Back to Sound Studio page
Sound Studio free download for Mac

Sound Studio Reviews

4.9.3
03 October 2019

Robust audio recording and editing tool.

Filchescat
07 May 2013

Most helpful

Software publisher said the Apple Store will not let them offer upgrade pricing for earlier purchasers. All the same price no matter what. Just buy it again and give us some dinero. Really? Try Amadeus. No upgrade / update problems there and it works just fine.
Like (4)
Version 4.6.2

Read 122 Sound Studio User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bento de Espinosa
22 August 2019
I have been using Sound Studio for 20 years. It is wonderful!
Like
Version 4.9.1
Aargl
28 June 2019
I can't write a proper review, as Amadeus is still my favourite, but there's one function that I can't find anywhere else: the frequency generator by note (i.e. choosing a note on a keyboard). Great!
Like
Version 4.8.16
Atalantia
05 May 2018
Doesn't open flac. Splash screen says Sound Studio can't open files in Free Lossless Audio Codec-Format.
Like (1)
Version 4.8.13
1 answer(s)
Jayaii
Jayaii
08 July 2018
Sound Studio (v. 4.8.14) opens .flac files on my system. For many years, it's been my go-to app -- especially for mission-critical projects.
Like
Edeerly
25 November 2016
I've been using this app for years and it continues to work well for my needs, as a lightweight editor. I prefer the simple interface in Sound Studio to the competition, which at times fails to use musical metaphors in their UI, needlessly overcomplicating the user experience.
Like
Version 4.8.5
Kg5na
21 September 2016
DOES NOT WORK
Like (1)
Version 4.8.2
Bento de Espinosa
03 September 2015
I have been using Sound Studio for ages and it still is the best lightweight but powerful sound editor out there!
Like (3)
Version 4.7.8
kinku2002
30 January 2015
What happened to 'change bit rate' in the pull down menu? Now Sample rate is duplicated-one on the interface and one in the pull down menu where CBR used to be
Like
Version 4.7.7
Hawke5501
08 January 2015
I have used this program since version 1 and never had a problem. As of update 4.7.7 I am unable to download the program from MacUpdate or the Sound Studio site. I have contacted the developer with out a positive solution. Is any one else having problems downloading UpDate 4.7.7 ?
Like
Version 4.7.7
1 answer(s)
Soren0
Soren0
10 January 2015
I just tried it and it seems to download fine. Seems that it got fixed.
Like
Hawke5501
08 January 2015
I have used this program since version 1 and never had a problem. As of update 4.7.7 I am unable to download the program from MacUpdate or the Sound Studio site. I have contacted the developer with out a positive solution. Is any one else having problems downloading UpDate 4.7.7 ?
Like
Version 4.7.7
2 answer(s)
Soren0
Soren0
10 January 2015
I just tried it and it seems to download fine. Seems that it got fixed.
Like
Hawke5501
Hawke5501
10 January 2015
I just tried to download the update from the Felt Tip site and it stopped at 10.8 meg. This is the same point it stopped yesterday and the multiple other times I tried to download the update.. What kind of system are you using. I am running OS X 10.10.1 and DSL. All my software is up to date. I have the fire wall set and use Little Snitch. No virus software.
Like
Landmark99
19 December 2014
I really like the interface and simplicity of what I see so far. But I have three issues, one of which would be a deal breaker for me. I use this kind of software primarily to put together radio segments such as interviews and arts reporting. Here are the three things I don't see yet, compared with Audacity:

1. There's no way to import a sound file into an already open project; you must open a separate project, then cut and paste into it.

2. No Auto Duck filter.

3. (This is the deal-breaker for me.) There is no easy way to fade up a portion of a file from a non-silent point. You can use Fade Out Special to fade down to a less than 100% volume, but I don't see how you can use that to fade up from a given volume to greater than 100% of your starting sound volume.
Like
Version 4.7.5
Bento de Espinosa
01 October 2014
More elegant, MUCH faster and a bit more intuitive than Amadeus Pro!
