Back to Affinity Photo page
Affinity Photo free download for Mac

Affinity Photo Reviews

1.7.3
05 October 2019

Digital editing for photographers and bitmap artists.

DirkTheMenace
16 May 2015

Most helpful

Affinity Paint is A W E S O M E I use(d) Pixelmator a lot and like it a lot too. But it does not has support for Photoshop plugins and lacks some more advanced features. Affinity Photo has it all. In fact, I would almost say it can do about anything Photoshop can. And it does it incredible fast. It is still in development and therefore free - don't know what it would cost on point release - but I am pretty sure it will be cheap. If you like Pixelmator, try this for a twist ! If you like Photoshop, try to this and know there are very very very good alternatives to the awful license scheme Adobe forces you. Still in beta, but already a clean 5 stars ! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !
Like (9)
Version 1.1.2.24216

Read 63 Affinity Photo User Reviews

Rate this app:

DragonMaster
06 September 2019
One fine app!!! Great support. Unbelievable price. Regular updates. 100% Mac oriented. This is a gotta have for any Mac user.
Like
Version 1.7.2
ykmv
13 July 2019
Price is incorrect. This is 50$ now.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Macintosh-Sauce
24 June 2019
Affinity now sells Designer and Photo directly from their website. Try before you buy. They have a 20% sale going on right now too. I have all three applications for macOS 10.14/10.15 and Windows 10. For the Windows versions just replace "macos" in the links with "windows" Affinity Publisher https://store.serif.com/en-us/update/macos/publisher/1/ Affinity Designer https://store.serif.com/en-us/update/macos/designer/1/ Affinity Photo https://store.serif.com/en-us/update/macos/photo/1/
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
Derekcurrie
19 June 2019
Affinity Publisher is out today, June 19th!
20% off. Looking great. Check the website for details::
https://affinity.serif.com/en-us/publisher/
Like
Version 1.6.7
Wonderwarthog
08 June 2019
Best of the best. Adobe is gone from my Harddisk, good riddance. Affinity Photo is way zippier anyway.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.0
1 answer(s)
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
06 September 2019
Amen! No more of Adobe's 32 bit , crashing apps. No more subscriptions.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Teksestro
07 June 2019
Amazing software, by a fantastic company that deserves support.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.0
WordWeaver
06 June 2019
Question for current Affinity Photo users and/or the developer: I am a longtime Adobe Photoshop user going back to about 5.5. Not CS 5.5, but 5.5, when Adobe still distributed its software on CDs. Yes, that long ago. :) At any rate, for a number of years now, I have remained with Adobe Photoshop CS6 Extended, because like many other people, I refuse to embrace Adobe's greedy subscription model. However, with CS6 being dead in the water with the release of macOS 10.15 Catalina later this year, I face the same dilemma as every other CS6 user. Do I bite the bullet and pay Adobe $20/month, or do I switch to Affinity Photo or Pixelmator Pro? Aside from the fact that I have an established workflow and years of experience using Adobe Photo -- which makes it hard to want to switch to another app -- one of my biggest concerns with switching to a different graphics editor, is its compatibility with my current plugins. These include Alien Skin Eye Candy 7 and Xenofex, a variety of Flaming Pear plugins, Filter Forge, Topaz Lab's Glow plugin, and the SuperPNG plugin. So, I am just wondering how many of the aforementioned plugins are fully compatible with Affinity Photo without any hiccups or bugs. Can someone here please let me know? Also, given my current experience with Adobe Photoshop, what kind of a learning curve should I expect with Affinity Photo, were I to decide to switch to it? Thanks in advance.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.0
7 answer(s)
Teksestro
Teksestro
07 June 2019
WordWeaver, learning a new tool can be daunting, so I sympathise with your hesitation. I had been using Photoshop for a couple of decades, and switching over to Affinity Photo was not easy. Not because of the program - Photo is an unbelievably pleasant app to use - but because it is indeed hard for old dogs to learn new tricks. The app is FASTER than Photoshop, more responsive, and my entire system thanked me for deleting all of the Adobe crap - including over 1Tb of 'cache' files that Photoshop kept in my system folder.

It took me about 3 months to get used to the interface, and go through all the tutorials, and teach myself a new way of working. I think I could have progressed a lot faster if I hadn't been so stingy, and had bought the hard-cover guide.

