Back to Toast Titanium page
Toast Titanium free download for Mac

Toast Titanium Reviews19.3

02 February 2021

The ultimate media toolkit; disc burning, video conversion and more.

How would you rate Toast Titanium?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
kakuito
kakuito
Mar 30 2021
19.3
0.0
Mar 30 2021
0.0
Version: 19.3
Got the Toast 19 Pro, nice new authoring page. but it doesn't read H.264 files from Adobe Media Encoder.
jividen
jividen
Mar 19 2021
19.3
0.0
Mar 19 2021
0.0
Version: 19.3
Just spent 2 hours with a rep who was very good but finally had to agree with me, Toast 18 has a bug in it. He said he will send a report to the engineers to see if they can fix it. The edit button crashes the program %100 of the time. Beware.
gvonneida
gvonneida
Mar 19 2021
19.3
0.0
Mar 19 2021
0.0
Version: 19.3
Just received it (promised Saturday and received it Today/ Thursday) and read this review--does not look good---I have had several versions of this great software;but, now i worry//hopefully without reason. Software crashed three times during install--took an Hour---no problem IF it works---I will check back, Gary
paul4laffs999
paul4laffs999
Feb 24 2021
19.3
1.0
Feb 24 2021
1.0
Version: 19.3
Got v 19, and though it works, it doesn't. It doesn't recognize a writable DVD disc when I try to burn it. I will if I switch to Classic version, but I paid for the whole new version. So far their support is ridiculous. Every week or so I get an email asking me to provide the same information I already provided and telling me they're working on the problem. If everything it's supposed to do worked (as older versions did) it would be a five. Now it's a 1. Look elsewhere.
scdutch2011
scdutch2011
Feb 14 2021
19.3
1.0
Feb 14 2021
1.0
Version: 19.3
Long time user of Toast on the Mac platform. Since Corel purchased, the program is buggy and while I have updated to 19.3 for Toast Pro, the app still crashes and is unusable. Contact Customer Service is a joke! Nothing but a runaround and useless "fixes". Running Big Sur on a 2018 MacBook Pro and 2019 iMac. Same issues on both machines.
Filchescat
Filchescat
Feb 13 2021
19.3
1.0
Feb 13 2021
1.0
Version: 19.3
Thought I'd follow up from earlier Jan 2021 comment . . . this is regarding the forced upgrade to Toast 19.x following it's refusal to launch following Big Sur intall. I've exchanged emails with ROXIO customer support probably 20 times over a period of 5 or 6 weeks. Each time the canned response begins with Dear sir / madam . . . shows the depth of off shore phone bank involvement. I've been asked to provide crash logs (understandable), BUT ROXIO has insisted that I download and install some kind of 3rd party diagnostic with instructions related to terminal commands . . WTF? I've declined. I've been provided with links to what appear to be beta builds - none of which work. Here's the thing: ROXIO's response is obviously just BS . . . they got your $ and now it's time to string along the suckers until they get tired and go away. Don't get me wrong, ROXIO customer support is very polite, overly sweetly polite so much that what they're doing is readily apparent. STAY AWAY FROM TOAST BY ROXIO / COREL.
dhoomstudiophoto
dhoomstudiophoto
Feb 13 2021
19.3
1.0
Feb 13 2021
1.0
Version: 19.3
Horrible Software! Don't waste your money! I purchase Toast 18 Pro, it worked fine for 1st month after updating to MacOS Big Sur. It won't work, i spend hrs. installing and re-installing customer support is a trash, they have no clue, except saying sorry to hear this and we will escalate your problem to next level, which never happened.
mickbrunt
mickbrunt
Feb 4 2021
19.3
1.0
Feb 4 2021
1.0
Version: 19.3
Quite a while back I successfully used Toast. Now with Catalina I needed a new 64-bit version. I want to produce and burn dvds of photos and videos of grandchildren with them displaying in chronological order. This is how they display in Photos, but when the files are dragged into Toast Titanium 19 they will only display in one of two orders - file size or name. So I contacted support and it was a waste of time. The online chat was useless and the best they could do was copy and paste standard responses about uninstalling and reinstalling. As the installation was successful, there was no point. Rating customer service and then requesting more help just resulted in going round in circles; raise a ticket, get a response saying there would be a delay and then asking for a rating of customer service and if not resolved, raise another ticket. I expect getting a refund for software which should do as I hope is a waste of time. So DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS BECAUSE IF THERE ARE PROBLEMS THERE IS NO SUPPORT.
