Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Moneydance page
Moneydance free download for Mac

Moneydance Reviews

21 May 2021

Personal finance manager.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
hannahkominsky67
hannahkominsky67
May 18 2021
2021
4.0
May 18 2021
4.0
Version: 2021
My father wants to have this app. It's like a present from me.
rodcallen
rodcallen
Nov 26 2020
2021
5.0
Nov 26 2020
5.0
Version: 2021
Was a long time user of Microsoft Money but when MS stopped developing / supporting the software I spent a long time researching alternative programmes. Eventually I decided to settle on purchasing MoneyDance. Best decision I have made as MoneyDance has satisfied all my requirements. Easy to use and regularly updated free of charge. Budget options excellent and the programme is very customisable. Only grip is my inability to use the software on my iPad / iPhone with regard to keeping the database synchronised. Otherwise highly recommended.
jkelly329
jkelly329
Jul 21 2020
2019.3
1.0
Jul 21 2020
1.0
Version: 2019.3
Somehow my application of Moneydance crashed and when it opened all data was lost. My backup files are gone, so all my data from 2017 to now (July 2020) are gone. I tried to contact support, however they only have an online form and have yet to answer me. Do NOT buy this app, look elsewhere.
glennbolton323
glennbolton323
Apr 25 2020
2019.3
5.0
Apr 25 2020
5.0
Version: 2019.3
Complicated path, but I started with Quicken in the 90's, went to MS Money, back to Quicken, switched to Mac so got MoneyWell, then Banktivity 6, then to YNAB, then to Quicken Mac...and with the missing rollover features, did a desperate install of Quicken Windows via Crossover on Mac. It works, but slow and some of the features crash the software. I've looked at MoneyDance before and was thrown off by the simple interface but with the need for Envelope style budgeting that is native on Mac, I did the Trial...and was very pleased. I also installed the iOS app and connected DropBox...and hated the 3 device free level limit since I share this with my wife for entry. THEN I discovered the DropBox direct connect feature (Well done, MoneyDance!) and that now allows all my laptop and mobile devices to share MoneyDance. I don't use DropBox for anything else, so it's nice to not have another resource hogging app on my laptops just for one app. As far as MoneyDance, it's easy to set up, manual downloading of QFX works for me, and the ability to set my preferences makes MD2019 so easy to use and personalized to me. It works across my Mac, Windows 10, and iOS devices. That's a big score for my family. Thank you InfiniteKind for creating a software that works as promised, making it easy to track finances in multiple entry points, and not charging us every year for "promised fixes" like other softwares. It just works.
jamespierreny
jamespierreny
Apr 2 2020
2019.3
1.0
Apr 2 2020
1.0
Version: 2019.3
I am having so much difficulty with the following things: (1) deleting accounts (I am actually unable to press on the delete button option under the Accounts tab, as that option remains grey and unclickable); and (2) I am unable to print any reports (whenever I press on the print button in order to print a report, the entire program freezes). I am very upset with this software so far. Currently feeling like I threw away $49, honestly.... If anyone can help with these issues I wouldn't greatly appreciate it...
Dsp
Dsp
Nov 26 2019
2019.3
2.0
Nov 26 2019
2.0
Version: 2019.3
Cons: QIF import is a disaster. Doesn’t give option to saves files in place you want. Investment requires installing plugin and not intuitive. Pros: Nice UI. Has decent side bar list.
Arthur-Milholland
Arthur-Milholland
Mar 23 2019
2019.1
5.0
Mar 23 2019
5.0
Version: 2019.1
I am always cautious about upgrading to a greatly-rewritten program, but I did go from MD2017 to MD2019 and it was smooth. MD runs on both PC’s and Macs and uses the same data structure on each platform, which is why I changed to it in 2008. IMO, if another one has come along, it cannot be superior. Moreover, Support is first-rate, too.
carolefharris
carolefharris
Sep 9 2018
2017.8
5.0
Sep 9 2018
5.0
Version: 2017.8
I can’t say enough about Moneydance customer support. My credit card changed banks and nothing went smoothly. The biggest problem was not being able to download transactions to Moneydance. I set up an online chat with Moneydance and had an immediate reply from Jenny. Her detailed email replies worked me through, step by step, what I needed to do. Moneydance is a great program, and their employees are knowledgeable, patient, responsive and caring.
l-214-282-3272
l-214-282-3272
Aug 2 2018
2017.8
5.0
Aug 2 2018
5.0
Version: 2017.8
I'm an old Microsoft Money user. Well, you know how long they've been gone.....I moved to MD and have been pleased for many years. I too recently had an issue with syncing after my iPhone had to be reset. Ian quickly resolve my issue and I up and running again. When tax time rolls around all my data is easily found..
dslazar9
dslazar9
Apr 6 2017
2017.2
5.0
Apr 6 2017
5.0
Version: 2017.2
I have been happily using Moneydance since 2010. I used Quicken on my PC for ten years prior to that. Quicken for Mac was a nightmare. Moneydance is the only program that can e-pay directly from the ledger on a Mac. Upon getting a new Mac last week I had a problem moving my data to the 2017 version on my new MacBook Pro. Tech support from this company was outstanding. After a few troubleshooting emails that did not help, Jenny, from Tech support inhabited my computer and helped me move my data. This company stands by their product.
monty-3
monty-3
Jan 17 2017
2017.2
2.0
Jan 17 2017
2.0
Version: 2017.2
Disappointed in the 2017 "upgrade" as many of the issues documented in 2016 were not even fixed. Several big bugs and lack of features were not even addressed. So why switch to 2017 if it's essentially the same as 2016? It sure would be nice if developers fixed the bugs when releasing new versions that registered users have to purchase to upgrade. That might make it worthwhile. Who needs new features when the existing features don't work properly!
gmgregmao
gmgregmao
Jan 13 2017
2017.2
3.0
Jan 13 2017
3.0
Version: 2017.2
I'm giving it 3 stars because the interface is weird and it seems not so intuitive. Will continue to test it but so far I am just thinking of it as a $US25 evaluation copy. I also evaluated SEE Finance $US39, and personally, it's more normal to use, as is Banktivity. Have read reviews on Quicken for Mac 2017 and will buy a copy ($US45 Amz.) to play with. I don't mind spending a few hundred bucks on finding the right fit for me, because I know it can save me thousands over the year.
Philtobias
Philtobias
Jan 10 2017
2017.2
4.0
Jan 10 2017
4.0
Version: 2017.2
Very good online banking and personal finance app. Been using it since a purchase here in 2011.
James
James
Nov 14 2016
2017
3.0
Nov 14 2016
3.0
Version: 2017
I have used Moneydance for several years now and frankly it seems to have been better in previous years than it is now. Here are my issue with the 2017 version, the latest released version at the time of writing this comment:

