Back to Kindle page
Kindle free download for Mac

Kindle Reviews

1.26.1
13 May 2019

Read Kindle books on your Mac.

Anon-Bud
16 February 2011

Most helpful

A word of warning, if your Kindle was originally downloaded through Amazon.com: The App Store Kindle App will make you take every book off your device (read, your Mac) and then have you reinstall each one. For someone with only a few books, this is no big deal. But for people like me who have many books, this is a time consuming (read, time wasting) pile. I love the app. I hate the App Store! Just watch out!
Like (6)
Version 1.2.3

Read 44 Kindle User Reviews

Rate this app:

Vitaly
22 September 2019
crashes under Catalina beta 8
Like
Version 1.26.1
skylinewarrior
13 June 2018
Nice and easy
Like
Version 1.23.2
Jim-Leff
05 January 2016
FYI current version is 1.14.0
Like
Version 1.12.4
1 answer(s)
Yogi-Coach
Yogi-Coach
22 January 2016
Actually the version number appears to be correct. I just downloaded the Kindle App from the Mac App Store and the version is showing as 1.12.4 in the About dialog. Hopefully it gets and update soon. It's a much better app on iOS.

Update: I discovered that the 1.14.0 version is available directly from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/digital/fiona/kcp-landing-page - Some improvements (UI looks more modern), but disappointingly it doesn't appear to support Cloud Collections.
Like
dbratsch
18 September 2015
I am running IOS Yosemite 10.10.5. Since the Kindle App for my Mac updated to support the beta IOS El Capitan it's seriously faulty! Crashes, mostly crashes. When I get it to stay open for awhile, It shows fairly new stuff only, and just notifies of a failed download on ALL new books. I spent an hour and 6 Amazon agents in a chat session and they will not supply a previous version, but all those having issues must wait until they resolve the issue. How/Where do I get the version of the Kindle app prior?
Like
Version 1.12.3
2 answer(s)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
08 October 2015
On Yosemite, versions 1.12.2 and its upgrade—1.12.3—are placed in a special folder on my computer called "Incompatible Software." When I tried to launch it anyway, I got to the point where Amazon demanded that I agree to its Terms of Service for Kindle, but the page is so damn long that I couldn't be bothered to read all that verbiage, so I said "NO," and the installation procedure terminated. Another time, another version, maybe.
Like
wendy6895
wendy6895
13 May 2019
Have you thought about upgrading your Mac to MacOS Mojave version 10.14.4? I've had no problems at all.
Like
Derekcurrie
09 September 2015
Please note that you do NOT have to download the Kindle app from the Apple Mac App Store. You can still download it from Amazon via the link on this page for Amazon. IOW:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/digital/fiona/kcp-landing-page?ie=UTF8&ref_=kcp_mac_mkt_lnd

The current direct from Amazon version is still 1.12.0. If you're beta testing OS X 10.11 El Capitan, then you'll need to get, v1.12.3 from the Mac App Store.
Like (1)
Version 1.12.3
1 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
08 October 2015
Version 1.12.4 seems to fix most stability issues and they say it also includes bug fixes.
I'm finding it has been stable for the last 12 hours or so.
Like
Meitnik
28 August 2015
Would like to share an email I got from Amazon a few days ago: Dear ?????? It's time to update your Kindle for Mac app! We appreciate the time you've spent reading with our Kindle for Mac app, but you have registered a version on one of your computers that is out of date and scheduled to be retired by September 15. Our latest update (version 1.11.0 or above) is still free, and includes important bug fixes that are required to continue using the app. You can easily download and install the latest version of the Kindle for Mac from our download page on Amazon. You can check the Kindle version number by choosing "Kindle" from the menu of your app and then selecting "About Kindle." Please see our troubleshooting pages for Kindle for Mac if you have any other questions. Thanks for reading with Kindle! Sincerely, The Amazon Kindle Team ======= -I called Amazon about this. Senior Amazon support staff explained that Apple requested Amazon force all Mac kindle users to upgrade to the 10.10 before they can use the latest Kindle app. And on sep.15th the app on my iMac will no longer work at all anymore. So content I have in my Amazon account is forever locked up out of my use until I upgrade my Os and the Kindle app. Would you trust Apple and Amazon now? I live on SSI/SNAP due to disabilities am born with. I cannot afford to buy a new mac let along pay for upgrading all my apps just to run on 10.10 on my 4yr old iMac. Apple and Amazon have gone to far with their controlling users. Please share and pass on this warning. I am pissed off.
Like (1)
Version 1.11.2
5 answer(s)
Mondele
Mondele
29 August 2015
This sort of behavior is why many authors are not protecting their work with DRM — it is disrespectful towards the readers who buy them. If you have work protected by DRM, you may be able to remove the protection with a program like Kindle DRM Removal ($28 - here on MacUpdate) or a number of similar programs available for free. Additionally, if you have copies of your books on your computer, and your computer is running the Kindle app, there is no way for Amazon to disable that app, nor to encrypt those books, especially if you are not connected to the Internet when you read them. Anything downloaded after September 15 will not be compatible with the older software, but I don't see a way that they could break existing content that has already been downloaded.

