Back to Cinch page
Cinch free download for Mac

Cinch Reviews

1.2.3
13 February 2017

Simple, mouse-driven window management.

Apple Insider
03 May 2010

Most helpful

Cinch adds Mac OS X are two very convenient features. First, it is opening up the windows for exactly half of the screen. This is done by dragging the window for the header to the left or right edge of the screen. The fact that the utility you realize you will understand the characteristic dotted lines. This function is extremely useful if you have to keep two windows side by side, in turn, analyzing their contents - for example, when a reprint of the text, or when comparing the contents of files. The second function Cinch - is unfolding window to full screen as you drag to the middle of the menubar. Options consist of the entire four points: Recommend to all to put a second check by inserting autostart utility. Options Cinch - one of those that get used immediately. Thanks to the developers, not only for Cinch but for SizeUp. Best Regards Vitaly!
Like (6)
Version 1.0.3

Read 34 Cinch User Reviews

Rate this app:

Moccaboi
27 March 2019
Great app to get organized on your desk. Very intuitive 'n easy 2 manipulate. Thxs!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Robio
09 May 2017
*Exponentially* better than the native macOS Split View in every way. More intuitive (especially for getting in/out of snapped-into-place views). Doesn't force you into Full Screen mode (so you can still CMD+~ to switch between several windows in the same app, unlike macOS Split View which cripples that functionality). This is a perfect example of how it's become up to other developers to make macOS "just work" anymore, since Apple keeps making Macs harder to use.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Caput-Draconis
23 December 2015
Using it for a year now and it does the trick, nothing to complain (only steam doesn't work).
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Irradiated-Software
Irradiated-Software
30 December 2015
Yep, unfortunately Steam uses non-standard windows which don't respond to being resized programmatically.
Like (1)
Cowicide
12 February 2015
No longer works with Quick Look windows on latest Mavericks 10.9.5. What a bummer. It was a nice, quick way to maximize the Quick Look windows to almost full screen without having to hit the built-in full screen button within Quick Look and lose access to flipping through multiple media in a folder with the arrow keys seamlessly. Hope developer can fix this. One of the only reasons I use Cinch was for this purpose.
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
12 February 2015
Strange, I tested on some mp4 videos and it worked again. I then tried it on a gif and it broke again and now won't work with anything else again. Seems like this is a bug that can be fixed.
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
19 February 2015
Developer is working on this known issue, but not sure if can be fixed or not. Quick Look won't work in Mavericks if a Finder window is open.
Like (1)
BillJones2623
16 August 2013
I have used Cinch for a few months. It works on either monitor, but I haven't tried to keep something else over a cinched window. It's not a Win7 screen manager, but it is very helpful in OSX. I'd rather not try to do detailed evaluations.. come on, this is a nice little tool to make my day easer. It works.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
kaviaz
23 July 2013
I used cinch with Quiztones, that developer tell me he'll inform you when using Cinch, Quiztones crushes while manipulate. But after both apps upgrade, it still crushes.
Like
Version 1.1.1
hiresiri
19 November 2012
Great tool
Like
Version 1.1
Jpwgibson
14 November 2012
I'm a bit uncertain about the pricing. Under "Buy" it is listed as $62 originally, now marked down to $14.99. However, under "Information" the price is given as $7. One reviewer claims to have paid $0.99 for it. This is quite a discrepancy.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
14 November 2012
We're currently offering a mini bundle for $14.99 that Cinch is included in. $62 is the total combined value of the applications in the bundle, with Cinch regularly going for $7. I know that labeling is a bit confusing, and we are working to make it a bit more clear!
Like
Big Johnson
14 October 2012
Disappointed. I must be missing something: Tried Arrange briefly and expected my windows to stay where I put them and stay on TOP. Mainly wanted it for keeping Quicktime Player on top so I could watch video while doing other things, but it doesn't stay there. With VLC I can float the window on top, but not QTP. What's the point of arranging a window to a certain position if it's going to disappear when I switch apps? When I return to a window to work, I want it fullscreen, not 1/8 screen or some other miniscule size. If QTP or maybe Thunderbird would stay on top in a corner while I was working, fine, but since I must return to each one to see them, why would I want them minimized? I don't want to read my email or work with Pages or any other app in a tiny window, that's why I bought a 17" MacBook Pro - so I'd have more real estate.
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
14 October 2012
OOPS - I meant I used Cinch briefly. I left the same review for Arrange because it has the same "flaw." I want my cinched windows on TOP.
Like
Irradiated-Software
Irradiated-Software
15 October 2012
