Back to Postbox page
Postbox free download for Mac

Postbox Reviews

23 January 2021

Powerful and flexible email client.

5
karen-g
25 April 2020
Version: 7.0.13

Most helpful

I've been using Postbox for many years now. I spent quite a long time recently exploring other email programs, in case there was something better out there. But I rushed right back to Postbox. The features I value most: • canned responses (can't live without 'em) • very clean interface, and highly customizable • excellent search • fast And excellent tech support. There's a ton of online support on the site. And I just bit the bullet today to buy tech support ($8 - the cost of a couple of cappuccinos). I'll never hesitate again. The support was incredible, honestly. It's tough to get good support for email problems, and what I got today was way beyond anything you can ever get for email issues -- my support person hung in there for about an hour till everything was solved, and went way beyond the call of duty, exploring solutions outside of Postbox as well as exhausting the possibilities within the program. I've worked with a ton of other email clients since the 1990s (Netscape, Thunderbird, Apple Mail), and Postbox is the best client around, in my humble opinion.
(2)

How would you rate Postbox app?

Read 497 Postbox User Reviews

1
freehjim
07 January 2021
Version: 7.0.43
I am not happy with Postbox I can't send emails my password will not work. I keep having my reg emails blocked
(0)
3
Ericf
29 December 2020
Version: 7.0.42
I'm a little disappointed in Postbox. In contrast to what others have said, I find the documentation lacking. If I have even a simple question, it seems I have to pay $8 for support. I like paying for software, because that usually means you get support. Issues I've had include: issues with notifications being delayed, or repeating endlessly; screen refreshing issues, where, for example, I have a smart mailbox that only displays unread mail, but when mail is read in that mailbox, the window doesn't refresh to hide the read item (this is in classic view in case anyone cares). There's no support forums, and they give a rationale as to why they don't, but I just don't buy it. There are other options available (I'm on MacOS 10.14.6 if anyone is interested), and they didn't look too terrific themselves, so Postbox is "better" but still is lacking. I miss Eudora.
(0)
Show comments (2)
5
jeanninemccloskey
07 December 2020
Version: 7.0.40
I have tried various email apps for the Mac, but in the end I kept coming back to Postbox. I love the filters, clean interface, and the connection I have to my Gmail. I use Gmail on my iphone, and it syncs perfectly to Postbox. I have had no reason to ask for support. The website has everything I needed thus far, which I cannot say the same about other apps. If I had one wish, it would be an iphone app. Once you get used to an app, it is hard not to want the same thing across all platforms.
(0)
5
Lecta
05 December 2020
Version: 7.0.40
Strong and robust email client with many useful features (I could not live without the quick move shortcut). Using on both Mac and Windows is a great value to my workflow.
(0)
4
georgesmithson
28 November 2020
Version: 7.0.38
Love the signatures and look and functions of the app, I use Postbox but mainly Newton and Spike as they have read receipts a feature that Postbox condemns. I may next year only use Postbox as I've purchased outright and the other two are expensive subscriptions. The app sometimes is a little slow and uses a lot more RAM than Spike. Juggling which app I will choose for next year. I'd like full compatibility with evernote not just emailing to your designated page. Good luck Postbox!!!
(0)
taldom-1
27 November 2020
Version: 7.0.38
Have used many email apps. Always fell short. Postbox is the first to offer a complete solution at an attractive price. I hope it continues to meet my expectations.
(0)
5
FrancisK6670
24 November 2020
Version: 7.0.36
Great app with great features for serious multi mail accounts user. Waiting for some refinements :-)
(0)
5
reberts2
29 October 2020
Version: 7.0.36
Fantastic Email app! Never really gave it a chance until recently, and with just a little attention to wonderful training videos, it's like a Email is a completely useful tool to me again. Simple to use, but oh so powerful when needed, with tagging and wonderful user interface/interaction. THANK YOU!!
