Back to Suitcase Fusion page
Suitcase Fusion free download for Mac

Suitcase Fusion Reviews

20 October 2021

Font management solution combines Suitcase and Font Reserve.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Cookie08
Cookie08
Aug 3 2021
21.4.0
4.5
Aug 3 2021
4.5
Version: 21.4.0
This is getting worse and worse FontAgent Leaves this in the dust and works with all the app not just the ones with plugins. It is slow as treacle the beat features deleted and a single window is not working well for the slow scrolling. Have now moved on.
mcaraballo
mcaraballo
May 3 2021
21.3.0
0.0
May 3 2021
0.0
Version: 21.3.0
since early 2020, this has become one of the worst font managers out there. i have no idea what they are doing it just gets worse and worse. fonts cant be added / plugins crash / fonts do not activate. now after almost a year dealing with this s**t im sick and tired of it wasting my time. DO NOT BUY.
AAAnonyMMouse
AAAnonyMMouse
Apr 25 2021
21.3.0
0.0
Apr 25 2021
0.0
Version: 21.3.0
I bought every version up to 9 in 2019 and have been happily using it, without issue, until a computer and system software upgrade broke the plugin compatibility with Suitcase Fusion 9's typecore. As I refuse to go subscription based I am now looking for a reasonable replacement. Such a shame all these companies are going subscription-based.
bigboydonbo
bigboydonbo
Jul 5 2019
19.1.1
0.0
Jul 5 2019
0.0
Version: 19.1.1
RE: Suitcase Fusion 8. I upgraded to this in August 2018, Bad Decision. Many good features were now gone: no font count for found fonts; date added field gone; can't compare as many fonts displayed as before; can't sort found fonts by anything other than name; can't assign my own glyphs to show in ABC123 or Paragraph or Waterfall views; it LOST all my settings for "Favorites" etc. It was so bad that I deleted it & re-installed v. 18.2.4, a waste of $60. 6/28/19: I discovered Monotype's Font Explorer X Pro, & find it to be far better/easier than even Suitcase Fusion 7 (not to mention the horrible update), so I've permanently abandoned suitcase. Check it out, it actually does what Suitcase promised to do years ago (e.g., auto font activation in ALL my apps (even NisusWriter Pro & EazyDraw, etc.).
Shane-Smith
Shane-Smith
Mar 29 2019
19.1.1
2.0
Mar 29 2019
2.0
Version: 19.1.1
What the hell happened to this software! I just spent 3hrs trying to figure out why Indesign stopped working. I should have looked at the plugins first, Suitcase plugin was the cause of the problem. I had to uninstall suitcase, remove all preferences, font vault, and all the crap it puts in the system. Since upgrading to version 9 I have had to do this more than a couple of times. Like 8tracker said, the user forums have been removed which was useful when there was a problem or at least vent your frustration. When version 8 came out the forums were bombarded with comments on how much people hated it. I'm guessing they removed it so they won't have to hear their customers and just ignore them. I do not recommend this software until they can at least make it stable. Version 7, in my opinion, was the best version. Please go back to that version and add a feature set to that.
8tracker
8tracker
Aug 18 2018
19.1.1
0.5
Aug 18 2018
0.5
Version: 19.1.1
As Extensis recently wiped out the user forums, there’s no central place for users or potential customers to get help from the community or to warn of the perils of upgrading to version 8.

In a nut, it’s terrible. If you’re looking for a font manager, don’t invest in Suitcase Fusion 8.

I have saved this post I made to the Suitcase forum. I hope it helps save somebody from Suitcase…

— — —

A common thread in the forums is the observation that Extensis doesn’t seem to know how the community uses their software. And after months and months of inaction, what other conclusion can be drawn?

Bear with me, I have a lot to get off my chest. Read on…

After reverting back to 7 and keeping a watchful eye on this forum for Extensis to set things right, it appears Suitcase in whole, or as a single-user product, may be coming to the end of its life. We saw the same thing with Extensis’ Portfolio (now strictly an enterprise offering). We’ve seen Adobe abandon Freehand and Fireworks after the Macromedia acquisition. Now they’ve kicked Muse to the curb (not that I care about Muse). And who can forgot the hubris of QarkXpress in the late ’90s? (https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2014/01/quarkxpress-the-demise-of-a-design-desk-darling/)

I bring up these corporate decisions to kill off, or handicap products to illustrate what happens when a company stops paying attention to its users and, in the end, lose customers to the competition. Or worse, create new competitors these Goliaths never saw coming.

