Back to Postbox page
Postbox free download for Mac

Postbox Reviews

7.0.3
16 September 2019

Powerful and flexible email client.

bobbywelch
09 December 2014

Most helpful

I really wanted to love Postbox. The Evernote and Todoist integrations had me drooling. The reality is however that the program is very buggy. Folders disappear (or don't appear at all), messages don't get copied into the sent folder regularly, sent folder disappears completely, program freezes up and the list goes on. The kicker is that they won't offer you any support, even for a bug, unless you pay a fee to open a ticket. Isn't that a reverse incentive? So they collect cash to help you resolve a bug or issue with the product they sold you.. hmmm. Too bad, the were on to something but the execution and lack of support kills it. Don't waste your money.
Like (12)
Version 3.0.11

Read 404 Postbox User Reviews

Rate this app:

DragonMaster
16 September 2019
I must revise my earlier review. I do so reluctantly. As I see it there are several problems that when I gave the Company to help with or issue a refund they issued the refund and closed of the box to communicate with them. The issues? 1) Postbox would wake you in the middle of the night ignoring the DO NOT DISTURB preference. True you could put your Mac to sleep to avoid that but I don't like to do that. 2) Postbox will timeout and not download your new mail unless you can discover how to fix the timeout setting…it is not transparent and the setting often not dependable. 3) Yes you can set a default font and size of the font for your emails. However, only the setting for the font itself stays chosen…not the size. 4) There is also a periodic problem with creating a new mailbox and its actually being created. At times the app will create the mailbox…but then it is not there. 5) As another reviewer stated SpamSieve is not supported, the Developers are aware and are seemingly not interested in fix. 6) Close to the most egregious is the Company is horrible about responding to requests for help. Apparently, the only way to get a response is to pay an 8$ charge per incident. Requesting help through the Bug Reporting/Suggestion Portal is for the most part ignored. 7) What may be the most infuriating and disturbing is that you must turn off the NO CROSS TRACKING preference in Safari to even get into the site to request help, to sign up for the blog etc. That is repellent to me! I have a real issue with any party that tells me that I have to decrease my security protocols to communicate with them. I leave the 2 stars rather than 1 or none because the app has enormous potential. But does the Developer?
Like
Version 7.0.3
katyevalentine
13 September 2019
Yea, best email program ever! I have the lifetime subscription, and I migrate it from computer to computer with ease .... and customer support is REALLY great. My emails are organized and I know where everything is. Highly recommend!
Like (1)
Version 7.0.2
DragonMaster
11 September 2019
This is one excellent app! The very best email client around. I hate the subscription, but I guess people have to be paid for their work. This is the only subscription app I have, got rid of all the others. One special note, I had one hell of a time getting on their site. Tried for hours and hours no way to get in. Finally I was given the solution. I am not please with it. If you have the Safari prefs set to PREVENT CROSS-SITE TRACKING the site will not work. The company demands that you disable that protection to use their help site or even register for it. This should be abandoned.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.2
1 answer(s)
Cookie08
Cookie08
15 September 2019
Just buy the lifetime licence
Like
Version 7.0.3
DennyPackard
11 September 2019
After SIX weeks of research back in early 2017 to find the best email program when migrating my email from Eudora on my legacy MacBook Pro to my new iMac, Postbox and Thunderbird were by far the most highly regarded email applications. Thunderbird is free, while a lifetime licence for Postbox cost some money. Frugal though I am, I decided to value quality over cost and forked over the cash. I'm quite satisfied. Postbox has been updated about twice a month since then. When I had a couple technical problems, their technical staff came to my rescue very quickly. There are still a couple minor bugs I hope will get fixed, plus some small features for Eudora I would love to be added, but overall, I am VERY satisfied! I am especially happy that I could buy a lifetime licence because I would ever go for a subscription purchase. (Possibly a purchase for each upgrade/version, however.)
Like
Version 7.0.2
Glenbo
10 September 2019
Hands down the best ever email client I've ever used, each release gets more and more solid and reliable! I used to use Outlook, but now that feels so unpleasant to use! I file emails when they come in and the quick keys to do this are now second nature, v to bring up the move prompt, then type the first three letters and your email is filed! Brilliant, designed by people that use email!
Like (1)
Version 7.0.0
aaffonso
10 September 2019
BE CAREFUL. Postbox has quietly moved to the subscription model, actually so quietly that you won't have that information prior to the purchase page. After being under a license purchasing model since their beginning, this is a huge change and deserves a better communication. I almost bought this unaware of the change, just noticed at the last moment reading their twitter replies, my Paypal page was already open. The software is fine, but the lack of clear communication deserves one star.
Like (2)
Version 7.0.0
Ordenador
06 September 2019
I have been using Postbox for several years now and have found it to be a great email solution. It is a pleasure to use. There are lots of nice touches throughout the application.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.0
Aargl
05 September 2019
MU> from their website, it looks like Postbox 7 requires macOS 10.13.
Like
Version 7.0.0
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
05 September 2019
... but it still works in 10.11!
Like
Version 7.0.0
Postbox, Inc.
Postbox, Inc.
06 September 2019
Postbox 7 requires macOS 10.13 and higher. While it may still work on earlier versions of macOS, it's not tested on those versions and not supported.
Like
Version 7.0.0
peter-guyton
27 May 2019
I don't like the way it works with gmail labels. If you delete an email from a folder where that email has two labels, it only removes it from that one folder and does not delete the email from the other folder. I don't want to have to delete it twice or hunt it down in the "all mail" folder somewhere. Gmail would delete it no matter how many labels it has. Since I'm a heavy label user, this won't work for me.
Like
Version 6.1.18
1 answer(s)
Postbox, Inc.
Postbox, Inc.
06 September 2019
We changed the delete behavior in Postbox 7 to better mirror what Gmail does on the web. Give it a try and let us know what you think, thanks!
Like (1)
Version 7.0.0
mcnite
15 May 2019
Postbox worked fine but I had hard drive issues. So I reinstalled it - nothing but problems and I can't get my local folders back even though I saved them first.
Like
Version 6.1.16
1 answer(s)
Postbox, Inc.
Postbox, Inc.
06 September 2019
Why don't you try Postbox 7? It's a free upgrade for you, and for importing messages you can either use the built in importer, or there's a Labs Project called Import / Export Tools that will provide you with more options for importing.
Like
Version 7.0.0
Kobalt
11 May 2019
Still no support for Spamsieve in v6? I'll be holding off renewing my licence for a while longer then.