This is not really a flaw in Cinch, it's simply how windows behave in OS X. Apple does not provide a way for developers to manipulate the window levels of other apps. There is an app, Afloat, which allows you to force windows to float, but it does so by injecting code into the running process. This is sometimes known as a "haxxie", which can destabilize your system if done improperly.
Like
Vinkri
21 January 2012
I was using Divvy for windows management. But 99% of the time, I just need to work with 2 windows at the same time, so a basic split of the screen is mainly what I need. Cinch was on sale for $0.99: I tried it and quit Divvy immediately: Cinch is faster and good for my needs most of the time. $7 is a bit expensive for the basic features it offers, but it's not a big price either: for the same amount, you could have a small lunch at McDonald's. But Cinch will last much longer...
Like
Version 1.0.6
2 answer(s)
Rallypacific
Rallypacific
17 February 2012
But what about Spaces? Doesn't the window you want to Cinch in place actually just jump to the adjacent Space? I would really want to know this before considering Cinch.
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
29 April 2012
Rallypacific, I haven't had that problem, I the window resizes before spaces is triggered.
Like
rambothecat
03 December 2011
Great application but there are free ones available. I stick to betterTouchTool
Like
Version 1.0.6
1 answer(s)
Trashie
Trashie
16 January 2012
better touch tool is a lot bigger a bit cumbersome...and not very stable...this is simple and easy and very stable...but yeah you can get this for free in a few apps out there...so yeah maybe they should make this one free and upgrade fee for its big brother size up which offers the more paid feature set.
Like (1)
Cindi168
16 August 2011
great software! however, it still doesn't work correctly when there's a 2nd monitor...
Like (1)
Version 1.0.6
2 answer(s)
Irradiated-Software
Irradiated-Software
18 August 2011
Hey Cindi, Cinch does work with multiple monitors, are you just referring to how it can be difficult to cinch on the edge between monitors? I have a tip on the Cinch website (http://www.irradiatedsoftware.com/cinch/) on how to work around this.
Like (2)
Cindi168
Cindi168
21 August 2011
no, i have a second monitor which i used more often , when i drag a window to the edge that's next to my other monitor (my macbook), sometimes it will resize the window to half size, and sometimes it will resize it to 3/4 of the size.
Like (1)
Yavari
29 July 2011
A great tool! I've had Cinch installed on my MacBook Pro for the past nine months or so, and it's been an invaluable tool in managing my windows. It's one of the features that Microsoft got right in Windows 7, and it's good to see it brought to the Mac via this tool.
Like
Version 1.0.4
cstephen87
09 April 2011
The creator of this app also makes the well-known "SizeUp" Window Manger which, when used together with Cinch, turns your Mac into a power-window-switcher within itself. This specific app, "Cinch" makes Snow Leopard similar to the standard Windows 7 with window snapping. Very nice, very easy to use and great price!
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
29 December 2013
vice versa. Cinch came first. win 7 swiped the function.
Like
Cowicide
22 January 2011
Here's to offset my screwup earlier. Plus, even though I do want Cinch to allow user specified exclusions still, it was NOT cinch's fault that angry birds went haywire. It was another app called Warp that doesn't have user-specified app exclusions.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
Cowicide
21 January 2011
Once again, really, really wish you could exclude apps yourself instead of relying on the dev for everything. Lot's of other apps I use allow for this including some free ones. Why not this app I paid for? For example, would really like to exclude Angry Birds but I can't and it hinders gameplay. So I have to completely shut down Cinch when I play. Which sucks when others play it on my computer, because I have to sit there and shut down Cinch or show them how. Dude... let us exclude apps ourselves too!!!
Like
Version 1.0.4
2 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
22 January 2011
ugh... cinch didn't cause the problem with angry birds it was warp, so my bad!!! I didn't mean to rate it so low either, I wanted it to be 4 stars, with one off for not being able to exclude apps, but it saved that way it is now. I can't delete this review, so I'm going to do another one to try and compensate!
Like (1)
Cowicide
Cowicide
02 August 2011
I'm downvoted myself here too... haha!
Like
Yuriy-Georgiev
07 September 2010
I'm really satisfied from this software. It's also very useful on wide screens. Congratulations to the developer.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
Trashie
04 September 2010
I find all of these pointless on my MacBook Pro I just use spaces and mouse gesture to activate it. As for on my MacPro a 30" screen I find it quicker just to position windows myself. YMMV. These are all cool but I never seem to use them. I hate auto snapping my windows and as for divvy and a little grid it is just as quick to resize the window yourself. Maybe I am using them wrong...I find it slows me down not speed me up. I suppose these are love or hate things.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
No-One
08 August 2010