Like
Version 4.7.0
3 answer(s)
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
01 October 2014
Very good program, but one thing I have noticed: I am on Snow Leopard and made an Automator Service to batch normalize audio files (open, normalize, save). No matter what I do (I already tweaked around all possibilities), I always get the message "The action Normalize encountered an error."
Like
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
01 October 2014
OK, I found the solution for above problem: In Sound Studio preferences, deselect "At startup - New window". Automator Services will now work.
Like
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
01 October 2014
Also: In Automator, in the action "Normalize", you must select "Independently for each track", or it won't work. But note that this will make both channels have the same volume.
Like
Can I get away with saying that someone is asleep at the switch here? I mean, versions come out like eggs out of chickens, with brand new bugs, while old bugs are fixed . . . sometimes. Hawke, you may be right about it being the same designer, but I think he may be on vacation. I'm happy with Audition 6.
Like
Version 4.6.10
Vsopat
16 January 2014
I've got problems with 4.6.8 - 4.6.9. Once : Applying a plugin noise reducer on a selected part, it quite cancels this selected part instead of reduce noise. 4.6.10 little bit better but the same problem remain. I hope an update witch correct that.
Like
Version 4.6.10
Jessicajazz
09 December 2013
I won't rate this. It was a great little tool before FeltTip. I downloaded 4.6.7 and nothing worked on it, plus it overwrote my old version. I was inadvertently charged two (2!) times for it. Yes, it was on the AppStore. Avoid that version. This version may work, but I managed to roll back to an earlier, more stable version using Time Machine. That's my 2 cents. Actually, that's my 60+ dollars, but I wasn't paying attention, I suppose. No blame. I don't however, believe that these new owners know terribly much about software. The interface was never great, but now . . . fail.
Like (2)
Version 4.6.8
4 answer(s)
Hawke5501
Hawke5501
14 January 2014
Sorry to tell you but FeltTip Software has always been the creator, and developer of this software. They allowed someone else to publish it for a while but it has always been the product of FeltTip. Lucious Knox has always owned this product. I could have spelled his name wrong but it's the same guy. I am currently running 4.6.7 and have no problems.
Like
Jessicajazz
Jessicajazz
14 January 2014
Hawke, Got it. BTW, 4,6,7 was broken, and they released 4,6,8 days later. But it's all cool. You're right—Lucius Kwok was the original developer. You can still download his old version 3. I could have sworn it had a different company name . . . early senility, probably. They got it working again, and it does a good job for certain tasks. I still use Audition 6. More options, better output, tons of options for shaping sound.
Like
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
14 January 2014
And Hawke . . . no senility here, yet. It was called FreeVerse Software, when it was version 3 and before. Just the facts.
Like
Hawke5501
Hawke5501
14 January 2014
Jazzica if you look back Freeverse was just the publisher not the developer. Lucius Kwok has always written the program and updated it. So far as I can tell it never left his hands. Freeverse only sold it for Lucius.
Like
onlyuser
13 September 2013
My experiences with Sound Studio are very good. Handling is fine and it has all the features (including support for AppleScript) I need for recording. Also support ist very helpful.
Like (1)
Version 4.6.5
Stef-Vandenabele
09 May 2013
Sound Studio is awful! Really, it is painfully slow in UI updating, zooming is slow, it crash heavy and the GUI is insanely bad thought-out. I just cannot believe this app is marked as a a 'Hot App'. Its really not a good one. I highly recommend someone at MU does take a closer look at Triumph. Its way better!
Like (1)
Version 4.6.2
Filchescat
07 May 2013
Software publisher said the Apple Store will not let them offer upgrade pricing for earlier purchasers. All the same price no matter what. Just buy it again and give us some dinero. Really? Try Amadeus. No upgrade / update problems there and it works just fine.
Like (4)
Version 4.6.2
Davidravenmoon: Hi, David. I agree. I'm using Adobe Audition (Creative Suite 6) for most jobs. Yes, the drawn icons in Sound Studio are very hard on the eyes. David, I am looking for a good music program to record my piano and overdub synths, drums, bass, who knows what else. Cubase? Amadeus? Logic? What do you use to layer music that has a click track, prints out the music, and has decent samples? I have a Yamaha 7ft Grand and a Yamaha XF88 Motif, plus an M-Audio 88 key controller also. Ideas? I don't know a DAW from a DUI. I don't drive. Good thing. "Never go back, never back down, feet to the edge, face in the wind."