(0)
5
adamricci1
22 October 2020
Version: 7.0.34
Postbox is a phenomenal product for keeping your emails organized. They make thoughtful updates regularly and is a product that gives high value. There is no better email client out there.
(0)
5
corinna-piss
12 October 2020
Version: 7.0.31
After using Outlook for many years, I switched to Postbox around 2014. I can't even remember how I found it about it, but thank God. The best features, in my case, are: 1- Full keyboard shortcut support: there are very few things you NEED to do with a mouse. Most daily operations can be done with one-key shortcuts (Tools > Options > Advanced > Use Gmail keyboard shortcuts). 2- The ability to not only have multiple email accounts, but the ability to easily move emails between accounts. That's a feature you won't realize you wanted until you have it. No need to forward emails, just move or copy them from the current account to a folder of another account. Seriously, so practical. 3- The look-and-feel. While (loosely) based on Mozilla Thunderbird, Postbox feels native on both Mac and Windows. In my experience, this was not the case for Thunderbird. Postbox now has all kinds of themes (View > Themes). The "Gulf Blue" is perfect on Windows 10 dark mode. 4- The ability to edit email subject lines after the fact, very useful to keep things organized. (When a message is loaded in the reading pane, click on the hamburger menu (three horizontal lines) near the upper right corner of the reading pane). 5- It is actively maintained, and regularly updated. That's not the case for most of their competition. I'm writing this review in the hopes that many more people buy Postbox. Their current pricing model is too cheap and doesn't allow for sustainable long-term revenues (in my opinion), and I'm afraid that they might not be able to stay in business. I have no knowledge that they're in trouble, I'm just scared that they might be in the future - that is, unless many people hand over their cash to buy what is, imo, the best email client currently available. FYI: I discovered this morning that they have a $8/incident support option (postbox-inc.com footer > Contact Us > Pro Services). I think I'll start now and then submit a "How your'all doing" mock incident, just to send $8 their way. I recommend that avid users do the same now and then.
(0)
5
stephanevers
09 October 2020
Version: 7.0.31
Far the best e-mail app. Not only the flexibility of the email program but also the price are second to none! I've been using the software for years. Of course I evaluated it's use regularly but always decided to keep using Postbox simply because it does what it promises to do, and more.
(0)
5
Jeeepeee
06 October 2020
Version: 7.0.30
Packed with features and fast.
(0)
5
Philipwheelock
22 September 2020
Version: 7.0.30
Comprehensive feature set, rapid search, attractive UI, frequent updates, stable.
(0)
5
Urbanmeister
21 September 2020
Version: 7.0.30
I moved over to Postbox from Mac Mail recently. The more I learn about it the more I like. There is a learning curve but that's because it offers so much. It's also very stable, (I, like a few others I've discovered), have been having some real problems with Mac Mail recently with the Catalina upgrade - stability, quitting, and so on - hence the decision to move. I dont see me leaving the Mac platform, but it really does need to get a grip of some of its 'basic' program such as Mail. Another bonus for me with Postbox was the support. It was first class. Yes, you may have to pay for it, but it's worth it, saves so much time. Anyway, you can try out the software and, like most things IT, you'll make the decision as to what suits you best. Let me put it this way, it will take a fair bit to have me return to Mac Mail. What a pity it came to this.
(0)
4
iraklis
16 September 2020
Version: 7.0.29
Solid email client with some flows (MacOS Catalina 10.15.6). 1. The app window does not open instant, even when you it's been minimised in dock. Hope Postbox can improve it and make the window opening like any other app. 2. You can't reopen the main window if you have open composer. You have to restart the app. 3. You can't assign a color to accounts for better unified inbox separation. (Asking for this feature). 4. Scrolling experience is not nice. Not as smooth as in mac mail. 5. No color tags that can be assigned to emails.
