Back to macOS High Sierra Security Updates page
macOS High Sierra Security Updates free download for Mac

macOS High Sierra Security Updates Reviews10.13.6

29 May 2020

The latest Security Updates for macOS High Sierra.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jul 31 2019
10.13.6
0.0
Jul 31 2019
0.0
Version: 10.13.6
Untangling Confusion: The original "Security Update 2019-004 (High Sierra)" contained a bug that affected Sleep mode on a few recent Mac models. Without explanation, Apple pulled the update for several days. Then, without explanation, Apple made the update available again with modifications that removed the Sleep bug. If you have questions about whether you have the correct version installed, simply download and install this latest version. For details, please read: "Apple has released High Sierra and Sierra Security Updates 2019-004 again" https://eclecticlight.co/2019/07/29/apple-has-released-high-sierra-and-sierra-security-updates-2019-004-again/
anonymous-angelfish-3889
anonymous-angelfish-3889
May 11 2019
10.13.6
1.0
May 11 2019
1.0
Version: 10.13.6
it doesn't download the full installer only 22MB. no good at all...sorry.
dmgneo
dmgneo
Oct 8 2018
10.13.6
4.5
Oct 8 2018
4.5
Version: 10.13.6
Thanks !!! Good Job!! I'm very happy for find this installer. Nice!!!
Larry-Klein
Larry-Klein
Jul 20 2018
10.13.6
4.0
Jul 20 2018
4.0
Version: 10.13.6
After this latest update - few odd things. Slow waking from sleep. Closed windows leaving ghost lines on the desktop. This was fixed with a restart.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Jul 13 2018
10.13.6
0.0
Jul 13 2018
0.0
Version: 10.13.6
Recommend users d/l the combo updater and use that - even if it is a 0.1 change to your OS. I have had too many issues over many years relying on the App Store d/l the incremental updater. I have found OS X and now Mac OS to be more reliable when I keep system software up to date using combo updaters.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Jul 12 2018
10.13.5
3.5
Jul 12 2018
3.5
Version: 10.13.5
While the listing number has not been updated for some reason, the link will take you to the Apple Store for the correct 10.13.6 update. What's more important to me is that the link for the 10.13.6 Combo update is correct. If I have to do a new install of 10.13, the Combo update is essential to bring it up to date quickly. As for 10.13 itself, it still breaks stuff. I'm holding at 10.12 Sierra.
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Jul 12 2018
10.13.5
0.5
Jul 12 2018
0.5
Version: 10.13.5
I think 10.13.6 is the current version.
James
James
Jul 12 2018
10.13.5
0.0
Jul 12 2018
0.0
Version: 10.13.5
10.13.6 Fixes Disk First Aid for APFS Volumes. Essential fix for those with SSD's.
Jbucholtz
Jbucholtz
Jul 11 2018
10.13.5
5.0
Jul 11 2018
5.0
Version: 10.13.5
Five stars for MacOS, one star for the 10.13.5 listing... I used to count on Mac Update to keep me current with the latest versions of many things, now I can't seem to count on it at all.
Zx81
Zx81
Jul 11 2018
10.13.5
0.0
Jul 11 2018
0.0
Version: 10.13.5
Funny, my iMac says Version 10.13.6
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Jul 11 2018
10.13.5
0.0
Jul 11 2018
0.0
Version: 10.13.5
I downloaded the installer and used that instead of the App Store method. I have mid-2012 MBP Retina. This update seems to make High Sierra speedier and smoother than the previous iteration. Scrolling is faster and nicer. Things just move more quickly. I had updated from El Capitan to High Sierra for several reasons but was regretting that decision. Going back, though, is not as easy as it was in the past if you've changed to APFS. So, here I stay. But I'm not disatsified so far. Here's hoping it stays that way.
