Back to OneDrive page
OneDrive free download for Mac

OneDrive Reviews21.220.1024

17 November 2021

Access your Microsoft OneDrive cloud storage account.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
dwpostbox
dwpostbox
May 31 2021
21.062.0328
0.0
May 31 2021
0.0
Version: 21.062.0328
Positively the biggest mistake I have ever made as far as cloud computing is concerned. I registered for Microsoft 365 and get ample cloud capacity to free my local hard drive of the things I will never delete but never look at again. I don't know how well this works on oyther platforms but trust me , if you use a Mac, stay well clear of Onedrive which is clearly an afterthought in the souls offices of Microsoft. It takes a full 15 minutes to sign in, and WILL crash the Mac OS if you store anything more than 2gb on the onedrive service. I am actively looking for an alternative source where I can safely store archive data. Onedrive (or iCloud for that matter) is not the solution . Can I give zero stars?
matthewlavis
matthewlavis
Nov 28 2020
20.169.0823
1.0
Nov 28 2020
1.0
Version: 20.169.0823
Breathtakingly poor - the hours wasted trying to synchronise large repos between machines. Please never use this awful awful software. Duplicate file issues, inability to see what is going except the spinning cursor of death. Even if it costs extra to use another file storage system, it is worth it. Life's too short to deal with this rubbish.
timdaudet
timdaudet
Sep 13 2020
20.134.0705
1.0
Sep 13 2020
1.0
Version: 20.134.0705
Purchased One Drive 1TB and thank God a one month free trial through the App Store. Uploaded Mac files but typical Windows BS the file names have to match exactly the dinosaur Windows protocol for file names - no symbols allowed in the file names. Have almost 6000 files and approximately 1000 files did not match the dinosaur Windows protocol for file names; kept asking me to repair the file names that did not match their protocol; gave up after two hours and removed OneDrive from my Mac. Lesson learned.
morten_hansen
morten_hansen
Jan 28 2020
19.222.1110
1.0
Jan 28 2020
1.0
Version: 19.222.1110
I have to admit that OneDrive in current version stinks. Every time I restart my Mac OneDrive either: - sync and download all my files (135 Gb) even though its setup to leave all files in the cloud - reset the account so I have to reconnect to all my Team and Sharepoint Sites What a f*cked up app.
mike-417
mike-417
Jul 4 2019
19.086.0502
1.0
Jul 4 2019
1.0
Version: 19.086.0502
I purchased an O365 subscription thru the app store expecting to get OneDrive with1Tb of storage and enhanced security features but only got the the basic 5GB version (v19.070.2410). How can this be rectified?
ecjb
ecjb
Mar 19 2019
19.012.0121
5.0
Mar 19 2019
5.0
Version: 19.012.0121
As part of my Office 365 subscription, I get 1TB of online storage. For the personal license, it allows 5 PC installs and up to 5 users sharing the Office 365 license - each with their own 1TB of OneDrive storage. The subscription price of $100 a year for the personal Office 365 subscription is worth the OneDrive storage all by itself - it's like getting MS Office for free. I actually have OneDrive for business since my O365 subscription is tied to my domain name that I have with GoDaddy, but the benefits of OneDrive are absolutely stellar. I use it on my Mac and Windows machines and automatically sync and back up my data to OneDrive and also access it on my mobile devices. The mobile app also allows for taking pictures of documents and converting them to PDF documents, automatically cropping and adjusting the photo to make it like the original document. I can't say enough about OneDrive.l
outer
outer
Mar 7 2019
19.012.0121
0.0
Mar 7 2019
0.0
Version: 19.012.0121
Meh. Won't launch if superfluous .lproj files have been removed (the lproj bundles are all signed). In 2019.
soarhevn
soarhevn
Dec 8 2018
18.212.1021
1.0
Dec 8 2018
1.0
Version: 18.212.1021
I really don't understand how these days Microsoft can make such a poor performing app. Consumes too much CPU while it's working.
mdgeek
mdgeek
Oct 29 2018
18.172.0826
1.0
Oct 29 2018
1.0
Version: 18.172.0826
Consumes way too much CPU time. A lot better options out there.
bothwellcoachouse
bothwellcoachouse
Sep 22 2018
18.151.0729
1.0
Sep 22 2018
1.0
Version: 18.151.0729
Totally unnecessary and it is Microsoft. Enough said!