- No method of archiving and starting a new year. A users entire history is opened up each time the product is used, exposing its entire history to corruption. This also over time can significantly reduce the performance of the program.

- Random file corruption in large user files. Data occasionally exhibits random changes in large files that are several years old. It can take many hours to locate and correct the issue, especially when it affect account balances. However it is not as bad as Quicken 2007 historically was when I used it.. Much of this could be resolved by implementing archiving so that a user could work with smaller files and previous data would not be involved as much.

- Major, fee based, releases tend to be released, in my opinion, without adequate quality control. This results in buggy products on release which can create issues and frustration. Users then effectively become beta testers.

- The GUI is very inconsistent at times. A button that is present in a location in one type of account may be located in a different place in another type of account. This can create confusion.

- Memories of categories, description, and tags cannot be edited or deleted. If a user makes a mistake and enters the wrong info into one of these fields, it can stay memorized in the file forever. The only way to get rid of it is to start over with a new file.

- Security transactions are very convoluted.
- Credit card balances alway display as negative. This while technically correct can be confusing when reconciling an account.

- Built in bill pay is very slow and their error message are often cryptic.

- It is very difficult to create an adjustment when balances are off, even by a slight amount, with creating special categories and techniques to account for these adjustments as every penny has to be assigned a category to track it. This is good accounting in theory but in real life things happen that conflict with this theory and with Moneydance, there is no allowance for that. You might need this kind of detail for a business but not for home finance.

- The investment action for Interest in investment transactions can only be as Miscellaneous Income. The action for interest cannot be added or change and the program has no specific action for investment interest.

Editing Securities and values can be a very complex operation which requires multiple windows and is not very intuitive.