Håkon513
Håkon513
Jul 11 2018
10.13.5
0.0
Jul 11 2018
0.0
Version: 10.13.5
It slows down my iMac (late 2009) , I downgraded to el Capitan again. High Siera is too heavy for older mac's like mine.
gbdoc
gbdoc
Jul 11 2018
10.13.5
0.0
Jul 11 2018
0.0
Version: 10.13.5
The most recent update is to 10.13.6 - not, as listed here, .5. Installed with no problem and works fine on 2 AirBooks.
Cmc
Cmc
Jul 11 2018
10.13.5
2.5
Jul 11 2018
2.5
Version: 10.13.5
Actual updates to 10.13.6 not as listed all working well in MBP land
bobembry
bobembry
Jul 11 2018
10.13.5
5.0
Jul 11 2018
5.0
Version: 10.13.5
No problems on MacBook Air 13" Early 2015
Pippol
Pippol
Jun 4 2018
10.13.5
0.0
Jun 4 2018
0.0
Version: 10.13.5
There was an update 6/1 to 10.13.5. In Cus today 6/4 another security update? it says no updates in apple updater
glean-1
glean-1
Jun 2 2018
10.13.5
0.5
Jun 2 2018
0.5
Version: 10.13.5
Terrible operating software - struggling with USB-C but so many things buggy with it - have to go back to Windows if the MacOS does't improve fast
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Jun 1 2018
10.13.5
5.0
Jun 1 2018
5.0
Version: 10.13.5
No problem at all - did it with MAS update. On iMac and MacBook Pro after 25 minutes all was done. Great. Thank you Apple!
Michael Frankel
Michael Frankel
Jun 1 2018
10.13.5
0.0
Jun 1 2018
0.0
Version: 10.13.5
Anyone have a link for the Combo Updater for this one?
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Apr 3 2018
10.13.4
0.5
Apr 3 2018
0.5
Version: 10.13.4
Lots of fan noise since installing this on my 2011 Mac Mini (core i7). Ran combo updater. Once again, Windows runs better than Mac OS on my Mac.
Macfool
Macfool
Apr 1 2018
10.13.4
4.5
Apr 1 2018
4.5
Version: 10.13.4
The 10.13.4 combo update took well over an hour displaying various "progress screens" and the always alarming firmware update HONK but went smoothly with no issues on a mid-2010 iMac 21.5" 16 GB RAM. The update DID NOT convert the HDD to APFS. The old machine is very responsive on this version. NOTHING has crashed or resulted in the spinning rainbow.
Jsabini
Jsabini
Apr 1 2018
10.13.4
2.0
Apr 1 2018
2.0
Version: 10.13.4
Seems to work ok now, but installation crashed with delta installer. Had to reboot in recovery mode and hope new install of OS worked. Seems to now. Also, delta installer did a firmware update, which I would like a heads up on ahead of time, as my mac emitted an alarming tone on the firmware update. Not very impressed with this update, Wish I'd held off as it took about 3 hours to recover. Better than a full restore though... Late 2009 iMac 27 2.8GHz i7, 20GB RAM, 2TB drive, Radeon 4850.
Macinman
Macinman
Dec 7 2017
10.13.2
0.0
Dec 7 2017
0.0
Version: 10.13.2
Installed without issues here on a late 2013 MBP, and late 2015 27:" 5k iMac. As far as the console messages, I typically don't look at console unless the system actually goes screwy. Then I look to see what's going on.
Forn
Forn
Dec 7 2017
10.13.2
1.0
Dec 7 2017
1.0
Version: 10.13.2
Lots of errors like: Unknown CGXDisplayDevice: 0x41dc9d00, 13th month… etc.
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
Nov 16 2017
10.13.1
0.0
Nov 16 2017
0.0
Version: 10.13.1
All my window red, yellow and green buttons are no longer there. Same problem with all apps. They are greyed out. Anyone have the same problem?
