Back to Found page
Found free download for Mac

Found Reviews

1.2.5
01 June 2013

Find files quickly across your Mac and personal cloud services.

June8
19 October 2012

Most helpful

There should be an option for not to display the menu bar icon. If I use hot key, why would I use menu bar icon? Menu bar space is important especially for small displays. Application opens on every login, but it also opens its window which I have to click on desktop to close it. If I want to open it, I use my hot key. It should not open its window on every login.
Like (3)
Version 1.2

Read 13 Found User Reviews

Rate this app:

prahaletna
18 March 2017
is not available on mac appstore anymore, where to download ?
Like
Version 1.2.5
polocanada
04 August 2015
Yes, very useful app, can search multiple Evernote accounts at the same time, the viewer is excellent, shows Evernote note including PDFs very fast etc.. The only issue with Found is it hasn't been updated for a long time and there is a huge memory leak issue. I observed it first on 10.6.8 but same issue is on 1.9.5 (I don't know if OSX versions between are affected). The NotelsFound background process (I assume it does the indexing) runs huge memory usage over period of time, it can be 2 or more Gig of RAM and it keeps doing something. Terminating it once a day is the only solution to recover the RAM it consumes. It will restart automatically after terminated and memory goes back to about 500MB, still a lot, but I guess it has to do with the enormous amount of notes I have (almost 20,000 notes in Evernote). There was another app called CloudMagic, it wasn't local, it was 3rd party cloud, but they no longer provide indexing of Evernote. Found is great tool, in particular if you are concerned about privacy, it indexes files locally. Services such as CloudMagic would access your Evernote files and store indexed data or who knows maybe even a copy of your notes on their servers, which could lead to issues with there is privacy breach. One more provide and server to worry about, as if there wasn't enough. That said - Found is a great tool and I hope it get its updates.
Like
Version 1.2.5
cubanpete
26 June 2015
This is fantastic. Thank you very much. Can instantly search in Dropbox, Evernote, SkyDrive, Google Drive/Docs, and Gmail (attachments). So I give 6 stars ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪
Like
Version 1.2.5
GianMarco-Tavazzani
05 February 2013
Guys, please help me... I come here often to 'exploit' your experience and compare software. In this case... is out there someone who has a good reason to suggest me to prefer this SW to EasyFind? :-)
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
2 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
23 June 2013
Late to your party, but it appears that this app is more geared to searching for files on your cloud services/storage areas, although it says it also searches across your Mac, whereas EasyFind seems to be primarily (solely?) for searching on your machine. If you are mainly interested in searches on your machine, then EasyFind is fuller featured.
Like (1)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
23 June 2013
Thank you so much, bbw7, for your 'late' reply, not 'too late' but VERY USEFUL, thanks!
Like
Hal2007
15 January 2013
Found has been bought by YouSendIt https://www.foundapp.com/press/pressreleases/20130115/yousendit-acquires-found/
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
Dejmac
29 October 2012
Phenomenal application! 5 stars!
Like
Version 1.2.2
June8
19 October 2012
There should be an option for not to display the menu bar icon. If I use hot key, why would I use menu bar icon? Menu bar space is important especially for small displays. Application opens on every login, but it also opens its window which I have to click on desktop to close it. If I want to open it, I use my hot key. It should not open its window on every login.
Like (3)
Version 1.2
Jazzyguy
18 October 2012
Great Little app. Finds whatever I want. No Problems or bugs that I can see.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Pembs
09 August 2012
OK app. Uses a lot of CPU and memory though. Also finds a lot of content in my gmail spam folder…
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
gravitime
07 August 2012
overall developers done a great job. but there are still some tiny issues. the hot key cannot be modified which is annoying. The preview image is way too big! covering hall monitor pixels. The app sometimes eat a lot memory and cpus donno why.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Eric•Woehler
15 July 2012
Have been trialling this and have found a couple of issues that stop me from using it. 1. Massive memory leak - after 10 or so minutes, Found is using between 400 and 800 MB of REAL memory. 2. Massive demand on CPU - even when not searching, Found is soaking 20%+ of CPU. Happy to work with dev if interested in exploring these issues.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Found Software, Inc.
Found Software, Inc.
23 July 2012
Hi, It does sound like there could be an issue. Would you email us at support AT foundapp.com and mention this discussion thread so that we can help dig into this? Thanks, Found
Like
F451
10 July 2012
Neat app, but if you are like me and have extensive data garnered over decades and on several large capacity hard drives then you'll be best to selectively choose what you wish indexed by Found. If not, Found will take an inordinate amount of time to index what you have.
Like
Version 1.1
Garyi
10 July 2012
Its very fast but the restrictions on the folders it searches pretty much rules it out for me right now. Certainly the amount of dross spotlight seems to drag up now means that apps like these will be great, but a happier medium needs to be sought. Allow us to add our own folders to the mix please! Cannot say thati fully understand the searching of dropbox etc, as they are just folders in your document folder like any other
Like
Version 1.1
4 answer(s)
F451
F451
10 July 2012
You should be able to that in v1.1. Just open the preferences and it will show your main drive at the top of list, click it, on the right-side choose the "+" and add a folder, other drive(s), or folders in other drives and you are good to go.
Like
Garyi
Garyi
11 July 2012
Thanks for that great update. I am seeing two issues now that were not present before. Firstly .indd files do not display in the preview (I have adoview installed to show these files) it was working in the last build. I acknowledge it could be ADOview which has also been updated. The other issue is with dual displays, when the tab on the side closes is sort of gets confused and closes into the other screen before abruptly disappearing. Like it was not expecting the other screen! Does not effect anything purely a visual thing
Like
Garyi
Garyi
11 July 2012
I also have a process running at 112% of CPU called 'fileisfound' Quiting found stops this process, so I think there is an issue with this build. Please email me if you want more detail
Like
Found Software, Inc.
Found Software, Inc.
23 July 2012
Hi, we just wanted to let you know we've gotten your feedback here. First, thanks F451 for pointing out our v1.1 release to add additional folders! Regarding the .indd files, there is sometimes an interaction with 3rd-party quicklook previewers where sometimes the previewers do unexpected things. We will be doing an update in the next month or so that will likely improve compatibility with non-standard quicklook previewers. We'll take a look at the dual display issue you've brought up. Regarding the CPU, that sounds like a potential issue. We'd like to get more info about what may be going on. Please email us at support AT foundapp.com and reference this discussion thread. Thanks! Found
Like