Back to Moneydance page
Moneydance free download for Mac

Moneydance Reviews

2019.3
20 June 2019

Personal finance manager.

Arthur-Milholland
23 March 2019

Most helpful

I am always cautious about upgrading to a greatly-rewritten program, but I did go from MD2017 to MD2019 and it was smooth. MD runs on both PC’s and Macs and uses the same data structure on each platform, which is why I changed to it in 2008. IMO, if another one has come along, it cannot be superior. Moreover, Support is first-rate, too.
Like (2)
Version 2019.1

Read 92 Moneydance User Reviews

Rate this app:

Arthur-Milholland
23 March 2019
I am always cautious about upgrading to a greatly-rewritten program, but I did go from MD2017 to MD2019 and it was smooth. MD runs on both PC’s and Macs and uses the same data structure on each platform, which is why I changed to it in 2008. IMO, if another one has come along, it cannot be superior. Moreover, Support is first-rate, too.
Like (2)
Version 2019.1
2 answer(s)
Bremen
Bremen
18 April 2019
I would echo this assessment. I have migrated from Banktivity to Moneydance and very pleased with its flow and the user interface.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
20 June 2019
Have you tried SEE Finance?
Like
carolefharris
09 September 2018
I can’t say enough about Moneydance customer support. My credit card changed banks and nothing went smoothly. The biggest problem was not being able to download transactions to Moneydance. I set up an online chat with Moneydance and had an immediate reply from Jenny. Her detailed email replies worked me through, step by step, what I needed to do. Moneydance is a great program, and their employees are knowledgeable, patient, responsive and caring.
Like
Version 2017.8
l-214-282-3272
02 August 2018
I'm an old Microsoft Money user. Well, you know how long they've been gone.....I moved to MD and have been pleased for many years. I too recently had an issue with syncing after my iPhone had to be reset. Ian quickly resolve my issue and I up and running again. When tax time rolls around all my data is easily found..
Like
Version 2017.8
dslazar9
06 April 2017
I have been happily using Moneydance since 2010. I used Quicken on my PC for ten years prior to that. Quicken for Mac was a nightmare. Moneydance is the only program that can e-pay directly from the ledger on a Mac. Upon getting a new Mac last week I had a problem moving my data to the 2017 version on my new MacBook Pro. Tech support from this company was outstanding. After a few troubleshooting emails that did not help, Jenny, from Tech support inhabited my computer and helped me move my data. This company stands by their product.
Like
Version 2017.2
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
26 June 2017
Banktivity also has built-in bill pay and a way to archive and start a new year. The 2017.3 mentions nothing about archiving, complex GUI, or improving the reports which I regard as weak. That is why after 3+ years I switched 6 months ago and have not as yet looked back.
Like
monty-3
17 January 2017
Disappointed in the 2017 "upgrade" as many of the issues documented in 2016 were not even fixed. Several big bugs and lack of features were not even addressed. So why switch to 2017 if it's essentially the same as 2016? It sure would be nice if developers fixed the bugs when releasing new versions that registered users have to purchase to upgrade. That might make it worthwhile. Who needs new features when the existing features don't work properly!
Like
Version 2017.2
gmgregmao
13 January 2017
I'm giving it 3 stars because the interface is weird and it seems not so intuitive. Will continue to test it but so far I am just thinking of it as a $US25 evaluation copy. I also evaluated SEE Finance $US39, and personally, it's more normal to use, as is Banktivity. Have read reviews on Quicken for Mac 2017 and will buy a copy ($US45 Amz.) to play with. I don't mind spending a few hundred bucks on finding the right fit for me, because I know it can save me thousands over the year.
Like (1)
Version 2017.2
1 answer(s)
Da-kool-kid
Da-kool-kid
19 November 2018
I'n curious what program you ended up using after trying all these out?
Like
Philtobias
10 January 2017
Very good online banking and personal finance app. Been using it since a purchase here in 2011.
Like (1)
Version 2017.2
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
10 January 2017
Overall I disagree with this review. For my issues with the product, support tried to justify the programs issues and lack of a consistent interface rather than to address them and fix them. My only reluctant choice was to switch to a different application after my file size grew to over 650MB over 4 years and took over 20 minutes to backup to the cloud via U-verse and One Drive every time I opened it, with no way to archive or shrink the size other than starting completely over. During this time my access to the internet was severely impacted. After careful research and immediate rejection of Quicken for no other reason than its annual cost of over $200 per year for implementation of all its features, I chose Banktivity and am so far pleased with my decision. Performance is better; reports are more useful and easier to understand; investment handling is better; and the interface is more consistent; bill pay offers much better performance; and it does offer real time chat for support that has been excellent. It does have a few shortcomings: I have had a few more crashes that have been easily recoverable. Reconciling accounts is sightly easier in Moneydance. The Moneydance extension to manually enter security prices is slightly more friendly.The ability to import Moneydance data was limited due to QIF file limitations.

The bottom line is that I feel my decision was a wise one and worth the effort to start an new year in a new program
Like (1)
Jimw
14 November 2016
I have used Moneydance for several years now and frankly it seems to have been better in previous years than it is now. Here are my issue with the 2017 version, the latest released version at the time of writing this comment:

- No method of archiving and starting a new year. A users entire history is opened up each time the product is used, exposing its entire history to corruption. This also over time can significantly reduce the performance of the program.

- Random file corruption in large user files. Data occasionally exhibits random changes in large files that are several years old. It can take many hours to locate and correct the issue, especially when it affect account balances. However it is not as bad as Quicken 2007 historically was when I used it.. Much of this could be resolved by implementing archiving so that a user could work with smaller files and previous data would not be involved as much.

- Major, fee based, releases tend to be released, in my opinion, without adequate quality control. This results in buggy products on release which can create issues and frustration. Users then effectively become beta testers.

- The GUI is very inconsistent at times. A button that is present in a location in one type of account may be located in a different place in another type of account. This can create confusion.