There was a case to be made for dropping Freehand: It was a direct competitor to Illustrator. Those of us in the Freehand community at the time viewed it as an anti-trust thing, as there were really no other viable alternatives to Freehand and Illustrator. And boy were we pissed. But, in the end it was killed off and we had to make due with AI. This is where my contempt for Adobe was born. Like Extensis, the lengths they go to to ignore their user community are superhuman.

But Fireworks? This is where Extensis really needs to pay attention. When Adobe dropped my beloved web design tool, it forced everyone into Photoshop. PS is terrible for web design, and guess who spotted that? The makers of Sketch (Hey Extensis? Where’s the Sketch plugin?). Now Adobe has dropped Muse, and with Dreamweaver a hot mess, is still trying to birth XD.

The world is moving on from legacy software companies like Adobe and Extensis with a new generation of software developers building tools they want to use (RightFont, Sketch, InVision Studio, Webflow). When you start looking around at the competitors — especially the newer ones — you get a clear picture of what the developers want for themselves, and what Extensis is missing, and what Extensis is emulating, albeit poorly.*

So, in the spirit of moving on, I have done a little bit of looking around at the competition in font management. This is purely from a Mac perspective, and the features I demand from a contemporary font management platform. If anybody spots something wrong or left out, add it in the comments.

As a side note, all other font management platforms I’ve looked at tout speed. They are clearly reacting to the sluggish Suitcase experience we all suffer through day-to-day.

What I want from a font management app in order of importance:
• List View (this would have never been on this list, let alone number one, if not for v.8)
• Tags/Metadata
• Cloud Sharing (Google Drive, Dropbox, etc.)
• Family fonts together
• Speed
• Free-form comments
• Auto Activation
• UX observations driving UI decisions (I’m happy to live with an outdated UI for a killer UX)

_As of 04/18_

**Extensis Suitcase Fusion 8**
_Mac/Windows_
https://www.extensis.com
Product Video: Ø
$119.95/59.95
Auto activation for Adobe CC (ID AI PS IC AE) NO QuarkXpress Support!
Cloud syncing to Extensis controlled servers
Typekit & Google Font integration
No List View
Customizable Tags
Claim: “Browse, preview and select fonts easily” (Pfft!)

**FontAgent**
_Mac/Windows_
https://www.insidersoftware.com/font-managers/fontagent-mac/
Product Video: Ø
$99/$59
Auto activation for Adobe CC (ID AI PS FL AE IC), QuarkXpress, Sketch, Microsoft Office, Mac Apps (Keynote, Pages, Numbers), Affinity (Photo & Designer)
Cloud syncing to FontAgnet controlled servers via FontAgent Sync
Typekit, Google and SkyFonts integration
List view – they call it Table View
Metadata! Metadata! Metadata!
Customizable Tags
Free-form Comments (OMG — I’ve wanted this like forever – you can attach comments to fonts like its history, what it pairs with, what project you might have used it on!)
Claims: “Style. Smarts. Speed. More of What You Need.” “Modern, Adjustable Interface.” “Explore Using the Table View.” “Lightning-Fast Font Searches.” “More Metadata = Smarter Searches.” “Free-Form Comments and Tags.”

**FontExplorer X Pro 6**
_Mac/Windows_
https://www.fontexplorerx.com
Product Video: Ø
$99/$49
Auto activation for Adobe CC (ID AI PS IC) and QuarkXpress
Provided Free Adobe CC Plugins for all registered users with last release of Adobe CC (Unlike Extensis)
NO CLOUD SYNCING (Not that I could spot)
Typekit & Google Font integration
List View
Customizable Tags
Integrated Font Stores
Claim: “FontExplorer X® is the simple, speedy way to find and organize all of your fonts.”

