Back to ReadKit page
ReadKit free download for Mac

ReadKit Reviews

2.6.3
23 October 2019

Read-later and RSS client.

truthhurts
07 January 2013

Most helpful

Would you like to rip off the interface of Reeder a little more, perhaps? Wait, that's not possible. Everything 0 from the layout, the service icons on the upper right, to the "unique" (and arguably less usable) search interface beneath the middle column, this is a straight-up copy of Reeder. (All the more jarring when the MacUpdate RSS item shows up inside Reeder itself!)
Like (2)
Version 1.0

Read 17 ReadKit User Reviews

Rate this app:

476429
14 February 2016
I have been using ReadKit for a couple of years now and I love it. Lots of features and access to various services like Pocket, Readability, etc. Performance is great. No problems at all.

Someone mentioned CPU usage. It's in the background right now and it's using 0% CPU. I'm currently running it on OS X 10.11.3

When I had some questions about the app, the developer was very responsive.

I highly recommend it.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
FreeWizard
09 February 2015
Three of my fav services in one app Instapaper/Pinboard/Feedly
Like
Version 2.4.2
Jazzyguy
14 October 2014
Don't BUY This App. If you have problem the support that is listed on their page doesn't bother to answer. I have written to their support address 6 times and got no reply. They do not appreciate their users and you should not patronize them.The app is extremely slow and I employed a technique given by Mikeaugustleo to cure it from the MAJOR beach balling it did. The developer was no help at all. 1/2 a star for an uncooperative developer.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.0
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
14 October 2014
And the Activity Monitor shows heavy CPU use.
Like
Menega
21 May 2014
Very good product with a problem would appreciate being fixed: I use RSS to download the current articles / papers / technical journals table of contents / patents / whatever technical information... This is always relevant info... No expiration data... So it is a problem that the software only let me keep this info for 10 weeks! Should have an option to stay forever!
Like
Version 2.4.0
Alcz93
21 April 2014
Just uninstall since Reeder is back on Mac
Like
Version 2.4.0
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
01 January 2015
what a f'ed up review of yours.....
Like
Jazzyguy
24 February 2014
OF all the RSS clients this is the BEST,it does everything well and I appreciate it.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.0
9 answer(s)
Mikeaugustleo
Mikeaugustleo
24 February 2014
I used to think so too but since the latest update it takes ages to load. Prior to that it would load quickly, including feeds. What's happened?
Like
Mikeaugustleo
Mikeaugustleo
03 March 2014
Got a fix for my issue from the developer and all is well again!
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
07 October 2014
I have written to the Developer 4 times and get no reply. Can you please tell me where you wrote the Developer to get a response.
Like
Mikeaugustleo
Mikeaugustleo
07 October 2014
I just looked through my emails and back then had sent an email to: support@webinhq.com. The response from the developer then was: It seems that the backend store of ReadKit has become corrupted. I would suggest to reset ReadKit by deleting the following files, but first, please make a copy for backup reasons:

~/Library/Containers/com.webinhq.ReadKit/Data/Library/Application Support/ReadKit/ReadKit.storedata (+-wal, +-shm)

