Back to Avira Antivirus page
Avira Antivirus free download for Mac

Avira Antivirus Reviews

3.10.12.10
19 February 2019

Free antivirus/anti-malware package.

Tetsuo29
03 March 2015

Most helpful

Unusable. Moved files to quarantine without asking me first. Then it was unable to restore those files. Then, every time I launched Mail, it would quarantine more files yanking them out from under Mail and causing Mail to continually crash. Had to uninstall it. Contacted the company to let them know about the problems with their product. They emailed me back to say that users of the free product must use self support or buy a license. Searched the self support options just to see if there was a solution- didn't find anything. Terrible experience. I will not be using any Avira products or recommending them to anyone.
Like (11)
Version 0.0.1

Read 45 Avira Antivirus User Reviews

Rate this app:

Tomjwright
08 August 2019
Installed last week on Mojave. Removed this morning after discovering it caused long delays in some actions on Safari and inhibited moving items in Dock. I really don't know if it is effective in protecting against viruses, but I can't tolerate the other effects of this software.
Like
Version 3.10.12.10
ShotBlocker
20 September 2018
Dear Avira, The 3.10.4 Improvements as written above are poorly worded English. I note that they are the same as here: https://answers.avira.com/en/question/changelog-17286 The first bullet point should read: Avira Antivirus for Mac 3.10.4 is compatible with macOS 10.14 "Mojave." The second bullet point should read: Installation on macOS10.14 (or later) has an extended setup process, which requires administrator permissions. (Right? If not, please define "user permissions." And how do you know that "later" installations will also require extended setup.?They haven't even been released in beta.) The third bullet point is incomprehensible. I'm going to guess that what you mean to say is, "If Avira Antivirus for Mac is already installed on a computer that is being upgraded to macOS 10.14 "Mojave," the first time the program is run (after the macOS upgrade) the user will be asked to supply the administrator password. Dear MacUpdate: Please change "Will Avira Antivirus work good on macOS 10.13.4?" to "Will Avira Antivirus work well on macOS 10.13.4?" "Good" is not an adverb, it's an adjective. German companies are excused for occasional improper English. You are not. I'll just add a note here to thank all the reviewers. The more detail you can provide the better. There are so many entries in the Mac AV "space, it's almost impossible to sort through them all. Feels like a minefield. ClamXAV 3 works well for me, and though it isn't free, I've used it for over a decade and am happy to support Mark Allan. I don't use the "real time" feature. Intego Virus Scanner also seems to work well, is free, and has no real time feature. Malwarebytes for Mac seems fine as far as it goes (trapping existing infections of common malware) but does it do anything beyond that? The marketing hype is insufferable. ("Crushes the threat of Mac malware!") Avira seems like it's OK, but the lack of recent positive reviews makes me wary. Ah uh, heh, I *always* want to know if these programs have an installer that actually uninstalls everything.
Like (2)
Version 3.10.4.36
Rochade
06 April 2018
While the app works fine it consumes 100% CPU almost all the time so I had to uninstall it.
Like (1)
Version 3.9.5.83
Lightning
21 March 2018
Avira not working for me with latest version of Mac OS (macOS 10.13.4 (17E190a)).
Like
Version 3.9.4.50
Macguruguy
24 January 2018
Not compatible with OS 10.3.3. Freezes up. Had to uninstall.
Like
Version 3.9.4.50
3 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
15 August 2018
Why rate it then ? It could be a very good app even if not work under last Apple system. I use El Capitan and a review telling it doesn't work under a specific System can be usefull, but a bad rating like yours for your reason has nothing to do here.
Like (3)
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
24 August 2018
What? These reviews are based on the latest version.
Like
Tom-25
Tom-25
24 August 2018
The last version of the software, but maybe not of the system. I'm a developper and I'm still under El Capitan. I can upload an update of my apps which could not work with the last Apple System without I know it. It happened in the past, people sent me a email, but it's not because of that that a application become a bad software.
Like (2)
gamezr01
10 December 2017
This ain't no crap review! Like the new Malwarebytes, Avira acts like a malware by drastically slowing down my Macbook's boot time. Turning off real time protection has no effect. Another AV/malware app goes into the trash!
Like
Version 3.9.1.29
Macguruguy
10 November 2017
No longer works properly in High Sierra (10.13 & 10.13.1). Often disables itself on startup, and will not allow Real-Time Protection to be enabled. I have used this software for many years, and it has never behaved this way.
Like
Version 3.9.1.29
Glidagida
31 October 2017
I have used Avira for at least a year and endorse tvalleau's comments. Quite simply it is the best antivirus software i have used. Before I installed it I ran it against 3-4 competitors and it detected everything when others signed off on a clean system. Never had any performance issues while running under OS10.10
Like
Version 3.9.1.29
RogerKatz
25 June 2017
The current version is 3.8.2.35
Like
Version 3.5.2.61
Foulger
08 June 2017
Like ALL other antivirus apps, it will cause 10.13 beta1 to crash. I'm sure a fix will come quickly and will no doubt be related to APFS.
Like
Version 3.5.2.61
Weasel
17 March 2017
The newest v 3.5.2.61 needs OS 10.11 not 10.9 according to Avira's Website. The older version 3.4.3 works fine on OS 10.9.
Like
Version 3.5.2.61
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
03 February 2017
Avira is very easy to use. You can schedule a scan, set the scan type and see any quarantined files a scan finds. However, I found there is a significant difference in performance between a quick scan and a deep scan of my computer. The quick scan ran efficiently, took only a few minutes and did not affect system performance. The deep scan took two and-a-half hours and slowed down some other apps dramatically. Nevertheless, the deep scan found 40-odd bad files that the quick scan overlooked, though they were all in e-mail in the junk folder and were thus non-threatening. There is a button to select all the quarantined files and another to delete them, so the process was painless. You can inspect individual quarantined files if you are uncertain if you want to remove them. My conclusion is to schedule a quick scan daily and to do a deep scan manually, less often and only when I can walk away from the computer for a few hours. In the meantime, I deleted Sophos Home; while it is also free, it has become harder to use in recent versions and lacks the kind of control Avira offers. Sophos shows an alert when it finds a bad file, but there's nothing you can do about it. So you don't know if Sophos removed the file or not. Given how many files Avira found, apparently Sophos does nothing about the files it flags.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.2.61
1 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
04 February 2017
I have to make a correction. My version of Eudora OSA became sluggish. However it is not connected to the Avira deep scan. It was just coincidence that I noticed the slowdown while the scan was running.
Like
tjekov37
16 November 2016
Did you know, how worked Avira Firewall ? Not have any settings ??? Did she worked simultaneosly with MAC OS Firewall?
Like
Version 3.4.3.52
1 answer(s)
Avira Operations GmbH & Co.
Avira Operations GmbH & Co.
08 September 2017
It enables or disabled the macOS Firewall.
Like
Thinking-Differently
15 September 2016
Does it work well? Hard to tell.

