Back to Boom 3D page
Boom 3D free download for Mac

Boom 3D Reviews

06 March 2021

3D surround sound and phenomenally rich audio.

How would you rate Boom 3D?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
capman
capman
Apr 7 2021
1.3.11
5.0
Apr 7 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.11
WHAT A DIFFERENCE!
ihafkenschiel
ihafkenschiel
Mar 25 2021
1.3.11
1.0
Mar 25 2021
1.0
Version: 1.3.11
TLDR: Great trial, horrible purchase. Do NOT buy! I purchased this a week ago after the trial expired and it still says trial expired and doesn't let me use it. When I click on the account screen it is all white. When I try to do forgot password I get an error. I emailed their support about this 7 days ago and still haven't heard a response. I DO NOT recommend giving these unscrupulous people your money.
ihafkenschiel
ihafkenschiel
Mar 25 2021
1.3.11
1.0
Mar 25 2021
1.0
Version: 1.3.11
I purchased this a week ago after the trial expired and it still says trial expired and doesn't let me use it. When I click on the account screen it is all white. When I try to do forgot password I get an error. I emailed their support about this 7 days ago and still haven't heard a response. I DO NOT recommend giving these unscrupulous people your money.
sireiser
sireiser
Mar 13 2021
1.3.11
0.0
Mar 13 2021
0.0
Version: 1.3.11
I have a Desktop tower 2019 Mac Pro running macOS Big Sur version 11.2.3 and I have Boom3D version 1.3.11, on the Mac System Preferences, there is a SOUND Pane for Effects, Output, and Input. I use External Headphone port for OUTPUT and Boom 3D "used to" show up here and you could modify the output volume or mute it and even change the LEFT / RIGHT balance. boom 3D no longer appears here and sometimes it FAILS to work at all. Apple or Boom or better BOTH need to work together to get macOS and Boom Cooperating MORE Complete as Boom 3D sometimes will appear after Multiple REBOOTS --- unreliable stability but SOUNDS great when it does work,
skyridgecindy
skyridgecindy
Feb 17 2021
1.3.9
0.0
Feb 17 2021
0.0
Version: 1.3.9
The product is fine but I've been absolutely bombarded with constant pop ups for Boom ever since. They cover almost 25% of a page so it's very annoying and interferes with viewing. The company didn't know how to get rid of them. When I asked for a refund, I never heard from them again. Very poor customer service. I guess I will just have to uninstall it to get rid of all their marketing pop ups. It's a good product but I would never recommend buying it unless you like pop ups.
Harrij
Harrij
Dec 20 2020
1.3.9
0.0
Dec 20 2020
0.0
Version: 1.3.9
It is not working fine with Big Sur 11.2 Sound is distorted and not showing in menu bar iMac 2020
bakeneko777
bakeneko777
Nov 19 2020
1.3.9
5.0
Nov 19 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.9
Very nice app. I'd appreciate it if you could get it to work sooner because it doesn't seem to be compatible with the latest MAC-OS
ixoye56
ixoye56
Oct 28 2020
1.3.8
5.0
Oct 28 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
Boom 3D is one of the best apps for Mac, I did not think it was possible that a laptop could sound as good as it does now.
nigelredhead995
nigelredhead995
Oct 26 2020
1.3.8
0.0
Oct 26 2020
0.0
Version: 1.3.8
impossible to use or set .Have been in touch with them and they said they would come back to me ....but nothing. Quite useless !!!!!
baxsur
baxsur
Oct 17 2020
1.3.8
2.0
Oct 17 2020
2.0
Version: 1.3.8
The sound is good, but it's a memory hog.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Oct 16 2020
1.3.8
5.0
Oct 16 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
There is no evident memory leak with v1.3.8. I have it running at 181.8 MB RAM. There had been an intermittent bug where a restart would result in no sound driver loading, requiring a workaround of manually activating the Boom Audio drive in Sound system preferences. So far, that bug is not evident in v1.3.8. - - For me, this is a Must Have addition to macOS as it is so useful and successful at improving my Mac's audio. The devs keep improving it and ironing out occasional bugs. I wouldn't use my Macs without it. Oh and its sound driver allows you to record sound alongside screen recordings, something macOS on its own does not do. As a beneficial, essential app, I give it 5 stars.
demerscharles
demerscharles
Sep 19 2020
1.3.7
1.0
Sep 19 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.7
The trial makes you want to uninstall immediately. Disabling itself after an hour every time? Speakers are cheaper. So, see ya, Boom.
cruzo82
cruzo82
Aug 20 2020
1.3.7
1.0
Aug 20 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.7
HUGE MEMORY LEAK on macbook. App starts at 33mb memory usage, and I have screenshots of it using more than 4GB (!!!!) of memory after running a whole day. Authors dismissed my bug reports and didn't give any other solution other than to reinstall it (and go through the stupid "tuning showoff" every time). Obviously it didn't help.
vvalezedatasolution
vvalezedatasolution
Aug 10 2020
1.3.7
1.0
Aug 10 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.7