I also had a handful of old plugins that I was very comfortable using, and could not port over with any success to Affinity Photo. While this was frustrating at first, it did get me to spend some time looking around at NEW external apps that are available currently. The $20/month that you'll save will enable you to invest in some other tools, if you need them - I have become a fan of AuroraHDR, and have also added heaps of editing tools to my iPad (like Plotagraph). All in all, it must have taken me somewhere between 6 to 9 months to completely leave Adobe behind, but I'm sure glad I did - and I'm certainly not thinking of going back.
Like (1)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
07 June 2019
Take a look at GraphicConverter as well - https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/263/graphicconverter
As it's try-before-you-buy, you can test to see if your Photoshop plug-ins work in it. You may wind up breaking up your workflow from Adobe into several different applications for different things. (I own copies of both Affinity Photo and GraphicConverter as both are handy tools.)
Like (1)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
07 June 2019
@Teksestro and @Aetnaria : Thank you both for your feedback. Although neither of you specifically answered my plugin compatibility question regarding the aforementioned plugins, I do appreciate your input.

This is such a hard decision to make, financially-speaking, and workflow-related. I really don't want to have to break up my workflow between several different apps. For one thing, it would be more time-consuming, and my time is very important to me. Aside from that, I am very organized, and having to break up my work between several apps would be hard mentally as well. So those factors alone push me towards biting the bullet and paying Adobe, as much as I don't like it.

What irks me the most -- aside from the annual subscription which would be hard on my pocket -- is the fact that unlike other software, Adobe Photoshop CC stops working if you fail to renew your subscription. I just really don't see the fairness in that at all. It should be like other non-subscription software, where even if you don't purchase a new version each year, the old version will continue working, as long as it remains compatible with the current OS.

Oh, how I miss the old days when software developers issued software licenses for life, with free updates and upgrades. The greed today is pitiful. :(
Like (2)
Max-G
Max-G
18 June 2019
https://forum.affinity.serif.com/
Like
Macintosh-Sauce
Macintosh-Sauce
24 June 2019
Switch to Affinity's products. I have all three - Designer, Photo, Publisher for macOS & Windows - and their software blows Adobe out of the water. I made a post above where you can download any of their software as a trial and then buy when ready.
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
06 August 2019
Well, while Affinity Photo is indeed a very nice image creator/editor, I have come up against a brick wall in deciding whether or not to switch to it from Adobe Photoshop. As it turns out, due to a partial implementation of Adobe's plugin SDK in Affinity Photo, NONE of my current PS plugins work fully and completely -- if at all -- in Affinity Photo. These include the following plugins:

Alien Skin Eye Candy 7
Xenofex
Flaming Pear plugins
Filter Forge
Topaz Lab's Glow plugin
SuperPNG plugin

From the reading I have done, it seems that the ONLY plugins which DO work with Affinity Photo are something called the Nik Collection, which I know nothing about.

So, my advice is the following: If you depend heavily on using Photoshop-compatible plugins in your current workflow, and are not willing to start from scratch with Affinity Photo -- that is, without any PS-compatible plugins -- then switching to Affinity Photo is NOT advisable at this current time.

Furthermore, from what I have read, it seems that Serif is currently in the process of building its own plugins system for Affinity Photo. I take that to mean that Photoshop plugin compatibility may be dead in the water as far as Affinity Photo is concerned.