david-97
david-97
Jan 17 2021
19.2
0.0
Jan 17 2021
0.0
Version: 19.2
Totally useless program with so many issues especially when burning DVDs. The compression appears to be an issue, burning DL is a complete waste of time. I opened a support ticket giving them details and copy of error messages and their response was for me to send screen shots of the same error messages...ugh...I'm now looking at alternative options.
Filchescat
Filchescat
Jan 5 2021
19.2
1.0
Jan 5 2021
1.0
Version: 19.2
Toast Titanium by ROXIO bought up by Corel to further fleece us. Filling the vacuum present by no other useful optical disk burners usable on 11.1, version 19 continues to freeze then crash on launch. A call to the 'support' number leads to Corel. That in itself should explain the offshore transfer to yet another phone bank staffed by extremely polite and clueless folks. Waiting for a refund. Not hopeful.
Aspartamemsgsuck
Aspartamemsgsuck
Dec 23 2020
19.2
1.0
Dec 23 2020
1.0
Version: 19.2
Don't spend a dime on Toast! Have been a Toast user since probably version 5 or 6... Was very stable but I can confirm current versions of Toast are now useless. I am "using" version 17, and have had endless problems with it, similar problems that I had had in version 16... I won't even waste my time listing the problems... Steer away from Toast until they fix it and there are some positive reviews here. I too recommend "Burn" as a solution... In terms of functionality it is not ideal but at least it will copy a disk without a hiccup!
quickreply1009
quickreply1009
Dec 17 2020
19.2
1.0
Dec 17 2020
1.0
Version: 19.2
User of Toast since v.10. Have bought the majority of "upgrades" through Toast 17 Pro - cost $100, could NEVER get it working. Despite bad v.17 bought Toast 18 Pro for $100. Could RARELY get it to work. Now because of a MacOS snafu, I need a copy of Toast 18 Pro to work with my already purchased Product Key. Toast 18 +/- Pro is nowhere to be found and they are selling Toast 19 for $90 - $100. I waited well over 30 minutes on Roxio Support Chat and no one ever responded. I typed in my query, and I'm still waiting for an answer. This is totally unfair. I'm waiting to hear the details, but it is unlikely I will shell out for Toast 19 Pro after such a bad experience.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Nov 24 2020
19.2
0.0
Nov 24 2020
0.0
Version: 19.2
Just tried to launch the 19.2 installer in Big Sur and I get this message: "Toast 19 Titanium.pkg” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software." and "This software needs to be updated. Contact the developer for more information." How does this even happen? Is there no QC at Roxio anymore?
cldwornik
cldwornik
Nov 20 2020
19.1
1.0
Nov 20 2020
1.0
Version: 19.1
I found Toast 18 completely useless. I tried to put chapters into the work space and it wouldn't accept them. After five weeks with customer service acting like they were as knowledgeable as five-year-olds, I gave up. Later when I was ready to print a video to DVD, the process took over three hours for one DVD and then it wouldn't play in a DVD player!! After three weeks with customer service acting like they were as knowledgeable as tour-year-olds, I gave up. I found an old version of iDVD that worked beautifully and took 11 minutes to print a DVD that worked in DVD players.
cndannen55
cndannen55
Nov 1 2020
19
1.0
Nov 1 2020
1.0
Version: 19
Toast 19 Titanium is Terrible software. Numerous Mac OS errors. Do not buy. Running Catalina on iMac and cannot burn imovies to disk. Imovies run fine on desktop.
scdutch2011
scdutch2011
Oct 30 2020
19
1.0
Oct 30 2020
1.0
Version: 19
Just suckered into buying Toast 19 Pro after using the old one for years without a problem (When it was Roxio-owned). Now, trying to launch the app, screen comes up, then the little balls spins and spins and the app crashes. Repeatedly. Looked for an update: none. I'm running MacOS 10.15.7
MyronV9060
MyronV9060
Oct 10 2020
19
4.0
Oct 10 2020
4.0
Version: 19
Wow, Corel technical support is totally useless!!! They have no technical knowledge of the product beyond what is stated in the specs... let alone their lack of English.