- Memories of categories, description, and tags cannot be edited or deleted. If a user makes a mistake and enters the wrong info into one of these fields, it can stay memorized in the file forever. The only way to get rid of it is to start over with a new file.

- Security transactions are very convoluted.
- Credit card balances alway display as negative. This while technically correct can be confusing when reconciling an account.

- Built in bill pay is very slow and their error message are often cryptic.

- It is very difficult to create an adjustment when balances are off, even by a slight amount, with creating special categories and techniques to account for these adjustments as every penny has to be assigned a category to track it. This is good accounting in theory but in real life things happen that conflict with this theory and with Moneydance, there is no allowance for that. You might need this kind of detail for a business but not for home finance.

- The investment action for Interest in investment transactions can only be as Miscellaneous Income. The action for interest cannot be added or change and the program has no specific action for investment interest.

Editing Securities and values can be a very complex operation which requires multiple windows and is not very intuitive.

- There is no built-in ability to print or export Schedule A or Schedule B reports for submitting with your income taxes. Existing reports have to be customized and edited to accomplish this in order to get an approximation of what is needed.

- Creating next years budget from a previous year can be a complex process with a great deal of steps in order to create an accurate and useful tool.


- Some of the useful tools are only supported via 3rd party extensions, some of which are fee based and not always kept up-to-date along with limited documentation.

Support for the product is limited to e-mail or community forums. There is no chat line or phone support, even for bug workarounds, time critical situations, or database corruption, not even on a paid basis and there are no current plans I know of to implement this.

- Automatic backup to off-site services, such as cloud servers, while possible, is not supported. Like the issue above this is particularly worrisome give the entire data file is exposed every time the program is used.

- I have been informed by Tech Support that the deletion of information from an existing file will actually increase the file size due to the way deletions are logged and handled. This issue precludes the idea of copying a file to archive the data and then deleting existing information in the copy to start a new year, with the intent of reducing the file size.

Banktivity used to be know as iBank and seems to be having increased development lately. At one time Moneydance was a more complete product. Now I am not so sure. I have never used Bankivity but will consider it in my evaluations, along with Quicken, which is under new management, for a Moneydance replacement unless Infinite Kind shortly releases an update that corrects some of these issues.

Moneydance, if it were not for these issues, would be my hands down choice as the premier personal finance solution for the Mac. Unfortunately, right now, this is not the case.
Like (6)
Version 2017
1 answer(s)
Da-kool-kid
Da-kool-kid
20 November 2018
Thanks for such an in depth review. I was going to ask if you stayed with it or moved on, and then I saw your other reply to a post in January 2017 saying you moved to Banktivity. Are you still happy with the switch? An issue I have is that I am on 10.11 El Capitan and can't update my OS due to the age of my Mac. It appears I can use the latest version of Moneydance but will have to use an older no longer supported version of Banktivity....
Like
gilles-francia
21 July 2016
Moneydance is very great and complete program. I try during 1 month ALL competitors, and I tell you is the most professional on the market
Like (1)
Version 2015.7
computerpreacher
16 December 2015
AWESOME PROGRAM! I used to be a windows user for 30 years, I used Quicken and MS Money for those 30 years. When I switched to MAC< I bought Quicken for Mac 2015. It was a terrible program. The program would constantly import transactions randomly from all over the date range, which caused me to have to hunt the problems down. Quicken 2016 was worse. So I purchased MoneyDance. What a great program! The App even works which allows me to input Data when I am traveling. Quicken's app NEVER worked properly. The Customer service is fast via email. I am thrilled! I do not know what folks with bad reviews are doing with the program, but for me I could not be more pleased!
Like (3)
Version 2015.6
sk8xnick
18 August 2015
I been using money dance for more that 2 years now. I use it for small business and it is perfect for me. Multiple currencies, detailed reports and excel export - all what I need with very user-friendly interface. Why MD instead of other soft? - Cuz it is light in all meanings. Even when I had my HDD die (OSX), I so easily got my DB from it in one single file. No back ups or anything was done, jus 1 file. It was so crucial. The easiness and simplicity of creating categories with currencies and accounts really matters. But you notice that MoneyDance is best soft only after you use it a while. I can say I can rely on it and know that all data are stored securely!
Like (4)
Version 2015.5
Croberts
16 August 2015
I've tried about every personal finance package out there, and keep coming back to Moneydance which I've used for nearly a decade. Great balance between features and ease of use, and it handles multiple currencies very well. One thing sorely needed: A way to create and easily find a backup of your data. Then it'd get five stars from me.
Like (3)
Version 2015.5
leeladisky
27 July 2015
Great software, phenomenal support - great and constantly on top of things. Better than Quicken, for sure.
Like (4)
Version 2015.5
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
10 January 2017
Overall I disagree with this review. For my issues with the product, support tried to justify the programs issues and lack of a consistent interface rather than to address them and fix them. My only reluctant choice was to switch to a different application after my file size grew to over 650MB over 4 years and took over 20 minutes to backup to the cloud via U-verse and One Drive every time I opened it, with no way to archive or shrink the size other than starting completely over. During this time my access to the internet was severely impacted. After careful research and immediate rejection of Quicken for no other reason than its annual cost of over $200 per year for implementation of all its features, I chose Banktivity and am so far pleased with my decision. Performance is better; reports are more useful and easier to understand; investment handling is better; and the interface is more consistent; bill pay offers much better performance; and it does offer real time chat for support that has been excellent. It does have a few shortcomings: I have had a few more crashes that have been easily recoverable. Reconciling accounts is sightly easier in Moneydance. The Moneydance extension to manually enter security prices is slightly more friendly.The ability to import Moneydance data was limited due to QIF file limitations.