As I said, Affinity Photo is indeed very nice; and if you are just getting into image creation and editing, and have no experience with Adobe Photoshop, then Affinity Photo would be a wise choice, and would save you several hundred dollars a year, which is what Adobe charges for a Photoshop annual subscription.
Like
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
06 September 2019
Pretty much a piece of cake! More and more plugins are being supported, even if Photoshop is not on the drive. This company is totally cool to deal with.
Like
Version 1.7.2
DonkeyKong
16 December 2017
The big question : What image editor to buy/use. IMO there are only two outstanding image editors: Affinity Photo and Pixelmator Pro. I tried about any other image editor and those are out of bounds for me for several reasons. So, which to choose. It is pretty simple. If you need a PhotoShop alternative, then by all means go for Affinity Photo. It is on par on features and plugin support. But keep in mind you are facing a steep learning curve. Ones mastered, it is the uber image app ! If you need a very good and fast image editor doing the basics, you can choose Pixelmator Pro. You learn to use it in minutes and you never get lost.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.6
2 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
02 March 2018
I'm a graphic designer, but not professional one. Nevertheless, I do create posters and other things for my shop on Etsy. For all the stuff I need I use GraphicConverter. I wouldn't call it "basic", but it is the one which is really really very fast and top of the line image editor. It does much more than basics. Despite GUI being not as excessively sleek and smooth as Pixelmator or Affinity(which I hate), GC has tons of features which are easily accessed thru menu, and which produce excellent and fast results. I won't switch to anything. GC is the best ever for what I do.
Like
lens.sniper
lens.sniper
31 May 2019
?
Like
Zx81
10 November 2017
Jumping ship from Lightroom, I have been experementing with a few possible replacements and opened the same Sony Raw file without any adjustment (I know this is tricky, and that every app does a little ajustement of its own, but I did my best ; and this is how they work in real life). Of all the softwares I tried, the best (cleanest, sharpest file) were Capture One and, not far from it but not as clean, On1. Affinity, Pixelmator, Luminar, Acorn did not match the exported files from those two.
I'll next have a look at Iridient, but I would still need a DAM app that could import my LR catalog (And I think Iridient has a LR plugin, but I don'k know if it can "communicate" with other apps)
Like
Version 1.6.6
Gary30
25 September 2017
It a good app until you need to start selecting areas or mask. Then, it seems pretty primitive compared to Photoshop.
Like
Version 1.5.2
peterbreis
29 July 2017
Have been looking for a best App for a large number of product shots which need full color correction, perspective straightening, and deep etching. After looking through all the other Apps, including Photoshop, I thought I'd check Affinity Photo to see what it could do. Boy I am glad I did. This is amazing! I can even correct subtle lens distortion and as I get the hang of AP's interface (it's different - in a good way) I am growing more and more impressed. I really like how you apply all the Layers and Filters live and get to see it all previewed before committing, and there are lots of hints in the Inspector sidebar as to what the options do. This could be the end of Photoshop for me. It's been a long innings.
Like
Version 1.5.2
AnTu
14 July 2017
As good as Photoshop.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Liam-
06 July 2017
One of the best photo editors available. Powerful and easy to use. Must have app.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Ali-Egypt
18 May 2017
Wonderful image editor that equals the now overpriced PS. Thanks to the devs for keeping this low-budget AND making it worth using for pro summers. VERY highly recommended.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.2
Artlover_Chris
30 March 2017
We are a publicity agency that have 8 employees using PhotoShop for over 16 years now. We traveled about any iteration of PS and we do amazing things with it.
Recently we had to look at our budgets because of tight economic reasons. We could easily choose to let go amazing talented people but we first made an exercise how we could keep budget lower at all level without losing integrity and the quality we deliver to our customers.

At some point we got in touch with Affinity Photo. It looked interesting and we settled for two licenses and put two people on it for 2 months to evaluate.
After the evaluation we were very excited about Affinity Photo that we now have chosen to make it available to all our people. They all loving it.

What’s in it for us? Adobe’s high yearly license cost has been lowered to only 1 license now. We are not going to renewal our other PS licenses anymore. That’s a HUGE yearly TCO saving for us. It perfectly matched our strict budget and we do not have to cut on quality for our customers.

Some highlights that our employees love:
- Does the same as PS
- Absolutely better working flow compared to PS. Everyone was very excited about the UI
- Plugin support
- MUCH faster compared to PS on the same hardware
- Smaller memory footprint
- The real-time history is awesome and much better and faster compared to PS
- Stepping up to Affinity Photo from PS is not difficult but needs some time
- It is available for Windows and Mac. Noted: Mac version is faster though. Still the Windows version is faster to PS CC on Windows.
- Unbelievable low price - in fact, we are astounded how low they kept the price. It would even sell masses for a higher price (+$300 would even be cheap).

The only question we have to Affinity, how did you produce such a high quality tool for such a low price?

