Back to ABBYY FineReader Express page
ABBYY FineReader Express free download for Mac

ABBYY FineReader Express Reviews

8.5.676060
05 January 2016

Easy-to-use OCR application.

Vicjoe
06 September 2010

Most helpful

I agree with the other reviews that this product has a minimalist interface but a robust OCR engine. The issue I had with it is, using the demo, the accuracy was very impressive. Okay, trial period over, time to buy; I paid online, downloaded the paid version (Aug. 28), and upon installing it, got a warning "the disk you chose contains a newer version of the software you are installing. Installing this software will replace a newer version with an older version." Since the trial version would no longer work, I went ahead with the installation (I should have hesitated as in the Installer, a page entitled Important Information only listed up to OS X 10.5, no mention of 10.6). I then launched the application, and proceeded to do a test scan on a book that had worked fine on the trial version. As with the trial, the scan proceeded and put up a window "Document Conversion" showing a progress bar that ended with the notation "Finished. 1 of 1 pages processed" But, the button "Finished" was greyed out so the process essentially ended there; All other menus were greyed out, so I had to quit the program via the Mac utility Activity Monitor. I didn't think to make a note of the trial version, but the (broken) paid version was 8.0.0.3578 Part: 718/4 (from the app's About menu, as a Finder Get Info does not include version information). On the next launch I thought to see if there was an entry for checking for updates, and there was. I downloaded the update, it indicated it was compatible with OS X 10.6 and indeed it did not hang at the "Document Conversion" window; it was now version 8.0.0.3891 Part 718/5. I was then able to compare scanning/ocr'ing the same page, same book as I had done with the trial version, and noted that there were a few more errors with the full version. It seems that the trial version was better at automatically de-skewing the page. The full version also felt slower than the trial one. I wrote ABBYY about this, they did respond and admit the following "FineReader Express for Mac trial was created after the full version of the software was, because there was a high demand from users requesting a trial version, therefore, when you install the full version it shows that is a [sic] older version of the software, but you are running the latest full version of the software." Conclusion: the full version that one pays for, even after using the Update feature, is older and slightly less accurate than the more impressive trial version. I'll continue to check the Update feature (can't set it to auto check, and the Preferences menu entry for all versions [trial, old full and updated full] were greyed out and in fact when reading the manual no mention of Preferences at all. Today, Sept. 6th, I did the manual update check and was advised that "There are no updates currently available for ABBYY FineReader Express Edition for Mac Build 3891." In sum, if you're impressed by the trial version, you may run into some install/use problems with the initial paid download and even a working update is less robust than the trial. Still, after trying 3 other OCR packages, ABBYY FineReader Express for Mac still has a strong edge for accuracy.
Like (9)
Version 8.0.0.3948

Read 47 ABBYY FineReader Express User Reviews

Rate this app:

alex-rizhsky
13 February 2017
I can definitely recommend this cloud version of ABBYY Fine Reader Professional: www.apponfly.com/en/abbyy-finereader?EZE I works on any device running Win as well as Mac OS and they provide a 30day free trial without any commitments.
Like
Version 8.5.676060
Neil-M
29 June 2015
I'd missed the latest update - it's not listed here. Update Part Number: 718/30 Date: 5 December, 2014 http://www.abbyy.com/checkforupdates/?Product=Sprint&Platform=MAC&PartNumber=71826&Language=en&Target=CheckUpdate&Source=Shell&Distributive=EEMac&Build=8.3.393599
Like
Version 8.3.393599
Frankp
30 October 2014
I used to really depend on this program, but the last update virtually destroyed it for me. When I scan a pdf file, entire paragraphs and sometimes entire pages, are missing. If there is a graphic on the file it's almost guaranteed the app will miss the entire page. I find I can't rely on it anymore. I filed the problem with ABBYY but never heard anything back.
Like (1)
Version 8.3.393599
Darren-Nichols
16 September 2014
this app have the most accurate OCR engine.
Like
Version 8.3.393599
HJRBR
04 July 2014
The feature Convert to searchable PDFs seems not to work anymore with Maverick 9.4. The eventual upgrade procedure is a pain in ... I would not recommend or buy this software anymore. And rating with MacUpdate is also not easy. By Overall Rating, I would give 2.0, but I cannot change an accidentally clicked star. Oh well....