Pity, because I'm getting a awful weary of Apple Mail.
Like
Version 6.1.16
1 answer(s)
Hydester
Hydester
06 September 2019
No need for Spamseive. I thought I'd miss it, but PB Spam filter is fine. I'm a big fan of Postbox
Like (2)
Version 7.0.0
LeMerlot
11 May 2019
For me simply the best email client on the Mac – using it with so much fun !
Like (2)
Version 6.1.16
matt-206
30 April 2019
watch for the 'how to use' emails, use v and t for great functionality. I'm blown away by how they've really generated email productivity beyond what I've seen elsewhere, intending on purchasing when trial period finishes.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.15
chamiltonmobile
26 March 2019
Just downloaded version 6.1.12 of Postbox. It is beautiful, smart and powerful as advertised. The new version loaded easily, didn't lose anything, and presented me with great new UX and functionality. Fixed a whole lot of nagging issues for me too! Thanks for building a great team, dedicated to superior product design and delivery.
Like (3)
Version 6.1.12
jnahman
20 February 2019
I have been using PostBox for many years now. Love the organization of it and the ability to manage several email addresses. I recently had an issue where I lost all of my folders and the emails in them. At first I thought it was a PB issue. I must say that Tech Support was very helpful and helped isolate the problem. It was my least favorite email host-AOL, They changed their platform which made old folders obsolete and unusable (although the data was still on their server). Finally, redid the folders on AOL and now everything works. I mention this in case anyone else finds the same problem..it's AOL. PostBox staff were great, helpful and the product is still my favorite. Highly recommend it.
Like (4)
Version 6.1.10
glenn-21
18 February 2019
Downloaded a trial version and am loving everything about Postbox. I had been using Th____rd, which was buggy and missing some important features--all that Postbox has and does well. Glad to finally find a desktop email client and that I can live and grow with. Will be pressing the Buy button shortly.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.10
sepneg
22 January 2019
I switched from Apple mail, and the difference is HUGE! Postbox has so many more features. Apple mail was full of bugs, with weird things happening. I ended up with 15,000 messages in "Recovered messages". Apple has not explained to Dr. Google what those are! Now, using my email is a delight, and so much quicker. I love the responses feature. Postbox also has top-notch support, as I had questions. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Like (2)
Version 6.1.9
Pokeyjoe
23 December 2018
This version breaks dark mode on Mojave, otherwise a great email client.
Like
Version 6.1.8
1 answer(s)
Pokeyjoe
Pokeyjoe
24 December 2018
OK, I just figured this out. The description of the update mentions a new "Theme" button to alternate between light and dark modes. You have to customize the toolbar and add the button. In the window that opens showing the available buttons, you have to scroll to the bottom of the window or you won't even see the button. They should've added it by default to the toolbar.
Like (1)
Helmo-Hass
23 December 2018
What's New in Postbox Version 6.1.8: Implemented several Dark Mode improvements on macOS Yeah sure on Mojave I guess because on older system the previously native dark mode is GONE!!! NOT Cool 2 stars because it still works i will add others as soon (read "IF") everything is back to normal
Like
Version 6.1.8
2 answer(s)
Postbox, Inc.
Postbox, Inc.
09 January 2019
Helmo-Hass,