Then, you can start ReadKit from a clean state.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
08 October 2014
@Mikeaugustileo I tried to follow your directions. I found the file ~/Library/Containers/com.webinhq.ReadKit/Data/Library/Application Support/ReadKit/ReadKit.storedata (+-wal, +-shm) I took it out totally.But then ReadKit wouldn't start with my web sites.I then put back in the backup which I had on my Desktop and it went back to the very slow posting of my web sites. Should I have taken it out completely? The Developer does not respond no matter what I do. I again had to force quit it.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
09 October 2014
Despite the fact that I couldn't remove containers it still moves faster than it did before.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
09 October 2014
I am very disappointed with the developer's failure to respond. They are too busy to respond to a user??
Like
Mikeaugustleo
Mikeaugustleo
09 October 2014
Hmm, sorry this fix hasn't helped you. I know when I did follow the instructions that my feeds initially didn't show up....I had to enable the built in feed (in accounts, I think). Sorry to hear that the developer isn't responding. They were pretty quick getting back to me in March.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
09 October 2014
Well Mike I guess although the Developer didn't respond at least the feeds are swifter now. I withe to the developer 5 times at the address given in support in the app.
Like
aaffonso
20 February 2014
As a ReadNow user I like this. But why does a desktop software need an in-app browser? I would love to have an option to hide this browser/read window while a double click on bookmark open it on my main browser.
Like
Version 2.4.0
Mikeaugustleo
13 January 2014
I'm hooked! Looks good, deals with all my feeds without issue and I can link my Pocket saves as well!
Like
Version 2.3.3
Jazzyguy
24 December 2013
This is the very Best RSS NewsReader on OSX. The features are outstanding.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
2 answer(s)
Hervé-5
Hervé-5
25 January 2014
Sorry to say this, but no demo version = no deal for me :( This vast migration towards AppStore would definitely be frightening if there weren't more mature apps that allow plain download, demo versions, and even buying without belonging to Apple, mind you. I'll definitely pay MORE an app that I can try.
Like (3)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
06 February 2014
I agree, no demo no sale
Like (2)
Gryffin
02 October 2013
Tried this while waiting for Reeder to get updated to work with Feedly et. al.; I still think Reeder has the edge in usability and presentation, but there's no denying ReadKit has more functionality, synching with every RSS sync engine I know of. When Reeder *finally* gets updated, I'll probably switch back to it, if only because I use the iPhone and iPad versions, but that takes nothing away from ReadKit, it's one of the best readers anywhere.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Dana_Nau
30 September 2013
This is undoubtedly the best RSS reader for Mac OS X. The developer has fixed both of the problems that I mentioned in my review of a previous version -- so I'm happy to raise my rating to 5 stars.
Like
Version 2.3.1
fonginator
23 September 2013
Works well and the author is responsive to both bug reports and feature requests. I originally switched to a ReadKit+Fever combo after using Reeder+Google Reader for years and will probably not switch back to Reeder when an updated version of that app becomes available.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Danio
22 September 2013
Great software, works with a multitude of different RSS and 'Read Later' services whilst also providing 'stand-alone' RSS service potential should you need it. The software has been aggressively developed since v2 was released, many positive changes have been made by the communicative developer. These include the adding of features, general bug fixes and stability improvements. I tend to change my mind a lot, having a software like this which smoothly and competently allows me to change my ultimate supplier of services and yet retain my software interface is a real winner! This has quickly earned a place on my Mac, always running and ready to serve up the news.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Julsa1
28 August 2013
Excellent, if not better, replacement for " Reeder" (still no OSX version) and with feedly support ! Great, intuitive programm, works fine and with lots of possibilities !
Like
Version 2.3.0
Hal2007
13 July 2013
Wow! Just wow. This is now best of breed, hands down. Do buy this, you won't regret it.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.0
Dana_Nau
12 July 2013
I'm very happy to find a Mac app that syncs to Feedbin, now that Google Reader's API is defunct. Having it also sync to Instapaper is even better. On the other hand, I *really* wish that Readkit had a few more keyboard shortcuts, and that it wouldn't flash the screen at me every time it syncs.
Like
Version 2.1.0
truthhurts
07 January 2013
Would you like to rip off the interface of Reeder a little more, perhaps? Wait, that's not possible. Everything 0 from the layout, the service icons on the upper right, to the "unique" (and arguably less usable) search interface beneath the middle column, this is a straight-up copy of Reeder. (All the more jarring when the MacUpdate RSS item shows up inside Reeder itself!)
Like (2)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Hal2007
Hal2007
07 January 2013
It's even much more similar to the free Pocket software, to be found here: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/45799/pocket The introductory price is okay, however.
Like (1)
Julsa1
Julsa1
28 August 2013
This developer has his software available in time, Reeder doesn't have a OXS version at the moment (and will not for quite some time!) So, rip off of what exactly? An app that doesn't exist?
Like