Like (1)
Version 8.3.393599
Meitnik
07 April 2014
ABBYY has chosen to cripple the mac version. It is far from being feature parity with the Windows version. The key feature to preview/edit a page before exporting it is not there; which any OCR tool worth its cost has. They are cynical towards the mac market: Over charging for the upgrade, slow for updates and bug fixes, and poor tech support. Good luck getting them to do a demo version. Like Nuance, they seem to dislike the mac market. They will milk the upgrade cost as long and as much as they can. I wasted my money on the upgrade. As for the ocr engine, oh, its very good, just the Gui driving it sucks.
Like (1)
Version 8.3.393599
1 answer(s)
Reegor
Reegor
19 April 2015
I reluctantly agree with this. BUT I still use it at times. It can handle stuff that Adobe Acrobat chokes on, and the OCR engine is indeed impressively accurate.
Like
gbarnes12
04 December 2013
I just downloaded and installed this hoping to try it out as a TRIAL version. It asked for a KEY Code which I don't have. SO how am I supposed to try it to see if I want to purchase it?
Like (1)
Version 8.3.393599
1 answer(s)
Appledogx
Appledogx
19 February 2014
Me too. There appears to be no way to demo this. I even checked their website and can find nothing. I've had too much trouble with bad OCR software to buy without trying first and this one is not really that cheap to throw money away without knowing.
Like (1)
Lightning
30 November 2013
This is by far the BEST OCR that I have used and I have used at least 6 others. Just give it a try.
Like (1)
Version 8.3.393599
PaoloM4825
16 November 2013
Does it work?
Like (2)
Version 8.3.393599
PaoloM4825
16 November 2013
Try to unsterstandd
Like (1)
Version 8.3.393599
lurkingremlin
25 June 2013
Icon seems to be missing in this particular version, neither shows in the Finder or Show Info... window. ???
Like (1)
Version 8.3.393599
1 answer(s)
lurkingremlin
lurkingremlin
25 June 2013
A simple reboot made the icon appear. Day saved.
Like (1)
Meitnik
06 May 2013
I made the mistake of buying from the App store my copy. After upgrading to 10.7.x I have had nothing but problems. I have documented to support the bugs. I have yet to hear back from them. They have my 100.00, but I have a broken app. I can't get a refund due to apple's polices. It worked well for the most part under 10.6. I have written to support a number of times, still nothing. Either give me a refund or the windows version to run under a VM of Windows. Never have had such problems with a company. And yes, I have reinstalled many times and still the same bugs.
Like
Version 8.3.325601
Raylinth
18 February 2013
@Abbyy The Download Link: http://www.abbyydownloads.com/FRMACLion/ABBYY_FineReader_Express.dmg Shows this: 404 - File or directory not found. The resource you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable. Can you please fix this?
Like
Version 8.3.325601
4 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
18 February 2013
Try this download link: http://www.abbyydownloads.com/asknet/fr8xmac/fr8xmac.dmg
Like
Raylinth
Raylinth
19 February 2013
@MacUpdate-Warren This Download-Version runs as as Demo and i´m not able to enter my Licence Key.
Like
ABBYY-FineReader
ABBYY-FineReader
19 February 2013
Please use this link to get full value product: http://fr7.abbyy.com/mac/fr/ABBYY_FineReader_Express_new.dmg Sorry for inconvinience
Like (1)
Raylinth
Raylinth
19 February 2013
Now it works! Thanks for the support.