Mind - this is based upon guesses as to what they are doing, and a firm understanding of computer workings. It's possible the older books were encrypted with a key or certificate that expires on the 15th... In that case, turn the clock on your computer back. There are a number of websites that can tell you which year had months identical to 2015...
Like (1)
Mondele
Mondele
29 August 2015
It might also be worth noting that, if you don't want to deal with removing DRM, etc., a new 6" Kindle is currently $79, which is a lot less expensive than a new Mac. I wouldn't put too much blame on Amazon, here. Apple has made it very difficult for them to function in Apple's ecosystem.
Like
Mondele
Mondele
30 August 2015
Finally, if you use Calibre to manage your eBooks (and if you don't, you can start now), Apprentice Alph has a plugin that will strip the DRM from your Amazon books when you import them to Calibre. It's important to install the plugin before you import the books, or it won't work, but I tested it (both using my Kindle's serial number and using the decryption key built in to the Kindle app) and it works very well. I'm currently re-importing my 200+ Kindle books to Calibre to make sure I'll be able to continue to read them in the future. If you need a bit more information, LifeHacker had an article on how to do this. Best of luck.
Like
Meitnik
Meitnik
30 August 2015
Thank you for the replies Mondele! Will the DRM stripping prevent annotations made on those books to be backed up to the amazon cloud and be exportable to the clippings file Amazon uses? My needs are not about pleasure reading but trying to work smart doing research.
Like
Mondele
Mondele
31 August 2015
Meitnik, I don't know about stripping the DRM, but the lack of support from Amazon will likely end all connection with the cloud. Calibre does support annotations, but I don't know to what extent you can copy your existing Amazon annotations to Calibre. Unfortunately, the cloud remains firmly in Amazon's control, and you'll need a supported program to be able to use it.
Like
Thel
28 August 2015
Kindle for Mac version 1.11.2 is _NOT_ compatible with MacOS 10.6.x, 10.7.x, or 10.8.x After several immediate-crash launch attempts, I happened upon this page... http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=201159360 ...which states: "Kindle for Mac can be used on any Apple Mac computer running OS X 10.9.5 or higher." (Both MU and the App Store still display the old min. sys req's.)
Like (2)
Version 1.11.2
1 answer(s)
Meitnik
Meitnik
28 August 2015
Apple and Amazon has reached a new level of evil and control. see my posting above. I will be forever locked out of my content paid for unless I upgrade my OS and kindle app.
Like (1)
Steinar-Helgesen
26 April 2015
Its ok but needs feature to add audiobooks into it. I listen to Kindle audiobooks in the car and would be nice to have when i am working.
Like
Version 1.11.2
Holmemoss
26 April 2015
v1.11.2 is NOT compatible MacOS 10.6 If you have made the same mistake as me then you can revert to v1.10.1 here http://www.downloadcrew.co.uk/article/10016-amazon_kindle_for_mac
Like (1)