- There is no built-in ability to print or export Schedule A or Schedule B reports for submitting with your income taxes. Existing reports have to be customized and edited to accomplish this in order to get an approximation of what is needed.

- Creating next years budget from a previous year can be a complex process with a great deal of steps in order to create an accurate and useful tool.


- Some of the useful tools are only supported via 3rd party extensions, some of which are fee based and not always kept up-to-date along with limited documentation.

Support for the product is limited to e-mail or community forums. There is no chat line or phone support, even for bug workarounds, time critical situations, or database corruption, not even on a paid basis and there are no current plans I know of to implement this.

- Automatic backup to off-site services, such as cloud servers, while possible, is not supported. Like the issue above this is particularly worrisome give the entire data file is exposed every time the program is used.

- I have been informed by Tech Support that the deletion of information from an existing file will actually increase the file size due to the way deletions are logged and handled. This issue precludes the idea of copying a file to archive the data and then deleting existing information in the copy to start a new year, with the intent of reducing the file size.

Banktivity used to be know as iBank and seems to be having increased development lately. At one time Moneydance was a more complete product. Now I am not so sure. I have never used Bankivity but will consider it in my evaluations, along with Quicken, which is under new management, for a Moneydance replacement unless Infinite Kind shortly releases an update that corrects some of these issues.

Moneydance, if it were not for these issues, would be my hands down choice as the premier personal finance solution for the Mac. Unfortunately, right now, this is not the case.
gilles-francia
gilles-francia
Jul 21 2016
2015.7
5.0
Jul 21 2016
5.0
Version: 2015.7
Moneydance is very great and complete program. I try during 1 month ALL competitors, and I tell you is the most professional on the market
computerpreacher
computerpreacher
Dec 16 2015
2015.6
5.0
Dec 16 2015
5.0
Version: 2015.6
AWESOME PROGRAM! I used to be a windows user for 30 years, I used Quicken and MS Money for those 30 years. When I switched to MAC< I bought Quicken for Mac 2015. It was a terrible program. The program would constantly import transactions randomly from all over the date range, which caused me to have to hunt the problems down. Quicken 2016 was worse. So I purchased MoneyDance. What a great program! The App even works which allows me to input Data when I am traveling. Quicken's app NEVER worked properly. The Customer service is fast via email. I am thrilled! I do not know what folks with bad reviews are doing with the program, but for me I could not be more pleased!
sk8xnick
sk8xnick
Aug 18 2015
2015.5
5.0
Aug 18 2015
5.0
Version: 2015.5
I been using money dance for more that 2 years now. I use it for small business and it is perfect for me. Multiple currencies, detailed reports and excel export - all what I need with very user-friendly interface. Why MD instead of other soft? - Cuz it is light in all meanings. Even when I had my HDD die (OSX), I so easily got my DB from it in one single file. No back ups or anything was done, jus 1 file. It was so crucial. The easiness and simplicity of creating categories with currencies and accounts really matters. But you notice that MoneyDance is best soft only after you use it a while. I can say I can rely on it and know that all data are stored securely!
Croberts
Croberts
Aug 16 2015
2015.5
4.0
Aug 16 2015
4.0
Version: 2015.5
I've tried about every personal finance package out there, and keep coming back to Moneydance which I've used for nearly a decade. Great balance between features and ease of use, and it handles multiple currencies very well. One thing sorely needed: A way to create and easily find a backup of your data. Then it'd get five stars from me.
leeladisky
leeladisky
Jul 27 2015
2015.5
5.0
Jul 27 2015
5.0
Version: 2015.5
Great software, phenomenal support - great and constantly on top of things. Better than Quicken, for sure.
drivy
drivy
May 6 2015
2015.3
1.0
May 6 2015
1.0
Version: 2015.3
Do NOT update this software. If you do, they will ask for more money (even though the software itself bugs me about updating every time I hope it), and hide your file of the former version so it is no longer accessible. The software in everyday use is good enough, but I'm so pissed about this scam, I'm about ready to switch back to Quicken! Thank god for time machine, or I'd have lost the past two years of data. Go to hell Moneydance.
Maczillllla
Maczillllla
Apr 25 2015
2015.3
0.0
Apr 25 2015
0.0
Version: 2015.3
I've been using Moneydance for a few years now. I'm pleased with the software and especially pleased at the response from support.
Full Score
Full Score
Mar 10 2015
2015.3
3.0
Mar 10 2015
3.0
Version: 2015.3
I've been using MD for a long time, ever since giving up on Quicken. It has satisfied most of my needs. However, the 2015 version was released with too many bugs and inconsistencies which were commendably acknowledged by the developer. These appear to have been fixed in 2015.3 with the major exception of changes that resulted in my inability to download account info from my Bank of America accounts.