**RightFont**
_Mac_
https://rightfontapp.com
Product Video: https://youtu.be/8caPhZqcFfU
$39 (Normally $49)
Syncs with **_any_** cloud drive apps/services such as Dropbox/Google Drive/iCloud/Box/OneDrive/Resilio Sync/Adobe CC/Amazon Drive including local shared folders
Typekit, Google Font, Font Awesome, Ionicons, Material Design inclusion/integration
Auto activation for Adobe CC (ID AI PS FL AE), Sketch, PowerPoint, Keynote, Affinity (Photo & Designer)
No customizable Tags – Plans on adding tags in next release according to an email exchange with RF
There appears to be no list view (But haven’t downloaded to check)
Claim: “3x times performance improved in RightFont 4” with 10,000 fonts activated

**FontBase**
_Mac/Windows/Linux_
https://fontba.se
Product Video: https://youtu.be/XCpqkaTJ49I
Free — Upgradable to “Awesome” unlocking additional features — $3 per month/$28.80 per year/$180 Lifetime
Syncs with Dropbox/Google Drive/iCloud
Doesn’t have font auto activation (at least they didn’t mention it)
There appears to be no list view (But haven’t downloaded to check)
Claim: 4.25s lead-time of FontBase with 60,000 fonts

— — —

That’s all I got. Add your own thoughts to this thread and maybe we can all move on to something better. And again, this is from a Mac perspective. I didn’t cover Windows options such as High Logic’s MainType.

_And…_ if there were anyone who could craft an Export/Import font tags/styles/foundries/metadata thingy that allowed users to jump to new platforms with ease, that would rule the world.

**PS:** To Extensis: I spend my days at a medium size Ad/Web agency working for the biggest REDACTED on the planet (among other big REDACTED companies). We deliver bug fixes and site enhancements DAILY to the e-comm platform we built and maintain for them. What’s your deal? Is it that your lead developer spends half his day on Twitter losing his mind over politics? Or is it a leadership team with no skin in the creative services game? Maybe it’s your board of directors, driving pure profit as the only metric of success, and bleeding all value from Extensis? Maybe it’s all these things and the absence of the early, entrepreneurial, founder-driven spirit that pervades our startup culture? Maybe everybody’s just phoning it in, with the wealth of product insights found on this forum never getting to the C-suite?

*It’s crystal clear Extensis sees a combination of FontAgent and the new upstarts RightFont and FontBase as their competition — or at least inspiration for the lousy UI of Suitcase. RightFont and FontBase appear to be geared more towards product design teams who typically don’t need access to the number of font alternatives visual designers need.
Dualist
Dualist
Jul 10 2018
19.0.5
0.0
Jul 10 2018
0.0
Version: 19.0.5
Awful. Just awful. Extensis did this once before in a previous version where it shoved previews down the users throat whether they want them or not. It was so unpopular they brought it back! This company simply doesn't listen to its customers. No list view. Just shameful.
tbass
tbass
Jun 11 2018
19.0.5
0.5
Jun 11 2018
0.5
Version: 19.0.5
No Support for Quark Express 2018
Shakes
Shakes
Jan 11 2018
19.0.4
0.5
Jan 11 2018
0.5
Version: 19.0.4
Terrible update. It takes me twice as long to do almost everything.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Dec 6 2017
19.0.2
2.5
Dec 6 2017
2.5
Version: 19.0.2
Sorry you guys, I moved back to Font Agent (after a couple of years using Suitcase.. which cannot handle my huge font library, takes ages to scroll through collection, do searches etc.. for some reason FontAgent these days is pretty snappy. Suticase's UI etc is just fine.. my only gripe but a huge one.. speed.. or lack thereof.
JBX
JBX
Dec 5 2017
19.0.2
0.0
Dec 5 2017
0.0
Version: 19.0.2
All dinosaurs must die at some point. Too bad this one took it's own life :p
Shane-Smith
Shane-Smith
Dec 5 2017
19.0.2
2.0
Dec 5 2017
2.0
Version: 19.0.2
This update completely breaks my workflow. The new UI is terrible, looking through thousands of fonts is painstaking, and is buggy as hell. Stick with Adobe CC 2017 so you can stay with Suitcase 7.
opeter-si
opeter-si
Oct 23 2017
18.2.4
5.0
Oct 23 2017
5.0
Version: 18.2.4
Suitcase Fusion 8 v 19.0.1.13

The UI of the new Suitcase Fusion 8 is great! It was simplified and the whole ballast (taging etc.) isn't visible anymore on the "front page". Now you have a button called Edit Attributes (or you can right-click on a font and there you go), where you can see and modify, whatever you want).

The whole UI has the best and most logical build until this date or in any versions of Suitcase Fusion and it reminds me of the good old simple, two columns font managers. And finally they managed to speed up the application.

I also tried the Windows version and it works great!

BTW: how is, that MacRumors doesn't have the newest version?

