Back to Inkscape page
Inkscape free download for Mac

Inkscape Reviews

0.92.2
09 August 2017

Drawing app, capabilities similar to Illustrator/Freehand/CorelDraw.

Thomas-Duvrai
18 April 2014

Most helpful

A NATIVE version that does not require X11 is coming and the developers need our input! The quite stable "experimental" builds are here: https://code.launchpad.net/~suv-lp/inkscape/osxmenu I'm an Illustrator user and now I'm happily learning Inkscape. Quite frankly, while nothing can compete against free, this app is really outdoing itself, and with a bit of creativity the possibilities are endless. While some things are more easily done in Illustrator, others are definitely easier in Inkscape. Oh, and did I mention that this is without a doubt the best native SVG editor out there...
Like (8)
Version 0.48.2

Read 53 Inkscape User Reviews

Rate this app:

ash-f
23 June 2019
Functionality is good but requiring Macports make this unusable for many people. Also XQuartz shell is very cranky. Mac users need native version ASAP!
Like
Version 0.92.2
Derekcurrie
13 April 2019
v0.92.4 is the current version of Inkscape. You can download it and read about it here: https://inkscape.org/release/inkscape-0.92.4/
Like
Version 0.92.2
timbreese
25 March 2019
Great free functionality but a steep learning curve. Control + keyboard shortcuts are hard to adjust to.
Like
Version 0.92.2
fabiola-monteiro
25 January 2019
Doesn't even launch on Mojave...
Like
Version 0.92.2
DragonMaster
24 January 2019
Will not launch in Mojave.
Like
Version 0.92.2
Jimw
04 November 2017
Does not seem to be compatible with High Sierra 10.13.1 as crashes on my machine at launch. However it could be my machine.
Like
Version 0.92.2
blackbirdy-1
18 August 2017
A good effort, if a bit odd.
Like
Version 0.92.2
Tom-Fulery
23 April 2015
I've been waiting for the promised Inkscape Mac native version for years, ever since Adobe bought & killed Freehand because Illustrator couldn't compete with it. Inkscape was always awkward on a Mac because it used X11 & Windoze key commands & the clunky Windoze interface. But now Inkscape .91 runs almost like a native Mac app--once I made two changes: 1. I altered the XQuartz (X11) keyboard commands to use the Command key instead of the Control key. This means I can use Inkscape without constantly stumbling around the keyboard. I makes my workflow much smoother & more efficient. You can learn to to do this here: http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20070206110939423 2. I upgraded the butt-ugly Inkscape Windoze GUI theme to a snazzy dark grey GTK theme & tool set, which makes it look & almost like native Mac software. There are several sites that show you how to do this. Just Google "Inkscape Mac GTK themes & toolsets". Making the above changes took about half an hour & now Inkscape .91 runs beautifully on my Mac. It's very stable & really does almost everything Illustrator does, only it's WAY better because it's Open Source & totally FREE.
Like (4)
Version 0.91
2 answer(s)
Pir-anha
Pir-anha
19 January 2016
Thanks for the tips -- I used to run Inkscape under X11 a few years ago, but it was an enormous memory hog and just too cumbersome. I'll give it another try based on your recommendation -- I generally prefer to support Open Source software, but without some nod to at least looking and behaving a little native, software I love using on Linux alas often doesn't cut it on the Mac..

I'm especially looking forward to the symmetry tools -- the corresponding plugin costs $245 for Illustrator!
Like (1)
timbreese
timbreese
25 March 2019
Thanks so much for the tip on changing the keystrokes! That was driving me crazy!
Like (1)
Thomas-Duvrai
18 April 2014
A NATIVE version that does not require X11 is coming and the developers need our input! The quite stable "experimental" builds are here: https://code.launchpad.net/~suv-lp/inkscape/osxmenu I'm an Illustrator user and now I'm happily learning Inkscape. Quite frankly, while nothing can compete against free, this app is really outdoing itself, and with a bit of creativity the possibilities are endless. While some things are more easily done in Illustrator, others are definitely easier in Inkscape. Oh, and did I mention that this is without a doubt the best native SVG editor out there...
Like (8)
Version 0.48.2
3 answer(s)
LuukLuuk
LuukLuuk
26 April 2014
Thanks, I'll try the native version! As I didn't like X11 I was looking for an alternative, so here it is :)
Like
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
24 July 2014
Sounded like a great idea, but the only thing that happened when I ran this version was the Inkscape icon on the dock bounced up and down for a minute or two until I force quit the app. Hopefully it will load properly in an update in the near future.
Like
Maeric
Maeric
06 January 2015
Thanks for the heads-up on this. I got the latest build and it works with only a bug finding a specific font. Imported a complex FreeHand pdf and it rendered very well.

