Back to EverWeb page
EverWeb free download for Mac

EverWeb Reviews

3.0.0
12 September 2019

Drag-and-drop website builder.

swamis
04 February 2015

Most helpful

I started designing my 47 page website a couple of months ago using Everweb. I found Everweb to be the easiest, most logical website builder for Macs on the market. I started off with a blank page and created the entire site without a template. I recommended it to a friend that found it easy to work with, as well. Not only was the site easy to build, the support team is always quick to respond with answers to my questions. I highly recommend Everweb to anyone interested in designing a website.
Like (7)
Version 1.7.3

Read 47 EverWeb User Reviews

Rate this app:

member-5
23 August 2019
I have used Everweb for years now, and have been impressed with its features and versioning. Numerous upgrades to several editions exist, and you don't need to always go with the latest edition only, such as with apps from the Apple Mac Store. What's particularly great is the scalability. As a beginner, you start out with one site of only a few pages, and have your website published and running on the first day. The templates make it super easy to not only create the pages, but they instantly look great, aesthetic, and professional! As a web programmer, you easily add extensions, by adding and embedding your own HTML and more industry standards, such as php, including Dynamic HTML for variable content, such as dynamic contents tables. Everweb is a great allrounder and finalizer tool, easy for beginners, and extensible for web programmers. Start your engine and take off with your own website!
Like (1)
Version 2.9.1
chrisc
11 March 2019
I'm a refugee from the now abandonware Sandvox, researching likely replacements. The three most likely candidates appear to be EverWeb, Sparkle, and blocs. I read through all the comments posted here and I was struck by the diversity of opinion. Clearly, a lot of people love EverWeb, but there are some strikingly nasty reviews. I suspect that those nasty reviews come from two sources. The first is the angry customer. Some people get angry over the oddest things, and then they post "revenge reviews" that attack the product for every conceivable sin. Some angry customers are so mean-spirited that they post multiple nasty reviews using sock puppets. These are most readily identified by the repetition of a single uncommon statement. On this page, the people claiming that the positive reviews are posted by the developer are probably just one person using sock puppets. Another common source of dissatisfaction is the techie-geek reaction to a product for civilians. EverWeb is obviously a product for nonprofessionals. It has less power than, say, Adobe Dreamweaver, but lacks the steep learning curve. These techie-geeks are the same people who insisted that MS-DOS was superior to GUI user interfaces. I have never understood why these people have to pee all over products for nonprofessionals. I've been programming for fifty years now, and I have forgotten more technical information than these kids know. I respect the tough trade-offs that a developer must make in juggling accessibility against power. Sadly, beginners accord far too much credence to professionals, and end up struggling with the most gawd-awfully inappropriate applications. That's how Windows ended up with a bigger user base than Mac. We're seeing the same thing going on here: professionals demeaning products meant for nonprofessionals. As an old pro with a lot more experience than those young pros, I urge readers to ignore the mud hurled by the young pros; they're just trying to show off how smart they are. If you're a non-professional, then you want to stay away from the professional products. RapidWeaver is definitely NOT for non-professionals; I messed with it for a few years and then decided that I didn't have enough time in my life to dedicate myself to becoming a RapidWeaver expert. Yes, I've been using HTML and CSS for many years, but learning those languages is really only worthwhile if you use them at least once a week. EverWeb appears to be the entry-level website builder. Lord knows we need one, and I worry when I see comments from the developer promising to add new features upon customer request. This is the path to software perdition. Every new design as a clear underlying vision reflected in its architecture. It's clean and simple. But then the developer starts getting requests from users and makes the fatal mistake of complying with those requests. The problem is, once you've put in a new feature, you can never remove it without provoking a storm of protest. So be very, very careful about the features you add! The worst mistake is to toss in some new feature with a simple design hack. The new feature doesn't align nicely with the original vision of the software, but it isn't too hard to bolt on to the existing framework, so what the hell-- the developer bolts it on. It's like sticking some external pipes onto a jet engine to give it a new feature. Sure, it works, but it ruins the aerodynamics of the engine. Over the decades I have seen so much software ruined by creeping featuritis. The history of MacWrite evolving into Mac Pages is a beautiful example. Sure, MacWrite needed to evolve, but along the way it picked up too many features and Mac Pages is now something of a design mess. Anyway, Paul, I urge you to go back to square one, and begin every design meeting with an opening prayer: "Remember, it's ENTRY-LEVEL!!!!" Don't add features one by one; compile feature requests and, when the pile is big enough, sit down with the design team and work out a complete redesign that conforms to the core competitive advantage ("ENTRY LEVEL!!!") and fits everything together. Evaluate every feature request in terms of what game designers call the "color to dirt ratio" -- the amount of power the feature adds compared to additional steepness of the learning curve. I conclude this lengthy screed with an appropriately fogey-ish "Harrumph!"
Like (4)
Version 2.9.1
3 answer(s)
Rage Software
Rage Software
12 March 2019
Hi Chris,

Thank you for the detailed feedback and advice. You are absolutely correct in your analysis. It is very difficult to balance features vs ease of use.

One way we have overcome this is by offering EverWeb Widgets (or add-ons) that add functionality to the software without bloating it. Users can choose which Widgets to install and use.

EverWeb now has hundreds of add-ons, many free, that can be installed, removed and organized easily under the Widgets tab.

Nevertheless, your review is correct and we must balance all feedback with the target user of EverWeb.

We work very hard to offer the right features, video and text tutorials, 24/7 customer support etc...

Thank you again for your feedback and your analysis.