FaithMan777
FaithMan777
Jul 4 2018
18.091.9506
1.0
Jul 4 2018
1.0
Version: 18.091.9506
I HATE OneDrive. It is user hostile. The way it displays files is archaic. Search is archaic and it looses files NO THANKS Microsoft!!!
valgrey
valgrey
Feb 17 2018
17.3.7294
3.5
Feb 17 2018
3.5
Version: 17.3.7294
good cloud based app
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
Feb 2 2018
17.3.7294
0.0
Feb 2 2018
0.0
Version: 17.3.7294
Sill no place holders, now that Google has Drive File Stream I'm turning to Google. How hard can it be for MS to make OneDrive modern?
studentrights
studentrights
Jun 5 2017
17.3.6798
5.0
Jun 5 2017
5.0
Version: 17.3.6798
The most recent '17.3.6798' update seems to have fixed syncing. We used the stand-alone installer instead of the AppStore version but as I understand it they are the same.

One one minor bug, the sync icons don't always update until you exit and re-enter a folder.

The only missing feature is contextual menu sharing; needs to be done via the website.

Other than that, I'm happy. We've kissed DropBox goodbye.

The next update should bring it up to Dropbox standards, if they fix the one bug and add the contextual menu feature.
Bezbozny
Bezbozny
Dec 24 2016
17.3.6724.1219
3.0
Dec 24 2016
3.0
Version: 17.3.6724.1219
Can not place the onedrive folder to my external drive....
paul-93
paul-93
Jun 1 2016
17.3.6389.0415
0.5
Jun 1 2016
0.5
Version: 17.3.6389.0415
Just awful! If you compare OneDrive to 21st century solutions such as Dropbox or Box, you will be shocked at how disappointed you will feel. Unlike the app name implies, a shared drive does not act as a single drive, but simply allows users to download files to their own computers. In that way, it's a lot like the old service Yousendit. Also, uploading files to OneDrive takes a LONG time, during which time your whole computer will slow to a crawl. In most cases, it would be far faster to drive to Staples, buy a USB key, copy your file onto that, and then drive to the person with whom you want to share your file. Microsoft's offering in the shared drive space is strictly for Windows users, where I assume it's OS integration makes the solution work more smoothly. However, given that Dropbox and Box already exist, there is absolutely no reason on earth to mess with a product as utterly inferior as OneDrive.
Jimmysmits
Jimmysmits
Apr 22 2016
17.3.6389.0415
0.0
Apr 22 2016
0.0
Version: 17.3.6389.0415
I'm done with OneDrive. I was using Arq with it for backups and OneDrive is slow for uploads and incredibly slow with syncing. Couldn't delete files with this app. Had to go into the web page and and select a low number of folders to delete each time because it wouldn't work with large numbers (dozens) of folders selected. Ended up using Amazon Cloud Drive for $60 a year and ODrive with a free account. Blazing fast, responsive, and unlimited.
ososX
ososX
Apr 9 2016
17.3.6378.0329
0.0
Apr 9 2016
0.0
Version: 17.3.6378.0329
I just received an email from M$ - OneDrive that they DECREASE my free cloud volume from 15G to 5G ... this company is unbelievable ! As the service is a part of the product in the case of cloud applications I find it justified to give them 1/2 star for the service (the application is not much either).
Wts
Wts
Sep 28 2015
17.3.5930
0.0
Sep 28 2015
0.0
Version: 17.3.5930
Too bad it does not work with Mac OS 10.6 ( SNOW LEOPARD ).
