Back to Transmission page
Transmission free download for Mac

Transmission Reviews

24 May 2020

Popular BitTorrent client.

How would you rate Transmission?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Albabe
Albabe
Mar 28 2021
3.00
1.0
Mar 28 2021
1.0
Version: 3.00
Much too Buggy in Mojave...
Mcr
Mcr
Mar 24 2021
3.00
1.0
Mar 24 2021
1.0
Version: 3.00
I was a LONG time Transmission user, from when it was really the only game in town. Version 3 is simply too unstable on macOS Mojave and later (IMHO), especially with any more than 3 downloads at a time. TM also would not utilize the full bandwidth pipe of 500 Mbs+ that I have, not even close, 200 Mbs tops. I switched to using qBittorrent on Mac and Windows 3 years ago and haven't looked back. qBittorrent is also free, no adware or spyware (just make sure you get direct from the developer's site.). qBittorrent is extremely stable, uses my full bandwidth pipe and no issues with simultaneous downloads; I can easily have 8 downloads going at once with over a 100 connections, using 450 Mbps of bandwidth.
Leesa
Leesa
Mar 8 2021
3.00
0.0
Mar 8 2021
0.0
Version: 3.00
Does anyone use the "Nightly" Versions from transmissionbt.com? I have some problems with the basic 3.0 Version and Transmission is likely not going to post any updates to it until they get to 4.0.
dogwithsocks
dogwithsocks
Nov 22 2020
3.00
0.0
Nov 22 2020
0.0
Version: 3.00
I have been using Transmission for years and love it. But after I updated to Big Sur it eventually (after a few or several hours) crashes the system (forcing my computer to reboot). Does anyone experience the same?
Winco
Winco
Jul 10 2020
3.00
5.0
Jul 10 2020
5.0
Version: 3.00
It's free. It's lightweight on RAM. It has been updated. It has dark mode...finally. Still one of the best available.
Albabe
Albabe
Jul 8 2020
3.00
1.0
Jul 8 2020
1.0
Version: 3.00
"Transmission can’t be updated if it’s running from the location it was downloaded to." WTF? What does that even mean?
EdU6660
EdU6660
Jul 5 2020
3.00
5.0
Jul 5 2020
5.0
Version: 3.00
The best
cubanpete
cubanpete
Jul 2 2020
3.00
5.0
Jul 2 2020
5.0
Version: 3.00
✯ ✯ ✯ Works great on Mojave 10.14.6. No problems. Best app! Thanks ✯ ✯ ✯
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
Jun 26 2020
3.00
5.0
Jun 26 2020
5.0
Version: 3.00
Love it! Version 3.00 works great for me. It no longer hangs for a while and cranks up my processor when I close it, like v. 2.94 sometimes did. Otherwise, the only difference I can find is Dark Mode, which I appreciate.
Albabe
Albabe
Jun 18 2020
3.00
1.0
Jun 18 2020
1.0
Version: 3.00
I'm having lotsa problems with this most recent release. Half the times I try to Quit it, it Hangs and Beachballs... and after 10 Minutes I'll try to force Quit it, which makes the client disappear, but leaves it Open in the Dock which won't let me Reboot my Computer. So I have to Force a Shutdown. Mojave on a 2010 Mac Pro.
Spudboy
Spudboy
May 30 2020
3.00
5.0
May 30 2020
5.0
Version: 3.00
So glad it is back. I can ditch all the other programs I was using.
Albabe
Albabe
May 23 2020
2.94
1.0
May 23 2020
1.0
Version: 2.94
There is a Brand New Version of Transmission available... finally. 3.00 Has anyone tried it, or has everyone stopped using Transmission?
becerrilh771
becerrilh771
Dec 29 2019
2.94
5.0
Dec 29 2019
5.0
Version: 2.94
becerrilh68@gmail.com
Albabe
Albabe
Aug 5 2019
2.94
1.0
Aug 5 2019
1.0
Version: 2.94
I love this Client. It's simple and works great... and I know it's all done for Free... but it gets updated so infrequently, and then there was the Malware thing... So, anyone know of a good simple Torrent Client?
Zoofuzz
Zoofuzz
Dec 3 2018
2.94
5.0
Dec 3 2018
5.0
Version: 2.94
Used it for years. Very pleased.
andystenn212
andystenn212
Jun 6 2018
14714.2.94
5.0
Jun 6 2018
5.0
Version: 14714.2.94
Amazing
Brian Kendig
Brian Kendig
May 7 2018
2.94
0.0
May 7 2018
0.0
Version: 2.94
Ever since this app was hit with malware twice last year, I am very wary of downloading a copy any way other than through the app's autoupdater. But when I use "Check for Update..." in 2.92, it downloads the 2.94 update then tells me "Update Error! An error occurred while extracting the archive. Please try again later." According to https://github.com/transmission/transmission/issues/600 the autoupdater doesn't work on Sierra and High Sierra. What's going on here?
Leesa
Leesa
May 2 2018
2.92
0.0
May 2 2018
0.0
Version: 2.92
MacUpdate needs a button so "We" can tell them when a Version of some Client is out. You're Two versions behind, guys!
Albabe
Albabe
May 2 2018
2.92
1.0
May 2 2018
1.0
Version: 2.92
2.94 is out. Get on the ball, macupdate.
Andreore
Andreore
Mar 15 2018
2.92
5.0
Mar 15 2018
5.0
Version: 2.92
The best browser in IMHO. Very fast and stable, no privacy concerns, and a wide choice of plugins make it my favourite in this area.
siamlotus
siamlotus
Feb 27 2018
2.92
5.0
Feb 27 2018
5.0
Version: 2.92
Version 2.93 release notes : All Platforms : Fix CVE-2018-5702 Fix crash on handshake if establishing DH shared secret fails Fix crash when switching to next tracker during announcement Fix potential issue during password salt extraction in OOM situation Workaround glib_DEFUN- and glib_REQUIRE-related configuration issue Fix building against OpenSSL 1.1.0+ Mac Client : Fix uncaught exception when dragging multiple items between groups Don't hard-code libcrypto version to 0.9.8 in Xcode project
Albabe
Albabe
Feb 27 2018
2.92
1.0
Feb 27 2018
1.0
Version: 2.92
C'mon Transmission. It's been Two Years since you've updated this app, and most of us are still a bit paranoid since your last Update was hacked so some Jerk could Ransom Our Computers back to Us..

