Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to coconutBattery page
coconutBattery free download for Mac

coconutBattery Reviews

19 March 2021

Displays info about your laptop battery.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
pnn314
pnn314
Sep 11 2020
3.9.1
0.0
Sep 11 2020
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
The app works great. But it does not work correctly with new iPad mini 5 (2019).
cinam
cinam
Apr 6 2020
3.9.0
5.0
Apr 6 2020
5.0
Version: 3.9.0
It's very old and great app. Dev, thanks for your work.
johnsondj
johnsondj
Dec 28 2019
3.8.2
0.0
Dec 28 2019
0.0
Version: 3.8.2
Will this app display battery information on an iPad 4 mini?
nejadb
nejadb
Sep 13 2018
3.6.8
1.5
Sep 13 2018
1.5
Version: 3.6.8
The app doesn't show the battery level in real time, it doesn't refresh and there is no means to refresh. I deleted the app when I saw it reporting information updated 11 hours ago! It seems the battery icon/info on the Apple menu shows Mac battery and not iPhone's which makes you wonder why you want one as there is a more reliable one built in Mac OS In conclusion the app seemed to be very promising but in practice nothing more than a good idea spoiled by shortcomings
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
Aug 3 2018
3.6.8
4.0
Aug 3 2018
4.0
Version: 3.6.8
I like the app, it worked great on my older iMac and MacBook Pro. But when I upgraded to the 2018 MacBook Pro w/TouchBar it shows about a 5% less battery life than the Apple menubar item. Still a great app, but I wish there was a way to "recalibrate" it so it was accurate.
TonyKnight
TonyKnight
Jun 1 2018
3.6.7
5.0
Jun 1 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.7
This is great App to find out how old a Mac really is...along with full info on an iOS device!
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
May 1 2018
3.6.7
5.0
May 1 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.7
I really like coconutBattery. It has a clean interface that appeals to me. It gives me a lot of useful information that I can work with and it isn’t in my face trying to get me to upgrade. I think that the features it gives you for free are generous and its an overall very handy tool that is going into my essentials app kit.
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
May 1 2018
3.6.7
0.0
May 1 2018
0.0
Version: 3.6.7
Very useful app and upgraded to the Plus version within 30 min - well worth it!
DonkeyKong
DonkeyKong
Jan 4 2018
3.6.5
5.0
Jan 4 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.5
Donated today for this great app.
brianmorgan
brianmorgan
Dec 5 2017
3.6.4
0.0
Dec 5 2017
0.0
Version: 3.6.4
Mystery re. PowerBoo battery capacity as shown on Coconut - it's saying 60,392 mAh when the original was 4,000 mAh. It's charging at the moment - and is up 2228 mAh - it seems as if there's a problem insuide the battery - it's the original one I'm pretty sure and the PowerBook is from 2001 or 2002. Has anyone seen this happen and can the battery capacity notification be reset?
mzulgis
mzulgis
Sep 9 2017
3.6.3
5.0
Sep 9 2017
5.0
Version: 3.6.3
Been using this for quite a few years. It really is a useful and informative tool and I recommend it to any MacBook/Air/Pro user.
eraddio
eraddio
Apr 25 2017
3.6
4.0
Apr 25 2017
4.0
Version: 3.6
Coconut helps me to use my macbook more productive, I can track its battery and that's comfortable for me. I can avoid unexpected shut down after a long work. Although the interface is rather poor, that doesn't affect the general usability.
OhEssex
OhEssex
Apr 3 2017
3.5.3
0.0
Apr 3 2017
0.0
Version: 3.5.3
I still use SlimBatteryMonitor specifically because the space it takes up in the menubar is small. If coconutBattery had a similar sized icon I'd use it instead - and bonus points for any color in the icon too...
matpouchard
matpouchard
Feb 2 2017
3.5
5.0
Feb 2 2017
5.0
Version: 3.5
With Apple removing battery info in OS X Sierra, this tool is just perfect ! Would love to see a French language, but otherwise, I recommend.