We're struggling to understand what you're experiencing. 10.14 (Mojave) has native support for Dark Mode, but Postbox supports both Light and Dark mode on macOS 10.11 and beyond. To flip between Dark and Light modes, simply add the Theme button to the toolbar and switch between the modes with just one click.

If you continue to experience issues, please contact us at support and we'll be happy to help you out. Thanks!
Like (2)
Aargl
Aargl
17 January 2019
Thanks for the tip! Dark Mode is greatly appreciated in 10.11! ;-)
Like (1)
RoXXXy
12 December 2018
Hands Down... Best Mail App Ever!!
Like (1)
Version 6.1.6
Aargl
27 November 2018
Surprisingly v6 (until the current Postbox 6.1.6) keeps working in OS 10.9.5 even if it's supposed to need OS 10.11... :-)
I'd really love Postbox, but the removal of SpamSieve support is an incredibly stupid move (for what sake? :-o )
Like (1)
Version 6.1.5
Lounge-Deluxe
27 November 2018
I tried this app once and uninstalled it as it did not serve my needs, and now the developer keeps spamming me with so-called offers although I've unsubscribed a million times. Postbox Inc clearly does not care about your privacy and personal data, I'd avoid this app therefore and I you want to trial ten use a bogus email address. Bah!
Like
Version 6.1.5
2 answer(s)
Postbox, Inc.
Postbox, Inc.
12 December 2018
As an email company, the last thing we would want to do is send unwanted emails! At the bottom of every email we send is an "opt-out" link that will immediately unsubscribe you from our mailing list. If for any reason that doesn't work, simply contact us (https://www.postbox-inc.com/store/contact) and we'll personally take care of this for you.
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
12 December 2018
You shouldn't process my personal data without my explicit consent in the first place (and no, such consent cannot be obtained through agreeing to your general terms and conditions or EULA).
Like
home-28
27 September 2018
It took me a while to upgrade from my old Postbox - but am I glad I did. This is a whole new experience and I love it. Still lots of features I have not learned but am very happy with Postbox. I give it 5 stars. Neal Hribar
Like (1)
Version 6.1.3
Bytes
14 September 2018
I was a longtime and happy Postbox customer but by eliminating GPG integration it was time for me to look for other options.