Paul @ EverWeb
Like (2)
chrisc
chrisc
12 March 2019
I'm definitely encouraged by the responsiveness you have demonstrated here and elsewhere and the design philosophy you espouse. One of the most important "features" of any software is the company behind it.
Like (2)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
30 June 2019
GREAT review, Crisc, no way!
I was moved to the tears when I read your crystal-clear opinion about what happened with MacWrite (as full-time Mac-only user by 1984...) and wasn't Excel 1.0.3 not the acmé of Excel, once linked the sheets? Wasn't Apple Works not THE TOP for 'the rest of us'? And what happened to iWeb? God only knows... :-(
I regret to haven't got your point when you state that:
"That's how Windows ended up with a bigger user base than Mac"
Now back to the projecting philosophy and my 'old man opinion' about it: when a product works, DON'T TOUCH IT besides you have to correct a mistake! IF you have some new concepts in mind to implement, then START A NEW PROJECT from scratch, COMPLETELY rethought, without any 'copy-paste': you will end up with a slimmer, quicker, simpler, lighter and more powerful 'jet engine'! DON'T LOOK BACK: FLY!!! What you will invent will come out harmonically, coherent, like by instinct!
Like
Michaelsill
05 March 2019
Really leaves one cold in terms of creativity. I also hate having to rent software and face constant upgrade charges.
Like
Version 2.9
2 answer(s)
Rage Software
Rage Software
06 March 2019
HI Michaelsill,

Thank you for your feedback.

"Really leaves one cold in terms of creativity. "

Can you explain further? EverWeb lets you completely design your website without ANY limitations at all in terms of where you place objects on the page. You are free to design a page however you like or use one of our close to 200 free templates.

" I also hate having to rent software and face constant upgrade charges. "

EverWeb isn't rented. When you purchase it, you own it for life. You get one year of free upgrades and support along with your purchase but you never lose access to the versions you paid for.

We release updates constantly with new features and enhancements. You can decide if the features are worth the upgrade price or not and continue using the version you purchased forever.

The software is not "rented"

I hope this helps, and please let me know if you have additional feedback!

Thanks,
Paul @ EverWeb
Like (2)
as-27
as-27
05 May 2019
I am not sure why you're trying to disparage this product when what you say isn't even true. If you're going to leave reviews, be as objective as possible.
Like
SaviersW4309
25 February 2019
The website states 'The leading website builder for macOS'. Really? What an arrogance of the developer! Any proof of this bold statement? Anyhow, this tool has a terrible UI design that reacts very slowly and works sluggish in general. It looks like an 10 year old OSX app too.

Also you can only create simple websites. It's extremely limited. For example decent dynamic websites are out of the question for sure. I'm pretty sure a 'leading website builder' would do much more and way better. Better try tools like Blocs or Rapidweaver.

On a side note: most reviews here are fake and written by de dev himself. Just see the same pattern and writing style.

EDIT: just found out - this app is coded in basic. Slow and usually used by 'developers' who can't really code.
Nuf said .. avoid.
Like
Version 2.9
2 answer(s)
Rage Software
Rage Software
03 March 2019
Hi,.

I am sorry for the issues you experienced with EverWeb

EverWeb can be used to design any kind of website including blogs, eCommerce stores or anything else that you would like.

We will even be releasing database driven, dynamic widgets and add-on soon..

We use EverWeb everyday to create our own website and many others without any usability issues. Since EverWeb has an extensive add-on community, if you use many different add-on son a single page it may affect performance somewhat just as it does with other development tools like WordPress. There are hundreds of add-ons available for EverWeb.

Blocs and RapidWeaver are not the same as EverWeb in that they don't provide full design freedom, completely integrated one-click publishing without server setup or FTP details, and depending on the software they don't provide built in blogging or ecommerce without additional add-ons (or even at all).

EverWeb is the only solution for Mac that provides complete design freedom, blogging, e-commerce, hundreds of third party add-ons, integrated website builder with a hosting platform, responsive website design, hundreds of free website templates, and everything you need to design, build and publish your website online.

Again, I am sorry to hear about your negative experience and if you have any specific suggestions, we are always open to feedback.

As for the reviews here, we ask our users to review EverWeb if they have a good experience with it to let others know.

We are a small team working really hard to create a really easy to use, drag and drop website builder that we constantly improve and add features to.

Also EverWeb isn't coded in "Basic".

Thank you,
The EverWeb Team

Like (1)
as-27
as-27
05 May 2019
C'mon a lot of companies say this and it may not be technically true. It's not branded as a tool for developers so who cares? Why are you being such a hater? Most reviews are fake? What evidence can you provide that this statement is true?
Like (1)
georgemurphy1114
19 November 2018
Excellent software, incredible support team.
Like (3)
Version 2.8
K. Castillo
16 October 2018
Simple. Looks good. Friendly developers and support. Keep it up!
Like (4)
Version 2.7.1
aviboz04
16 October 2018
The best app I've ever used. 5/5
Like (3)
Version 2.7.1
skessler41
27 August 2018
Horrific software will not even upload update instead of doing the whole site this is more than a bug. This is just bad coding you should be ashamed of yourself for charging so much for it.blocs is way better alternative
Like (1)
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
22 September 2018
Hi,

I am sorry to hear about the issue you had with the software.

However, the entire website is NOT uploaded every time you make an update.

Unless you change a master page (which is used by all pages on your site), or you update the navigation bar (add a page to the navigation bar, remove a page that was in the navigation bar, or edit the navigation bar text) will the whole site be published again because these changes cause a change on all pages.

