Back to Boom 3D page
Boom 3D free download for Mac

Boom 3D Reviews

1.3.3
18 October 2019

3D surround sound and phenomenally rich audio.

Mountabe
26 August 2013

Most helpful

Pretty damn annoying that one needs to purchase a code for EVERY USER on a single machine. We're stuck using one user account to listen to music because, right now, we don't think we should have to buy another one so my wife can use it. We share the mentality that software goes w/the machine, not the user necessarily. Coincidentally, almost every other developer agrees with us. I wouldn't have a problem paying 2x as much for this if I knew it was going to behave like this.
Like (15)
Version 1.7

Read 191 Boom 3D User Reviews

Rate this app:

yogabrew
16 October 2019
How does this work with classical music ?
Like
Version 1.3.2
meme12
16 October 2019
This software nags you with a dialog to call home even after activation. You get spammed by discount offers to upgrade every few days. I understand many developers in the apple ecosystem take advantage of the self serving nature thats common today, but these guys firmly have crossed the line.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Bob Jacobson
26 September 2019
I've been using Boom 3D on my Macbook Pros and Airs since it first came out. It's reliable, easy to adjust, and performs remarkably well. The Ambient and 3D settings are mind-blowing. I haven't experienced the problems others have with payments. Have I made two, one for each of my Macs? I don't think so. But even if I did, it would be worth $20 to get control over my audio, better than the native Apple controls.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
blagovest-karakashev-1
02 September 2019
Since I switched to the latest MacBook Pro Touch Bar the Boom 3D application is constantly crashing. Every time I need to use my AirPods for a call on Slack or FaceTime or any time I use my AirPods for any kind of call the app will just crash and even if I restart it just crashes straight away again. I really enjoy using the Boom 3D but they need to fix all of those bugs it is so frustrating using it when every time I need to make a call it crashes. And I do make a lot of calls using my MacBook Pro.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Derekcurrie
02 September 2019
WORKAROUND for distorted System sounds: Recent versions of Boom 3D have introduced the potential for distorted system sounds such that, oddly, sounds start to play part-way through then play the start of the sound briefly thereafter. I nailed the problem down to the Boom 3D Setting "Sleep when idle". If you get this distortion, UNcheck that setting. The problem is gone. No other culprits were found to be involved in my system. If for some reason you find a need to use 'Sleep when idle', the workaround it to go to: -> System Preferences/Sound/Sound Effects/"Play sound effects through:" Choose in the popup menu "Internal Speakers". The distortion is gone. I've passed the problem source and workaround to the developer in order for them to be able to help users in the future. [The distortion problem had flummoxed them as well.]
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
rphartle
29 August 2019
I Too had to Give up on this app after a couple months like others have stated here. 1) Too many issues with out of Sync Audio & Video on YouTube... Had to constantly quit and relaunch to get audio in sync. Had to wait for update to fix this. 2) Compatibility issues and Latency Issues with Pro Video & Audio Editing Apps. You have to Quit out of it to resolve these. 3) Blows the crap out of Audio if you have HQ Music file such as FLAC or AIFF audio files. 4) Required constant adjustments to EQ if you have Audio from a wide variety of Sources & Quality. I found UnInstalling it and Not using preferable to all the issues with it running. 5) Finally, If you just use it with Average quality iTunes MP3s and AC3 files then it works well, but easier to just Use iTunes Custom EQ Settings than to flip back and forth with this thing and all its Quirks.
Like
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
02 September 2019
Note that many videos on YouTube already have out of sync audio & video! The main culprit was Microsoft Windows' flakey video recording/editing app and AVI format. That's one reason there were so many AVI repair tools. Until or unless Google addresses the problem, those bad videos will live on in infamy. Note that YouTube isn't the only place to suffer from bad AVI files. My US government made the blunder to standardize on AVI video as an archive standard back in 2010. (o_0)
Like
Version 1.3.2
appleman-design
28 August 2019
best 3D app for mac
Like
Version 1.3.2
mac-gomes
19 August 2019
Version 1.3.1 crashes on MacOS High Sierra on my Imac late 2009
Like
Version 1.3.1
Mikeymike
25 July 2019
I've been using Boom since it came out. I'm about to give up on it, though. The latest version, 1.2.7, crashes so many times a day it's absurd. Sometimes it completely kills all sound output from my MBP; only doing a restart restores sound output. There's a dialog box after the app crashes that supposedly submits a bug report to the developers. I've sent dozens of these, which include my name and email address and gotten no response. I contacted them directly through support on their website and got only a robo-response and nothing further.