Affinity Photo is a major contender for being the best image processing tool on planet earth. It is very professional, highly productive and a joy to use.
Like (9)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Castle-Rose
Castle-Rose
06 January 2018
Adobe has turned it's back on everyone but big budget design houses and especially independent designers. It know it and simply doesn't care. FU2 Adobe.
Like
WisdomL0RD
26 March 2017
An incredible Photoshop clone that even surpasses PS in some areas (Layers and Tones for example). It even supports PS plugins too. Incredible!

It is a bit difficult to learn though, but the online video tutorials are great and makes the steep learning curve bearable. Ones you now your way, all other comparable tools are obsolete :).


imo this is the best tool for macOS and Windows. And take a peek at the price ?!? ... $50 is a steal. Actually, let me rephrase that. It is a MUST HAVE BUY for everyone who needs to edit photo's/images.

5stars +1
Very highly recommended !!
Like (3)
Version 1.5.2
SweetP Productions
23 March 2017
such a good app, Ive been using this now for around a year, and never had any issues with it. Theres a couple small things i wish it had like export presets, but only a very minor issue with a super great (priced) app.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.2
Foulger
22 March 2017
Brilliant programme as is Affinity Designer but it would be really great if both apps would have a "Check for Updates" in the menu bar. It takes a great deal of time to hunt around the web site and even then its not easy
Like
Version 1.5.2
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
19 February 2017
Splendid! Really the first Adobe PhotoShop counterpart (PixelMator and Acorn are beautiful (have delightful UI!) and are very useful and thus good to have, but not quite PhotoShop replacements).
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Levelbest
11 January 2017
I want this to be under comment and not a review as it does seem to be a nice product which unfortunately, many will not have access too.

The Affinity Team has a web store to sell their Windows version of Affinity Photo yet they refuse to sell Affinity Photo other than through the Apple App store. I wont use the app store so I am unwilling to try Affinity Photo. That is too bad as it seems promising. I am getting back into photography and I will likely have to reevaluate Lightroom as they are still selling a stand alone version.

The neanderthal thinking on the Affinity team about not allowing direct purchase of their products gives me pause, leaning towards caution about software companies that find that doing things their way is more important than listening to their customer base. I have seen it too many times where an otherwise good product is held too tightly by those too busy congratulating themselves to pay attention to their customer base.

If Affinity photo still has bugs but is basically a good product as many others have said, why should I trust them that they are going to continue to improve the product if they are already refusing customer input? And yes, if they allowed purchase though their web store I would probably still get a license.