If you experience this in other ways, please let us know. But we have been using EverWeb for a long time and only changes are published for us, unless we do one of the above.
Like
cigarmike1
02 April 2018
I’ve been using Everweb since it was first introduced and have enjoyed and been thoroughly impressed with their continuous software enhancements. The intuitive and innovative approach Everweb uses has allowed me to create professional and successful websites for a growing number of clients. The convenience of being able to register domains, host my websites AND create websites all in one place has been fantastic. The icing on the cake however, is their extraordinary 24/7 customer support. Their support team is knowledgeable, efficient and friendly. I have little true technical expertise and they solve everything I can throw at them. I can honestly say there is no company I’ve come across anywhere or in any business that does customer service and support better. Everweb has exceeded all my expectations since the beginning and I would recommend them with the highest regard. ~ Mike Pitkow, Pitkow Associates, Perkasie, PA, April, 2018
Like (7)
Version 2.7
tindge2
16 March 2018
A great, intuitive and easy to use piece of software. Has been invaluable for someone who doesn’t want to spend the time coding a website, but does want to have the final say on it’s visual design and interface. Very friendly and helpful staff at Everweb HQ too!
Like (4)
Version 2.7
rob-144
05 March 2018
I find Everweb to be perfect for my needs as an iWeb replacement. The support from Paul and his crew is the best I have ever experienced with a software product.. They recently helped me move my hosting from GoDaddy to their server and the process went without a hitch and i saved a bunch of money to boot.
Like (4)
Version 2.5
Teksestro
24 January 2018
It's simple, "iWeb-like" interface will appeal to many home users, so I'll give it one star for that, but buyer beware: this program does NOT build responsive websites. Rather, it builds separate versions of your site - one for desktop, one for mobile - which is not recommended practice (and some search engines will penalise your site ranking because of it). Although nice layouts can be achieved with the simple tools provided, the inability to produce proper fluid, responsive layouts means this is software that should really be avoided. There are better alternatives, such as Sparkle or Blocs, that will provide you with more layout options, and produce sites that are modern and responsive - and NOT penalised by search engines...
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
16 November 2018
Please note that EverWeb 2.8 does create Responsive Websites now.

Also, a dedicated mobile website will NEVER be penalized by search engines. It is actually recommended to have a dedicated mobile website that is made specifically for mobile devices so that it loads faster.

Page Load Speed is a very important factor for search engines so when you create a dedicated mobile page you can ensure you have smaller images and less content so that the page loads as fast as possible for mobile users.

A benefit of Responsive Websites is that you can build just one page that works everywhere, but certainly a dedicated mobile site would NEVER be penalized by search engines.
Like (2)
sasja
20 January 2018
Great!!! I have built 5 sites with Everweb: one for my artwork, one for my gallery, one for my offline- and my online paintingschool and one for my boyfriend, who is a Stand Up Comedian. They look great!. Everweb is such a customer friendly program! No programming knowledge needed and just plain FUN to use! With Everweb I'm able to build a website in a day: perfect!
Like (3)
Version 2.5
lynnmorris
21 December 2017
Excellent easy to use software - I moved our Company website to Everweb a few years ago when Apple stopped supporting iWeb. I have nothing but praise for both the Software & Support! The software is always compatible & ready for Mac OS Updates. Support is fast & efficient & second to none. They have just spent ages helping me to resolve an issue with ftp which was really not their problem (as Everweb was working fine) but with the Hosting I have had to use for the client. Wayne in Support was tireless in helping me solve this issue. I will be asking my client to move his Domains & Hosting to Everweb in the new year.
Like (3)
Version 2.5
Paul-Ragesw
10 October 2017
This is Paul, the developer of EverWeb. EverWeb 2.5 is released and I just wanted to thank MacUpdate users for trying it. We worked really hard on it and there's more to come. I am looking forward to your feedback on this latest update. I read all feedback and would love to hear more from MacUpdate users! Thanks! Paul EverWeb Developer
Like (2)
Version 2.5
sierrafoxpro
17 September 2017
Everweb has been great. The customer service as well as the app. I used to use iWeb, Golive Cyber studio, and a few others. Since none of those apps exist, I was looking for a replacement. Everweb is the betterment of iWeb with much much more. I can build a great site and have it up quickly. Perfect for Novice to Expert... Great app!
Like (3)
Version 2.4
swtsassyscorp
22 August 2017
I'm an artist who uses several mediums, so having creative control of the impression I make with my website/image is paramount. Many so-called pros have suggested they can give me a “professional look”. Translate that: a cookie-cutter result! And that has little value to me since my audience is not big corporations who can't possibly think out of the box. But the beauty of this software is that if you need a tailored look — or anything else — all YOU have to do is create it. Simple. Flexible. Intuitive. I tried several, but when I found EverWeb, I could have danced in the street! It gives me creative possibilities with my Mac that don't exist elsewhere, and it follows the "Mac/Apple" personality of user-friendly. I cannot express what that means in benefits. If you're a Mac/Apple person, this is the best choice for developing and maintaining your own creative website — no matter the style. And you'll save on aspirin for those stress headaches! P.S. To all you cynics out there ... I am NOT a developer. My review is genuine.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
hondacbrlover
21 July 2017
Too simplistic with bad created html code. Has a lot of problems with making a good looking site for desktop and or mobile devices. The asking price is way to high. I would consider Rapidweaver or Blocs instead. Both create fantastic looking sites with some mouse clicks and both have a great community to share things. EverWeb = NeverUse for me.
Like (2)
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
27 July 2017
Hi,

Sorry to hear about your experiences with EverWeb.

I am the developer of EverWeb and I wanted to get some additional feedback from you.

EverWeb lets you design websites however you like with cool effects, animations, shapes, text and more. There is literally no restrictions on how you design your websites.

The HTML/CSS code is highly, optimized and compressed so that to humans it may not look right, but to web browsers it loads super fast. Your visitors won't be looking at your code so we focused on making it fast for machines, not readable for humans.

EverWeb also has. great community of over 5000 users actively using our discussions forums, free and paid widgets, themes and more;
https://billing.ragesw.com/forum.php

I'd really like to hear your specific feedback so please feel to leave it here, or email our 24/7 customer support.

We look forward to improving EverWeb for you and all users and believe it is the best website builder currently available for Mac users.
Like (1)
pcampbell2010
24 March 2017
I'm a freelance website designer and have tested many drag and drop tools. EverWeb creates beautiful websites, I find the user interface very pleasant to work with. This may not be the most powerful tool but for this price, you get good support and good features. Well worth the money.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.1
jerry-turi
16 February 2017
Does this app support TLS 1.2? I'm having trouble connecting and have tested a few web designer apps already, they all fail.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
2 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
19 February 2017
HI Jerry,

Do you mean using the built in FTP Publishing?

Yes it does. You just have to select the secure FTP option under File->Edit Publishing Settings.