MyronV9060
MyronV9060
Oct 10 2020
19
4.0
Oct 10 2020
4.0
Version: 19
I have been using Toast Titanium 14.2 for a very long time (4 stars), and it has been doing everything I've needed it to do... except for the occasional need to use DVDRemaster to compress a VIDEO_TS folder down to 4.5GB to fit on a standard DVD before burning with Toast (which otherwise says the file appears to be corrupted). Now I want to move beyond macOS Mojave to Catalina (or Big Sir) which requires 64-bit applications. My question/problem is: since DVDRemaster is no longer an available and supported option, does anyone know if Toast Titanium 19 has an improved VIDEO_TS Fit-to-DVD video compression burning such that I am unlikely to need DVDRemaster like I occasionally needed before? Unfortunately, Toast Titanium does not appear to be as reliable as it once was, based on some of the more recent reviews. Or is there a reliable 64-bit replacement for DVDRemaster that someone can recommend to simply recompress a VIDEO_TS folder down to fit a standard size DVD? I have tried Mac DVDRipper Pro and it rips DVDs just fine, but it is unable to burn the larger VIDEO_TS folders to a standard DVD. It apparently does not have any video compression routines (contrary to the statements I've seen that DVDRemaster would be incorporated into it). In the mean time, I plan to use my older Mac with High Sierra to run Toast Titanium 14.2 and DVDRemaster (along with RipIt) until something comes along that will meet those needs on a 64-bit macOS system. Any suggestions would be most welcome.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Sep 23 2020
19
0.0
Sep 23 2020
0.0
Version: 19
Just upgraded from 18 to 19. I'm using the latest Big Sur public beta (released yesterday) and Toast 19 absolutely hangs on launch with the spinning beach ball. I would assume that a major release this close to the release of Big Sur would've had some kind of compatibility with the new OS. But Roxio beats to a different drummer, or is just completely deaf.
Peteintas
Peteintas
Sep 23 2020
19
0.5
Sep 23 2020
0.5
Version: 19
Here we go again people, version 19 is out...
rphartle
rphartle
Sep 22 2020
19
1.0
Sep 22 2020
1.0
Version: 19
This piece of crap is still around? Wow.. how pathetic they keep drawing in a handful of unsuspecting Mac users to garner a little pocket money for themselves. Bug ridden as always and no customer tech support whatsoever.
Bcassid
Bcassid
Jul 6 2020
18.3.1
1.0
Jul 6 2020
1.0
Version: 18.3.1
I've been using Toast for many years, BUT I will never purchase it again. There is absolutely no support and half the time I use it, it fails by hanging at a certain percent. I've switched to Mac DVDRipper Pro which is way less expensive and NEVER fails.
MyronV9060
MyronV9060
Jul 2 2020
18.3.1
4.0
Jul 2 2020
4.0
Version: 18.3.1
Trying to update from 14.2 to 18.3.1 on macOS 10.14.6 but unable to get to Registration Key screen. Keeps saying "You do not appear to be a registered user. Please re-install the application or call customer support with error code 1011" upon startup. Found instructions to create missing ~/Library/Preferences/Corel/Toast/18.0/ folder for userData.json file but have not been successful. What am I missing?
mitchelljd-1
mitchelljd-1
Jun 12 2020
18.3.1
1.0
Jun 12 2020
1.0
Version: 18.3.1
Support for your software is non-existent. Completely horrible. it's official. Toast Titanium is crap! no longer any good under Corel ownership. No proper help to fix software which is supposed to work. Once installed, it has so many files it is impossible to manually remove and reinstall. Support from overseas is idiotic. really bad. beware. Toast Titanium is NOT what it used to be.
juan-muntanergmail-com8936
juan-muntanergmail-com8936
May 24 2020
18.3.1
0.0
May 24 2020
0.0
Version: 18.3.1
no funciona la version gratuita the freeware it`s not funcional
rzlbarber
rzlbarber
May 15 2020
18.3.1
1.0
May 15 2020
1.0
Version: 18.3.1
Version 18 does NOT work on Mac. I upgraded to Toast Pro 18 last November 2019 and it worked fine on Catalina until the recent update to 10.15.4 I have tried reloading Toast 18 from my Roxio backup disc but always an error message. Now what??
davidraetsen
davidraetsen
May 9 2020
18.3.1
2.0
May 9 2020
2.0
Version: 18.3.1
A clunky interface with sad, dated-looking menus for DVDs and Blu-rays. If you're selling an update every year, how about actually updating it?