I would still be using Pixelmator if they had not cut off existing customers by going app store only. I loved version one of Pixelmator. But then, Pixelmator did the same thing and only sold out of the App store. Now I use Acorn. C’est la vie.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Savo33bravo-The-Liar
29 December 2016
Awesome application with HUGE potential !!!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Old-guy
27 December 2016
Superb image editor.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Visible-Evidence
22 November 2016
This does almost everything. But other reviewers aren’t kidding when they say it has a steep learning curve. This is one you have to throw yourself into manuals and tutorials. It’s so close to being a Photoshop replacement it’s frustrating—You find yourself stumbling over the stuff it can’t do. But it’s a lot of bang for your buck, that’s for sure.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
Polak
30 October 2016
Steep learning curve but I urge everyone that gives this a try to hold on !! Ones you master this tool, you never look back at any other image editor. It is incredible powerful and matches a lot of PhotoShop features. And all at a very fair price tag. Very highly recommended !!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
AlexisDhooge
18 September 2016
Good alternative for Photoshop. Very powerful, though a steep learning curve. Nevertheless very highly recommended when you are use Photoshop and need a cheaper alternative.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Priosantos-Jan
12 September 2016
This and Affinity Photo are the two apps you need for editing image files. If you need simplicity and relatively good editing tools for most needs, you definitely need Pixelmator. If you need full power and all the editing tools you ever need, Affinity Photo is the one to get.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
joker55
29 July 2016
I bought this app about 8 months ago and in most respects is pretty good but I wouldn't ditch Photoshop for it just yet. For all the unpopularity of Adobe and the ridiculous prices they charge I do still find their products to be, on the whole, pretty solid with features that really do make a difference. Affinity Photo is getting there and I do hope they keep on adding features. For the price, if you're a professional, it's a no brainer.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
fiery12
13 June 2016
Affinity Photo is indeed a professional photo editing software, offered for an affordable price. It opens/saves PSD files (with they layers) and clearly it's aimed to replace Photoshop on Mac (and soon on Windows). However, app lacks some features available in Photoshop and PSD support is not always perfect. Personally, I faced some clipping issues with certain psd files. No Anti-aliasing options for text. No support for ASL files (Photoshop layer style). Plugins are still work in progress. But, developers are very responsive (even in weekends) and they constantly fix and add new features.
Like
Version 1.4.2
WetNet
05 March 2016
I've been using Affinity Photo since the Beta series. As it is now it will replace my Adobe Photoshop. The tutorials are VERY helpful and the video series will make you a seasoned user in no time. Goodbye Adobe-rent-an-app. . .and good riddance.
Like (5)
Version 1.4.1
trim262
25 February 2016
Very powerful, like PhotoShop, but cheaper.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.1
Foulger
21 January 2016
I can only applaud the Affinity Team and have put my money where my mouth is and purchased Designer and Photo. I don't use Designer much because I never got into Illustrator but I have already switched from Photoshop. These guys are doing a tremendous job and a ß version of the 3rd member of the family called Publisher will be available later in the year. For those who really want to get off the adobe bandwagon, I would suggest that putting some money in affinity's coffers would be a good way of accelerating things.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.1
Foulger
21 January 2016
I can only applaud the Affinity Team and have put my money where my mouth is and purchased Designer and Photo. I don't use Designer much because I never got into Illustrator but I have already switched from Photoshop. These guys are doing a tremendous job and a ß version of the 3rd member of the family called Publisher will be available later in the year. For those who really want to get off the adobe bandwagon, I would suggest that putting some money in affinity's coffers would be a good way of accelerating things.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
patephotographic
15 December 2015
After using PS CS6 for three years I was about to surrender to Adobe's mandatory "pay for life" CC subscription when I came across this jewel. I tried the Beta, liked it, and continued to watch the development over the past year. I am impressed how responsive they are to user input, and the latest version attests to this app continuing to quickly get better w. time. I like the layout and workflow, being familiar yet faster when compared to PS. Although the default GUI is a bit better than PS, I still experienced some eye strain after a few hours due to the small light gray type on gray background. But then I discovered the "User Interface" adjustments in preferences and now all is good. Another plus is this app isn't bloated w. a lot of graphic arts features -- just solid photo editing. But if you need graphic arts editing, they did the sensible thing by putting all that into another app called Affinity Design. The big question now is will AP do all the things I use PS for? After seeing all the features they have added in just a few months, I am optimistic. So much so, that I just bought v. 1.4 of Affinity Photo.
Like (3)
Version 1.4
StevensPeter
14 December 2015
Pixelmator and Affinity Photo are both awesome image editors. Pixelmator is cheaper but lacks some features like plugin support. Still it fits for a lot of users that only need a simple, fast and stable image editor. Affinity Photo is more expensive and offers more advanced features. The best way to know which you need is to try both for free first. :)