If you continue to have problems, please feel free to contact us and we can help you further. Be sure to include any error messages you get: http://www.everwebapp.com/support/
Like (2)
jerry-turi
jerry-turi
11 March 2017
Thanks Paul. I got it working. My bad, firewall problems.
Like
jan_de_smet
28 January 2017
This is an awful attempt for creating a website creation tool. The gui is sluggish, old OSX stylish, limited creating tools. It's probably okay-ish for very simplistic websites though. But for $80 I do expect a pro level website builder app. If you compare Everweb to Blocs or RapidWeaver, it is clear this isn't a good app at that price rate.
Approx $5 would be a correct price. That is, if you need a simple tool to create basic websites.

Anyhow, if you are planning to pay a lot, you really should try Blocs or RapidWeaver. That's common sense.

EDIT: Some reviewers claim the developer is writing 5 star reviews. Actually, I do think this is the case too. It is very hard to believe this limited tool is receiving 5 star reviews. It is a shameless attempt to cheat.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
02 February 2017
Hi Jan,

I am the developer of EverWeb.

I am very sorry to hear you had a bad experience with EverWeb.

I am surprised to hear you say that it is limited. With EverWeb you are free to create any kind of website you like, with built in editing tools, complete design freedom, custom code insertion (and included widgets/addons), you can create ANY kind of website.

I would love to hear what features you feel are missing from EverWeb.

There are thousands of very happy EverWeb users as you can see from our online discussion forum. But I would really like to hear some specific things you feel are missing from EverWeb so I can clarify any misunderstandings.
Like (1)
robert-79
18 January 2017
I tried so many different website builders, while I am sure that the limitations I found were in my understanding of how those builders worked, I gave up and paid someone to build a site for me, site looked great only I was somehow tied to a particular hosting company despite saying very clearly I wanted the freedom to take my site elsewhere, but it work ok and so years later when I did have problems with the hosts I decided I would try again to build my site anew. I used Mac and windows computers but had never thought of using mac only piece of software, but having gone through so many windows or web based programs and not liking any while trying to recreate or build from scratch a new site on a alternate address, I decided maybe a mac based one would be ok. I downloaded 5 or 6 trials including Everweb, I got fairly quick and good results from a couple but settled on Everweb as the one as i found its use the easiest. The only downside was only being able to edit the site on a iMac or MacBook, when on hols or away from home I had to always take my MacBook, previously I just log into the web based program on any computer to amend, but its now a couple of years with Everweb and I really would not go back. I'm not a professional, but I have found Everweb and the add-on or additional complementary programs you can use with it have covered all my needs in a friendly and easy to use way. a couple of times I can across a minor annoyance, but found it disappeared in the next update. anyway Everweb works for me :-)
Like (7)
Version 2.0
vladimir
14 November 2016
This is by far the easiest website builder I have ever tried. I really want to thank the developers for the freedom they give with their interface. the best though is customer support. you can call them on the phone and they will stay with you as long as it takes to fix the problem when you do have issues. I rarely leave reviews but this really just deserves a good word. And now they released 2.0 with BLogging! :) Everyone was waiting so much for it, and there you have it. Thank you!
Like (4)
Version 2.0
capitalJai
04 November 2016
I am very happy with my purchase of EverWeb. I have used it to create about 10 different websites. Of all the web site design tools I tried, EverWeb was for me, the best one. I liked the included templates but that I could also actually design my site how I wanted it to be without being restricted by limitations of built in templates. My questions to support have always been answered quickly and I have been provided with proper responses. I would definitely recommend EverWeb to anyone who doesn't have a lot of technical or design skills. It is a great way to create a web site.
Like (4)
Version 1.9.6
Staps Fanny
06 October 2016
This is an overpriced, very limited app for creating websites. In fact, it does only allows you to create simplistic, static, unprofessional and uncool sites. Apps like Rapidweaver and Blocs can do so much more and always creates professional looking websites without entering any code. I would spend no time on this utterly low end web creating tool and try/buy Rapidweaver or Blocs instead. Don’t let you convince the 5 star reviews here. The probability they were written by the devs themselves is about 9 out 10.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.6
4 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
14 November 2016
@Staps Fanny: I am very sorry feel this way about EverWeb. We work really hard to create a professional website builder that gives Mac users complete freedom in their design.

I think our own website at http://www.everwebapp.com is a great example of what can be done with EverWeb, not to mention the thousands of other amazing websites our fantastic users have created.

EverWeb can of course design a website however you like, the limitation is just your imagination and no coding is required.

I hope you will give EverWeb more of a chance and if you have any specific feedback to make EverWeb, please let us know. We are here 24/7 by phone or email to discuss with you and any other user.
Like (1)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
15 November 2016
@Staps - How about providing examples of RW or Blocs that are not simplistic, static, unprofessional or uncool, then tell us why EW can't do the same things? Uncool websites? What are you smoking? EW can and does quite well in producing muted professional sites as well as jazzy "cool" hipster sites with flashing lights, scrolling banners, peripatetic dancing graphics. You define the cool and it will do it. I personally find RW too cluttered and uneven, and Blocs is another story.

@ Paul at Rage: Illegitimi non carborundum. You guys have done a fantastic job. I'm looking forward to V2.0.
Like (4)
Zx81
Zx81
15 November 2016
I had a look at these 5 stars reviews and the "history" of the contributors. I have to agree with Staps Fanny. They sure look suspicious : no other review or comment, 5 stars for apps by the same dev., no download, no recent visit.
One of them writes "I rarely leave reviews" ; well, this is so true! He only reviewed EverWeb!
EverWeb is not the only app suffering from what I believe to be an abusive practice and I am sure MU is aware of this. I hope this site is willing to remain a reference for Mac users.
Like (3)
sasja
sasja
20 January 2018
Well I'm not a dev... and I gave 5 stars. Works like a DREAM for me.
Like
Superoxy
15 August 2016
I was using IWEB but got frustrated with it not running properly and i had to upload and then login to CPANEL to move files. The buttons I made looked flat but in Everweb they have a 3D look and the colour is much nicer. Upload was a dream and I don't need to login to CPANEL to change anything. Its a wonderful app and when my hosting finishes I will host with Everweb too...
Like (2)
Version 1.9.6
Baccaroeja
04 July 2016
Most 'reviews' here are very suspicious and maybe we written by the devs. EverWeb is an aweful web designer tool. Even for free it lacks decent tools.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.6
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
14 August 2016
We work very hard to create an amazing web site builder. EverWeb is the easiest and best website builder for Mac OS and we are always making it better.