Two Emails to the developers remain unanswered. After digging around their website I noticed that the current version 2015.3 was preceeded by one issued a few hours earlier (also called 2015.3). I had the earlier version installed. On re-installing the one on this page everything returned to normal.

The developers should make it clear that you need build 1175. The lack of this info caused me to waste many hours trying to fix the problem, and their lack of Email response hasn't helped. Neither has their failure to monitor their own online forum where their responses have also been untimely.

Better testing is required before releasing updates.
More info is required: NB the qualification on this page "Release notes were unavailable when this listing was updated".
Give precise version info and NEVER release two different products with identical names.
MDUser
MDUser
Jan 30 2015
2015.1
5.0
Jan 30 2015
5.0
Version: 2015.1
Used Quicken unntil it abandoned Apple. Tried and liked Monedance. It worked beautifully and deals with my fairly complex finances superbly. When 2015 came out I upgraded - and it failed to load. Scott Meehan patiently worked through a cycel of 10+ e-mail sessions over several weeks and finally made it work. The new design is clean and clear - much better for use than a jazzed-up piece of web woffle! Functionally as excellent as ever, but this message is about their service: "Kind" - at the very top of the grade: patient, polite, knowledable and extremely helpful. "Infinite" - well I can't claim I went that far(!), but I pushed them a LONG way - and they did not flinch. They chose their name very well and deserve all the success they get. Benedict in Maryland - with no affiliation other than having bought a copy of their program.
steh1uk
steh1uk
Jan 28 2015
2015.1
5.0
Jan 28 2015
5.0
Version: 2015.1
Fantastic program , used MS Money for so long as had not herd of this, now no more having to go between mac and pc, the pad and iPhone app are good to. a customer support service that is faster then any other support that i have had to contact, and when i say fast, i mean within the hour, problem depends on time of day. would recommend MONEYDANCE to anyone keep up the good work steve
Drsfg
Drsfg
Jan 25 2015
2015.1
2.0
Jan 25 2015
2.0
Version: 2015.1
Still uses double lines only for split entries. Not acceptable. Will not purchase. People have been asking to have this fixed since 2011.
csaborio
csaborio
Jan 23 2015
2015.0
2.5
Jan 23 2015
2.5
Version: 2015.0
Great interface, but the fact of not being able to import CSV file is a deal breaker for me.
Ckueny
Ckueny
Jan 19 2015
2015.0
1.0
Jan 19 2015
1.0
Version: 2015.0
I used Moneydance up to MD2014 and it was OK. MD2015 had two serious problems in the 90 seconds that I tried it: 1) There is a five-second period of unresponsiveness when it starts up. This occurs for me even if I quit and restart. Doesn't respond any mouse or keyboard input for several seconds. 2) This one is even worse: They changed the color scheme in my checking register from my custom settings to a scheme that is physically painful to look at. It really hurts my eyes. And this is not the default scheme, this the *only* scheme, because they have removed "colors" settings from the Preferences! According to the developers, "I can confirm that this option has been deliberately removed in MD2015." This makes it unusable for me, even if I didn't mind the hang at startup. Note that Moneydance 2015 will modify your data file so that it can no longer be used with MD 2014 (still available at http://infinitekind.com/download_2014), so if you do want to try your luck with this, be sure you have a current backup of your data.
Wrtcedar
Wrtcedar
Jan 15 2015
2015.0
3.0
Jan 15 2015
3.0
Version: 2015.0
The update installed without problems. The higher quality graphics are appreciated and the whole interface looks cleaner overall. I saw some instability with the initial version of Moneydance 2015, but it's been better since I picked up the update (to 2015.1) a few days ago. Moneydance remains an effective and streamlined tool for tracking my finances. However, I have one big issue with the update that's dampened my enthusiasm for the software. The new interface uses text that's varying shades of gray. It makes registers, in particular, harder to read. People with any sort of visual challenge are not likely to be very happy with this update.
jimkahnw
jimkahnw
Jan 15 2015
2015.0
0.0
Jan 15 2015
0.0
Version: 2015.0
Avoid this upgrade until the bugs are fixed. I've used MD for several years and faithfully downloaded the new version. Bad choice. Many bugs including Tags that don't work and errors importing QFX data. Also some interface issues including a dialog box that blocks the transactions window and cannot be dismissed.
gary-22
gary-22
Jan 14 2015
2015.0
