (1)
Version 3.9
ojars-a
29 March 2011
Super!
Like
Version 3.9
Eveningclouds
14 August 2010
Don't the developers read the reviews here? That all the comments about crashing go unanswered really makes me worry about the usefulness of the program AND the responsiveness of tech support. Has anyone had any experience getting these crash issues resolved?
Like
Version 3.9
Levelbest
14 August 2010
Five Stars all the way! This is a fantastic app. It's a steal at the one day price, even the 7 day price. I first bought Lightroom V1 and bought Lightzone as a $100 (reduced from $150) bargain if you bought them at the same time. I have been confused about how to manage my photos so I ended up also buying, Bibble Pro and Photo Mechanic. All in all I would say, Lightzone has been a delight the whole way through. It's a bit weak on the cataloging side, IMHO, but it is always snappy and has some very cool image processing features. In short, Lightzone just works. Of course, I usually want to complicate things so I sometimes forget how simple Lightzone can be and that it really does make such a difference. It does. If I did it all over again I would just stick with Lightroom and upgrade that to V3 now, and keep Lightzone as well. You can use Lightzone as an external editor with Lightroom, or at least it used to be that way so I assume it is still that way.
Like
Version 3.9
Roberts2424
02 April 2010
I stand correct at $99 even though the listing here says $200. It would make it more difficult to go with Adobe Lightroom. Considering standards and adoption I would still have to crawl to Adobe's line but just with more pocketbook hurt.
Like
Version 3.9
Espiridion
02 April 2010
I think that the price has been $99.95 since version 3.8.5 Regarding 3.9, I was able to upgrade with no problems. I then browsed through multiple folders and was able to quickly look at hundreds of pictures. I quickly tried to edit one and also found no problems. It is just a bit slow on my old G5 PPC 2 GHz 10.5.8, but other than that I can't complain. Works great for my needs.
Like
Version 3.9
Mikaelf
02 April 2010
This "upgrade" crashed instantly and I can no longer browse images in folders. Only the first image in the folder will show up for viewing and editing....sigh. /Mikael
Like (1)
Version 3.9
Roberts2424
02 April 2010
Considering that Adobe Lightroom can be purchased for around $240 versus LightZone's $200 it's difficult to justify a non-Adobe product.
Like (1)
Version 3.9
Davidfreels
08 February 2010
If I could give Lightzone negative stars, I would. I first got LZ in a software bundle two or so years ago when I was running 10.4 with a G4 PB. I tried again when I upgraded to 10.5. It crashed upon every attempted launch, asking me if I wanted to reset the settings. I did. Still crashed. I now have an Intel MBP, and it does the same thing with v3.8.5. It's a piece of crap. They should pay me $200 for the time I've spent on this piece of junk. If it was freeware, I wouldn't waste my time or hard drive space to download it.
Like (5)
Version 3.8.5
2 answer(s)
Fairmeadow
Fairmeadow
02 April 2010
It appears that on start up it scans your home folder. Apparently, if the name of the home folder doesn't exactly match your user name, it crashes. I can run it from a guest account but not my own account. I had hoped that, as a known issue, this might have been resolved in the new release.
Like (1)
Version 3.9
Davidfreels
Davidfreels
03 April 2010
v3.9: Still a piece of crap. Never launches. It crashes with this message,"Unexpected failure Error starting Java virtual machine." There's no crash report log so it can't be reported to Apple or the developer(s)--whoever they are. Again, if I could make this zero stars, I'd make it zero stars.
Like (2)
Version 3.9
Felipe-Carral
08 December 2009
BEST Image Software EVER. I cannot recommend it more...
Like (1)
Version 3.8.5
Ep1curus
12 October 2009
OS X 10.5.8, Java Version 1.5.0_20, LightZone 3.8.2 This program crashed from initial launch. I have never installed this app before. Crash Reporter says "The application LightZone has unexpectedly quit". No other error message is given. Program has not successfully launched once. Reboots do not help either. Was thinking of getting this program with Toast Titanium Pro. This package retails for 150.00. Would you want to commit this much change on a program that will not even launch. I meet the system requirements. http://www.roxio.com/enu/products/toast/titanium/system-requirements.html If you are thinking of purchasing this, I would test the other programs as well. I did not. This is a deal killer. It would be very aggravating after dropping big coin and get this. It's their latest release too.
Like (3)
Version 3.8.2
Malago
28 September 2009
… installed Vs. 3.8.2; starting the app, get the message: Unexpected Failure - Error starting Java virtual machine; using OS 10.6.1, iMac 3.06 GHz;
Like (1)
Version 3.8.2
Hogaku
12 August 2009
The program seems very interesting but crashes and gets error messages. I have an early 2009 8 core Mac Pro running Mac OSX 10.5.8 Any help would be appreciated.
Like (2)
Version 3.8
siamlotus
09 May 2009
This is an outstanding image editing app. The "Relight" function has saved a few of my photos. Easy to use, a few "clicks" and it's done. Only downfall is the speed.