In my testing it did claim to find lots of malware in emails. But the user interface is a bit of a pain in the behind. I like to at least know something about a file before I delete it. In this case, some minimal information would help, like is it in mail, or elsewhere. But, if you want to look at these supposed infected files, you have to click on them one at a time to see what they are, what they have and where they are.

This extra level is unnecessary and a pain, particularly if a lot of files are reported to be infected.

The user interface is minimal.

I’d be very willing to pay for some more “bells and whistles.” Their web site says that if you want to buy the “Pro” version for an extra $44.99, it isn’t remotely clear what you get for that $$$, except perhaps a lower balance in your bank account.

One and a half stars removed for the above shortcomings.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.0.490
1 answer(s)
tjekov37
tjekov37
16 November 2016
For "Pro" version we getting SUPPORT, and offten malware update ONLY !!!!! Thats it :-(((
Like (1)
Big Johnson
07 August 2016
Avira scored in the top two apps for virus detection, but 15th (out of 19) for false positives in testing performed in March 2016. http://goo.gl/rvzQxa Kaspersky did well on both tests, but has a lousy rating here on MU. Testing was done by this site: http://goo.gl/naqw0F That site has a lot of useful test results, including spam detection. NOTE: Not all software tested is Mac software, so be mindful of that.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.0.490
1 answer(s)
tjekov37
tjekov37
17 November 2016
This test is for Windows malware, not for MAC OSX !!!!!
Like (1)
tvalleau
12 July 2016
Just to counter the "crap" review... I've used this for about a year now. It never got locked in a loop for me, nor did it cause any problems. In fact, I tested this over 6 other AV solutions, and found Avira to have the best catch record, and have the lowest impact on system resources (particularly in regards to file copying & drive cloning.) After nearly 40 years with computers, it's my opinion that one-off horrible reviews are FAR more likely to be unique to that single person's computer. If a product is truly a disaster, there will be dozens or hundreds of reviews saying so... not just one. Of course, YMMV
Like (5)
Version 3.3.0.490
4 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
07 August 2016
I was going to defend Tom46 and ask you if any review that differs from yours or the majority of other reviews is "crap" in your opinion.