I recently tried MailMate and although its a very plain looking client, it works extremely well. MM launches/closes much faster, includes smart mailbox sorts, has GPG integration, and supports Markdown when writing correspondence. Thank goodness for lots of good mac email clients. $50 well spent for me.
Like
Version 6.1.2
Njronbo
02 September 2018
PostBox used to be one of the best email apps out there. However, over the years, everybody else has moved forward. PostBox has taken steps backward.

Let's begin with the price. I don't mind paying $50 for an email program with unlimited updates. However, for that price, offer me something much more than the other guys have.

To date, PostBox still does not support gravatars in their message list. This is essential for anyone who wants a quick look at who is sending them email. Next, there's no advanced features such as notification when emails are read or undo of sending mail once sent. AIRMAIL, for instance, only charges $10 for its app and it has some of these features.

Next, PostBox removes SpamSieve support. How crazy is that? That move was the final straw that made me uninstall this software until the company finally gets it act together and offers an email client that is worth the price it is charging.

It's a shame. Really, for a while, this was the email app that couldn't be beaten. However, the software developers continue to fall behind the times on what new features all the other email clients are offering for less money. I know PostBox wants to be a minimalist email client, but if that's the case, stop charging so much money when you don't offer many of the features the other clients do.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.2
idorn
07 August 2018
I chose Postbox after looking at many email clients over the years and several more recently. I used MS Outlook for Mac for a long time since it was part of the Office Suite. However, that is over and the 2011 version support and updates was coming to an end. I used the Outlook rules capability to sort incoming and outgoing mail into appropriately named folders. That kept messages well organized for easy retrieval. Postbox filters allow me to do essentially the same thing. They work very well. Tech Support is very good. They helped me to correct more than one setup issue. The latest was a simple switch to allow SENT filters to work automatically. Support pointed me at the feature to turn on and it worked. Good software that works and good support are what I look for and Postbox provides it.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.1
mb-14
02 August 2018
Bought this as version 4 I believe. Didn't really use it. Always came back to Apple Mail. Version 6 however I use now for some months already. And I'm happy so far. You can still see the Thunderbird inheritance, but with this version it's much less visible, which is good.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.1
Robio
15 July 2018
I've been using Postbox since it was in 0.X beta and I was desperately seeking a replacement for Eudora. Postbox is a workhorse, and while it does have some bugs that have been for years (e.g., it doesn't play nice with custom keyboard shortcuts), it has powerful features that I love, like tabbed navigation, being able to navigate and file emails using key commands, the Focus Pane, where you can create your own shortcuts to the features you use most, and the ability to edit received and sent emails. It can be a bit slow sometimes, and over the years support has been hit or miss (lately they've been great), but 6.0+ is a big improvement (even if it removed the nicknames feature that I use dozens of times a day). In short, I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with Postbox, but there's really nothing else remotely like it for power email users. I like toying around with software alternatives, and I've never found any email app with anything close to the feature set in Postbox.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.0
michael-gio
03 July 2018
Best mail client app...better than Apple Mail. The interface is much better than Apple Mail. I like way it handles attachments much better. Great support.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.15
Finistere
03 July 2018
The current version 6.0.15 (as of 07/03/2018) is another slow one. Everything takes about twice or three times as long as in 6.0.13. Better keep a backup of 6.0.13 before installing the update.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.13
1 answer(s)
Finistere
Finistere
06 July 2018
Version 6.0.16 (as of 07/06/2018) fixed this speed problem.
Like (1)
jack2001
14 May 2018
la trovo un'ottima app. non do 5 stelle solo perchè è visivamente brutta
Like
Version 6.0.8
Pik80
08 May 2018
The new share menu doesn't seem to be coming up for me. The share functionality was checked by default but it is greyed out and doesn't come up in the share menu.
Like
Version 6.0.7.1
DennyPackard
03 May 2018
I have been using Postbox for nearly 2 months now, and what impresses me the most is that in 8 weeks there were 1 or 2 (I think 2, but I could be mistaken) updates to version 5 and an upgrade to version 6, which itself has been updated 5 times. It is quite flexible and has many features that Apple Mail does not have. Their technical support team responded to my problems VERY rapidly! Still there are some features (many which Eudora had) which I hope will be added, such as drag and drop text; counts of messages found in searches; the size of messages and groups of messages; option-clicking on a sender's name to immediately collect all the emails from that sender; possibility of assigning a default language for each account, but another language can be assigned to portions of text inside a message; being able to edit the “John Doe wrote:” in replies; an editing feature that enables you to modify the selected text to capitals, lower case, or titles (capitalizing the first letter of each word); replying to several messages at once by selecting several messages in your inbox, choosing Reply, and then having ALL the messages copied to ONE reply, thus making it possible to reply to several messages all in one go even if they have different subjects; and displaying emoticons when typing.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.5
1 answer(s)
DennyPackard
DennyPackard
02 August 2018
Drag and Drop text DOES exist! I am sorry for the mistake.
Like
Dhoenig
22 April 2018
I've ben using Postbox since V4 and it was my favourite email program. However, this has changed drastically with V6, mainly due to their attitude to privacy concerns: V6 has an issue with indexing of my >20000 mail inbox, it gets reproducibly stuck somewhere in the middle and doesn't proceed from there. Their support told me to send them the complete configuration folder so that they could reproduce the issue. I pointed out this would give them access to my email account and all my private emails on there. To my complete surprise, they confirmed their intent. So yes, they seriously asked me for my private password! A company that has no qualms whatsoever to get the password and the most private mails of their users is not trustworthy. There is no excuse for that attitude, so regardless of all the other good aspects of Postbox (well , indexing still doesn't work, and who know if it ever will) I can give it no more than 0,5 stars. I'm aware not everybody will follow that assessment, but compromising privacy is a, if not THE capital sin.
Like (4)
Version 6.0.3
1 answer(s)
Postbox, Inc.
Postbox, Inc.
06 September 2019
If there's something wrong with your car, the shop will ask that you bring it in. If you have a medical issue, the doctor will require an office visit. If you need your taxes done, you'll need to send your financial info to the CPA. Luckily, we're only an email app! But if you require support and we're not able to diagnose the issue remotely, then yes... we're going ot ask for your configuration data, and in some cases, your Postbox setup. You don't have supply this information, of course, but this is usually the fastest path to resolving difficult issues.
Like
Version 7.0.0
Hydester
13 April 2018
FANTASTIC NEW VERSION!!