Like
Quixopix
13 January 2013
I tried the demo and it didn't do Hebrew text like Prizmo 2 I also tried old english Gothic View Online: tinyurl.com/KJV1611Scripture It couldn't handle it, so for basic OCR Vuescan or Prizmo does the job. I also want a scanner to have salt n pepper removal like Corel PhotoPaint, or digital ice scanning technology, this appears to be more of an OCR only app, so it didn't really handle my needs
Like (2)
Version 8.3.325601
1 answer(s)
Marilou53
Marilou53
16 January 2013
Another vote for Prizmo
Like (1)
Corpin
05 December 2012
best five stars
Like (2)
Version 8.3.325601
Powercc
28 November 2012
I switched from IRIS to Abbyy and I am very satiefied with it. The results are great. I use a Epson 4870 Photo Scanner. Much better could the service, esp. the upgrades are to complex to get and to install
Like (3)
Version 8.3.325601
1 answer(s)
ABBYY-FineReader
ABBYY-FineReader
29 November 2012
Thanks for your positive feedback. Processes of upgrading and updating will be for sure improved and simplified in next version of FineReader Mac
Like (2)
Madmattmanus
30 October 2012
I'm sure it's a great program, but how do I enter my license code to unlock it? The prefernces are grayed out and there is no choice that does not launch a website???
Like (1)
Version 8.2.6996
1 answer(s)
ABBYY-FineReader
ABBYY-FineReader
30 October 2012
If you use demo version of the product you should uninstall it first as it is try&dye and can not be activated. Then you need to use this link to get a file of full value FineReader: http://www.abbyydownloads.com/FRMACLion/ABBYY_FineReader_Express.dmg Serial number will be requested with the first launch of the product. Additional information about activation if any available here: http://knowledgebase.abbyy.com/article/757
Like (1)
Strob
29 October 2012
I got terrible results from this app trying to convert a picture to text. The result was not remotely usable. I had much better results from ABBYY screenshot reader (Windows) or by importing the same photo into MS OneNote (Windows) then converting it to text.
Like
Version 8.2.6996
1 answer(s)
ABBYY
ABBYY
29 October 2012
Strob, Image quality is vital for FR to provide you with the best possible results. We recommend you contact the support team in your region, so a technical support representative can analyze your image. http://www.abbyy.com/contacts/
Like (2)
mikokim
29 October 2012
Can someone tell me what's the difference between ABBYY FineReader Express and ABBYY FineReader for ScanSnap (the one the comes with the Fuijitsu scanner)? Is it only that the one that comes with the scanner is tied to what you scanned with that Fuijitsu, or are there other feature differences?
Like (1)
Version 8.2.6996
4 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
29 October 2012
What I'd like to know is how this compares to the competition, namely: OCRKit Doesn't Acrobat Pro use a version of ABBYY? Its built-in OCR works very well.
Like
ABBYY-FineReader
ABBYY-FineReader
29 October 2012
FineReader for ScanSnap converts only images from your scanner, FineReader Express - any image, scan, photo, PDF file from you Mac. You can also choose areas on image for conversion and edit table structure when converting complex spreadsheets.
Like (2)
ABBYY
ABBYY
29 October 2012
Hello Mikokim, The difference between ABBYY FineReader Express and ABBYY FineReader for ScanSnap is that the latter: -was developed specifically for the ScanSnap Scanners -does not have a user interface FineReader Express has: - a user interface - can recognize TWAIN compliant scanners that are connected via USB cable - Can open and OCR image files For more information on FineReader Express for mac, please visit this website: http://www.abbyy.com/support/finereader/?platform=MacOS
Like (1)
mikokim
mikokim
29 October 2012
Thanks for your response. Looks like this may actually come in handy on occasion. I'll get it given the discounted price tag.
Like
Darron-b4396ed9
29 October 2012
I currently use the version of FineReader that came with my Fujitsu scanner. It works great, however, it does not allow me to process any images that were not created by the scanner and I would like to process documents I create with my iPhone camera. Does FineReader Express have AppleScript/Automator support that would allow me to process any files that are dropped in a folder by enabling folder actions?
Like (2)
Version 8.2.6996
1 answer(s)
ABBYY-FineReader
ABBYY-FineReader
29 October 2012
No, FineReader Express doesn't support AppleScript and Automator. With this app you can easily convert PDFs and images not only from your scanner (like photos captured with iPhone).
Like
WAn97
29 October 2012
Does ABBYY FineReader Express support Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion?