Mac version:
http://bin.extensis.com/SuitcaseFusion8-M-19-0-1.dmg

Windows version:
http://bin.extensis.com/SuitcaseFusion8-W-19-0-1.zip

iOS version:
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/suitcase-fusion-your-font/id1147717419?ls=1&mt=8

Suitcase Fusion 8 Uninstaller (Mac):
http://bin.extensis.com/Suitcase_Fusion_8_Uninstaller.zip
Dualist
Dualist
Dec 6 2016
18.2.1
0.0
Dec 6 2016
0.0
Version: 18.2.1
The new licensing scheme requiring you to log in to Extensis in order to be able to use the product, has created significant problems for our shop, since we purchased upgrades but NONE of the new licenses are linked ANY existing account dating back more than ten years. Therefore the 3 new licenses we purchased are absolutely useless. Thanks for nothing Extensis. Thanks for wasting our valuable time. Thanks for taking our money and giving us a mystery license.
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Nov 22 2016
18.2.0
5.0
Nov 22 2016
5.0
Version: 18.2.0
Yay! A much better icon!
rphartle
rphartle
Oct 20 2016
17.3.2
0.5
Oct 20 2016
0.5
Version: 17.3.2
I used to use Suitcase Religiously but got so pissed off when they wanted upgrade money every year and this version although it works with Sierra none of the Extensions for Adobe Apps are being updated with new versions of Adobe CC I got SO PISSED! So I uninstalled every trace of it and Adobe Apps work faster & smoother withtout it and with Sierra. Font Book is no Suitcase but it has improved somewhat and I'll take my chances... at least my system boots faster and runs better without Suitcase and With Latest Adobe Updates. They can go to hell as I remember how they Efed us over when they bought out Font Reserve which was the best ever with free updates year after year. With Adobe's Type Kit along with Google Fonts you don't need anything else.
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Jul 12 2016
17.3.2
5.0
Jul 12 2016
5.0
Version: 17.3.2
I love Suitcase. Been using it professionally for a very long time. But I have to ask... what's up with that silly icon? It's really dumb!
Eat-A-Peach
Eat-A-Peach
Feb 3 2016
17.3.1
4.5
Feb 3 2016
4.5
Version: 17.3.1
My favorite and easiest to use ever Font Management app! I have over 2.3TB of font and typeface files and several different graphic editors in various versions. Having SF6 manage my fonts on a per user basis, having the ability to temporarily install fonts and being able to set up specific profiles for each of my graphics apps (and even a specific profile for each version of the app I have on my machine) is great and leaves me with time to enjoy using my Mac instead of trying to be patient with slow performance due to font installation mis-management. The ability to have the Font Vault on an external drive is also great for saving that valuable drive space on my Mac's internal HDD and to keep temps and processing load down.
WimO
WimO
Oct 11 2015
17.3.0
2.0
Oct 11 2015
2.0
Version: 17.3.0
I have suitecase Fusion 5. And Indeed, with a lot of fonts it's very very sloooooooooooow..

What I also don't understand is that auto activation is not working with the latest adobe CC software. Extensis said I must update to version 6.

