Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to SiteSucker page
SiteSucker free download for Mac

SiteSucker Reviews

08 July 2021

Automatically downloads complete Web sites.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
nobody2011
nobody2011
Feb 8 2020
3.0.1
5.0
Feb 8 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
Price on AppStore 5,49€ ~ US$ 6,01
wjblair91
wjblair91
Dec 14 2019
2.11.13
0.0
Dec 14 2019
0.0
Version: 2.11.13
Is is supposed to be able to copy js?
jefferis
jefferis
Sep 12 2018
2.11.7
0.0
Sep 12 2018
0.0
Version: 2.11.7
Wasn't able to download anything from a WIX site. All pages were downloaded but were empty except for stylesheets
Christo777
Christo777
Jun 17 2018
2.11.5
0.0
Jun 17 2018
0.0
Version: 2.11.5
Price on Apple Store is 6.99 USD and not 4.99.
valerii-saytzev
valerii-saytzev
Jun 6 2018
2.11.5
4.0
Jun 6 2018
4.0
Version: 2.11.5
Good app.
id4rk
id4rk
Sep 10 2017
2.10.6
5.0
Sep 10 2017
5.0
Version: 2.10.6
Bought it from the AppStore. Price to functionality relation much superior than competitors. I am very satisfied.
Bort1611
Bort1611
Mar 2 2017
2.10.1
5.0
Mar 2 2017
5.0
Version: 2.10.1
Works perfectly, great job!
Morlo
Morlo
Oct 7 2016
2.9
5.0
Oct 7 2016
5.0
Version: 2.9
simply the best tool for the job. there is none like it on the mac, none with the small tweaks and settings you can adjust. believe me, i've tried them all. it takes some time and tests to get the download exactly right, but once you do it is a breeze. the download using web-views option is a lifesaver. i usually don't give out five stars but the developer is also fast to respond and very helpful so there you go.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Jul 8 2016
2.8.3
0.0
Jul 8 2016
0.0
Version: 2.8.3
the current version is 2.8.4
Turquoise
Turquoise
May 16 2016
2.8.2
0.0
May 16 2016
0.0
Version: 2.8.2
I wish it could batch convert everything to PDF.
fwilkinson
fwilkinson
Nov 2 2015
2.7.4
3.5
Nov 2 2015
3.5
Version: 2.7.4
Doesn't lose suction
Chaloots
Chaloots
Oct 29 2015
2.7.3
0.0
Oct 29 2015
0.0
Version: 2.7.3
Out of curiosity, what does this app do differently than saving a webpage as webarchive in Safari?
OhEssex
OhEssex
Jul 16 2015
2.7
0.0
Jul 16 2015
0.0
Version: 2.7
I don't begrudge the developer wanting to charge for his software, but given that you can only now purchase this from the MAS, MacUpdate should amend their description to no longer say: SiteSucker is donationware (uncrippled shareware). Pay any amount of money SiteSucker is worth to you or use it for free.
Panocha
Panocha
Nov 10 2014
2.6.2
0.0
Nov 10 2014
0.0
Version: 2.6.2
Is this another app that has died out because they have made the dumb decision to go MAS only and alienate people that can't and won't purchase software that way? Or is there another download method that I have missed or MU didn't post a link to?
Lisa Lockworth
Lisa Lockworth
Nov 2 2014
2.4.6
5.0
Nov 2 2014
5.0
Version: 2.4.6
Awesome. One of my favorites.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Oct 26 2014
2.4.6
0.0
Oct 26 2014
0.0
Version: 2.4.6
Latest version is 2.6.1
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
Jul 27 2014
2.4.6
0.0
Jul 27 2014
0.0
Version: 2.4.6
Latest version is 2.5.3 (released 16 June 2014)...unfortunately it is App Store only
poetaignota
poetaignota
Aug 6 2013
2.4.4
0.0
Aug 6 2013
0.0
Version: 2.4.4
Contrary to earlier comments SiteSucker has been updated for SnowLeopard and Lion - see the developers website
entger
entger
Jun 24 2013
2.4.3
4.5
Jun 24 2013
4.5
Version: 2.4.3
SiteSucker is a very slink tool for downloading complete websites from the Internet. It works fine, there have been no crashes so far and all important things are adjustable in the preferences. As it has already been said there could be maybe some more options for updating downloaded websites after a time (for example an archive of archvied websites). Another negative aspect is the fact that there's no further development for OS X 10.6.8. But as long the old version still works, it's not that bad. Finally you always have to keep in mind that it's for free. Therefore it's a great piece of software!
dcondrey
dcondrey
Apr 21 2013
2.4.3
1.5
Apr 21 2013
1.5
Version: 2.4.3
Works with a limited array of code elements, and doesn't recognize javascript at all. You should state this in the summary.
ylluminate
ylluminate
Feb 16 2013
2.4.2
4.0
Feb 16 2013
4.0
Version: 2.4.2
Well, I have to say that this is the best offering I've seen for this category on OS X. I would very much like to see some performance improvements and some higher multithreading capabilities and a higher leveraging of multiple processors. I would also like to see more clear options of updating sites so that a clear path is available for reacrawling a site after initial crawl. When I say best, I am saying that out of the other options this is the most "mac-like" option and the seemingly fastest. Even though I say it is the fastest, there is room for improvement as noted above. As a developer I can see a number of ways to tweak this sucker (pardon the pun) to really make the engine roar if desired. I have had problems with some hangs or long delays that resolve themselves after a while, so it would be nice to address these.