(1)
4
Broken42
10 September 2020
Version: 7.0.28
I won't repeat all the pros - people have listed many many of them below and I agree with them all. I particularly like domain-fencing - it has saved me multiple times. Two things I would like to see in the (hopefully) near future: 1. Favorite lists on a per account basis - I hate seeing my mom as a favorite contact in my work accounts. 2. Support for MFA in MS365 accounts. This is currently read-only, so I need to switch to Web Outlook to send mail for accounts configured this way. If I had those 2 things this app would be pretty close to perfect, for me at least.
(0)
3
Michael-a439d47a
30 August 2020
Version: 7.0.27
works well with workflow I use (mailsteward backup). - and I use it daily. My Major complaint is that it has bugs, some of which are new, but no way I have been able to find to report them without paying $8 which they will give you back if it turns out it was a bug. Specific bug which is driving me nuts right now is that it frequently stops allowing focus in search box so in order to search you have to either click around and pray or restart postbox. It broke a few months ago and I've sent report to features, but to no avail. And it's not even hard to do, lots of bug tracking software allows end-user access to search for bugs and find out status of them. I compare this experience to mailmate - a much more complex mail app - and I have had email exchanges with the developer and almost instant fixes - if only mailsteward supported it cleanly :-).
(0)
5
ps-infor
24 August 2020
Version: 7.0.27
I like the filter actions and ease of use.
(0)
5
Trappster
15 August 2020
Version: 7.0.25
PROS: Excellent management of my 35 inboxes. Yes, that's thirty five. But this app handles it with aplomb. And believe me when I say I have tried just about every email client and web app around (and continue to do so when new ones come out). But Postbox has stayed my first choice on my Mac for the last seven years. It's reliable, looks great in "dark mode", has great filters, lots of power "under the hood" for power users who want local email management (vs gmail online interface for example). Excellent search features (both inbox-specific and global), tagging (also automated via filters), and oh it's so smart! It knows if you intended to add an attachment but forgot to do it - it will remind you before sending, which is a nice touch! It has a timer when composing. Oh and it also has an "attachments" view which lists all attachments per inbox - a unique feature I love. I find the layout to be excellent and nicely configurable. Postbox Preferences are well laid out and plentiful. I could go on ... just get it and try it out! CONS: The current version (7.0.25) I find confuses me with the "tabs" available in the interface to allow for multiple inboxes or folders to be open at the same time. I don't understand how or why they are sometimes automatically created. Also, the "from" address field lists all available email addresses for the accounts you are using, as expected. But the list is seemingly unsorted and random, so for only a couple of "from" addresses I am sure it's fine; but for me with my 35 possible options, it's hard to find the address I want to send from if I need to change it while composing an email. In neither case, however, are these small issues deal-breakers. Get this app and you will love it! EXPERIENCES: Postbox has allowed me to aggregate all of my email messaging into one place and keep my messages and attachments all organized in one easy-to-use and reliable local work area. I can't say enough, because I am truly indebted to the developers of Postbox for making such a great app and helping me organize my very busy messaging life and work/personal business for the past seven years. WHY DID I CHOOSE POSTBOX. I tried them all - and I still do when new ones come out. But Postbox was simply the best once I set it up the way I wanted to have it help me. Postbox turned out to meet or exceed my expectations compared to what other apps were able to do for me. And it looks great doing so!
(1)
5
alice-13
14 August 2020
Version: 7.0.25
My favorite email client
(0)
5
Ericsan007
07 August 2020
Version: 7.0.25
Much better than MacOS Catalina Mail App and the support is great too.
(0)
5
levent-cakmur
05 August 2020
Version: 7.0.25
Easy to use and very flexible
(0)
4
arcellana
30 July 2020
Version: 7.0.24
The best, most powerful mail app on the Mac I have used; maybe more than many people need, but for professional work and multiple accounts, you cannot beat it. The only thing that keeps me from giving it the fifth star is that smart quotes are not supported in its text editor. Come on, Postbox! Which century are we in?
