Back to SiteSucker page
SiteSucker free download for Mac

SiteSucker Reviews3.2.5

14 September 2020

Automatically downloads complete Web sites.

4
valerii-saytzev
06 June 2018
Version: 2.11.5

Most helpful

Good app.
(1)

How would you rate SiteSucker app?

Read 111 SiteSucker User Reviews

nobody2011
08 February 2020
Version: 3.0.1
Price on AppStore 5,49€ ~ US$ 6,01
(0)
wjblair91
14 December 2019
Version: 2.11.13
Is is supposed to be able to copy js?
(0)
jefferis
12 September 2018
Version: 2.11.7
Wasn't able to download anything from a WIX site. All pages were downloaded but were empty except for stylesheets
(0)
Christo777
17 June 2018
Version: 2.11.5
Price on Apple Store is 6.99 USD and not 4.99.
(0)
4
valerii-saytzev
06 June 2018
Version: 2.11.5
Good app.
(1)
5
id4rk
10 September 2017
Version: 2.10.6
Bought it from the AppStore. Price to functionality relation much superior than competitors. I am very satisfied.
(3)
5
Bort1611
02 March 2017
Version: 2.10.1
Works perfectly, great job!
(1)
5
Morlo
07 October 2016
Version: 2.9
simply the best tool for the job. there is none like it on the mac, none with the small tweaks and settings you can adjust. believe me, i've tried them all. it takes some time and tests to get the download exactly right, but once you do it is a breeze. the download using web-views option is a lifesaver. i usually don't give out five stars but the developer is also fast to respond and very helpful so there you go.
(1)
RogerKatz
08 July 2016
Version: 2.8.3
the current version is 2.8.4
(0)
Turquoise
16 May 2016
Version: 2.8.2
I wish it could batch convert everything to PDF.
(0)
3.5
fwilkinson
02 November 2015
Version: 2.7.4
Doesn't lose suction
(2)
Chaloots
29 October 2015
Version: 2.7.3
Out of curiosity, what does this app do differently than saving a webpage as webarchive in Safari?
(0)
Show comment (1)
OhEssex
16 July 2015
Version: 2.7
I don't begrudge the developer wanting to charge for his software, but given that you can only now purchase this from the MAS, MacUpdate should amend their description to no longer say: SiteSucker is donationware (uncrippled shareware). Pay any amount of money SiteSucker is worth to you or use it for free.
(0)
Panocha
10 November 2014
Version: 2.6.2
Is this another app that has died out because they have made the dumb decision to go MAS only and alienate people that can't and won't purchase software that way? Or is there another download method that I have missed or MU didn't post a link to?
(4)
Show comments (2)
5
Lisa Lockworth
02 November 2014
Version: 2.4.6
Awesome. One of my favorites.
(0)
RogerKatz
26 October 2014
Version: 2.4.6
Latest version is 2.6.1
(0)
pettifogger0712
27 July 2014
Version: 2.4.6
Latest version is 2.5.3 (released 16 June 2014)...unfortunately it is App Store only
(2)
poetaignota
06 August 2013
Version: 2.4.4
Contrary to earlier comments SiteSucker has been updated for SnowLeopard and Lion - see the developers website
(1)
4.5
entger
24 June 2013
Version: 2.4.3
SiteSucker is a very slink tool for downloading complete websites from the Internet. It works fine, there have been no crashes so far and all important things are adjustable in the preferences. As it has already been said there could be maybe some more options for updating downloaded websites after a time (for example an archive of archvied websites). Another negative aspect is the fact that there's no further development for OS X 10.6.8. But as long the old version still works, it's not that bad. Finally you always have to keep in mind that it's for free. Therefore it's a great piece of software!
(0)
1.5
dcondrey
21 April 2013
Version: 2.4.3
Works with a limited array of code elements, and doesn't recognize javascript at all. You should state this in the summary.
(0)
4
ylluminate
16 February 2013
Version: 2.4.2
Well, I have to say that this is the best offering I've seen for this category on OS X. I would very much like to see some performance improvements and some higher multithreading capabilities and a higher leveraging of multiple processors. I would also like to see more clear options of updating sites so that a clear path is available for reacrawling a site after initial crawl. When I say best, I am saying that out of the other options this is the most "mac-like" option and the seemingly fastest. Even though I say it is the fastest, there is room for improvement as noted above. As a developer I can see a number of ways to tweak this sucker (pardon the pun) to really make the engine roar if desired. I have had problems with some hangs or long delays that resolve themselves after a while, so it would be nice to address these.