Like
Version 8.2.6996
1 answer(s)
ABBYY-FineReader
ABBYY-FineReader
29 October 2012
Yes, version 8.3 of FineReader for Mac which is offered now supports OS 10.8. If you have previous version of the product you can also update it via Update link at the site here http://finereader.abbyy.com/finereader_for_mac/ And it will go with 10.8 too.
Like
claudefr
29 October 2012
Purchased the software and registered on the web site. I'm still being told that I'm using the demo version and asked to purchase it....
Like
Version 8.2.6996
1 answer(s)
ABBYY-FineReader
ABBYY-FineReader
29 October 2012
Claudie, please use this link to download the full value product file: http://www.abbyydownloads.com/FRMACLion/ABBYY_FineReader_Express.dmg You will need just to enter serial number after the first launch, no need to visit ABBYY website. Demo version of the product can not be activated, it is only demo. We will fix that download link soon. Sorry for inconviniece
Like (1)
Neil-M
28 April 2012
After being asked to pay yet another upgrade fee by Readiris, I decided to trial ABBYY. The most important feature for me, is the the accuracy, I can use the results without having to edit and double check. That is not something I could ever do with Readiris Pro. I have had several versions of Readiris, including the server version for watched folders - but if the accuracy is lacking - it defeats the purpose. The files need to be properly searchable. I have found interesting ways to incorporate ABBYY into our workflow using applescript and automator. ABBYY seems to be able to handle documents with multiple languages as well, so documents with foreign place names are handled correctly. Something Readiris never managed for me. I am happy that Readiris wanted an upgrade fee because it forced me to reconsider my options - it has been a big step forward.
Like (6)
Version 8.2.6996
1 answer(s)
EckisWelt
EckisWelt
09 September 2012
Hi Neil I would be happy if you could share some ways to automate ABBYY. Since it isn't able to do batches and I didn't check before I'm desperately trying to accomplish that.
Like (1)
Holypoly
05 March 2012
Build 718/10 (from ABBYY's web site): The update includes the following enhancements: Support for ICA-compatible scanners and MFPs New scanning interface for ICA-compatible devices Some interface and usability improvements
Like
Version 8.2.6996
2 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
05 March 2012
Sorry, make that 718/17 ;^D)
Like
Holypoly
Holypoly
05 March 2012
Actually, it's Build 253159, no joke.
Like
Matbard
12 February 2012
Where is the 8.01.6996 update???
Like
Version 8.01.6996
1 answer(s)
Neil-M
Neil-M
27 February 2012
Build 718/17 was posted on 22nd Feb.
Like
Mk-Ultra
13 December 2011
Frustratingly slow compared to Readiris Pro. But it hands down beats it in accuracy. Very crippled compared to the full fledged windows version. Still, even with the lack of controls that the windows version offers, I found it to be the best OCR sw for the mac. If someone has a better suggestion for OCR sw please msg me. Thanks
Like (5)
Version 8.0.0.4123
Aargl
08 October 2011
Having tried this vs Omnipage and Readiris, with the same text, there's no doubt: ABBYY is the winner! The other two produced nothing usable, full of errors that you must manually correct (and the "learning mode" is even worse!). The ease of use for the OCR part is amazing, but there is no fine tuning available here, and it's pretty hard to reorder pages after you've scanned them. Anyway, it does so little errors that it's unbelievable. It was the first time in my life that I needed OCR (for work), so I won't buy it for myself, but if I must give an advice to some of my employers, this will definitely be my choice (and it's the cheapest one!!!)
Like (3)
Version 8.0.0.3948
Holypoly
21 September 2011
Lion support added: http://www.abbyy.com/support/finereader_for_mac/update/
Like
Version 8.0.0.3948
Trashie
28 August 2011
Just tried the trial hit it with some docs. It was almost perfect! Will buy. Simple and easy. Stable and fast. I did not even use 300dpi on it, it still was perfect just warned 300dpi may give better results but it worked great on 150dpi docs. A star off as it needs some more features and toolbar buttons etc but the OCR engine is 5 stars. I also like read iris but since I can't get a trial they can go spin. It also costs more for very little extras. ABBYY is the one for Mac users for sure. The software feels Mac the others feel they are trying to be Mac.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.0.3948
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
08 October 2011
Hi! I've made my own review, but I totally agree with yours. I have a version of Readiris that came with my scanner, if I remember well, and I could do nothing with it (it even crashed everytime!) while this one gave quite perfect results.