I'm not sure if the bug is completely Boom's fault or if there's some bad juju with the app and Mojave 10.14.x, but I'm fed up with the crashing and the fact that the developers can't be bothered to respond to bug/crash reports.

I'd backgrade to the previous version if I could; had no problems with that version.

Otherwise, I generally have to leave it disabled. Save your money for the next big iteration of Boom 3D, folk, assuming they get the kinks worked out. And I'm not even speculating on the app's future path with Catalina..
Like (1)
Version 1.2.7
1 answer(s)
Bob Jacobson
Bob Jacobson
27 September 2019
Curious why you don't update Boom 3D to the current version.
Like
Version 1.3.2
SamHoss48
11 June 2019
Keep failing on my MacPro running High Sierra. Keep having to reinstall. Sound quality is greatly improved otherwise.
Like
Version 1.2.7
rajnu61
16 May 2019
Excellent music enhancing software on my Mac Pro. Very satisfied customer
Like
Version 1.2.7
drydkh
14 May 2019
Works without flaws. Sounds great on my Yamaha active studio monitor speakers. Really love it!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.7
rocketron
26 April 2019
I could not get it to work.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.6
1 answer(s)
Viktor
Viktor
27 April 2019
If you encountered issues with Boom 3D I may suggest contacting their support - https://www.globaldelight.com/contactsupport
Like (1)
Harry Flashman
23 January 2019
The sound is an improvement compared to the old version of Boom, but I became fed up with all the messing about where sound would randomly be lost if playing a video or I plugged in a microphone.

If you listen to the radio through their new update the volume is suddenly screaming loud and very hard to control, so in the end I just uninstalled it. It became particularly unreliable when using a line out cable from the Mac Pro to the monitor speakers, but there are no issues when I simply use the system sound options.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.3
Brad-Fraser
19 December 2018
SUCKS, completely shut the sound down on my mac and could not get it to work.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.6
2 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
23 December 2018
Details please. What Mac and what version of macOS?
Like
Brad-Fraser
Brad-Fraser
23 December 2018
iMac BRAND NEW, less than a month old. 27 inch 5k retina, 4.2g i7 quad core, 64g memory os 10.13.4. Completely shut down my audio, trashed the program, reinstalled boom 2, everything works fine now.
Like
Derekcurrie
14 December 2018
One perk I've discovered from using Boom 3D is that its audio driver can be used to ADD Mac audio recording to macOS 10.14 Mojave screen recording. Apple has NOT allowed their audio driver to be used, meaning that all Apple provides is silent recording. (Thank the RIAA and MPAA).

If you bring up the screen recording interface (Command-Shift-5) and go under Options, choose your Microphone to be "BoomAudio". Start recording the screen and all your Mac audio will be included. This is an EXCELLENT replacement for all but the most powerful screen recording apps, including beloved defunct SnapzPro X, rest in peace.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.6
ad-ontec-1
11 December 2018
Have it run on Mojave. Works perfectly. No dropouts whatsoever. It really sounds like it could change your life ... I love it ... it is awesome!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.6
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
14 December 2018
Considering the dropout complaint below, I have to add: Me Too! Version 1.1.6 (which is actually from October) is working GREAT on Mojave.
Like
laurens-34
27 October 2018
Since Mojave 10.14 there are audio dropsouts every 7 minutes in Boom 2 and Boom 3D!.

Begin this month i had a skypecall with the helpdesk/maker of this software.
I have record also a short movie moment where you can hear what happens. i sent this to the helpdesk.

The problem is only with both Boom versions., and it's not there when Boom is off!
I had also a call with Apple helpdesk and they say it's a problem from the maker of Boom because it's only happens when Boom is on! The helpdesk checked also some settings.

Since that call with Boom helpdesk and earlier some emails they don't give me a solution for this problem.

I have tried many Apple options on my Mac.

In our skypcall they recognized this problem!
What should be a solution of this audio dropouts every 7 minutes?