Tom has been a member here since Nov. 2012 and has posted several reviews and comments. I have no reason to believe he invented a story so he could post a bogus review.

However, since Tom posted that same review for two different apps on the same day, he's indefensible.
Tom46 also posted that review for Bitdefender Antivirus on 5/16/16. https://goo.gl/pjujJT

It's highly unlikely that Tom had identical problems with the two apps. It's more likely that Tom mistakenly posted a review for one app, then realized his mistake and posted it again on another.
And then failed to contact MU to have the first one removed (it's very easy Tom, I've had posts removed before upon request).
Like (3)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
24 July 2017
I agree 100% with tvalleau. I too have used Avira's anti-virus for more than a year on 3 computers (2 Macbook Air's and 1 older Macbook) without ANY issues or ANY sign of slowdowns. It seems completely transparent to me. I have it scheduled to run a Quickscan daily and a full scan at 1:00am on Sunday nights. It automatically updates its virus database daily.

I've tried quite a number of AV apps over the last 25 years, including Sophos, ClamXAV, AVG, and (way back) Norton. None of these apps were transparent and most (not ClamXAV) caused visible slowdowns on my computers.

I am impressed by Avira and I am trying their free browser add-on's -- one for safe searching and another for privacy protection. My only issue with it is that I would prefer to have a bit more detail regarding what it has scanned.
Like
Glidagida
Glidagida
31 October 2017
I have used Avira for at least a year and endorse tvalleau's comments. Quite simply it is the best antivirus software i have used. Before I installed it I ran it against 3-4 competitors and it detected everything when others signed off on a clean system. Never had any performance issues while running under OS10.10
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
02 December 2017
I agree totally. I've also tested a lot of Mac anti-virus apps and find Avira to be superior to all of them... it's fast, not a RAM hog, simple to operate, does not bog down the CPU when running, has a A+ reputation in comparisons, constantly updates its virus database, 0 false positives, etc. And, it's FREE. What more could you ask.
Like
Tom46
16 May 2016
A total piece of crap. It got lost in a loop and I had to force quit. Then the uninstaller got lost in a loop and I had to shut down the system and restore it form a backup clone.
Like
Version 3.2.4.56
RogerKatz
05 April 2016
The current version 3.2.5.5
Like
Version 3.2.4.56
KarmaBogus
03 March 2016
I must agree with Tetsuo29, this version (probably a few before this one too) is causing Mail to continually crash. For example, 12 new emails in the mailbox, I get notifications like "Detection handled: 83. For more details, see the log records." 5 or 6 times in a row. When I finally get to check what has been put in quarantine, it sais that it is empty even tho I didn't set the preferences to delete the files. I mean a couple hundred detections handled in 12 emails containing at most 1 file each... ? Needless to say that it is now uninstalled and that it will take a lot of time before I even consider installing it again. Maybe it was the best free antivirus/malware once, maybe it ca detect virus/malware very well, but for now, i'll stay away from this problematic application !
Like (3)
Version 3.2.4.56
norman-walker
10 November 2015
As slick as your Mac and just as simple. Avira Free Antivirus for Mac offers award-winning protection against over 30 million daily threats. With 100% detection rates in the latest AV test, Avira surpasses the protection offered by most paid-for solutions. Resource-light, fast and customizable, Avira Free Antivirus for Mac runs silently in the background with minimal notifications.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.3.37
1 answer(s)
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
09 August 2016
It is quite a nice product for free. And I'd be willing to pay $$, for it, if the paid version fixed certain annoyances. But, when I go to the web site (U.S.A. web site), I can't find any description of what one gets extra for the $$.
Like
Steve K
24 September 2015
I'm not sure how many stars to deduct for an annoyance like this, so I'll abstain from leaving a rating for the time being because I actually like the app. But I hate that there is no way to quit Avira from the menu bar. And you can't remove the menu bar icon at all, even after you quit the app. So in the trash it goes Avira fixes this.
Like (5)
Version 3.1.0.42
1 answer(s)
norman-walker
norman-walker
10 November 2015
We thought about this feature already but it was not for free in implementation. ;). We put in our development backlog and will look if we can implement in the future.
Like
JiiiM
11 September 2015
Avira s***s. My Internet Security seems to be working better.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.0.42
2 answer(s)
norman-walker
norman-walker
10 November 2015
What are your problems? You want to give the new version a try?