Nice to have another option than AI and good to see Inkscape as a native Mac app.
Like (1)
Elizabeth-Gallagher
23 April 2013
I downloaded Inkscape about 12 months ago so maybe it has improved since then but I ended up deleting it off my iMac because it lagged out when I tried to open any eps file that was larger than 700 pixels. I wrote to the developers and they confirmed that it cannot handle "large" files without lag issues and as all I wanted to do was edit some purchased eps files then, it was useless to me. As I say, maybe they have improved on this but its quite important to be able to work with vector files that are large because isn't that the point of vector (?) that they can be re-sized to large files without losing quality?
Like (1)
Version 0.48.2
Dannis
22 January 2013
This is good as a free app, but it always be a bit hard to use for me. I have tried a few other apps in Mac OSX including iDraw, logo designer and iVinci, and finally found that iVinci is my most favorite, I can always finish my ideas as quickly as possible. The new version support gradient mesh and colored trace, it's really an App with great potentials.
Like
Version 0.48.2
Aaanouel
15 November 2012
I just waited a long time for it to create the main window... and it did, but presented a WINDOWS window!!! Like watching an old PC from the nineties, LOL!!! Ridiculous! ... so I just QUITTED and DELETED IT It may work quite well but I refuse to use such as PC like dinosaur.
Like
Version 0.48.2
2 answer(s)
Gustavo-Reis
Gustavo-Reis
21 November 2012
You're really a dummy old and doesn't know nothing about computing. Inkscape codes ARE NOT based on Windows, they're based on Xorg and Linux codes. Inkscape can't be native of Mac because it's an open source and can't use closed Objective-C and Cocoa codes. Apple doesn't allow the developer to use Objective-C and Cocoa codes as open source. Get iDraw, dummy daddy.
Like (2)
anonymous-deer-2515
anonymous-deer-2515
02 December 2012
"from the nineties" ... yeah, somewhat accurate for X11. "PC" ... not so much, more like Anti-Windows-PC Open Source *nix. Inkscape is one of the very few *native* SVG editors on OS X. Other editors import and export SVG. The import/export SVG editors generally have issues with something not quite right in the SVG files. The Inkscape file format *is* SVG. So, even with user interface quirks, InkScape (IMHO) is worthwhile contribution as an (1) open source, (2) scriptable and (3) native SVG editor.
Like (3)
ChristopherPrice
20 January 2012
This seems like a capable application on it's own. Typical of programs of this sort, the depth of features and advanced methods of illustration professionals makes the tool seem overly complex to casual users like me. This feels like a pro tool and possibly an alternative to Adobe Illustrator. If you are not a pro, I would suggest you look at Sketch, which is much more intuitive for non-pro users. Something that will be very important to many would-be users is that this tool is not a native Mac app. It does not look or operate like a native app. It requires X11, which is a *NIX window system. If you are comfortable with apps like Gimp, I think you would be happy with this too. Otherwise, you may want to try some of the Similar Software suggestions above.
Like (5)
Version 0.48.2
hubi-onmac
11 December 2011
Just found out that Inscape can also be used via the command line, so batch converting svg to pdf is just one line of code away =)
Like (2)
Version 0.48.2
flatop
03 December 2011
CrashoMatic--Its probably meant for home use on PCs--dont waste you time with it.
Like (1)
Version 0.48.2
1 answer(s)
Aaanouel
Aaanouel
13 November 2012
You are right! I just wait for it to create the main window... and it did presented a WINDOWS window!!! Like watching an old PC from the nineties, LOL!!! Ridiculous! ... so I just QUITTED and DELETED IT It may work quite well but I refuse to use such as PC like dinosaur.
Like
Mark-Lee
27 April 2011
Slow, buggy. Doesn't open half of my eps 8.0 files. Worst thing ever.
Like (4)
Version 0.48.1
2 answer(s)
myschizobuddy-1
myschizobuddy-1
27 May 2011
inkscape by default cannot open eps files. you need to install gostscript and ps2pdf
Like (8)
Mark-Lee