Ckueny
Ckueny
Nov 13 2017
10.13.1
1.0
Nov 13 2017
1.0
Version: 10.13.1
Apple had an artificial limitation built into previous versions of the OS which made their external Superdrive unusable on machines with internal drives. Thus, when your internal drive dies, you're screwed, as I learned when I bought one of their Superdrives. Fortunately this limitation was very easy to get around with a simple modification to one OS file, but in High Sierra they sabotaged this. Thus their insanely expensive Superdrive is useless until someone figures out how to fix this.
zzzuppp
zzzuppp
Nov 2 2017
10.13.1
0.0
Nov 2 2017
0.0
Version: 10.13.1
Beware the 10.13.1 update from AppStore. I couldn't restart my Macbook - the 'Apple' symbol wouldn't appear, only the dreaded 'No entry' sign, then nada, fans spinning like crazy. Had to reboot into 10.13.0 from Recovery. How can I get rid of the 10.13.1 files so I can restart my macbook normally?
anonymous-pig-5822
anonymous-pig-5822
Nov 1 2017
10.13.1
1.0
Nov 1 2017
1.0
Version: 10.13.1
After updating my 3TB WD external USB drive does not mount. It has two partitions: Files (1TB) and Backup (2TB). Files mounts sporadically, but is flaky, often disappearing after several minutes. Backup does not mount at all, and shows as grayed out in Disk Utility. A separate 1TB WD external USB drive mounts normally, but is spinning like crazy. Help!!
Scion777
Scion777
Nov 1 2017
10.13.1
0.0
Nov 1 2017
0.0
Version: 10.13.1
The security fixes for this, and for the Sierra and El Capitan updates are considerable - don't pass these by!
gary-22
gary-22
Oct 31 2017
10.13.1
4.5
Oct 31 2017
4.5
Version: 10.13.1
A question. Will updating from 10.13 with iTunes 12.6.3 installed, to 10.13.1, also overwrite the iTunes version with 12.7 or 12.7.1 (which I am trying to avoid due to the removal of the App Store)?
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Oct 11 2017
10.13
0.5
Oct 11 2017
0.5
Version: 10.13
Have had my second major issue with High Sierra. Login Items disappeared. Was not on initial install. Had to completely rebuild because replacing preferences file would not work. Luckily I had backup info.
Bob Jacobson
Bob Jacobson
Oct 3 2017
10.13
3.0
Oct 3 2017
3.0
Version: 10.13
My Apple Mail has been "saving xxx of x thousand drafts" since I installed HS. Not sure if it's just a figment or actually using processing power the whole time. Reported it to Apple, who asked for a system dump. Hoping to hear back from them soon or at least get a new upgrade that cures the problem. Not too keen on some of the file-handling changes either, I'm still discovering more....
Bartjr
Bartjr
Oct 3 2017
10.13
4.0
Oct 3 2017
4.0
Version: 10.13
Works OK for me on iMac 17,1 (5k ii7). Can't say I notice any improvement or any problems, either. Installed over Sierra; everything seems to work so far. Some software needs to be updated (like Tech Tool Pro) which hasn't happened yet. MSOffice is also OK (MS 15.38). Running with 3TB Fusion drive, so no Apple File System change.
vidalm
vidalm
Oct 3 2017
10.13
4.0
Oct 3 2017
4.0
Version: 10.13
I've run into a funny issue with face time. The widow control border at the top when you are in a call has disappeared completely, so you can't even move the window which is what I did when I do a phone call via face time. How they miss something like this is mindboggling.
Verne-Arase
Verne-Arase
Oct 3 2017
10.13
5.0
Oct 3 2017
5.0
Version: 10.13
Looking at a bunch of reviews based on APFS transition below - were you guys running the beta on a production machine?