The bottom line is that I feel my decision was a wise one and worth the effort to start an new year in a new program.
Like
drivy
06 May 2015
Do NOT update this software. If you do, they will ask for more money (even though the software itself bugs me about updating every time I hope it), and hide your file of the former version so it is no longer accessible. The software in everyday use is good enough, but I'm so pissed about this scam, I'm about ready to switch back to Quicken! Thank god for time machine, or I'd have lost the past two years of data. Go to hell Moneydance.
Like (6)
Version 2015.3
2 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
15 June 2015
The paid upgrade occurred several years after the last paid release. The initial upgrade to 2015 was very buggy and should have been cleaned up before release. It is now relatively clean and trouble free with most of the really significant bugs resolved. I would not call it a scam to request a paid upgrade for a financial software package once every few years. If my memory serves me correctly, existing users were given a discounted price unlike some other vendors that charge full price for existing users. As such I take strong exception to drivy's comments and attitude.
Like (6)
scottm
scottm
12 July 2015
drivy, in hindsight you could have went to the MD website, plugged in your serial, and it would have given you your update options. I've been with them a long time. Usually the paid update is every 2 years, and discounted if it's longer than that. They are also very lenient with personal licenses, if you want to run on more than one machine in the house.
And my advice if you really want to go back to Quicken: do the Windows version. Mac version has issues with the latest update, and they have been dragging their feet on it. There is a pretty long thread in the Quicken forums about that.
Like (4)
Maczillllla
25 April 2015
I've been using Moneydance for a few years now. I'm pleased with the software and especially pleased at the response from support.
Like (1)
Version 2015.3
Full Score
10 March 2015
I've been using MD for a long time, ever since giving up on Quicken. It has satisfied most of my needs. However, the 2015 version was released with too many bugs and inconsistencies which were commendably acknowledged by the developer. These appear to have been fixed in 2015.3 with the major exception of changes that resulted in my inability to download account info from my Bank of America accounts.

Two Emails to the developers remain unanswered. After digging around their website I noticed that the current version 2015.3 was preceeded by one issued a few hours earlier (also called 2015.3). I had the earlier version installed. On re-installing the one on this page everything returned to normal.

The developers should make it clear that you need build 1175. The lack of this info caused me to waste many hours trying to fix the problem, and their lack of Email response hasn't helped. Neither has their failure to monitor their own online forum where their responses have also been untimely.

Better testing is required before releasing updates.
More info is required: NB the qualification on this page "Release notes were unavailable when this listing was updated".
Give precise version info and NEVER release two different products with identical names.
Like (5)
Version 2015.3
MDUser
30 January 2015
Used Quicken unntil it abandoned Apple. Tried and liked Monedance. It worked beautifully and deals with my fairly complex finances superbly. When 2015 came out I upgraded - and it failed to load. Scott Meehan patiently worked through a cycel of 10+ e-mail sessions over several weeks and finally made it work. The new design is clean and clear - much better for use than a jazzed-up piece of web woffle! Functionally as excellent as ever, but this message is about their service: "Kind" - at the very top of the grade: patient, polite, knowledable and extremely helpful. "Infinite" - well I can't claim I went that far(!), but I pushed them a LONG way - and they did not flinch. They chose their name very well and deserve all the success they get. Benedict in Maryland - with no affiliation other than having bought a copy of their program.
Like (2)
Version 2015.1
steh1uk
28 January 2015
Fantastic program , used MS Money for so long as had not herd of this, now no more having to go between mac and pc, the pad and iPhone app are good to. a customer support service that is faster then any other support that i have had to contact, and when i say fast, i mean within the hour, problem depends on time of day. would recommend MONEYDANCE to anyone keep up the good work steve
Like (1)
Version 2015.1
Drsfg
25 January 2015
Still uses double lines only for split entries. Not acceptable. Will not purchase. People have been asking to have this fixed since 2011.
Like
Version 2015.1
csaborio
23 January 2015
Great interface, but the fact of not being able to import CSV file is a deal breaker for me.
Like
Version 2015.0
2 answer(s)
Popguru
Popguru
05 February 2015
I haven't tried it myself, but there's a "Text File Importer" extension which will import CSVs:

https://infinitekind.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/200734377-Importing-CSV-files
Like
csaborio
csaborio
06 February 2015
Thanks for the link...I have been using MoneyWiz and have not looked back at any of trials I downloaded, amazing app and fulfills all my needs.
Like
csk137
19 January 2015
I used Moneydance up to MD2014 and it was OK. MD2015 had two serious problems in the 90 seconds that I tried it: 1) There is a five-second period of unresponsiveness when it starts up. This occurs for me even if I quit and restart. Doesn't respond any mouse or keyboard input for several seconds. 2) This one is even worse: They changed the color scheme in my checking register from my custom settings to a scheme that is physically painful to look at. It really hurts my eyes. And this is not the default scheme, this the *only* scheme, because they have removed "colors" settings from the Preferences! According to the developers, "I can confirm that this option has been deliberately removed in MD2015." This makes it unusable for me, even if I didn't mind the hang at startup. Note that Moneydance 2015 will modify your data file so that it can no longer be used with MD 2014 (still available at http://infinitekind.com/download_2014), so if you do want to try your luck with this, be sure you have a current backup of your data.
Like
Version 2015.0
1 answer(s)
Kitmos
Kitmos
23 January 2015
I agree it is now fugly.
Like
Wrtcedar
15 January 2015
The update installed without problems. The higher quality graphics are appreciated and the whole interface looks cleaner overall. I saw some instability with the initial version of Moneydance 2015, but it's been better since I picked up the update (to 2015.1) a few days ago. Moneydance remains an effective and streamlined tool for tracking my finances. However, I have one big issue with the update that's dampened my enthusiasm for the software. The new interface uses text that's varying shades of gray. It makes registers, in particular, harder to read. People with any sort of visual challenge are not likely to be very happy with this update.
Like (1)
Version 2015.0
jimkahnw
15 January 2015
Avoid this upgrade until the bugs are fixed. I've used MD for several years and faithfully downloaded the new version. Bad choice. Many bugs including Tags that don't work and errors importing QFX data. Also some interface issues including a dialog box that blocks the transactions window and cannot be dismissed.
Like
Version 2015.0
gary-22
14 January 2015
The Archive feature does not work for me – plain and simple. Gives some Java-related error on occasion at the Archive screen, but does not work even if the error does not appear. The resulting data file after the failed Archive causes MoneyDance to become unresponsive when clicking on an account name on the home screen. The rating reflects its unsuitability/unusability, else it’s 4.25 stars.
Like
Version 2015.0
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
12 January 2015
Be aware - since it's not noted above - that this is a paid upgrade. Which is OK if you use it regularly - and like the Yosemite look of the thing.
Like
Version 2015.0
Kitmos
12 January 2015
I was very hopeful that the new version would finally allow editing and/or deleting of Payees. Apparently the developers still won't implement this despite numerous requests. Back to Quicken which, despite other problems, does allow this.
Like
Version 2015.0
2 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
03 March 2015
Try iBank. While not perfect, it has evolved into a fully functional, easy to use, reliable personal finance program with a lot of features..
Like
Kitmos
Kitmos
04 March 2015
@Amcarter3: I actually do own iBank but it suffers from the same drawback as MD. It won't allow editing of Payees. I've asked the developers of both iB and MD about this and both have told me they don't intend to allow editing of Payees. Otherwise both are excellant.
Like
anonymous-dingo-826
11 January 2015
Moneydance 2015 freshly installed on my 2012 Mac mini (Yosemite). It works well, easily opened my previous MD data file (Dropbox). Quite pleased with its operation and the excellent way it employs the Yosemite 'look'. For me it looks better than most other apps on 10.10.1, even better than a lot of the OS does. It's the first app that has made me 'like' Yosemite.
Like
Version 2015.0
2 answer(s)
Derekjab
Derekjab
12 January 2015
Have you tried the Auto-commit facility? It just doesn't work for me. The Reminders calendar indicates that future transactions have been entered but they don't appear in the registers.

Although it opens my Moneydance 2014 file it won't migrate my Quicken Essentials data.

I think this release hasn't been fully tested and was rushed out too early.
Like
anonymous-dingo-826
anonymous-dingo-826
12 January 2015
@Derekjab I haven't had any Reminder transactions come due since I installed MD 2015. They do show up in the calendar but I note that under Auto-commit they all 'seem' to have been changed from monthly to weekly. Obviously a problem that needs to be communicated to the developers. Happens in my Linux Mint 17 version too. Both use Dropbox.