Like
Version 4.6.2
7 answer(s)
Roburt
Roburt
06 May 2013
A program you should take a look into is Reason 7. I have found it the most versatile audio application ever.The learning curve is very easy.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
07 May 2013
Hi Jessica, I use Cubase 7. I have been using it since it was Cubase VST. I also have ProTools and Live, but I like Cubase better. For quick little sketch pad ideas I sometimes use GarageBand! I've tried some multi tracking in Audition, but I didn't really see the point of it. Worked OK though. Nice keyboard setup! I mostly play guitar and bass, but i have an Oberhiem Matrix 6 and a bunch of plugin synths.
Like
KernelG
KernelG
07 May 2013
Logic is going to give you the most bang for the buck in a multi-track DAW, but is there any reason why you're not using GarageBand right now? It's basically Logic lite. Just don't let its clunkiness sour you on the real deal.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
07 May 2013
Garageband isn't bad, but you can't insert effects and certain things if you didn't start the track off that way. That's annoying. I rarely use loops, but the loops it comes with are nice. I use Cubase Artist, which is a lower priced version (same software, just a different license). It's limited to 64 audio tracks, 128 MIDI tracks, and 32 inputs. More than needed to a solo musician and even a band situation. I multitrack all the instruments on my recordings playing everything myself, or with a song writing partner. Cubase Artist is $250, while Logic is $500.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
07 May 2013
If you want to hear some stuff I did in Cubase (as well as ProTools and even 4 track tape), look me up on SoundCloud under this moniker. :)
Like
KernelG
KernelG
08 May 2013
Davidravenmoon: Logic hasn't been $500 for a long time. It's $199 now—The full "Pro" version with all capabilities and sample packs. And if you want to hear some stuff I've done in Cubase, Pro Tools TDM and now Logic, from 24-track tape to fully in-the-box, listen to the radio, Spotify or iTunes. :) Logic is also file-compatible with Garageband, so if you start something there and run into a wall, you can easily upgrade. Nothing wrong with Cubase (except that it used to crash a lot, and didn't support PT hardware like Logic did), but I'd still recommend the Garageband - Logic path for beginners.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
08 May 2013
Kernelg, I went to the Apple's store, and Logic Studio is $499.00, but I see Logic Pro 9 is $199.99. Not a huge price difference, and I still like Cubase better. :)
Like
Version 3.1 was fine for most tasks. I need to make CDs. I even used the earlier versions on a few of my releases. Well, that's over. New owners, huh? Experts, eh? You've somehow managed top destroy a perfectly good, inexpensive sound solution. At the least, at the VERY least, you could have updated the horrible (now even MORE horrible) icons. But the truth is in the testing. I took one of my recordings and used Adobe Audition to show me the errors. Three, all insignificant. I imported this file into SS, did nothing to the file, saved it to the desktop, and re-opened it in Audition. 1,028 errors, some audible as clicks, pops, and hiss. Apple Core Audio to blame. No. The error rate is generated from within SS itself, probably in the conversion to aif/aiff, and what's called big endian/little endian. Might serve ok to record voice messages. Uninstalled and to the trash.
Like (2)
Version 4.6.1
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
06 May 2013
I could never get past the lousy interface on this one. I actually like Adobe Audition, which has replaced TC Works Spark XL which was my favorite, but PPC. :( Audition has some quirks too, but not too bad.
Like
Roburt
Roburt
06 May 2013
A programyou should take a look into is Reason 7.I have found it the most versatile audio application ever.
