Back to littleDarkr page
littleDarkr free download for Mac

littleDarkr Reviews

3.0b
11 October 2019

Dark-mode manager.

Sleek
11 November 2018

Most helpful

Little Darkr is getting better and better.
Like (3)
Version 1.5d

Read 16 littleDarkr User Reviews

Rate this app:

honker
20 September 2019
simply a nice little app that works like it should.
Like (2)
Version 3.0a
Just-Fred
31 July 2019
Well, thanks to the developer, I decided to quit Night Owl and give littleDarkr a try. I have to wait a full day-night cycle to see how well it works with Night Shift, but here are my first impressions: 1) This is a beta, right? Or maybe even an alpha? The number is 2.6a so maybe that's a give-away. It looks like one. 2) The UI is a mess. Apple's UI guidelines have been formally published since 1986. I know - I own the book! panels can't be seen due to opacity, check boxes AND on/off sliders? Lower case menu items. Even a period? Even the .dmg file when it mounts shows the whole path to the Volumes mount point. Egad. 3) Preferences are unintelligible. And there is no help to figure them out. Even the web site isn't helpful. I give the author credit for creating a piece of freeware that serves to enhance Apple Light/Dark modes under Mojave (and with this, even High Sierra -- what happened to El Capitan?). I figure this is an early cut to work out the technical stuff, and the UI will be cleaned up later. At least I hope that's the case!
Like (3)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
05 August 2019
tried to incorporate some of your points in the latest beta, Thank you for your input!
Like (2)
Just-Fred
18 July 2019
I find it remarkable that no other utility that manages Dark Mode can be found on MacUpdate. Particularly since I run a program called NightOwl on two of my (Mojave) Macs. Can't find it here now, nor any other Dark Mode manager. What's up with that?
Like (1)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
30 July 2019
night owl puts even your desktop experience under google-analytics-eyes, dont you know? Just use LittleSnitch to look for data dripping out when using night owl... so far littleDarkr is the only *really* free app out there (you even dont pay with your data).
Like (4)
::mile::
15 June 2019
I rarely write negative reviews but every now and then I just feel I have to. This app isn't really user-friendly or intuitive at all and the GUI is kind of a mess. That alone might warrant a negative review but within a few minutes of playing around with it my whole Mac went completely dark. Not as in 'dark mode' but pitch black all over. I couldn't access my Dock, couldn't access the menu bar, folders appeared in system mode (labeled with an / and mostly not accessible) and in the end I had to force-reboot my computer to get it to work again.

Sorry, but this is not an app that I will attempt to use a second time.

UPDATE: Even the reboot didn't fix all problems! My folder are still messed up, looking liker this now! What the hell did this thing do?!? >:(

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1jw2lawg9uqtr20/Screenshot%202019-06-15%2003.46.31.png?dl=0

WHAT THE HELL?!?
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
17 June 2019
we dont know what this man did (and *if* he really used the software and is not just another troll; hopefully his linked image does not contain malware). he did not want to get feedback, he did not want to get mails back (even blacklisted any response, totaly unconstructive). his problem besides his manners is simply not reproducable, software-wise you can revert each option you use. (we have an idea what he might mean with 'playing around' when we took a second look at his emails). 2000 installations without any of such problems - and just in case: channels to receive help (if you really want it).
Like (2)
Sleek
06 February 2019
WARNING: Do not Install this Piece of Junk on your Machine, It Screwed up My Machine, I cannot get My System to Default Looks. NO WONTER APPLE STORE DOES NOT WANT IT IN STORE.
Like (3)
Version 2.3
5 answer(s)
08 February 2019
thank you for your polite input (at least the last post a few down before this). if you mean black appearance: just press the left eye in the main window again (reverts to defaults, all off-states revert to os-defauls). if this against all former tests does not work, write an email including your os-version, i will send you a command for terminal to revert. the app does no magic, even if it in some rare cases seems to dont work.
btw: i never put the app in the apple-store or even tried because i dont like closed ecosystems like this.
Like (1)
STL@MacUpdate
STL@MacUpdate
13 February 2019
Hi,
I think it's not correct to exhort people to avoid this app. If you face any trouble with app, just send email to the Develop (as you may notice he always responses on feedbacks left here). Moreover, we have tested applications on our Macs (2 Mac mini, MacAir, MacBook Pro) and did not face with similar issue.
Like (2)
::mile::
::mile::
15 June 2019
Sorry @iurii, but you might think this over and not try to influence people or question their experiences. I went to try the app and within a few minutes it totally messed up my Mac! So even though it might have worked for you and a few others it can be quite dangerous to others and as an editor you should consider this instead of trying to defend the developer. Since when is that an editor's job anyway?!
Like
17 June 2019
f.e. (germany) § 4 Nr. 10 UWG
Like (2)
honker
honker
20 September 2019
macupdate seems to have some problems with trolls like this sleek.
Like (2)
Version 3.0a
Helmo-Hass
31 January 2019
the idea is nice but in my case become very hard to get a liking to it. there are 2 things (on 10.13.6) i cant stand visually speaking 1 - is the white squares at top / bottom of scroll 2 - being a TotalFinder user enabling littleDarkr make it look awful since it just applies to only the lower part of the tab. Well actually there is even a 3rd one, the fact it isn't Dark, but Black... i find it very annoying just as the vanilla one.. that's sad because, i would really make use of this application, but as is it now i just have to decline,
Like (1)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
04 February 2019
thank you for your polite input and differentiated impression. let me clarify.