Maybe this version isn't quite ready for prime time?
Like
Jimw
11 January 2015
Moneydance 2015 as of 1/11/15 crashes on launch on my MacPro running OS X 10.10.1 and Java 8 Update 25.
Like
Version 2015.0
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
12 January 2015
Fixed it. It was a preference in my user library.
Like
rp-1
22 December 2014
I used Quicken for many years and for the last 18 months, Moneydance. The only feature Moneydance is missing is a Global search that looks at all your accounts at once. This would be a huge improvement as often it is hard to remember which account you bought something with. The search feature works great buy only on an account by account basis. Otherwise I would rate Moneydance 5 stars. Help is only via email but on Sunday evening I was stuck and at 7.45pm got a response to my question here in the UK. I highly recommend Moneydance!
Like (1)
Version 2014.5
1 answer(s)
Dkosiur
Dkosiur
11 January 2015
I may be mistaken, but the search function available on your home page is a global search. And if you do not select an account under the "advanced search" button, the search includes all accounts.
Like (2)
Calguy
28 November 2014
Seamless synchronization with iPhone/iPad. The desktop application is updated regularly and the company provides excellent support. Moneydance is the perfect financial/checkbook software for people who want to minimize their tax preparation hassles, keep track of their cash flow or just want to have balanced checking accounts.
Like
Version 2014.5
geoffparkhouse
20 November 2014
Having used MS Money for over 10 years I was delighted to find a programme that could import all my current and archived accounts. The customer service has been excellent and the prompt and helpful replies enabled me to import all the old files easily. The manual on line is detailed and easy to use despite (for a Brit!) some US terms!! So far a very satisfied customer. Many thanks.
Like
Version 2014.5
ScottConley5129
30 October 2014
Moneydance is great for keeping track of banking, credit card, and investments. It allows downloading of transactions from many institutions for free (unlike iBank and Quicken which requires you to purchase a new version every two years). The developers are responsive to problems.
Like
Version 2014.5
kfitchwarner
21 October 2014
I have been using Moneydance on my iMac for over a year, after giving up on Quicken. For me it works great for keeping track of my various checking and savings accounts, and my credit card transactions. I have to enter the latter manually because Moneydance does not support online updates from Spanish banks, but I had the same situation with Quicken. What is really great about this software is the customer support. I had a problem figuring out how to access my data from two different Apple computers, and they solved the problem in record time, faster than any other customer service I´ve ever used. So glad I switched!!
Like
Version 2014.5
swells
15 September 2014
Very nice app. Easy to use and works great!
Like
Version 2014.5
Datman
15 September 2014
After a number of years struggling with a non-mac interface and a lack luster mac support attitude and then a short and frustrating experience with quicken essentials, I finally moved to MoneyDance. I could not be more pleased. 1) it is a built for mac product!, 2) it is very user configurable to fit your style and preferences, 3) it syncs with your iPhone and iPad, and 4) the customer service is very good (I had a small syncing problem and the service rep had me up and running very quickly). If price, quality, and performance are what you are looking for, look no further. Make MoneyDance your financial partner!
Like
Version 2014.5
Datman
15 September 2014
After a number of years struggling with a non-mac interface and a lack luster mac support attitude and then a short and frustrating experience with quicken essentials, I finally moved to MoneyDance. I could not be more pleased. 1) it is a built for mac product!, 2) it is very user configurable to fit your style and preferences, 3) it syncs with your iPhone and iPad, and 4) the customer service is very good (I had a small syncing problem and the service rep had me up and running very quickly). If price, quality, and performance are what you are looking for, look no further. Make MoneyDance your financial partner!
Like
Version 2014.5
Poundsmack
27 August 2014
Been using it for years and love it. Great price, and a very good app. Thanks guys.
Like
Version 2014.5
BobS2915
19 July 2014
Been using MD for many years. Except for a few hiccups connecting to a bank, I have been very happy. Support group has been extremely helpful when needed.
Like
Version 2014.4
bowlerboy-jmb
17 February 2014
MoneyDance user guide errors … … copied and pasted into a TextEdit document — originally with the intention of giving feedback only to the developer, but so soon evolving into such a comedy of errors that it made me realize that perhaps the only way to whack such people on the side of the head for their own good would be to let others know what they would they getting themselves into, if they supported this company. page 3 To keep your data file stored in it’s current location its [Don’t your writers and copy editors know the difference between its and it’s? Look it up!] page 3 or import data from Quicken essentials Quicken Essentials {Why must you be rude or snide to your competition, or are you just too lazy to do proper research?] page 5 For an in depth description in-depth (is more generally accepted) page 5 To create, edit, or delete and account an account [This is getting way too distracting and irritating to me. Spend some money, and hire a competent proofreader to support a competent writer. The spelling and grammar of this technical writer is atrocious, and this is only page 5! You are embarrassing your entire company with such errors like this in your documentation. It makes me think: “Gosh, they can’t write worth a damn without making sloppy mistakes. Why should I trust this documentation? It’s not accurate. It probably won’t be thorough. Maybe they can’t add or program code either.”] [Of course, you didn’t take my feedback previously about the unclear descriptions of your versions, so maybe there is an element of arrogance that will prevent any corrections from taking place in your manual, since, like defunct and obsolete IBMers, maybe your company does not accept feedback that was NIH - “not invented here.”] page 6 Filter buttons across the top of the register let you display display all or a subset of transactions [Display display! Really, this is all the free feedback you get. If you can’t realize how sloppy your documentation is, then there is no hope for you. When I worked as a copywriter at Atari many years ago, a writer’s work was reviewed by a copy editor, then a department manager, then a division head, and several artists and illustrators. All of them had to sign off before something was put in print. There are so many elementary-school-level errors in the first six pages of your user guide that I get the impression that an 8-year child of the company’s founder both wrote and edited her own user guide and daddy is too kind to correct her mistakes.] You know what? You deserve to be embarrassed. I think I will let your potential customers see for themselves how sloppy your documentation is, so that they can decide for themselves if such a sloppy mentality infects the programming of your software, too. I am looking for a replacement for Intuit’s Quicken, but if you can’t write worth a damn, how good can your software be?
Like
Version 2014.3
4 answer(s)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
17 February 2014