Like
Stormchild
11 December 2012
This is a great audio editing app. It's the closest thing I've ever found to the venerable SoundEdit 16 that was my staple for so many years before moving to OS X. I must say, though, that I'm not particularly happy with the new UI in version 4. The icons are awful, and I'm kinda blown away that there's no way to hide the audio meters at the bottom of every window. There's no way to mute or disable audio input, so the bottom left meter is constantly jumping as it picks up sound from the internal mic in my MacBook, and I find it distracting. Honestly this app was much nicer in version 2. I can live with the hideous toolbar icons, but there *really* needs to be a way to hide those audio meters at the bottom. I'll be sticking with the old version until that happens.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.4
DonkeyKong
26 July 2011
It is not bad but lacks some pro editing features like fx layers. It has the same price tag as Audio Editor but I prefer AE just because of the flexible UI system including layers.
Like (3)
Version 4.2
1 answer(s)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
26 July 2011
Audio Editor?
Like (2)
npbiz
11 July 2011
I've been using Sound Studio for years after Sound Designer by Macromedia went belly up. SS 4 works great for editing any stereo (or mono) sound file. Contrary to earlier reviews, SS 4 does save to MP3 but you have to run it in 32 bit mode. This is explained in the FAQ section on the website. If you want an easy-to-use sound editing app with advanced features this is quite the "work horse". BTW, a pause button would be nice and the ability to record Mac audio would be cool too.
Like (2)
Version 4.1.1
1 answer(s)
npbiz
npbiz
11 July 2011
Oops! I meant Sound Edit 16 by Macromedia in my post.
Like
Mojolive
09 April 2011
wow with the version of 4.0 + this app sucks. i STARTED again using peak.. use to be a great app, back when it was in version # 3.x.x then I guess it got sold to this dev.. SUCKS big time. Ugly, converting to an MP3 did not work. even when install Framework for Mp3. Lame.. what a shame that it is has changed so much to the worst.. Slower and no so responsive.. Hope it will get better with time. but the new design is really bad, in my option but that is not what counts.. People looking to buy this.. Stick with v. 3.x.x or use Peak.. anyone else have an alternative app doing about the same thing.. Let me know Please..
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1
7 answer(s)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
17 July 2011
@Mojolive and @Robk: You two guys ought to do yourself a favor and get in the habit of doing some research before you stuff your feet in your mouths with your inaccurate, negative slams on the "new" developer. Lucius Kwok, the "new" developer, as you call him, is, in fact, the original developer, whose Felt Tip software company re-acquired the distribution rights that he had licensed to FreeVerse for awhile. Also, how you can call the old application "great" but this new version "sucks" is beyond my comprehension, since the interface back in version 3 and in version 4 is essentially one and the same design as it's always been, with the addition of tweaks and improvements that the developer sees fit to add. BIAS' Peak is also a good audio editing application, if you can decide which edition to get in the confusing price range from $40 to $1,200. I use both, and I've come to rely on Sound Studio more.
Like (4)
Mojolive
Mojolive
17 July 2011
well Bowlerboy_jmb you should just stop being a wanker.. and let people have there own thoughs.. i paid for it. I used it . .it sucks... If you dont like it.. cool. I personally use protools.. which I guess is way over your head.. wanker. I mean the forum is not for you to tell me i am wrong it is to give other people an option and my thoughts on something i paid for.. if I had to judge you . i would guess wanker with an affection to sucking? so dont play like you are some God.. and I should do my research.. I do not like the program so what is the problem. you like something, good for you WANKER.
Like (1)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
18 July 2011
@Mojolive: I have no issue with letting people have “there [sic] own thoughs [sic].” However, I do have an issue when a lazy, thoughtless person spreads false and misleading information, as you did when you erroneously asserted that a “new” developer had taken over the Sound Studio application. So, I felt compelled to set the record straight, lest other members here might be influenced to a false conclusion about the history of this very useful software and its talented developer. Having an opinion about a piece of software is one thing: you are entitled to your opinion on whether the software works for you or not. But you are not entitled to falsify information, to mislead other people, or to lie about stuff that shows you obviously have no clue as to what you’re talking about. Had you been able to read better, you might have gleaned that much from my comment. Obviously, my feedback struck a nerve, perhaps not for the first time, from the looks of your rabid reply. As to the name-calling, well, it’s apparent that you don’t need an audio editor so much as you need a brain editor, so full of erroneous and repugnant “thoughs” as it is. You seem to enjoy putting your foot in your mouth: hope it tastes good.