Do something to make us feel like you give a crap, please.
dklooney10
dklooney10
Feb 21 2018
2.92
0.0
Feb 21 2018
0.0
Version: 2.92
Looks really good, great job!
Max-G
Max-G
Jan 31 2018
2.92
0.0
Jan 31 2018
0.0
Version: 2.92
Now on v. 2.93 - https://transmissionbt.com/

But...

For me v. 2.92 was already problematic (i.e. low success in downloading), and now v. 2.93 appears not to be working at all.

Installed uTorrent which works flawlessly (beware of the adware it tries to install though!)

Probably the best BT-client now is BiglyBT.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jan 17 2018
2.92
5.0
Jan 17 2018
5.0
Version: 2.92
There is a DANGEROUS SECURITY FLAW in Transmission v2.9.2 and earlier. It's likely that this security hole is present in other BitTorrent clients as well. IOW: *DON'T USE THIS* until the patched version is released ! ! ! (0_0) More on the security hole: BitTorrent users beware: Flaw lets hackers control your computer “Low complexity” hack for Transmission client may work against other clients, too. https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2018/01/bittorrent-users-beware-flaw-lets-hackers-control-your-computer/
Albabe
Albabe
Aug 21 2017
2.92
1.0
Aug 21 2017
1.0
Version: 2.92
I think Transmission is still the best Torrent Client for Mac. It's really simple and offers all the Function I've ever needed. The odd Problem is that it's very rarely Updated. The last Version, 2.92, was released Over a Year ago even though there are many quasi-Upgrades in their Night Builds. Very odd.
Atalantia
Atalantia
Oct 4 2016
2.92
1.5
Oct 4 2016
1.5
Version: 2.92
Nice interface but crap engine. I wasted long time with this client until I found out that qbittorent connects much quicker and finds peers where Transmission doesn't find any.
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
Sep 9 2016
2.92
5.0
Sep 9 2016
5.0
Version: 2.92
Well, this was my favorite torrent client, but I simply can't trust it anymore. The first time was horrible. But a second time?
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
Sep 9 2016
2.92
5.0
Sep 9 2016
5.0
Version: 2.92
Well, this was my favorite torrent client, but I simply can't trust it anymore. The first time was horrible. But a second time?
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
Sep 1 2016
2.92
0.0
Sep 1 2016
0.0
Version: 2.92
MALWARE alter (again). Popular BitTorrent Client Transmission Gets Infected With Malware Again - http://gizmodo.com/mac-bittorrent-client-transmission-gets-infected-with-m-1785957214
Panicman
Panicman
Apr 17 2016
2.92
4.0
Apr 17 2016
4.0
Version: 2.92
Have been using Transmission since Snow Leopard and I've never had a problem. The program is Intuitive, and just plain works. I don't know about "bells & whistles", I only know I've had zero problems for the past 8 years using the program. I don't think I've ever had a crash.
Vyselegend
Vyselegend
Mar 8 2016
2.92
5.0
Mar 8 2016
5.0
Version: 2.92
transmission 2.92 - DO NOT INSTALL - BREAKS PERMISSIONS - Stalls reboot/breaks OS if executed A few hours after installing 2.92, my computer shut down without warning and when starting up, gave permissions errors about 'Security Agent can only be accessed by Apple software' - and wouldn't start up at all, forcing me to run permissions and disk repair checks via external drives until I could boot without T 2.92 running an active process. I know 2.92 was the issue because the problem shut down my OS with beach ball as I started up 2.92 again on a clean isntall. I remembered that 2.92 was to contain a script to eliminate the ransomware KeRanger