I didn't think things could get worse, but they can: page 7 If your bank support direct connections they may also support online bill pay. [And the hits keep rolling in. This 8-year child of a writer never disappoints. … bank support (lack of agreement between subject and predicate; noun bank is singular, so verb must be also be singular, i.e. supports. … “they” … why is a bank “they”? Oh, so sad. Let this poor child finish grammar school before putting her to work. Please!] … if clauses need a comma to separate them from their corresponding sentence portion, i.e., if, then. As in: If an incompetent writer is tasked with presenting the company’s documentation, then it is predictable that that company will be highly embarrassed by the result. If the head of the company writes the documentation, then that company has a real ego problem lurking at the top. Like that! If, then. Catching on yet? page 7 again most banks allow you to download your transactions from the their website [Maybe this writer has vision problems. Maybe this company fails to provide vision benefits for its employees, or its exploited child laborers. Maybe this writer st-st-st-stutters, or she just likes meaningless alliteration.] page 7 yet again If you’ve manually entered transactions Moneydance will suggest a merge between it and similar imported transactions, if not Moneydance may suggest a similar transactions for categorization. [The if clause lesson was obviously never mastered. Apparently this writer thinks that two if clause sentences can be run-on without commas separating the clauses, or even a semi-colon or a period to control the verbal diarrhea. Neither was the relationship between nouns and pronouns needing to be of the same singular/plural quality. “Transactions” (being plural) cannot be “it” (being plural). Beddy-bye, darling girl. Did you get your third grade homework done before you wrote the manual for my company?]
Like
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
19 February 2014
Let us now up the stakes from mere grammar-checking to an examination of one chapter of the same manual, and how such an examination of the process of reconciling your accounts can provide great insights into the nature of a product and the company making it: page 58 … Chapter 10 … Reconciling Your Accounts Overall assessment = Adequate but mediocre and incomplete Examples of mediocrity and incompleteness: The Reconcile Account: Checking window features two fields: Beginning Statement Balance: End Statement Balance: Immediately, if you know anything about language you wonder why the software designers can’t even be bothered to use a parallel structure in laying out their windows and say “Beginning” and “Ending” instead of “Beginning” and “End.” You feel it, even though you may not articulate it. The programmers’ short-sighted and limited language skills not only hamper the writer, but the fact that such a small glitch slipped through all the checkpoints and into production reveals that, within their little company, there is not a lot of mutual respect going on between the programmers and the marketing staff, which would include the writer. If people truly worked closely, which is absolutely necessary in any endeavor, the writer, or her manager, would at the very least have the clout to go back to the programmers and ask them to please understand that their use of language is not quite at the high standard it ought to be, and because any low standard will inevitably impact the impression the customers get about everything is a company, the software designers, if they are truly dedicated to producing a top quality produced, are obliged to make changes when told by someone presumably well-trained in a different discipline who ought to know better. Of course, if the writer is not well-qualified, then she does not know better, or if she is too timid, or so junior that no one ever talks to her, then she will be afraid to make waves for fear of losing her job, which gets us bad to poor internal cooperation, doesn’t it. It’s a feedback loop that any sound designer or programmer ought to recognize, and if their managers and executives cannot see this, god help all them in their dance to make money. OK, not let’s get beyond how a very close reading of a software company’s window designs can be used to reveal how its interpersonal flaws can reveal a pervasive sense of mediocrity, even though less attentive readers would skip over such a tiny thing as “So what?” or “No Big Deal”? Given what we now know about the writer, who, for whatever reason lacked either the perception to see the flaw or the guts to fight to fix it, she does not come off as any star either. In discussing how to use this Reconciling Your Accounts window, the writer takes a backwards approach in typical passive voice style—both further signs of mediocrity. For example, instead of using parallelism to simply say this: “The Beginning Statement Balance is a field into which Moneydance enters a non-editable amount, based on the entries in your account. The End Statement Balance is the amount you enter from your banking statement. It is usually called the New Balance.” The user guide says this: “You will be asked to enter an Ending Statement amount, usually the balance listed on your most recent statement bank statement. You will also be shown a non-editable Beginning Statement.” Now I ask you: Which version is easier and clearer to understand? What’s the difference? What’s the problem? In the first place, the question is: Why say that in passive voice? When you are teaching someone to do something, be active. Be upbeat. Why give the impression that the user is at the impact of the software. Give the user control! Sure, you can eventually puzzle it out, but using the passive voice almost always injects an atmosphere of vagueness and a lack of specificity that tends to stops the brain and forces it to decode the meaning. It’s the kind of language used in government instructional manuals. Lawyers and politicians who want to talk out of both sides of their mouth at the same time often rely on passive voice so that, later on, that cannot be pinned down at having said anything clear or concrete at all. Eschew the passive voice, teach the writers of the Elements of Style, a classic book on writers. This writer apparently skipped that course. In the second place, putting the second field on the window first in the instructions reverses the order of comprehending what to do. People’s eyes move down the page, so why make them start the processing of learning how to use a window from the bottom up? Besides all this, I question the accuracy of saying that, when you reconcile, you will rely “on your most recent bank statement.” That’s true only if you faithfully reconcile your accounts each and every time, which, while a good habit is broken almost as often as it is kept. Of course, maybe the software designers have programmed MoneyDance in such a way that ALL of the data in ALL of the banking statements have to be included in the reconciliation, in which case maybe such a sweeping statement might be true. I am exploring MoneyDance as a replacement for Quicken, and Quicken’s reconciliation process structured the process in such a way that you reconciled your statement according to the strict statement dates provided by the Bank. Moneydance, on first go, appears to ignore that approach: dates do not seem to matter that much, unless you download transactions from your bank. Moneydance says that “The ‘As of” date” field in your reconciliation window is only enabled if you download transactions for that account online.” Why it should make a difference that you get to reconcile your checking accounts according to dates ONLY if you download data but not if you use printed statements, which clearly spell out the Beginning and Ending (New) balances in association with your statement date period is beyond my limited imagination! But it is their ballpark, so if elect to use this software, I guess you have to play by their rules. At least Moneydance’s reconciliation procedure, if not as clearly or as elegantly executed as Quicken’s, is easier to comprehend and use than its competitor, SEE Finance. You can read my review of that software to learn why I rejected it as a replacement for Quicken. Finally, at the end of the chapter on reconciliation, the writer gets lazy by not completing the illustration of the process. The manual talks about concepts of “Current Balance” and “Target Balance” and “Difference,” but, in the manual, you get lost because you never actually see what it is talking about. Why not? Because the writer failed to include the necessary screen shot to show you what she is talking about! Really, now, how much time, energy, and pixels does it cost to include an illustration of that screen in order to complete the reconciliation process? After all, without that window, you never get to “Done.” So, too, by not showing me the end step, the writer did not get the job done right! So, for those in the crowd who think that I am merely an unofficial member of the Grammar Police, if your mind is open just a half a crack more than a Republican bigot in Florida who thinks it’s a good idea to carry a gun and shoot young men who are inappropriately dressed in their lily white neighborhood or playing loud music in their