Superultramegagigabyte
Superultramegagigabyte
Sep 7 2015
17.3.5907
5.0
Sep 7 2015
5.0
Version: 17.3.5907
What is better - MS OneDrive or DropBox? Are there any other alternatives? What to use for editing different documents in a team?
laldo
laldo
Aug 11 2015
17.3.5907
4.0
Aug 11 2015
4.0
Version: 17.3.5907
Typical Microsoft application. Nothing more and nothing less.
Dano45
Dano45
Feb 15 2015
17.3.4501
0.5
Feb 15 2015
0.5
Version: 17.3.4501
Had to download it from the MAS. The download happened and the file disappeared - did not show up in /Applications. Was therefore unusable.
helmersgoran
helmersgoran
Jan 15 2015
17.3.4501
0.5
Jan 15 2015
0.5
Version: 17.3.4501
It is as all other Microsoft products. Takes a lot of CPU and drains memory. It is so bad that you can't use it. Sad for a nice app that it is so poorly written.
Xenophile
Xenophile
Dec 27 2014
17.3.4501
4.0
Dec 27 2014
4.0
Version: 17.3.4501
OneDrive offers 15GB of free storage, not 7GB as the title on this page states: https://onedrive.live.com/about/en-us/plans/ The maximum size limit for individual files is 10GB, as stated in the OneDrive FAQ: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/onedrive-app-faq DropBox is stuck at 2GB free and iCloud Drive wallows at 5GB free. Thus we have three competitors offering 15GB of free storage: Google Drive, Copy, and OneDrive. The decision of which to use comes down to compatibility with one's needs. OneDrive has Microsoft's usual limitations on file name characters and length, and yes MS still calls incompatible characters "illegal". It's just enough to remind me of why I so dislike MS products and so I use Google Drive and Copy for the few files I need to share/sync.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Dec 20 2014
17.3.4501
4.0
Dec 20 2014
4.0
Version: 17.3.4501
The amount of space available on my OneDrive is good but the limitation of file with a maximum of 10 GB is annoying! Follow the example of the Dropbox and exclude the maximum file size limit! Or at least substantially increase this limit! Something like 500 GB per file size max. See my OneDrive with +10TB ( 10.291GB ): https://cl.ly/Z41m/My_OneDrive_10TB.png
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
Jun 12 2014
17.0.4043
0.0
Jun 12 2014
0.0
Version: 17.0.4043
Works without issues on Yosemite
Vince-nt
Vince-nt
Feb 25 2014
17.0.4031.0219
4.0
Feb 25 2014
4.0
Version: 17.0.4031.0219
OneDrive would be a real challenger to Dropbox... if it were able to correctly sync iWork 2013 (package) files. Actually, I cannot understand why Apple revert, once again, to package file for iWork.
tno
tno
Feb 24 2014
17.0.4031.0219
2.5
Feb 24 2014
2.5
Version: 17.0.4031.0219
The OneDrive app doesn’t support a case-sensative formated drive. And, looking at Microsoft support pages, the team doesn’t intend to add this support. Well, I’m not inclined to reformat my case-sensative drive. "Your OneDrive folder can't be created in the location you selected. Try a different location. Make sure that the location isn't on a removable drive, or on a disk that has a case-sensitive format.”
davee4249
davee4249
Feb 5 2014
17.0
0.0
Feb 5 2014
0.0
Version: 17.0
This was working but I reinstalled the app & now is stalling when I get to the select your local skydrive folder. After I click the button the finder window does not appear & I have to eventually close. Any ideas iMac / Maverick
IssacA3620
IssacA3620
Jan 23 2014
17.0
4.0
Jan 23 2014
4.0
Version: 17.0
SkyDrive easily organizes all our files and folders on cloud for accessibility from anyplace, anytime. All we have to do is drag and drop the files or folders to be saved on cloud into the skydrive folder. Excellent way to save up on some space. 7gb is good enough for saving pics from over the years. Note: It works only on Lion.