We are always opened to feedback on how we can make it better. But please don't make baseless accusation about us. All reviews are written by our users. You are welcome to contact MacUpdate to confirm IP addresses or look at reviewer history.

If you have any constructive feedback we are happy to hear it. You can email us, call us, or post here.
Like (2)
basithd
08 December 2015
I'm the webmaster for several websites. They contain well over 400 pages. All have been created very easily with EverWeb. It's a very easy wysiwyg website developer that far away xceeds anything I was able to create using iWeb or several other website development applications I've used over the years. In addition the online help I receive is unsurpassed. I've never had to wait very long for an answer to a question or suggestions for doing things on my websites. The answers I receive are never copied from a prepared script as is so common these days. Each answer is individually written to address my specific question or issue. In today's world that's priceless. The customer service reps stay with me until a solution is found. The emails have been so helpful I 've never had to go to the next level and call their support line. I'm also pleased and amazed at the frequent upgrades. This is a company that actually listens and acts accordingly. The upgrades not only fix issues users have reported they also include some added features that can be used on my websites. They have even included changes that I have suggested and requested.
Like (6)
Version 1.9
3 answer(s)
jockm2
jockm2
01 April 2016
About 2 years ago I purchased EverWeb in the hopes that it would allow me to recreate some of my iWeb sites. I loved iVeb, it made great looking sites, was closely integrated with iPhoto and was a dream to use.

I worked with EverWEb for about 3 months trying my best to get it to do what I wanted it to do. In the end I gave up, and requested a refund which was given without questions.

Now its 2 years later, I have been using Squarespace and Wordpress and not completely satisfied with either of them. I am ready to try EverWeb again, if the bugs I found in 2014 have been removed and substantial progress has been made in its development.
Like (1)
basithd
basithd
01 April 2016
Hello John,
I'm still using EverWeb with great success. What has been MOST helpful is the very fast customer service when I have an issue. That alone is worth the price of a yearly subscription to the updates and technical support.

I've asked for features to be added and within several weeks I got a special update with the feature added. The people at the other end truly care about their product and listen to their customers. I don't get that kind of with any other program or app.

EverWeb continues to get better. New features and fixes come very often. I open the program and I get a notification of the update and what's been changed. I can decide to download the new version or continue using the one I have. If I choose to upgrade there is no need like with many products to go to Apple's App Store, it happens quickly as soon as I click the button. The updates are very quick and I can get started working on my website almost immediately.

Does EverWeb still have some flaws and make me frustrated at times? Yes, but what app or program doesn't? I've been working with computers since the old TRS80, Apple ][ and Commodore PET days and have yet to find a perfect piece of software. At least with EverWeb there is someone who will quickly try to answer my questions, offer help and even fix the software problem.

Yes, there are some who say that people should learn to do our own code. I don't have the time or inclination to do so. Oh, I used to be able to do all that but everyting I learned to program a computer something new and better came along and I had to learn it to keep up. Today the changes are coming even faster than they did back then. I simply don't have the time to keep up especially when others can create code much be than I ever could on my own.

For people like me EverWeb is an excellent choice. It's were easy to use and with the extra witgets that are available there is very little that EverWeb can't do. And, the developers aren't standing still. They are constantly adding new and better features to EverWeb.
Like (2)
Adwade
Adwade
14 September 2016
Ref: "...The answers I receive are never copied from a prepared script as is so common these days. Each answer is individually written to address my specific question or issue. In today's world that's priceless."

I just wanted to chime in and say that your comment caused me to purchase the EverWeb application. Thanxx fora great review!
Like
Mikael-B
03 June 2015
The problem with software like this is that, if you already do happen to know how to code properly, the bells and whistles — supposed to be the main attraction I guess —  just gets in the way and takes much longer time than just doing it.. Few, if any, developers have mastered to balance ease of use with depth.

While it does takes some determination learning to design in the browser with CSS and proper mark up (HTML) it is very attainable if you assert yourself and renders much better results than you ever will get from build-sites-without-knowing-how-to -code applications, like this one.
Like
Version 1.7.5
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
06 June 2015
Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate all input, especially in a place we can respond.

I think you bring up some valid points.

However, you should also consider that creating websites these days require much more than knowing just CSS/HTML. Javascript and jQuery are now an integral part in developing websites. Browsers have different implementations of CSS and HTML and knowing the work arounds becomes very tedious and time consuming. Standards to change often and without notice.

Compatibility with all web browsers/devices is a very difficult goal to achieve.

Optimizing images and code can be tedious which EverWeb does and is going to do even better in version 1.8 (and even more so in 1.9).

EverWeb is geared for the person who doesn't want to bother with that. Business owners, organizations, hobbyists, who want to focus on what they do best without having to acquire new skills. For our customers, time is better spent on the things they love and enjoy and a web site for them should be quick and easy to create.

I understand it may not be for everybody but for those that want to create professional and high quality websites, we'd love for them to try EverWeb.