System:
Macbook pro 2018
Mojave 10.14
Like
Version 1.1.6
CynicalMike
21 October 2018
When it works, which isn't often - it's fantastic. Sometimes plays audio from youtube. Won't play from iTunes. Restarting laptop and options to use Boom3D as output and input in sound preferences...disappear. Spent far too long to try to make this work. Unfortunately I purchased it during one of the early times when it was working.....regretting that decision now.
Like
Version 1.1.6
1 answer(s)
Casey8
Casey8
17 December 2018
I think I have the same problem or a similar one. Every time I Start my computer I have to go to sound prefs to get sound. I keep Boom3D off most of the time because it wants to steal the prefs default I guess. Its odd though even if you start Boom you have to go the Sound Prefs, click "Headphones". (which is where my speakes plug in) and you will see headphones light up for a split second, then the pref changes to Boom3D and plays. WEIRD and ANNOYING.
Like
Jpwgibson
14 October 2018
Boom has GOT to let up on their nag screens.

If I want to upgrade, I will navigate to your website and do so. Half star rating due to nag-ware that never quits. I have purchased your software, now let me enjoy it in peace. One should not thank customers by nagging them 24-7.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.6
476429
12 October 2018
I tried out Boom 3D and Bongiovi DPS. While I hate the subscription model for software, I found DPS to be my preferred app. To me, it was more user-friendly and more configurable. Their site, support, and forum are all great. I also like that they used a package installer so I knew exactly what was being installed. When you first launch Boom 3D, it downloads and installs another component. Not a fan of that technique. Just my 2¢.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.6
Scott-Salbo
09 October 2018
It simply improves the performance of onboard sound thru headphones and speakers in every way. It improves volume and clarity and special effects. There's simply no reason to hesitate in this inexpensive purchase if you care about sound from our machine at all.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.6
jamiehaggerty
02 October 2018
Although this app sounds really great I give it 1 star for lack of a way to deregister then reregister on a new make. They say there is but there isn't on Mac OS 10.12.6. Customer service does nothing to fix the problem.
Like
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
08 October 2018
SOLUTION for the website download version, as found in the Help Manual/User Manual on the last page (RTFM):

"Uninstall Steps for Boom3D Website Version
"Click on the Settings logo on the Boom 3D title bar.
"In the “About” menu, you can see the option ‘Uninstall Boom 3D’ in the bottom left corner.
"Click on it and select ‘OK’ if you wish to proceed to uninstall the app.
"By selecting ‘Unregister my copy too’ you will not be able to use Boom 3D unless you install and register the app on your Mac." You're done.

If you have the Mac App Store version (which I doubt is the case here), RTFM pages 12 and 13 (third and second to last pages).
Like (1)
Neals61
14 September 2018
Boom3D is a terrific app and makes my computer sound amazing - everything from the spoken word to music of all types sounds rich, clear and fabulous!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
11 October 2018
You sound like Global Delight Technologies' website.
Like (1)
Jloggie
12 June 2018
Sounds nice but I had to uninstall it as it takes over the Chrome browser shortcuts for zoom in and out which I use all the time. To steel shortcuts system wide like this without the option to disable/change them is not acceptable.
Like
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
08 October 2018
SOLUTION:
1) Open the Boom 3D interface and click on the three-bars icon at the upper right corner.
2) Choose Settings.
3) Click the Settings tab.
4) Scroll down the Settings page to "Hotkey ON".
5) To change any Hotkey, simply click on the key combination listed after each command. The key combo changes to a flashing cursor where you can enter any keystroke you'd rather use.
6) Hit the counter-clockwise arrow icon and the new Hotkey is active. You're done.

Should the developer have checked whether Chrome was already commandeering particular keystrokes? I don't use Chrome if I can help it, so I don't care. But if you do use Chrome, now you can DIY. the Hotkeys.
Like
Cameraguy5
27 May 2018
This thing keeps your computer from sleeping if it is running. It appears this has been a problem since around 2011, so don't hold your breath for a fix anytime soon...it's 2018.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.4
4 answer(s)
macspectrum
macspectrum
07 June 2018
the author is from india so they are much interested in getting $ for boom3 than actually fixing boom2
Like
Kitmos
Kitmos
20 June 2018
I was hoping Boom 3 would fix the sleep issue but no, so have deleted it.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
08 October 2018
SOLUTION:
1) Open the Boom 3D interface and click on the three-bars icon at the upper right corner.
2) Choose Settings.
3) Click the Settings tab.
4) Under 'General Preferences' click ON the radio button labeled 'Sleep when idle'. You're done.