FoziaD3405
FoziaD3405
Dec 26 2013
17.0
2.5
Dec 26 2013
2.5
Version: 17.0
I tried to download and install the Skydrive app but it didnt work. I did an update to Mountain Lion on my pc and after that Skydrive app will not start anymore. I also questioned here http://forums.techarena.in/technology-internet/1472692.htm but none of the replies are worth it. Do you have any other suggestions on how to get skydrive working on Mountain Lion ? TYIA
MDS
MDS
Jul 28 2013
17.0
3.0
Jul 28 2013
3.0
Version: 17.0
We chose this over DropBox b/c we had several users that needed the ability to simultaneously edit the same Excel file which worked great until the Excel file was larger than 5MB which is the current limit of what the Web App can handle which stinks since even the most of spreadsheets can easily be larger than 5MB. Another problem we've seen with SD is sync issues--b/c it's a MS product it's a lot more finicky about using certain illegal characters in the file names and limits the full file pathnames to only 256 characters. My suggestion is if you have an existing file structure you're moving to SD then make sure you scrutinize file names and file path lengths. We used "A Better Finder Rename" to scrub illegal characters automatically. Still, even after all that there are sometimes sync issues--not sure why either as the error reporting is quite vague.
larrymcj
larrymcj
Jul 28 2013
17.0
5.0
Jul 28 2013
5.0
Version: 17.0
One of the few things Microsoft gets right. I also use Dropbox, and have used Google Drove and Box...but for those of us who need to still use Microsoft Office, this is a far better choice. More storage, it's faster, it's easier to use, the online user interface is cleaner...it's just better.
Imho
Imho
Jul 28 2013
17.0
3.5
Jul 28 2013
3.5
Version: 17.0
Isn't that strange: on November 18, 2012, I downloaded SkyDrive version 17.0. And today Microsoft offers as a new version ... 17.0. Is this really a new version or is it the same one I downloaded more than half a year ago? Please MacUpdate, could you handle this? It occurs more and more that version numbers don't match with older ones.
bbw7
bbw7
Jun 23 2013
17.0
0.0
Jun 23 2013
0.0
Version: 17.0
Evidently Microsoft is in cahoots with Apple in its scheme to force Snow Leopard users to upgrade to the crappier, more consumerist-oriented 10.7+ Apple OS's. In any case, there is at least one app, MacDropAny, that supports uploading to SkyDrive -- as well as many of the other usual suspects of cloud storage providers. https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/37029/macdropany
THEE:LEE
THEE:LEE
May 15 2013
17.0
5.0
May 15 2013
5.0
Version: 17.0
Didn't know this app existed until today - and now I am happy. Not happy with the changes to the Skydrive website yesterday though!
Db2
Db2
Apr 17 2013
17.0
5.0
Apr 17 2013
5.0
Version: 17.0
My 'go to' cloud service for sending large images and documents. Haven't had a single problem with the service. Dropbox has given me some headaches in the past and Logmein's share from the desktop is only good if you keep your computer on and the connection is stable.
iMacintosh
iMacintosh
Mar 3 2013
17.0
5.0
Mar 3 2013
5.0
Version: 17.0
It's not about Microsoft which i totally hate.It's about 7 GB from secure and trusted service from Microsoft which i totally trust(unlike Google The biggest information's robber in the whole world).Upload and download speed is awesome.everything is tidy and pretty sweet.It Could be a big help for everyone on us. Cheers,guys
trungpt
trungpt
Jan 1 2013
17.0
5.0
Jan 1 2013
5.0
Version: 17.0
I really like this tool. Just wish some minor improvements such as adding web links, uploading with filters, automatic splitting into smaller files.
anonymous-skink-4656
anonymous-skink-4656
Dec 7 2012
17.0
2.0
Dec 7 2012
2.0
Version: 17.0
Works very well, I did not notice any problems with this program. (OS 10.8.2) Uses half as much memory than dropbox, but there is no option to create a link to a file directly from your hard drive. You have to use the browser.