Like (1)
Istra
11 August 2011
can this app. scan & ocr lating and greek texts? other languages/alphabets?
Like
Version 8.0.0.3948
2 answer(s)
Istra
Istra
11 August 2011
i mean ocr "latin & greek texts" (of course)...
Like
Schmidhauser
Schmidhauser
08 November 2011
It does Latin and Modern Greek. Was looking for the same…
Like
Poikkeus
02 May 2011
I've used this software, in different versions, but I've always noticed that the character recognition is speedy, accuracy impressive (about 99%, by my rough count), and very easy to use. FineReader Express relies on a minimal design with a small footprint. My preferred work flow is to scan from a TWAIN compliant Canon scanner, after which the completed document appears on MS Word; from there, you can manually edit, if necessary. OCR software is never going to be cheap, but at a retail of $99, it's the most competitive software available for the Mac.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.0.3948
Awado
02 January 2011
Like katz219 already said, this piece of software is a horrible UI around a "good" engine. After editing almost 100 pages of a document for proper text recognition, i had to realize that all of that editing is gone, a soon as you switch to another page. That means you can only change one page of the document. I reported this to their tech. support and got a short reply after a few days, but no solution. A second request is still unanswered for two months now. To me it's not worth the money they charge. They know of the bug(s) but don't care.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.0.3948
Wikno
18 December 2010
I find this to be the most accurate OCR sw. I have tested many solutions, all the way from the old omni to acrobat. Yes, I agree, it's very nice to have all the flair of more heavy duty apps, but in my experience, when I want OCR, I just want it to be accurate, I can take the results in to any program I want after that, and the fewer mistakes, the less time I have to spend once I'm there.
Like
Version 8.0.0.3948
Vicjoe
06 September 2010
I agree with the other reviews that this product has a minimalist interface but a robust OCR engine. The issue I had with it is, using the demo, the accuracy was very impressive. Okay, trial period over, time to buy; I paid online, downloaded the paid version (Aug. 28), and upon installing it, got a warning "the disk you chose contains a newer version of the software you are installing. Installing this software will replace a newer version with an older version." Since the trial version would no longer work, I went ahead with the installation (I should have hesitated as in the Installer, a page entitled Important Information only listed up to OS X 10.5, no mention of 10.6). I then launched the application, and proceeded to do a test scan on a book that had worked fine on the trial version. As with the trial, the scan proceeded and put up a window "Document Conversion" showing a progress bar that ended with the notation "Finished. 1 of 1 pages processed" But, the button "Finished" was greyed out so the process essentially ended there; All other menus were greyed out, so I had to quit the program via the Mac utility Activity Monitor. I didn't think to make a note of the trial version, but the (broken) paid version was 8.0.0.3578 Part: 718/4 (from the app's About menu, as a Finder Get Info does not include version information). On the next launch I thought to see if there was an entry for checking for updates, and there was. I downloaded the update, it indicated it was compatible with OS X 10.6 and indeed it did not hang at the "Document Conversion" window; it was now version 8.0.0.3891 Part 718/5. I was then able to compare scanning/ocr'ing the same page, same book as I had done with the trial version, and noted that there were a few more errors with the full version. It seems that the trial version was better at automatically de-skewing the page. The full version also felt slower than the trial one. I wrote ABBYY about this, they did respond and admit the following "FineReader Express for Mac trial was created after the full version of the software was, because there was a high demand from users requesting a trial version, therefore, when you install the full version it shows that is a [sic] older version of the software, but you are running the latest full version of the software." Conclusion: the full version that one pays for, even after using the Update feature, is older and slightly less accurate than the more impressive trial version. I'll continue to check the Update feature (can't set it to auto check, and the Preferences menu entry for all versions [trial, old full and updated full] were greyed out and in fact when reading the manual no mention of Preferences at all. Today, Sept. 6th, I did the manual update check and was advised that "There are no updates currently available for ABBYY FineReader Express Edition for Mac Build 3891." In sum, if you're impressed by the trial version, you may run into some install/use problems with the initial paid download and even a working update is less robust than the trial. Still, after trying 3 other OCR packages, ABBYY FineReader Express for Mac still has a strong edge for accuracy.