Note that this information, along with an illustration, is available on the developer WEBSITE under Help/Frequently Asked Questions/View More/General/Boom prevents sleep even when no audio is being played. RTFF.
Like (2)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
08 October 2018
That option isn’t available in mine.
I have these four:

Start Boom 3D at login
Play feedback when boom audio level is changed
Enable Visual Feedback Overlay
Show Boom player
Like
macjogi
10 April 2018
I love good audio with small monitor speakers or if I am connected to my AirPods - wow, really great boost if you love good music or a good sound of a movie. I had also the pre-version (without 3D) and it was always a background smoothy working utility.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
JamesHarrisPhoto
27 February 2018
The software works pretty well on my MacBook Air, but I sure wish there was a way to change the keyboard shortcuts they use in Boom 3D. I work a good deal of my time in Lightroom 6, and when I choose Command-Shift-E to do an export, it gets blocked by a conflict with Boom3D. So I can't ever have Boom activated while working in Lightroom.
Like
Version 1.1.2
l2018
25 November 2017
Having an issue with sound output from since I upgraded to High Sierra; the macbook pro will not play through the Epson PJ output (HDMI). Hopefully this is not connected to my recent upgrade to Boom 3D (which sounds amazing, by the way). Has anyone experienced similar incompatibility, and did you find a fix? Thank you.
Like
Version 1.1.1
meme12
01 November 2017
Just came back on say how impressed with boom i am. I have a license for 1.0 and it still works in Sierra. Boom made my day originally as i had usb speakers which did not have volume control support in osx.. but today it shines as a brilliant system wide eq.. and doesn't distort like itunes. I was going to upgrade to boom3d but the surround sound didn't feel that good and the bass distorted on sennheiser headphones for movies, even with all the settings down and no eq.. But its so good i heartily recommend getting the latest version for anyone who doesn't own it. (the handcrafted eq profiles haven't changed since 1). It would be an instabuy if the 3d engine was improved.. if it gets in the league of razer surround pro or the dolby algorithms im there.
Like
Version 1.1
mick-sehmann
24 October 2017
I am a music professional so good sound is extremely important to me. I previously had Boom 2 and, while overall happy with it, I found the sound would sometimes get harsh and distort in certain applications when using it with speakers connected through an amplifier. I recently upgraded to Boom 3D and the sound has improved dramatically and seems to be much more consistent across various applications - iTunes, SmartMusic, Amadeus Pro, Sibelius, Safari, and all others sound great. The interface is much improved as well. I was expecting this to be an improvement for headphones but was surprised by how much better external speakers sound when compared to Boom 2. I'd also like to compliment the support I've received from the developers, who helped me when I was having issues getting the reduced upgrade price. They were prompt in their replies to me and we got my problems solved fairly quickly. I leave very few reviews but this application deserves my support - an easy 5 star choice.
Like
Version 1.1
ylluminate
02 September 2017
Tried this, but Bongiovi DPS offers both a better experience and richer quality. I do like the integration of this, but in the end I'm really looking for a different presentation of the functionality.
Like
Version 1.1
Big Johnson
31 August 2017
Oh, that's a good one!

The dev. says
"If you often experience problems with the sound volume when watching movies or videos on the Internet, chat audio chat or simply listening to music, Boom is what you need."

O'RLY?

Well I didn't experience problems with the sound UNTIL I began using B3D.


Upon using it for the first time my response was WOW! - THIS IS AWESOME! Why doesn't Apple make their hardware sound like this?

But after a couple days I began noticing issues wherte some apps were super quiet while others were very loud. And sometimes the same app would be low one second and BLARING the next.

Then 2 nights ago I thought I was gonna be evicted after this happened:

I was watching an instructional vid on YouTube in Safari and the volume was low. It was about 8:56 pm when I closed the tab and opened Amazon in another. I went to a newly released CD's page to listen to samples.

And when it started playing it was HELLA F'N LOUD!!!!!!

I had NEVER played these laptop speakers so loud anywhere at anytime. I didn't even know they would play that loud.

I was so stunned by the deafening noise emanating from my speakers that I wasn't sure what to do. At first I grabbed my wireless keyboard and tried to hit the space bar as I do to pause videos in a player, but that only caused the page to scroll down and I could no longer see the track's stop button.

Then I started to reach for the mouse to scroll back up, and at last it hit me to turn off the speakers using the button nearby.

I was really shaken and cursing and expecting to hear shouts from other apartments. And there are houses right behind our building and the window was open, so I know those folks could hear it too.

So far I haven't talked to anyone in the building about it, but I'm sure glad it didn't happen at 2 am!!

If you decide to try this app, BE CAREFUL!
It may sound kickass at first, but try it in browsers, iTunes, video players etc. until its trial period expires BEFORE deciding whether to buy it.