Mark-Lee
18 October 2011
Thanks, Captain Obvious. Even if it did, it would still be the worst vector drawing app, because it's slow and buggy. Ugly, as well.
Like (2)
Diogo-Cocharro
30 January 2011
It is freeware and does very well the job, congrats!
Like (3)
Version 0.48.0
Davebarnes
09 January 2011
I really wanted to like Inkscape. But, when I surfed to http://inkscape.org/ I saw the classic open source homepage that does NOT ENTICE ME to use it. The biggest problem I have with open source software is that no one gives a crap about MARKETING.
Like (3)
Version 0.48.0
5 answer(s)
Jon-Stovell
Jon-Stovell
03 February 2011
That is a very weak reason to rate software poorly. Unless you have a comment on the actual software itself, why bother the rest of us by posting such inanities?
Like (24)
Mumunol
Mumunol
03 February 2011
So marketing is responsible for all your choices Barnes Dave! Happy life Barnes Dave!
Like (9)
Cghez
Cghez
04 February 2011
Davebarnes mode of rating is obviously silly and gratuitous. Should be removed.
Like (11)
Lumac52
Lumac52
06 February 2011
Yes, I'm with Davebarnes. I always prefer crappy software that is heavily marketed and expensive. The last thing I would want is good software that is free and open source.
Like (17)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
14 October 2012
OK, you're a professional – after reading your terrible comment I checked your MU profile and clicked your website. Haha, a marketing website! Well, got me… However, your comment should be removed from MU for being an ad…
Like
Charles-Miller
05 December 2010
I've decided that Inkscape is a legitimate product. The thing I haven't decided does it offer any quality or production advantages over Illustrator CS4? The little reading I've done said kerning was manual (no Optical auto kerning) and that saving to common raster formats (JPEG, PNG-8) required a helping app. Starting from scratch, Inkscape may be a very good choice. But is it true that if I have the Illy CS4 license and know it middling well (although it seems clunky & awkward), then there's no sufficient reason to switch?
Like
Version 0.48.0
1 answer(s)
UnconventionalT
UnconventionalT
06 February 2011
Other than the fact that it's free, there's a healthy community to support you, and it's 100% open source? Nope, not really. In fact, in some cases it's terrible on the Mac. It's interface becomes laggy very quickly and you have to use X11. Then again, those problems are due to the fact that X11 on the Mac is coded very poorly. Final point: It's great. Just not all that great on the Mac.
Like (3)
Celyinsc
10 September 2009
HELP...the Snow Leopard has killed Inkscape. i have loved Inkscape and iwas free. it did everything i needed it to do. Watching You Tube tutorials and self-teaching, and 10 hours later, Inkscape was super. It will not work with Mac Snow Leopard. I have download every new pre-release and nothing seems to correctly. Fonts are messed up, I can't cut and paste and when I save some something and pull it up in "Sure Cuts A Lot, it is an utter mess. If Inkscape can fix this problem, I will be in love again. If you have a PC, then go for it!!!! It is a great program....jut watch a lo of You Tube Tutorials to help you get started,
Like (1)
Version 0.47pre2.1
2 answer(s)
darkwing52
darkwing52
18 September 2009
It works fine on my two Snow Leopard machines. So the problem must be elsewhere. Maybe reinstall both Inkscape and X11? Note that xquartz 2.40 does not work on snow leopard. Use the apple version 2.3.4 installed by SL. Can you describe your problem more fully?
Like (4)
Version 0.47pre2.2
Yoshinatsu
Yoshinatsu
18 October 2009
The newest 0.47pre4.1 works just fine for me on Snow Leopard. It'll probably be much better when Xquartz 2.4.1 is released.
Like (1)
Version 0.47pre4.1
Virtualtaoist
04 July 2009