(0)
0.5
Akrobat
31 December 2012
Version: 2.4
For some reason it crashes on launch. And no, it's not my machine. I've a mid 2010 Macbook Pro, i7, 8GB Ram & Mountain Lion.
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
Thebryceman
24 December 2012
Version: 2.4
Brilliant!! I use this occasionally to download and test sites and it just works. The log file generated by SiteSucker is also a great resource. Recently I had a crash on startup problem and Rick fixed it straight away.
(3)
Cowicide
06 December 2012
Version: 2.4
Bad mistake to stop making updates for 10.6.8. Many people still use it.
(10)
5
martinb2
21 November 2012
Version: 2.3.6
If you must grab a screenshot from a web side (and your are the owner of the web side or have the legal rights), then this tool is absolut perfect! Even if it grabs / saves some content more than once (with different file names). Thanks to the developer for this application! And also thanks for offering support for older Mac OS versions!
(1)
5
liamodowd
12 November 2012
Version: 2.3.6
Perfect, exactly what I was looking for and easy to use. No restrictions, just a brilliant bit of free software.
(0)
4.5
Morlo
23 August 2012
Version: 2.3.6
happy to donate to this wonderful app. tried all the similar options at Macupdate: Maria, WebDumper, BlueCrab, WebDevil, SiteCrawler, etc, etc.. All i could find. Spent a lot of time, but I kept returning to SiteSucker. Just seems to do and get what I want. Others where either slow, didn't get some files, or where too simple or complex. SiteSucker seems to strike a perfect balance between power and simplicity. And I just found out it has an iphone/ipad app which makes it a no-brainer. Some things I'd like to see in newer versions are: Time remaining, maybe change a setting while downloading, ability to stop a directory from downloading. I know you can specify it in the "paths to exlude" section but if you don't do it before you start then you have to do everything all over again. The regular expressions to include/exclude paths is not very friendly though, which is why i give it a 4.5.
(1)
5
bbw7
01 July 2012
Version: 2.3.6
F'n amazing. Haven't looked under its hood, but I assume it's essentially a curl or wget GUI. Still, it's amazing to me. In any case it works very well and comes well documented. Very, very handy. Very, very easy to use. And quite fast. It's a great way to make personal copies of online documentation. Goodbye to generating PDF files of pertinent web pages.
(0)
Show comments (2)
5
iPoopStore
29 June 2012
Version: 2.3.6
Works great. No complaints.
(0)
5
Skeller
27 July 2011
Version: 2.3.5
great app to mirror the internet. i use it to have local copies of specific tumblr sites.
(1)
5
Solosaint
15 June 2011
Version: 2.3.5
This software is the @#%R .. very bad ass and I have used it many times. great tool to each people how the web works too... props
(2)
3
opsidd
15 April 2011
Version: 2.3.4
Make sure to check Maria as well, more simple, but nice little free program!
(0)
xati-ba
21 February 2011
Version: 2.3.4
Thank you for making a $5 equivalent of $25 software.
(1)
5
Galileo14
17 December 2010
Version: 2.3.4
This should become a Safari Extension!
(1)
3
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
11 December 2009
Version: 2.3
Uniquely packed with features, some bugs and a bit counter intuitive on the interface but over all a keeper! Bugs Encountered Copied and pasted a URL with embedded username and password in URL into SiteSucker. SiteSucker could not process and provided the "Please enter a valid address that begins with "http://", "https://" or "file://"." After removing the username and password, it kept up with the same error. Not until I deleted the entire contents of the URL text box and typed the URL out manually did SiteSucker stop with the same error. When giving it the manually typed out HTTP link without username and password, it did manage to pull the credentials from my keychain. That was good but what about being able to enter the username and password in the interface? Worked Site sucker did permit me to get the https site downloading. Interface & Features The features are actually very nice (thought about bookmarks, well done!) but the organization of the interface is a little unintuitive. Interface for toolbar need a little work. The Queue, Open File, Open Log need rethinking. The download, next, pause, and