1.5
Jan 14 2015
1.5
Version: 2015.0
The Archive feature does not work for me – plain and simple. Gives some Java-related error on occasion at the Archive screen, but does not work even if the error does not appear. The resulting data file after the failed Archive causes MoneyDance to become unresponsive when clicking on an account name on the home screen. The rating reflects its unsuitability/unusability, else it’s 4.25 stars.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Jan 12 2015
2015.0
0.0
Jan 12 2015
0.0
Version: 2015.0
Be aware - since it's not noted above - that this is a paid upgrade. Which is OK if you use it regularly - and like the Yosemite look of the thing.
Kitmos
Kitmos
Jan 12 2015
2015.0
1.0
Jan 12 2015
1.0
Version: 2015.0
I was very hopeful that the new version would finally allow editing and/or deleting of Payees. Apparently the developers still won't implement this despite numerous requests. Back to Quicken which, despite other problems, does allow this.
anonymous-dingo-826
anonymous-dingo-826
Jan 11 2015
2015.0
5.0
Jan 11 2015
5.0
Version: 2015.0
Moneydance 2015 freshly installed on my 2012 Mac mini (Yosemite). It works well, easily opened my previous MD data file (Dropbox). Quite pleased with its operation and the excellent way it employs the Yosemite 'look'. For me it looks better than most other apps on 10.10.1, even better than a lot of the OS does. It's the first app that has made me 'like' Yosemite.
James
James
Jan 11 2015
2015.0
3.0
Jan 11 2015
3.0
Version: 2015.0
Moneydance 2015 as of 1/11/15 crashes on launch on my MacPro running OS X 10.10.1 and Java 8 Update 25.
rp-1
rp-1
Dec 22 2014
2014.5
4.5
Dec 22 2014
4.5
Version: 2014.5
I used Quicken for many years and for the last 18 months, Moneydance. The only feature Moneydance is missing is a Global search that looks at all your accounts at once. This would be a huge improvement as often it is hard to remember which account you bought something with. The search feature works great buy only on an account by account basis. Otherwise I would rate Moneydance 5 stars. Help is only via email but on Sunday evening I was stuck and at 7.45pm got a response to my question here in the UK. I highly recommend Moneydance!
Calguy
Calguy
Nov 28 2014
2014.5
4.5
Nov 28 2014
4.5
Version: 2014.5
Seamless synchronization with iPhone/iPad. The desktop application is updated regularly and the company provides excellent support. Moneydance is the perfect financial/checkbook software for people who want to minimize their tax preparation hassles, keep track of their cash flow or just want to have balanced checking accounts.
geoffparkhouse
geoffparkhouse
Nov 20 2014
2014.5
5.0
Nov 20 2014
5.0
Version: 2014.5
Having used MS Money for over 10 years I was delighted to find a programme that could import all my current and archived accounts. The customer service has been excellent and the prompt and helpful replies enabled me to import all the old files easily. The manual on line is detailed and easy to use despite (for a Brit!) some US terms!! So far a very satisfied customer. Many thanks.
ScottConley5129
ScottConley5129
Oct 30 2014
2014.5
5.0
Oct 30 2014
5.0
Version: 2014.5
Moneydance is great for keeping track of banking, credit card, and investments. It allows downloading of transactions from many institutions for free (unlike iBank and Quicken which requires you to purchase a new version every two years). The developers are responsive to problems.
kfitchwarner
kfitchwarner
Oct 21 2014
2014.5
5.0
Oct 21 2014
5.0
Version: 2014.5
I have been using Moneydance on my iMac for over a year, after giving up on Quicken. For me it works great for keeping track of my various checking and savings accounts, and my credit card transactions. I have to enter the latter manually because Moneydance does not support online updates from Spanish banks, but I had the same situation with Quicken. What is really great about this software is the customer support. I had a problem figuring out how to access my data from two different Apple computers, and they solved the problem in record time, faster than any other customer service I´ve ever used. So glad I switched!!
swells
swells
Sep 15 2014
2014.5
4.0
Sep 15 2014
4.0
Version: 2014.5
Very nice app. Easy to use and works great!
Datman
Datman
Sep 15 2014
2014.5
4.5
Sep 15 2014
4.5
Version: 2014.5
After a number of years struggling with a non-mac interface and a lack luster mac support attitude and then a short and frustrating experience with quicken essentials, I finally moved to MoneyDance. I could not be more pleased. 1) it is a built for mac product!, 2) it is very user configurable to fit your style and preferences, 3) it syncs with your iPhone and iPad, and 4) the customer service is very good (I had a small syncing problem and the service rep had me up and running very quickly). If price, quality, and performance are what you are looking for, look no further. Make MoneyDance your financial partner!