1. darkr is an app to conveniently *automate dark-mode*: a. timer-based, nightshift-based, switch via menubutton, hotkey
2. darkr does also automation of some attention- and privacy-related issues on macOS (sliders) - the future could bring more on this track.
as part of the first of this two main feature-lines, you could - beside others -
1.b. use a more lightweight darkmode in 10.14 (known from 10.11+),
1.c. use some kind of full dark-mode in 10.13 (known from 10.14+)

while refering to the functionality of 1.c. you may got something wrong (as already mentioned in other answers)
to clarify a last time -- and one and for all:
1.c. darkr just uses a hidden osx-functionality in 10.13, supposingly early beta-testing mojaves dark-mode way back already in 10.13
1.c.1. darkr just turns this hidden feature on and off in a plain, simply way. end of story. no magic hacking in the gui. what you see is what apple integrated for beta-testing. nothing is tampered.
1.c.2. if you really want a full, visually 'perfect' dark mode in 10.10-10.13 - not only this early apple-beta-one -, you have to change the ui itself os-wise, and therefore everyone who wants to use such an app must lower security for applying (10.11+: system integrity protection, usually done in recovery) - this in principle could get you near an more perfect visual end-experience you imagined as current outcome of darkr.

this is not a trivial thing to do. and non-trivial things do not happen often in life. remember the last time you got free beer with really, really nothing in return in real life.
in other words: darkr could have your imagined 'perfect' outcome, sure -- but that should need more attention code- as well as sip-/user-/donation-wise.
Like (1)
Aargl
17 January 2019
"Requirements: macOS 10.11 or later" ??? When you try to install it, it clearly says "10.12 or later" !!!
Like
Version 2.1
4 answer(s)
29 January 2019
last version should fix that.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
29 January 2019
Thanks for the reply, but if you mean v2.2 found on your site, well it doesn't...
Like
30 January 2019
if at all reproduceable, it should be a singular 10.11-issue only. please try again, if your problem still occurs, make a screenshot and send it through email (including, if possible, the logfile in private/var/log). all macdesktop-related-problems, btw, can only be fixed by macupdates. thank you.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
30 January 2019
There's no log created, not even a single line in the Console as the app won't launch and is barred as any app not working on your MacOS.
I send you a screenshot although it's nothing else than any other incompatible app...
Like (1)
MacDefender
17 November 2018
Great little tool with active support from the developer. If you want dark mode in HighSierra this is a great tool for easy switching between dark/bright mode with just a mouse click.
Like (3)
Version 1.7
Eric•Woehler
15 November 2018
A query - does it work under El Cap (10.11)? I have an old Mini (mid-2010!) still running my db and would be delighted to have dark mode.
Like (1)
Version 1.7
1 answer(s)
16 November 2018
currently it is a dm-manager for 10.13/14 (some 12).
10.11 has a menu-bar / dock-darkmode and should be programable by the application. however it does not have a systemwide darkmode for the windows. putting a real - and customizable - darkmode there (10.10+) would require to tweak system files and therefor disable sip a short time by the user. such a solution is not included currently (donate if you want that), because however easy the installation itself could be, the sip-part would be not so trivial for some users.
Like (1)
Sleek
11 November 2018
Little Darkr is getting better and better.
Like (3)
Version 1.5d
3 answer(s)
12 November 2018
thank you! O_O
Like (2)
Sleek
Sleek
16 November 2018
As of Today Little Darkr does not have ability to change Dark and Light Mode Automatically even setting time, I have to click on Eye to make Dark or Light Mode.
Like (1)
16 November 2018
the last update introduced a completely new model to deal with internal values, memory and saves to gain security. but through this, all prefs you made before 1.7 are gone now - you have to set them new. if this does not help, try the new 1.8-beta-version from the website, also introducing skins and sounds.
Like (2)
ShotBlocker
11 November 2018
Dear Developer, I'm still experimenting with littleDarkr. Is there a way to return to the default states, from within littleDarkr or otherwise?
Like (1)
Version 1.5d
1 answer(s)