(0)
5
bob-185
25 July 2020
Version: 7.0.24
Just sent for my one year licence. Am very happy with Postbox. Have never paid for a mail programme before but this is worth it.
(1)
5
Jone
21 July 2020
Version: 7.0.24
I'm always looking out for email clients that are better than my good ol' Postbox. I've tried them, but remained with Postbox like a husband who knows the qualities of his wife and accepts her flaws. I want privacy, so I love that Postbox blocks all remote images by default and I can determine which senders earn my trust. Love the responses I can set up and activate with a click, including variables such as sender's name. That saves me a lot of time. I use two accounts with different signatures and it works well. Recently I set up filters to have all notifications in one folder - easy! Saves me more time as I can now bulk-process them. Archiving emails is fast too thanks to the "v" keyboard command. Then just start typing the folder name and hit enter - done. In other clients I'd have to click through the folder tree. I can feel that the dev team pays attention to details and knows what us users want and value. No other email client has convinced me yet to break up. Is it all perfect? Of course not. One feature I miss is when I process my newsletters and click on links. I'd love an option that allows to "Open link in background" so I can process the newsletters first and links later. Great efficiency potential. Recently I submitted my first bug report. I was impressed by the speed and level of inquiry of the support team. Together we found the cause and it was fixed within days. That's what I want as a user. Well done, Postbox team!
(1)
1
dangpixel
16 July 2020
Version: 7.0.23
The app is functionality is acceptable. The support is nonexistent (upsetting, pathetic, a joke...) - the only way to get to the support pages are trough a zendesk which needs you to use ONLY internet explorer to login. If you go to their support pages you get in a circle going nowhere and then back - to nowhere!
(1)
Show comment (1)
5
Nuttawut
13 July 2020
Version: 7.0.23
Just started using Postbox. Must say I am impressed. Its very clean interface is easy to use. I havn't been tempted to go back to Thunderbird which I have been using for years.
(1)
4
nmehta-1
11 July 2020
Version: 7.0.22
It's excellent overall. BUT there are a few glaring holes that are annoying/puzzling. First, while they have keystroke commands for common functions (great for power users), Postbox does not support OSX keyboard shortcuts. This means you are forced to learn their keyboard shortcuts as opposed to mapping them to what you might otherwise be used to (eg Apple Mail). It is strange at best that they don't allow keyboard re-mapping and it detracts from productivity.
(1)
3
jacorademeyer459
10 July 2020
Version: 7.0.22
I have tested a significant number of email apps over the last few months, ad I actually have to agree with your statement that PostBox is probably the best email application for Mac. The only thing holding me back from full scale adoption is the lack of an accompanying iOS app, which prevents me from fully utilising the fantastic Apple eco-system between my different devices. Do you have any plans for creating or releasing an iOS app on the near future?
(1)
4
sarasseth
08 July 2020
Version: 7.0.22
Unequivocally the best email client I have ever used. The most powerful feature for me is the ability to tag emails on the fly. Why other email clients don't do this (or do it very poorly) I really do not know. In the way this is implemented in Postbox, you can put multiple tags on an email allowing you to control quite complex conversations. However, one star off for not having Microsoft Authenticator - which I think is becoming more prevalent in corporate environments - and so for work email, Postbox cannot be used - pity, because in my view it is better than Outlook (although Outlook does has some great integrations).
(0)
3
dwcopesq
07 July 2020
Version: 7.0.22
I have been using Postbox for about 4 years, and while there is a lot to like about it, there are some things that make me want to go back to Mac Mail or find another alternative. While some feel the fee for support is reasonable at $8 per incident, I personally am not a fan. I paid for a lifetime license, and free support was included in that purchase. So to now have to pay for support just doesn't sit well with me. If you are changing your support structure perhaps consider grandfathering legacy owners into the free support and have a new pricing structure for new purchasers. Beyond that issue, I find the search function is inconsistent, and despite my emails all being indexed I sometimes am unable to find what I need, but a quick switch over to gmail and doing the same search and presto the email is found. I also prefer email clients where you can easily follow threads and see when. you replied or forwarded messages. Postbox at times shows you all this in thread view but it isn't as clean in appearance as I would like it, and if you then view the individual messages you can't see the replies and the little arrow that indicates there is some other action on the message does not actually link to that reply or forward. A good app, and fairly reliable, but again the paid support is a problem for me.