Like (2)
Version 1.4
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
10 December 2015
This is an excellent program for the price. However, if you are used to the Adobe way of doing things, there will be a learning curve here. Not that it's hard to adapt to, but it is different. You will need to develop a new workflow. If you are looking for an alternative to Adobe Photoshop and/or LIghtroom, this is a good place to start. If you visit the developer's web site, rather than the App Store, you can download a trial version and give it a test drive. I recommend doing so. Even though the price is affordable by almost any standard, you will want to take some time to decide if you like the way Affinity Photo works before paying for it. If you have little experience editing images, Affinity Photo may be a challenge. Knowing you way around Photoshop will give you a frame of reference to work from and make it easier to figure out what AP is doing. Unlike Lightroom and Adobe Camera RAW, which use metadata in sidecar files to record edits, Affinity Photo uses Layers. It preserves the original image while using layers to apply edits and effects. Once you learn how to use it, this will be a powerful approach. You can apply adjustments and effects to individual layers which are themselves adjustments and effects. I've only played with the demo for a little while so I can't claim to have much expertixse, but I can imagine the possibilities.
Like (8)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
siamlotus
siamlotus
12 December 2015
Good review.
Like (1)
rw49
10 December 2015
Tried Photoshop but found it too complicated. This program has wonderful support and is not too complicated. What's more the extensions work with Photo. Love everything about it. Thank you Serif
Like (1)
Version 1.4
fukurokujo
06 November 2015
Coming from Photoshop, this is one of the worst competitor apps that I've encountered, many tools don't work in a usable way and it also cannot load that many photoshop plugins (none for me). Its absolutely awful now, would have been nice to get rid of some of adobe's offerings
Like (1)
Version 1.3.5
salvatorereda6717
19 October 2015
una delle migliori applicazioni del suo genere. quasi a livello di photoshop.
consente un miglioramento automatico delle foto ad un livello veramente ottimo.
prezzo eccezionalmente basso per quello che offre
Like
Version 1.3.5
Tsehov
11 October 2015
This is just great image editing app, especially for the price 49€. I really hope that Serif company would continue developing this program, since I believe it is not far from Adobe's Photosop. Only a couple of things I would like to be there: for instance macros (or 'actions' as Adobe names them. But anyway, this is certainly worth every penny they ask for it.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.5
Tom-Fulery
23 August 2015
I used to use Photoshop, but when Adobe went to a very expensive subscription only model (meaning you can only RENT it by the month now) I switched to GIMP, the free open-source Ps rival. It's steep learning curve is similar to Photoshop's & it does things Photoshop doesn't. And the fact that it's completely free makes GIMP an extremely attractive alternative to Ps. For a while I experimented with Acorn & Pixelmator, but they're both amateur imaging apps with limited capabilities. Now, however, there's Affinity Photo, which is not only a powerful professional tool, it's WAY simpler to use than either Ps or GIMP. It does most of what Ps does & does it faster, easier & at a small fraction of the cost. And there's no subscription. You buy it; you own it. Plus, it works in tandem with Affinity Designer, the new Mac vector drawing app that fills the huge hole left after Adobe bought & killed off Macromedia FreeHand. Affinity Designer blows away every other Mac drawing app on the market (except for Illustrator, Adobe's spendy subscription-only vector drawing bloatware). It isn't quite an Illustrator-killer yet, but it's getting there. Both apps (from British software company Serif) work seamlessly together to produce truly professional images. At the $49 price for each, they're a steal.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.5
Tom-Fulery
23 August 2015
I used to use Photoshop, but when Adobe went to a very expensive subscription only model (meaning you can only RENT it by the month now) I switched to GIMP, the free open-source Ps rival. It's steep learning curve is similar to Photoshop's & it does things Photoshop doesn't. And the fact that it's completely free makes GIMP an extremely attractive alternative to Ps. For a while I experimented with Acorn & Pixelmator, but they're both amateur imaging apps with limited capabilities. Now, however, there's Affinity Photo, which is not only a powerful professional tool, it's WAY simpler to use than either Ps or GIMP. It does most of what Ps does & does it faster, easier & at a small fraction of the cost. And there's no subscription. You buy it; you own it. Plus, it works in tandem with Affinity Designer, the new Mac vector drawing app that fills the huge hole left after Adobe bought & killed off Macromedia FreeHand. Affinity Designer blows away every other Mac drawing app on the market (except for Illustrator, Adobe's spendy subscription-only vector drawing bloatware). It isn't quite an Illustrator-killer yet, but it's getting there. Both apps (from British software company Serif) work seamlessly together to produce truly professional images. At the $49 price for each, they're a steal.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.5
D9
09 August 2015
FYI, this version does NOT like El Capitan beta OS (v4). Of course, this is to be expected when using a beta OS, but just thought I'd let people know that Affinity Photo is a bit unstable in 10.11. (This includes Affinity Designer too.)
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
D9
D9
20 August 2015
UPDATE: The newest versions of Affinity Photo and Designer (1.3.5) work now with the El Capitan public beta. This could also possibly be due to the 5th beta of Capitan which came out at the same time.