I understand when you have version 3 maybe 4 that Extensis stops to update for new other software versions but for version 5 I don't understand. Many people uses not official software. I buy official software but they expect from me that I must update every new version (with only a very few new possibilities)
WimO
WimO
Oct 11 2015
17.3.0
2.0
Oct 11 2015
2.0
Version: 17.3.0
I have suitecase Fusion 5. And Indeed, with a lot of fonts it's very very sloooooooooooow.. What I also don't understand is that auto activation is not working with the latest adobe CC software. Extensis said I must update to version 6. I understand when you have version 3 maybe 4 that Extensis stops to update for new other software versions but for version 5 I don't understand. Many people uses not official software. I buy official software but they expext from me that I must update every new version (with only a very few new possibilities)
JBX
JBX
Feb 16 2015
17.0
0.0
Feb 16 2015
0.0
Version: 17.0
Why dose dose Suitcase Fusion 6 v17.0 show up on MacUpdate as new today Feb 16, 2015 when it was released last Dec 11, 2014?
Ranjansen
Ranjansen
Dec 1 2014
16.2.3
0.0
Dec 1 2014
0.0
Version: 16.2.3
Suitcase Fusion 6 and FontDoctor hangs up Indesign 6 in Yosemite. Everything works faster and smooth just using the System default Font Book.
frans-3
frans-3
Nov 21 2014
16.2.3
1.0
Nov 21 2014
1.0
Version: 16.2.3
We are already up to version 17, or Suitcase 6. This version however brings back the "FMCore incompatible" warning, but this time it can not he solved, there seems to be a real bug in the identifier for version 6 17.0
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Aug 8 2014
16.2.3
2.5
Aug 8 2014
2.5
Version: 16.2.3
I have only one gripe with Suitcase, I wish it would have an option to not start a live search when looking for a font name, but to propose an option where you'd actually have to click a "go" button of sorts.. I have a zillion fonts (about 28'000.. yeah over 20 years of graphic design.. and no time to clean it all up) , so if I type like one or two letters it already looks for fonts right away.. and meanwhile does not let me type the whole word for some time.. let's say I search for "futura".. I type F.. if I don't type the other letters REALLY REALLY quickly (as in robot-fast) it starts searching and of course looks like it hangs because I have loads of fonts starting with F.. Duh ! So the only thing I can do to is write the whole font name first in some text app, then copy/paste it in the search field to avoid this nonsense. I imagine most people do not have that many fonts, but still. PS: When I read complaints about this app "not being professional grade" and in the same sentence someone referring to Fontcase (RIP) I'm laughing.. yeah try throwing 28'000 at Fontcase (when it existed) ROFLMAO. In any case there are only 3 font managing apps to speak of on Mac these days (not counting FontDoctor in there, it's another beast.. yet very useful !): Suitcase, FontAgent and FontExplorer.. My advice, try them all and make up your own mind. One thing to also say about Extensis is that they are pretty reactive when it comes to updates (cannot be said of the other two). And the icon is badass !!! Ha Ha !
Cookie08
Cookie08
Aug 8 2014
16.2.3
4.5
Aug 8 2014
4.5
Version: 16.2.3
Hi Maclover1.1 The FM core that runs the font loading etc in the background is 64 bit it just the interface app that is still 32bit. most likely for the older systems compatibly The last couple of upgrades of Suitcase have been really stable.
RJC.NJNYC
RJC.NJNYC
Jun 26 2014
16.0.5
0.0
Jun 26 2014
0.0
Version: 16.0.5
This software is up to v16.2.1 MacUpdate
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
Mar 12 2014
16.0.5
0.5
Mar 12 2014
0.5
Version: 16.0.5
With the death of Fontcase I started looking for apps to take it's place and decided after years of being away to give Suitcase a try. I left it for all the usual reasons (slow, horrid user interface that's a relic of the 90's, rather buggy) but nothing about it truly upset me. that is until I tried to delete it. My god, they install crap *everywhere*! I thought I had it all but nope! Pluggins in various Creative Suite app folders. Just random crap scattered... The app is gone, the library is gone... Yet now whenever I start an Adobe application the library folder gets recreated. Why? The app doesn't even exist anymore! I deleted the extensions, best I can tell. I'm now going to have to spend time digging through my computer and ripping out any piece I can find. This app is bad just in general, but not content with wasting my time in a trial I now have to do system maintenance simply so I can get rid of it's stupid vestigial files. This sort of nonsense was acceptable a long time ago and it's clear that this company hasn't actually progressed in any way. Do not buy this. Do not waste your time.
Dualie
Dualie
Nov 16 2013
16.0.4
1.0
Nov 16 2013
1.0
Version: 16.0.4
