Back to iCursor page
iCursor free download for Mac

iCursor Reviews

1.70
30 May 2018

Sparkly cursor.

Aaanouel
15 August 2008

Most helpful

Beautiful...!!!!! Really beautiful...!!! May be useless for someone, but for me is an amazing way to keep my cursor well located in an attractive and animated way that adorns my desktop. I don't know how much CPU does it uses, but to prevent any overwork or eventual slowness I just minimized numbers and sizes, this way it don't distract your attention too much either. GIOFX people: You should make a dedicated Preference Pane to incorporate it to the system itself. Congratulations...!!! And thanks a lot...
Like (1)
Version 1.40

Read 57 iCursor User Reviews

Rate this app:

lararoo210
28 May 2012
It's cool. the only thing i dont like is that when you go to chrome (or firefox, safari, internet) it doesnt work.
Like
Version 1.40
1 answer(s)
lararoo210
lararoo210
28 May 2012
sry about the chrome thing. yea, it can happen.
Like
sweetkitten
18 March 2012
for anyone wondering i can confirm that it also works under snow leopard (at least my system) very happy with it and a request to the developer of this cute app maybe a function that the animation starts after clicking somewhere?
Like
Version 1.40
Brighton-Pete
17 April 2010
I keep losing my cursor on my 27 inch iMac screen! I looked around and only found Universal Access sizing, which gives you a pixellated cursor - not nice. I found this app and it works fine in Snow Leopard 10.6.3. There are some crazy effects and some which are quite sedate. You can also fudge around and make your own effect. The only problem is it is either all or nothing. It would be great if it would stop once the mouse was moved. Not bad for free, but it looks like it isn't supported anymore.
Like
Version 1.40
Multypersonality
09 December 2008
Great app. I did some changes to it and came out with this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYvXhWZAsS0 I love zelda games so this is great. I love navi following me around all over the screen, the bad thing is that I can't use it in other space, just the first one, and if you use exposé it will also dissapear :( still I love my navi :)
Like
Version 1.40
Easer
30 October 2008
This program and the home page seem to be gone. Since it was freeware, would anyone be willing to e-mail me a copy at drtimothyjames@hotmail.com? Thanks in advance.
Like
Version 1.40
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
30 October 2008
Links updated, try downloading again now...
Like (1)
Version 1.40
Easer
Easer
30 October 2008
Thanks, MacUpdate, for fixing the link!
Like (2)
Version 1.40
Aaanouel
15 August 2008
Re-thinking on the matter... more than a Pref pane, the real vocation of this cute software is to be a Menu bar application. Notice me as soon as it happens.
Like
Version 1.40
Aaanouel
15 August 2008
I forgot to rate it: I give it FIVE stars...!!!
Like
Version 1.40
Aaanouel
15 August 2008
Beautiful...!!!!! Really beautiful...!!! May be useless for someone, but for me is an amazing way to keep my cursor well located in an attractive and animated way that adorns my desktop. I don't know how much CPU does it uses, but to prevent any overwork or eventual slowness I just minimized numbers and sizes, this way it don't distract your attention too much either. GIOFX people: You should make a dedicated Preference Pane to incorporate it to the system itself. Congratulations...!!! And thanks a lot...
Like (1)
Version 1.40
O5220803
09 August 2007
Just excellent for locating my cursor on a busy desktop! The theme selections are terrific!
Like
Version 1.30
Shotgunweddings
11 July 2007
Love it, works fine on a 17" iMac Dual Core running OSX 10.4.10. As the description says "useless" but great eye candy when the kids come over. Great work
Like
Version 1.30
fahlman
11 February 2007
This is a fun application. Most of the built in effects are cool. A couple of suggestions. One, implement this as a Preference Pane instead of a stand alone application. I would prefer this for a couple of reasons reasons. The first reason is because it's icon wouldn't need to be in the dock. Second, it would continue to work all the time because it couldn't be hidden. Third, it could also be set to start at login with out adding it to the startup applications. Two, move the Effects folder out of the /Applications folder and in to /Library/Application Support/ Three, allow for exporting and importing of effects. Maybe the developer could host user-submitted effect at his website.