car while waiting for the light to change, you might actually have learned how the failure to get your words spelled right, or your commas in the right place, is usually a sign of a more systemic problem that reveals cracks in the very flaws of the document where those otherwise trivial errors live. Further, when that document reflects the face of the company of people developing it in tandem, you can also extrapolate from their public documents not only what they think about themselves, but how they interact with each other. I told Moneydance staff that I really want to like their software as a replacement for Quicken. But, instead of thanks, they are threatening to delete anything I send them, because I am not doing so with an acceptable level of softness and deference. They have not grokked, or accepted, that I am deliberately whacking them on the side of a head with less charm that I can employ when I believe people are open to listening, because I don’t know if one can penetrate their emotional armor with nice words and praise, which is what they seem desperate to get. They are so defensive about what I say because I am not saying it a nice way, that I am not sure that they can actually accept the substance of the criticism to make the necessary changes to improve their product over time. Arrogance is not a good way to run a software company. We all saw how Intuit’s arrogance was its death knell and how it turned us off to their software. I’m whacking these people early so that they don’t turn into Intuit down the line. If they don’t like my dance, then I will soon look elsewhere to manage my money. But, for now, I will continue to test out their software. I like most of what I see. I really do. But with money management software, things have to be perfect. You can’t get a little bit off in your calculations, or in your explanations of how to use the software to manage your money, and your life.
Like
Tim27
Tim27
20 April 2014
Wow, someone needs a cookie. The documentation might not be perfect, but the software works well. In fact, it works better than every other money app I've tried.
Like (2)
Cunamara
Cunamara
21 April 2014
You like reading your own words, don't you? Out of mild curiosity, have you ever actually used the application?
Like (1)
Iliketrash
30 December 2013
I downloaded MoneyDance and launched it. It immediately gobbled up 150 MB of RAM and for the last 20 minutes has been pinwheeling.
Like
Version 2014
4 answer(s)
boreham
boreham
04 January 2014
If this was a fault of Moneydance your rating would be justified, and the forums would be full of it. Have you taken any troubleshooting steps or asked for help from Moneydance? Their support is very good.
Like (2)
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
05 January 2014
150 MB memory use for such an application seems to be absolutely appropriate to me. Mail, Safari and iTunes use always more than that (often more than 200 MB), and Firefox does it rarely with less than 400 MB. I'm using Moneydance since several years and had never a crash or hang-up with it.
Like (2)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
17 February 2014
O-My-Gosh... you launched a software application and it actually used memory to operate. What a sin! Were you expecting it to use paper envelopes to track your expenses and reconcile your checkbook? What fascinates me is how you were able to review all of its features and benefits to conclude that it only merits half-a-star when it sounds like you never bothered to do anything to clean up your computer configuration to get it to run? Are you psychic? Do you work for Intuit? Are you a software developer in competition with this better product, so you have to trash it without actually using it? No wonder you like trash. Your moniker matches the quality of your "review."
Like
Tim27
Tim27
21 April 2014
@Bowlerboy_jmb What fascinates me is you are slamming Iliketrash for his review and then you post that crazy grammar comment above.
Like
dotorious
25 November 2013
I switched to Moneydance as a long-overdue replacement for Quicken, and have not regretted it since. I don't pay bills or automatic statement downloads in Moneydance, so I don't know how well those features work, but for manual entry and account management, it works well.
Like
Version 2012.5
Jimw
28 April 2013
As a former Quicken 2007 (Q7) user, over a year ago I felt it was time to switch to a different finance program give the lack of support or upgrades from Intuit. After much research I chose Moneydance, primarily because it was the only program at the time, and as far as I know, still is, that handled investment accounts, and did bill pay from within the program. It also had reasonable reviews. So after using it for over a year here are my conclusions: Moneydance is much more stable than Q7. I have yet to have a database go corrupt, even with a year carryover, as Q7 used to do. However backup can be an issue since all the data file are buried deep within the user library and can be difficult to locate. Bank and credit accounts are handled well as far as download and reconcile. However due to the fact that it regards a normal balance on a card as a negative balance, which it actually is in bookkeeping terms, it can be somewhat confusing at first. Reconcile has had an issue with '0' or credit balances on credit cards but this has largerly been fixed. When any transaction is downloaded from an institution it has to be 'confirmed' which either merges with an existing transaction or creates a new one. One glaring issue is that the 'Conform' command is can be several places on the screen depending on the type of account. This makes for a confusing interface. Other than that transaction downloads work well for checks, credit cards, and investments. Bill pay is another matter. While it works well it is very confusing at first. A simple bill pay transaction works well but the transaction can't be entered into the check register. It has to be entered into a special bill pay window and then appears in the register. The feature of adding a new payee from the bill entry screen is their but it does not work. The payee has to be set up in a different window first. This is a bug. For split accounts it is not at all friendly since bill pay does not handle split categories. It either has to be entered as a single category and then edited in the check register into a split account or entered into bill pay as a single category, have a calendar reminder setup to do the split transaction, then merge the two when the 'check' is cleared. Split transactions and reminders are a bit weak in the product. They take a while to figure out and get used to. The program seems to have no reasonable limit on accounts and categories. The program handles investments very well, other than transfers between accounts. In my case several entries occur for a single transfer where only one should be. This is easily taken care of by deleting the unnecessary transactions. However it could be caused by the way the bank posts the transfer. Converting from another program can be an issue. I did not even try conversion given my finances were quite complicated although I have read that others have been successful and that MD does a better job than some others. MD is a double entry system with no holes. Anything coming in or going out has to have a category or account. This can be very frustrating at times when trying to adjust a balance to be correct when no history of the account exists. I solved this problem by making a dummy account and using it as a category for balancing. Then I adjust its initial balance to reflect '0' in the current account balance. Seems complicated but it works. Reconciling also is reasonably easy to do and works well. The only issue as mentioned above is that you can't add a balance adjustment to an account without a category. Support for the program, when available is very good. The only issue is that sometimes your support requests get lost and you may have to submit them several times. Finally there is the subject of reports. This is perhaps MD's weakest point. While it has many reports that are customizable they often are not what you really want or need. Many are just variations of the same style. The reports are almost useless for a comprehensive Schedule A or B tax report. This is one area where Quicken gets the nod. I should not that MD 2012 was a very minor bug update and so far no announcement has been made for 2013. Updates are few and far between. TIP: There are a number of free extensions available for MD, such as entering stock quotes. I recommend getting those you might want to use right after installing the program.