And BTW, how long IS the trial period?
MU always fail to post that important detail.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
02 September 2017
Just got super loud again when I turned Boom OFF at 12:15 am!!!

Turning it ON makes the volume so low it can't be heard.
Evidenly due to my having lowered iTunes volume in Boom's window after the first time it got super loud.

Now if I turn Boom ON, I can't hear iTunes at all. And if I turn it OFF in the Volume Controller window, iTunes gets louder.

But turning Boom OFF using its main button has no effect on the loudness.

Having two separate On/Off buttons is confusing and it seems to operate opposite what one would expect:

Turning it ON should make sound LOUDER.

Turning it OFF should make sound SOFTER.

NO EXCEPTIONS!



My system volume is at ONE bar, iTunes volume is set below half and iTunes is about 20% in Boom's Volume Controller window
Like
Derekcurrie
30 August 2017
The addition of the Boom Remote app on iOS (formerly Boom 2 Remote) is excellent! It's free and works with both Boom 2 and Boom 3D on Mac.

Thank you for the added Boom 3D playlist, shuffle and repeat functionality! The GUI is still lovely but a bit cryptic. So take your time getting used to it, and read the downloadable manual. I highly recommend Boom 3D!

The only oddity I ran into was that after updating to Boom Remote, my iPhone thought the app's name was still 'Boom 2 Remote'. The problem was merely the all-too-familiar delay of Apple's current OS offerings catching up with updated app metadata. Running the updated app cleared the iOS database name error.
Like
Version 1.1
Ktml
30 August 2017
Anyone knows if the latest version fixed the memory issue (coreaudiod using 1GB of my memory)? I have got a refund and my copy has expired. I would love to buy it again if the problem has been solved.
Like
Version 1.1
4 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
30 August 2017
My test results:
• coreaudiod with Boom 3D v1.1 running is currently using 761.4 MB of RAM (compressed) with nothing playing.
• I quit Boom 3D 1.1, dumped my RAM (using Free Memory app) and coreaudiod is now using 774 MB of RAM (compressed).
• I booted Boom 3D 1.1 again and coreaudiod remained at 774 MB of RAM (compressed). IOW: I'm seeing zero evident effect from having Boom 3D v1.1 running.

Meanwhile, the Boom processes:
• Boom 3D is using 129 MB.
• Boom Helper is using 3.3 MB.

I'm on a late 2013 MBP, 10.12.6, 16 GB of RAM.
Like (2)
Ktml
Ktml
30 August 2017
Thank you for the details test results Derekcurrie!

The one thing that alarmed me is that your coreaudiod is using 774MB, which seems abnormal to me. Right now my coreaudiod is only using 8.8MB, I am running Boom 2.

To my experience, the coreaudiod will not release any memory unless I restart mac. Also Boom 3D consume more memory over time but so much when it first launched.

So I am interested to see if you leave Boom3D running, will it increase coreaudiod memory usage :)
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
31 August 2017
I've had Boom 3D v1.1 running all day. coreaudiod is currently at 779 MB (compressed).

Of course, compared to the pre-Gigabytes of RAM days, that's outrageous. You're likely correct that the inflation of its RAM usage is the result of having run Boom 3D v1.1. I fully expect your results after Restart, without Boom 3D booting at login, are the case. Why coreaudiod hangs onto all that RAM after quitting Boom 3D, I don't know except to point out that the BoomAudio extension activated in the Sound preferences pane remains loaded in the system. THAT is probably what establishes the RAM footprint for Boom 3D with or without it booting at login. I'd have to entirely UNinstall Boom 3D to stop the added RAM usage.

Question: Is that same RAM footprint going to result on a Mac system with a lower amount of RAM than my 16 GB? I don't know as Global Delight has not published a RAM requirement specification. I will note however that their 'BoomAudio' Sound extension is listed as 'optional'. Therefore, it might be worth reading about and testing the results WITH and WITHOUT that extension installed and running in the system.

Another thing I found is that there is a pending discussion topic at Global Delight entitled 'Boom 3D memory leak'. It has had NO reply as of yet.

"sh1ny
July 19 in Boom Discussions
Boom 3D gradually consumes more and more memory as it stays running. macOS automatically compresses memory used by the process, but Boom 3D inevitably causes system-wide lags when it takes too much.
macOS 10.12.5 on iMac 27" Late 2012."

That discussion topic was, of course, from before Boom 3D v1.1 was released. The 'leak' may have been plugged. I certainly am not seeing any memory leak in v1.1.
Like (1)
Ktml
Ktml
31 August 2017
I didn't even know there is a forum on Global Delight!