Have been using Postbox 5 for over a year & have just been blown away by the new Postbox version 6 update.

Clearly the best email client out there.

Well done guys!

Stephen
Like (4)
Version 6.0.1
DennyPackard
10 April 2018
By ALL means, DO read the upgrade page before upgrading to this version! AND do NOT use the recommended installation, but upgrade from Postbox 3, 4, or 5 when you are given the choice.
https://support.postbox-inc.com/hc/en-us/articles/360002665913-Postbox-6-Upgrade-Info
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
I work with many different software developers professionally and have to say, Postbox has the worst Customer Support team that I have worked with in the last 5 years. I've contacted them on three different occasions and the support team is unknowledable, non-responsive or simply rude.I work with many different software developers professionally and have to say, Postbox has the worst Customer Support team that I have worked within the last five years. I've contacted them on three different occasions, and the support team is unknowledgeable, non-responsive or simply rude. In addition, I find with every update my Postbox preferences change.
Like
Version 6.0.1
3 answer(s)
DennyPackard
DennyPackard
10 April 2018
I have contacted their technical support 3 times in the past 4 weeks, and they replied very QUICKLY and have been very helpful! I have been using Postbox for a little more than a month, and I am very satisfied with their product and the frequent updates!
Like (1)
InstallationComplete
InstallationComplete
13 April 2018
@DennyPackard - I'm curious why someone would need to contact a company 3x in 4 weeks? Frequent updates? Lol. How many updates have you had in a month? I've been using PostBox for almost two years, not one month. Your comment makes little sense and reads like you're an employee of PostBox attempting to fix it's quickly falling reputation.