Like (1)
Version 2012.5
silverlaker
16 April 2013
I'm happy to say Moneydance is working without any problems and my data is intact.
Like
Version 2012.5
silverlaker
08 April 2013
Wow - I can't believe this new update of Moneydance destroyed my data file. It said it would convert and archive. I can't open anything at all. This is HORRIBLE. I wish I'd never hit the button to update to the latest version.
Like
Version 2012.5
3 answer(s)
Sean-Reilly
Sean-Reilly
12 April 2013
Hi Bohdanz, I promise that there is no way that Moneydance destroyed your data file. When you update from a previous version, Moneydance makes a copy of your file (into an archive folder) exactly as it was when you updated. The new version also has a copy of the file that it works on and is designed so that it is never possible to destroy your data. If you send us a message at support@moneydance.com (and cc me at sreilly@infinitekind.com) we'll get you sorted out. Thanks, Sean
Like (2)
silverlaker
silverlaker
13 April 2013
I appreciate Sean's support email. I downloaded Moneydance again and my data file both opened and works without problem. Thanks Sean.
Like
Sean-Reilly
Sean-Reilly
14 April 2013
Hi Bohdanz, if Moneydance is still working well for you, would you mind updating your rating from one star? :) Cheers, Sean
Like
Full Score
17 December 2012
With 2012.2 the ability to use MD and Dropbox Mac-to-Mac has been restored, albeit with a workaround. See http://help.infinitekind.com/kb/moneydance-2012/how-to-move-your-data-file-to-a-different-location-in-moneydance-2012 The other improvements to the app are relatively minor; the last two years' development have not really added a lot of additional value. I still cannot download financial info from either of my Barclaycard Visa cards (US Airways and Virgin) directly into MD. I have to use individually imported QIF files - very annoying - but probably the fault of the Juniper folks who do the programming for Barclaycard.
Like (1)
Version 2012.2
Jimw
16 December 2012
This is still the only finance program, other than Quicken that will download and do bill pay from within the program. The latest version seems to have stabilized some issues and fixed others. I have used it for a year and unlike Quicken have not found my database to be corrupted. As an overall finance product is is great. Its weak points are some of its reports and extensions. I suspect these will improve over time. Tech support is there for you, a while a bit slow to respond at times, once you have their attention, followup is excellent. Securities are handled at least as well as Quicken, perhaps better. Overall it is a really viable Quicken replacement.
Like (2)
Version 2012.2
Popguru
15 December 2012
MoneyDance 2012.2 is out. It's not immediately clear from their download page, but if you download now, this is the version you'll get. Here's a blog post about the release: http://infinitekind.com/blog/archives/605/
Like
Version 2012.1
boreham
28 September 2012
Be very careful about updating to 2012.1. This is not a straightforward update but a radical change to how the data is stored, and at the moment it looks as though syncing between computers with Dropbox, and possibly multiple account files are not supported. This is a constructive warning from a long term enthusiast of Moneydance.
Like (3)
Version 2012.1
4 answer(s)
qb
qb
28 September 2012
The What's New states "Built in Dropbox syncing with the iPhone, iPad and iPod touch app." While it does not mention Mac OS X I've kept my data file on DropBox for a long time. Do you still feel they took AWAY OS X DropBox support? Please keep us posted: on your review I'll hold off a little before upgrading. thanks
Like
boreham
boreham
28 September 2012
Yes, I think (not 100% certain) that they have taken away OSX Dropbox support, hence syncing between computers. When I opened my Dropbox file in Moneydance 2012, it was removed from Dropbox to the archive folder in user library and the dat stored the data internally to the program. It warns you it will do this. I have restored everything to pre 2012 status from backups until I understand better. Plenty of questions but not answers in the Moneydance forum
Like (1)
boreham
boreham
28 September 2012
Moneydance staff have posted on the forum that they are working on a version which will support OSX Dropbox syncing, and also that multiple datafiles are supported by the current 2012.1 version. He advises waiting if you use OSX Dropbox syncing. Would have been nice if there was some warning.
Like (1)
csk137
csk137
28 September 2012
We access our Moneydance 2011 data file from two different user accounts on the same computer. This functionality is apparently broken in this 2012 version. It took me an hour to purge myself of the problems and revert to my Moneydance 2011 setup. Multiple users should avoid this version.
Like
Britt3333
17 August 2012
I have FINALLY found a Mac App to use for all my finances that allows me to let go of Quicken and the need to run it with Windows.
Like (1)
Version 2011
Jimw
15 June 2012
I converted from Quicken 2007 to MoneyDance (MD) early this year to give it a try. I considered my money well spent when I found out that Intuit was charging its customers $30 for a bug fix so it would work on Lion, with no indication of new versions with upgraded features or that it would work with Mountain Lion. I have been working with MD for 5 Months now. While it does have its differences and quarks, so does every other program. However the point of this comment is to discuss customer service, not the program itself, which I will do at a later date when I am more familiar with it and have fully explored it. Soon after I started using MD I ran into a situation that I reported on their forums. The reply (not automated) came the same day. Yesterday I had a serious critical issue that might have resulted in significant financial loss and the elimination of my health insurance benefits if not handled properly. It was in regard to an on-line transaction that I posted through the on-line banking service in MD that was sent to my bank, Wells Fargo. Not to bore the reader with the details, the bottom line was that I got little to no help with the issue till I called their executive offices in San Francisco. Through normal channels, they told me that if I was not using Quicken it was my problem as the supposed no other 3rd party software, even if it did the same thing. My call to the executive offices of Wells Fargo confirmed what I suspected and confirmed by MD (to be explained below), that MD had nothing to do with the issue. Before I called Wells Fargo I utilized some information that I had been able to find to directly contact MD through an email address last night. That urgent email landed up in the mailbox of the the MD president. This morning I received a call from him during the time I requested. He clarified how the transaction took place, and gave me the ammunition to get Wells Fargo to handle the issue properly. What really amazed me was from where he made the the call. He was in England - or as they say across the pond." He was polite, courteous, and helpful. For me it settled any concerns about customer service with MD. While he could of passed it on to a support team member to contact me, he actually made the call himself. This is a most outstanding example of extraordinary customer service. It demonstrates to me that MD does more that give lip service to customer support as Intuit has done so often. So if anyone has any concerns about the lever of customers support they will get from MD, I would say, on the basis of two experiences, forget about it. A co-worked told me a long time ago that the only thing worse than not having a piece of equipment (tool, product, etc.) is having it fail and not being able to get it fixed. Given the support I have so far received from MD, I feel it is a scenario the is unlikely to happen. Please do not ask me for the contact information I have as publicly providing, aside from interfering with the presidents work schedule, would probably drive the companies phone bills sky high and possibly bankrupt them. The only reason I considered using it was that it was a critical situation and the resources I had (Wells Fargo) who were ultimately responsible for the transaction path refused to provide assistance. Thank you again SR.
Like (4)
Version 2011