Like
atumra23
atumra23
19 January 2017
I love Avira, never had any issue so far. Fast and light on system resources, installed after reading some reviews here: http://www.couponbuffer.com/coupons/avira/
Like
imapados
17 June 2015
Version 3 is a big improvement. It works fine in the background and has a clean interface. :)
Like (3)
Version 3.1.0.42
cabastrax
15 June 2015
In my experience Avira Free Antivirus for Mac is one of the best, if not the best AntiVirus tools for Macs. It is slim, doesn't consume too much much ressources, does not slow down a recent Mac and has a very good protection. Most critics here seem to be based on the lack of knowledge. You can configure Avira to ask you what to do for each detection. The interface is nice and self explaining. Imo Avira for Mac is better than most other Mac Antivirus tools andfor sure the best free Antivirus one does get for macs these days.
Like (2)
Version 0.0.1
Tetsuo29
03 March 2015
Unusable. Moved files to quarantine without asking me first. Then it was unable to restore those files. Then, every time I launched Mail, it would quarantine more files yanking them out from under Mail and causing Mail to continually crash. Had to uninstall it. Contacted the company to let them know about the problems with their product. They emailed me back to say that users of the free product must use self support or buy a license. Searched the self support options just to see if there was a solution- didn't find anything. Terrible experience. I will not be using any Avira products or recommending them to anyone.
Like (11)
Version 0.0.1
4 answer(s)
norman-walker
norman-walker
10 November 2015
In the settings is the possibility to configure that on every detection you should be asked before. Then you can decide, if you want it do be deleted, moved into quarantine or if nothing should happen.
Like
mike-110
mike-110
07 March 2016
Hit the same problem. Mail constantly crashing since I installed Avira.
Like
norman-walker
norman-walker
07 March 2016
Hi Mike_110. If you Disable Real-Time Protection and delete some spam mails that could be detected you still have the problem?
Like
mike-110
mike-110
07 March 2016
Avira, thanks for getting back to me, but I've uninstalled Avira now so I can't do any experiments. Sorry, I'd like to help but I need access to my email!
Like
Mcr
22 January 2015
Detailed malware detection test results are regularly posted here for nearly 2 dozen products, free and paid: http://securityspread.com/detection-rate-results/ These are very detailed, showing EXACTLY by name for each malware/virus if it is detected or not, for each product, then products are ranked 95%, 85%, 75% etc based on detection rates. Historical results are maintained so you can compare over time, and you do see product results change with each test (done every month to every 3 months depending on whether there are any new reported malware in the field, and a sample can be obtained for testing). I've done a bit of research on the site and tester, to make sure it was not one of those 'sponsored' sites by a vendor that are made to appear as objective, neutral reviews. The fact that the product rankings change constantly AND that the results are very specific and listed in detail, further support that this site and the tester are very objective. In fact this is exactly the kind of site and test results, that vendors DON'T want you to see, even the ones that do well on the test (because no product is 100%). I am posting this to support the Mac Community. When we are all better informed when it comes to this important area of security in this day of cyber threats, we all benefit. Education and information is the best defense, (as with so many things in life). For example, if someone uses MacKeeper because they don't know better, then in some ways the community failed for not getting the word out. If after doing some research and being advised not to use MacKeeper, someone still chooses to do so, then you can't help that, but hopefully it wasn't because there wasn't information available. My aim is not to support or dissuade anyone about a particular product, you pick / use or don't use whatever product you want, and live with the consequences, just remember that your decision can effect others, by virtue of whether you are part of stopping the spread, or being a part of it. I highly recommend you don't just look at the current results, but look at the past ones as well. You WILL see trends, with some products consistently doing well and others not so much, and some moving up and down. Remember, an A/V product rests on two main things, the scanning engine AND the malware database. A great engine can be crippled if the database is not updated in a timely manner. Conversely, a vendor that does maintain a current database might still not be effective if the program itself is buggy. This site only ONLY addresses virus detection results, it does not in general make any conclusions or post results regarding performance, installation, support, UI, etc.
Like (1)
Version 0.0.1
Macguruguy
13 September 2014