Like (5)
Mojolive
Mojolive
18 July 2011
Bowlerboy_jmb i to speak about my english .. is silly . i am not a usa boy.. or english . and to put my foot in my mouth ..well I would prefer to have a foot in my mouth then a hard Di*k in my mouth as you I guess have had many of.. and your screen name Bowlerboy_jmb i think it is to say BUTT BOY.. as i am guessing you like it up the a** I did not lie about the porgram it does suck.. or so i think so. i paid for it.. so why can i not say it sucks.. i mean you are sucking C*ck.. and that is you thing.. so ddont tell me i am lying.. i think it sucked.. and still think it sucks.. and to say i do not speak english has not point.. I do not suck co*k but you do that is for sure..
Like (1)
Hawke5501
Hawke5501
25 July 2011
Mojolive you are one sick individual. You need mental health treatment. This forum is for the free exchange of ideas and information to advance the Mac community. Your rants and profanity advances nothing but absolute disgust from most of us.
Like (10)
Fempopbypass
Fempopbypass
25 July 2011
Absolutely Hawke5501 Clearly Mojolive has some issues that go beyond this software. It appears some form of sexual frustration is very apparent in Mojolive's obsession with masturbation and fellatio. A cold shower, counselling and an education may be of benefit to this troubled potty mouth! If Mojolive can be this aggressive over software it could be reasonably assumed that Mojolive would be rather explosive when confronted with an English teacher.
Like (5)
13 February 2013
Answers and forums should be an intelligent and communicative way for individuals to forward their personal findings and opinions so that others can form an objective judgement. Foul and abusive language has no place in any serious discussion. MacUpdate should pull the plug on those who flout decency. Most commendable and constructive view by Bowlerboy who has shown great taciturn and diplomacy.
Like (1)
Orytek
14 December 2010
How do I install the Lame framework. I can't find directions anywhere.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.1
Robk
14 December 2010
This listing is CONFUSING. Freeverse still sells Sound Studio 3 (see http://www.freeverse.com/mac/product/?id=5012) But it looks like a NEW Developer, Felt Tip, is offering Sound Studio 4. Perhaps, MacUpdate should have TWO listings. One for Sound Studio 3 offered by Freeverse and another for Sound Studio 4 offered by Felt Tip.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.1
1 answer(s)
RoyPDX
RoyPDX
15 December 2010
My understanding is that the developer is the same for all versions; they simply decided to no longer have Freeverse PUBLISH it and to take the rights back and self publish.
Like (4)
Demolition
16 July 2010
Just FYI... v3.6.1 is not compatible with Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger). Trying to run it in Tiger results in an immediate crash (no dock bounce, no crash dialogue) and an error in the console. Several people have submitted support requests and Freeverse has responded by telling them to use v3.5.7, instead. To reflect this change, Freeverse's website now lists the system requirements for v3.6.1 as "Mac OS X 10.5 or higher".
Like
Version 3.6.1.1
1 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
16 July 2010
Thanks for the information. I'll correct that right away.
Like
Version 3.6.1.1
Yoshinatsu
17 June 2010
I'm getting some CRAZY memory leaks here on 10.6.4, I think the update has something to do, because before that, Sound Studio was working just fine. Like eating up 1.14GB RAM for some seconds, and the like, leading to crashing, etc... I hope this issue is resolved soon (if it's not just for me). I'm using a 20'' Intel iMac, 2.4GHz, with 2GB RAM, on 10.6.4.
Like
Version 3.6
Tachy0n
24 November 2009
I own this software. I wanted to save an .mp3 version. I thought I already installed LAME for use with Audacity but perhaps it's not system-wide. In any case I followed the link from Freeverse's site, and installed the LAME package there. The installer did not say I needed to reboot. Sound Studio still cant save as mp3, only AAC. "The document"..."could not be saved". No explanation or help. I also agree with Koibito-san about #3. Normalizing lots of segments of audio is a pain to do because you can't stop the dialog from appearing. It needs a tickbox that saves the setting!