Like
Version 1.30
2 answer(s)
fahlman
fahlman
20 February 2007
A menu extra would be okay also. Some day we're all going to all need 50" screens all our menu extras from covering up our application's menus. This would allow for easy access to turn it on and off quickly.Actually the icon in the dock doesn't bother me as much as having an iCursor folder inside /Applications.
Like
Version 1.30
Aaanouel
Aaanouel
15 August 2008
I agree 100% with you. A Pref Pane will solve every disadvantage implicit in an open application. There, user could set it on and off as needed.
Like
Version 1.40
Growlydidge
11 February 2007
Fun little app. If you ever do more tweaking of the app how about getting it to show up in the menu bar instead of the dock? Anonymous is a loser, lighten up dude.
Like
Version 1.30
Veggiedude
07 December 2006
Nice app - you can't beat free! Interestingly, if you have multiple desktops (i.e. VirtualDesktops), it only works in the desktop it was launched into. Maybe this is a bug? I actually think of it as a feature, because there will be times you won't want it on, and other times you do; so simply change into the other desktop!
Like
Version 1.22
one-1
01 February 2006
Works great on a G5 dual core- For fun turn it on. Popcorn is my favorite. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.22
Anonymous
22 November 2005
Great app, fun to use easy to customize. Wow the last poster sure seems angry. I barely see a performance hit, but then again I have a Dual 2.0Ghz G5, 5 gigs of RAM, and a 68800GT. If you need your CPU cycles, turn it off ya numbskull. Uses about 2.5% of your CPU, which is not bad at all. I have all of the other Pointer Software/Locaters and this one is pretty cool looking. If you don't like the the defaults, you can always make your own images, they are just Targa files. To Gio-Thank You. If you feel like adding a feature, how about having the option to have the particles start after a period of inactivy. Also why not add a core image effect for mouse clicks, like the ripple effect, that would be nice.
Like
Version 1.22
Anonymous
29 April 2005
Don't use this app. The developer is a knumbscull for producing what is essentially a particle-effects plugin. This thing is slow and totlally useless. The defaults for each cursor-effect points to it's stupidity. All defaults began with 600 particles and are supposed to run at 30 frames per second... So now a generated quicktime is going to follow your mouse!? With one, called "stars" (or something - you're cursor emits stars that get bigger and fly accross your entire screen.... WTF!? This high-on-mac developer, forgot that their target audience has got work to do and doesn't want trinkets that get in the way.
Like
Version 1.22
Anonymous
29 April 2005
I loved the old version, but this one SUCKS! It won't even open, and when i finally got it to work, it looked disgusting. Don't wast your time.
Like
Version 1.22
Anonymous
29 April 2005
G3 are not supported from version 1.22, this is a fat binary for 10.3/Tiger only, also, kinda unknow user, please leave to me to upgrade this page with version changes and any other correct infos thanks Gio
Like
Version 1.22
Anonymous
29 April 2005
Works perfectly.
Like
Version 1.22
Dylan Schink
15 April 2005
it sucks i loded it up and i cliked the dock looked like something happing it got a bit biger and the nuthing happind i do not like this app
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
03 April 2005
Beware Mac users with slower computers! This app looks very cool, but it's the biggest CPU hog I've ever encountered. Slows down my 400 mhz iMac G3 more than even a large, loaded audio project (in Digital Performer). Took me a few minutes just to get my cursor back to the app menu so I could quit. Too bad - it looks great, effects are very eye-catching. (Though I was only able to see the first one - purple fireballs or something?) I'm not real savvy on video cards and the like -- maybe that's the issue. Still, a warning would have been nice. I thought I was going to crash. I will check it out again... when I buy that G5. Don't get me wrong! iCursor still attracts me. I'll be back one day...
Like
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 April 2005
You need fast GK ! My G3-900 with ATI 7000 64 MB was also slow. Same CPU but 9200 PCI minimum 4 times faster.