Like (1)
Version 3.7
Usber
03 April 2008
LZ is going to get better and better and the prize is falling - when I bought it first it was 235€ - and now it is in a realistic range. So buy it and be happy there are a lot of unique features.
Like
Version 3.5
Claude-Sapp
02 April 2008
Pros: -though not as full featured as Photoshop, but does what it does REALLY well -does what a photographer needs to do, not what a graphic artist needs to do - intuitive software, makes sense to Zone System users Cons: - a great addition to Photoshop, not a replacement - difficulty handling large files, seems more suitable to digicam users than persons who scan negs into large files for manipulation - needs tons of RAM, your computer will have a lot to do with how well the software functions
Like (1)
Version 3.5
alas!
02 April 2008
A really nice app, but if you need support, inquiries go unanswered. Check LightZone's Forum; others, there, have experienced this very problem.
Like (1)
Version 3.5
Bumbleb
02 November 2007
Hahaha, given my earlier review, I must now say that I'm now... A Lightzone user;-) I watched the Google Talk video given by Fabio and Uwe, on LIghtZone, and the relevance of selective editing, and the concepts behind LightZone. I tried it again, gave it a longer shot, and became hooked. Now, it ain't perfect. Its a JAVA-app. Meaning SLOW-app. And it ain't that stable either. It crash from time to time. But apart from that, I like it, I luv it.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Bumbleb
01 August 2007
I've tried giving LightZone a chance several times since it was launched a few years ago. I really wanna like it, but there's just not that moment of bliss happening... I shot film, but now digital. I don't get why it's oh so cool that LightZone is using an, imho, archaic way of working, now that I'm using a computer, and not standing in a darkroom. Zones? Bwah. What's the use in the digital realm? Nope... What I really need is a decent retouching and compositing package. But the spot-removal tool in both LightZone, LightRoom, Aperture, are all jokes. They are like red-eye removal - a tool for amateurs. I want dodge and burn and healing brush - not circular, but able to cope with irregular stuff like a single hair that mistakably goes in front of the models eye and nose. Removing such stuff can be a real pain, with a clone stamp tool, but Photoshops healing brush + a Wacom tablet does wonders... As is now, I need Photoshop. But Photoshop is also a lot else I don't need. I wish I will someday find a simplistic (fast and efficient = money) retouching tool... Amazing we have all these raw converter apps, and all these raw workflow apps, but not a single dedicated retouching app. I wonder why???
Like (1)
Version 3.0.5
Hangon
01 May 2007
Made for real photographers....the philosophy of this product can't be better.
Like (2)
Version 2.4
Planet
21 March 2007
Just tried the Lightzone demo on a 1,24 Ghz G4 with 1,2 GB RAM and it's dead slow. Its basic approach sounds very interesting, but after some days of testing it seems to be alike Extensis Intellihance - a tool for people without any experience in Photoshop, and a annoying slow one.
Like
Version 2.3
Abraham-Irawan
24 January 2007
I just test it and this application is awesome zoning feature, all other are great too, but i need a color channel mixer, not just black and white channel mixer the minus is: it's really SLOW and EAT RESOURCE
Like
Version 2.1.1
Nick-Wright
22 December 2006
I recently purchased the LightZone-RT image editor from LightCrafts. There is not a page here at MacUpdate for RT so I figured I'd post my review here. The two programs are very similar and my comments ought to apply to either one. I wish that I could rate this product a 5 overall because there are a few issues with my program (which is still in its 1.something stage). But the program itself is wonderful. I am a professional photographer. I am not a computer tech. I've used PhotoShop for many years because there hasn't been any other choice. I used PhotoShop and got acceptable results all while having only the very slightest idea as to how the program worked. LightZone, on the other hand, speaks the language I know, photography. It displays the tool and the information about the photograph that I need to know in order to properly use the tool in photographic terms -- tonal zones. If you're a computer tech, or you like your numbers and pixels, etc., then by all means stick with PhotoShop. But if you're a photographer who sees photos as tones, this program is wonderful. Like I said, there are some issues that are being worked on in my RT version 1.whatever, but overall it works very well and the company is actively working on the issues (I've emailed them several times with questions). And the interface is very different. If you've been using PS for a while expect to spend a bit of time learning the program.
Like
Version 2.0.5
B3nj4m
29 September 2006
It's java. It's slow. The interface is somewhat attractive, but not very functional. A large speed increase might make it worth $150...
Like (1)
Version 2.0b2
Ohericord
28 September 2006
java , java, java......slow , slow , slow. but very nice.... make me feel i'm back in the darkroom.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
New-User
20 July 2006
Considering the price point, I was expecting this to be a professional application aimed at the Apple Aperture crowd. And then I used the program and discovered it's a Java program (need I say more?). And unfortunately it holds up to all the stereo-types we've come to associate with Java. The editing interface is actually well done. But the whole program is slow, the controls aren't totally mac-like and the interface for navigating your photo directories is very poor. I'm sure the developers know what they need to do to improve this program.
Like (1)
Version 1.5