I actually really love this app. The first time I saw that Windows 7 could do this I always wished I could use this feature on my mac. However, in order for me to be willing to pay for this app (which I will be doing) I need one thing fixed. Whenever I snap two windows side-by-side they seem to overlap just a little bit. This gets sort of annoying when it disrupts the view of the other window. Fix this problem, and I will pay for this app hands down. Nice job.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
Austinpowers61
07 August 2010
I had been running this handy little utility in "demo" mode for a few months, to see if this was something I would really use, or just a novelty. I can happily report that the novelty has worn off, and this has become an indispensable piece of my software arsenal. It just works, and I find that I use it most every day. The developer is responsive and helpful, and the pricing is quite reasonable. I was happy to purchase a license.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
Cowicide
25 May 2010
Wish like other apps you could make your own excluded apps, etc. for Cinch
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
star-affinity
20 May 2010
Windows 7 - here we come! :) There's definitely some things for Apple to learn here.
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
23 July 2010
What's up with the minuses? If people like this function (they seem to do that when looking at the reviews) which mimics functions that's in Windows 7 - maybe some features is missing when it comes to the built-in window management features in Mac OS X, don't you agree? Not everything is bad in the world of Windows. :)
Like
Version 1.0.4
Apple Insider
03 May 2010
Cinch adds Mac OS X are two very convenient features. First, it is opening up the windows for exactly half of the screen. This is done by dragging the window for the header to the left or right edge of the screen. The fact that the utility you realize you will understand the characteristic dotted lines. This function is extremely useful if you have to keep two windows side by side, in turn, analyzing their contents - for example, when a reprint of the text, or when comparing the contents of files. The second function Cinch - is unfolding window to full screen as you drag to the middle of the menubar. Options consist of the entire four points: Recommend to all to put a second check by inserting autostart utility. Options Cinch - one of those that get used immediately. Thanks to the developers, not only for Cinch but for SizeUp. Best Regards Vitaly!
Like (6)
Version 1.0.3
Sanchower
30 April 2010
I really like this tiny utility. Great app, I have no problems with it. Thanks
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
Masgui
23 April 2010
Pros: - Easy to use - Mimmic Windows docking very well - Really stable, ignore application that would'nt be well displayed Cons: - Cannot hide icone from taskbar
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
2 answer(s)
Masgui
Masgui
23 April 2010
Err. You can remove icone from menubar :-D
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
Irradiated-Software
Irradiated-Software
25 April 2010
There is an option in the Cinch preferences to disable the menu bar item. If you want to access the preferences again, simply re-launch the Cinch application file and the preferences will appear.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
Jonser
06 April 2010
This version no longer re-sizes iTunes. Otherwise I use Cinch every day.
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Irradiated-Software
Irradiated-Software
09 April 2010
If you are running iTunes 9.1, it's necessary for Cinch to ignore iTunes to prevent iTunes from crashing. This is a bug in iTunes which Apple is aware of and needs to fix. If you are running a version of iTunes prior to 9.1, you are best off using the previous version of Cinch for the time being: http://www.irradiatedsoftware.com/downloads/Cinch_1.0.1.zip Regards, Steve
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
Apple Insider
23 February 2010
Ease of working with the computer itself working environment is very important for any user. Small program Cinch will make your work with a Mac is much easier and faster. Cinch provides several new features in the interface of the operating system, allowing much easier to manage the windows on the desktop. Features Cinch: Cinch conveniently hides in the menubar and allows you to align the window, deploy the whole desktop ... Similar functionality is available to users of Windows 7, where it is called Aero Snap. Interestingly, the Cinch has appeared before the function Aero Snap. Comparison of the contents of windows: A simple comparison of the contents of multiple windows. To do this, simply grab the window title for the mouse and drag on one side: left or right. Window will take exactly half of the screen, do the same with the second window and get a convenient form of comparison of contents. Function is useful when you want to compare two windows, for example, with the documents. Clearly, the function will be useful for owners of large screens! If the window can not increase, the Cinch show corresponding sign the ban. Window to full screen: On Windows it is a common thing, but on the Mac is the complexity. However, if you need to expand the window to the entire desktop, you need to use the Cinch. Options: In the settings you can choose whether to show the program icon in the menubar, make autorun at system startup and configure auto updates. And in conclusion I say that I was satisfied with the program Cinch! Thanks to Irradiated Software for the excellent program! Sincerely Vitaly!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