Version 1.11.2
1 answer(s)
Scifi
Scifi
26 April 2015
Yet another app that's based on the Qt code/frameworks -- I've seen this happen on other apps based on Qt code -- Qt does not know how to make their code work on 10.6.8 even tho they have a section about this very situation in their programming docs.  So when I sent the crashreport into Apple® I said please PLEASE forward this crash on to all the people responsible: Amazon.com, Kindle, *and* Qt companies, to let them know they must consider another framework to use instead of Qt if Qt will-not fix this on their own dime.  Then I told them my registered Apple-ID in case they need to reach me.  Then thanked them.
Like
Sanchai
26 April 2015
When I download Kindle app from MAS, it download but the app end up in Incompatible software folder not in Applications folder as it should be. I have to move it to trash, then move it back to Applications folder. But it work fine. What is the problem?
Like
Version 1.11.2
Robertcoogan
29 December 2014
This app has a much better interface than iBooks, and is very reliable on my MBP and iMac, both of which are almost 5 years old. My only criticism is that there is no way to sort titles by date added.
Like
Version 1.10.6
Robertcoogan
29 December 2014
This app has a much better interface than iBooks, and is very reliable on my MBP and iMac, both of which are almost 5 years old. My only criticism is that there is no way to sort titles by date added.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.6
bhelmick
19 October 2014
This app used to work flawlessly but never worked during the Yosemite beta period, during which time I bugged Amazon, twice. And now it still doesn't work as of the date of this review, on the publicly released version of Yosemite. No doubt Amazon will fix at some point but shame on Amazon for allowing this to happen in the first place. It will load an epub doc but won't do the mobi conversion in the process. So I'm rating it 1 star for how. When they fix it, it will be back to 5 stars.
Like
Version 1.10.6
3 answer(s)
cettel
cettel
30 November 2014
Apple's Yosemite stinks in so many ways; and this is one of them. Probably, Amazon just gave up on it. Apple should fire the entire Yosemite team: this operating system is an atrocity, far worse than its predecessor. And once you 'upgrade,' you can't go back. Apple has a catastrophe on its hands.
Like (1)
bhelmick
bhelmick
30 November 2014
Actually I've got some good news here - working with the Kindle Techs. Amazon will come up with a Yosemite compatible fix eventually and in the meantime there is a workaround. I never could, still can't, understand why Amazon bothered to put a converted epub file inside a folder, and in fact it is the creation of the folder that causes the problem. The converted mobi file is actually there, but the the folder it is in, has in its folder name, a .epub extension on the end. So Finder in Yosemite thinks it is looking at a file and not a folder. So the workaround is simply to rename the folder - i.e. removing the .epub on the end. Then Yosemite will see the folder, inside of which you will find your converted mobi file.