Notification envasive. Application complétement bugger . Artefact au démarrage. Demande une inscription et des pubs intempesitve.
junk-44
junk-44
Jul 24 2020
1.3.6
1.0
Jul 24 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.6
It noticeably lowers the output volume when it's running in the background, regardless of whether it's "on" or "off". The only way to fix it is to quit the app. They company does not offer a refund, stating customers have a 30-day trial before purchasing. Fair enough. Don't be like me and impulse buy. Make sure it works to your liking before purchasing.
saturnpluto0
saturnpluto0
Jul 23 2020
1.3.6
1.0
Jul 23 2020
1.0
Version: 1.3.6
Tried the trial version on my MacBook with my Bluetooth JBL speaker connected. It crashed the first time. When I got it working the equalizer had no effect at all when playing a song. Kept getting annoying pop-ups. Uninstalled it. Then had to use a utility to hunt down files the uninstall left behind. Very poor.
vespinas
vespinas
Jul 3 2020
1.3.6
5.0
Jul 3 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.6
I buyed a Senheisser 260 HD headphones and I was kind of dissapointed on them because they didn't sound loud enough... a friend suggested me to buy an external portable HiRes amp, and I tried to find some virtual amp for MacOS... and so I stumbled with Boom3D...installed the try version and ... I felt in love with my new headphones!!! they sound absolutely perfect thanks to the Boom3D amp and 3d surround effect!! I think I had never buy an app so quickly in my life! The best 12$ spent ever!!!
lrpgrant555
lrpgrant555
May 24 2020
1.3.6
5.0
May 24 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.6
yes the charge every so oftenn is anoying but it is one of best music app players i enjoy and play the most at home next to Megaseg Pro..and i can use it with my Audio Quest Dragonfly..go together like steak and lobster.
1920 Riverside
1920 Riverside
Apr 14 2020
1.3.6
5.0
Apr 14 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.6
I would like to share my opinion about the app. This app is really amazing. Using only ordinary earphone, I hear my musics and movies with incredible sounds. The 3D sound effect also fantastic.
macbloo84
macbloo84
Feb 14 2020
1.3.5
0.0
Feb 14 2020
0.0
Version: 1.3.5
I have used this both on Catalina 10.15.3 and Mojave 10.14.6. I noticed when using Boom 3D my Mac scrubs/skips through videos online via safari and via quicktime and music on iTunes, freezes my chrome and unsyncs audio on Firefox and safari. audio is also has a lot of static in it when these errors happen if I can get anything to play. I have been through apple support thinking it was an issue with my mac. I closed boom 3D when I had the audio issue and what do you know no issues. if you application is as buggy as it is please fix all the issues that your app is causing. I don't have any log to provide but I just want to know that you have made me think that I had to buy a new Mac because of these errors. I have also had to reset my mac multiple times because of these issues loosing all my data that I had on my Mac. your program was also slowing down my Mac quite a lot. the only explanation I have is that boom 3D was causing all the issues because since not using it I haven't had the issues pop up again.
SALAMA Youssef
SALAMA Youssef
Dec 30 2019
1.3.2
5.0
Dec 30 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
This is one of the best designed programs ! i've tested Boom3D: Volume Booster and EQ at a friend's Macbook. Of all the apps, utilities, and programs I have ever used, this one takes the cake for highest level of perfection. Somebody has totally obsessed over this, getting everything right, down to the smallest detail, as if the fate of the universe depended upon it. If you are at all tech-oriented, you are going to be impressed with the level of detail and sheer amount information they have managed to pack into Boom3D: Volume Booster and EQ.
Mikeymike
Mikeymike
Dec 6 2019
1.3.2
3.0
Dec 6 2019
3.0
Version: 1.3.2
Having problems again with Boom 3D sporadically crashing without any apparent cause. I send a problem report (generated by the app) to the developer every time. Even when I include an email or have attempted to reach their support team, the resonse is #crickets. No one's ever responded to me about reported issues. Guess the team is a little on the small side! In general, I like this app and have been using it since it came out. That said, I sometimes experience the same bugs that I thought Boom would have ironed out by now: odd metallic distortion overall at times, distortion in the bass frequencies (not headphone/earbud dependent), the hair-trigger button settings on the equalizer (why can't I just type in a number instead of using the slider???), and the nag emails when I already have the product. Taking two points off for persistent, erratic app issues.
emiespo
emiespo
Nov 23 2019
1.3.2
1.0
Nov 23 2019
1.0
Version: 1.3.2
Was great until it stopped working with Mojave (10.14.6). As soon as I connect a BT device, it crashes and can't even be reopened. I have to shut bluetooth off to be able to open Boom 3D again. I'm using the latest version.