I would also like to see this fantastic app running natively on Mac OS X, from what I have researched, progress is being made, but like alot of things in the Open Source Community it's going to take alot of time due to Mac OS X being still treated like a minority operating system compared to Windows, and most developers preferring to develop for their beloved Linux, yet they fail to realise that a huge amount of creative agency's and freelance digital artists/designers use Mac OS X. I hope work can be speeded up on the OS X native port of GTK+ as I would love to see this and GIMP running natively, if I had a shred of knowledge about programming I would help out, but sadly I don't, I'm just an artist :P, so come on software engineers! theres alot of creative people with no knowledge of programming out here needing you to get this working as soon as possible! and to stop treating our favourite platform like a second class citizen!
Like (3)
Version 0.47pre0
1 answer(s)
Mark-Everitt
Mark-Everitt
07 July 2009
Inkscape 0.47pre0 is available as an experimental native build, and I know that GIMP has had experimental native builds for some time so you should try those out. They look a bit weird though. GTK+ is made mainly for sitting on top of X11, so Linux etc. get the most support. Next in line is Windows because it has so many users. No-brainer. Sadly we really are the lowest priority, especially since Macs can use X11 too. It's basically not essential so I completely sympathise with the GTK+ developers.
Like
Version 0.47pre1
Macupdated
29 May 2009
X11 launches and nothing happens, I am running 10.5.7 with XQuartz 2.1.6.
Like
Version 0.46.3
Larry Iverson
26 April 2009
This application is advanced enough to be effective yet simple enough for the average human. The only problem is that it doesn't run well with X-11 and I have the latest update. When you scroll the app. lags so badly that some times I get lost in the "white zone". In other words if you scroll as if it was a native Mac application it will go hay wire! Then again GIMP for Mac works wonderful except the HUD's (other than the main project window) don't fit in the screen on a desktop monitor or a laptop. This is something I have come to expect with open source totally free software. I wonder if Adobe is paying the developers to but innocent bugs in the deal?! They obviously have the money for selling a 1GB App. for $400.00 dollars.
Like (3)
Version 0.46.3
1 answer(s)
darkwing52
darkwing52
06 May 2009
I run Inkscape on many machines, and we don't see this problem. Although I run X11 version 2.3.X Inkscape is quite popular with my students, who find it appropriately powerful, and well priced.
Like (1)
Version 0.46.3
101keys
18 April 2009
After spending an obscene amount of cash over the years for Photoshop and illustrator for the PC, I wanted to find an efficient and cost-effective drawing application for my new Macbook that would allow me to create quality comics and manga pages. Enter Inkscape. This impressive freeware graphic tool is quick to learn and easy to use with results comparable to the two above mentioned applications. Whether using a mouse or a graphic tablet (which this app will allow you to control the tip pressure), the lines are fluid and clean. The calligraphy tool is outstanding, allowing you to easily product beautiful handwritten text, or with light tweaking, comic book quality characters. With Inkscape you to draw in layers, use perspectives, import images, export, add brushes and use other features you would find in those other "expensive" programs. For the kids, there's a star stamp and spiral button for decorating drawings or photos. Aside from getting use the tricky gradient and text features, Inkscape is a perfect powerful application for those who wish to draw and edit with professional results on a shoestring budget.
Like (3)
Version 0.46.3
Appscout
06 April 2009
Well. Not so much poorly as, awkwardly.
Like
Version 0.46.3
Appscout
04 April 2009
Loads of features, and pleasant to look at. But, decidedly un-Mac-like. Would this be able to be 'native' to the Mac? Without the palaver of X-11? or MacPort? A NeoOffice to OOo, if you will. Could Celtx be a model? Using HTML, XML, RDF and TXT? It's time or money, right? But, any time that I contributed, would be time well wasted. FWIW, is this a Linux app, the same way IE is a Win app? They just happen to run on the Mac? Poorly.
Like (3)
Version 0.46.3
Mark-Everitt
25 May 2008
I use this for producing research posters, and even our group logo. Very easy to use and intuitive! The best free vector graphic program there is, and it's available on windows and various linux too, so collaboration is nice and easy.