https://screencast.com/t/r0sH9jxPRVAl
Like
DennyPackard
DennyPackard
13 April 2018
@ InstallationComplete
Maybe I'm just not as smart as you! I was confused with some of the preferences, and in at least 2 cases, I changed preferences that I shouldn't have. That said, their customer support replied very quickly, politely, and helped me resolve the problems in a very professional manner.
Updates? There have been 2 (maybe 3?) updates to version 5 since mid-February when I started using it, along with both an upgrade and an update just this week. I'm very satisfied with Postbox, and I'm glad I forked over the money for it.
Like (1)
LeMerlot
09 April 2018
Postbox 6 is designed so beautifully – and it's fast. I'm loving it and it's worth its price! My main email client for the future – starting now.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.1
Postbox, Inc.
03 April 2018
Dear Friends, We're excited to announce the immediate availability of Postbox 6 for Mac and PC, our next-generation email platform. While Postbox 6 may feel familiar, under the covers it has an entirely new foundation that will improve performance, message rendering, security, memory utilization, and reliability. More vivid colors, updated themes for macOS and Windows, and over twice as fast as Postbox 5, we know you'll be as excited about this release that we are. There are a few changes that current Postbox users should know about before installing Postbox 6, so please read on! Migrating from Older Versions -------------------------------- Postbox 6 installs into new data directories which allows it to run concurrently with older versions of Postbox. If you are using version 3, 4 or 5, Postbox will offer to migrate your accounts, local mail data, user generated content, and most user preferences over from your previous install to version 6. For more detailed information and instructions, please see our Postbox 6 upgrade page here: https://support.postbox-inc.com/hc/en-us/articles/360002665913 IMAP Limiting -------------------------------- Version 6 can now limit the number of messages that Postbox will fetch per folder. This feature is turned "ON" by default and is currently set at 2,000 messages (adjustable to 1,000, 2,000, 5,000, 10,000 or no limit). You can increase these limits so see more messages in Preferences (macOS) or Options (Windows) > Accounts > [your account] > Local Storage. MailDir Storage Format -------------------------------- We've changed the default storage format from mbox to Maildir. With mbox, all messages within a folder are stored as one file on disk whereas Maildir stores each message as a file on disk. MailDir will significantly improve the security, reliability and backup capabilities for large message stores. If you migrate from an older version of Postbox, or if you set up a new account, Maildir will be the default storage format. If desired, you can change the storage format in Preferences (macOS) or Options (Windows) > Advanced > General. Dictionaries -------------------------------- Postbox 6 contains a new dictionary management system. To install a Mozilla dictionary, download the dictionary to disk then go to Preferences (macOS) or Options (Windows) > Composition > Typing > Edit Dictionaries. Navigate to the downloaded dictionary file to install it. Within the Compose window, you can quickly switch dictionaries by clicking and holding the Spelling toolbar button. Add-ons -------------------------------- Postbox is built using Mozilla code, and as of Firefox Quantum, add-ons are no longer supported by the Mozilla platform. Consequently, future versions of Postbox will no longer support add-ons, starting with Postbox 6. Add-ons from Postbox, Inc. such as Cloud File Sharing, Signatures, and Responses have been added to the core Postbox 6 product. We fully understand that this change will be disappointing for many add-ons users, we genuinely do. But we cannot move Postbox forward while maintaining backward compatibility for an add-ons infrastructure that is no longer supported. Hidden Settings -------------------------------- Most of the hidden preferences that customers have accessed through the Config Editor are now available in the UI. As such, we've removed the Config Editor from Postbox 6. We'll be adding more preferences to the UI over time, so if there's a specific preference that you are interested in, please let us know by submitting a feature request here: https://www.postbox-inc.com/product/request-a-feature Domain Fencing -------------------------------- By popular demand, we've adjusted the colors of our Domain Fencing feature. Grey addressing bubbles are the default, and red addressing bubbles will provide a warning if you're about to send to or from the wrong domain. How to Upgrade -------------------------------- If you purchased a Postbox 5 license key on or after March 1st, 2016, or a Postbox Lifetime Key on or before July 31st, 2010, then you already have a Lifetime License, and no purchase is necessary. Download and install Postbox 6, and you're good to go! Please see our Postbox 6 upgrade page for additional details: https://support.postbox-inc.com/hc/en-us/articles/360002665913 All other Postbox customers can upgrade to Postbox 6 by requesting a discount code here: https://www.postbox-inc.com/store/upgrade-discounts If you have any questions about purchasing or previous orders, please contact our Store here: https://www.postbox-inc.com/store/contact For Technical Support, please visit: http://support.postbox-inc.com/hc/en-us/requests/new Thanks, and we hope you enjoy using Postbox 6!
Like (6)
Version 5.0.24
1 answer(s)
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
03 April 2018
>>For more detailed information and instructions, please see our Postbox 6 upgrade page here: https://support.postbox-inc.com/hc/en-us/articles/360002665913<<