asimmons
asimmons
Oct 31 2019
1.3.2
5.0
Oct 31 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
The set up often needs considerable adjusting when shifting from one source of music (DVD, You Tube, on-line radio). But when set up properly the results are good in most cases. Recently, however, when Boom 3D is on it intermittently shuts down the sound system on my MacBook. Nothing works: MacBook speaker, earphones, bluetooth speaker. I then need to reboot my system. I have read other reviews indicating widespread similar problems, especially with the more recent versions of 3D. So for now I'm disabling the app. and ignoring the almost endless steam of invitations to upgrade to the newest version. I'll try a new version in a few months to see if problems have been resolved.
yogabrew
yogabrew
Oct 16 2019
1.3.2
0.0
Oct 16 2019
0.0
Version: 1.3.2
How does this work with classical music ?
meme12
meme12
Oct 16 2019
1.3.2
2.0
Oct 16 2019
2.0
Version: 1.3.2
This software nags you with a dialog to call home even after activation. You get spammed by discount offers to upgrade every few days. I understand many developers in the apple ecosystem take advantage of the self serving nature thats common today, but these guys firmly have crossed the line.
Bob Jacobson
Bob Jacobson
Sep 26 2019
1.3.2
5.0
Sep 26 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
I've been using Boom 3D on my Macbook Pros and Airs since it first came out. It's reliable, easy to adjust, and performs remarkably well. The Ambient and 3D settings are mind-blowing. I haven't experienced the problems others have with payments. Have I made two, one for each of my Macs? I don't think so. But even if I did, it would be worth $20 to get control over my audio, better than the native Apple controls.
blagovest-karakashev-1
blagovest-karakashev-1
Sep 2 2019
1.3.2
3.0
Sep 2 2019
3.0
Version: 1.3.2
Since I switched to the latest MacBook Pro Touch Bar the Boom 3D application is constantly crashing. Every time I need to use my AirPods for a call on Slack or FaceTime or any time I use my AirPods for any kind of call the app will just crash and even if I restart it just crashes straight away again. I really enjoy using the Boom 3D but they need to fix all of those bugs it is so frustrating using it when every time I need to make a call it crashes. And I do make a lot of calls using my MacBook Pro.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 2 2019
1.3.2
5.0
Sep 2 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
WORKAROUND for distorted System sounds: Recent versions of Boom 3D have introduced the potential for distorted system sounds such that, oddly, sounds start to play part-way through then play the start of the sound briefly thereafter. I nailed the problem down to the Boom 3D Setting "Sleep when idle". If you get this distortion, UNcheck that setting. The problem is gone. No other culprits were found to be involved in my system. If for some reason you find a need to use 'Sleep when idle', the workaround it to go to: -> System Preferences/Sound/Sound Effects/"Play sound effects through:" Choose in the popup menu "Internal Speakers". The distortion is gone. I've passed the problem source and workaround to the developer in order for them to be able to help users in the future. [The distortion problem had flummoxed them as well.]
rphartle
rphartle
Aug 29 2019
1.3.2
2.0
Aug 29 2019
2.0
Version: 1.3.2
I Too had to Give up on this app after a couple months like others have stated here. 1) Too many issues with out of Sync Audio & Video on YouTube... Had to constantly quit and relaunch to get audio in sync. Had to wait for update to fix this. 2) Compatibility issues and Latency Issues with Pro Video & Audio Editing Apps. You have to Quit out of it to resolve these. 3) Blows the crap out of Audio if you have HQ Music file such as FLAC or AIFF audio files. 4) Required constant adjustments to EQ if you have Audio from a wide variety of Sources & Quality. I found UnInstalling it and Not using preferable to all the issues with it running. 5) Finally, If you just use it with Average quality iTunes MP3s and AC3 files then it works well, but easier to just Use iTunes Custom EQ Settings than to flip back and forth with this thing and all its Quirks.
appleman-design
appleman-design
Aug 28 2019
1.3.2
5.0
Aug 28 2019
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
best 3D app for mac
mac-gomes
mac-gomes
Aug 19 2019
1.3.1
3.5
Aug 19 2019
3.5
Version: 1.3.1
Version 1.3.1 crashes on MacOS High Sierra on my Imac late 2009
Mikeymike
Mikeymike
Jul 25 2019
1.2.7
3.0
Jul 25 2019
3.0
Version: 1.2.7
I've been using Boom since it came out. I'm about to give up on it, though. The latest version, 1.2.7, crashes so many times a day it's absurd. Sometimes it completely kills all sound output from my MBP; only doing a restart restores sound output. There's a dialog box after the app crashes that supposedly submits a bug report to the developers. I've sent dozens of these, which include my name and email address and gotten no response. I contacted them directly through support on their website and got only a robo-response and nothing further.