Datman
Datman
Sep 15 2014
2014.5
4.5
Sep 15 2014
4.5
Version: 2014.5
After a number of years struggling with a non-mac interface and a lack luster mac support attitude and then a short and frustrating experience with quicken essentials, I finally moved to MoneyDance. I could not be more pleased. 1) it is a built for mac product!, 2) it is very user configurable to fit your style and preferences, 3) it syncs with your iPhone and iPad, and 4) the customer service is very good (I had a small syncing problem and the service rep had me up and running very quickly). If price, quality, and performance are what you are looking for, look no further. Make MoneyDance your financial partner!
Poundsmack
Poundsmack
Aug 27 2014
2014.5
4.5
Aug 27 2014
4.5
Version: 2014.5
Been using it for years and love it. Great price, and a very good app. Thanks guys.
BobS2915
BobS2915
Jul 19 2014
2014.4
4.5
Jul 19 2014
4.5
Version: 2014.4
Been using MD for many years. Except for a few hiccups connecting to a bank, I have been very happy. Support group has been extremely helpful when needed.
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
Feb 17 2014
2014.3
0.0
Feb 17 2014
0.0
Version: 2014.3
MoneyDance user guide errors … … copied and pasted into a TextEdit document — originally with the intention of giving feedback only to the developer, but so soon evolving into such a comedy of errors that it made me realize that perhaps the only way to whack such people on the side of the head for their own good would be to let others know what they would they getting themselves into, if they supported this company. page 3 To keep your data file stored in it’s current location its [Don’t your writers and copy editors know the difference between its and it’s? Look it up!] page 3 or import data from Quicken essentials Quicken Essentials {Why must you be rude or snide to your competition, or are you just too lazy to do proper research?] page 5 For an in depth description in-depth (is more generally accepted) page 5 To create, edit, or delete and account an account [This is getting way too distracting and irritating to me. Spend some money, and hire a competent proofreader to support a competent writer. The spelling and grammar of this technical writer is atrocious, and this is only page 5! You are embarrassing your entire company with such errors like this in your documentation. It makes me think: “Gosh, they can’t write worth a damn without making sloppy mistakes. Why should I trust this documentation? It’s not accurate. It probably won’t be thorough. Maybe they can’t add or program code either.”] [Of course, you didn’t take my feedback previously about the unclear descriptions of your versions, so maybe there is an element of arrogance that will prevent any corrections from taking place in your manual, since, like defunct and obsolete IBMers, maybe your company does not accept feedback that was NIH - “not invented here.”] page 6 Filter buttons across the top of the register let you display display all or a subset of transactions [Display display! Really, this is all the free feedback you get. If you can’t realize how sloppy your documentation is, then there is no hope for you. When I worked as a copywriter at Atari many years ago, a writer’s work was reviewed by a copy editor, then a department manager, then a division head, and several artists and illustrators. All of them had to sign off before something was put in print. There are so many elementary-school-level errors in the first six pages of your user guide that I get the impression that an 8-year child of the company’s founder both wrote and edited her own user guide and daddy is too kind to correct her mistakes.] You know what? You deserve to be embarrassed. I think I will let your potential customers see for themselves how sloppy your documentation is, so that they can decide for themselves if such a sloppy mentality infects the programming of your software, too. I am looking for a replacement for Intuit’s Quicken, but if you can’t write worth a damn, how good can your software be?
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Dec 30 2013
2014
0.5
Dec 30 2013
0.5
Version: 2014
I downloaded MoneyDance and launched it. It immediately gobbled up 150 MB of RAM and for the last 20 minutes has been pinwheeling.
dotorious
dotorious
Nov 25 2013
2012.5
4.5
Nov 25 2013
4.5
Version: 2012.5
I switched to Moneydance as a long-overdue replacement for Quicken, and have not regretted it since. I don't pay bills or automatic statement downloads in Moneydance, so I don't know how well those features work, but for manual entry and account management, it works well.
James
James
Apr 28 2013
2012.5
3.0
Apr 28 2013
3.0
Version: 2012.5