Version 2.0.7.40: Running on Yosemite 10.10 public beta 2. Getting a lot of fan noise while running on 2011 Mac Mini (core i7). Other than that, seems to be running fine
Like
Version 0.0.1
1 answer(s)
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
13 September 2014
By the way, same version seems to run fine on Mavericks 10.9.4.
Like
gryphonent
12 July 2014
Avira keeps flagging a lot of email messages that are not spam. When you send them in to Avira for assessment you get a reply that they are not spam. yet, you cannot teach the app to learn that these messages are not spam. Very frustrating experience. And when you click on “more details” you’re told “no details available.” Oh well, it’s free. What did I expect?
Like (2)
Version 0.0.1
2 answer(s)
tjekov37
tjekov37
14 August 2014
Yes, but "PRO"- version for Win is with same problem too !
Like
cabastrax
cabastrax
15 June 2015
Avira for Mac has no spam protection. Therefor it is kinda nonsense what you are writing. In case your e-mails do have malware infected attachments, Avira Antivirus does what is expected when marking such e-mails.
Like
anonymous-trout-1840
25 February 2014
I've tested many AV apps and this one detects almost all Mac malware. It's lightweight, so the protection is basic. It doesn't have a web shield like Sophos and Avast, but that's okay with me. These shields give problems with Little Snitch and 1Password. Those utilities must work on my iMac, so Avira is the best choice for me.
Like (1)
Version 0.0.1
1 answer(s)
Macmuser
Macmuser
13 May 2014
I use Sophos with 1Password and have no problems with the two running concurrently. I recall there was something you had to set properly in one or other package. Probably best to check their user forums.
Like
mayax
25 January 2014
Get the latest AV detection comparison chart here: http://securityspread.com/detection-rate-results/ I keep wondering if my AV is good enough, and every now and then check macupdate to see what users are recommending; but never know who or what to believe. Anyway, I came across this website and thought I'd share it with people that would like a more conclusive update and comparison between numerous AVs.
Like (3)
Version 0.0.1
tjekov37
19 January 2014
Not have serious FIX !!!! Guys when you can work for MAC users, not only for Win users? For this new version you make only cosmetic changes !!!!!! Sorry for my English, but i know that you understanding me !
Like
Version 0.0.1
Penguirl
17 April 2013
Made my 2.8 Mac Pro unusable, had to hard shut-down and safe-boot just to login and uninstall. Then I had to re-map my login script items because the system no longer knew where they were. Bad, bad, bad.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.0.64-9
3 answer(s)
tjekov37
tjekov37
16 July 2013
Hi again . How are you? :-) This version working well with ML 10.8.4 ! Did you tested with 10.8.4 ? 4 stars from me :-)
Like
tjekov37
tjekov37
28 September 2013
Version: 1.0.0.64-12 is the latest !
Like
Valdimar-Thor-H
Valdimar-Thor-H
12 January 2014
Has worked as promised by Avira, from the beginning, on my iMac. Perfect.
Like
foolishservant
06 March 2013
Not too shabby, hardly notice it. Better than Sophos I think and the reviews I’ve seen say it’s better at detecting viruses.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0.64-9
2 answer(s)
tjekov37
tjekov37
21 September 2013
But Avira have basic protection, not traffic-internet ,and e-mail protection than Eset or Avast or Sophos !!!
Like (1)
foolishservant
foolishservant
19 January 2014
Amen bruh! Switched to Avast and happy.
Like
Tiyak
08 September 2012
Used to have Sophos AV installed but the latest versions were giving my Macbook some slowdowns, specially while browsing the net and copying files. So, I've decided to try Avira again. Must say that this version is working pretty well. Very light and stable. No issues so far. Seems they've really improved since their first releases. And yes, Mac users need an AV. There are no viruses but there are trojans, rootkits, java exploits and other kind of malware that affects ALL operating systems. It's wise to have some extra protection.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0.64-9
Geofrant
01 August 2012
Is there really any need for a Mac anti-virus? In my 5+ years experience as a Mac user I've yet to see a single infection.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0.64-9
7 answer(s)
MacBill
MacBill
01 August 2012
You have a valid point. However Avira also detects malware of various types in addition to virus detection. And, better safe than sorry.
Like
Hal2007
Hal2007
01 August 2012
I refuse to buy safety by losing performance. That's by far the most important factor for me. Does Avira slow down your Mac?
Like
MacBill
MacBill
01 August 2012
Avira is FREE! I have not tested for it slowing my MacBookPro. However I have not physically noticed any slowdown.
Like (1)
Grinson
Grinson
02 August 2012
Mac still need the protection form av app, but I already have avast with me, and it works fine on my Lion. So I will not change to Avira.
Like (3)
MacBill
MacBill
02 August 2012