Like (1)
Version 0.46.3
Plasterpyrus
07 April 2008
Great Application! I would like to commend the Developers for continual support and for the "Tiger" platform and making new features available to us still using this platform.( GIMP has stopped developing for Tiger) So a big thanks.
Like (1)
Version 0.46.3
Acb
29 August 2007
'I have found Pattern along Path' from 'Generation from Path' does not work when working through the Inkscape tutorial after trying on Power PC and Intel Mac.
Like
Version 0.45.1
Santab
18 June 2007
One of he best programs out there for OS X. Thanks to all the developers.
Like
Version 0.45.1
Freebsd
30 March 2007
This is an incredible program. Very intuitive in terms of mouse usage, copy paste functions, etc. So far quite stable, creates beautiful scalable drawings. I'd argue that it's already better for me than its major competitor for simple diagrams and figs.
Like
Version 0.45.1
Thee-Alex
17 March 2007
Fantastic, free and easy to use. Out performs what was Freehand. Recommented
Like
Version 0.45.1pr0
Dp-G4-450guy
06 February 2007
As a follow-up check, I re-installed 0.44x and it ran fine - so, either we've got an Intel-only build tagged as universal, or the system requirements are wrong, or 0.45-1 as posted has a bug (at least for Panther.)
Like
Version 0.45-1
Jlennon314
12 November 2006
This is just an update saying that, according to the site, there is a unstable build of Inkscape native for OS X. It is not publicly available. To all of those who are interested in Inkscape, but are frustrated by the requirement of having X11, there IS a Native version in the future.
Like
Version 0.44.1
1 answer(s)
hced
hced
26 July 2007
Has that native Inkscape version arrived, or are there any news about its coming?
Like
Version 0.45.1
Dp-G4-450guy
26 March 2006
It would be nice to have some notes about what this update entails. The Release Notes (linked above) have not been updated since 0.43 was issued - and there have been three (incremental) updates to 0.43 since that time. Developer(s) please address.
Like
Version 0.43.4
Xwizbt
22 December 2005
Excellent. There's always room for improvement, and X11 always has some drawbacks for the hardened OS X user, but overall I can't complain. This is stunning stuff... and hey - it's free!
Like
Version 0.43.2
Anonymous
29 November 2005
I have no idea what X11 is and nor do I care but this software requires me to install it, apparently. (Why this is not listed under "Requirements" I don't know.) I say apparently because I have gone to the trouble of installing "X11SDK.pkg" from my Tiger install disc but Inkscape still still asks for it. No doubt I'm doing something wrong, something that any programmer could tell me, but that's not my point: I don't think the developer has made clear the technical knowledge or basis for the use of this software. Ideally it should all happen in the background: this is, after all, a Macintosh application! I'm sorry to be somewhat negative because I'm sure the developer is dedicated and talented but perhaps Inkscape isn't quite ready to be unleashed amongst ignorant people like me.
Like
Version 0.43.2
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2005
I've re-read the developers description more closely and had a change of heart; clearly I have no idea what terms like "C/Gtk to C++/Gtkmm" mean and that should have been warning enough that this isn't for me. I withdraw my criticism. No offence.
Like
Version 0.43.2
Xwizbt
Xwizbt
22 December 2005
It may well be an idea to research your comments before making them, then, as you risk appearing to be an impetuous fool. I myself am indebted to Inkscape for its simple but complex system, yet another example of how the open-source community can benefit the Mac OS. Keep it up!
Like
Version 0.43.2
Kholburn
Kholburn
26 March 2006
X11SDK.pkg is the development package (Software Developers Kit) for X11. It is not X11 itself which is on your install disk called "X11User.pkg" or something similar. It's not always easy to find. The simplest way may be insert the installer disk and to run these commands in a Terminal window: cd /Volumes cd "Installer Disk" # (or what ever the installer disk is called) find . -type d -name 'X11*.pkg'