Thanks again!
Paul - EverWeb Developer
Like (7)
jduk
30 May 2015
I can only echo the reviews below. I'm very happy with the software. It is excellent. I was an iWeb user years ago, I made the switch a little late however I much prefer Everweb. Not only because of software capabilities but because of excellent customer service, all tickets are answered quickly and promptly and full support is provided. I have been using the software for over a year solidly and the results are always excellent. The SEO is also very responsive for my websites. This is the best WYSIWYG software for the mac.
Like (5)
Version 1.7.5
rtchina
23 February 2015
Installed and started to use this weekend. Intuitive, fast and with really helpful email support got my first website up and running Monday morning. I was stuck a few times but the video instruction was excellent and resolved my problems easily. Great value for money. I a happy to pay for good product, Rage deserves a pat on the back for this one.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.5
swamis
04 February 2015
I started designing my 47 page website a couple of months ago using Everweb. I found Everweb to be the easiest, most logical website builder for Macs on the market. I started off with a blank page and created the entire site without a template. I recommended it to a friend that found it easy to work with, as well. Not only was the site easy to build, the support team is always quick to respond with answers to my questions. I highly recommend Everweb to anyone interested in designing a website.
Like (7)
Version 1.7.3
1 answer(s)
Surfviper
Surfviper
05 March 2016
Does it include iPhoto integration? Does any other website builder for the Mac desktop?
Like
Vilcanota
27 January 2015
I can't believe that after one year they charge $49.95 for upgrades!
Like
Version 1.7.3
1 answer(s)
Rage Software
Rage Software
29 January 2015
Hi Vilcanota,

We also offer;

1. Major upgrades every 1 - 2 months
2. 24/7 Phone and Email support
3. Over 100 minutes (and counting) of video tutorials

Can you believe that? :-)

The fee is *not* mandatory and only required to continue getting updates. You never lose access to the software you purchased. We work very hard to deliver high quality software and support but that takes a lot of resources and investments.

I ask that you please consider what you get for the price when reviewing software here. We take feedback very seriously but we price our software and services to ensure we can continue delivering the same quality consistently for a very long time.

We can't, and won't, discount our software well below industry averages. The worst thing that can happen is the software stops being developed if we go out of business or don't see it as a profitable business (as was the case with iWeb which left a lot of people in a bad situation).

We believe we deliver a lot for the price. Obviously you disagree, but let me know why or what we can do to make the price worth while for you...
Like (4)
mrsidoric
04 January 2015
Really want this to work..... Go to this URL and paste in developer's URL and see what happens: http://validator.w3.org Discouraging at best.
Like
Version 1.7.3
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
05 January 2015
EverWeb is fully tested and compatible with all major browsers, even going back to early versions of IE. Unfortunately to support newer and older browsers you need to still use some deprecated features.

There are a few warnings we can fix up (added via HTML Snippet so they were not generated by EverWeb), but some are required to ensure compatibility, ironically, with all browsers.

Thanks for the feedback.
Like (1)
Razzman
02 September 2014
This seemed to be an apt replacement for iWeb at first, so I downloaded the demo and tried to create my home page as I had on iWeb. My issues were just trying to format something as simple as a Navigation Bar. I kept getting these blank white spaces between the color fill with no reasonable option. Hardly intuitive. You could only get help on the forum if you had an account, assuming you had paid. The sheer amount of time I spent trying to figure out something that should be very easy, left me with just leaving this in iWeb.
Like
Version 1.5
4 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
05 September 2014
Sorry to hear about the problems you were having.

"I kept getting these blank white spaces between the color fill with no reasonable option."

What exactly do you mean by this? Can you elaborate?

"You could only get help on the forum if you had an account, assuming you had paid."

That's not true, anyone can sign up to the forum, watch the free videos or contact us without purchasing anything.
Like (1)
Razzman
Razzman
08 September 2014
Sorry. But this was a tutorial video I missed. I jumped ahead to the hard stuff, like adding videos. These are the blank spaces in the Navigation Bar which is controlled through the hyperlinks inspector and can be adjusted by using the Padding and Min Width commands in some combination. I was able to control the separation color that way - which I think is the intended method.

A couple of wishes on this front. It would be a little more helpful to have control over the horizontal and vertical padding separately. The other little comment on using the Min. Width adjustment. You really have to move this dial quite a bit to see any visible change in your navigation boxes. By just foolin' around, holding down the "up" arrow, nothing happened. Once I viewed the tutorial, it was clear, you had to advance quite a bit to see the boxes change width.

Again, taking the time to view additional tutorials helped me out with these items.

One other "wish". Is there anyone (3rd party) that makes a "button builder" that works with Everweb? There are button Widgets included, but those seem to be site specific.
Like
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
08 September 2014
"The other little comment on using the Min. Width adjustment. You really have to move this dial quite a bit to see any visible change in your navigation boxes."

Yes, depending on the navigation display name of each page, the width created automatically may be very large (or small). A larger default width means this would have to be set to a high number since the default width is set to the width of the longest navigation display name.

" Is there anyone (3rd party) that makes a "button builder" that works with Everweb?"

Any shape can be manipulated quite a bit using the Fill options in the Inspector. You can make gradient fills, picture fills, mouse over and mouse down effects, and mask the button with a shape (such as a rounded rectangle).

Your questions are best asked in the free discussion forum on our website: http://billing.ragesw.com/forum.php