Like (9)
Version 8.0.0.3948
2 answer(s)
r-owen
r-owen
14 December 2010
I asked tech support about this September 16 2010 since I was considering buying it and was still true with no ETA for a fix. They said it was still true and promisied to notify me when it was fixed. Since then there has been no word, nor any sign of an update here on MacUpdate. Not a good sign. I've decided to do without OCR for now.
Like (1)
Wikno
Wikno
18 December 2010
VicJoe, have you tried uninstalling? AppCleaner can assist with this. if you don't want to download, here are the files: ~/LIbrary/Preferences/ com.abby.finereaderexpress... 2 files and ~/Library/caches/com.abby.finereaderexpress (folder). Of course delete the app. And install fresh with your paid version. I have still had excellent accuracy from the paid version...
Like
Omrudi
03 August 2010
While the interface & workflow could certainly be improved dramatically, the bottom line is that this is the BEST OCR out there right now. So far I am getting 99.9% accuracy which is amazing to me. So far I have scanned 2 books this week, one a 120 pager, and the other a 90 page typewritten xerox copy from 1982. The only hiccups were as expected: page tears of the original, sub-par scans, and odd-size text of the first letter of the first word. Even slightly askew scans were easily handled. The biggest and most important tip I could offer is to first get the best scan possible: for text, scan greyscale, 300 dpi. It should be obvious, but start with the best, cleanest original & scan available. (Garbage in, garbage out... ) The workflow that worked best with its rudimentary interface is to do all my scans first to a folder, then launch FineReader and plow through the folder. You can only save as text or RTF, so choose wisely. Do a test to see which works best for your project. OCR gets 5 stars (forget PDFPen and Adobe Acrobat, I've suffered with them both), and that is what matters the most. The main rating gets knocked a star for rudimentary GUI that could easily be improved. The $99 price seems a bit much (especially since the Windows version is half the price!) but the accuracy for me makes it worth every penny.
Like (4)
Version 8.0.0.3948
Kaz219
24 July 2010
Playing around with the software, and I have one problem: it isn't possible to do any kind of fine tuning on multi-pages documents. When I modify anything and go to the next page, the changes on the previous page are lost (if I navigate back, everything is back the way it was). The help in the software is very limited and on the website it's just a joke. Their only (but big) advantage is that they got the best engine so far. But the interface is pretty bad I have to say.
Like (4)
Version 8.0.0.3948
Ozean
28 June 2010
I already own Adobe Acrobat so this is what I compared ABBYY FineReader with. I used a few different documents that I copied a few years ago using a photocopier, now scanned in with one of these large office copying/scanning machines (B/W only, 300 dpi, set to text). To my surprise, FineReader was only a tad better than Acrobat. With a good scan Acrobat would probably make four to five mistakes per page, whereas FineReader would make two to three. With a mediocre scan the difference was slightly bigger (pro FineReader). To my surprise, the difference seemed to be a bit smaller when I tested some German documents (the other were English, language was always chosen correctly). FineReader was also quite a bit slower than Acrobat, but that is not much of an issue for me. I guess I will wait for a new version to evaluate the difference once more.
Like (3)
Version 8.0.0.3895
Laurent-Couvreur
23 February 2010
1. Very good recognition. 2. No options for choose the quality of the .PDF 3. Default quality of the .PDF very poor . -> unusable.... for the .PDF Only for .DOC...
Like (2)
Version 8.0.0.3895
Imho
30 November 2009
I read about a trial version of ABBY FineReader, but on their site I found only a trial version for Windows. Sent an e-mail to ABBY to find out how to download a trial version for the Mac. After 25 days I'm still waiting for an answer ...
Like (6)
Version 8.0.0.2806
1 answer(s)
Ozean
Ozean
28 June 2010
I had no problems downloading the trial version. I used the “Visit Developer's Page” link provided by MacUpdate and with a few clicks and filling out a form (name & e-mail), I was mailed a link from which I downloaded the trial version within a minute.