As for Yosemite, my experience has been better than yours - definitely pluses and minuses, but more pluses than minuses. But it is true, David Pogue to the contrary, the days when one could look forward with great anticipation to the next Mac flawless upgrade, seem to be fading away.
Like
Lfrogkisser
Lfrogkisser
11 December 2014
It's working for me on 10.10.1.
Like
johnagilleland
02 October 2014
After downloading some recent updates, my Kindle for Mac app wiil not launch. If I download it from the Mac App store, will I lose access to all of my library ?
Like
Version 1.10.6
piquadratpi2
18 September 2014
After updating to 10.9.5 the version 1.10.6 of Kindle doesn't launch anymore. Please Update! Thank you!
Like
Version 1.10.6
2 answer(s)
Okeedoak
Okeedoak
21 September 2014
Try downloading from the Mac App Store.
Like (2)
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
21 September 2014
Thank you - after installing it from the Mac AppStore all wotks again like a charm!
Like
Vitaly
24 August 2014
on my machine kindle does not work with yosemite PB2
Like (1)
Version 1.10.6
1 answer(s)
Vitaly
Vitaly
24 August 2014
but when i downloaded it from app store it worked (before i had a download from the amazon site)
Like (2)
Aargl
04 July 2013
Why doesn't Amazon show clearly on their download page what is the number of the current version? Before I think to check here, my only opportunity was to DL it again and check if it was different! Thank you MU! ;-)
Like
Version 1.10.6
Vulcan-
29 May 2013
Macupdates has really messed up the Kindle Reader info .. the Desktop shows a new version of 1.10.5 and this page agrees, but the app is marked for the AppStore where it only knows about 1.10.3 .. so upgrade is not possible sorry the rating isn't better but the vendor has some resp. to ensure that all sources of their app work
Like
Version 1.10.5
gtrsteve
08 April 2013
This version, 1.10.5, is actually older than the one I have which is 1.10.3. 1.10.5 was Created: February 9, 2010 1:04 PM, while 1.10.3 was Created: Monday, June 18, 2012. The version numbers are misleading.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.5
5 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
13 May 2013
Yeah, you're right. What's with that??
Like
Jimblue
Jimblue
13 June 2013
@gtrsteve Nice obeservation. I was about to delete my MAS store version and install this one until I read your bit of wit.
Like
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
14 June 2013
So, I come here again to see what's up after you, Jimblue, replied and I see it still has 1.10.5 listed so out of curiosity, I go to the Developer's site at Amazon and download another from there to see what it is, and they give me 1.10.6 but the info for the date is about the same as this one, which is that earlier date again listed in Get Info. I kept both and will see what happens later. This one here still has that old date though it says 06 April 2013 here. I just don't want to have to redo my library setup again. This is WEIRD!!!!
Like
Jimblue
Jimblue
14 June 2013
hi gtrsteve, yeah i went to amazon and did the same -- dled it from amazon. and like you, saw the older date in the get info box. please let me know if you ever figure out which is the most current version for real. right now it appears the one from MAS is the most current, but things aren't always as they appear.
Like
Musselrock
Musselrock
16 June 2013
The developer is forgetting to update the application package. Look inside the package contents and you'll see more recent dates - May 22, 2013, while the get info on the app shows Sept 30, 2010. The version on MacUpdate is exactly the same as the amazon version at http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=kcp_mac_mkt_lnd?docId=1000464931. This is fairly common for many apps. Go by the version number not the package date.
Like (3)
bbw7
07 April 2013
It seems this app only allows one to have up to 99 books in one's library, and then starts removing older ones to allow for newer books added. I've searched for any discussion of this, and have yet to find any. Is this the case, and is there some way to save/archive books, so that they are popped out of the library stack?
Like
Version 1.10.5
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
02 November 2012
For some reason MacUpdate doesn't have the most recent version. You can get a copy of the newer version available in the Mac App Store from http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=kcp_mac_mkt_lnd?docId=1000464931, without going through the App Store, which I've found to be unreliable about updates.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
Ronnb
09 September 2012
This works well enough with downloading and viewing e-book purchases from Amazon. It has a decent set of application tools for customizing the viewing experience as well. Kindle on OSX has one serious deficiency and that is if I buy a book with recorded examples or media examples, these are not downloaded or available from with in this application – though I paid to have access to the ENTIRE book. This is a serious issue for certain books that come with CDs and should be corrected.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