Akrobat
Akrobat
Dec 31 2012
2.4
0.5
Dec 31 2012
0.5
Version: 2.4
For some reason it crashes on launch. And no, it's not my machine. I've a mid 2010 Macbook Pro, i7, 8GB Ram & Mountain Lion.
Thebryceman
Thebryceman
Dec 24 2012
2.4
5.0
Dec 24 2012
5.0
Version: 2.4
Brilliant!! I use this occasionally to download and test sites and it just works. The log file generated by SiteSucker is also a great resource. Recently I had a crash on startup problem and Rick fixed it straight away.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Dec 6 2012
2.4
0.0
Dec 6 2012
0.0
Version: 2.4
Bad mistake to stop making updates for 10.6.8. Many people still use it.
martinb2
martinb2
Nov 21 2012
2.3.6
5.0
Nov 21 2012
5.0
Version: 2.3.6
If you must grab a screenshot from a web side (and your are the owner of the web side or have the legal rights), then this tool is absolut perfect! Even if it grabs / saves some content more than once (with different file names). Thanks to the developer for this application! And also thanks for offering support for older Mac OS versions!
liamodowd
liamodowd
Nov 12 2012
2.3.6
5.0
Nov 12 2012
5.0
Version: 2.3.6
Perfect, exactly what I was looking for and easy to use. No restrictions, just a brilliant bit of free software.
Morlo
Morlo
Aug 23 2012
2.3.6
5.0
Aug 23 2012
5.0
Version: 2.3.6
happy to donate to this wonderful app. tried all the similar options at Macupdate: Maria, WebDumper, BlueCrab, WebDevil, SiteCrawler, etc, etc.. All i could find. Spent a lot of time, but I kept returning to SiteSucker. Just seems to do and get what I want. Others where either slow, didn't get some files, or where too simple or complex. SiteSucker seems to strike a perfect balance between power and simplicity. And I just found out it has an iphone/ipad app which makes it a no-brainer. Some things I'd like to see in newer versions are: Time remaining, maybe change a setting while downloading, ability to stop a directory from downloading. I know you can specify it in the "paths to exlude" section but if you don't do it before you start then you have to do everything all over again. The regular expressions to include/exclude paths is not very friendly though, which is why i give it a 4.5.
bbw7
bbw7
Jul 1 2012
2.3.6
5.0
Jul 1 2012
5.0
Version: 2.3.6
F'n amazing. Haven't looked under its hood, but I assume it's essentially a curl or wget GUI. Still, it's amazing to me. In any case it works very well and comes well documented. Very, very handy. Very, very easy to use. And quite fast. It's a great way to make personal copies of online documentation. Goodbye to generating PDF files of pertinent web pages.
iPoopStore
iPoopStore
Jun 29 2012
2.3.6
5.0
Jun 29 2012
5.0
Version: 2.3.6
Works great. No complaints.
Skeller
Skeller
Jul 27 2011
2.3.5
5.0
Jul 27 2011
5.0
Version: 2.3.5
great app to mirror the internet. i use it to have local copies of specific tumblr sites.
Solosaint
Solosaint
Jun 15 2011
2.3.5
5.0
Jun 15 2011
5.0
Version: 2.3.5
This software is the @#%R .. very bad ass and I have used it many times. great tool to each people how the web works too... props
opsidd
opsidd
Apr 15 2011
2.3.4
3.0
Apr 15 2011
3.0
Version: 2.3.4
Make sure to check Maria as well, more simple, but nice little free program!
xati-ba
xati-ba
Feb 21 2011
2.3.4
0.0
Feb 21 2011
0.0
Version: 2.3.4
Thank you for making a $5 equivalent of $25 software.
Galileo14
Galileo14
Dec 17 2010
2.3.4
5.0
Dec 17 2010
5.0
Version: 2.3.4
This should become a Safari Extension!