stop all can be captured from the system (go get some from the OS packages, ripe for pilfering and intuitive for users). The "skip" is probably better suited with a not symbol, again from the system. Would like to see something more like iTorrent personally and if it had the finesse of iTorrent, I would drop $19 without thinking about it and recommend it elsewhere. Appreciate the effort and encourage the developer staff to rethink the interface and perhaps produce a fee based license (aka pro license) that unlocks advanced features like drilling into a streaming video reference files to pull the media from the source (oh, like YouTube… streaming quicktime, etc.) Giving this a 3 (stars) because it seems to be working and is a decent first cut. (netflix rating scale).
(1)
Show comment (1)
Ssnickerer
07 November 2009
Version: 2.3
Anyone know if SiteSucker has the capability of downloading FLV files? The manual says it scans SWF files, but FLV files are never downloaded for me...
(1)
Captain-Willard
03 October 2009
Version: 2.3
Fast, small, and power.
(3)
Fishscale
30 July 2009
Version: 2.2.4
@dev, since you are nice enough to make this great app free for us, donationware I don't think the $5 price tag should be listed as some members might see that and immediately go to something free when they already can get the best in sitesucker for what you think it is worth... It has saved me hours and hours and pain in my hands lol. Thanks for the great app again!
(3)
5
Cjkarr
23 June 2009
Version: 2.2.4
Does everything that it advertises.
(2)
4
Same-Author-As-Hellopig,-Trial-Review
28 September 2008
Version: 2.2.2
This software is free! your can visit the developer's website: www.sitesucker.us :) Of course you are encourage to donate $5 to support further development of the software!
(2)
Haloce-002
20 September 2008
Version: 2.2.2
don't use it on filefront or other file hosting sites. bad idea...
(0)
Lipton-lover
23 June 2008
Version: 2.2.2
This is exactly what I need! Thanks :)
(1)
Akrobat
08 January 2008
Version: 2.1.4
Downloadable and Working Again!
(1)
Akrobat
26 December 2007
Version: 2.1.4
Well, this used to be my download app of choice when it came to websites. It really was almost perfect. Tried it out today and for some reason it simply refuses to work. Tried all sorts of sites including my own. "I know" I said to myself, "I'll update it, perhaps my version 2.4.0 is old and no longer works with Leopard". Unfortunately you can no longer download it and the developer's website is down. Looks like I'll have to switch to BlueCrab; though I'll try SiteCrawler & WebDevil also.
(0)
Drsfg
12 December 2007
Version: 2.1.4
Is it me? Every update to this program will not download properly using any version of Camino. Firefox yes, Camino no. And it is the only program I have trouble with. Anyone else have this problem?
(0)
Show comments (5)
5
Dinh
27 May 2007
Version: 2.0.3
I'm looking for an application that can download all the files relating to a website for archiving and evaluation. This is the only application I found that could successfully download my test website. After evaluating the following applications, here is my ranking for website archiving: #1 SiteSucker - The only application to successfully download my test site in entirety. Also the cheapest coincidentally! #2 DeepVacuum - Almost captured the whole site.. But of course missed the backgrounds and other things which I specifically wanted. Second cheapest ($12). #3 Web Devil - Downloaded some of the site. The browsers seem half-baked for site archiving, its more for downloading galleries of images it seems. It is the most expensive application ($35). #4 Blue Crab - Buggy, non-intuitive, and unusable per my previous description. Only file captured after trialing it was a cookies file. Second most expensive app ($25).
(0)
Show comment (1)
Bobster
19 April 2007
Version: 2.0.2
I've liked this program from day one, but is there some way to keep it from chewing up the CPU when it is DLing a full website? PowerMac 1GHz, 1GB RAM, Tiger 10.4.8
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
Bad-dad
28 March 2007
Version: 2.0.2
best on the market in my opinion, stable, efficient... A really good job by the developer
(0)
Simon2007
30 December 2006
Version: 2.0
Always loved this app, but the update to 2.0 is even better. Very cool, very nice easy app. Great job!
(0)
5
Bowdoin
22 December 2006
Version: 2.0
excellent program. nifty update. stable. free. don't leave home without it.
(0)