1 answer(s)
Hkim
Hkim
23 September 2012
I noticed that if I try to copy and paste from a book, inside of this application, Amazon also insists on sticking a cite at the end of every thing that is pasted and copied and can not be disabled!
Like
Jweisbin
26 January 2012
Why does the app store still show version 1.8.1 as the latest?
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
1 answer(s)
Ronnb
Ronnb
09 September 2012
True. This application is now at 1.10.1 as of this date.
Like (1)
Joeschisa
25 January 2012
Good for Kindle, allowing their books on what seems most any device: wish apple would do same. Had one complaint that graphics didn't seem to show up in mac edition, not sure if this version corrects that and if previous purchases have to be downloaded again if graphics now show. I haven't spent a lot of time reading on screen, been busy, but even if the execution is not quite right (not sure), the ability to send them almost effortlessly to various devices is what I give it the stars for.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
2 answer(s)
Joeschisa
Joeschisa
25 January 2012
just a note: is this thing with the portable devices a replay of the apple/microsoft "battles" of last century wherein microsoft got the "market advantage" by having their stuff run on many hardware (computer) manufacturers (to oversimplify, I suppose)?
Like
Joeschisa
Joeschisa
25 January 2012
Oops, if you bought this at app store, shouldn't install this, I did and wouldn't work, fortunately I'd CC (carbon copied) Sys disk and replaced this download with previous app, which again worked.
Like
hannahyoder
19 November 2011
I downloaded the kindle for mac. there's only 3 books in my library, Do i have to pay to get more or is it Just free????????????????????
Like
Version 1.8.1
1 answer(s)
Knowhowe
Knowhowe
25 January 2012
There's an amazing range of FREE books- thousands of them- available for Kindle on Amazon and elsewhere. Do a search. Now's the time to get to read all of those classics you always meant to! I love my Kindle to bits. I have around 500 books on it and these are backed up on my MacBook Pro so I can enjoy them on either. I also have a bunch on my phone too! Who said reading was dead?
Like (2)
Mookzmom
29 October 2011
This is one of few apps which I have deliberately downloaded outside of the app store. I wanted to see if anyone can tell me if there are differences in the functionality of the non-app store version. I don't use this app much yet, as I have a large volume of rss feeds to keep up with. Can anyone tell me the differences in the two versions?
Like
Version 1.8.1
Fra
18 October 2011
Why Amazon who sales music in the non-DRM format mp3, sales books with DRM ???
Like (4)
Version 1.8
Celtic-Witch
27 September 2011
One of the best...really like it!
Like
Version 1.7
Sjha
29 August 2011
Version 1.7 crashes on launch for me. Version 1.4 is fine.
Like
Version 1.7
iTruth
05 August 2011
For simple reading enjoyment this app is great. I love the ease and convenience of auto sync between Kindle on my Mac and iPhone. As far as I'm concerned this is a must have app.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
Joeschisa
05 August 2011
Can you buy the books with this program or just read them imported from kindle device?
Like
Version 1.6.2
2 answer(s)
Yazarim
Yazarim
28 August 2011
Yes, there is a button "Shop in Kindle Store", which means Amazon
Like
Joeschisa
Joeschisa
28 August 2011
Thanks Yazarim
Like
Anon-Bud
08 April 2011
Can someone tell me why the new version is not on the App Store? I made the mistake of getting the last version of Kindle through the App Store (see below for my word on that) and so do not want to do the direct download and have to again go through the process I mentioned in my earlier post. Any help here? Thanks!
Like (2)
Version 1.4.31852
2 answer(s)
James-Anderson
James-Anderson
09 April 2011
I'm wondering the same. I did try uninstalling the App store version and direct downloading the current version, however after installing it only crashes on launch, tried reinstalling with no luck. Looks like once you install the app store version you are stuck with it even after removing it.
Like (1)
Bruceg
Bruceg
02 June 2011
James- Maybe Apple noticed the crashing problem on some platforms and refused to put it in the App Store.
Like
Professor2
17 February 2011
Here is the direct download link: http://kindleformac.amazon.com/30814/KindleForMac.dmg
Like (2)
Version 1.2.3
Anon-Bud
16 February 2011
A word of warning, if your Kindle was originally downloaded through Amazon.com: The App Store Kindle App will make you take every book off your device (read, your Mac) and then have you reinstall each one. For someone with only a few books, this is no big deal. But for people like me who have many books, this is a time consuming (read, time wasting) pile. I love the app. I hate the App Store! Just watch out!
Like (6)
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Knowhowe
