Back to MenuBar ReArranger page
MenuBar ReArranger free download for Mac

MenuBar ReArranger Reviews

2.5
16 October 2015

Rearrange your menu bar.

Dana-Sutton
21 February 2012

Most helpful

"This software seriously needs a timed demo tho before I plunk down $4.99." A valid point, but it is a criticism that should be directed to the way Apple Store is set up, and not to individual developers.
Like (2)
Version 1.0

Read 11 MenuBar ReArranger User Reviews

Rate this app:

Niku1000
29 November 2018
Icons in the Dock are much more useful than icons in the Menu bar. Can they be moved from the Menu to the Dock with this app?
Like
Version 2.5
Rofra
06 January 2014
Some comments to version 2.0: Actually 2 profiles (e.g. home & work); 1 or 2 more would be nice; profiles can’t be renamed but developer promissed to look into this. After your Mac has started, you can start all the apps in one of the profiles and (in the end) they are shown in the order you preset; when MenuBar ReArranger is started at login, this is all done automatically according to the profile chosen last time. When you change your mind about the way apps are sorted, you can change it in the app and after pushing 'Apply’ it’s done. Magic! At next login everything is there again as you wished. Used LoginControl (profiles) and Exhaust (sort) before; MenuBarReArranger replaced the both of them. Developer very responsive to questions and suggestions. 'Try before you Buy' (can't be bought in the App Store). The flexibility this app gives you is amazing and although it isn’t 100% perfect (yet), it offers great options for those who need or appreciate them. Certainly worth investigating!
Like
Version 2.0
Robin-Jackson
07 August 2012
Hi This looks interesting BUT it will not open on my MacBook Pro Retina running OSX 10.8. OSX comes up and says this App will not load please move to trash! Robin
Like (1)
Version 1.2
polocanada
10 June 2012
It works OK but not without minor glitch here and there. I won't write a full review this time, however, one feature is absolutely missing: There is no way to access the icons / apps that are hidden. If I want o access hidden apps, I need to exit the application, wait till icons go back and once I am finish restart the menu bar app. It would be nice, if you add a mini-menu to your application which would enable me to access the applications or even the submenu of the hidden app. The "Bartender" app does that. This is a major feature for me. Switching for now to Bartender.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Dana-Sutton
13 April 2012
This addresses a real problem: one weakness of OSX is that setting the order in which apps launch in the appropriate Users and Groups preference panel doesn't ensure the order in which non-Apple items appear in the menubar. But the problem with this app. is that each time you reboot you have to use it manually to get your menubar icons arranged to your liking. And to a Mac user, "manually" is the dirtiest word in the dictionary. What we really need is an app. that does this same thing automatically as part of the boot process.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
26 February 2014
Well, you could try Bartender - it does exactly what you're asking (and more).
Like
gatovadio
18 March 2012
now if menubar rearranger could place individual movable separators to better organize a crowded menubar, that would be sweet.
Like
Version 1.1
2stepbay
03 March 2012
App is simple to use and well worth the $5. Does what it says it will do. Rearranged my menu bar in 3 minutes. Kudos to the developer for making a trial version available.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Profp
03 March 2012
I tried the demo – and then purchased the app. This app is very simple to use and does exactly what it claims to do. In the past, I have written applescripts to load apps and arrange the menu bar – now I am happy to pay for an app that takes care of it for me. My only suggestion is a better way to deal with apps that are already on the Logins Items list – that is, when an app is added to menu bar arranger for launch, it would be nice if it was automatically removed from the login items in system preferences.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Dana-Sutton
21 February 2012
"This software seriously needs a timed demo tho before I plunk down $4.99." A valid point, but it is a criticism that should be directed to the way Apple Store is set up, and not to individual developers.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Fishscale
21 February 2012
Look at the apps: Exhaust, delayedlauncher, and startupizer. Also applescripts can delay application launch times at startup so the icons will be arranged in the proper order (same thing this app does with a 20 second interval.) Truly there are free ways to rearrange your icons. Example of applescript: --- delay 0.3 tell application "alfred" launch end tell delay 0.3 tell application "hyperswitch" launch end tell ---- That is the basics of it, put all your login items in that script and place it as a startup item and remove the items you currently have in there as the script will be doing all the launching at startup. If you really know what your doing you might even be able to do this with a launch agent.
Like
Version 1.0
4 answer(s)
seense
seense
21 February 2012
Just to correct something about the app. MenuBar ReArranger doesn't wait 20 sec between each items. But MenuBar ReArranger can wait up to 20 sec for an app to allocate the space for the icon. For Example, If an app allocate the space for the icon in 1 sec, then MenuBar ReArranger will detect it and go the next item to be loaded. It will not wait.
Like
Fishscale
Fishscale
21 February 2012
Thanks for the response, I honestly have no interest in this app as I do not care about the order of my menubar apps, however I once did and settled that perfectly with my applescript example above. There are free options available that do what your app does (of course not everything, but the main gist) and if you want to be able to compete with the more developed paid apps like startupizer, I think many people here at MU would appreciate a trial version or some sort they can grab w/o having to go through MAS. If you offered a trial, most here at MU would purchase your app instead of startupizer off of MAS simply because you offered them an alternative. I am speaking for many people but from my time here, most MU members hate MAS and will support developers who make a concerted effort to supply them with a trial, even if your program is inferior. I obviously can't tell as I am unable to try your app or startupizer since both are on MAS. Good luck with your app!
Like (1)
seense
seense
03 March 2012
A Trial Version is now available on our website.
Like (8)
wrecreation
wrecreation
10 May 2012
Have you tried the free app Broomstick?
Like
Acuraice
21 February 2012
another app trying to get money for something totally free to the people who just don't know how to do it for free from with them mac os itself! for anyone who wishes to move the menu bar icons without paying 1 cent, simply hold the "command" button and drag the menu bar icon to your desired place in the menu. FREE OF CHARGE!!! in the even it doesn't let you move the menu bar icon,it will do that with some of the icons. trying waiting that app first then do it, or go to system preferences and choose accounts,then choose login items and reorder the startup procedures for the menu items you have opening at the startup of the mac. this will not only change the way which app loads first over the other,but also load that particular pa's icon in the menu bar in that custom order,again FREE OF CHARGE!!
Like (1)
Version 1.0
4 answer(s)
Doctor-Whiteface
Doctor-Whiteface
21 February 2012
BTW, what did you have for breakfast this morning, and what OSX version are you using? Your suggestions Absolutely Do Not Work! This software seriously needs a timed demo tho before I plunk down $4.99.
Like (3)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
21 February 2012
Your suggestion only moves the Apple menubar icons.
Like (3)
artie505
artie505
03 March 2012
@ Acuraice 1. With the exception of a coupl'a apps that use MenuCracker or the like, ONLY Apple menulets can be reordered; 3rd party menulets are STUCK in place. 2. Waaay back in the early days of OS X it was possible to change the order in which menulets launched by changing their order in SysPrefs (as you described), but that has not been the case since, I believe, Panther, if not Jaguar. You CAN do it on your own with an AppleScript, but your post demonstrates complete ignorance of OS X's workings in this regard.
Like (2)
Barryaus
Barryaus
03 March 2012
The command-key gambit does not work with all 3rd party icons in the menu bar
Like (1)