Like
Version 1.22
Giofx
Giofx
29 April 2005
>This app looks very cool, but it's >the biggest CPU hog I've ever >encountered. That's correct for G3 which usually come with an "old" videocard, without a decent GPU all the fx blending work is performed by the CPU itself. To avoid any issue from version 1.22 I've limited this software to G4 and G5 CPUs which usually comes with an "advanced" or, at least, vertex program capable video card. Gio
Like
Version 1.22
Anonymous
22 March 2005
Too cool... This would really freak out some of my hippie friends. One of the wonderful things about quartz extreme is the really neat stuff you can do on the desktop that the ugly windowz boxes can only dream of. This app is an instant classic. Running G5 Imac - purdy.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
22 March 2005
so innocent and perfectly playful... but why can I think of nothing but getting drunk and playing solitaire when I start this app? Definitely something to have around for when your friends kids come by (not the alcohol, this program you evil evil person).
Like
Version 1.2.1
Abhi-Beckert
22 March 2005
Coolest useless app I've ever seen! Had to tone it down a bit to get it smooth on my 800Mhz G4 iBook but that's expected. Only improvement I can think of is to hide the effect when the mouse isn't moving.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
21 March 2005
Probably nice, funny and useless… But on my system it just rebounces and practically never appear on the dock. Strange but true… OS X 10.3.8 Swedish local, iMac 17" 1GHz
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
21 March 2005
Ahhh, useless well-written software. Nostalgiaware! No problems here. 1.33GHz G4 PowerBook w/ 10.3.8
Like
Version 1.2.1
Giofx
21 March 2005
hi guys the micro-update 1.21 adds some warning messages for these few users with the "open-and-suddenly-close" problem, hoping this can help me to do some debugging also, on the iCursor(tm) Official(p) Page(r) (aka: www.giofx.net/osx/icursor.htm) I share the user's effects. If someone wants to contribute just send me the zip file of your customized fx Gio
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
16 March 2005
A sparkly cursor? Absolutely pointless... but very cute.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
15 March 2005
Lotsa fun to use and runs very well on an aging 1.4ghz G4 w/radeon 9000 64mb card. Thnx!
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
15 March 2005
Very nice app. Stupid question: How safe is it? Scenerio: My 20 inch screen has a very dark desktop picture and my screen saver is set for 30 minutes to kick on. With a dark background and iCursor enabled with a bright effect and there is no mouse movement for 30 minutes. How safe is it to have one tiny area super bright with a dark background. Can this burn an image into my screen. I have heard of HiDef TVs with burned in images. Before any of you attack me for this question I already said above that this was stupid question.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
15 March 2005
I love it, but it only shows me, along other apps. that it is time to move on up to a 2.5 G5 pup.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
15 March 2005
Trips up my video card. Makes everything else choppy! BUT IT'S JUST SO AWESOME
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
15 March 2005
You bag of sexy loveliness.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
15 March 2005
(give valid reasons to backup your claims)I LOVE it! THANK YOUUUUU!
Like
Version 1.2
Bruce T
05 March 2005
Wowwie! I suggested the "cursor offset" thought last night and here it is! (See belowish.) That's lightnin' development speed. Who says Moore's law is slowing down? Oh, that's chip-speed or something, not fun-ware innovation? Oh well, my rating goes up to all fives now. (The settings are saved when you quit now too.) I can't think of a better use for cpu time. Interestingly, Activity Monitor says iCursor is only using 4% cpu, while Windowserver is up at 40%. But when I quit iCursor ("Bye-bye, bubbles!") Windowserver drops to 14% (and iCursor's out too). Huh. Oh, well, if I had to it would be worth getting a faster machine just to run this app. God bless Canada
Like
Version 1.11
Anonymous
04 March 2005
Go**amn this thing is sweet. My cursor now smokes more than I do, no easy feat at that.
Like
Version 1.11
Anonymous