After the recent update the Photoshop CC plugin is non-funtional. Disabled it, re-enabled it, but Photoshop, after loading the plugin, can't find the FMCore. Plugins for the other CC apps are working as expected.
Eval
Eval
Nov 14 2013
16.0.2
0.0
Nov 14 2013
0.0
Version: 16.0.2
Extensis released, without announcement, Suitcase Fusion 5 16.0.4, with support for Mavericks, sometime after the 9th of November. You can get it here: http://www.extensis.com/support/product-support/suitcase-fusion-5/
Dlwhite
Dlwhite
Oct 7 2013
16.0.2
4.0
Oct 7 2013
4.0
Version: 16.0.2
Anyone think it's strange that Suitcase Fusion 5 doesn't include support for font auto-activation in Quark XPress 10? Did Adobe buy Extensis or something?
Hal2007
Hal2007
Sep 2 2013
16.0.2
0.0
Sep 2 2013
0.0
Version: 16.0.2
Great software with some great features that others don't have, like QuickMatch, which is outstandingly useful in my opinion. However, as soon as you throw several thousands of fonts at it, the Suitcase app gets really increasingly sluggish to an almost unusable degree. Am I too demanding…? Apart of that, it's finally a very good update which brings Extensis Suitcase back to par with the competition.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Sep 2 2013
16.0.2
2.5
Sep 2 2013
2.5
Version: 16.0.2
The best out there, I gave up on FontAgent a year ago (its makers let it lag in some parallel "Old School Windows XP-like Universe). Suitcase 5 is faster it seems than 4.. I just wish they'd make it 64-bit. But at this point it is the only Font Management I would recommend on Mac. A must-have for my trade.
JasonE
JasonE
Sep 2 2013
16.0.2
1.0
Sep 2 2013
1.0
Version: 16.0.2
Before I go into my comment, a little frame of reference. I used to work as a beta tester for them years ago when they actually cared about their products. They have an amazing potential, if they would just get beyond their egos and fix the software they sell. It fills a niche desperately needed (fonts and cataloging), but sorely falls flat on its face in execution, unless you are a large corporate customer of theirs. That said, I would not buy from Extensis to save my life anymore. The only thing they care about is the initial sale. Cases in point: look at the reviews of this and Portfolio (also their product). They had fabulous programs back in the day, but have let them languish for years with nothing more than small updates to keep them from completely stopping. They do not answer presales calls, nor support calls. The only people they want to hear from are large ad agencies that buy into the expensive platforms. Otherwise, you are nothing to them. To those capable of making a better product: Please start now! The market needs alternatives to Extensis products. The market is not afraid to pay for those products. $120 for a great font manager and up to $300 for a great media cataloging engine. Th money is there. All you have to do is build it.
Cookie08
Cookie08
Sep 2 2013
16.0.2
4.5
Sep 2 2013
4.5
Version: 16.0.2
Have to say V 5 is working the most reliably of the big three in ML and works great in Mavericks with Adobe CC apps. It is fast no crashes and picks up all the font in all programs listed to work with Suitcase Fusion 5 and has a FM Core has small memory footprint. One great thing is that the app shows the non english fonts in the preview pane un like all the other font managers require opening a glyph preview pane linotype explorer or none at all in Font agent pro very irritating if working with multi language fonts. I own all of the other managers try them for a month or so and finish up going back to Suitcase Fusion It just stays out of the way and works. Very satisfied
Dualie
Dualie
Aug 20 2013
16.0.0
1.0
Aug 20 2013
1.0
Version: 16.0.0
Well now, isn't this special. It's like 1 step forward and 5 steps back for reliable font activation. Sets that used to work just fine now don't - fonts often don't even show up in the set even though the set folder accurately shows how many should be there. And still no fix for the bogus "corrupt" font issue. In fact, it's worse than ever now. Fonts that work EVERYWHERE except in Suitcase are listed as "corrupt" when they clearly are not, and Suitcase, even though it claims to open them in place, refuses to use them. I suppose the tech support answer will be to start over from scratch. Thanks a million for that. Just put your fonts - any Mac or Windows type - in your InDesign (if that's what you use) fonts folder and forget unreliable Suitcase - which STILL can't load Windows PostScript fonts.
ttlcntrlprint
ttlcntrlprint
Jul 26 2013
16.0.0
0.5
Jul 26 2013
0.5
Version: 16.0.0
See below! But forgot to mention FontExlorer X from LinoType.
ttlcntrlprint
ttlcntrlprint
Jul 26 2013
16.0.0
0.5
Jul 26 2013
0.5
Version: 16.0.0