Like
Version 3.6
Pxquim
27 August 2009
I'm ripping LPs, so I have a 15-30 minute sound recording. To remove "pops", I use the "Interpolate" filter over very small durations. If I do a lot of such edits, the App starts to look confused (for example, the display does not seem to update correctly) and eventually crashes. The last time the app crashed when I tried to save the file. The OS later recover 248 .caf files, so perhaps I did over 200 edits? This is on a iBook G4 1.0MHz with 768MB RAM, recording through a Griffin iMic. Why am I complaining here? Well, trying to report the issue to Freeverse support using their Web form results in the error "Your message did not clear our spam filter". So, think twice before buying if you ever need support.
Like
Version 3.6
Koibito-San
21 August 2009
Forgot one issue. After both launches I tested under, the "Save as…" stopped operating after a number of files were saved (around 30-40 or so). Unless this is a trial limitation, this is very problematic, as the program doesn't seem affected, but when a Save As… is attemtpted, the dialog vanishes and nothing happens. Once at this point it is no longer possible to save anything -- all editing features continue to work, however.
Like
Version 3.6
Koibito-San
18 August 2009
I tried sending this to freeverse's e-mail... but it doesn't pass their "spam filter." And since I was quite impressed, except with the following, So: I tested the new 3.6 version to see if it would suffice for my needs (I currently require four apps in my chain of work with lossless audio clips). I'd like to reduce that to two... 1. it still destroys ID3 tags: even Apple standardized (i.e., it destroys "show"). Apparently anything not in the info drop-down is killed. It should pass everything through that doesn't appear in that drop-down (this is actually a deal-killer). 2a. There's an odd behavior that happens about 90% of the time with ALAC files. It doesn't seem to recognize that the files were opened from ALAC (apple lossless) files and it attempts to "Save" them as lossy, bringing up an "AAC Options" dialog box. If you choose "Save as…", instead, this is avoided. 2b. After hitting "Cancel" on the "AAC Options" dialog box, SS does a drop-down dialog that states “The document "xxx.m4a" could not be saved.”, and then it wants a click on an "OK" button to continue. Kind of obvious when the user cancels the request. i.e., this drop-down after the cancel should be removed from the program entirely. 3. Normalize should be a one-click process. I'm pretty sure that most people stay with the same settings on an entire project or their entire lives (^_^). The normalize level and options should be relegated to preferences or a menu item. 4. It's really minor, but the dB field does not update the percentage automatically in both the "Normalize" and "Amplify Volume" dialogs. The value should be recalculated on "field change." This value is carried over properly the next time you open said filters, but, you've already had to have executed it. (I don't actually use this readout, but I noticed it was doing it this way.) 5. Really a very minor thing (but until I get a program that doesn't destroy tags, it'll be an issue with our files). Even if dragged-and-dropped onto the icon/dock, SS will not recognize a file if it ends with a non-stamdard extension. It still opens an empty window, but it halts all other activity while it waits for a click on the "OK" button, in the "Could not open this file," dialog. Since all our files are MPEG4, and some are provided in lossy forms, we've been using .m4aL, .m4a3, m4a1, etc, which works real well with our current programs on both Mac and Windows. 6. There still seems to be some sort of memory leak that causes a sudden crash. Couldn't figure out where, but it did a sudden disappearance leaving gigs of files lying around when it did… This was after about an hour worth of testing. 7a. There appears to be a display problem in the overall waveform display (the top one). At the end of all of the files I gave it (where there was silence or near silence), the overall display actually showed bursts of sound after the decay, in the area where it was silent. This was consistent with every file I gave it. This is cosmetic, but confusing. And the scrolling window (bottom) showed proper silence at the same point. 7b In the Scrolling waveform, after some normalization or amplification filtering, the waveform would be distorted into the negative dB area, or spiking severely down into it. The audio sounds fine, but there is no way the actual sound waves in these clips were entirely and significantly below the 0dB mark (which is where several of the waveforms were being displayed after amplification). On the next version I test, I'll try to remember to do a couple of screen-caps to demonstrate this. See you at the next upgrade :) P.S. Sound Studio is way ahead of Fission (the other program I tested over the weekend)... Files I trimmed small bits from and resaved, always came out smaller in SS, in Fission, the same files actually grew in size averaging about 700k of "growth."