04 March 2005
this is a very nice (but totally pointless) piece of software. it just spices up the computer a bit with just about no CPU usage. very nice!
Like
Version 1.11
Anonymous
04 March 2005
i hate my job. i now love my cursor. i think i can do another 8 hours in this call center. thanks, dudes. rock on.
Like
Version 1.11
Peter da Silva
04 March 2005
Also requires Quartz Extreme. If you have a PCI Mac and a Radeon 7000 or 9200, you need to use PCI Extreme (or edit the config files by hand) to enable Quartz Extreme before this will be usable.
Like
Version 1.11
Anonymous
04 March 2005
Wonderful! I love it and it uses very few CPU cycles. Is there anyway for it to remember its preferences from launch to launch? It would be great if the author moved the icon from the dock to the menu bar. Great utility.
Like
Version 1.11
Bruce T
04 March 2005
"Make the Bubbles!" That's what my 3-year-old daughters say. This and iTunes is what computers are for, right? I just installed 1.1.0 Is there a way to make it retain its settings after I close? It keeps going back to Quantum, when I'd like (and my daughters would too) to keep it on SuperSoap. (Damn-I can't see a thing under all these bubbles!) I like Snow too. What if it collected in drifts at the bottom of the screen? Also, any reason why the particles don't emerge where the point of my cursor is? To get them out of the way? I'd rather have them on the point myself, looks funny hanging back below. And the whole reason for the thing is to look good, not be useful; might be better if the cursor is harder to see. A future customizable feature? When I read about iCursor I thought it would make my cursor visible in presentations and such. It's a bit distracting for the average boardroom prob'ly. But after I saw it I couldn't get it out of my head, and now I love it. I spend hours every day working with this program, and I don't know how I ever lived without it. This is how computers are supposed to work! Windows sucks! Oh, effusiveness running away from me. Punish it later. peace b Bubbles, bubbles, bubbles....
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
The-Valrus
The-Valrus
04 March 2005
Best review ever. I hope you win an iPod shuffle, my good man.
Like
Version 1.11
Anonymous
04 March 2005
Just one question: WHY? I guess it might make it easier to find one's cursor on a huge screen, but other than that, all it does is look good and eat CPU time. I guess if you're trying to show off for your friends it might be cool, but otherwise...
Like
Version 1.1
Michael Solomon
04 March 2005
Ah, well ignore my last post, cause I just realized you can do everything i said. Amazing!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
03 March 2005
Really cool little app. Looks great and does nothing usefull. Give it a blast.
Like
Version 1.1
Michael Solomon
03 March 2005
This application is awesome, its quite fun to have one's mouse sparkle all over the place. Only suggestion is to make it so one can control the sparkles. Maybe make it so you can have less sparkles or different colored sparkles?
Like
Version 1.1
Bryan-Law
03 March 2005
This app is great! I love useless little fun stuff! I wouldn't advise using this in conjunction with other apps though. Thanks for keeping it free!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
03 March 2005
Simple, free, does what t says. Nice work.
Like
Version 1.1
Jeremy
03 March 2005
Awesome ! This is one of the reasons I love the Mac - cool apps like this. Eye Candy for no reason what so ever !
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
16 February 2005
I love it. Very amusing, try all different shemes!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 January 2005
I have Mac OS 10.3.7 and am using a G4. I like this little program - great effects. However, it puts quite a drag on my computer and slows everything way down. At any moment, I think my computer is going to crash.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 March 2005
I also had extreme performance problems running the V1.0 Version on my G3 B/W G3-900 with ATI 7000. But since upgraded to 9200 PCI, the App runs much faster (>> 10 times faster) and uses much less CPU %. Maybe it only can work with Grafikards above ATI 9000. 7000/7500 or GF2MX maybe not really work.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 March 2005
Yeah, it brought my Power Tower with 603e to its knees too :\
Like
Version 1.1