and realized it might be working behind the scenes and causing a permissions/security issue. I realized T 2.92 was the issue and reverted back to 2.91, booted again and no problem this time.. 2.92 introduces its own security-breaching 'malware' to eliminate the ransomware packaged with 2.90 which can break your system entirely. Instead remove the 2.90 KeRanger malware using the manual methods outlined here: http://researchcenter.paloaltonetworks.com/2016/03/new-os-x-ransomware-keranger-infected-transmission-bittorrent-client-installer/
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Mar 7 2016
2.92
0.0
Mar 7 2016
0.0
Version: 2.92
The currently available Transmission 2.92 won't start in El Capitan for me.
Shk747
Shk747
Mar 7 2016
2.90
5.0
Mar 7 2016
5.0
Version: 2.90
ATTENTION: Read Immediately!!!! Everyone running 2.90 on OS X should immediately upgrade to and run 2.92, as they may have downloaded a malware-infected file. This new version will make sure that the “OSX.KeRanger.A” ransomware (more information available here) is correctly removed from your computer. Users of 2.91 should also immediately upgrade to and run 2.92. Even though 2.91 was never infected, it did not automatically remove the malware-infected file. Transmission 2.92
bobbbdzxx
bobbbdzxx
Mar 7 2016
2.90
0.5
Mar 7 2016
0.5
Version: 2.90
Gee I have heard of malware before but nothing tops this, Transmission does not even give you the change to Accept or Decline the RANSOMWARE. Indefensible.
Cyann
Cyann
Mar 7 2016
2.90
0.5
Mar 7 2016
0.5
Version: 2.90
New versions 2.90 to 2.92 are pieces of s...t. I didn't get any malware, but service is unavailable, it freezes, tracker gives bad answer and torrents disconnect by themselves. Very good job by the developper. :-(
Leesa
Leesa
Mar 7 2016
2.90
0.0
Mar 7 2016
0.0
Version: 2.90
Can we get someone here a MacUpdate to pay attention, please!

As said a few times on this Thread, the 2.90 version may be infected with RansomWare.

Version 2.92 is available at Transmission's Site and removes the infested MalWare!

https://www.transmissionbt.com
Octavius-Corn
Octavius-Corn
Mar 7 2016
2.90
0.0
Mar 7 2016
0.0
Version: 2.90
DO NOT DOWNLOAD VERSION 2.90! IT IS INFECTED WITH RANSOMWARE. http://researchcenter.paloaltonetworks.com/2016/03/new-os-x-ransomware-keranger-infected-transmission-bittorrent-client-installer/
Whytoi
Whytoi
Mar 6 2016
2.90
0.0
Mar 6 2016
0.0
Version: 2.90
Critical: 2.90 has been identified to have been hacked with 'ransomware'. Do not download or particular run it. Update to 2.92 urgently! http://j.mp/1ULdH2E
foto-2
foto-2
Mar 6 2016
2.90
1.0
Mar 6 2016
1.0
Version: 2.90
Version 2.9.0 may contain ransomware!

App update in 2.9.1 suggests installing 2.9.2

Reddit:


How to Protect Yourself

Users who have directly downloaded Transmission installer from official website after 11:00am PST, March 4, 2016 and before 7:00pm PST, March 5, 2016, may be been infected by KeRanger. If the Transmission installer was downloaded earlier or downloaded from any third party websites, we also suggest users perform the following security checks. Users of older versions of Transmission do not appear to be affected as of now.

We suggest users take the following steps to identify and remove KeRanger holds their files for ransom:

Using either Terminal or Finder, check whether /Applicaions/Transmission.app/Contents/Resources/ General.rtf or /Volumes/Transmission/Transmission.app/Contents/Resources/ General.rtf exist. If any of these exist, the Transmission application is infected and we suggest deleting this version of Transmission.