Like
Version 0.43.4
28 November 2005
RELEASE NOTES - Many OS X users have reported being unable to open SVG files using the open dialog in Inkscape 0.43. It has been fixed in an updated package, Inkscape-0.43-2.dmg
Like
Version 0.43.2
Anonymous
28 November 2005
Great software. But I do not understand how to import EPS or PS files. Any idea ?
Like
Version 0.43.2
Anonymous
21 November 2005
Inkscape works fine for my system. 800mhz iMac with 10.3.9, though... like most X11 based programs it is rather slow to start up.
Like
Version 0.42.2
Anonymous
15 November 2005
In regards to the program not loading and "Inkscape" menu being the only menu available: Let the program load. X11 based programs take more time to load. Give it at least a 3 minute wait. I had hoped it would be able to read .ai files, seeing as that's what I'll need it for.
Like
Version 0.42.2
netkat
02 November 2005
Inkscape is a SERIOUS illustration application. It may not have all the latest toys you find in Illustrator, but all of the basics are there, plus some advanced features. If you are looking for a serious, free drawing tool, this is it. I look forward to the possibility that Inkscape may run someday natively in OS X and support pressure in my Mac Wacom tablet driver, but until then, I'm a happy guy!
Like
Version 0.42.2
Anonymous
22 October 2005
program loads, works fine for me on 10.4.2
Like
Version 0.42.2
Anonymous
27 September 2005
Absolutely useless. X11 and Inkscape launch, but Inkscape has no menus except the app menu. Great...I can quit Inkscape. Woohoo! That's all it does.
Like
Version 0.42.2
Anonymous
15 September 2005
I previously had this installed through fink and it worked fine. This version, however, doesn't seem to do anything except open X11. Am I missing something? Is there another configuration step I might have missed?
Like
Version 0.42.2
Jason
14 September 2005
This is a great program, with some features i don't think i've found in Illustrator and freehand (such as the really powerful cloning tool, and the amazing bitmap trace tool). It was great, at least, the first time that it ran, but now it won't anymore... The first time, i double clicked the app, it opened x11, and then sat there for ages, i went off to do something else and when i came back it was working! Had some fun. But the next time i tried it, it opens up x11, sits there for about 5 seconds and then inkscape quits. WHAT?!? it worked the first time... Whats wrong? I can't wait till this works reliably. Maybe it won't replace Illustrator or freehand, but I think just in the different way it goes about things, plus those different features, it works well WITH them. Especially for those who can't afford the other two pro apps, this is a highly competant replacement.
Like
Version 0.42.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 September 2005
To get Inkscape to work when it quits and comes up with this error message: No fonts found; this probably means that the fontconfig library is not correctly configured. You may need to edit the fonts.conf configuration file. More information about fontconfig can be found in the fontconfig(3) manual page and on http://fontconfig.org Type: rm -f ~/.fonts.cache-1 into the x11 Terminal. Should get it up and running again
Like
Version 0.42.2
Anonymous
13 September 2005
This runs but most of the tool icons appear to be blank. I can move the mouse pointer over them the the tool tip shows up but no icon.
Like
Version 0.42.2
Anonymous
13 September 2005
Shouldn't it be noted on the requirements above this needs X11 to run? That's why the previous guys didn't even get it to launch. So if you're not comfortable with X11 on your machine, forget about this.
Like
Version 0.42.2
Anonymous
23 August 2005
Have the same happen on my Mac as previous poster. Altho' it does start up X11. I thought this was Mac native. Anyway, I'm eager to try again later.
Like
Version 0.42
Anonymous
01 August 2005
I'd like to try it but it just appears briefly in the menubar (just the title of the app appears) and then... nothing. Oh well, I can wait for the next release.
Like
Version 0.42