Emil Tomc
Emil Tomc
Jan 30 2017
3.5
5.0
Jan 30 2017
5.0
Version: 3.5
Since Apple removed the battery info from the menu bar in Sierra, this app saves much time and effort looking for the charge level. Recommend this app.
anonymous-ocelot-4283
anonymous-ocelot-4283
Jan 22 2017
3.4
5.0
Jan 22 2017
5.0
Version: 3.4
Why don't do a version with an installer? Now it's only a portable version
TecHpRo
TecHpRo
Sep 28 2016
3.4
5.0
Sep 28 2016
5.0
Version: 3.4
Great mini app with considerable function. I'm satisfied with the soft since have installed it. Works perfectly on El Capitan and Sierra. Good solution for tracking Mac battery.
bryanwhitefly
bryanwhitefly
Sep 7 2016
3.3.3
5.0
Sep 7 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
I like CB. I often take my laptop outside with me to use for work or entertainment. So, having my battery state presented on display is a good idea. It's helpful to see battery usage and temperature whenever you need it.
brewsterandy
brewsterandy
Aug 17 2016
3.3.3
4.5
Aug 17 2016
4.5
Version: 3.3.3
Simple but useful and free app.
sstoupak
sstoupak
Apr 18 2016
3.2.1
5.0
Apr 18 2016
5.0
Version: 3.2.1
Current version is 3.3.3 http://coconut-flavour.com/downloads/coconutBattery_3_3_3.zip
Erik [NL]
Erik [NL]
Jan 8 2016
3.2.1
5.0
Jan 8 2016
5.0
Version: 3.2.1
The feature for monitoring the capacity and health of the iOS devices (iPhone or iPad) battery is amazing and that for free... Please donate a few $ or € to the developer for this beautiful piece of software.
Sixbillships
Sixbillships
Jun 17 2015
3.2
5.0
Jun 17 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2
Handy tool has become 10x more useful with iOS device support. Finally, there's a way to check the battery heath of an iPhone or iPad. And it's still free.
Quirop-Pa
Quirop-Pa
Apr 5 2015
3.2
5.0
Apr 5 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2
Genial. Simple y eficaz. Interfaz elegante y completa. Thanks!
DotTheI
DotTheI
Mar 8 2015
3.2
5.0
Mar 8 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2
With iOS devices support it's even better now! Thank you, Cristoph!
Sgilbert
Sgilbert
Feb 25 2015
3.2
4.5
Feb 25 2015
4.5
Version: 3.2
3.2 came up today, but the download is 3.1.2
Verity
Verity
Feb 20 2015
3.1.2
5.0
Feb 20 2015
5.0
Version: 3.1.2
Simple and nice. I have been using it for years.
MacMec
MacMec
Oct 29 2014
3.1.2
4.5
Oct 29 2014
4.5
Version: 3.1.2
Best battery tool around
Holger-Watermann
Holger-Watermann
Aug 26 2014
3.1.1
0.5
Aug 26 2014
0.5
Version: 3.1.1
"No Battery" found & no old History listed on MacBookPro5.1 with version 3.1.1 - so i continue to use Version 3.0. System 10.9.4.
OhEssex
OhEssex
Aug 3 2014
3.1
0.0
Aug 3 2014
0.0
Version: 3.1
So while I really like this utility, I prefer SlimBatteryMonitor (which still works under Yosemite) because it presents itself as an unobtrusive, compact menubar element. SBM shows less info than coconutBattery, but (for me) the always there but out of the way UI of SBM wins. If the developer of coconutBattery could create a similar *compact* menubar item for coconutBattery then he'd be hitting a home run!
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
Mar 29 2014
3.0.1
5.0
Mar 29 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
Impressive -- as usual. Love the UI, graphics and additional panels for info about the computer and battery. Please show your appreciation and love for this awesome utility, by making a donation to support continued development and maintenance.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Mar 19 2014
3.0
0.0
Mar 19 2014
0.0
Version: 3.0
MacUpdate says version 3.0 is for Mavericks, but the developer's website says it is OK for Lion or newer.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Sep 8 2012
2.8
5.0
Sep 8 2012
5.0
Version: 2.8
Great app! It runs great in all my Macs. Great Freeware!
