Back to MacPAR deLuxe page
MacPAR deLuxe free download for Mac

MacPAR deLuxe Reviews

5.1.1
21 August 2019

Manage and decode .par/.par2 files from newsgroups.

Bluepolo
27 June 2011

Most helpful

Most folks focus on PAR files in the Usenet context. I use PAR files to protect against data loss by taking data to be saved and building in some fault tolerance: http://www.hutsby.net/2010/10/creating-parity-files-to-protect.html. PS I would give this 5 stars for everything if it automatically split the file into equal sized chunks for me.
Like (3)
Version 4.2.5

Read 25 MacPAR deLuxe User Reviews

Rate this app:

Fivetwelve
10 November 2014
Great app but one star off because of an issue with queuing files for decompression. If you select multiple RAR files and use Open With, MPD will decompress the whole lot. If MPD is still active and you select another set of RAR files it will only decompress the first file in the lot. Very bizarre. You have to quit MPD in order for it to behave again. Every. Single. Time.
Like
Version 5.0.1
evelynjoseph97
22 September 2014
Useful information. This app have lots of features. From Bizbilla B2B portal
Like
Version 5.0.1
Maxruehl
17 March 2014
I just created a PAR2 set with MPD. They did not work as expected. I double-clicked Par2 (in the same directory as the RARs) and MPD launched and, seemingly started to work, but it did not behave normally--there was never any file by file check as usual (X good of X files). After less than a minute, MPD reported that the files checked out fine, but I got no visual representation of that, plus the elapsed time was not adequate to check a 164 part RAR archive of around 16GB. Also, MPD did not begin expanding the archive as I have specified in prefs. Any suggestions?
Like
Version 4.4.1
Maxruehl
12 March 2014
I just created a PAR2 set with MPD. They did not work as expected. I double-clicked Par2 (in the same directory as the RARs) and MPD launched and, seemingly started to work, but it did not behave normally--there was never any file by file check as usual (X good of X files). After less than a minute, MPD reported that the files checked out fine, but I got no visual representation of that, plus the elapsed time was not adequate to check a 164 part RAR archive of around 16GB. Also, MPD did not begin expanding the archive as I have specified in prefs. Any suggestions?
Like
Version 4.4.1
Bluepolo
27 June 2011
Most folks focus on PAR files in the Usenet context. I use PAR files to protect against data loss by taking data to be saved and building in some fault tolerance: http://www.hutsby.net/2010/10/creating-parity-files-to-protect.html. PS I would give this 5 stars for everything if it automatically split the file into equal sized chunks for me.
Like (3)
Version 4.2.5
2 answer(s)
Lookin2it
Lookin2it
27 June 2011
Thank you for the useful information. I just wanted to let you know that the link you provided lands on a page that says "page does not exist on this blog"
Like
Bluepolo
Bluepolo
28 June 2011
Hi. Maybe you got the URL wrong? It loads fine for me: http://www.hutsby.net/2010/10/creating-parity-files-to-protect.html Try this?
Like
-M-S-
26 June 2011
Works well, never an issue; fast and modern.
Like
Version 4.2.5
Thajeztah
02 January 2010
I've been using MacPARdeluxe now for some years and it's become a must-have tool for me. Although I'm still using a Core Duo Processor (not 64-bit), I applaud the author for taking the time to make maximum use of Snow Leopard (64 bit AND grand central dispatch) - many developers haven't even -considered- doing this. Recent versions have never crashed on me and, unlike other posters, I don't mind MPD to use a lot of processing power, after all, there's a lot of processing required to check if the downloaded files are ok. MPD does the job and integration with Split & Concat makes checking and extracting downloads a one-click trick :)
Like (2)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Jimblue
Jimblue
06 January 2011
MacPARdeluxe + Split & Concat = winning combination. add MacHacha and you’re newsgroup netiquette ready for anything up and down :)