GymW
GymW
Nov 16 2012
6007.724
0.0
Nov 16 2012
0.0
Version: 6007.724
Version 17 of the just came out and it seems to run OK in 10.8.2. SkyDrive so far is the best thing I have seen from Microsoft in years. Windows may be terrible but SkyDrive is what iCloud should have been. My initial impression is that it is an excellent replacement for Mobile Me as well as iCloud and not near as confusing. It supports photo sharing as well, which was taken out of iCloud when Mobile Me was dumped. Microsoft seems to have a winner here and Apple should be taking some lessons from it in respect to iCloud. I may be a die hard Mac fan but I call them as I see them and so far SkyDrive seems to be a clear winner. However I must admit that the SkyDrive menu icon is a bit ugly for my tastes - a very minor flaw. However I have yet to put it through its paces which could cause me to eat my words later. For those looking for a place to share photos that is free, with iCloud features, I strongly suggest you take a serious look at SkyDrive.
Kidsdoc
Kidsdoc
Jul 31 2012
16.4
0.0
Jul 31 2012
0.0
Version: 16.4
Broke under OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion). Keeps saying there is a problem accessing the keychain.
Jeremyan
Jeremyan
Jul 10 2012
16.4
3.0
Jul 10 2012
3.0
Version: 16.4
Why is it scanning files like less than every 10s. And it will use 100% CPU for a couple of seconds. I don't see Dropbox do it. I think it is poor design on Microsoft's part. Sometimes it doesn't sync files back either. I don't know whether this frequent scanning would damage your hard drive or SSD?
Garyi
Garyi
May 18 2012
16.4
1.5
May 18 2012
1.5
Version: 16.4
Well I seem to be the only one, but this service is cripplingly slow. I am on a 50Mb/s connection but download never peeks above 200kb/s it literally takes hours to download and upload the smallest of files. Running 10.7.4. Even took the effort to do a clean OS onto a clean HD and try again, but still stupid slow. I guess its a UK thing. But not greatly impressed, especially as I paid for the upgrade
LongDec08
LongDec08
Apr 30 2012
16.4
2.5
Apr 30 2012
2.5
Version: 16.4
Everything I've read online about SkyDrive makes it sound like it's Mac compatible but that is very misleading. Yes it works seamlessly with Office for Mac but that's about it. I installed and tested it out this morning but just putting some of my old iDisk files in my document folder. SkyDrive responded with 39 errors!! Thirty Nine!! Now I'm expected to go back and rename all my files and folders so I can sync with SkyDrive? The other issue is having to use symbolic links like others have mentioned here. Just because it will create a folder in finder and sync it doesn't mean it's Mac compatible. To their credit, the iOS app for iPhone is pretty smooth. Microsoft has been reeling for years now and I was excited to see what appeared to be such a great new initiative. The online reviews have been great and you can't beat the value. Sadly, after using the product I'm once again reminded that they just don't get it. That's why I switched to Mac in the first place.
Fhall1
Fhall1
Apr 25 2012
16.4
4.5
Apr 25 2012
4.5
Version: 16.4
So far so good...integrates nicely with Finder. Brought down all my existing SkyDrive files to the Mac with no issues. Sync seems to be fairly quick. A free 25GB (I was grandfathered in) of cloud storage space is great!
wolfmaniac
wolfmaniac
Apr 24 2012
16.4
3.5
Apr 24 2012
3.5
Version: 16.4
Well it seems for me it is not syncing folder which are symbolic linked to others. Is anyone else is facing same problem ?
MacBunny
MacBunny
Apr 24 2012
16.4
3.0
Apr 24 2012
3.0
Version: 16.4
Seems to work fine, but does not handle some characters and gives a warning on sync. This does not happen in Dropbox.
Endorphinity
Endorphinity
Apr 24 2012
16.4
2.0
Apr 24 2012
2.0
Version: 16.4
Microsoft's page for Skydrive application nowhere mentions that Lion is required. So, after getting it on MacBook Pro with Lion I was unpleasantly surprised it has unpacked into unsupported architecture application on another MacBook with Snow Leopard.