It is strange that coreaudiod is hanging onto all those memory. I am on 8MB memory but it was still using 1GB of my memory. I would like a background app like Boom3D not to use significant amount of memory - it does magical stuff and I still need to do other work with the mac!

I am glad to hear that the memory leak may have been fixed, I might give it another go.

Thanks again for the info Derekcurrie!
Like
pnn314
02 August 2017
I have Macbook Air 2012 and iMac 2014 with USB DAC AudioQuest DragonFly Black on both and I am experiencing an issue (both with latest version of Boom 2 and Boom 3D): the problem arise when i try to play music on iTunes the sound stutters or interrupts instead of it being played smoothly.
I can listen to my audio with no issues for a minute or two, sometimes longer, then it starts stuttering for a second or two.
I tried to reduce the audio format to 44.1KHz 16 and 24 bit, and playing with higher rates up to 96KHz, but the result is the same.
But when I use Fidelia or any other player to play iTunes library no problems at all.
Like
Version 1.0.2
3 answer(s)
pnn314
pnn314
02 August 2017
Later I investigated this issue in detail and found that this problem is present in almost all USB DACs.
Like (1)
pnn314
pnn314
03 August 2017
I just tested my MacBook Air with USB DAC OPPO HA-2 which can work with 32 bit resolution and fond no problem in playing music in iTunes. I think the stutter issue arises from mismatching audio resolution between Boom 2 and 3D (32 bit only) and USB DAC AudioQuest DragonFly (24 bit only). It seems that Boom 2 and 3D does not work correctly with any 24 bit USB DAC!!! So it is very desirable for Boom having option of 24 bit resolution. I think this can solve the problem.
Like
pnn314
pnn314
11 August 2017
Finally I asked them to refund Boom 3D but they do not answer at all!
Like
Derekcurrie
26 July 2017
Version 1.0.2 is working beautifully! The GUI remains intimidating at first, but becomes very usable. This remains a unique application with very good results.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Cowicide
18 July 2017
Streaming a movie from my Plex server to my Mac was playing audio too low for some reason even with all the audio settings maxed out on the Plex player in Chrome and on the Mac itself. I tried Boom and it completely fixed the issue. Minus one star for having a less than intuitive interface, but I figured it out enough to get the results I wanted.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Ktml
03 July 2017
Pros:
- Boom 3D sounds great, a vast improvement over Boom 2.
Cons:
- Interface is not exactly user-friendly, I still prefer Boom 2's interface.
- When I used Boom 3D, the memory usage of coreaudiod was huge, >1GB at one point.
- Where is the tech support? No response for my email.

For now I am back to Boom 2.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
4 answer(s)
Ktml
Ktml
09 July 2017
Update: Got a reply from support, they kindly informed me that the memory problem has been addressed in the latest version. Unfortunately the new version didn't fix the issue for me.
Like (1)
Ktml
Ktml
18 July 2017
Update: Email support again to follow up on the issue, no response after a week. Asked for refund, no response as well. Disappointed. Being said that, I would rather see the memory issue fixed rather than refund because I really like Boom.
Like
Stevencee
Stevencee
19 July 2017
I''m having the same issue as you, my coreaudiod today was >4GB!!
Also, I find it often not giving me the same amount of volume as I got with Boom 1 & 2, with yes, a more confusing interface...
Like
Ktml
Ktml
19 July 2017
Stevencee: 4GB that's crazy! I know how you feel, that's why I stopped using Boom 3D