(1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
29 June 2020
Version: 7.0.21
I want to love this app (the mail rules are fantastic), but until they fix the importing of emails from Apple Mail (I have thousands archived in iCloud), then I can't use it. But if you're starting from scratch, this is a very good alternative to Apple Mail.
(0)
Show comments (2)
4
lyddiardjw
28 June 2020
Version: 7.0.19
Great program but the cost of a query is a bit over the top especially when you are a pensioner and when considering the cost involved when buying PostBox; other than that I really like the ease of use and interface.
(1)
5
itsvincecosta
24 June 2020
Version: 7.0.19
After years of searching for an effective email program, I was recently recommended Postbox and what a revelation it's been. Super powerful, super-efficient and really well thought through. I've moved from Airmail to Postbox and I think I'm going to stay put for a long time to come. Postbox has helped me get organised and more productive in a matter of days. It has powerful features for repeated actions, filters to find emails, tags and much more. I really like its a simple layout and the cool colour options. The other stand out is the service. Its documentation is very well laid out but even so, I ran into two issues. Though there is a charge to get problems sorted, the first time around mine was refunded because Postbox took responsibility for the lack of documentation with regards to my problem. I thought that was an amazing gesture of integrity. The second issue was my own doing but the service person helped me patiently through it via emails back and forth. It took a while but we solved it. In short, Postbox as a product is put together by people who believe in what they do and have faith in their product. It's palpable. This is a world-class product. I just bought the lifetime license, guess I'm here for good.
(1)
3
don-leslie
21 June 2020
Version: 7.0.19
I ran into severe problems with Apple Mail that I cannot seem to fix - the body of an email is often blank. I've tried Thunderbird, Canary, Spark, Blue Mail, Postbox, Airmail and a few others. I was not overwhelmed by any of them but in the end concluded that Postbox would be my best bet. Well, that was the case for about two weeks. Now when PB starts up I get a spinning wheel that is now up to about 40 seconds. When I move from one app to another and go back to PB I have to wait again if there is not an open PB window. Anyone have anyone what the problem is and is there an easy fix. It also takes a while to get used to the various menus and where features and settings are located. Would love to see a road map. The other issue I've been wondering about is what info PB gets - do they see each email? I gather that is the case with some of the other email apps.
(0)
Show comment (1)
4
DistrictDawg
20 June 2020
Version: 7.0.19
Overall a very solid app. I would recommend this to most users. My reason for 1 start being removed is due to their weird local folders and the time it takes to index. Also, their unsubscribe button never seemed to work for me and I tried it many times.
(1)
5
jakedsimmonds
19 June 2020
Version: 7.0.19
Genuinely the perfect balance between simplicity and power. I simple UI with DEEP features for the power users. So happy I found this!
(0)
3
shaynebartlett
18 June 2020
Version: 7.0.18
Back to basics with a new set of clothing (quite a few themes). There is nothing fancy and nothing cutting edge. It's an email client and that's it. Send later is simply weird with no schedule... when you next start Postbox it asks if you want to send all email in outbox. Swipe on MacOS is useless. Read later simply flags emails, again with no time/schedule. There is little in the way of third-party integrations. Postbox really is a very traditional email client and not much more. Sad as I have been using it for years but with the exception the themes the feature set is 95% the same as years ago.
