Back to TaskInsight page
TaskInsight free download for Mac

TaskInsight Reviews

3.14.1
10 February 2019

Task management with speech commands and AppleScript support.

Lvdoc
06 April 2011

Most helpful

Are you serious? You want $10 of my hard-earned money without offering me a demo? Even some of the $1 apps out there have conceded the need for such a thing. When you bought your last car, did you buy it without a test drive?
Like (4)
Version 1.0.1

Read 3 TaskInsight User Reviews

Rate this app:

lemon-kun
10 June 2014
So, no demo… I am sorry but productivity is such a personal thing that a demo is really required. I wonder why the developer doesn't provide one. Hmm, let's look in the FAQ at the dev's website: "Is there a demo version or a video demo of TaskInsight?" "No. Imaja would like to produce a TaskInsight demo version and a video demo, but for now the features page and the large slide show is the best presentation. Almost all of the features, views, buttons, menus, controls, etc. are displayed there. Please check out the large slide show in combination with the TaskInsight Help for more details on the features in TaskInsight." Well, OK, at least the developer "would like to produce a demo" – so what's the problem? No time? Technical issues? …or something to hide?! There's more to read in the FAQ: "How stable is TaskInsight? Does it crash?" "While crashes have been reported in earlier versions, Imaja worked immediately and diligently to resolve crashes. The current version 3.2.1 has no known crash bugs. We recommend reporting crashes to support@imaja.com for the best results. Please do not report crashes on the Customer Reviews page of the Mac App Store; instead, report them via E-mail support below." Now this is one of the funnier questions I've ever read in a dev's FAQ, I am surprised he answered – actually this is exactly one of the reasons why we need a demo. So, dear developer, if prospective customers read about crashes of your app; these are a thing of the past, now everything is perfect. I see. And you don't want your customer's to write about crashes in their reviews. I see. Well then, let's read some of those MacAppStore's reviews: "has crashed on me 5 times in the last 10 minutes" "keeps crashing on me. frustrated." "Extremely Disappointing" "This is a joke – right?" Umm… I see. I guess I know why you can't provide a demo: bad for your business. You write: "The features page and the large slide show is the best presentation" – yes, probably so… If I am wrong, you can easily prove me so: by delivering a demo.
Like (1)
Version 3.4
2 answer(s)
Lumac52
Lumac52
07 January 2015
Some good points here, and I feel similarly with regard to the lack of a demo,, but I would just point out that the comment in the App Store about crashes refers to a much earlier version, so the developer's statement that the current version is unlikely to crash may well be true. Although, as you say, there's no way to be sure without a demo.
Like
daveyarddave
daveyarddave
01 September 2017
It's over 3 years since this comment re: "Imaja would like to produce a TaskInsight demo", but the same FAQ with that same answer remain on the developers website. No demo, and obviously no intentions of providing one. So while "I would like to evaluate TaskInsight", I can't. Pass.
Like
Skyhorse
28 July 2011
I bought this app today and spent several hours learning it well enough to put a couple of task sets into it. It does have a learning curve as it is not what it looks like (a Gantt chart with tasks). It is instead a task list with Gantt-like display option. Once you wrap your mind around that and don't try to list every item in sequence but by priority or date (using it like a task list, in other words, not a Gantt chart) then it gets a lot easier. It appealed to me because of that timeline display feature and the ability to track multiple lists at once (each with its own timeline display if desired), which make it easier to track deadlines coming as well as shifting priorities. I have sometimes previously used a Gantt chart for tracking to do and other items, so recognize the shortcomings of a Gantt for that as well. Use the right tool for the task (this for lists of prioritized to do items, a Gantt chart tool for project requirements and status in a sequential display), and both will work well for you. I like the added clarity that this approach gives to task lists, and it does do what it says it will in a way I haven't seen any other do. It's a fine product at a reasonable price for what it does and no I have no connection with the developer except as customer. Understand what you're getting into and you won't be disappointed.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
20 September 2011
If they offered a demo, I could understand what I'm getting into. I appreciate your words here, but I need to see for myself before shelling out $50. No Demo? No Sale!
Like (2)
Lvdoc
06 April 2011
Are you serious? You want $10 of my hard-earned money without offering me a demo? Even some of the $1 apps out there have conceded the need for such a thing. When you bought your last car, did you buy it without a test drive?
Like (4)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Macmaria
Macmaria
02 July 2011
Exactly. (I call this the lazy approach.)
Like (1)
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
20 September 2011
$10? Try $50.00 and with no demo? This is just plain crazy. I go to the Jaguar store, pick out one I like, and take it for a ride. This is one of the reasons I'll not be on the Mac AppStore band wagon anytime soon. No demo. No sale.
Like (1)