Update: Support finally got back to me and issued me a refund. (Seems like I get response only after I post on MacUpdate?) I sincerely hope they will fix the memory issue so I can upgrade again.
Like
pmoffat
01 July 2017
Works great, and is like having a new sound system.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
YHC
30 June 2017
1. Crashing happens every time (maybe 1 min, 5 min, or X min (X<30)). 2. In Chinese, using Hot Key to turn on 3D mode which should show HUD "Turn On" and "Brighter Picture," not "Turn Off" and "Darker Picture." I think you need to exchange the texts and the pictures. 3. Turning off needs to "dim" the menu-bar icon. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0.1
From the reviews it's clear many people have had issues with Boom all the way through version 3D. I purchased but then did not use Boom 1 and 2 because I couldn't adjust it to work with my Bose headphones. Since version 3D was an inexpensive upgrade I gave it a try. I did, finally, get it to work. Not being patient enough to read the manual, I fiddled with it until I figured it out. At first, like the previous versions, Boom 3D overwhelmed my headphones. Selecting over the ear headphones in the settings made no difference. I spent the last hour or so working it out. To begin with, in its default settings, Boom is way heavy on the bass, and, given that my headphones have enhanced bass that cannot be adjusted, as with the previous versions this was a non-starter for me. I finally figured out how to tone down the bass in the equalizer and and then save my settings. I adjusted a variety of presets so that I would have something to compare them to. Also, it helped to turn down the gain in iTunes and with the Boom settings for the app. So now I can boost the volume without overtaxing my headphones. No doubt I'll have to make more custom settings when I have the time and patience. Fortunately you can easily change the settings via the Boom menu bar icon. There are plenty of options in Boom 3D if you are willing to take the time to work out the settings for your particular output device. I don't use my iMac's speakers much, nor my external speakers. I use headphones so I won't disturb my neighbors in the apartment building where I live. Your mileage will vary depending on your listening conditions, which is why I haven't bothered to explain my solution further. Finally, though, I can get Boom to do what I want it to do. And the 3D effect is definitely more than hype. Once you get used to it, the interface is logical and easy to use. But it takes a little effort to suss it out. If you're not the kind of person who likes to tinker with software, you might want to take a pass here. Or, you can download the trial and see if you can get it to work. As for getting the upgrade, I did not use the app. I went to the Global Delight (gag on the name) web site and, after inputting my version 2 serial number I had no trouble paying for the upgrade. So skip the in-app method and you won't need their customer support. Good luck.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
rick-58
20 June 2017
As many before me have stated, upgrading to Boom 3 was not without issue. My first issue was trying to purchase Boom 2. It wouldn't let me purchase through the app or through their website. I emailed them with details of the problem. Then I found out Boom 3 was released. Now that I have Boom 3 working I can say I'm happy with the results and appreciate the UI changes and addition of individual app controls. I was ready to purchase but no, even the new version will not let me purchase. Still no response from Global Delight (which contrary to their name, is not.) So even though I like the app, I'm forced to uninstall because my trial is about to end. I'd say they have horrible customer service, but that's not accurate since they appear to have NO customer service. Only automated bots. (If I had received a customer service response in the last two weeks, I could have easily given more stars. Now I'm uninstalling.)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
PickyA2452
20 June 2017
Expensive, mostly devoid of features, but developer has a large marketing budget.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
rick-58
rick-58
20 June 2017
It's funny they have a large budget for marketing but then the app can't even process an order. I get a message "Product not found: does not exist. However, there is a test product with the supplied product_id." And worse, they have NO customer service to help with an order! What a waste, and unfortunately a waste of my time too.
Like (1)
siamlotus
17 June 2017
This is pretty amazing and works with Spotify which is what I use it for. Great work the devs.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Derekcurrie
17 June 2017
Below is a description of my successful replacement of broken Boom 3D v1.0.0 with v1.0.1. But first I want to point out that my attempts to directly contact Global Delight's customer support with details of my troubleshooting experience fell on deaf automated bot ears. I am of course disappointed. I've had to sort out this problem ENTIRELY on my own. That's worthless customer support, resulting in my dinging down my rating of Boom 3D from 4 to 3 stars. Troubleshooting broken Boom 3D v1.0.0: 1) I initially had success installing and using Boom 3D v1.0.0. There was difficulty in that the installer, such as it is, cannot uninstall Boom 2. I had to manually uninstall Boom 2 to get Boom 3D 1.0.0 to work properly. 2) For unknown reasons, Boom 3D 1.0.0 permanently broke. The result was a RED Boom 3D icon in the Menu Bar. All functionality was gone. It was impossible to Quit it without going into the Activity Monitor and Quitting its two processes there. Since there is no uninstaller for Boom 3D, I had to manually remove its various components. Attempts at reinstalling Boom 3D resulting in exactly the same dysfunction. 3) Having written Global Delight for help (Ticket 61924), all I ever heard from them was an automatic form email. It contained no helpful information, including a worthless URL to a supposed comment forum. 4) Giving up on ever hearing back from Global Delight and having no luck troubleshooting Boom 3D 1.0.0, I gave up on them and successfully reinstalled Boom 2 v1.6. 5) Because I'm an update hound (thank you MU!) I noted the release of Boom 3D v1.0.1. (No thank you Global Delight!) 6) I successfully installed Boom 3D 1.0.1 and have it now working. The installation required quitting Boom 2 v1.6. So far the two versions are tolerating one another. I have not yet checked whether Boom 2 continues to boot again at Restart or re-Login. If it does, I'll disable it manually. Summary: Thank you Global Delight for Boom 3D v1.0.1. It solved the broken v1.0.0 problem. But NO thank you Global Delight for your nonexistent customer support. Utter FAIL. And please don't apologize here at MU, where at least someone there pays attention. Solve your worthless web and email support system which from my experience DOES NOT EXIST. :-P
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
18 June 2017
Follow Up:
Yup! Boom 3D's installer, such as it is, remains incapable of preventing Boom 2 from interfering with Boom 3D. If you'd had Boom 2 boot at login, it STILL boots at login, which is stupid and it interferes with Boom 3D. You have to MANUALLY change the settings in Boom 2 to stop the madness. This means going into its 'General Preferences and UNchecking both "Start Boom at login' AND 'Keep Boom Helper ON'. Then Quit Boom 2 and you should be fine running Boom 3D.