As a former Quicken 2007 (Q7) user, over a year ago I felt it was time to switch to a different finance program give the lack of support or upgrades from Intuit. After much research I chose Moneydance, primarily because it was the only program at the time, and as far as I know, still is, that handled investment accounts, and did bill pay from within the program. It also had reasonable reviews. So after using it for over a year here are my conclusions: Moneydance is much more stable than Q7. I have yet to have a database go corrupt, even with a year carryover, as Q7 used to do. However backup can be an issue since all the data file are buried deep within the user library and can be difficult to locate. Bank and credit accounts are handled well as far as download and reconcile. However due to the fact that it regards a normal balance on a card as a negative balance, which it actually is in bookkeeping terms, it can be somewhat confusing at first. Reconcile has had an issue with '0' or credit balances on credit cards but this has largerly been fixed. When any transaction is downloaded from an institution it has to be 'confirmed' which either merges with an existing transaction or creates a new one. One glaring issue is that the 'Conform' command is can be several places on the screen depending on the type of account. This makes for a confusing interface. Other than that transaction downloads work well for checks, credit cards, and investments. Bill pay is another matter. While it works well it is very confusing at first. A simple bill pay transaction works well but the transaction can't be entered into the check register. It has to be entered into a special bill pay window and then appears in the register. The feature of adding a new payee from the bill entry screen is their but it does not work. The payee has to be set up in a different window first. This is a bug. For split accounts it is not at all friendly since bill pay does not handle split categories. It either has to be entered as a single category and then edited in the check register into a split account or entered into bill pay as a single category, have a calendar reminder setup to do the split transaction, then merge the two when the 'check' is cleared. Split transactions and reminders are a bit weak in the product. They take a while to figure out and get used to. The program seems to have no reasonable limit on accounts and categories. The program handles investments very well, other than transfers between accounts. In my case several entries occur for a single transfer where only one should be. This is easily taken care of by deleting the unnecessary transactions. However it could be caused by the way the bank posts the transfer. Converting from another program can be an issue. I did not even try conversion given my finances were quite complicated although I have read that others have been successful and that MD does a better job than some others. MD is a double entry system with no holes. Anything coming in or going out has to have a category or account. This can be very frustrating at times when trying to adjust a balance to be correct when no history of the account exists. I solved this problem by making a dummy account and using it as a category for balancing. Then I adjust its initial balance to reflect '0' in the current account balance. Seems complicated but it works. Reconciling also is reasonably easy to do and works well. The only issue as mentioned above is that you can't add a balance adjustment to an account without a category. Support for the program, when available is very good. The only issue is that sometimes your support requests get lost and you may have to submit them several times. Finally there is the subject of reports. This is perhaps MD's weakest point. While it has many reports that are customizable they often are not what you really want or need. Many are just variations of the same style. The reports are almost useless for a comprehensive Schedule A or B tax report. This is one area where Quicken gets the nod. I should not that MD 2012 was a very minor bug update and so far no announcement has been made for 2013. Updates are few and far between. TIP: There are a number of free extensions available for MD, such as entering stock quotes. I recommend getting those you might want to use right after installing the program.
silverlaker
silverlaker
Apr 16 2013
2012.5
4.5
Apr 16 2013
4.5
Version: 2012.5
I'm happy to say Moneydance is working without any problems and my data is intact.
silverlaker
silverlaker
Apr 8 2013
2012.5
4.5
Apr 8 2013
4.5
Version: 2012.5
Wow - I can't believe this new update of Moneydance destroyed my data file. It said it would convert and archive. I can't open anything at all. This is HORRIBLE. I wish I'd never hit the button to update to the latest version.