Pashdej
Pashdej
Mar 13 2020
18.2.1
0.0
Mar 13 2020
0.0
Version: 18.2.1
I've used Toast from about version 3 when it was a German company with absolute rock-solid code and support. I continued through vers. 8 and 9 then 12 and finally vers 15. I loathed 15 because it introduced really stupid templates for what you wanted to do and since every job is different I had to set up a system to avoid this clutter. But it worked, so......... I have now purchased version 18 - I wish I had read these reviews FIRST - over a Hundred dollars later and 3 months of aggro I realise that I'll go back to my old 2010 MacBook Pro, running Yosemite when ever I need the integration with iTunes, Epson CD labeller or LaCie's labelling burn programme and Disc Catalogue because Version 18 is just so TIRESOME. Installing it has been so awful that I was writing really offensive emails to "Support" who never reacted other than to say "do this, then that, TURN OFF Apple's Security System, then open Console and paste this and then find all these prefs and kext files - it was lunatic, to release a piece of software that expects the innocent customer to do stuff like this! I agree with the person who recommends a class action against Corel. They've destroyed a once excellent piece of software.
Calicura
Calicura
Feb 4 2020
18.2.1
0.0
Feb 4 2020
0.0
Version: 18.2.1
I have been a Toast user for many years and have always had mixed feelings about Roxio. The latest issue with the is that after buying toast 18, I am unable to install it on my two Macs. I have it on my iMac and went to install on my new MacBook Pro for occasional use when not at home. Roxio advises I must buy a second copy! I have never had this experience with other legitimately purchased software before and think it is a greedy Roxio response. One can only use the software on one machine at a time, so, why can't my license extend to both of my Macs? As posted elsewhere, I have found the freeware "BURN" and it seems to work just fine. I have advised Roxio's (alleged) tech support that I will be reporting their short sighted policy everywhere I can. I will no longer submit to Roxio's annual extortion and will enjoy using BURN.
nwg2851
nwg2851
Jan 10 2020
18.2.1
0.0
Jan 10 2020
0.0
Version: 18.2.1
I purchased Toast 18 Pro in December 2019. A strap line on the website reads: 'Roxio® Toast® - The preferred CD & DVD burner for Mac!' and in the body of the site: 'macOS 10.15 - Optimized for Catalina - Toast 18 has been redesigned as a 64-bit application and is fully compatible with macOS Catalina. Version 18 supports macOS Catalina 10.15, Mojave 10.14, High Sierra 10.13, Sierra 10.12, El Capitan 10.11.' The only problem, according to Corel, it doesn't support iMovie or Final Cut Pro, or other Apple files, without conversion! I was told by Corel to covert the iMovie file to an H.264 file, which I did. However, if you use the conversion tool in Toast, the results are stuttering with the audio out of sync - unusable! Anyone else have this issue? I am running macOS Catalina 10.15.2. and I'm very disappointed with what I'd heard was a good Mac program.
art-56
art-56
Jan 6 2020
18.2.1
0.0
Jan 6 2020
0.0
Version: 18.2.1
Help! Toast 18 crashes any time I'm trying to open it. MacOS Catalina on Imac.
art-56
art-56
Jan 6 2020
18.2.1
0.0
Jan 6 2020
0.0
Version: 18.2.1
Doesn't work. I can't open it. Crashes. MacOS Catalina and Toast 18 are not compatible (on my iMac).
Spudboy
Spudboy
Nov 30 2019
18.2.1
0.0
Nov 30 2019
0.0
Version: 18.2.1
I just purchased the 18 update (Black Friday sale/was using 15) in anticipation of upgrading to Catalina next week. So far on Mojave everything works great.
rphartle
rphartle
Nov 19 2019
18.2.1
1.0
Nov 19 2019
1.0
Version: 18.2.1
Absolute Garbage Software. I stopped using it for years ago when 50% of my data desk Burns failed. I found open source "burn" to be 100% reliable on every burn and also works at 8X which Toast would refuse to do only working at 2x no matter what I tried. There should be a class action lawsuit against Correl for this incompetent piece of software and nonexistent support.
