Back to MediaInfo page
MediaInfo free download for Mac

MediaInfo Reviews

19.09
11 September 2019

Supplies technical and tag information about a video or audio file.

GeogProf
16 September 2011

Most helpful

Thanks to the developer for not joining the parade of other devs who recently switched their similar apps from freeware to shareware in order to score some cash at the crApp Store. I love this app, but I’d also love to see a couple of features implemented: 1) Ability to change font size to make it more legible; and 2) Ability to compare multiple apps. Otherwise, great app.
Like (5)
Version 0.7.49

Read 17 MediaInfo User Reviews

Rate this app:

artymex
09 June 2019
The DMG file that we can download for the GUI v19.04 (not from the Mac App Store, but from the MacUpdate), can't be mounted. A Warning error from the DiskImageMounter reports that there are not mountable file systems. Same result if you go to the developer's site and download the same file. Thus, it seems that this is bug, a REAL BUG! from the developer. It seems that after v0.7.60 nothing is working well at MediaArea. They looked to monetize their app and...
Like
Version 19.04
Mahdizadeh
24 March 2018
the best
Like
Version 18.03
GeogProf
07 May 2017
This developer is still quite clueless. When you drop a video file on the MediaInfo icon in the Dock, the app opens but doesn’t display the mediainfo — the app has to be opened first, then you can drop the video file on it to display the mediainfo (in macOS 10.12.4). Halfassed. Invisor is better, though it costs $3 and currently uses v. 0.7.94 of the MediaInfo library (which is nevertheless quite new).
Like (1)
Version 0.7.95
GeogProf
18 October 2015
Does not work on my OS 10.7.5 iMac.
Like
Version 0.7.78
1 answer(s)
Anon42
Anon42
11 January 2016
I can confirm. It doesn't work on my 10.6.7 when you drop a file on the app's icon but it does work explicitly opening the file through the app's Open menu. Someone else also reported this below way back in 2013. Obviously the author doesn't read these comments. I wonder if the app store version behaves the same way.
Like
Libertyforall1776
17 March 2014
Version 0.7.67, 2014-01-10 -------------- x Windows version: translation files were corrupted x Mac App Store version: "Can not open file(s)" message when trying to open files having diacritics in file name. x MXF: duplicate display of some time code streams in ancillary data x B814, AAC: Wrong detection of audioObjectType==29
Like
Version 0.7.66
Flavum
15 October 2013
Is it just me, or does this app not support drag and drop? You can't even drop a video file onto the open info window. Far too troublesome and unintuitive to have to navigate to a file's location using the "Open" command. No thanks.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.64
Anon42
28 November 2012
Prior to updating to 0.7.60 I was using 0.7.58. I'm sticking with 0.7.58. 0.7.60 added a "easy view" as the default view. I prefer the "tree view" which is the default in 0.7.58. It's ok to add various views but IMO it should remember the user's choice and use that the next time the app is used. I don't want to have to change it every time.
Like (2)
Version 0.7.60
Big-Mac-XXL
16 March 2012
Went back to MediaInfo Mac 0.7.36.0. The new version MediaInfo 0.7.54 is ugly as hell, has a terrible Java like GUI, the icon is ugly and full of broken pixels. The whole thing reminds me now of some kind of Java program from the past. Its an esthetically pain to use this software. The older version, though no beauty, is at least Mac like, nice and friendly. This was an failed upgrade attempt which ended in a downgrade. I JUST found out: my older and much nicer version is now commercially sold in the AppStore under the name Media Inspector. Indeed, a much nicer program.
Like
Version 0.7.54
2 answer(s)
Max-Pozdeev
Max-Pozdeev
19 March 2012
Media Inspector (formerly named MediaInfo Mac and still uses libMediaInfo) and MediaInfo are made by different developers.
Like (1)
JeromeMartinez
JeromeMartinez
24 March 2012
"Media Inspector" (formely "MediaInfo Mac") is not the same product, it is made by Diego Massanti, as a (friendly) wrapper to my library (this is explicitely written on all pages made by Diego). "MediaInfo" was ugly, but since March 20th 2012, a new MediaInfo GUI is released on the App Store with a better GUI (Mac style) http://itunes.apple.com/app/mediainfo/id510620098 Jerome, developper of MediaInfo
Like (1)
Arvidtp
14 March 2012