Enanton
20 February 2010
Wonderful little application, worth every penny, but it doesn't play well with Adobe Illustrator or Indesign.
Like
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
Irradiated-Software
Irradiated-Software
09 April 2010
Cinch 1.0.2 is now setup to ignore most Adobe applications to prevent any interference.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Enanton
Enanton
09 April 2010
Brilliant, 5 out of 5. Great job guys, keep up the excellent work.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
Gryffin
Gryffin
13 April 2010
What, you're surprised? Adobe apps don't play well with Spaces, either. Heck, Adobe apps don't work right with pretty much *anything*, because what look like windows aren't actually Mac OS X windows. You can't blame Cinch for Adobe's stupidity.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
Doug-S-
24 December 2009
I just grabbed this program the other day, expecting to use it for a little while and when the gimmick wore off to delete it. The problem is, it's not a gimmick. Instead it's extremely handy. Let me start by saying this program works very well and is very well thought out. It runs smoothly and it's clear what will happen with every action you take. Since it is still rather new there are features that I would like to see. Such as if I dragged a window into a corner it would only take up 1/4th of the screen. On larger displays that could easily come in handy. I don't use spaces but I would also hope they'd find a more elegant solution than skewing the screen's alignments. After using this app I already find it invaluable. Does it do anything I couldn't do myself? Not as such, no. But it does it faster and with greater ease than I can. Because of this it saves me time and even if it is a cliché time truly is money. This is also why I think $7 is a suitable price for this app. It's not so expensive that you feel you're overpaying but it's not so cheap that you feel the developer hasn't put any real time or effort into it. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have a license to buy.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.1
Yazsoft
23 December 2009
This is a fantastic utility and is worth every penny. It's one of those things that make you smile once you get hooked on using it. Great job!
Like (5)
Version 1.0.1
anonymous-toucan-2739
23 December 2009
Great app. Pretty useless to charge at all for something so simple. I really don't think it's worth it to charge even at a cheep price. When it all comes down to it people will start questioning why buy something that resizes your windows? Others will look at it like, oh but I just drag them next to each other or use dock expose. Please reconsider the charging for this app. I'd donate but not pay. It is a nice little app though. Stinks that every windows user would say "haha you don't get that? You have to look and then pay for it?" I'm sorry but that's just how I feel about it. Thank you for the demo ver though.
Like
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
23 December 2009
I'm going to give it a shot. I'll drop $20 for a movie I might watch 100 times over my lifetime, what's $7 for an app that increases my productivity? Yes, it'd be nice if these guys gave us this app for free or only charged us $1.99 as a token fee, but they decided not to do that and I'm OK with that. Besides, from what I hear you can get away with using the demo indefinitely if you don't mind getting bugged every once and a while.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Gordon142
Gordon142
23 December 2009
Saying an app is "not worth charging for" is kind of ridiculous. If the app is useful and improves your workflow, it is worth paying for. If it doesn't, then don't use it. The only exception I can see is if there was a free app that did the same thing, and this does not appear to be the case. The whole "I like it, I use it, but you shouldn't charge me for it" attitude is a bit bizarre. Furthermore, 7 dollars. That's about the price of two medium lattes, less than the cost of a single movie ticket, about the same as a fast-food lunch. In other words, it's money that you probably willingly spend on single-use goods and services. I would argue that considering you can potentially use this app for years with your $7 purchase, I would say the price is pretty inconsequential if the app provides any value to you.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.1
DFXThomas
22 December 2009
Cinch is a really great tool for arranging windows on your screen. Simple to use and easy to get used to! And it's only 5€ (7$) ... nothing to complain about :-) !
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Gordon142
22 December 2009
If you like the Windows 7 "snap" features, this is basically an exact copy of that. In my case, that is a good thing. This application is extremely handy, and $7 doesn't leave much to complain about.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Major-Mauser
18 December 2009
Great little app adds Microsoft Windows 7 window management to the Mac. Works like a charm. But the price is a little rich for me.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Shmk
Shmk
18 December 2009
7 bucks? It doesn't get much cheaper than that.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Fishscale
Fishscale
22 December 2009
Great Dev to boot! Purchasing this app is a no brainer boys and girls. A+
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1