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Dec 11 2009
2.3
3.0
Dec 11 2009
3.0
Version: 2.3
Uniquely packed with features, some bugs and a bit counter intuitive on the interface but over all a keeper! Bugs Encountered Copied and pasted a URL with embedded username and password in URL into SiteSucker. SiteSucker could not process and provided the "Please enter a valid address that begins with "http://", "https://" or "file://"." After removing the username and password, it kept up with the same error. Not until I deleted the entire contents of the URL text box and typed the URL out manually did SiteSucker stop with the same error. When giving it the manually typed out HTTP link without username and password, it did manage to pull the credentials from my keychain. That was good but what about being able to enter the username and password in the interface? Worked Site sucker did permit me to get the https site downloading. Interface & Features The features are actually very nice (thought about bookmarks, well done!) but the organization of the interface is a little unintuitive. Interface for toolbar need a little work. The Queue, Open File, Open Log need rethinking. The download, next, pause, and stop all can be captured from the system (go get some from the OS packages, ripe for pilfering and intuitive for users). The "skip" is probably better suited with a not symbol, again from the system. Would like to see something more like iTorrent personally and if it had the finesse of iTorrent, I would drop $19 without thinking about it and recommend it elsewhere. Appreciate the effort and encourage the developer staff to rethink the interface and perhaps produce a fee based license (aka pro license) that unlocks advanced features like drilling into a streaming video reference files to pull the media from the source (oh, like YouTube… streaming quicktime, etc.) Giving this a 3 (stars) because it seems to be working and is a decent first cut. (netflix rating scale).
Ssnickerer
Ssnickerer
Nov 7 2009
2.3
0.0
Nov 7 2009
0.0
Version: 2.3
Anyone know if SiteSucker has the capability of downloading FLV files? The manual says it scans SWF files, but FLV files are never downloaded for me...
Captain-Willard
Captain-Willard
Oct 3 2009
2.3
0.0
Oct 3 2009
0.0
Version: 2.3
Fast, small, and power.
Fishscale
Fishscale
Jul 30 2009
2.2.4
0.0
Jul 30 2009
0.0
Version: 2.2.4
@dev, since you are nice enough to make this great app free for us, donationware I don't think the $5 price tag should be listed as some members might see that and immediately go to something free when they already can get the best in sitesucker for what you think it is worth... It has saved me hours and hours and pain in my hands lol. Thanks for the great app again!
Cjkarr
Cjkarr
Jun 23 2009
2.2.4
5.0
Jun 23 2009
5.0
Version: 2.2.4
Does everything that it advertises.
Same-Author-As-Hellopig,-Trial-Review
Sep 28 2008
4.0
Version: 2.2.2
This software is free! your can visit the developer's website: www.sitesucker.us :) Of course you are encourage to donate $5 to support further development of the software!
Haloce-002
Haloce-002
Sep 20 2008
2.2.2
0.0
Sep 20 2008
0.0
Version: 2.2.2
don't use it on filefront or other file hosting sites. bad idea...
Lipton-lover
Lipton-lover
Jun 23 2008
2.2.2
0.0
Jun 23 2008
0.0
Version: 2.2.2
This is exactly what I need! Thanks :)
Akrobat
Akrobat
Jan 8 2008
2.1.4
0.5
Jan 8 2008
0.5
Version: 2.1.4
Downloadable and Working Again!
Akrobat
Akrobat
Dec 26 2007
2.1.4
0.5
Dec 26 2007
0.5
Version: 2.1.4
Well, this used to be my download app of choice when it came to websites. It really was almost perfect. Tried it out today and for some reason it simply refuses to work. Tried all sorts of sites including my own. "I know" I said to myself, "I'll update it, perhaps my version 2.4.0 is old and no longer works with Leopard". Unfortunately you can no longer download it and the developer's website is down. Looks like I'll have to switch to BlueCrab; though I'll try SiteCrawler & WebDevil also.
Drsfg
Drsfg
Dec 12 2007
2.1.4
0.0
Dec 12 2007
0.0
Version: 2.1.4
Is it me? Every update to this program will not download properly using any version of Camino. Firefox yes, Camino no. And it is the only program I have trouble with. Anyone else have this problem?
Adinb
Adinb
Jun 4 2007
2.0.4
0.0
Jun 4 2007
0.0
Version: 2.0.4
Any way to get sitesucker to honor cookie requests?
Dinh
Dinh
May 27 2007
2.0.3
5.0
May 27 2007
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
I'm looking for an application that can download all the files relating to a website for archiving and evaluation. This is the only application I found that could successfully download my test website. After evaluating the following applications, here is my ranking for website archiving: #1 SiteSucker - The only application to successfully download my test site in entirety. Also the cheapest coincidentally! #2 DeepVacuum - Almost captured the whole site.. But of course missed the backgrounds and other things which I specifically wanted. Second cheapest ($12). #3 Web Devil - Downloaded some of the site. The browsers seem half-baked for site archiving, its more for downloading galleries of images it seems. It is the most expensive application ($35). #4 Blue Crab - Buggy, non-intuitive, and unusable per my previous description. Only file captured after trialing it was a cookies file. Second most expensive app ($25).
Bobster
Bobster
Apr 19 2007
2.0.2
0.0
Apr 19 2007
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
I've liked this program from day one, but is there some way to keep it from chewing up the CPU when it is DLing a full website? PowerMac 1GHz, 1GB RAM, Tiger 10.4.8
Bad-dad
Bad-dad
Mar 28 2007
2.0.2
5.0
Mar 28 2007
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
best on the market in my opinion, stable, efficient... A really good job by the developer
Simon2007
Simon2007
Dec 30 2006
2.0
0.0
Dec 30 2006
0.0
Version: 2.0
Always loved this app, but the update to 2.0 is even better. Very cool, very nice easy app. Great job!