Chas-m
Chas-m
Jul 11 2012
2.7.4
0.0
Jul 11 2012
0.0
Version: 2.7.4
Our thanks to the developer for this really useful little app.
Sanchai
Sanchai
Oct 15 2011
2.7.1
2.5
Oct 15 2011
2.5
Version: 2.7.1
Version 2.7.1 doesn't work as expected on my early 2008 Macbook Pro (Intel) 15 inches. It show battery capacity of -1 mAh, but life of my Mac and model is correct. Version 2.6.6 work fine. Please fix and make it work with my Macbook pro. I want to use 2.7.1 I cannot find anywhere to write to developer, and that;s why I have to post a comment here
Mookzmom
Mookzmom
Oct 15 2011
2.7.1
4.5
Oct 15 2011
4.5
Version: 2.7.1
Nice app! I recently replaced the battery in my MacBook because, though it was functioning, the old battery was actually expanding (physically) to the point where it was protruding out the bottom of my laptop. I don't know about these sorts of things, but figured that couldn't be good. I got a new battery, and just checked it with this app. It read "100%", and still correctly calculated the age of my laptop. Impressive! Since I now know the battery can start doing weird things, I will use this app, and thank the developer!
Commercial-Resource-Management
Mar 11 2011
5.0
Version: 2.7
Using CB version 2.7 on a MBP, 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, age 19 months. Battery capacity had been slowly declining to 96%. I check coconutBattery every evening prior to shut down to estimate how best to use the battery the following day, and have also been monitoring capacity at full charge over time, allowing to discharge when capacity starts to drift lower, and at half charge - same thing - watching for a decline or improvement in capacity. When needed, allowing to discharge fully, set over night then recharge fully. By also running the battery 20 - 40% during the day, and down to 4% a couple of times, capacity is now back up over 100% to 102% or 6650 mAh capacity against an original designed capacity of 6500 mAh. Very cool. Very useful for free software. Daniel M. Dreifus http://thousandeveryday.com
jr-nevers
jr-nevers
Jan 11 2011
2.7
5.0
Jan 11 2011
5.0
Version: 2.7
I wrote this review in order to do better justice to CoconutBattery v2.7 and improve its rating -3.5 stars- by comparison with Battery Health monitor v -4.5 stars-. In my view the former deserves at least the same rating as the latter ! in fact, well, I avow... I couldn't compare exactly right now the 2 above versions; I could only compare these 2 products on 2 PPC macs (I had no Intel mac available), one iBook G4 with OS 10.4.11 et the other Powerbook G4 with OS 10.5.8; CoconutBattery v2.7 works only on Intel macs; so I could only use respectively: OS 10.4.11/iBookG4 CoconutBattery v2.6.7 & Battery Health Monitor vv1.5 OS 10.5.8/PowerbookG4alu CoconutBattery v2.6.7 & Battery Health Monitor v1.2 to v1.5 The key issue is that Battery Health Monitor, whaterver the version, cannot read (at all or partly) the battery status data on the PowerbookG4alu as the developer Sonora Graphics acknowledges candidly on its website (recommanding to use older versions such as v1.2, but it didn't work at all in my case)... while CoconutBattery works well in all cases without a glitch ! For the record (yes I know it shouldn't be here ^v^ !), similarily I used the excellent "iStat pro" v4.9.2 widget by http://islayer.com/apps/istatpro/ on both mchines & OS without any problem; iStat pro has, on top of many useful indicators about your machine, has a small section with your battery key figures (just a very minor issue: below the key battery figures, a bit weird and rather unuseful (?) large white bar which I suppose is some kind of visual indicator (?) I say weird because this bar is topped by the word "Unknown" on the PowerbookG4alu ? and this word becomes "Charged" on the iBookG4 -anyway I can, amongst the figures, read "charge: 100%"-, but this bar may mean something else ?)