Like (1)
Version 3.6
Tlmurray
20 June 2009
I'm wondering just how active Freeverse will be with this application. It's still giving me fits with AIFF saves, and they have not even updated the About dialog since they procured it from FeltTip.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.7
Chas-m
01 May 2008
Having just gotten this thanks to the MU promo bundle (thanks, guys!) I'm looking forward to testing it versus my beloved Amadeus Pro. Still -- I've been using Fission a lot lately for "quick" editing because of it's "no further loss" nature, and wondering why AP nor SS offer this amazing ability. For jobs where you are just "cutting and/or pasting" audio, you should be able to save losslessly like Fission offers.
Like
Version 3.5.6
Chicagolarry
22 April 2008
I've used Amadeus for years and have nothing but high praise for its capabilities and for the attentive guy who has steadily developed it over time. So I agree with the others who have commented about Amadeus. Why pay more for this app, when the other is, according to reviews, better?
Like (3)
Version 3.5.5
Carl321
13 July 2007
Ive used Sound Studio for 3 years, this version looks great..love the new polished look, however, it seems to crash more often... hope this problem is soon solved. thanks
Like
Version 3.5.3
Joeshmoe200us
19 May 2007
I tried Audacity, but it was too buggy, and kept on crashing and working slowly. Sound Studio works great, and I really like that you can zoom in/out with one click of the keyboard. It makes editing out "ah's and umh's" in podcasts very simple. Well worth the money. The only feature I wish it has was a "denoising" function like that found in Amadeaus. Amadeaus, isn't as easy to use (zooming in and out requires a two/three button press, annoying for frequent editign), so what I do it denoise in Amadeaus, and then import into Sound Studio for all other editing.
Like
Version 3.5.1
Nonsolomac
17 March 2007
Uhhh... It crashes too often when using filters (especially EQ)... :-(
Like
Version 3.5
Justind
16 March 2007
FYI: There is no charge to upgrade to the new version 3.5 from any previous version of 3. There is only a charge if you're upgrading from version 2.
Like
Version 3.5
Nonsolomac
15 March 2007
Version 3.5 is GREEAAAAT!!!!!!!
Like
Version 3.5
Tom-25
15 March 2007
I'm as other users, I stay with version 2 because the update to version 3 in very expensive. I bought Burning Monkey Solitaire a long time ago but I trash it because the update was very expensive too.
Like
Version 3.5
3 answer(s)
Sublevel5
Sublevel5
15 March 2007
$49.99 would be a more attractive price point.
Like
Version 3.5
Justind
Justind
15 March 2007
There's no charge to update Burning Monkey Solitaire to the latest version. Please see the note here: http://freeverse.com/bms
Like
Version 3.5
Porcustal
Porcustal
19 May 2007
yea a bit pricey when there are many other just as good audio editing apps out there... $20-25 for an upgrade would be tops for me.
Like
Version 3.5.1
Nonsolomac
08 December 2006
You guys at Freeverse did a GREAT job!!! THIS APP IS A MUST HAVE: version 3.05 is screaming fast on my Intel Mac and very stable too. It is absolutely the best waveform editor for Mac, highly recommended (5 stars). Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 3.0.5
Mixel
01 September 2006
I had been using Audacity, but was getting tired of buggy behaviour. Most notably, it only loaded 1 in about 15 times I ran it.. Taking advantage of the 1 day MU deal.. $50 seems a good price really. :)
Like
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
Nonsolomac
Nonsolomac
17 October 2006
Oh, nooooo!!!! Now Pitch & Tempo filter just works fine but you can only change pitch OR tempo, we lost the 'normal' pitch change WITH TEMPO ALTERATION, the same effect all DJs are used to with vinyl records turntables! Please give us back that feature!!! Pleeeeeeease!!!!!!