Not to be preachy, but that's never a good idea.

If you want to play with a beta - especially one which converts file systems - you'll want an isolated machine which has no access to drives containing data you won't mind losing.

If you want to move drives to APFS, that's fine. But treat what you're doing as an experiment on how long the file system will last until it self-destructs.

At the very least wait for the golden master, though the .1 release might be better.

I was pretty sure that the old spinning disks there would be no APFS file system conversion (at least not yet), and believe me I'm willing to wait until Apple thinks APFS is baked enough for spinning drives.
Verne-Arase
Verne-Arase
Oct 3 2017
10.13
5.0
Oct 3 2017
5.0
Version: 10.13
Seems fine here - installed on top of Sierra on a iMac 5K 2014 with 3TB fusion drive, and installed on a 2011 MacBook Pro 17 by wiping the disk, installing, and using migration assistant to clone back data.

So far, so good (though MPlayer Extended doesn't seem to work).

Not crazy about iPhone app leaving iTunes, though you guys who wanted it got what you wished for!

Oh, and I forgot:

Safari under Sierra was giving me fits - recent web pages would hang and start using huge gobs of CPU time. I'd have to keep activity monitor open and kill (for force kill) stuff running in various web pages.

All better now under High Sierra.
Jinkertsun
Jinkertsun
Oct 3 2017
10.13
2.5
Oct 3 2017
2.5
Version: 10.13
Well apart from sign in problems, problems with opening up lock ups, closing down lock ups, iCloud misbehaving and various apps/ programmes that don't work properly it does look nice. However, I won't be using it until they've sorted out the various problems. If you need your machine for work or whatever I would recommend you don't upgrade until you've backed up so you can go back and know how the various problems might affect you by researching the forums. Plenty people having problems so you have been warned.
mennadule
mennadule
Oct 3 2017
10.13
0.5
Oct 3 2017
0.5
Version: 10.13
I use my mac for graphics along with other software. Since downloading the new sierra my other software won't work, neither does Acorn and that is mac software. I am furious. How can I go back to just Sierra. Anyone please help. I have deadlines.. My rating is zero.
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Oct 3 2017
10.13
0.5
Oct 3 2017
0.5
Version: 10.13
Actually running quite nice since fixing problem with WiFi. A little peppier than Sierra. Running on Mac Mini (Mid 2011 Core i7 with AMD Radeon Graphics card). Also running Windows 10 on Bootcamp (despite the fact that this machine is not supposed to be able to).
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Oct 1 2017
10.13
0.5
Oct 1 2017
0.5
Version: 10.13
BIG problems with WiFi on Late 2011 Mac Mini Core i7. WiFi will freeze up on some websites, causing spinning beachball when trying to access WiFI menu or WiFi Preference Panel. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated (but cannot afford a new computer right now).
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
Sep 30 2017
10.13
3.0
Sep 30 2017
3.0
Version: 10.13
Dear Apple, please fix https://twitter.com/patrickwardle/status/912254053849079808 As begun with 10.12, ratings for the most important piece of software for desktop / laptop users by apple have been removed in MacAppStore. That in itself speaks a clear language.
Tomq
Tomq
Sep 28 2017
10.13
0.0
Sep 28 2017
0.0
Version: 10.13
Warning on External TM backups and new APFS incompatibility It is not possible to do Time Machine backups to an external drive that is formatted with the new APFS!. It took me 2 days to get my 8TB external hard drive back to its original state because I had to totally erase it and reformat it back from APFS to HFS, then restore all my files to be able to use it with TM again! So, warning!
Dougster
Dougster
Sep 27 2017
10.13
0.0
Sep 27 2017
0.0
Version: 10.13
I've noticed that the 'save as' box has shrunk in length and there doesn't seem to be any way to lengthen it.
Larry-Klein
Larry-Klein
Sep 27 2017
10.13
4.0
Sep 27 2017
4.0
Version: 10.13
Seems like a good update, but since I have an ancient imac (mid 2011), no APFS or metal2. Only bug was it changed my display preference to Automatic brightness. Took a few minutes to figure why my brightness had a mind of its own.
Virtualp
Virtualp
Sep 27 2017
10.13
4.0
Sep 27 2017
4.0
Version: 10.13
I have problem with Excel (Office 365). When opening new window characters look in reverse side. Scrolling fix the problem. Anybody has the same problem?
Mac5
Mac5
Sep 27 2017
10.13
0.0
Sep 27 2017
0.0
Version: 10.13
Both iMacs at home are not printing the full page on either mono laser printer. Its cutting part of the page off on both sides. Perhaps there is a printer update for Brother printers on the way.
Leesa
Leesa
Sep 27 2017
10.13
0.0
Sep 27 2017
0.0
Version: 10.13
Justy curious: I'm on a 2010 Mac Pro running Sierra - In theory it should run High Sierra... but unlike in every other OS, it's not showing-up in my Ap Store Updates .
nafiuabdullahi590
nafiuabdullahi590
Sep 27 2017
10.13
5.0
Sep 27 2017
5.0
Version: 10.13
j
Sven-Jacobsen
Sven-Jacobsen
Sep 27 2017
10.13
1.0
Sep 27 2017
1.0
Version: 10.13
I have 2 1TB SSD's in RAID0 configuration ... not able to install on Partitioned Drive. Any Solutions ?
ylluminate
ylluminate
Sep 26 2017
10.13
5.0
Sep 26 2017
5.0
Version: 10.13
Superb update. This has resolved a HUGE number of problems with 10.12. System feels like new and I used the patched firmware that allows all of my Mac Pro 2009 units to work. 128 GB RAM and SSDs, ATI 480 cards are extremely smooth and no driver issues. Occasional very minor lags, but the big audio issues that plagued 10.12 are no more.