Knowhowe
25 January 2012
Agreed. What are they thinking?
Like
Big-Mac-XXL
16 February 2011
This free program is only downloadable on this ******* App Store? No, thanks. I wait until it gets "released" on BitTorrent. :-)
Like (5)
Version 1.2.3
2 answer(s)
Nomad11
Nomad11
16 February 2011
it's still available at amazon http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=kcp_mac_mkt_lnd?docId=1000464931
Like (2)
Paulcoholic
Paulcoholic
17 February 2011
The direct download link only get ver 1.2.2, not ver 1.2.3 listed. Apparently this is now only available on the *********App Store. :-(
Like (2)
Poikkeus
31 December 2010
I use this software with my iPod Touch. While I prefer Stanza for its speed, readability, and features, Kindle for Mac is nicely represented here. Kindle has a strong selection of books, costing anything from free to a few dollars, but books are extremely easy to read
Like (4)
Version 1.2.0
Digital-Fury
02 November 2010
Slight improvement on the previous beta version, but still incredibly subpar compared with the iPad and iPhone versions or a real Kindle. - The fonts still look like a quick and dirty port from another OS. The app is probably doing - badly - it's own rendering - You can't change the typeface - You can't change the line spacing - If you reduce the words per line, you end up with gigantic margins but the application window doesn't shrink - No cut & paste even though you are...on a computer When you own a real Kindle, you see how much of a fugly hacked kludge this app really is.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Matthewpfritz
22 October 2010
UGGG!! Really, Amazon?! That is the best you could do? Why can't I resize the column width? I have all this screen real estate and I have to page down every other sentence because the column width is a whopping 5 inches (guessing)? And why can't I copy text? It would be helpful as I am preparing my lecture for the class I teach (which all bought hard copies of the book, mind you). Needless to say, I am disappointed.
Like
Version 1.2.0
DPoncy
21 October 2010
I just updated from 1.0 to 1.2 and was pleasantly surprised at the improvements. Font rendering has become much nicer and there are some good new options. They still need to work on display options, however. You should be able to set the column widths independently from the font size. This is especially annoying when going back and forth from full page view.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Gizmo65
29 August 2010
Not as awful as other reviewers make it out to be. Still, some serious shortcomings. Lacks the functionality of the iPhone app. On the other hand, the automatic syncing is nice. Oh, and to answer the snarky question about why someone would ever want to read on a laptop, I have two responses: 1) Sometimes, you might have a little break time at your computer when you can read, the sync feature means you can pickup from whereever you left off and 2) the Macbook Air is lighter, more comfortable (can rest while reading) and far more versatile than and iPad.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Digital-Fury
10 July 2010
I have the iPad version and it is fairly good and competent, but this OS X version is a disgrace. The app itself seems to be an overnight hack job and the font rendering looks like sh*t.
Like
Version 1.0
Penguirl
18 May 2010
I seem to remember Steve saying that all it takes to make a Universal Binary app is a check of a box. What happened???
Like (2)
Version 1.0
MHerndz
18 March 2010
First: Beta is right. You cannot even alter the type size, only the paper width. So why would anyone want to read a book on a 1" paper width, mutants? For Amazon to flop on their first try with not giving control of the type size, I would never bother with this. I think they hired elementary school coding interns. Second: Why would anyone in their right minds want to read full books on a computer?
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
TSMelo
TSMelo
19 March 2010
Yes, it is a beta. Yes, it has its problems. But you're wrong about not being able to change type size. In the current beta (beta 1) you can change both the page width and the type size. All in all, it's far from perfect but it's a step ahead...
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Aikousha
Aikousha
24 December 2011
Wow, the second question is answerable by anyone who actually gives it a moment's thought. Those with very poor vision, and those that can't keep or manipulate physical books. Personally, a better question would be... if you have a computer, why not read books on it? -- especially if you study, or if your computer is your music device (do two things at once). Besides, you can easily store a million (though unless you are a library server, that'd be silly) books on a Mac hard drive. Try storing even 6000 in a tiny apartment.
Like
liang-case
18 March 2010
I downloaded it… and I wish the Amazon could support the highlight/annotation feature. That's an essential feature for me. Thanks.
Like (4)
Version 1.0