TrentBridge
TrentBridge
Nov 17 2019
18.2
1.0
Nov 17 2019
1.0
Version: 18.2
I am absolutely disgusted with Roxio/Toast. I have been a user of Toast for many years and finally upgraded to Toast 17 Premium - only to have them introduce the 18 version shortly afterwards. I was having a problem with 17 on my iMac Retina (with the latest OS) so after "conversations" with them I paid $100 to upgrade to Toast 18 Pro. Only thing that works is My DVD Pro - nothing else will work. Since Aug 5 I have had 21 "conversations" with them including sending screen shots of what was happening and the error messages - and the final response on Aug 30 was "My apologies but the issue that you contacted us about has already been directed to our engineering team to look into and hopefully get resolved in a timely fashion. The earliest a fix is possible is in a future service pack or new version. We cannot comment on a timeframe as to when will be released for the update of software. This includes both features and fixes. Thanks." Since then I have asked what is happening - no response - I keep getting "How would you rate our support" (last one Oct 16) and you can imagine my response, but no reply. Wish there was an alternative which is a direct competitor
jetten1946
jetten1946
Nov 7 2019
18.2
0.0
Nov 7 2019
0.0
Version: 18.2
this version of titanium does not work on my imac oc catalina he does not start on several occasions had contact with customer service This has not helped worthless j.etten
solmaker
solmaker
Oct 21 2019
18.1
0.0
Oct 21 2019
0.0
Version: 18.1
Reading these reviews has been educational! My own experience is that Toast 14.0 has been solid as a rock and a real valuable workhorse for me on multiple machines running Sierra. I never "upgraded" to 14.1 (nor knew that it existed), which is a good thing because I've read here 14.1 is a botch. I'd be happy to pay for a 64-bit version (17.0 or 18.0) if it were any good, but from reading here it doesn't sound like these more recent versions are reliable. Sad that this once-worthy program has been left to rot in this way.
jeremy-65
jeremy-65
Oct 13 2019
18.1
0.0
Oct 13 2019
0.0
Version: 18.1
Had Toast 10 working on a 2011 Mac mini - Loved It!! Bought Toast 18 for my new Mac mini - Absolute Dog - Half of the features did not work. The help desks' advice was bad dicks or reinstall - did both, still not working. Do not consider buying!!
rphartle
rphartle
Oct 5 2019
18.1
1.0
Oct 5 2019
1.0
Version: 18.1
Do yourself a favor and get "Burn" Open Source, free. This Piece of Crap has crashed and wasted more DVDs than I can count.. At one point, 50% of my disks failed to burn. Burn works 100%. Other features seldom used any more. These guys should be arrested for a Fraudulent Product. I refuse to use or buy anything from Corel, They are Con-Artists at best.
ps-13
ps-13
Sep 19 2019
18
1.0
Sep 19 2019
1.0
Version: 18
after purchasing there is problem of opening the software with error code 1011. I had chat twice with the customer support and was given a ticket #ending in 79220 and ticket ending in #78203 and it has been 5 days no one from corel has solved the problem. Instead they keep sending email everyday that it has been submitted (as if this helps me). Worst customer service, worthless product and useless support.
Lenwhyte
Lenwhyte
Aug 13 2019
18
3.0
Aug 13 2019
3.0
Version: 18
The Licensing logic is TERRIBLE. You will find that you need to run the stub Installer for EVERY user on your machine who wishes to run Toast. Fortunately, having installed it once as an administrator, you can then kill the installation once the downloading phase starts, since the licence material has been put in position by then. The developers REALLY need to move to a mechanism whereby the licence material is accessible for ALL users on a machine, to avoid the need for this clumsy business. Without installing individually, when run, Toast complains that the user isn't registered.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Jul 26 2019
18
0.0
Jul 26 2019
0.0
Version: 18
Will it actually launch under Mojave this time?