Using “Activity Monitor” preinstalled in OS X, check whether any process named “kernel_service” is running. If so, double check the process, choose the “Open Files and Ports” and check whether there is a file name like “/Users/<username>/Library/kernel_service” (Figure 12). If so, the process is KeRanger’s main process. We suggest terminating it with “Quit -> Force Quit”.

After these steps, we also recommend users check whether the files “.kernel_pid”, “.kernel_time”, “.kernel_complete” or “kernel_service” existing in ~/Library directory. If so, you should delete them.

Sgginc
Sgginc
Mar 6 2016
2.90
0.0
Mar 6 2016
0.0
Version: 2.90
From Transmission website: Everyone running 2.90 on OS X should immediately upgrade to 2.91 or delete their copy of 2.90, as they may have downloaded a malware-infected file. See: https://www.transmissionbt.com/
sspkjhjs
sspkjhjs
Mar 6 2016
2.90
1.0
Mar 6 2016
1.0
Version: 2.90
How about updating your entries if you list the apps and you're making money off it? Transmission 2.90 is malware ridden according to the developer's website. Transmission 2.91 is clean, apparently. "Everyone running 2.90 on OS X should immediately upgrade to 2.91 or delete their copy of 2.90, as they may have downloaded a malware-infected file. Using “Activity Monitor” preinstalled in OS X, check whether any process named “kernel_service” is running. If so, double check the process, choose the “Open Files and Ports” and check whether there is a file name like “/Users//Library/kernel_service”. If so, the process is KeRanger’s main process. We suggest terminating it with “Quit -> Force Quit”. " You've already started adding your own installer to a lot of apps you list and now you're linking to malware. Good job Macupdate and good riddance, Sourceforge needs a friend. I'm out! Also, for anyone interested: http://www.reuters.com/article/us-apple-ransomware-idUSKCN0W80VX
Funjoy
Funjoy
Mar 6 2016
2.90
5.0
Mar 6 2016
5.0
Version: 2.90
WARNING: Latest version is 2.91 Developer says if you downloaded 2.90 to trash it immediately because it has malware in it, and get the new version! According to forums as well as http://www.mackungfu.org/transmission-bittorrent-client-contains-malware "it’s been discovered that the OSX.KeRanger.A malware might’ve got into the update."
neovo
neovo
Mar 6 2016
2.90
5.0
Mar 6 2016
5.0
Version: 2.90
Everyone running 2.90 on OS X should immediately upgrade to 2.91, as they may have downloaded a malware-infected file.
The-Equalizer
The-Equalizer
Mar 2 2016
2.90
1.0
Mar 2 2016
1.0
Version: 2.90
Shows I'm connected to over 5000 seeders / downloaders, but nothing ever happens. The numbers crunch for 10 minutes, but nothing downloads. I keep downloading this and trying every update, but only because I also use the Windows version which seems quite speedy. uTorrent seems to work fine, although it has adware.
Albabe
Albabe
Mar 2 2016
2.90
1.0
Mar 2 2016
1.0
Version: 2.90
I'm having pretty decent luck with this newest version 2.90. Much better than the last version over the last 2 years. This older version crashed every time I quit it.
Xenedar
Xenedar
Mar 1 2016
2.90
0.0
Mar 1 2016
0.0
Version: 2.90
Crashes every time a torrent completes. Which makes the queue pointless. Back to 2.84. :( It's got bugs, but at least I don't have to babysit every torrent through to completion.
PunkNugget
PunkNugget
Mar 1 2016
2.90
1.0
Mar 1 2016
1.0
Version: 2.90
v2.84 was working just great, up until v2.90 that I installed today, but now lingers and won't launch. I'm running Mac OS X 10.8.5 and can't go higher because of the hardware limitations that I have, but that shouldn't matter as this software should still work. I have to give it 1 star until they fix this issue and then I'll review it again… :-(

PS - Thank goodness I had another copy of v2.84 on my backup drive. I just replaced v2.90 with my "older" version of v2.84 and it started right up, no problem.
Purps
Purps
Mar 1 2016
2.90
5.0
Mar 1 2016
5.0
Version: 2.90
Awesome. Welcome back!
TomM4006
TomM4006
Feb 29 2016
2.90
2.0
Feb 29 2016
2.0
Version: 2.90
Still hangs the whole machine when stopping downloads or the app, during downloading :-( Restart of computer needed. I switched to qBitTorrent now. That is very fast, takes a lot of CPU though..