I'm not sure if the bug is completely Boom's fault or if there's some bad juju with the app and Mojave 10.14.x, but I'm fed up with the crashing and the fact that the developers can't be bothered to respond to bug/crash reports.

I'd backgrade to the previous version if I could; had no problems with that version.

Otherwise, I generally have to leave it disabled. Save your money for the next big iteration of Boom 3D, folk, assuming they get the kinks worked out. And I'm not even speculating on the app's future path with Catalina..
SamHoss48
SamHoss48
Jun 11 2019
1.2.7
3.0
Jun 11 2019
3.0
Version: 1.2.7
Keep failing on my MacPro running High Sierra. Keep having to reinstall. Sound quality is greatly improved otherwise.
rajnu61
rajnu61
May 16 2019
1.2.7
5.0
May 16 2019
5.0
Version: 1.2.7
Excellent music enhancing software on my Mac Pro. Very satisfied customer
drydkh
drydkh
May 14 2019
1.2.7
5.0
May 14 2019
5.0
Version: 1.2.7
Works without flaws. Sounds great on my Yamaha active studio monitor speakers. Really love it!
rocketron
rocketron
Apr 26 2019
1.2.6
0.5
Apr 26 2019
0.5
Version: 1.2.6
I could not get it to work.
Harry Flashman
Harry Flashman
Jan 23 2019
1.2.3
1.5
Jan 23 2019
1.5
Version: 1.2.3
The sound is an improvement compared to the old version of Boom, but I became fed up with all the messing about where sound would randomly be lost if playing a video or I plugged in a microphone.

If you listen to the radio through their new update the volume is suddenly screaming loud and very hard to control, so in the end I just uninstalled it. It became particularly unreliable when using a line out cable from the Mac Pro to the monitor speakers, but there are no issues when I simply use the system sound options.
Brad-Fraser
Brad-Fraser
Dec 19 2018
1.1.6
0.5
Dec 19 2018
0.5
Version: 1.1.6
SUCKS, completely shut the sound down on my mac and could not get it to work.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Dec 14 2018
1.1.6
5.0
Dec 14 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.6
One perk I've discovered from using Boom 3D is that its audio driver can be used to ADD Mac audio recording to macOS 10.14 Mojave screen recording. Apple has NOT allowed their audio driver to be used, meaning that all Apple provides is silent recording. (Thank the RIAA and MPAA).