Like (1)
Wim-De-Smet
01 January 2010
Beside UnrarX, also freeware, there is no Parclient for the Mac then MacParDeLuxe. I can recommend this client above UnRarX because MacParDeLuxe can handle pasword while extracting.
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Scuseme
Scuseme
18 November 2010
UnRarX can too. Just hit the Password icon (set of keys) and fill in your password before extraction. Works great!
Like
Version 4.2
Hello-
01 January 2010
Grand Central? I'm happy with this.
Like
Version 4.0
Turkchgo
31 December 2009
Wow, what an awesome update! 64bit, Multi-threaded!
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Zerolight
02 November 2008
@Castle. You can limit CPU usage. Preferences, Par2, CPU Usage - default is 2 cores. I have mine set to 1. Frees up the other core for other tasks.
Like
Version 3.8
1 answer(s)
Castle
Castle
15 November 2009
My comment was regarding MacPar with it already set to 1 CPU core.
Like
Version 3.8
Castle
14 October 2008
Great app - I really couldn't live without it. I do wish the CPU usage could be limited, though. On my MBP running MacPAR will make playing any kind of video impossible.
Like
Version 3.8
Smoldersonline
04 May 2008
Fully agree with serphium's review - an excellent tool. Indeed an option to turn off MacPar searching for files would even enhance the tool. Thank you!
Like
Version 3.8
Magentis
19 January 2008
Overall, an excellent program. Does what it's supposed to do. I do have a few wishes though. MacPar likes to look at all files in a directory (even if they are not matched by name in the par file). It would be nice to have an option for turning this off. A built-in SFV checker would be wonderful. And this is just a little nitpick, but the icons look quite dated. Would be nice to see them refreshed.
Like
Version 3.7
Dom21
03 December 2007
Indispensible. Five stars. For the _rare_ times this won't do the job there are other apps that will.
Like
Version 3.7
Aljuk
18 July 2007
A very useful tool. Works perfectly.
Like
Version 3.7
Aquax
12 August 2006
Phenomenal. Very Mac-like in the UI, but handles Windows created PAR, RAR, etc, with no sweat.
Like
Version 3.6
Wings
12 August 2006
What I've always wanted in an app like this is the ability to UNrar a set when there is 1 or more missing pieces (and none or not enough PARs). Not useful for getting apps from the newsgroups, but at least for music or movie files, you'll get SOMEthing rather than nothing.
Like
Version 3.6
1 answer(s)
Dom21
Dom21
18 August 2006
For that you'll want Ajoiner.
Like
Version 3.6.1
Jazzaddict
06 July 2006
Sweet! Works without a glitch. What would I do without this .app? Worthy of a donation for sure!
Like
Version 3.5
Anonymous
25 May 2005
this software rocks , much better than stuffit
Like
Version 3.2
Anonymous
21 January 2005
a genious software, much better than stuffit to decompress .rar archives. this piece will rock !
Like
Version 3.2
Anonymous
03 January 2005
Very nice par utility. One wish list item though - having to rescan the entire volume set when attempting to recover after obtaining additional needed .par2 files is painful. Hopefully future versions won't require this.
Like
Version 3.2
Anonymous
21 November 2004
MacPar Deluxe is probably the best rar/par archiving and expansion product available on the Mac. Other options such as Gumby and UnRAR X do not have the same ease of use. Simply associate all par and rar files with MacParDeluxe and double-click. Easy as pie.r01 and pie.r02 Its integration with Split & Concat has made it an indispensible tool in my Usenet surfing toolbox.
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
23 August 2004
An excellent piece of software that does exactly what it says, without any fuss or bother. I've not had any problems with it, running on OSX 10.3.5
Like
Version 2.6
indices
18 April 2004
This is a very excellent utility for both .par's and .rar files... does a great job with Usenet binaries! Thanks for this valuable addition to the OS X kit... and thanks for your generous shareware terms!
Like
Version 2.6