Like (3)
Version 8.0.0.3895
q00p
19 November 2009
After struggling for years with ReadIris Pro, because of limitations of software, extremely bad support and completely flawed installation procedure, we finally decided to try ABBY. What a relief! The difference can't be explained. This software actually works! And converting previously scanned PDFs to searchable PDFs is a breeze. If you are searching for OCR software we can only recommend you to buy it.
Like (3)
Version 8.0.0.2806
Spinup
18 November 2009
Best OCR recognition on the documents I've tried -- especially on poor quality scans, it blew the competition away (Acrobat 8 and VelOCRaptor 1.1.242). The tools to tweak the recognition after the first pass are very welcome. One thing that would improve it is an option to crop the pages, but Preview took care of that.
Like (3)
Version 8.0.0.2806
Xplicit
17 October 2009
Why does the Mac edition cost twice the price as the Windows edition?
Like (2)
Version 8.0.0.2806
Iconz113
30 August 2009
is this working on snow leopard?
Like
Version 8.0.0.2806
1 answer(s)
q00p
q00p
19 November 2009
Yes
Like (3)
Version 8.0.0.2806
pandora-1
17 August 2009
Devon Technologies has licensed the Abby OCR engine for use in DevonThink Pro Office 2.0 (which is in a prolonged but fairly bug-free beta). I have been a medium user of DTPO and Abby (that's how we shorten the name in the DT forums) has been a great OCR machine. I've scanned in some pretty shabby documents and magazine pages that were printed with no regard to ink flow or other non-qualitative aspects, and the difference between Abby and my previous workhorse (Omnipage) is immense. Whether you use the DTPO version or you buy it outright, you can't go wrong if you want OCR accuracy.
Like (3)
Version 8.0.0.2806
Iconz113
16 August 2009
thank god for this, I think this is going to be the best in OCR on mac osx. Readiris 50 page restrictions are rediculous. Right I had a version come bundled in with my epson as well, finereader sprint plus 5, u cant compare those prebundled versions to this version. This one blows it out of the water
Like (1)
Version 8.0.0.2806
Mrglsmrc
16 August 2009
a version of this package comes bundled with fujitsu scansnap printers. i have been using it for a while. this newer product is for twain printers and digital cameras.--it can convert png files to pdf. i cannot therefore use it with my scanner and there is no upgrade path anyway. when i bought my scanner 7 weeks ago i was promised a mail-in rebate upgrade to a full version of an additional scanning package from another company-- this hasn't happenned yet so i look forward to finding out the full capabilities of the fujitsu scanner. but consideringing that abyy is selling a software now that is fairly comparable to my bundled software, you ought consider buying a bundled scanner instead of paying abyy the hundred dollars they want for this program. there is nothing at the abyy site about version history or downloadable files so it is a bit hard to figure out. what most impresses me about abyy is all the languages the ocr engine can handle and that these can be managed in preferences. I do wish i could use it for chess desktop publishing but that doesn't seem to be a choice. more's the pity because this is a russian product and if the russians wont support chess fonts in an ocr engine then who will? i don't think i will ever need to import pdfs into excel spreadsheets in languages like zapotec and turkmeni but these stupid options are available to me.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.0.2806
1 answer(s)
q00p
q00p
19 November 2009
Sorry, but that information is incorrect! I use this product with our Fujitsu ScanSnap without problem.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.0.2806
curlypaws
16 August 2009
I've long hoped that Abbyy would bring FineReader to Mac OS X, since OmniPage has fallen by the wayside and ReadIris has a number of irritations (a clunky upgrade procedure has always tried my patience and a limit of 50 page documents annoys, unless you spring for the even more expensive Corporate version). While I was disappointed that it was FineReader Express rather than the full product, I've found the results to be excellent. You can't correct the output within the program, but you can amend its recognition of tables, graphics and text blocks. And, in fact, the output is very good indeed - needing a lot less correction than either OmniPage or ReadIris. For the price, this is the best Mac OCR package available and, while it means that a full version of FineReader is probably less likely I'd still like to hope that we might one day see it - if only to offer an even greater degree of control over the output from within the program.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.0.2806