You'd think they'd sort this out ahead of time over at Global Delight. But for whatever reason, they haven't bothered. Suffering of the user results. Not good.
Like
slammer99uk
09 June 2017
Unfortunately the new 3D version crashes on launch without fail everytime. I have emailed support and tried to make a posting on their forums, both are still awaiting action. I have gone back to Boom 2 in the meantime. I do hope this gets sorted out soon.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
nayak-karthik
nayak-karthik
13 June 2017
Hi there. Our team is currently working on a fix for this issue. Could you please provide us your email id so that we can pass a test build for Boom 3D app.
Like
slammer99uk
slammer99uk
13 June 2017
Thank you for the reply.

I have already been given access to a test build. While I have been able to install it, I had to manually remove Boom 2 components to do so.

The test built still has a problem with my sound system (Bose companion 5 USB) when selected as output the system goes silent. I mailed you the details a few days ago with these results and I am still waiting to hear back.

jerry(at)darkcyde(dot)org
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
09 June 2017
I was a beta tester for Boom 3D and enjoyed it immensely. Since the beta, they've added notation to help with installation, introduction animation, introductory hot help and a Quick Guide manual. I HIGHLY recommend downloading the manual! The 'Download Manual' button is on the 'About' tab, which you can reach by clicking the gear icon in the upper right corner of the main interface page.

This is a complicated application with a learning curve. The results, when it's set up properly, are surprisingly good and effective. It's of course not creating a real '3D' speaker system when all you've got are two speakers. But it creates a 'surround sound' effect reminiscent of 'dummy head' or Binaural recordings. Read about it at Wikipedia:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binaural_recording

I like it. It's quite a good step up from Boom2. I'm unaware of any other app that provides this quality of sound on a Mac. The developer has put a lot of work into Boom 3D, making it well worth the upgrade at $6.99 IMHO. Just be ready for the learning curve. In any case, it configures itself and sounds nice right 'out of the box'.

Also note that there is a free corresponding Boom app for iOS:
-> Boom: Best Equalizer and Magical Surround Sound (with in-app purchases)
This app supersedes the older Boom 2 Remote app.

BTW: The only trouble I had updating was the fact that I had to quit Boom2 first. In fact, I uninstalled Boom2 completely, which only requires moving Boom2 to the Trash. At that point the app asks if you want to uninstall. Approve and it's gone. If you leave Boom2 installed, you're going to confuse Boom 3D. I WISH their Boom 3D installer was smart enough to quit and remove Boom2 for the user, but it's not. I hope they fix this oversight.
Like
Version 1.0
Harv
08 June 2017
Got the "updated" 3D, but now regret having done so. I am unable to get it to accept my new registration number and ergo it won't play. Perhaps I purchased this too early, or the problem is with me. I'll post back when (if) I receive the reply to my request for help (from the developer).
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Harv
Harv
10 June 2017
The developer sent a new/different registration number that worked. IMNHO,,a two-day resolution is excellent customer support.
Like
Xipper
18 May 2017
This app is horribly designed and will annoy you with solicitations for their other apps and in general. It will break the sound for many third party apps and you will spend a lot of time futzing with the system sound settings and those within every application anytime a new audio device is attached to the system, or randomly after restarts. The app screws up the system volume and causes conflicts that result in your volume controls not working consistently. The UI of the app is bloated with animations that make it slow and tedious to "tune" anything, and in general the app has limited intelligence. Total waste of money, and a bigger waste of time and source of aggravation.
Like
Version 1.6