NO purchase is necessary to use the forums. Just press the Register button to register for the forums.
Like (1)
jduk
jduk
30 May 2015
This is a very unfair review. I was using the software then with great results.
Like
ianrid
15 July 2014
Hang on. To publish from EverWeb, you have to buy an annual subscription even if you have your own third-party hosting site? Isn't that a deal-breaker? Or am I misreading something?
Like (2)
Version 1.4.0
3 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
20 July 2014
No, you don't have to purchase an annual subscription. The standalone version gets you one year of updates and support. You never lose access to the version you purchase (or any updates) and you don't ever lose the ability to publish.
Like
Dolphinboy2u
Dolphinboy2u
10 August 2014
Paul Ragesw, does this mean that to update after a year's time, we have to pay the full new purchase price ($79.95), or is there a discount for current owners?
Like
Dolphinboy2u
Dolphinboy2u
10 August 2014
Ah, OK, I found the answer way down in these comments: renewal is $49.95/year after the first year.
Like (1)
ScottUpdate
20 June 2014
Looks like a great option for current/former iWeb users. But being a desktop app is disappointing, old school and significantly limits its appeal and usefulness.
Like
Version 1.4.0
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
21 June 2014
Hi Scott, Although we appreciate your feedback I would have to disagree with you. An online website builder provides the benefit of editing your site from anywhere. However, because they have to go through an additional layer (the web browser), online editors are slower to use (due to network lag), less user friendly and cannot provide the flexibility of a native application like EverWeb. Of course, this may be a matter of opinion but I would suggest trying EverWeb to see how powerful and useful it really is. We even allow multiple users to edit a single site using dropbox which means as long as you have the software installed, you can edit your website from any OS X computer. With that being said, we are working to provide the best of both worlds with being able to edit a website from any device, but have the speed and flexibility of a desktop application.
Like (3)
EdL9977
10 June 2014
EverWeb is an answer to my prayers. Coordination and maintenance of my previous website (which was built and maintained by a third party) was extremely difficult and never met my expectations. Then I discovered EverWeb. With minimal web experience, I was able to build the site I wanted and needed.... PLUS now I can make any changes any time I need to. The manual is a bit sparse, and the tutorials are good, but I needed a little more help. The support team was outstanding, quick with replies and extremely helpful in all regards. Am anxious to see continued enhancements. Would like to see more in the color palate.... primarily in the addition of "textures." Great Program... Very happy with the results. ED
Like (1)
Version 1.4.0
1 answer(s)
Hippeman
Hippeman
01 September 2014
I'm glad this app is filling the gap that iWeb left. The only feature I'm really missing in EverWeb is the blog function. Hopefully it will be added soon so I can transfer all of my websites from iWeb to Everweb. Fingers crossed!
Like
ylluminate
25 May 2014
To those of us who have purchased EverWeb, don't forget the frequent ßeta updates over at the forum! EverWeb 1.4 Beta 9 was just baked 2 days ago and so we're seeing some exciting stuff coming at us.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
25 May 2014
Forum link: https://billing.ragesw.com/forum.php
Like
ravanhart
14 May 2014
In a world of things that do not work well, it is such an AAAH! moment to work with people like you, and a software program that is excellent. You guys are with it, at it, on it, of it, and about it! And it is only getting better. The support you provide and the continuing improvements, are so appreciated. I just discovered that I can now uploaded a new site with ease because you added a direct FTP upload feature. This will also make it easier for my clients. I love being able to offer websites that my smaller customers can afford and can manage for themselves. And this is not to say that high caliber website developers are not needed, of course they are. However, it is great that there are options for those who do not need that all powerful hoop-dee-do site. I can tell my smaller clients who are on a small budget, that EverWeb is the route they need to go for their website needs. These are smaller companies and individuals who want to be able to manage their own site once I design it. There are those who do not have the funds to hire an HTML programmer to design a site they will not be able to manage themselves and then keep paying ongoing management fees. Some of my customers want the luxury of being able to make changes as needed and at their leisure, on their time frame. EverWeb is as easy as iWeb and so much more improved. I am excited about finding the time to rework my own website on this EverWeb platform soon. How can I thank you enough, except to take the time to type it. THANKS GUYS! KUDOS ON A GREAT LITTLE SOFTWARE! EverWeb — IS all the RAGE!
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
15 May 2014
Thanks for the review and happy to hear you are liking EverWeb! We very much appreciate your feedback and are working hard on improving EverWeb everyday.
Like (2)
ylluminate
07 May 2014
Really excited to own and be using EverWeb. As we go forward and the product picks up steam in terms of updates and features, I'm confident that we're going to get what we're looking for. I had hoped that Flux would achieve what RageSW is doing, but they just haven't taken this direction that I'd hoped to see long ago. Modeling this after iWeb / iWork functionality is fantastic. I'd like to perhaps see a little tighter code on the output or even perhaps SCSS and HAML output + the ability to integrate some Ruby and Rails functionality, but for churning out robust static designs rapidly, this is going in the right direction. I would also like to see more focus on SEO / SEM and content authoring as well since rapid site creation with quickly rolled content is such a strong point here for such software. Sure would be nice to see some functionality of https://clevergizmos.com/keyword-organizer/, https://clevergizmos.com/keyword-researcher/ and Clever Gizmos other unique takes on theme design and optimization. Just some shotgun thoughts. I'll have to get more focused and pointed as I progress with EverWeb in terms of recommendations.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Bdkennedy1
26 April 2014
$80 is kind of a turn off considering how basic the software is. Rapidweaver is much more capable at the same price. Even Apple's Pages, Numbers and Keynote together are only $60.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Paul-Ragesw
Paul-Ragesw
05 May 2014
Hi Bdkennedy1, Although we appreciate all feedback, we would be very interested to hear why you think EverWeb is basic? It contains more freedom in design and more built in widgets than the product you mentioned. Although each product has their own pros and cons, if you could provide more details on what you feel is missing (and is available in similar products for the same price), it would be helpful to the viewers here, and to us. Lastly Apple is the largest company in the world and uses their software to sell $1000+ computers. Small companies such as us don't have that luxury so we have to charge more for our software. In contrast to Apple, we provide quicker updates instead of 1 update every 1-2 years as is the case for the software you mentioned. You can post your feedback here, or contact us privately through our website: http://www.everwebapp.com/support/index.html Looking forward to your response.
Like (2)
Lvshooter
20 April 2014