Bottom line, both apps are working perfectly now!
Like
Shallowp
08 August 2015
Using Pixelmator for a very long time now. Someone pushed me to try out Affinity Photo as an alternative so I did.

The GUI looks amazing cool, as Pixelmator but with a lot more options, features, buttons, windows, ... I immediately got the feeling this is a really powerful app for editing images/photos.
And that is where it failed for me. It was just too complex compared to Pixelmator. I struggled with a lot of things like the Repair tool. You first need to set a reference point using a key combination and after this it still didn't produced good results. I probably am using it the wrong way but it shows the difficulty and steep learning curve needed to get into Affinity Photo.
It does more resemble to PhotoShop and that cannot be a bad thing if you know how to use such tools.

In short:
If you need quick and easy ways to edit images, Pixelmator is for you. If you need very powerful editing, you need Affinity Photo.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Jason-Milles-76
29 July 2015
Awesome alternative for Pixelmator and of course PhotoShop. Very powerful but has a steep learning curve, same as PhotoShop. If you have time to learn this, you have a the best image editor for OS X at a very low price.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Gary-box
20 July 2015
Great photo editor. A bit complex to use compared to Pixelmator but it is very powerful indeed. Pity you cannot testdrive it first.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
Derekcurrie
16 July 2015
Both Affinity Photo & Affinity Designer are on sale at the Apple Mac App Store until July 23rd: $39.99
Like
Version 1.3.1
Xenos
12 July 2015
This guy "nazeema aslam"

does what nobody in 20 years has done here: spamming a whole thread and making it almost unreadable because it gets divided.

Please MacUpdate, could you delete these countless iterations of identic spam posts and make sure such won't happen in the future ?
Like (5)
Version 1.3.1
Pik80
10 July 2015
I am a big fan of Serif’s drawing app Affinity Designer so I was very excited to see a new app in this suite that is very tightly integrated. From the time I have spent playing with it there are a number of things I like more then Photoshop. Raw photography is more logically placed inside the app rather then from a plugin which allows you to easily switch back and forth between raw editing tools and the other tools. There is a separate persona for editing web graphics which is very nice since Adobe now buries all the web tools in difficult to find places. I liked how Adobe used to have separate apps for that kind of work but Affinity now does that except web tools are now split off in a section within the same app. Nice solution. The masking tools work differently then in PS and allow for some interesting possibilities in how to hide certain parts of an image. Affinity programs now share the same file so the days of making complex file structures in the Finder may be over. One file for illustration, photo manipulation, and eventually page layout (next year for the page layout.) This should be very helpful once Affinity moves to iPad that has a simpler file structure. The main short comings of the product to me is that it doesn’t have any way to easily batch edit photos or catalog. The way that I do most of my photography these days is do a photoshoot of similarly shot photos, edit one of the photos and then apply those changes to all the others. This is a huge time saver over editing one photo at a time. Until Affinity Photo has those features I don’t see using it as my main editing program. The developers have talked about looking at adding some of those features. Overall great version one software. Adobe will probably become the Quark XPress of graphics software where they were once dominate but better options came along and eventually overthrew them. Remember InDesign use to have far fewer users then Quark at one point. I personally believe the Affinity suite can go after Adobe even quicker then the time it took InDesign to become dominate. ID 1.0 was very immature but Affinity 1.3 is quite good from the start. I have to also mention this since it is brought up on social media everyday. I am glad Affinity is currently focusing on the Mac. IMO it is better on the Mac then it would be on any other platform. iPad - interesting new tool but still not as good for creating content as it is for viewing content. Windows 7 - Decent OS for it’s time yet old. Windows 8 - Do I even need to explain this? Windows 10 - Might be ok but won’t have major bugs worked out for another year like all the other versions of Windows. After surveying the other options Yosemite is the best OS at the moment. Better to not waste valuable development time on these other platforms.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1
Markoh
10 July 2015
The latest version is actually 1.3.4 http://picload.org/image/iirwolr/bildschirmfoto2015-07-10um19.0.png
Like
Version 1.3.1
2 answer(s)
nazeema-aslam
nazeema-aslam
12 July 2015

please any one here have this app please give me it for free please
Like
4dvisual
4dvisual
17 February 2016
Nazeema, Why the hell can't you purchase it like the rest of us? Asking for a free hand out is like begging and ain't nobody got time for that.
Like
Mr-Mike
10 July 2015
Affinity Photo isn't just a replacement for Photoshop, it's an evolution of digital image editing. Got it yesterday (July 9th) and just played around with it and before I knew it, the entire afternoon was gone. It's powerful and easy to use. For an initial release, it's really smooth and shows the extended beta program really works.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
nazeema-aslam
nazeema-aslam
12 July 2015
please any one here have this app please give me it for free please
Like