I think that helpful article should be included on the .dmg file itself, along with Postbox.app —not buried on some web page which no one knows exists.

-HI-
Like (1)
LeMerlot
08 March 2018
After testing nearly every email client for Mac I use Postbox on all my Macs as the main email client for my personal accounts since more than 2 years (and Apple's Mail for business with many add-ons ). Postbox offers lots of options, a nice and clean UI and is very reliable. Hard to beat.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.24
Hal-Itosis
27 February 2018
Version 5.0.23 has introduced an odd sluggishness... wherein, clicking or selecting any GUI item takes almost one second before the expected action begins. Feels like molasses. [running High Sierra 10.13.3 on a late-2013 rMBP.] -HI-
Like (1)
Version 5.0.23
1 answer(s)
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
03 March 2018
All better now, with version 5.0.24
Like (1)
Aargl
07 December 2017
Just a little hint, if it may be of interest to anyone: v5 (until 5.0.20) was still working perfectly in OS 10.9.5 though it's said to require 10.10. ;-) v5.0.21 still launches but no window appears.
Like
Version 5.0.21
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
01 May 2018
Surprisingly v6.0.3 works again in OS 10.9.5 even if it's supposed to need OS 10.11! :-o
Like
Roobert
06 December 2017
"Demo version has expired. Only offline mode available.." Funny. Did not test the program.
Like
Version 5.0.20
kaimling-1
09 October 2017
I use Postbox for years now for business. I'd loved the simple and plain interface and to sort my mails with topics. I have always been happy till I got the feeling the app is sluggish. There have been some strange issues too I learned to live, like that sometimes if you change from on topic view to another, Postbox simply shows nothing. Got this to work with restarting the App. This failure hasn't solved for several updates ... :/

Now what I am really unhappy about is the sluggishness of the app. So I started to observe the app and found that it is really hungry and takes a lot of Ram. Up to 1 GB (I have 6 Mailaccounts with thousends of Emails). BUT than I tried a different Mailapp (Spark) with the same configuration and the whole app doesn't take at least a third of what Postbox takes. And as you can think, Sparks run smooth and incredible fast.

Since a few days now I run Spark daily and I can feel a new routine establishing. I am not in love with Spark and I would love to get back to Postbox. But for this to happen, please Postbox, make your app smooth, fast and not this hungry. Maybe we can get together again...