I've been an iWeb user for years, and I liked the app. I could do just about anything I needed to, sometimes with some helper apps. or workarounds but I got it done! When Apple discontinued it I was not happy because there wasn't really anything out there that did all that iWeb did... I was lucking enough to start using "EasyWeb" (pre EverWeb) when they were just getting into their first beta. From the start I could see that this was going to be the only app. out there that came close to iWeb. I've been using it for almost a year now and it's fine, it does most things plus some more things that we wished iWeb did! I'll admit there are a couple (small pain) things that are missing, but I'll get over it! And they'll probably be coming down the road in an update. As far as the (versions) hosted vs stand alone... I'm one of those guys that doesn't need hosting, I've got my own thank you. The hosted version is an ok deal if you need hosting you might as well use them... If you don't need it, you're free to do your own thing. And paying $49 a year for updates is ok with me, you don't have to pay if you don't want to, you'll just use it at the last update you get before your time is up. If their development and updates keep coming, I don't have a problem supporting them. As far as there customer service... if you read that rant by "Whitebuck" and saw how Paul responded, that shows they've got a good guy handing it! S
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
Whitebuck
31 March 2014
Comment or first impression. After visiting their Web Site. Just checking out their Web site is very disconcerting, knowing it was Made with Everweb. In Firefox 28, their Buy and Download Links did not work! I was forced to open the links in Opera Next. And they are trying to sell upgrades before a consumer has even purchased a License! Contemptible greed, suggest a lack of integrity. It seems that they intend to victimize their consumers with perpetual extortion, for overpriced upgrades. From what appears to be an unscrupulous Software vender. My excitement for a possible replacement for iWeb was quickly tempered. I await, a reply from Rage Software.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
6 answer(s)
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
31 March 2014
I recant, for Firefox does work after allowing "Google analytics tracker" in Ghostery.
Like (1)
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
01 April 2014
1. We are upfront about all costs and licensing fees BEFORE a user must purchase 2. We provide a year of FREE upgrades and support 3. We don't require upgrade fees, ONLY if the user determines they are worthy of the fee 4. We offer other pricing structures that in most cases save people money because they don't need to pay for hosting too 5. We update very frequently At most, EverWeb will cost you either a. $80 ($79.95) for the first year and $50 (49.95) for every year after that OR b. $100(99.90)/year with hosting Paul Levine RAGE Web Hosting 1136 Centre St. Suite 262 Thornhill, Ontario L4J3M8, Canada Paul Levine was quick to respond, congenial and very helpful. Yearly updates for 49.95 after the first year are exorbitant in my opinion and not protocol with any of my other 169 Applications. To much like taxes! I do not want to pay $50.00 a year for an application. A more affordable and typical upgrade protocol of every 18 to 24 months or longer is acceptable and some of my favorites are one time purchase for life upgrades. Oh well, it is what it is.
Like (1)
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
01 April 2014
After correspondence with Everwebs developers they do not appear to be unscrupulous in any way and their initial price for EverWeb is acceptable. That said, I still vehemently dis-like and disagree with their update protocol and pricing for their EverWeb App without hosting. But it may be exactly what others need. We all have different requirements and demands from our software. If their pricing scheme changes, I may ultimately purchase it to replace Apples abandoned iWeb. Because I love the simplicity. I downloaded it and still intend exploring it further. Thanks again to Paul Levine of Rage Software for his patient, politely informative and quick replies.
Like (1)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
10 June 2014
Whitebuck your comments constitute malicious slander at best, they are unacceptable, inaccurate as you yourself have admitted and you should be banned from Macupdate as you offer noting to the community with commentary like this. If you don't like something then don't buy it. I don't like the price of Cadillacs so I drive a KIA but I don't slander the maker. Personally I have tried EverWeb as a replacement for iWeb and it works quite well, I do find it expensive so I have chosen to stick with iWeb. Others may find this application to be a bargain, I don't know. I don't build web sites professionally so I don't compare costs and time savings at the level. Before you land yourself in court you may want to contain your inaccurate and malicious rants to yourself and posts facts to this community in the spirit of making the community better. Have a nice day.
Like
RikWallin
RikWallin
26 July 2014
Dude! Take a pill. iWeb is history! Over and Out.. a big POS when it comes to following html rules and not really worth comparision. Many of us have long since gone to SandVox but now their template rules are getting old as well so some of us continue to look at things like this or WebAcappella and you don't seem to be a real programmer but someone capable of whining because the glass is half empty instead of half full. Get a life and if you're going to write a review take a moment to explain the pros vs. the cons which you clearly have forgotten to do. Nuff Said !!
Like
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
27 July 2014
@ lemonb3519 and RikWallin you don't like my review, TOO BAD! You Moronic Idiots! Your opinion could not possibly be, more insignificant! Go troll some where else.
Like
DanG9170
07 March 2014
This is an outstanding product. It's the perfect web design software for novices or people who don't want to learn complicated software like Dreamweaver. Yet, you can still do PLENTY with it. They built this from the iWeb interface which makes it the perfect upgrade from iWeb now that Apple no longer supports that product EverWeb is a terrific program. It's completely intuitive. I didn't have to spend a minute reading a manual. I just downloaded it and started designing. Get it. Use it. LOVE it! Dan
Like (1)
Version 1.2
technoidis
12 December 2013
After being a long time iWeb user I had come to rely on Rage Softwares add-ons for picking up where Apple left off to help make my web sites more professional. When Apple abandoned iWeb support, I was looking for other options especially because in past years my iWeb sites have had display issues in some browsers. I bought a few other programs similar to EverWeb and found the interfaces clunky, the support shoody and add-ons expensive. I was about to drop a load of money on web designer fees when I got an email about the EverWeb release. I decided to download it and give it a spin. OMG! This is one amazing program. Better than iWeb ever was, but it looks and acts with all the ease that iWeb had. I completely moved my iWeb site to EverWeb in a few hours and even had a mobile version to boot. The few tech questions that I've had were answered quickly by support and with the attention of a tech person who cares. The 3rd party widgets they directed me to for on-add enhancements are amazing too. I am sure there will be bugs and glitches to work out along the way, but so far EverWeb is working perfectly for me, and I hope these guys will continue to support this much needed product. Buy it, you wont regret it. And, thank you so much EverWeb.
Like (6)
Version 1.1
Whobe
06 December 2013
Exactly what I've been waiting for. The layout IS iWeb. It's new, under constant development but already as easy as iWeb, smoother, quicker, great assistance, good selection of Widgets. A couple of needed things promised soon or I would have given it five stars. I moved two large web sites over in a tenth of the time I thought it would take. Very glad I stuck with iWeb until this came out. Congrats.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
07 December 2013
What are the things that are coming soon?
Like
Whobe
Whobe
08 December 2013
The developers do respond to requests for features on their site's forum, giving a pretty good idea on what they are working on, and what not.
Like