Thyx
Thyx
Dec 6 2010
2.7
4.5
Dec 6 2010
4.5
Version: 2.7
Very useful tool for its limited purpose. Especially the timeline (click on the right-side arrow) Only improvement I could think of is an automatic timeline. (btw, my non-Apple battery works as charm and has 101% left of the original capacity)
Gregm
Gregm
Oct 30 2010
2.7
0.0
Oct 30 2010
0.0
Version: 2.7
****INTEL***** only. If you have a PPC, stick with your old one !
JSH56
JSH56
Oct 29 2010
2.7
0.0
Oct 29 2010
0.0
Version: 2.7
broken link
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Feb 22 2010
2.6.6
5.0
Feb 22 2010
5.0
Version: 2.6.6
This version says I have ZERO load cycles. I have about 150 load cycles.It did the same thing on my other 12"Powerbook.Both running 10.5.8
Dorkypants
Dorkypants
Feb 21 2010
2.6.6
5.0
Feb 21 2010
5.0
Version: 2.6.6
Wow! …almost instantaneous results on my Snow Leopard MBP. By comparison 2.6.5 took several seconds from launch until it was able to display results. FYI, System Profiler (from About This Mac, then More Info…) can also show a lot of the battery charge information under Hardware>Power, though coconutBattery does it faster and presents the data more informatively. And it's free.
Ayub
Ayub
Aug 19 2009
2.6.5
5.0
Aug 19 2009
5.0
Version: 2.6.5
Works fine for me. But the widget version says Loadcycles: 7 (wrong) whereas the app shows Loadcycles: 279 (correct,matched with iStat Pro widget version).
Maudlin
Maudlin
Apr 22 2009
2.6.5
0.0
Apr 22 2009
0.0
Version: 2.6.5
I have a 2.16 Ghz MacBook and coconutBattery 2.6.5 shows Current Battery Capacity 5148mAh - greater than its Original Battery Capacity of 5020 mAh. This is from a 19 month old machine which has gone through 136 Battery Load Cycles. I'm using OS 10.5.6. I've tried several previous versions which have all also shown current capacity at more than 100% original capacity.
Gregm
Gregm
Apr 22 2009
2.6.5
0.0
Apr 22 2009
0.0
Version: 2.6.5
PPC G4 PowerBook, OS 10.5.6 Looks just fine. Info matches actual performance of the battery. Spot on for age, etc. MacOS X 10.4.5+ is the **ONLY** requirement showing on the developers web page.
Akrobat
Akrobat
Apr 23 2008
2.6.3
4.0
Apr 23 2008
4.0
Version: 2.6.3
Great app. Does what it says and works fine. I think Macsintx & Person1229 should notice that a Macbook or Macbook Pro is part of the requirement for this app, which is why it displays wrongly on their iBook G4.
Macsintx
Macsintx
Mar 19 2008
2.6
1.0
Mar 19 2008
1.0
Version: 2.6
On my iBook G4, the values reported seem to be reported in the wrong fields. -Current Battery Charge is 15392 mAh. -Maximum Battery Charge is 2504 mAh. These values are completely wrong. How could Maximum be less than Current. -Current Battery Capacity is 2504 mAh. -Original Battery Capacity is 299 mAh. These values are completely wrong. How could Original be less than Current.
waryuser
waryuser
Mar 11 2008
2.6
0.0
Mar 11 2008
0.0
Version: 2.6
Mmm... I don't think it's working on my iBook G4 (late 2005) computer running Leopard.
ivanovitch
ivanovitch
Mar 10 2008
2.6
0.0
Mar 10 2008
0.0
Version: 2.6
That's better: the previous version didn't match battery cycles with Apple's System Profiler - now it does.
Garyi
Garyi
Mar 10 2008
2.6
0.0
Mar 10 2008
0.0
Version: 2.6
My battery is 10 months, it shows my current capacity as higher than the original capacity. Which was nice.