This is great. My only gripe is that i'd like to be able to drop media files on the application icon and have it open them like many of these type of apps do, not just on the window of the already open application - that way i could put it in my Finder toolbar and have it available in one step all the time.
Like
Version 0.7.54
GeogProf
16 September 2011
Thanks to the developer for not joining the parade of other devs who recently switched their similar apps from freeware to shareware in order to score some cash at the crApp Store. I love this app, but I’d also love to see a couple of features implemented: 1) Ability to change font size to make it more legible; and 2) Ability to compare multiple apps. Otherwise, great app.
Like (5)
Version 0.7.49
1 answer(s)
myschizobuddy-1
myschizobuddy-1
04 January 2012
there are tons of freeware software on the App Store. your pissing on the desire of the developers to make a living. Screw you. why don't you create an App yourself and give it for free and eat grass for the rest of your life.
Like (2)
Ryde
23 June 2011
MediaInfo is an indispensable tool for everybody working with video on the Mac. Why pay money for other apps that do the same without adding significant functionality at the core? This one here is the original thing and it's free. Highly recommended!
Like
Version 0.7.45
1 answer(s)
Max-Pozdeev
Max-Pozdeev
24 June 2011
But still it does not support non-ascii filenames.
Like
SickTeddyBear
26 March 2011
The latest version of MediaInfo is 0.7.43: http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en/Download/Mac_OS MediaInfo Mac, the related Cocoa program which uses the library from MediaInfo, has been renamed to Media Inspector, is no longer free, and is only available in the Mac App Store.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.34
Sala7575
16 July 2010
MediaInfo 0.7.34 is ugly... And It doent work properly...
Like (2)
Version 0.7.34
momijigari
23 March 2010
Very useful software. A big thanks to the developer for supporting Tiger + PPC.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.29
Houdini
29 November 2009
MediaInfo Droplet is only a wrapper of MediaInfo CLI while waiting for a new version of MediaInfo GUI by Jérôme Martinez with more fonctionalities (drag and drop...). Note that MediaInfo Mac simply uses MediaInfoLib designed by Jérôme.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.25
2 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
17 January 2010
okay but keep in mind, mediainfo mac is a much more thorough and useful app in my opinion and even if it is just a wrapped script so be it. Most free simple apps are simple command lines wrapped in a gui for easy use. If it was a pay app than something like that would be worth mentioning but since it is not I think the recommendations speak for themselves. 13 users prefer mediainfo mac over this app. I have tried both and agree with those users using mediainfo mac. just my opinion to keep in mind.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.26
Diego-Massanti
Diego-Massanti
16 May 2010
Houdini, you should stop demoting Mediainfo Mac the way you do in several comments of yours that i have seen on different sites or forums, or taking it as a "simple wrapper" around jerome's library, because it is not that simple as you may think. If it is that "simple" as you say, why don't you write an Objective-C aplication using the Cocoa API, which is 4 way universal binary like mine, linking against Jerome's library, instead of that applescript thing ? I honestly can't understand why you hate Mediainfo Mac so much or what problem could it cause to you, specially when im even releasing it for free. Diego Massanti. Developer of MediaInfo Mac.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.33
Ean
28 November 2009
Do not confuse this with the excellent MediaInfo Mac: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/26861/mediainfo-mac This packaging of MediaInfo feels crude. One can't drop a file on the application so there is a second "droplet" with inferior information display. One nice feature in the "full" application is changing the display between text and HTML, but there are no command keys or buttons-one is forced to mouse around. There is also a sort of graphical display that some may find useful but, for me, it made the information about the file harder to read. Features, Ease of Use 2 Value and Stability 4 Sticking with MedaInfo Mac for now.
Like (3)
Version 0.7.25
Houdini
27 November 2009
I am the packager of MediaInfo GUI. I would like to inform you that there is a new version of MediaInfo GUI available here: http://downloads.sourceforge.net/mediainfo/MediaInfo_GUI_0.7.25_Mac_Universal.dmg
Like (1)
Version 0.7.20