12 November 2018
in principle, return to default states should be triggered by all toggles when clicking them two times (esp. the 'left eye'; exception: some values triggered by the anim slider; next update will revert *all* altered values to system-defaults on 'off'-state there too (esp. the animation speeds) - not sure currently to completely remove values like some supposedly not reverted yet like 'quit finder-option', 'show invisible files on default' or 'keyboard access in all ui-elements' that are more poweruser-like and less attention-centered (or attention-centered on a more abstract level)).
if you save your color-switch-times you automatically set new color-switch-defaults. automatic detection of your local day-/night-cycle could be integrated as a default here, but is not on the to-do-list currently.
Like (1)
Sleek
31 October 2018
Still Darkr needs work, it does not show Default Language (US English).
Like
Version 1.3nm
4 answer(s)
03 November 2018
should be fixed.
Like (1)
Sleek
Sleek
03 November 2018
Thanks, It also does not work at scheduled tome (eg: Dim: 7.00pm and Bright: 7am) or any time unless clicking on Owl eyes manually.
Like
03 November 2018
1) set times
2) slide clocks
3) press save-button (occuring over 'hide'-button, upper left)
= times should be set, surviving restarts (pref-option: autostart)
* am/pm-clocks: to-do
Like (1)
08 November 2018
displays am/pm now (as well as US as default language) - and should work with mojave.
Like (2)
Sleek
29 October 2018
Does not work, just occupied Drive space. Had to delete it.
Like (1)
Version 1.3nm
6 answer(s)
30 October 2018
Thank you for your feedback. The app is tested and runs with 10.13, may i ask what system you are using?
Like (1)
Sleek
Sleek
30 October 2018
10.13.6 High Sierra
Like
30 October 2018
what happens exactly? you could surely send a crash-report via mail.
Like (1)
Sleek
Sleek
30 October 2018
When double click on Darkr, it opens and does nothing at all. I deleted App 3 times and reinstalled it, Installed and restarted My Macbook without any results.
Like
30 October 2018
it does nothing on its own. it waits for interaction. you have no menu-icon (in this version: owl, sitting left of the spotlight-icon)?
Like (1)
Sleek
Sleek
31 October 2018
Yesterday I Installed Darkr 4th time and Today Darkr started to work.
Like (3)
RavenNevermore
28 October 2018
The white button only darkens the menu bar and Dock on my Mac running 10.11.6. The black button restarts the finder and then all the windows are still light.
Like (1)
Version 1.2o
1 answer(s)
30 October 2018
the darkening of the windows seems only to work flawlessly in 10.13 (some: 10.12); darkening of dock/menu however - and its programability - should in theory work on all macs supporting early 'dark modes' (programable by the 'clock'). as far as we could see this is the case 10.11+ at least, where you could use right 'eye', the owl-dark-/light-clocks as well as the attention-slider anyhow. a 10.14-specific mode (and its automatic detection) is included soon.
Like (1)
Max-G
19 October 2018
Cannot be opened. Added the app to System Prefs > Security & Privacy > Accessebility. Does not work. Still get: “littleDarkr.app” can’t be opened because it is from an unidentified developer."
Like (1)
Version 1.1b
5 answer(s)
19 October 2018
you have to 'allow' it under systemprefs>security&privacy>general.
the application is simply compiled without an expensive apple-developer account currently (donate!), thats why the dialog appears.
if you are running 10.14+ take a look on the webpage to download the latest alpha for mojave.
Like (1)
Max-G
Max-G
19 October 2018
Sorry, stated it wrong. Indeed, systemprefs > security & privacy > general. Even so, it does not open (I have several apps that I installed this way though). MacOSX 10.13.6.
Like (1)
19 October 2018
app is tested and typically runs in this config.
could you please write an email through the website?
if you are interested, you could get the link for the next beta (10.10-13) that way.
Like (1)
Max-G
Max-G
19 October 2018
Thanks. But I will wait for the next update and try again.
Like
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
21 November 2018
If you are still seeing this error please try to Control+Click on the .app file and then select "Open" and click on "Open" in the dialog box that comes up.
This is a security measure taken by Apple to prevent running applications from unknown sources.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
19 September 2018
Not.
Like (1)
Version 1.0a
1 answer(s)
19 October 2018
pardon?
Like