Like
Version 3.0.4
Mgcarlo
30 August 2006
I have used Sound Studio many times in teh past for recording and manipulating sound files. It has always worked well and is generally rock-solid. But $80 to upgrade from version 2 to 3? Why? Besides the updated look, are there any new substantive features? For now I am sticking with version 2.
Like
Version 3.0.3
B3nt
22 June 2006
April 23, 03 I paid Kagi 49.99 for SS 2.x Now (6/2006) Freeverse apparently bought out SS and is selling SS 3.x for 80.00 with 50 percent off for owners of SS 2.x? So I pay another 40.00 to update to v 3.x? That's a total of 90.00 for an 80.00 product. Free Enterprise is good. Paying for product development is good. But a good fleecing is priceless. Bad Freeverse. No customer.
Like
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
Mart°n
Mart°n
16 January 2007
Your bill doesn't include that you've used Sound Studio for over 3 years. Is that worth nothing. I also don't like to pay upgrade prices that doesn't seem to be fair but your argumentation isn't fair too.
Like
Version 3.0.5
Nonsolomac
23 March 2006
PITCH & TEMPO FILTER STILL NOT WORKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - since version 3 :-(
Like
Version 3.0.3
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
10 March 2006
Just great. Freeverse makes it really simple to input audio and do basic editing features. I used Sound Studio to import tape audio into my PowerBook and then burn it to a CD. The learning curve was much lower than I expected.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Nonsolomac
20 February 2006
Since version 3 the Pitch & Tempo slider is buggy and doesn't work. It's still not been fixed in version 3.01 and 3.02. Please be more accurate in future releases considering the price of your app!
Like
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
Nonsolomac
Nonsolomac
12 March 2006
After a clean install on my brand new iMac Core Duo I experienced the same problem I had on my PowerMac G4... The Pitch & Tempo graphic slider does not work! If you try to move it the percentage does not change and you are unable to preview the effect. Also it doesn't work if you write manually any number in the percentage field. I really would buy Sound Studio 3 if only this bug was fixed! Thanks for your attention to this matter which I'm sure many other potential users could be interested in.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Christian-Roth
03 February 2006
I have been a loyal user of Sound Studio since almost its starting days. I have recommended it to people, because I am (still) convinced of its fast, simple and effective UI for editing audio. For this, I accepted a price somewhat at the upper limits (around 50 USD) for this kind of an app. I saw the new version, 3.0, and wanted to check it out for new features and upgrade pricing. Fact is, there seem to be virtually no new features compared to version 2.2.4 except for AU support and a marker list window. However, the price has been raised by 60%, and the upgrade pricing for almost nothing new is 40 USD, i.e. almost as much as I originally paid for the full licence. I have to agree with RADD - this is simply "insulting". I'm sorry, Lucius, even with your explanation on your old web site, I cannot imagine how these changes and the move to Freeverse can be good ones for the future of Sound Studio. (It even strikes me as Sound Studio not fitting at all into Freeverse's other applications portfolio...) I for one won't upgrade *ever*, but instead use the still finely working 2.2.4 version (still available from the www.felttip.com website) as long as possible and then settle on a different tool with a reasonable feature set for a - most importantly - reasonable price.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Radd
31 January 2006
I've been a user of Sound Studio since before the first official release... back in the pre-release betas. I have to say... back then, SS had a very reasonable price, but it had steadily climbed toward more "luxury" oriented pricing. That said, since Freeverse took over, the price has rocketed to "insulting". Not only has Freeverse turned me off to Sound Studio... but now, I will be very wary of purchasing ANYTHING else from them. I'd rather support developers who aren't trying to pull one over on me. They should add a slogan for 3.0... "Average User Functionality At Professional User Prices." Time to come back to planet Earth, Freeverse. It's shareware, not a cure for cancer.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Macsweep
07 January 2006
Sound Studio is pretty good. I use it mainly for adding and removing sound portions. However it does not have good denoising abilities and in my view it is over priced.
Like
Version 3.0.1