Suitcase, with its ‘Coreengine’ launches just don’t work. Sick of it now, (after eighteen-years prior). Suitcase isn’t reliable for application launches which are never guaranteed without stress. Extensis are just trying to fund raise with their new features, but will not go back to basics and fix the software flaws. Sadly, this is now a poor software company that’s got too comfortable. With regard to their support forum, how long have you got!? Sincerely, Christian Macey (Use OS X for free!)
Fontman
Fontman
Jul 19 2013
16.0.0
1.0
Jul 19 2013
1.0
Version: 16.0.0
Upgraded from Suitcase 4 to find that the FM core did not update so i received a ERROR . Took hours to solve on my own . switch back to 4 . sad bad release. Found also features were not worth the upgrade . and I am not using CC . will not be upgrading poor support .
JBX
JBX
Jul 12 2013
16.0.0
0.0
Jul 12 2013
0.0
Version: 16.0.0
New version 5 seems to make my computer sluggish at startup. going to revert to v4 and see as I have never had issues when everything loads up.
rphartle88icloudcom9267
rphartle88icloudcom9267
Jul 10 2013
16.0.0
2.0
Jul 10 2013
2.0
Version: 16.0.0
Been using Font Explorer Pro for years now ever since Extensis bought and Screwed up Font Reserve for dead. Worked at a Large Newspaper where Font Reserve Server with over 100 users and 1000s of fonts... Never forgave Extensis for their Corp. Incompetence "Dunder & Miflin" with Fonts .... Remember when OS X came out and their almost 2 years to come up with a OS X Suitcase so we all had to boot into OS 9 to get production work done!! You suck Extensis just like the 90s did for Apple.
Fvdg
Fvdg
Jul 10 2013
16.0.0
1.0
Jul 10 2013
1.0
Version: 16.0.0
Besides from being 32 bit, I can not even start the app - it crashes at start every time, not even getting a window. Mac OS X 10.8.4...
Fvdg
Fvdg
Jul 10 2013
16.0.0
1.0
Jul 10 2013
1.0
Version: 16.0.0
Can't believe it: this version 5 is... still 32 bit!
Hal2007
Hal2007
Jul 10 2013
15.0.5
0.0
Jul 10 2013
0.0
Version: 15.0.5
Suitcase Fusion 5 is out. http://www.extensis.com/suitcase-fusion/ Now supports Adobe Creative Cloud among other new features.
Fvdg
Fvdg
Jun 5 2013
15.0.5
1.0
Jun 5 2013
1.0
Version: 15.0.5
Hmm... still 32 bit!
Cookie08
Cookie08
Feb 15 2013
15.0.5
4.5
Feb 15 2013
4.5
Version: 15.0.5
Just giving the version 15.0.5 a try for a while the font activation is working properly now will see how it goes got a while.
Waveman
Waveman
Oct 17 2012
15.0.4
0.5
Oct 17 2012
0.5
Version: 15.0.4
Worst font control option available. Spreads junk in your system, has fragile structure just like FontReserve used to (blob files?). Use Insider Software FontAgent Pro instead, rock solid easy and does not get corrupted.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Sep 27 2012
15.0.3
2.5
Sep 27 2012
2.5
Version: 15.0.3
Irked by FontAgentPro which I've used for a few years (had also tried FontXplorer before settling on FAP.. have even tried the cute but unprofessional FontCase). My favorite Font Manager in all my Mac Years had been FontReserve, when it disappeared that was a great loss.. but always had bad experiences with Suitcase (from waaay back) and did not trust Extensis much.. so had not looked at Suitcase again even though they had acquired FontReserve. Anyway this week.. FAP irritated me so, slow previewing, awkward and un-Mac-like interface (I had hope some day they would adapt to "our World".. when they did not with their last incarnation I got annoyed realizing we'd always come second as Mac Users). In any case, I decided to give Suitcase a try after re-doing a little research in reviews this week. And I already forgot FAP after 4 days using Suitcase. The best font manager in my book for the time being :-)
Cookie08
Cookie08
Sep 10 2012
15.0.3
4.5
Sep 10 2012
4.5
Version: 15.0.3
The plugin for Photoshop CS6 still does not work properly it is not reliably activating fonts. Switched back to FontAgent pro 5 the plugin works properly activating fonts.
Tim27
Tim27
Sep 8 2012
15.0.3
4.0
Sep 8 2012
4.0
Version: 15.0.3
I just bought this a few days ago. The app itself is decent. I kind of like the interface of FontExplorer X better. However, what I truly love is the font panel extensions for Adobe apps. These are the reason I bought this. I design a lot of websites and the ability to have access to any Google font and see previews of them directly within Photoshop is just awesome. I am using Adobe CS5 apps, not CS6, so can't say how well it works with those. I wish Adobe would release ATM Deluxe for Mac OS X. That was the best font manager. They don't even need to change anything about it, just make it OS X compatible and I would buy it. I haven't had any stability issues yet with Suitcase. However, I do agree with others that the icon is pretty bad.
Caproberts
Caproberts
Jul 3 2012
15.0.0
0.0
Jul 3 2012
0.0
Version: 15.0.0
Downloaded the latest demo which is 15.0.1 which plug ins for InDesign and Illustrator CS6 but was not able to get it running on my Mac Book Pro Retina. Tech support was not able to find out why as the computer comes with a custom built of OSX 10.7.4 Anybody else has these problems?