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jul 22 2019
17.4
0.0
Jul 22 2019
0.0
Version: 17.4
Yup, version 18 is out! Please catch up MU! https://www.roxio.com/en/upgrade-center/toast/ The only compelling reason to upgrade I'm aware of is if you're still using an old 32-bit version. As of v17, Toast became fully 64-bit. Meanwhile, what's new in v18 is: "NEW Roxio Akrilic – transform your photos into stunning photo art." New in the Pro version is WinZIP as part of the package, as if any Mac user cares. (.ZIP is built into macOS) (o_0) Why I use Toast: To archive onto Blu-ray.
Peteintas
Peteintas
Jul 21 2019
17.4
0.5
Jul 21 2019
0.5
Version: 17.4
Seems Toast 18 has been released, hope it has improved stability.
nikabuz
nikabuz
Apr 25 2019
17.4
0.5
Apr 25 2019
0.5
Version: 17.4
Worthless piece of crap!! I bought Toast Titanium 17 as part of a bundle to replace Toast 10 Titanium. I'm running High Sierra and I was getting a warning saying the older software wasn't optimised for my iMac. So far I have been unable to burn or copy a single disc - tried DVD's & CDs. Keep getting 'error 05 - the connection is not stable'. Have tried different connection methods to my Pioneer external drive including using a powered USB hub. Also freezes when it fails to do a burn. I even couldn't get it to 'force quit' a couple of times and had to shut-down the mac with the power button at the rear as I was unable to restart the iMac due to Toast not shutting down properly. Toast used to be one of my favourite pieces of software, now all it's good for is creating expensive drink coasters. RIP.
keknak-1
keknak-1
Feb 21 2019
17.2
0.0
Feb 21 2019
0.0
Version: 17.2
Tried the Toast Pro for free. Nope. Not worth the upgrade cost. In fact my Toast 16 Pro has become an app I anticipate hardly having to use in future; I am transferring my videos, which I had I previously burned to DVDs, to iCloud and Vimeo. Burning DVDs has become outmoded. Save your money and buy space in Vimeo.
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
Nov 24 2018
17.2
0.0
Nov 24 2018
0.0
Version: 17.2
This version (literally) crashes 50% of the time - I have to restart it EVERY.SINGLE.TIME when I am erasing a few Verbatim CD-RW's for re-use. Toast *16* on my Mid-2012 MacBook Pro running Mojave still runs smoothly...V.17 on my Mid-2011 iMac running High Sierra is a dud and I honestly cannot recommend it (and I've been using Toast in one form or another since Version 6)
Spudfry
Spudfry
Oct 21 2018
17
0.0
Oct 21 2018
0.0
Version: 17
Last time I used this it was up to version 11 & only semi-flakey. Version 17 is totally flakey - don't touch this with a 10 foot credit card or any other form of monetary exchange, it's gone backwards. Was partially useful, now completely frustrating.
Danielt3
Danielt3
Oct 17 2018
17
0.5
Oct 17 2018
0.5
Version: 17
Toast worked fine until V16. Now I have been unable to burn a single video to a DVD disc. The attempt freezes and I get “Mac OS Error result code=-39”, or “Sense Key = ILLEGAL REQUEST; Sense Code = 0x21, 0x02 BUFFER UNDERRUN”, or I keep getting a popup window telling me to upgrade to the latest version of Toast. When I do this, the process only re-installs the original version of Toast 16 not the upgrade. I have been in contact with at least 4 people in Corel Support: Aiza, Johnston Cabrera, Robert Allan P. Payumo and King. All have been polite but have not been helpful in solving my problems. I have a total of 36 emails from support without being able to fix the problem. I wrote the CEO (Mr. Patrick L. Nichols, Corel Corporation,1600 Carling Ave., Ottawa, ON K1Z 8R7) and never heard from anyone in Corel. Obvioulsy no one cares. And now they want me to spend more money on Toast 17!?
tx517
tx517
Oct 16 2018
17
0.5
Oct 16 2018
0.5
Version: 17
Even with this new version 17, the app is still unable to mount its proprietary toast image format. As a result, I have lost several important files. The app should use the universal dmg format, but if so, users will not have to depend on and pay for Toast, which is probably what they do not want. The user interface in this supposedly new version is fundamentally the same as before, consuming way too much space and being somewhat cluttered.