UPDATE: Now I changed from 3 stars to 1 because of the worst support experience I'd ever had...
Like (7)
Version 5.0.19
5 answer(s)
Icube007
Icube007
15 October 2017
Sadly I can only agree on the poor development and support lately... Slow, buggy, spotlight with no preview... and no support to help... better go to thunderbird, at least it's free...
Like (3)
ben-marko
ben-marko
04 December 2017
So true, which is a shame. The interface is really nice. But it is difficult to answer emails when your client is dueling with kernel task for resources. <groan>
Like (1)
Cookie08
Cookie08
05 February 2018
Try the beta version it is quick as of old
Like
knattlhuber
knattlhuber
21 February 2018
The current version is a disaster. Slow and buggy. E.g. it takes about a minute for the software to stop lagging when composing a new email and you have to press the "Get mail" button at least twice before it downloads new mail.
After many years of exclusively using Postbox, I have started trying other mail clients.
Like (1)
Ghostwriter
Ghostwriter
22 December 2018
Support is almost non existent and if you can get them to answer a ?, many hoops have to be traversed beforehand. NOT user friendly support!!!
Like
larrymcj
30 September 2017
I own Postbox, but for me it's primary drawback is there no human support...absolutely zero. For this much money you should at least get some support. Until that happens, I won't be upgrading.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.19
isdn
29 September 2017
Unfortunately, the same lags on scrolling like in Thunderbird :( Also, I didn't find a way to change some basic appearance things, like colours and fonts.
Like
Version 5.0.19
Miner
11 September 2017
Great e-mail application, super-responsive and fast. If only there would be a way to integrate MailHub...then it would be perfect!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.19
Aargl
17 July 2017
Having tried many Apple Mail replacements, I can't think of a better one!
My main griefs against Apple Mail are that it's so slow syncing lots of accounts at launch and that old bug where it fails storing sent mails with attachments to the online folder with some provider...
On both issues, many competitors are doing well including Postbox.
What I like most in Postbox is that, in the end, it's quite close to the appearance and functionalities of Apple Mail we're familiar with — though the interface in Postbox 4 was absolutely ugly! :-o (preferred v3 ;-) )
It's even easier than Apple Mail to set for using SpamSieve!
A few downsides, though:
• setting precisely every account can be tedious when you have a lot of them, it would be nice to have a global settings set that you can choose to apply to all existing accounts.
• There's no "disable this account" option as in Mail, the only solution I've found is to create a group for unused accounts — that you can nevertheless check directly when you need.
• Quoting is always on, despite the setting for each account (it's been like that even in previous versions...)
• I'm not convinced by the Focus Pane: it's ok for a one time search, but is pretty limited. If you think of it, there are 6 ways to search in the mails, scattered all around the app, instead of one single place, which is pretty confusing in the end! (search zone in up-right of window, a detailed one if you click on the arrow there, "search all folders" on the left pane, Advanced search, smart folders and the Focus pane!)
• Smart folders have to be stored somewhere and default is online in one account! You have to be smarter than the folders to store them locally and even more if you want to make the search in all of your accounts! (but when you find how to, you can select precisely what combination of online folders to check and that's nice).

Speedwise, I've tried v2.1.4 on an old 32 bit mac, and it's blazing fast compared to old Apple Mail! :-o
A nice goody: it replaces literal smileys ( ;-) ) with corresponding pictures.
Another nice thing is that you can use profiles (like Thunderbird and Firefox), and use them locally to archive mails (one year per profile).
So, all in all, why not using it instead of Apple's?
Like (1)
Version 5.0.15
n0p
31 May 2017
Error / Connection problem 'Alert' ?! and, bad account user interface : an Alert message tells me "An error occurred with the" [ IMAP/POP3 ] "mail server. " [ xxx ] "responded :" ???? yeah well, what did / does it 'respond' (reply) ? me as a user will never know ?! and, if such alerts where considered helpful to the user why not tell me what account is concerned ? i have to guess, obviously. moreover, no obvious method to look up error transcripts/logs ? apart from this, setting up an account there is that 'Account Type:' line which won't change / can not be changed whence types are changed ? if such a fancy line is seemingly pretty important to the dev's idea of gui design then make it work, please. not for show only. another problem my end is is (in my case with an outlook/live account incoming server changed) the utterly disturbing alert which may pop up telling me : 'Enter your password for xxx@outlook.com@outlook.office365.com:" ('Use Password manager to ..') where/how does this '@outlook.com@outlook.office365.com' come from ? how to change this ? all one was told within support.postbox-inc.com one is told to "3. Set Incoming Server to: outlook.office365.com" -- in order to avoid loading time. the preferences qui is far from being user friendly, as i see it; scattered options, my summary is.
Like
Version 5.0.14
Septimus
17 May 2017
How much I like the new bluish interface, it does not quite suit the rest of the system interface. I think it is way too bright.

I vote for a dark mode! Now who's with me? :-)
Like (2)
Version 5.0.14