(1)
1
PASHKA
13 June 2020
Version: 7.0.18
Everything good except usability - unable to use software - indexing takes all processor resources (MacBook 16 core i9) For why I paid lifetime licensee ? No support for paid customers. Lost money - do not recommend it
(0)
5
ronbeau
03 June 2020
Version: 7.0.17
Great all around mail app. My favourite single feature is the quick filing. I have lots of customers and lots of suppliers and have used multiple plug-ins with Mac Mail, but postbox is so quick and easy. Lots of other great features too, but that was the clincher for me to shift.
(1)
4
edweb
23 May 2020
Version: 7.0.16
Love the look, layout, design. Postbox should allow mail accounts to have their own avatars displayed with each message, much easier and faster to recognize / identify in your inbox, and helps to better avoid mixing up mail accounts when replying / forwarding etc
(0)
5
David-Bradford
23 May 2020
Version: 7.0.16
I live in a dual world, Mac and Windows. Consistency is key for me, especially in an email application. For this, I've found Postbox meets all my needs, from simple reading to the most complex filtering to get rid of the ever-present junk which invades all of our inboxes. Only email application I recommend to family and friends.
(0)
5
Mgehling
15 May 2020
Version: 7.0.15
Hatte vor 4 Jahren Postbox gekauft, weil Apple Mail ab 100.000 emails nicht gut funktionierte. Nach einem Update von Apple Mail ging es dann wieder mit 150.000, vor einem Jahr Thunderbird zusätzlich installiert, weil ab 300.000 emails wieder Probleme kamen. Mit Thunderbird nie warm geworden und nach einem fresh install jetzt wieder Postbox installiert und bisher sehr zufrieden. Wollte neuen Lizenz kaufen habe aber gesehen, das die Lizenz von damals noch gültig ist.
(0)
4
Betalogue
07 May 2020
Version: 7.0.15
Some annoying limitations, but a solid, pro-level app just the same.
(0)
5
johnhagarty
07 May 2020
Version: 7.0.15
Awesome app - aesthetics and functionality - a powerful combo. Much better than web technology approaches. Rock solid performance, and good integration.
(0)
5
csuisman
03 May 2020
Version: 7.0.14
Absolute relief to have an app that makes sense, is elegantly designed and works logically. Tons of features, but none in the way, just there if you need them. Only regret is that I didn't switch sooner. Thank you, Postbox!
(1)
5
karen-g
25 April 2020
Version: 7.0.13
I've been using Postbox for many years now. I spent quite a long time recently exploring other email programs, in case there was something better out there. But I rushed right back to Postbox. The features I value most: • canned responses (can't live without 'em) • very clean interface, and highly customizable • excellent search • fast And excellent tech support. There's a ton of online support on the site. And I just bit the bullet today to buy tech support ($8 - the cost of a couple of cappuccinos). I'll never hesitate again. The support was incredible, honestly. It's tough to get good support for email problems, and what I got today was way beyond anything you can ever get for email issues -- my support person hung in there for about an hour till everything was solved, and went way beyond the call of duty, exploring solutions outside of Postbox as well as exhausting the possibilities within the program. I've worked with a ton of other email clients since the 1990s (Netscape, Thunderbird, Apple Mail), and Postbox is the best client around, in my humble opinion.
(2)
4
ajenkstownes
24 April 2020
Version: 7.0.13
I love the interface, I would give it a FULL 5 stars if it had a intergraded Calendar.
(1)
5
jamesphilippon
24 April 2020
Version: 7.0.13
Worth every penny. Easily the best email program for windows and Mac.
(1)
5
mikedreher-1
23 April 2020
Version: 7.0.13
Downloaded this to replace mac mail.... and it's like 1 step up from Mac Mail... little things like working with Evernote and Things, cleaner interface, shortcut keys for filing, etc.... I had some issues with setup on my free trial - so I paid the $8 for tech support - and they were awesome - got it all sorted. Yes they charge - lots of people seem upset by this - but I have to say - you get what you pay for...
(1)