If you bring up the screen recording interface (Command-Shift-5) and go under Options, choose your Microphone to be "BoomAudio". Start recording the screen and all your Mac audio will be included. This is an EXCELLENT replacement for all but the most powerful screen recording apps, including beloved defunct SnapzPro X, rest in peace.
ad-ontec-1
ad-ontec-1
Dec 11 2018
1.1.6
5.0
Dec 11 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.6
Have it run on Mojave. Works perfectly. No dropouts whatsoever. It really sounds like it could change your life ... I love it ... it is awesome!!!
laurens-34
laurens-34
Oct 27 2018
1.1.6
2.0
Oct 27 2018
2.0
Version: 1.1.6
Since Mojave 10.14 there are audio dropsouts every 7 minutes in Boom 2 and Boom 3D!.

Begin this month i had a skypecall with the helpdesk/maker of this software.
I have record also a short movie moment where you can hear what happens. i sent this to the helpdesk.

The problem is only with both Boom versions., and it's not there when Boom is off!
I had also a call with Apple helpdesk and they say it's a problem from the maker of Boom because it's only happens when Boom is on! The helpdesk checked also some settings.

Since that call with Boom helpdesk and earlier some emails they don't give me a solution for this problem.

I have tried many Apple options on my Mac.

In our skypcall they recognized this problem!
What should be a solution of this audio dropouts every 7 minutes?

System:
Macbook pro 2018
Mojave 10.14
CynicalMike
CynicalMike
Oct 21 2018
1.1.6
1.0
Oct 21 2018
1.0
Version: 1.1.6
When it works, which isn't often - it's fantastic. Sometimes plays audio from youtube. Won't play from iTunes. Restarting laptop and options to use Boom3D as output and input in sound preferences...disappear. Spent far too long to try to make this work. Unfortunately I purchased it during one of the early times when it was working.....regretting that decision now.
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
Oct 14 2018
1.1.6
0.5
Oct 14 2018
0.5
Version: 1.1.6
Boom has GOT to let up on their nag screens.

If I want to upgrade, I will navigate to your website and do so. Half star rating due to nag-ware that never quits. I have purchased your software, now let me enjoy it in peace. One should not thank customers by nagging them 24-7.
476429
476429
Oct 12 2018
1.1.6
0.0
Oct 12 2018
0.0
Version: 1.1.6
I tried out Boom 3D and Bongiovi DPS. While I hate the subscription model for software, I found DPS to be my preferred app. To me, it was more user-friendly and more configurable. Their site, support, and forum are all great. I also like that they used a package installer so I knew exactly what was being installed. When you first launch Boom 3D, it downloads and installs another component. Not a fan of that technique. Just my 2¢.
Scott-Salbo
Scott-Salbo
Oct 9 2018
1.1.6
5.0
Oct 9 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.6
It simply improves the performance of onboard sound thru headphones and speakers in every way. It improves volume and clarity and special effects. There's simply no reason to hesitate in this inexpensive purchase if you care about sound from our machine at all.
jamiehaggerty
jamiehaggerty
Oct 2 2018
1.1.4
1.0
Oct 2 2018
1.0
Version: 1.1.4
Although this app sounds really great I give it 1 star for lack of a way to deregister then reregister on a new make. They say there is but there isn't on Mac OS 10.12.6. Customer service does nothing to fix the problem.
Neals61
Neals61
Sep 14 2018
1.1.4
4.5
Sep 14 2018
4.5
Version: 1.1.4
Boom3D is a terrific app and makes my computer sound amazing - everything from the spoken word to music of all types sounds rich, clear and fabulous!
Jloggie
Jloggie
Jun 12 2018
1.1.4
2.0
Jun 12 2018
2.0
Version: 1.1.4
Sounds nice but I had to uninstall it as it takes over the Chrome browser shortcuts for zoom in and out which I use all the time. To steel shortcuts system wide like this without the option to disable/change them is not acceptable.
Cameraguy5
Cameraguy5
May 27 2018
1.1.4
1.0
May 27 2018
1.0
Version: 1.1.4
This thing keeps your computer from sleeping if it is running. It appears this has been a problem since around 2011, so don't hold your breath for a fix anytime soon...it's 2018.