I tried Avast. I noticed an obvious slowdown especially while browsing the internet.
Like (1)
Hal2007
Hal2007
02 August 2012
OT Worst thing in Avast is that you have to switch off SSL in your mail accounts' incoming servers, in order to not get overwhelmed by numerous popup error windows. That fact drives most users away from it.
Like
tjekov37
tjekov37
29 January 2014
http://securityspread.com/history-of-mac-malware/
Like
MacBill
01 August 2012
I have used Avira Free with Microsoft Windows and liked it. So I decided to give it a try. When I used it with Lion I would get an error when updating all in one. But now on Mountain Lion it has worked great so far. Sophos has it's problems right now so Avira is a good option for me. It could be for you too. It scanned and completed without errors during installation. It has been updating the detections like it should. And now I did an all in one update without any errors. I call that successful.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0.64-9
The-Equalizer
18 July 2012
Decided to try this after reading positive reviews on various websites. What a disaster! I thought my MacBook had died. Everything stopped. Had to boot from another volume to uninstall any and all components of this dreadful software. If I recall, I had to do the same thing on a PC three years ago. I'm sticking with COMODO for now. Stay away from this.
Like
Version 1.0.0.61
Penguirl
25 May 2012
Of the A/V apps I've tried, Avira seems to be the no-frills of the bunch. As far as I could tell it has scheduled scans and manual scans, but if it has on-demand scans it wasn't apparent to me. The preferences are not the clearest I've seen, but it didn't seem to slow down my QC Mac Pro.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0.61
Pir-anha
16 April 2012
free is nice, but for something this important i'd happily pay if it had the right features. avira unfortunately doesn't at this time. there's no way to tell it that certain files it has detected (and moved!) should be left alone in the future -- false positives, for one, files in transition to my windows VM for another. i can't set it to update the virus definitions automatically (i really don't want to be interrupted for that every day, and in addition it needs me to bring up the main app for something that should at most be one click). there's no way to enlarge the main window so i can at least read what it found without having to go to a details page. i can't turn off the "real-time protection". and it seems to eat my system alive; too much of a load.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0.61
A1D
05 April 2012
Very buggy
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0.61
Hal2007
30 March 2012
Is it just me, or does Avira issue no warning dialogue when it finds some virus? There isn't even an option. It just keeps on removing the malware silently. I'd really like to be notified of that process. Really.
Like
Version 1.0.0.61
1 answer(s)
Hal2007
Hal2007
01 April 2012
Silly me. Found the setting in preferences. Wasn't all too obvious, though.
Like
Franztoo
28 March 2012
My PC started to behave weird under Lion right after installation and hung after restart. I had to start in safe mode and use the uninstaller which I found in the utilities folder. Could have been my configuration so only 3 stars - just a hint for those who may experience similar problems.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0.61
Macnews
28 March 2012
Here we go -- hang on for the ride. There are some other PC antivirus vendors who have yet to publicly proclaim for their products, so there are more to follow. I don't see much difference between this and their Windows gratis version, aside from GUI. This one is fairly much in line with their PC offering. On the Windows side, there is pretty much only one outfit which gives the user so much for so little. That hasn't changed, although the PC version of Avast! has much more functionality than its current Mac counterpart. I'm really waiting to see if ESET releases a viable alternative to Avast's powerful free alternative; especially now that it's apparent Avast! isn't offering nearly as much protection for free on the Mac side as its PC sibling. NOD32 for Mac, anyone?
Like
Version 1.0.0.61
2 answer(s)
Macnews
Macnews
28 March 2012
It's actually gratifying to see PC vendors flock to the Mac again. Ever since late 1996/early 1997, we Mac users have had to fight for respect. The pendulum is now beginning to swing the other way now. : )
Like
Hal2007
Hal2007
28 March 2012
Are you reviewing Avast or Avira? This is the Avira thread... Actually, a NOD32 version for Mac exists. I haven't tested it, though. Look here for the Mac suite: http://www.eset.com/
Like (1)
Fb-eye71
28 March 2012
Looks good, nice UI, but unfortunately doesn't seem to support network proxys so I can't update virus definitions...
Like
Version 1.0.0.61
Passanstoi
28 March 2012
Finally they have made it on mac system ! i was enjoying the windows version on my pc like for a life time :D Hopefully they will release a version with monitor soon !! Love Avria !
Like
Version 1.0.0.61